Home
  By Author [ A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z |  Other Symbols ]
  By Title [ A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z |  Other Symbols ]
  By Language
all Classics books content using ISYS

Download this book: [ ASCII | HTML | PDF ]

Look for this book on Amazon


We have new books nearly every day.
If you would like a news letter once a week or once a month
fill out this form and we will give you a summary of the books for that week or month by email.

Title: Norfolk Annals - A Chronological Record of Remarkable Events in the Nineteeth Century, Vol. 1
Author: Mackie, Charles
Language: English
As this book started as an ASCII text book there are no pictures available.
Copyright Status: Not copyrighted in the United States. If you live elsewhere check the laws of your country before downloading this ebook. See comments about copyright issues at end of book.

*** Start of this Doctrine Publishing Corporation Digital Book "Norfolk Annals - A Chronological Record of Remarkable Events in the Nineteeth Century, Vol. 1" ***

This book is indexed by ISYS Web Indexing system to allow the reader find any word or number within the document.



Transcribed from the 1901 edition by David Price, email ccx074@pglaf.org



                              NORFOLK ANNALS


              A CHRONOLOGICAL RECORD OF REMARKABLE EVENTS IN
                          THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

         (_Compiled from the files of the_ “_Norfolk Chronicle_”)

                                    BY
                              CHARLES MACKIE

                                * * * * *

                                VOLUME I.

                                1801–1850

                                * * * * *

    “It is beyond the capacity of the human intellect to discriminate
    beforehand between what is valuable and what is valueless in the
    pursuit of historical research.  What would we give now for
    newspapers and trade circulars illustrating the social habits of many
    bygone times and peoples?”—_The Times_, May 4, 1900.

                                * * * * *

                     [_Entered at Stationers’ Hall_]

                                   1901
  Printed at the Office of the “Norfolk Chronicle” Market Place Norwich



SUBSCRIBERS.


Lord Amherst of Hackney, Didlington Hall, Brandon, Norfolk.
Major C. W. Archdale, Coltishall, Norwich.

The Rev. Thomas W. B. Bartlett, Beeston Rectory, Swaffham.
Miss Bateman, 1, Hanover Road, Brunswick Road, Norwich.
Sir Reginald P. Beauchamp, Bart., Langley Park.
The Rev. John Hare Beevor, Hevingham Rectory, Norwich (two copies).
W. T. Bensly, LL.D., F.S.A., Eaton, Norwich.
C. A. Bathurst Bignold, Eaton Hall, Norwich.
Edward L. Birkbeck, Lexham.
Henry Birkbeck, Westacre.
T. C. Blofeld, Hoveton House.
Thomas Blomfield, Wellington House, East Dereham.
Edward Boardman, Albemarle Road, Norwich.
E. T. Boardman, Queen Street, Norwich.
H. C. Bolingbroke, Shirehall, Norwich.
T. B. Brittan, Brentwood, City Road, Lakenham, Norwich.
William Cooper Brown, Hartwell, Wroxham.
Henry G. Browne, 84, West Pottergate Street, Norwich.
The Rev. E. Utten Browne, Besthorpe Vicarage, Attleborough.
Sir Harry Bullard, M.P., Hellesdon House, Norwich.
General W. E. G. L. Bulwer, C.B., Quebec House, East Dereham.
Edward Bunnett, Mus. Doc, The Close, Norwich.
C. Louis Buxton, Bolwick, Marsham, Norwich.
G. F. Buxton, Dunston Hall, Norwich.

Edward J. Caley, Chapel Field Works, Norwich.
Thomas Chaplin, Milestone House, Thorpe Road, Norwich.
Henry L. Clark, Maid’s Head Hotel, Norwich.
Stroud L. Cocks, Uplands, Diss.
Russell J. Colman, Bracondale Woods, Norwich.
Ben Cook, Aylsham.

Henry J. Copeman, 2, Town Close Road, Norwich.
S. Cozens-Hardy (Sheriff of Norwich), Bracondale, Norwich.
Thomas Cranmer, Clarence House, East Dereham.
Archdeacon Crosse, Cathedral Precincts, Norwich.
Henry R. Culley, 12, Bank Street, Norwich.

Travers Daveney, Linton, Cambridge.

Sir Peter Eade, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Frederic R. Eaton, Cleveland House, Eaton, Norwich.
M. S. Emerson, Cathedral Close, Norwich.

The Hon. Ailwyn E. Fellowes, M.P., Honingham Hall.
G. B. ffolkes, Manor House, Wolferton, King’s Lynn.
Sir William H. B. ffolkes, Bart., Hillington Hall, King’s Lynn.
P. Berney Ficklin, Tasburgh Hall, Norwich.
Miss Franklin, 58, Unthank Road, Norwich.
Free Library, Norwich.

W. Coke Gee, Branksome, Catton.
W. B. Gerish, Ivy Lodge, Bishop’s Stortford, Herts.
Henry J. Gidney, Aylsham.
George Gilbert, Old Hall, Reedham.
Lieut.-Col. H. H. Gilbert, Cantley, Norfolk.
Sir Charles R. Gilman, Stafford House, Norwich.
The Rev. F. J. W. Girling, Shernborne Vicarage, King’s Lynn.
T. Inglis Goldie, Theatre Street, Norwich.
Agas H. Goose, 17, Prince of Wales Road, Norwich.
Robert Green, Angle Cottage, Sheringham.
Frederick Gregory, Excelsior House, North Walsham, Norfolk.
Guildhall Library, London.

W. H. Hackblock, Coltishall.
H. Rider Haggard, Ditchingham House.
J. B. Tooke Hales, The Close, Norwich.
Peter E. Hansell, Wroxham House, Wroxham, Norfolk.
P. Harbord, Lammas Hall, Norwich.
Bosworth Harcourt, 39, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Thomas Hardie, Tudor House, Lower Clarence Road, Thorpe Hamlet.
W. T. Hartcup, Eastwood, Old Catton.

Captain E. Harvey, Holmwood, Thorpe, Norwich.
Lord Hastings, Melton Constable Hall, Norfolk.
Frank P. Hinde, The Fernery, Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich.
Sir Samuel Hoare, Bart., M.P., Sidestrand Hall.
Francis Hornor, Thorpe Mansions, Norwich.
The Rev. J. W. Hoste, Norfolk Club, Norwich.
Charles J. A. Howes, 36, Havelock Road, Earlham Road, Norwich.
The Rev. William Hudson, 15, Hartfield Square, Eastbourne.
John Hurn, 37, Surrey Street, Norwich.

Arthur Edward Jackson, 79, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Sir Alfred Jodrell, Bart., Bayfield, Holt.
Frederick Johnson, 33, Queen’s Road, Great Yarmouth.

The Earl of Leicester, K.G., Holkham, Norfolk.
Thomas Barrett Lennard, Horsford Manor, Norwich.
Hamon le Strange, Hunstanton Hall, Norfolk.
Captain Evans Lombe, 88, Hough Green, Chester.
C. J. Temple Lynes, Blakeney, Norfolk.

A. H. Mann, Mus. Doc., King’s Field, Cambridge.
The Hon. Robert Marsham-Townshend, 5, Chesterfield Street, Mayfair,
London, W.
Miss Elizabeth Matthews, The Hollies, Swaffham.
William McQueen, The Cedar, Heigham Grove, Norwich.
John C. Miles, The Denes, Great Yarmouth.
Fred Morgan, Theatre Royal, Norwich.

Norfolk and Norwich Library, Norwich.

The Earl of Orford, Mannington Hall, Aylsham, Norfolk.

J. J. D. Paul (Mayor of Norwich), Eaton Grove, Norwich.
Mrs. Petre (of Westwick), Furze Hill, North Walsham, Norfolk.
R. H. Porter, 7, Prince’s Street, Cavendish Square, London, W.
Arthur W. Preston, Bradestone House, Brundall.
Richard Preston, Tonbridge, Kent.
R. J. W. Purdy, Woodgate House, Aylsham.

John Quinton, Norfolk and Norwich Library, Norwich.

Clare Sewell Read, 91, Kensington Gardens Square, London, W.
Edmund Reeve, Ber House, Norwich.

James Reeve, Castle Museum, Norwich.
F. T. S. Rippingall, Langham, Blakeney, Norfolk.
Walter R. Rudd, The Mount, Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich.
Walter Rye, St. Leonard’s Priory, Norwich.

Alfred C. Self, Arlington, Mount Pleasant, Norwich.
John Shepheard, Cromer Road, North Walsham.
His Highness Prince Frederick Duleep Singh, Old Buckenham Hall,
Attleborough.
Henry Smith, Ellingham Hall, Bungay.
Edwin B. Southwell, 60, Bracondale, Norwich.
E. Bowyer Sparke, Gunthorpe Hall, Dereham.
A. W. Spratt, St. Catherine’s College, Cambridge.
F. Primrose Stevenson, F.Z.S., 155, Trinity Road, Upper Tooting, London,
S.W.

Francis Taylor, Diss.

W. Gladstone Ulph, The Grange, Martham.

John Walker, Wentworth Villa, Newmarket Road, Norwich.
Lord Walsingham, F.R.S., Merton Hall, Thetford.
John H. Walter, Drayton House, Norwich.
The Rev. G. D. D. Watt, 2, Park Road, Forest Hill, London, S.E.
George White, M.P., The Grange, Eaton, Norwich.
Edward Wild, The Hawthorns, Eaton, Norwich.
Edward R. Woodward, Guardians’ Office, St. Andrew’s Street, Norwich.



PREFACE.


The “Norfolk and Norwich Remembrancer and Vade Mecum,” upon the plan of
which this work is compiled, was published in two editions.  The first
(undated) was issued in or about 1801.  It appeared in pamphlet form
(f’cap 8vo), and contained (1) a brief topographical description of the
city and county; (2) a “Chronological Retrospect of the most remarkable
events which have occurred in Norfolk and Norwich during the 18th
century, with a list of Bishops, Deans, High Sheriffs, Mayors and
Sheriffs of Norwich, and Mayors of Yarmouth and Lynn within that period”;
(3) an Index Villaris, “including an accurate account of the population,
&c., of every parish in the county, extracted from the official returns
taken in 1801, with the measured and computed distance of each market
town and village from the city of Norwich; also the returns of the
population of Norwich, as taken in 1693, 1752, 1786, and 1801”; (4) a
list of direct and cross roads from Yarmouth, Lynn, and Cromer; and (5)
an alphabetical list of “noblemen and gentlemen’s seats and villas in the
county, with their distance from Norwich.”  The work was printed and sold
by Stevenson and Matchett, Market Place, Norwich, and was “to be had of
the distributors of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE and of all booksellers.”

The “Remembrancer” consisted of 80 pages, and was published at
eighteenpence.  Although the “Chronological Retrospect” extended over the
period of one hundred years—from 1701 to 1800 inclusive, it was
compressed into 43 pages.  This, the most important section of the work,
was reprinted from a local chronology published in the NORFOLK CHRONICLE,
compiled partly from old Norwich histories and partly from the early
files of the newspaper.  “Omissions or errors which may have occurred in
this work,” says a footnote to the “advertisement” to the first edition,
“shall be corrected in a future edition, and notice of such will be
thankfully received by the Editors.”

But many years elapsed before the publication of a second edition, and it
was not until 1822 that the “Remembrancer” again made its appearance.
The modest pamphlet of 1801 had grown to a crown 8vo volume of 274 pages,
bound in cloth, and issued at three shillings and sixpence.  It was
printed in bolder type, and contained additional information of a
miscellaneous character, which, published at a time when few general
directories and books of reference were in circulation, and local
statistics difficult to obtain, was received with favour as one of the
earliest attempts to supply the want now so fully met by local handbooks
and year-books.  In this, as in the first edition, the Chronology was by
far the most important part of the book.  The 18th century “Retrospect”
was revised and amplified, and the record, continued from January, 1801,
to December, 1821, occupied 208 pages.  The compiler of this edition, and
probably of the former issue, although his name did not appear in
connection therewith, was Mr. Jonathan Matchett, the senior proprietor of
the NORFOLK CHRONICLE, who states in his preface: “The Chronology of
Remarkable Events has been compiled principally from the volumes of the
NORFOLK CHRONICLE, of which, with the local occurrences of the last fifty
years at least, the Retrospect may be considered an epitome.  Such errors
of omission or commission as may be discovered in this humble compilation
shall, if pointed out, be corrected in a future edition, if ever a third
should be called for.”  As no subsequent issue appeared, it may be
assumed that the demand for the work was not such as to justify the
expenditure of the time and labour necessary to its production.  Mr.
Matchett died November 24th, 1844, and from that time until the present
no effort had been made to continue the Chronology.

Little need be written by way of preface to this work.  It was commenced
as an index to the Nineteenth Century files of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE, and
was not, as originally planned, intended for publication.  The compiler,
however, was advised to elaborate his scheme and to prepare, in place of
a MS. index designed for private use, a work which would serve the
twofold purpose of continuing the excellent Chronology begun by Mr.
Matchett, and of supplying a book of reference upon a variety of subjects
pertaining to Norfolk and Norwich.  In Volume I. of “Norfolk Annals” are
recorded the events of the two decades included in the second edition of
the “Remembrancer,” but the matter has been entirely re-written, and the
field of research considerably enlarged.  With the lapse of time many
things, too familiar and commonplace to be very fully noticed in the
“Remembrancer,”—_e.g._, the coaching system, sports which are now
obsolete, country celebrations and observances, &c.,—have acquired an
interest which they did not present to a compiler of eighty or a hundred
years ago.  Some of the facts recorded in these pages may not in
themselves be considered “remarkable,” but collectively they illustrate
the manners and customs, the wisdom and follies, the labours and
amusements, of Norfolk people in the century just closed, and, it is
hoped, show to what extent the county and city have progressed morally
and socially during the last hundred years.  In one respect “Norfolk
Annals” is less pretentious than its antecessor—it gives no topographical
and statistical information of the kind published in the “Norfolk and
Norwich Remembrancer”; in another sense it is more pretentious—it
contains an index, which will add to its usefulness as a book of
reference.

The writer is indebted to the Chairman (Sir Charles Gilman) and the
Directors of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE CO., Limited, for permitting him to
make use of the files of that newspaper, from which exclusively the
following pages have been compiled.



CORRIGENDA. {0}


Page 128, last line, _for_ “present” _read_ “presented.”

„ 138, line 9, _for_ “Hawkes” _read_ “Hankes.”

„ 166, line 2, _for_ “Henry” _read_ “Hurry.”

„ 187, line 8, _for_ “Miller” _read_ “Milles.”

„ 216, first line of last paragraph _for_ “Norfolk” _read_ “Norwich.”



NORFOLK ANNALS.
VOLUME I.
1801–1850.


[NOTE.—_Marginal dates distinguished by an asterisk are dates of
publication_, _not of occurrence_.]



1801.


JANUARY.


1.—This day (Thursday) was observed as the first day of the Nineteenth
Century.  It was also the day upon which the legislative Union of Great
Britain and Ireland was effected.  At Norwich, the 13th Regiment of Light
Dragoons and the East Essex Militia fired a _feu de joie_ in the Market
Place, and the Union flag was displayed upon the tower of St. Peter
Mancroft.  At Yarmouth, there was a ceremonial parade of the Durham
Militia, and the vessels in the Roads fired a royal salute and hoisted
their new colours in honour of the Union.  Rain fell heavily throughout
the day.

3.—The Norwich Theatre was opened with the performance of “the last new
comedy, ‘Life,’ and the farce, ‘Curiosity.’”  The manager, Mr. Hindes,
delivered an address to a crowded and fashionable audience.  The
alterations in the house were executed after designs by Mr. William
Wilkins, the patentee, and it was said to be one of the handsomest
theatres in the provinces.

5.*—“The Duke of Grafton’s hounds unkenneled a fox at Fakenham Wood, near
Euston, and after a chase of upwards of 50 miles in 4 hours 5 minutes,
killed him at New Buckenham.”

27.*—“A match for ten guineas (two miles) was trotted on the turnpike
road between Setch and Lynn, between Mr. Robson’s pony Filch and Mr.
Scarfe’s pony Fidler, which was won with great ease by the former, he
having trotted over the ground at the rate of 18 miles an hour.”

Great scarcity prevailed throughout this month.  About £1,500 was
subscribed for supplying the poor of Norwich with soup, and upwards of
247,000 quarts were distributed.  At Norwich market wheat was quoted at
the beginning of the month at 146s. per quarter, and rose at the end to
180s.; barley, 84s.; and oats, 50s.  Various expedients were adopted to
lessen the consumption of bread.  “The officers of the West Norfolk
Militia” it was stated, “have entirely left off the use of bread at their
mess, and have forbid the use of puddings and pies, except the crust is
made of rice or potatoes, which they eat in a variety of shapes as a
substitute for bread.”  Nurses were advised to use linseed meal and water
instead of bread and milk in making poultices.


FEBRUARY.


9.—Died at Postwick, aged 21, Edward West, who had served as midshipman
under Lord Nelson at the battle of the Nile, and accompanied Capt. Sir
Edward Berry in the Foudroyant.  In the action with the Guillaume Tell
“he received a most severe wound, which occasioned a decline.”

11.—A General Fast was observed in Norwich.

14.*—“It is much to be regretted that although many large manufactures of
hempen cloth are established in Norwich, all the spinning of the hemp is
done in Suffolk, and a sufficient quantity is with difficulty obtained
from thence.  It is suggested to establish a spinning school for
children, under the patronage of benevolent ladies.”

17.—A company was formed at Norwich for the erection of a “public mill to
be worked by steam for supplying the bakers and inhabitants with flour.”
A capital of £12,500 was raised in transferable shares of £25, and the
mill was erected upon a site near Blackfriars’ Bridge.

24.—Mr. Charles Harvey, Steward of Norwich, elected Recorder, in place of
Mr. Henry Partridge, resigned.

28.—The price of wheat at Norwich Market was 168s. per quarter.


MARCH.


6.—The Anacreontic Society, “which for many years has been established in
Norwich, and to which the cause of music owes so much,” closed its winter
session.  The Hon. Mr. Wodehouse, Sir William Jerningham, Sir Richard
Bedingfeld, and Capt. Sir Edward Berry were present.  The Society gave
monthly concerts in the Assembly Room from October to March.  In the
advertisement announcing the commencement of the next session, it was
stated that the first concert would “begin precisely at 6; supper-rooms
open at 9, and the President to quit the chair at 12 o’clock.”

7.—Arrived in Yarmouth Roads, the St. George, of 98 guns, bearing the
flag of Lord Nelson.  The grand fleet of 47 ships of war (with 3,000
marines), sailed on the 12th, under the command of Admiral Sir Hyde
Parker, in the London, of 98 guns, with Nelson as his Vice-Admiral.  The
fleet first “rendezvoused” in Leith Roods, where it was joined by seven
sail of the line, and afterwards proceeded to Copenhagen.

10.—A mob assembled at Lynn and grossly assaulted several millers and
farmers by throwing at them stones and dirt.  In the evening they broke
the windows in the dining-room of the Duke’s Head Inn.  “One of the
ringleaders was taken to gaol, and by the active exertions of the Rutland
Militia tranquillity was restored without bloodshed.”

11.*—“Mr. Kett, butcher, of Norwich, undertook to ride his horse 50 miles
in four hours.  He started from St. Stephen’s Gates at 12 o’clock,
reached the 25th milestone on the Thetford road in about 2½ hours, and
returned to the place whence he had set out one and a half minutes before
the time allowed.  Six to four was laid that the horse did not perform
the journey.”

14.*—[Advt.]  “The Yarmouth and Norwich mail coach will set out from the
King’s Head, Market Place, Norwich, and the Star Tavern, Quay, Yarmouth,
every day, at 12 o’clock.”

16.—The Invincible, of 74 guns (built in 1766), Rear-Admiral Totty, on
her way to join the grand fleet, got on the Ridge, near Happisburgh Sand,
and remained there till daybreak next morning, when she floated off.  On
entering deep water she went down immediately, with several officers and
300 men.  Daniel Grigson, master of the Nancy cod-smack, saved seven
officers and about 190 of the crew.  At a Court Martial held at
Sheerness, on March 31st, on Admiral Totty and the surviving officers and
crew, it was proved that the disaster occurred through the ignorance of
the pilot, and a verdict of honourable acquittal was returned.

19.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose,
the action, the King _v._ Augustus Beevor, clerk, was tried.  The
information was filed against the defendant by leave of the Court of
King’s Bench, for sending a challenge to Major Edward Payne, in
consequence of a dispute that had taken place between the Major and the
defendant’s father.  Defendant, referring to this dispute, wrote to Major
Payne, demanding an apology, “or he should be under the necessity of
compelling it by a mode generally used among gentlemen.”  No notice was
taken of the letter, and the defendant meeting Major Payne in the Market
Place at Norwich told him publicly that “the contempt he had for his
character protected his person.”  The defendant was found guilty, and at
the next term of the Court of King’s Bench (May 7) was sentenced to three
weeks’ imprisonment in the King’s Bench Prison, and ordered to enter into
his own recognisances of £500, to find two sureties of £250 each, and to
be of good behaviour for three years.

20.*—“The remains of Miss Sophia Goddard, of the Theatre Royal, Norwich,
were interred at St. Peter Mancroft.  Mr. Hindes, the manager, and the
principal actors attended on the melancholy occasion.  This young lady
had obtained considerable reputation on the Norwich boards, and was
making rapid advance to eminence in her profession when death prematurely
deprived the theatrical world of an actress whose talents would have
ensured her success on any stage.  She supported with great fortitude and
resignation a long and painful illness, brought on by exertions that her
constitution was unequal to, and died on Sunday last (March 15), in her
26th year, sincerely beloved and lamented by her family and friends.”

Wheat this month rose to 180s. per quarter.


APRIL.


3.—Died at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, Lieut. Robert Scully, 13th
Light Dragoons.  His remains were interred on Sunday, April 4th, with
military honours, at St. Peter Mancroft.

4.—Died at Cambridge, Mrs. Lloyd, widow of Dean Lloyd, aged 79.  “Her
performances in needlework were so exquisitely wrought that they may
justly be compared with the paintings of the most celebrated artists.
The Transfiguration and other figures represented in the eastern windows
of Norwich Cathedral have displayed the superior skill of her personal
attainments.”

—Mousehold Heath, Norwich, was enclosed and cultivated.  Plots of land
were afterwards let at 25s. per acre.

—John Allen (23) and John Day (26), for burglary at the house of the Rev.
Isaac Horsley, at North Walsham; Richard Grafton, for stealing a cow and
three heifers; and James Chettleburgh (36), for stealing six sheep at
Saxlingham, were executed at Thetford.  “Day confessed to having
committed four burglaries previous to that for which he suffered, and to
having deserted thirteen times from different regiments.”

—In consequence of objections being made to the elections of Messrs.
Staff and Proctor in the Wymer Ward, and of Messrs. Brittan and Scott in
the Northern Ward, Norwich, on the ground of their being ineligible under
the Corporation Act, having omitted to receive the Sacrament within a
year previous to the election of Common Council, the Mayor did not make
the returns till several days after the usual time.  At a Court held on
this day, the Recorder (Mr. Harvey), after the objections had been fully
argued by counsel, declared that the persons objected to, who had the
majority of votes, having omitted to come into Court according to
summons, were not duly elected; but, as no regular notice had been given
previous to the election, the candidates in the minority could not be
returned.  On May 2nd a rule was moved for in the Court of King’s Bench,
to show cause why a mandamus should not be directed to the Mayor of
Norwich to admit Mr. George Wymer into the office of Common Councilman of
the city.  Similar motions were made on behalf of Messrs. Bacon, Cooke,
Fiske, and Webster, the other defeated candidates.  “Lord Kenyon desired
counsel to take rule to show cause, and to serve the rule not only on the
Mayor, but also on those persons who were elected in fact, but not _de
jure_.”  On May 13th, Lord Kenyon confirmed the decision of the Recorder
that “neither the candidates who had the majority of votes, from their
not having taken the Sacrament, nor those in the minority were duly
elected.”  Another election for the wards took place on May 25th and
26th.

11.*—(Advt.)  “To be seen alive in a genteel room at Mr. Peck’s
Coffee-house, Church Stile, Market-place, Norwich, the largest
Rattlesnake ever seen in England, 42 years old, near nine feet long, in
full health and vigour.  He is well secured, so that Ladies and Gentlemen
may view him without the least danger.  He has not taken any sustenance
for the last 11 months.  Admittance, Ladies and Gentlemen, 1s.; working
people and children, 6d.”

14.—Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the destruction of the Danish
fleet in Copenhagen Bay, by the British fleet, under the immediate
command of Lord Nelson, on April 2nd, after a battle of four hours.
Seventeen sail of the Danish navy were taken or destroyed.  The news was
conveyed to Norwich by the coach, which entered the city with colours
flying; the Volunteer corps paraded in the Market Place and fired a _feu
de joie_, and the bells of St. Peter Mancroft and of other churches were
rung.

18.*—“By the latest returns of the Secret Committee the County of Norfolk
is reported amongst the most loyal counties in the kingdom.”

20.—A performance took place at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, “towards
raising a fund for the benefit of those who through age or infirmity are
obliged to retire from the Stage.”

23.—Died at Norwich, Mr. John Bonsell, aged 75 years, “an eminent leather
cutter, who for upwards of 20 years lived an abstemious life, refraining
from animal food and fermented liquors.  He rendered himself very
conspicuous in the religious world, as he professed opinions, in a great
measure peculiar to himself, which bordered upon fanaticism.  He wrote
several religious controversial pamphlets, as ‘The Ram’s Horn,’ &c.”

25.—Comparative returns of the population of Norwich, “as taken in 1801,
1786, 1752, and 1693,” were published.  In 1801, the population was
36,832; in 1786, 40,051; in 1752, 36,169; in 1693, 28,881.  “The decrease
of the population of this city since 1786 is 3,219, but it is to be
observed that 1786 was a year of peace, and that in the returns of 1801
those serving in the Navy, Army, and Militia are not included.  Norwich,
during the present war, has furnished at least 4,000 recruits for the
Army and Navy, and these will account for the decrease, and also for the
great excess of females, which appears by the returns to be above
one-fourth.  Of the present population, 408 are chiefly employed in
agriculture, and 12,267 in trade, manufactures, and handicrafts.”


MAY.


1.—“There being again this year no alderman below the chair who had
served the office of Sheriff, the following aldermen were put in
nomination for the office of Mayor:—James Crowe, Sir Roger Kerrison, John
Morse, and Jeremiah Ives, jun.  At the close the numbers were Ives, 668;
Crowe, 638; Kerrison, 375; Morse, 37.”  At a court of Mayoralty, held on
Sunday, May 3rd, it was ruled that Mr. Crowe was ineligible, in
consequence of having served the office three years previously to the
date of the election.  Sir Roger Kerrison, who stood next on the poll,
retired in favour of Mr. Ives, who was thereupon declared elected, and
was duly sworn on June 16th.

9.—Died, at Easton House, Sir Lambert Blackwell, Bart., aged 69.  The
title (conferred on his grandfather in 1718) became extinct.  He
bequeathed all his estates, with his valuable paintings, books, coins,
&c., to Mr. William Foster, jun., of Norwich, subject to certain
annuities.

16.—A reduction of from 15s. to 20s. per quarter in the price of bread
corn was announced.  There was also a decrease in the price of live
cattle of all kinds.  “A sixpenny standard wheaten loaf, which about six
weeks ago weighed only 1 lb. 4 ozs. 6 drs., now weighs 2 lbs. 10 ozs. 6
drs.”

23.*—“Another capital prize in the lottery has come down to Norwich.  The
whole ticket, number 24,350, a prize of £15,000 in the July Irish
Lottery, is the sole property of Charles Weston, Esq., banker and brewer
of this city.  The ticket was purchased twelve months ago, and not being
registered, the fortunate holder remained unconscious of his wealth until
last week, when, on examining the public lists, he discovered that his
ticket was a prize of the amount above stated.”


JUNE.


2.—Mr. Henry Harmer elected Speaker of the Common Council of Norwich, in
place of his father, Mr. Samuel Harmer, who held the office upwards of 20
years.

4.—The King’s Birthday was celebrated at Norwich with great
demonstrations of joy.  The Corporation attended service at the
Cathedral, the Loyal Military Association and the several parochial
associations paraded in the Market Place and fired a _feu de joie_, and
the members of the Norwich Light Horse, after a like ceremony, dined at
the Maid’s Head.  Major Patteson’s corps adjourned to Neeche’s Gardens,
Capt. Blake’s corps to the Rose Inn, St Augustine’s, and the other corps
to different taverns.  The Mayor gave a dinner to the Aldermen.

8.*—“A quartermaster of the 13th Light Dragoons rode a certain distance
up Thorpe Road in a given time, with his face to the horse’s tail, and
afterwards up the sand hill near Kett’s Castle in the same position, and
won both wagers.”

18.—The body of William Suffolk, who was executed in March, 1797, for the
murder of Mary Beck, of North Walsham, was taken down by authority of the
magistrates and interred on the spot where the gibbet was erected.
“About ten days back a starling’s nest, with young ones, was taken out of
the breast of Watson, who hangs on a gibbet on Bradenham Common, near
Swaffham, for the murder of his wife, which was witnessed by hundreds of
people as something very singular and extraordinary.”

20.—The ensign of the Généreux having been presented to the city by Capt.
Sir Edward Berry, the Corporation caused it to be displayed in St.
Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, with a suitable inscription.

22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced and lasted until the 26th.  Among
those present were the Duke of Bedford, the Duke of Manchester, and other
distinguished visitors.  The new implements exhibited included a machine
for drilling turnips, invented by the Rev. T. C. Munnings.  It was
described as “nothing more than a perforated tin box, affixed to and
vertical with the axis of a wheelbarrow.”  A thrashing machine “was much
approved of.”  At this meeting Mr. Coke announced his intention to give
premiums for promoting the improvement of live stock and for encouraging
experimental husbandry.

25.—A fire broke out on the roof of Norwich Cathedral, and occasioned
damage to the amount of £500.  Bishop Manners Sutton personally
distributed refreshments to the soldiers and others who assisted in
extinguishing the flames.  About 45 feet of the roof were destroyed.  The
fire originated from the carelessness of plumbers at work upon the
building.

27.*—“At the ordinary visitation of the clergy and general confirmation
held during this month, Bishop Manners Sutton confirmed at Newmarket
1,150 persons of both sexes; at Bury St. Edmund’s, 4,500; at Stowmarket,
1,150; at Ipswich, 1,300; at Woodbridge, 1,150; at Framlingham, 960; at
Beccles, 660; and at Norwich, 1,100.”

29.—Vice-Admiral Lord Nelson arrived at Yarmouth in the Kite sloop, Capt.
Domett, from Copenhagen.  He immediately proceeded on foot from the jetty
to the Hospital, and visited the sick and wounded seamen.  After a stay
of about three hours, his lordship left Yarmouth for London, under escort
of a troop of Yeomanry Cavalry.

The price of wheat at the end of this month fell to 120s. per quarter.


JULY.


11.*—“The duty on port wine expected at Lynn alone will, it is said,
amount to £80,000.”

—*“The Postmasters General have permitted the mail coach to be
established from Lynn to unite with that from Norwich and Yarmouth at
Barton Mills.”

17.—Wroxham Regatta took place.  “The novelty of a sailing match
attracted a great deal of company.”  It was won by the Union, the
property of the Rev. Mr. Preston.

18.—The population of Norfolk was returned as 274,221, of whom 130,249
were males and 143,972 females.

28.—At a general meeting of the Deputy-Lieutenants and magistrates,
presided over by the Lord Lieutenant (the Marquis Townshend), it was
resolved to adopt measures for the effectual defence of the county and
the preservation of property.


AUGUST.


1.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Lord Chief Baron
Macdonald, was tried the action, Stracey _v._ Davy.  The plaintiff was
lord of the Manor of Rackheath, and the defendant a tenant of Mr. John
Morse, jun.  The action, which was for trespass, was brought for the
purpose of ascertaining certain rights set up by the defendant.  Davy
sought to establish the privilege of sheep walk over that part of
Mousehold Heath then belonging to the parish of Rackheath.  He claimed
severally the right of feeding 500, 400, and 300 sheep, and also the
right of depasturing his sheep levant and couchant, and in various other
modes.  The special jury found a verdict for the defendant, and confirmed
his right of feeding 500 sheep at six score to the hundred.

3.—The annual Venison Feast was held at the Red Lion, Fakenham, to
celebrate Lord Nelson’s victory of the Nile.

4.—The Norwich parochial Volunteer Associations assembled at St. Andrew’s
Hall, and afterwards marched to the Market Place, where Capt. William
Herring, the commanding officer for the day, read a letter from the Lord
Lieutenant, requesting the men to be prepared in case of invasion.

—“This day, from five in the morning till ten at night, heavy cannonading
was distinctly heard by the Rev. Mr. Burton and several of his
parishioners at Horsford, which was at the time supposed to be the
cannonading from Lord Nelson’s fleet before Boulogne.”

15.—Henry Lawn, aged 41, executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for horse
stealing.  “He denied to the last that he was guilty.  He left a wife and
six children.  He would have enjoyed a considerable property, which the
present possessor has entailed upon his children.”

24.—The Supplementary Militia was re-embodied.  During this month
meetings were held in different parishes in city and county to discuss
the means to be adopted in case of invasion.  The clergy in country
parishes took account of the live and dead stock that could be removed,
and of the number of waggons and carts to be made use of.  The drilling
of Yeomanry and Volunteer corps became general.


SEPTEMBER.


20.—Died at Brompton, Sir John Gresham, Bart., the last male heir of the
family.

26.*—“A person residing in this city has within the last week been
convicted in penalties amounting to £166 10s., for having laid a leaden
pipe from his dwelling-house to communicate with the pipes belonging to
the proprietors of the waterworks, without having obtained their consent
or paid the accustomed water rent.  The amount was paid to the company’s
solicitor, who immediately returned the money, except 30 guineas, which
he has paid to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital for the benefit of that
institution.”

The portraits of Lord Nelson, by Sir William Beechey, and of Mr. John
Herring, Mayor of Norwich in 1799, by Opie, were this month placed in St.
Andrew’s Hall.


OCTOBER.


1.—Intelligence was received at Yarmouth, from Constantinople, of the
surrender of Alexandria to the British and Turkish armies under General
Hutchinson and the Grand Vizier.

3.—The intelligence reached Norwich that the Preliminaries of Peace had
been signed in Paris.  There were great rejoicings on the 10th on the
ratification of the news.  The horses of the mail coach, by which the
intelligence was brought to the city, were so terrified by the
demonstration that they became unmanageable, the coach was overturned,
and the coachman, the guard, and some of the passengers injured.

5.—At Yarmouth, during the Peace illuminations, a mob broke the windows
of several houses occupied by Quakers.  The ringleaders were committed
for trial at the Sessions.

7.—At the Norfolk County Sessions, Elizabeth Manship, of Ormesby, was
indicted for committing an outrage upon the Rev. Eli Morgan Price, when
in the act of officiating at Divine service at the parish church.  It
appeared that while Mr. Price was reading a new form of thanksgiving “for
the late plentiful season” the defendant rushed out of her pew and
snatched the paper out of his hands, to the very great disturbance and
alarm of the congregation.  The jury found the defendant guilty, and she
was sentenced to pay a fine of £20.

21.—A general illumination took place in Norwich in celebration of the
Peace.  There was a grand display of transparencies, and a huge bonfire
was lighted in the Market Place, around which the Mayor and Corporation
paraded.  The celebration was general throughout the county.

24.*—“In the spring of this year the Palace Workhouse, Norwich, contained
1,017 paupers.  They are now reduced to 425, a smaller number than has
been known for the past 20 years.  The reduction in the other workhouse
has been nearly proportionate.”


NOVEMBER.


2.—The Prince of Orange arrived at Yarmouth from London, and on the 6th
sailed in the Diana packet for Cuxhaven.

13.—Peter Donahue, a sergeant in the 30th Regiment of Foot, was executed
at Lynn, for uttering counterfeit Bank of England notes.  “We are sorry
to add that he appeared sensible for many minutes after he was turned
off, and a large effusion of blood gushed from his mouth and nose, which
rendered the scene most awful, terrible, and distressing.”

20.—Prince William Frederick of Gloucester arrived at the house of Mr. J.
Patteson, at Norwich, and in the afternoon stood sponsor for Mr.
Patteson’s youngest son, who was christened at St. Stephen’s Church by
the name of William Frederick.  The Prince afterwards went to Houghton,
where Lord Cholmondeley gave a grand _fête_ in honour of the Peace.  On
his return to Norwich, on November 25th, his Royal Highness attended a
ball and supper, given by Mrs. Charles Manners Sutton at the Bishop’s
Palace.

21.*—“The coursing meeting at Swaffham last week was numerously and
respectably attended.  The silver cup was won by Mr. Denton’s bitch
Nettle, which beat Mr. Tyssen’s bitch.  The assembly was brilliantly and
numerously attended”


DECEMBER.


5.—It was announced that the Duke of Norfolk intended to “pull down the
old Palace, now used as a workhouse, and employ the premises for some
beneficial and ornamental purpose.”

16.—The old Hall at Stratton Strawless, belonging to Mr. Robert Marsham,
was destroyed by fire.  The family had removed a few weeks before into
the new hall.

26.—A serious affray occurred at Horsford between two Excise officers,
assisted by two privates of the 3rd Dragoon Guards, and 30 smugglers.
The officers had seized a large quantity of smuggled goods at Cawston,
and the smugglers succeeded in retaking only a small part.  One of the
soldiers was shot; several of the smugglers were desperately wounded, and
two died of their wounds.

—*(Advt.)  “The Lord Nelson new Light Coach, from London to Lynn in 14
hours, through Cambridge and Ely.  Agreeable to the wishes of the
Vice-Chancellor and several members of the University, the proprietors
mean to relinquish travelling on the Sunday.  The coach will leave the
Golden Cross, Charing Cross, on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at
half-past five, arrive at Cambridge at one, and Lynn at eight in the
evening.  The coach will return from the Globe Inn, Lynn, on Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday mornings.  The coach carries four insides.”

—*(Advt.)  “The Lord Nelson Coach, from London to Fakenham.  The coach
leaves the Crown, Fakenham, on Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday;
sups at Cambridge, and arrives in London about seven in the morning.
From the Golden Cross, same days, at six in the evening.”

Prices of corn at the end of the year: Wheat, 70s. to 76s.  Rye, 36s.
Barley, 40s. to 42s. per quarter.  Oats, 20s. to 24s.  Malt, 32s. per
coomb.  Best flour, £3 1s. 8¼d per sack.  Coals, 40s. 4d. per chaldron.



1802.


JANUARY.


2.*—“Mr. W. E. Bulwer, of Heydon, has resolved to divide all his farms
into 200 acres, as they come out of lease.  They are worthy the attention
of industrious men wanting situations.”

4.—The Duke of Bedford, Lord Paget, and Lord John Thynne, with four other
gentlemen, on a visit to Lord Cholmondeley at Houghton, “had the greatest
day’s sport ever known in Norfolk.  They killed altogether 165 hares, 42
pheasants, 5 rabbits, 2 woodcock, and 2 partridges, and this
notwithstanding that the woods had been beat five times this season.”

9.—A reduction of 3s. 6d. in the pound poor-rates announced.  The mulct
was fixed at 7s. in the pound.  “For the last 30 years there have not
been so few paupers in the two workhouses, principally owing to the
manufacturers of Norwich having such large orders to execute that hands
are actually wanted.”

—The non-commissioned officers and privates of the Blofield and South
Walsham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry offered to continue their services to
the Government, and “thanked the officers for the unremitting and polite
attention paid to them since the establishment in 1794.”  Other troops of
Yeomanry in the county made similar offers.

13.*—“Died lately at Bristol Hot Wells, where she had gone for the
recovery of her health, the Countess of Leicester.”

—*“Died last week Mr. William Websdale.  This venerable man lived in
three centuries, and expired at the advanced age of 102 years.”

—*The following Coach advertisements were published on this date:—

“Royal Lynn Mail Coach sets out daily from the Duke’s Head Inn, Lynn, by
way of Brandon, Barton Mills, Newmarket, Bournbridge, and Epping, to the
White Horse, in Fetter Lane, whence it returns every day at three
o’clock.”

“The Fakenham and Swaffham Light Post Coach sets out daily from the Red
Lion, in Fakenham, at two o’clock, and returns from London as above.”

“The Lord Nelson Coach, from Lynn to Norwich in seven hours.  From the
Globe, Lynn, to the King’s Head, Norwich, every Monday, Wednesday, and
Friday, returning Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday at seven o’clock each
morning.”

“The Lynn and Norwich Machine, from the Crown Tavern, Lynn, to the White
Swan, Norwich.  Runs three times a week.  Insides, 12s.; outsides, 7s.”

14.—Mr. William Earle Bulwer installed Provincial Grand Master of
Freemasons at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

15.—The thermometer “very near to 0 (32 degrees below freezing point).”

16.—A fine grey eagle was taken alive in a trap upon the estate of Lord
Montrath, at Weeting.  It measured from the extremity of each wing 7 feet
8 inches, and from the beak to the tail nearly four feet.


FEBRUARY.


15.—The Norwich Court of Guardians considered the question of the
erection of a new workhouse.  The average number of poor maintained in
the two workhouses during the previous 18 years had been 1,282.  It was
recommended that one building be erected to accommodate 1,300, the money
to be borrowed on shares of £100 each, bearing interest, and to be paid
off by lot, so that the whole debt, with interest thereon, would be
discharged in 20 years.  A Bill was brought before Parliament and
received the Royal assent on May 24th, and a site for the building was
purchased near “the opening to Chapel Field.”  On December 7th, in
consequence of observations made by Mr. Alderman Rigby on the subject of
outdoor relief, the question was deferred until the committee had
informed the Court whether “these allowances may not be so extended
without any diminution of the comforts of the poor as to render
unnecessary the building of such a workhouse as has hitherto been
proposed.”  The scheme for the erection of the workhouse was ultimately
abandoned.

21.—Died, Mr. Henry Skipper, dyer, St. Peter Hungate, Norwich.  “He was
in his time a famous pugilist, and fought several pitched battles with
Algar, Henry, and others.”


MARCH.


16.—Died, at his house in Greville Street, Hatton Garden, London, in the
28th year of his age, Thomas Archibald Murray, M.D., one of the
physicians of the public dispensary in Carey Street, and of the House of
Recovery for Infectious Diseases, an institution which, in a great
measure, owed its establishment to Dr. Murray’s exertions.  He was the
youngest son of Dr. John Murray, founder of the Scots Society in Norwich,
who died September 26th, 1792.

20.*—“Died, lately, at Strawberry Hill, near Collumpton, Devonshire, aged
78, the Earl of Montrath, of Weeting Hall.  The Earldom is extinct.  His
lordship left a legacy of £2,000 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.
His invariable dread of small-pox occasioned his lordship to lead
absolutely the life of a recluse.  His terror was so great that he had
five houses between his seat at Weeting and his house in Devonshire, to
prevent the chance of infection, and at these houses small establishments
were kept up, as he dared not sleep in an inn.”

24.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, the Grand Jury made a
presentment, to the effect that, as hay and corn were considerably
reduced in price, publicans and posting-masters might, without injury to
themselves, decrease their charges.  It was resolved “That those
publicans and posting-masters who have already reduced their charges are
deserving approbation and encouragement.”  In an advertisement published
on April 24th the post-masters stated that from the heavy duties imposed
upon carriages, the first expense of chaises and their repair, the
increased price of horses and of smith’s work, they could not, without
great injury to themselves and their families, make any abatement in the
charge of fifteen pence (which included the payment of a duty of 3d.) per
mile, they having been considerable losers during the previous two years.

27.—Died, at Melton Constable, Sir Edward Astley, Bart., who represented
Norfolk in four successive Parliaments.  He was succeeded in the title
and estates by Sir J. H. Astley, his only surviving son by his first
wife, the eldest sister of John Lord Delaval, of Seaton Delaval,
Northumberland.

30.—News was received of the Definite Treaty of Peace having been signed
at Amiens, on March 27th, by the Marquis Cornwallis and Buonaparte.  The
Norwich Loyal Military Associations assembled at St. Andrew’s Hall.
“Instead of field-pieces and ammunition waggons the martial divisions
were preceded in their march from the Hall to the Market Place by two
brewers’ drays, laden with six barrels of Norwich porter, which were
drunk with much joy.”


APRIL.


10.*—(Advt.)  “To Seafaring Men.  A Double Caule to be sold.  For price
and particulars enquire of the Printers.”

—*“Within the last three months nearly 300 paupers have been discharged
from the two workhouses, which at the present time do not contain more
than 550 persons, the smallest number ever remembered.  The next
poor-rate, in consequence, will not exceed 4s. 3d. in the pound in
Norwich.”

—*“It appears from the returns of assessment of income that Norfolk and
Norwich last year contributed £111,513 17s. 1d., of which sum £18,801 0s.
3¼d. was paid by persons possessing incomes under £200 a year, and
£92,712 16s. 9¾d. by persons of superior income.”

17.*—(Advt.)  “Bear Baiting.  Henry Gerrard respectfully informs the
public that there will be a Bear Baiting in a meadow belonging to the
Ferry Farm House, Great Yarmouth, on Monday next, the 19th inst., in the
afternoon.  Admission 1s.; 6d. to be returned in liquor.”  (The baiting
was prevented by the action of the county justices.)

—William Dunnett, for horse stealing, and John Saunders, for stealing a
cow, were executed at Thetford.

24.—The East and West Regiments of Norfolk Militia disembodied at
Yarmouth and Dereham.  The several corps of Yeomanry Cavalry and
Volunteer Infantry, on being disbanded, were thanked by the Government
for their services.

—*“The whole of the French and Dutch prisoners confined in Yaxley
Barracks were last week put on board different vessels in Lynn harbour,
from whence they proceeded to their respective countries.”

26.—Died, at Bath, aged 78, the Rev. Edmund Nelson, father of Lord
Nelson.  He was rector of Burnham Thorpe, to which he was presented in
1755 by Lord Walpole.

27.—To commemorate the opening of the new organ, “built by the celebrated
Mr. England, of London,” the oratorio, “The Messiah,” was performed at
St. George Colegate Church, Norwich, which was “lighted up and matted for
the occasion.”  The organ was opened by Mr. Beckwith, who also conducted
the band.  Three shillings was charged for admission to the church.


MAY.


3.—The Corporation of Norwich voted an address to his Majesty the King on
the acquisition of Peace.  The address was presented to his Majesty at a
Levée at St. James’s Palace, on May 21st, by Mr. Jeremiah Ives, jun.,
Mayor; Sir Roger Kerrison, Mayor-Elect; and Mr. William Foster, jun.

4.—Peace was proclaimed by the Mayor and Corporation, who went in
procession through the streets of Norwich.  Major Patteson’s corps of
Volunteers and the several parochial military associations, after firing
volleys in the Market Place, marched to the residence of the Mayor-Elect,
where they deposited their muskets and regimental colours.  Officers and
men afterwards repaired to Neeche’s Gardens, where they dined.  In the
evening there was a general illumination.  The day was similarly observed
at Yarmouth.

10.—A _fête_ was held in Reffley Wood, near Lynn.  A “fine Norfolk sheep”
was roasted for the feast, presided over by Sir Martin ffolkes.

13.—Died, aged 85, Mrs. Beaton, of St. John Maddermarket, Norwich.  “She
was a native of Wales, and commonly called here ‘The Freemason,’ from the
circumstance of her having contrived to conceal herself one evening in
the wainscoting of the lodge-room, where she learnt that secret, the
knowledge of which thousands of her sex in vain attempted to arrive at.
She was a very singular old woman, and, as a proof of it, the secret died
with her.”

14.—A heavy fall of snow, which in many places lay more than an inch
thick upon the ground.  On the 15th there was a severe frost, and snow
fell for two hours.  At Langley and other places it was between three and
four inches in depth.

22.—Between one and two o’clock in the morning the dwelling-house of the
Rev. Mr. Sykes, of Guestwick, was burglariously entered by two men.
“They presented themselves at Mr. and Mrs. Sykes’ bedside.  Their faces
were blackened, and one of them had on a slip of linen, and the other a
woman’s checked bed-gown.  They each had a cudgel and a candle in their
hands.  They said, ‘We have pistols; your money or your lives.’  One of
them remained by the bedside, while the other plundered the drawers.
Then they departed, carrying away some money and a watch.”

24.—The Duke of Cambridge sailed from Yarmouth in the Amphion frigate for
Hanover, of which kingdom he was appointed Regent.

24.—Died, aged 90, Mrs. Ann Fuller, of Raveningham.  “Her remains were
interred at the parish of Toft Monks.  The pall was supported by six
grandchildren, and the funeral attended by children, grandchildren, and
great grandchildren in her own lineal descent to the number of 47.”

29.—At a county meeting an address to his Majesty on the Peace was moved
by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, seconded by the Hon. Col. Harbord, and
unanimously adopted.  The address was presented to the King by Mr. Robert
Wilson, High Sheriff.

31.—A fire occurred at Swanton paper mill, a great part of which was
destroyed, with all the paper.  The damage was estimated at £4,000.


JUNE.


1.—This day was ordered to be observed as one of general thanksgiving for
the Restoration of Peace.  The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended
the Cathedral, and the appointed service was performed at all parish
churches.  At Lynn, the inhabitants, instead of having an illumination,
collected £300, which was distributed amongst the poor.

21.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  A new thrashing machine was
exhibited.  An improved drill for turnip sowing was also shown.  “From
the same barrel seed and oilcake manure are delivered into one tube,
through which it is deposited in the earth by the same coulters.”

22.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor, Sir Roger Kerrison, went to the
Cathedral “in a most elegant new chariot, the colour of royal blue; the
coachman and the three footmen behind had handsome new liveries, with
gold-laced cocked hats and gold-headed canes.”  His worship “wore a full
dress coat and embroidered waistcoat.”  At the Guild feast, in St.
Andrew’s Hall, 800 guests were present; and at the ball given in the
evening, at Chapel Field House, Mr. T. A. Kerrison and Miss Chad opened
the dancing for the 450 guests.

26.*—(Advt.)  “On Wednesday, the 30th inst., a main of cocks will be
fought at Aylsham, between the gentlemen of Suffolk and the gentlemen of
Norfolk, for ten guineas a battle and twenty the odd.  Feeder for
Suffolk, Nath. Rowen; ditto for Norfolk, Henry Seaman.”


JULY.


2.—Dibden gave his entertainment, “Sans Souci,” at the Theatre Royal,
Norwich.  The performance was repeated on the succeeding evening.

5.—Parliament having been dissolved on June 29th, the election of members
for the city of Norwich took place on this day.  The candidates were the
Right Hon. Wm. Windham, of Felbrigg, and Mr. John Frere, of Roydon; Mr.
Robert Fellowes, of Shottesham, and Mr. William Smith.  At the close of
the poll the numbers were:—Fellowes, 1,532; Smith, 1,439; Windham, 1,356;
Frere, 1,328.  There was great rioting.  The chairing took place on the
day following the declaration of the poll.

12.—After the lapse of 34 years, a contested election took place for the
county of Norfolk.  The poll opened on the 12th, and continued for eight
days.  The result was declared as follows:—Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke, 4,317;
Sir Jacob Henry Astley, 3,612; the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, 3,517.  A
scrutiny was demanded by the friends of the latter and granted.  It
commenced on July 30th, and continued till August 28th, when Col.
Wodehouse’s counsel retired from the case, and Sir J. H. Astley and Mr.
Coke were declared duly elected.  The expenses of the contest were
estimated at £35,000, and the amount spent by the successful candidates
to bring distant voters to the poll was enormous.

Mr. John Hookham Frere, of Roydon, was this month appointed Envoy
Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to the Court of Madrid.


AUGUST.


12.—This year’s anniversary service at the Cathedral, in aid of the
Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, realised £165 3s. 4¾d.  With the proceeds
of the dinner at the Maid’s Head Inn, the total amount handed to the
institution was £204 17s. 8¾d.

14.*—“We hear from Brussels that a party of gentlemen from Lynn have
reached that city in the Hebe pleasure yacht.  This being the first
vessel that ever displayed the British flag in Brussels the quay of the
port has been crowded with spectators looking at her.”

17.—A duel was fought on Mousehold Heath, Norwich, by Mr. Robert
Alderson, a well-known barrister, and Mr. Grigby.  The latter conceived
that he had been unfairly treated in cross-examination by Mr. Alderson at
the Suffolk Assizes, and, refusing to accept his explanation, sent him a
challenge.  “Mr. Alderson was attended to the field by Mr. Mackintosh,
and Mr. Grigby by Mr. Turner.  Two shots were exchanged, with no effect
than that of Mr. Grigby’s first ball passing through the skirts of Mr.
Alderson’s coat.  A cordial reconciliation was afterwards effected.”

28.—William Rix was executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for sheep stealing.


SEPTEMBER.


5.—The organ of the Octagon Chapel, Norwich, was opened by Mr. Beckwith.
The instrument was built by Crotch.


OCTOBER.


4.—A grand Musical Festival was held in Norwich, under the direction of
Messrs. Beckwith and Sharp, and Mr. Ashley, of London, Mrs. Billington,
Mr. Bartleman, and Mr. Braham were the principal _artistes_.  The last
performance was given on the 7th.

8.—The Princess of Wales concluded a visit to the Marquis and Marchioness
Townshend at Rainham, and returned to Blackheath.

13.—Mr. Alderman Francis Columbine resigned his seat.  Owing to his
pecuniary distress, the Corporation of Norwich granted to him and his
daughter an annuity of £100.

14.—Races were held at Blickling Park.  Lady Caroline Harbord gave a ball
and supper, attended by upwards of 100 guests from Aylsham and the
neighbourhood.

18.—Three gentlemen, for a considerable wager, undertook to walk
blindfolded from Post Office Court to the great doors of St. Peter
Mancroft Church, Norwich, in 15 minutes.  “Two of them performed it in
less than the given time, much to the satisfaction of the spectators, but
the other unfortunate gentleman bent his course rapidly for the Upper
Market, and found himself at the expiration of the time at the great
doors of St. Andrew’s Hall.”

21.—Mr. Edward Rigby was elected Alderman of the Great Northern Ward, in
room of Mr. Francis Columbine, after a severe contest lasting two days.
His opponent was Mr. Jonathan Davey.

23.—Died, at Vienna, aged 80, General Jerningham, nephew of Sir George
Jerningham, Bart., of Costessey.  He was upwards of 50 years in the
Imperial service, and was Chamberlin to the Empress Maria Theresa and to
the Emperors Joseph, Leopold, and Francis.


NOVEMBER.


8.—Swaffham coursing meeting commenced.

25.—Mr. Welby, of Blickling, undertook, for a bet of 50 guineas, to ride
his mare 90 miles on the Aylsham road in ten hours, all paces.  “She
performed the first 80 miles in 8 hours 25 minutes, and had an hour and
thirty-five minutes to run the last ten miles, but was unable to
accomplish it, to the great disappointment of those who bet three and
four to one that the mare performed the journey.”



1803.


FEBRUARY.


8.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, a committee was appointed
to prepare a Bill to be laid before a future meeting for the better
paving, lighting, watching, and cleansing of the city.  A meeting was
held on the 15th, at which resolutions were passed in opposition to the
proposal; and in the month of March it was announced that the Paving
Committee deemed it advisable in the then state of public affairs to
defer going to Parliament with their Bill until the next Session.

—Died, after having lived in three centuries, Mary Helsdon, of East
Ruston, widow.  “Her age was 105 years 11 months; she retained her
faculties till about a year before her death, and she left a progeny of
near 80 persons, including children, grandchildren, great grandchildren,
and great-great grandchildren.”

12.*—“Mr. Coke, of Holkham, let out his Southdown tups last season for
£1,500.”

—Nearly 100 pairs of shoes, the property of 20 different persons who had
been fined for making them contrary to Act of Parliament, were publicly
burnt in Norwich Market Place.  One shoemaker, for refusing to allow the
searchers to perform their duty, was fined the full penalty of £5.  The
tradespeople, after obtaining counsel’s opinion, gave notice that actions
for trespass would be taken against searchers and sealers of leather if
they entered their premises.  On March 7th two shoemakers were fined for
offering resistence.

23.—Died, Mr. Wignell, manager of the Philadelphia Theatre.  He married,
a short time before his death, Mrs. Merry, formerly Miss Brunton, of
Norwich Theatre.

24.—Died, at Coltishall, Mr. Bartlett Gurney, banker, of Norwich, aged
46.  He left £500 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.


MARCH.


5.*—“Mr. Stephen Martin, an old gentleman who lately died at Brentwood,
bequeathed to the minister and churchwardens of St. Giles’, Norwich, the
sum of £1,000 Stock in the three per cent. Consols, to be laid out for
the use and benefit of the poor of that parish, of which he was a native.
He was born in 1717, and when an infant was taken to Jamaica, where he
amassed a fortune.”

7.—At an assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address of
congratulation was ordered to be presented to his Majesty “on the
providential discovery of the late traitorous conspiracy against his
Royal person and Government, entered into by Col. Despard and six other
persons, who were executed on the top of the new Surrey prison, in
Horsemonger Lane, on February 21st.”  The address was presented to the
King by the Mayor (Sir Roger Kerrison), accompanied by Mr. Robert
Fellowes, M.P., and Alderman John Harvey.  Similar addresses were voted
by the Corporations of Yarmouth, Thetford, and Lynn; and by the High
Sheriff and Grand Jury of Norfolk at the Assizes at Thetford.  The latter
address was presented by Sir J. H. Astley, M.P., and Mr. T. W. Coke,
M.P., on March 30th.

11.—Died, aged 73, Mr. Thomas Twiddy, “who had been many years trumpet
herald to the Norwich Company of Comedians.”

14.—Died, Mrs. Parfrey, aged 80, wife of Mr. R. Parfrey, of Holme Hale,
near Swaffham.  “The public will best recollect her, as a doctress, by
her former name of Fyson, and for the many cures she made in dropsy and
other complaints.”

15.—At a meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall the late members of the
Norwich Loyal Military Association, in consequence of the aspect of
public affairs, offered their services to the Government.

19.*—“Two pairs of eagles were lately shot near Yarmouth.  One pair
measured and weighed as follows:—Female, length, 3 feet 4 inches; extent
of wings, 8 feet; weight, 9¾ lbs.  Male, length, 2 feet 9 inches; extent
of wings, 7 feet 1 inch; weight, 9¼ lbs.  Seventeen wild swans have also
been shot by one man in the week.”

21.—The Militia Regiments in the county this day assembled at Yarmouth,
East Dereham, and Swaffham.

22.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose
and a special jury, the case, Astley _v._ Harwood, was tried.  This was
an action for defamation.  It was alleged that the defendant, at a ball
held on July 6th, 1802, the day after the Norwich election, mounted a
table, and, addressing the company, called the plaintiff a liar, a
coward, an assassin, a scoundrel, and a murderer, “for he had murdered
his father.”  The jury found a verdict for the plaintiff, and assessed
the damages at £2,000.  On June 11th the Court of King’s Bench granted a
new trial, on the ground that the impression the words made on the
hearers was matter for aggravation or mitigation of damages.  The new
trial took place at Norwich Assizes in August, 1803, when a special jury
confirmed the former verdict, and awarded Sir Jacob Astley £2,000
damages.  On December 3rd, it was announced that the case had been
removed to the Court of Exchequer on writ of error.  In June, 1804, the
judges in the Exchequer Chamber unanimously confirmed the former verdict,
and gave judgment, with costs, against Col. Harwood.  Finally, on July
19th, 1804, the case was taken to the House of Lords, when the Lord
Chancellor delivered his opinion in favour of Sir Jacob Astley, which was
confirmed by the Lords, who ordered Col. Harwood to pay Sir Jacob £100
costs, occasioned by the writ of error.

The portrait of Capt. John Harvey, of the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers,
painted by Opie at the request of the corps, was this month placed in St.
Andrew’s Hall.


APRIL.


9.—Henry Ford was executed at Thetford, for stealing a silver watch,
coat, and jacket from the person of Thomas Aylmer, of Pentney.

16.—A county meeting held at the Shirehall, Norwich, when an address of
congratulation to his Majesty, on has escape “from the late traitorous
conspiracy,” was moved by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, seconded by Sir Roger
Kerrison, and unanimously adopted.

26.—A rowing match took place between two crews, manning respectively two
well-known Norwich boats, the Lion and the Dove.  It was the only contest
of the kind that had been witnessed in Norwich for nearly a quarter of a
century.  The course was from Carrow Abbey “to a signal post standing in
Whitlingham reach, and return to Carrow, a distance of four miles.”  In
consequence of the narrowness of the stream, “the boats started about 300
yards distant from each other, the first having to go to the place whence
the last set off.”  The Lion won by about 80 yards in 38 minutes 40
seconds.  (The number of oars not mentioned.)

27.—A public dispensary was established in Norwich.  “The committee
propose to recommend to the general meeting an extension of the original
plan, and to connect with it inoculation for the cow-pox.”


MAY.


3.—Mr. William Firth was elected Steward of the Corporation of Norwich.

—The Norwich Loyal Military Association was re-established, and 300 men
entered to serve therein.

5.—An impressment took place at Yarmouth.

7.*—“Lately, was married at Ranworth, Wm. Brown, aged 80, to Elizabeth
Gunton, aged 63.  The bridegroom had had three wives, the bride three
husbands, and the bridegroom’s daughter, who attended this wedding, had
also had three husbands.”

14.—The friends of the Right Hon. Wm. Windham celebrated his birthday by
dining at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

15.—Found dead in his bed, Edward Baldwin, of Wereham, near Stoke Ferry.
He was a glover, aged 89, “commonly reputed ‘the Almanack’ of that
neighbourhood, as he was remarkable for many years past for being a true
prognosticator of the weather.”

16.—An embargo was laid on all the shipping in Yarmouth Roads.

18.—The Mayor of Norwich, attended by the two Sheriffs, the city
officers, and citizens, proceeded on horseback, at nine o’clock, with
band playing and colours flying, from the Guildhall, to visit the
boundaries of the city and county of the city of Norwich.  The cavalcade
went from Conesford Gate to Trowse “Eye,” thence to Trowse, Lakenham,
Hartford Bridge, Eaton, Earlham, Hellesdon, Mile Cross, Catton Field
(“including Sir Edward Berry’s house”), across Mousehold Heath to Thorpe,
Trowse Newton Hall, and Bishop’s Bridge.  The company then returned to
the Market Place, where three cheers were given and the band played “God
Save the King.”  In the evening, the Mayor dined with a large party at
the King’s Head.  (A similar perambulation took place in 1793.)

30.—Died, at Hardingham, aged 64, Sir Archibald Dickson, Admiral of the
Blue.

31.—Thomas H. Case, of Great Fransham, formerly a private in the East
Dereham or Second Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, was charged before the Rev.
Dixon Hoste with “obstinately refusing to deliver up his arms,
accoutrements, and clothing,” for which he was fined £10.

—A two days’ race meeting commenced at Tivetshall.  “The poney races
afforded excellent sport, and there was some good running between the
hunters.”


JUNE.


4.*—“This week the West Norfolk Militia marched from Thetford and Dereham
to Colchester Barracks, to which place the East Norfolk have received
orders to march next week.”

13.—The Duke of Cambridge and suite arrived in Norwich from Yarmouth.
After changing horses and taking refreshment at the Maid’s Head, they
proceeded on their way to London, by Attleborough.  His Royal Highness
had come to Yarmouth in the Amethyst frigate, with Prince William of
Gloucester, from Cuxhaven, where they narrowly escaped being made
prisoners by the advance guard of the French army.  The French general in
Holland put an immense number of fishing boats in requisition for the
avowed purpose of invading England.

—The Aldermen requested the concurrence of the Common Council of Norwich
to a dutiful and loyal address to his Majesty “on the present important
crisis,” and a motion was made for the appointment of a committee to draw
up such address.  It was opposed by several members of the Common
Council, and on a division rejected by 29 votes to 19.

21.—Mr. John Patteson was appointed to be lieutenant-colonel, Mr. Charles
Harvey, major, and Messrs. Andrew Sieley, J. H. Cole, R. Partridge, and
Hammond Fiske, captains in the battalion of Norwich Volunteers.

This month a ballot took place for the Supplementary Militia.  Under the
Army of Reserve Act, Norfolk (including Norwich) raised 927 men.


JULY.


9.—At a meeting of the deputy-lieutenants and magistrates of the county,
presided over by the Marquis Townshend, the plan recommended by the
Government, for establishing a system of communication throughout the
county and for rendering the body of the people instrumental in the
general defence and preservation of property in case of invasion, was
approved and adopted.  The county was formed into 13 divisions,
consisting of a certain number of hundreds; each division was placed
under the charge of lieutenants of divisions, nominated by the Lord
Lieutenant; each hundred was under a magistrate, known as an Inspector of
the Hundred; and each parish under some gentleman, clergyman, or
principal farmer, termed Superintendent of the Parish.

13.—On this day and on the 14th, William Green, bricklayer, undertook at
Yarmouth, for a bet of five guineas, to lay 3,800 bricks in a workmanlike
manner in 24 hours, and completed his task in 20 hours, on a new building
at the Bowling Green House.

23.—Two men, named Denny and Allen, were placed in the pillory at
Norwich, in accordance with sentence passed upon them at the Quarter
Sessions on July 15th, for conspiracy against Mr. F. Latham.  “Over their
heads was the inscription, ‘False Conspirators.’  Allen wept bitterly
when he was put in, but Denny, with great effrontery, continued to nod
and smile at the numerous spectators, until the people, by a shower of
rotten eggs, and, at last, potatoes, convinced him of their detestation
and abhorrence of his character and crime.  This continued for about
half-an-hour, when Denny, against whom all their violence was directed,
appeared to faint, and by the advice of a medical man was taken out of
the pillory and conducted to the gaol, where, being examined by several
medical men, he was deemed to be in a fit state to be replaced on the
pillory, and was carried back for that purpose, but all efforts to
reinstate him there proved ineffectual, and he lay thereon till the hour
was expired, amidst the execrations of the enraged multitude.  When Denny
was taken out the populace clamorously demanded that Allen, whose
appearance excited their commiseration rather than their indignation,
should be taken down.  Mr. Sheriff Back immediately ascended the
scaffold, and with the greatest firmness and severity expressed his
determination to enforce obedience to the laws and to carry the sentence
fully into execution.  When the hour was expired they were taken down and
removed to the Bridewell to undergo two years’ imprisonment.”

23.*—“All persons arrived from France and Holland and witnessed the
immense preparations which are now making for the invasion of this
country, express astonishment at the apathy and indifference which
prevail here.”

24.—This day (Sunday) the Norfolk Rangers (Yeomanry Cavalry) had a field
day at Rainham Park, and subscribed £100 towards the fund instituted by
the merchants of London for the relief of persons “who may suffer in the
general defence of the country.”

30.*—“At a Court of the Commissioners of Sewers, concerning the repairing
of sea breaches between Happisburgh and Yarmouth, the jury, after hearing
read three several verdicts of former juries given in 1702, 1715, and
1742, and also, hearing several witnesses, delivered a verdict agreeable
to the above, by all of which it was determined that no particular
persons were bound to sustain or repair the sea walls adjoining their
lands.”

—*“The male part of the Norwich Company (theatrical) have agreed to
enroll themselves to learn the use of arms.”

—*“Messrs. Marsh and Sons, Norwich and Cambridge carriers, have within
the last few days offered, for the service of the Government in case of
invasion, 100 horses, 12 broad-wheel waggons, 24 men as drivers and
assistants, 24 boats, amounting altogether to 200 tons burden, 6
watermen, and 9 boys, with blacksmiths, with their apparatus, tools, &c.,
and 2 wheelwrights, and 2 harness makers, with all necessary tools.”

—Major-General Money published an address on the necessity of immediately
associating, subscribing, and arming for the defence of the county in
case of invasion.  It resulted in the formation of Volunteer corps in all
the seaports and market towns in Norfolk.

Capt. John Harvey was this month promoted to be major of the squadron of
Norwich Light Horse Volunteers.

During this month the number of poor in the Norwich Workhouse did not
exceed 400, “a circumstance almost unprecedented.”


AUGUST.


6.*—“The Rev. Mr. Beloe, formerly of this city, has been appointed
librarian to the British Museum.”

9.—A brig was launched from Cattermoul’s yard at Thorpe, near Norwich, in
the presence of many hundreds of spectators.  “She went off the stocks in
very fine style, but when she was towing ashore for the company on board
to get off her, everyone endeavouring to get ashore first, the weight of
such a body of people, added to those on the rigging, overset her.
Nearly one hundred men, women, and children were plunged into the water,
and messengers were at once sent to Norwich for medical assistance.”  It
is somewhat remarkable that no lives were lost.

20.—The case of Mr. Cony, a ward in Chancery, came before the Court of
Chancery.  He was only 17 years of age, and had married Elizabeth
Franklin, the daughter of an innkeeper at Downham Market, in which
district he possessed a large property.  The marriage took place by
licence in London.  The Chancellor annulled the marriage, ordering the
cessation of all further intercourse between the parties, at the same
time intimating that, if his orders were not strictly complied with, “he
should take such steps as would prevent the possibility of their
meeting.”

25.—Mr. George Wyer, of Downham Market, “carried a 20 stone sack of flour
one mile, leading through the town of Watton, for a wager of 230 guineas,
which he performed with great ease in 18 minutes, to the astonishment of
a vast number of spectators.”

Active preparations commenced for the defence of the county in view of
possible invasion.  On the 8th several officers and non-commissioned
officers of the 47th Regiment of Foot arrived in Norwich to receive the
balloted men and substitutes of the Army of Reserve, the training of whom
commenced next day in Chapel Field.  A county meeting was held at the
Shirehall, Norwich, on the 10th, when resolutions were passed, assuring
his Majesty of the readiness of the county to take defensive measures.  A
meeting of the inhabitants of Norwich was held at the Guildhall on the
16th, at which a subscription was opened for raising a regiment of
Volunteer Infantry.  Clerks attended in the porch of the Guildhall to
enroll the names of the Volunteers, and the city flag was displayed from
the window of the Town Clerk’s office.  On the following day 702 men had
offered themselves, and by Saturday, the 20th, the number had increased
to 1,085, and the public subscription exceeded £3,000, of which £500 was
given by the Corporation.  On the 26th the regiment was formed, 800
strong, under Lieut.-Col. Harvey (commanding), Lieut.-Col. Plumptre, and
Major Sigismund Trafford.  The public subscription then amounted to
£6,400.  A Rifle Corps was also formed, with Mr. R. M. Bacon as captain.
At Yarmouth, 500 persons enrolled themselves, under the command of
Lieut.-Col. Wm. Gould.  On the 27th, it was announced that the number of
Volunteers in the county enabled the Lord Lieutenant to suspend the
compulsory clauses of the Defence Act.  The total number was about 7,300.
The Government purchased some properties in Norwich to be converted into
temporary barracks for the reception of 800 infantry.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—The first parade of the Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry took
place.  Eight battalion companies, a light infantry company, and a
grenadier company were formed, and “from five barrels of British brown
stout they drank the King’s health and prosperity to their country and
city, and success to the corps.”

7.—The brass ordnance belonging to the city were tested by some of the
regular artillery stationed in Norwich.  Four of the guns burst, and
appended to the account delivered to the Corporation was the
intimation:—“It is customary for the corporal to have the old metal when
any of the pieces burst.”  The official reply was to the effect that the
Corporation were of opinion that the corporal “did not want brass.”  The
iron nine-pounders stood the test.  The brass gun used by Kett in 1549
was preserved as a relic.

22.—The Norwich Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Patteson, entered
the Market Place, and after marching round the Hall and saluting the
Corporation, had their colours presented to them by the Mayor.  The men
were afterwards regaled at Neeche’s Gardens, and the officers dined at
the King’s Head.

24*—“Telegraphs, signal flags, or tar barrels are being stationed on all
the churches and lofty edifices on the coast, in order to give in a chain
of communication the earliest intelligence, either by night or day, of
the event of the enemy’s landing.”

29.—A trial was made on the Castle ditches, Norwich, of carriages
constructed for the conveyance of troops.  A wooden frame, serving as a
seat, was affixed to the skeleton of a four-wheel cart.  A board for the
feet was attached to it by ropes.  The vehicle was capable of conveying
17 men.


OCTOBER.


6.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions various resolutions were adopted and
transmitted to the Government regarding the defence of the county.  The
principal resolution was as follows:—“An object of most essential
concern, which this meeting think it incumbent upon them to point out, is
the town and port of Yarmouth, the infinite importance of which as the
principal and almost only naval station in the North Sea, and the
circumstances of which they do not wish to detail, but which, they
conceive, require the immediate attention of the Government, in order
that they may be rendered as secure against attack likely to be made upon
it by land as by the presence of a fleet, it is, they presume, against
any attempt by sea.”

15.—At a parade of the Norwich Volunteers this day (Sunday) a letter was
read from the Lord Lieutenant, asking if they would undertake to perform
permanent duty at Yarmouth.  A unanimous reply was given in the
affirmative, and “the officers and gentlemen of the Light Horse
Volunteers laid their hands on their breasts, as an appeal to their
honour to undertake the duty whenever they should be required.”  Shortly
afterwards the commanding officers received instructions to have their
corps in a perfect state of military equipment, and be prepared to march
at a moment’s notice.

18.—The Artillery, Shropshire Militia, and the Volunteer Corps (horse and
foot) took part in a sham fight on Bramerton Common.  General Milner, the
inspecting officer, commended all arms for their steadiness on parade.

19.—A general fast was observed.  The Bishop of Norwich preached at the
Cathedral, and the military attended service in the evening.

22.—Died, at Norwich, Mr. Elias Norgate, aged 76.  He served the office
of Sheriff in 1781, and of Mayor in 1785, and was a surgeon of great
local eminence.

26.—The Lord Lieutenant transmitted to the justices of the peace his
Majesty’s proclamation for establishing certain regulations under the
Act, respecting aliens arriving in the kingdom or resident therein.

The monument to the memory of the Poet Cowper and of his friend, Mrs.
Unwin, in the church of St. Nicholas, East Dereham, was erected this
month.


NOVEMBER.


5.—Bonfires were prohibited in city and county, “as they might cause a
false alarm.”

8.—The battalion of Norwich Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col.
Patteson, paraded in the Market Place at seven a.m., and, amid the
ringing of St. Peter Mancroft bells, started on their march to Yarmouth
for the performance of garrison duty.  The battalion halted at Acle, and,
on resuming their march, reached Yarmouth at four o’clock.  The rank and
file numbered 280, out of an establishment of 312, and two officers only
were absent.  On the same day two troops of the Norfolk Rangers, headed
by the Marquis Townshend and commanded by Capt. Sir M. B. ffolkes, Bart.,
and Capt. Beauchamp, entered Norwich on their way to Yarmouth.  There
were seven officers, two quartermasters, seven sergeants, two trumpeters,
and 94 privates.  The officers dined in the evening with Sir Roger
Kerrison, and on the following morning the squadron resumed its march.

9.—The Fakenham Volunteers, Capt. P. M. Case, marched into Norwich from
Aylsham.  There were four officers, seven sergeants, four drummers, and
80 privates.  This was the first Volunteer corps in Norfolk to volunteer
for garrison duty at Yarmouth.

16.—The Norfolk Rangers arrived at Norwich on the termination of their
duty at Yarmouth, and on the next day proceeded to their homes.

22.—The Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, under Lieut.-Col. Harvey,
paraded on Tombland and marched to Yarmouth for garrison duly.  On the
same day Col. Patteson’s battalion marched in.  They were preceded by the
Fakenham corps, whose headquarters were at the White Swan.

30.—The troops stationed at Yarmouth were reviewed upon the Denes by
General Milner.

—At the annual meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will, Norwich
(formerly the Scots Society), it was reported that since its
establishment in 1775 it had relieved 1,813 persons.

—The Lord Lieutenant received a circular letter from the Government,
relative to the appointment of such householders to act as special
constables who were not enrolled in any Volunteer corps.

—Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke was gazetted captain of the Holkham Yeomanry
Cavalry.

—Alderman John Herring, of Norwich, received from the Duke of York a
letter, in which his Royal Highness expressed approbation of the
readiness with which the Norwich Volunteers had undertaken to do garrison
duty at Yarmouth.


DECEMBER.


1.—Died, in Norwich, aged 43, Mr. James Burkin Burroughes, captain of the
Blofield and South Walsham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry.  His remains were
interred, with military honours, at Burlingham on December 6th.

—The squadron of Norwich Light Horse, Major John Harvey, marched to
Yarmouth, to relieve the Tunstead and Happing troop.

6.—Col. Harvey’s battalion returned to Norwich from Yarmouth.  In the
Regimental Orders, Col. Harvey referred to the steady and orderly march
on the road, to the loyal discharge of duty at Yarmouth, and to the
kindness with which the people of that town treated the men while in
quarters.

15.—The Lynn and Freebridge Yeomanry Cavalry, with the artillery and
rifle corps, commanded by Major Taylor, marched through Norwich for
Yarmouth, to relieve the South Erpingham troop in garrison duty.

20.—The North Walsham Volunteers marched from that town at four o’clock
in the morning, and arrived at Yarmouth at one o’clock, “without leaving
a single man behind, although the roads were extremely bad, and the
distance 26 miles.”

22.—The Dereham and Swaffham troops of Yeomanry Cavalry (Capts. Crisp and
Johnson) marched through Norwich to Yarmouth, to relieve the Lynn and
Freebridge troops.  The Diss (Capt. Woodward), Wells (Capt. Bloom), and
Old Buckenham (Capt. Powell) companies of infantry marched into Yarmouth
for a fortnight’s garrison duty.

25.—This day (Sunday) the Norwich Rifle Corps paraded at St. Andrew’s
Hall, took the oath of allegiance, and attended service at the church of
St. Peter Mancroft.  (The uniform and appointments of this corps
consisted of a dark green jacket, with lace of the same colour,
pantaloons, and short black gaiters; hussar cap, with green feather and
trimmings; a rifle-carbine, sword bayonet attached to the side by a black
waist belt, and a ball pouch and powder horn slung from the left
shoulder.)

—At a church parade of the Lynn Sea Fencibles, Capt. Bentinck, the
commanding officer, presented to the corps “a most elegant banner,”
worked by Viscountess Andover, daughter of Mr. Coke, M.P.

30.—The Hingham troop (Capt. Alpe) and the Wymondham troop (Capt. the
Hon. Wm. Wodehouse) marched to Yarmouth, to relieve the Dereham and
Swaffham troops.

31.—The Dereham troop, which left Yarmouth on the 30th, arrived at
Dereham, and was welcomed by a great concourse of the inhabitants.  The
church bells were rung, and the officers and many members of the troop
dined in the evening at the King’s Arms Inn.

The twenty-two troops of Yeomanry Cavalry in the county were this month
formed into three regiments.  The Marquis Townshend was appointed colonel
of the Western Regiment; Major-General Money, colonel of the Eastern
Regiment; and Col. (afterwards Brigadier-General) Bulwer, colonel of the
Midland (or Mid Norfolk) Regiment.

31.—Polito’s wild beasts were exhibited in the yard at the Duke’s Palace,
Norwich.



1804.


JANUARY.


3.—The Old Buckenham Volunteers marched into Norwich from Yarmouth, and
next day proceeded to their homes.  The corps numbered 5 officers and 125
non-commissioned officers and privates.

—Capt. Dickens, of the Shropshire Militia, “undertook for a considerable
wager to walk from the Angel at Yarmouth to the Angel at Norwich and back
again (47 miles) in twelve hours, which he performed with apparent ease
in eleven hours and a half.”

7.—Died, at Colchester, aged 65, Sir William Gordon, Bart., captain in
the West Norfolk Militia, and for many years a resident in Norwich.

12.—A meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, as to the depressed
state of the corn trade.  It was resolved to petition Parliament on the
subject.  (The prices quoted at this date were:—Wheat, 14s. to 26s.;
barley, 9s. 6d. to 10s.; oats, 9s. 6d. to 10s. 6d. per coomb.)

13.—The Wymondham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by Capt. the Hon.
Wm. Wodehouse, attended at Kimberley and “thanked Lady Wodehouse for the
colours lately presented by her ladyship, when they had the honour of
dining with the family.”

14.—The colours of the Norwich Juvenile Regiment of Infantry were
presented to them by “a young lady of the city.”  (This was a cadet
corps, armed with dummy muskets and tin bayonets.)

14.*—(Advt.)  “The Norwich and Yarmouth Volunteer Coach leaves the Bell
Inn, Hog Hill, every morning at eight o’clock, to the Wrestlers Inn,
Great Yarmouth, and returns at four o’clock.”

18.—The City of Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, Lieut.-Col.
Harvey, were presented with colours by the Mayor and Corporation.  The
colours were consecrated by the Rev. E. S. Thurlow, Prebendary of
Norwich, and handed to the colonel by the Mayor (Mr. John Morse); and the
King’s and regimental standards were delivered to the ensigns.  The
artillery, on Castle Hill, fired salutes, and the regiment discharged
three volleys in the Market Place in the presence of an immense crowd.

22.—This day (Sunday) John Baker, a private in the Loddon Volunteers, was
dismissed, “with every mark of ignominy at the head of the company, for
refusing to take the oath of allegiance to his Majesty.  His arms and
accoutrements, together with the Volunteer clothing, were stripped off on
parade, much to the satisfaction of the whole corps.”

31.—A baker of Norwich, named Winter, undertook, for a wager of £40, to
carry 6s. worth of bread in a basket from Norwich to Yarmouth within six
hours.  He accomplished his task in 5 hours 35 minutes.

Mr. T. W. Coke was this month promoted to be lieutenant-colonel of the
Western Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry; Mr. Hammond Alpe to be
lieutenant-colonel of the Eastern Regiment; and Mr. John Smyth to be
lieutenant-colonel of the Midland Regiment.

The several companies of Norfolk Volunteer Infantry were this month
formed into battalions as follow:—1st (Lynn), Lieut.-Col. E. Everard; 2nd
(Wells, &c.), Lieut.-Col. Francis Bedingfeld; 3rd (not then appointed);
4th (Cromer, &c.), Lieut.-Col. the Right Hon. Wm. Windham; 5th (Aylsham,
&c.), Lieut.-Col. Thomas Hutton (afterwards Sir Thomas Preston, Bart.);
6th (Yarmouth), Lieut.-Col. Wm Gould; 7th (Norwich), Lieut.-Col. Harvey;
8th (Loddon, &c.), Lieut.-Col. John Kerrich; 9th (Diss, &c.), Lieut.-Col.
T. J. Woodward; 10th (Swaffham, &c.), Lieut.-Col. R. W. Ottley; 11th
(Freebridge Lynn, &c.), Lieut.-Col. A. Hamond.

300 pikes were sent to Norwich for the use of the special constables, who
were called out to receive instruction in the pike exercise.

Flag staffs were placed at Rainham Hall, Holkham Hall, and Houghton Hall.
The red flag was only to be hoisted in case of actual invasion or on the
appearance of an enemy on the coast.

The ladies of Lynn inaugurated a movement for making flannel
underclothing for the use of the men of the Lynn Volunteers.


FEBRUARY.


4.—The Cromer Sea Fencibles were practising with canister and grape shot
upon the beach, when a ball struck Capt. Tremlett, R.N., on the foot, and
shattered the leg of Mr. John Smith, so as to render immediate amputation
necessary.  A public subscription, amounting to £500, was made for Mr.
Smith.

21.—Died, at Long Stratton, Mrs. Everitt, a Quaker, who had attained her
one hundredth year.  Lineally descended from her and living at the time
were 77 children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren.

27.—Colours were presented to the East Dereham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry
by Mrs. Smyth, on behalf of the ladies of the town and neighbourhood.
The troop, accompanied by Capt. Leeder’s corps of infantry, attended
service at the parish church, where the colours were “consecrated by
prayer,” and the sermon was preached by the Rev. Geo. Preston, curate.  A
dinner followed at the King’s Arms Inn.

The Corporation of Norwich this month ordered an iron bridge to be
erected at St. Michael’s Coslany.  It was opened on November 15th.


MARCH.


1.—The birthday of the Marquis Townshend was celebrated at Fakenham by a
dinner to the Norfolk Rangers.

27.—Lieut.-General Sir James Craig inspected the batteries and works from
Holt to Cromer.  Next day he reviewed, near Norwich, the 24th Regiment of
Foot (Col. Macdonald); the detachment of Royal Artillery under Capt.
Fyers; and two troops of the 1st Dragoons (Capt. Craven).


APRIL.


4.—Arrived at Yarmouth, the Antelope, cruiser brig, Commodore Sir Sidney
Smith, and the Prince of Wales cutter, from the Flushing station.  Some
boats sent out by Sir Sidney made an unsuccessful attempt to cut out an
armed brig near the Scaw.  The boats were attacked by an armed schooner,
and obliged to abandon their enterprise, with the loss of five killed and
ten wounded.

10.—Died, aged 12, Lord Viscount Bury, eldest son of the Earl of
Albemarle.

11.—Commodore Sir Sidney Smith arrived at Norwich from Yarmouth,
proceeded next day on a tour of the county, and returned to Yarmouth on
the 13th.

21.—James Airton was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for
stealing a box coat from the coach-house of Mr. Wm. Harvey.

25.—The Scipio of North Shields, Capt. Robinson, coal laden, was attacked
by a sloop-rigged privateer four miles from Cromer.  A sharp action,
lasting three quarters of an hour, ensued, when the privateer sheered
off.  Capt. Robinson was wounded in the foot by a musket ball, and the
vessel, whose sails and rigging were very much cut, was taken by the crew
to Yarmouth Roads, where medical assistance was rendered to Capt.
Robinson on board the Irresistible.

The portrait, painted by Hoppner, of the Right Hon. William Windham was
this month placed in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  It was afterwards
engraved in mezzotinto by Reynolds.


MAY.


2.—The gibbet on which the body of Payne (the pirate) was hung in chains,
about 23 years previously, upon Yarmouth North Denes, was taken down by
order of the Corporation.  “A ludicrous circumstance happened the night
it was erected.  The different tackling being all adjusted previous to
putting down the gibbet the day before Payne was hanged, some daring
licencious bloods hoisted up a young ass by the hind legs, to the
amusement of the spectators next morning, who could not but be surprised
to find the gibbet so unexpectedly occupied.  In consequence, however,
the tackling became so entangled that until a young sailor undertook to
climb the gibbet the prisoner could not be suspended.”

3.—The 2nd Battalion Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched into Yarmouth for
a fortnight’s permanent duty.

—A party of the Shropshire Militia marched into Norwich from Yarmouth
with 84 French and Dutch prisoners, including five officers.  The next
day they proceeded on their route for Yaxley Barracks, under an escort
provided by the 24th Regiment of Foot.

—An assembly of the Corporation of Norwich unanimously requested Mr.
Charles Harvey, Recorder of the city, to sit for his portrait.

5.*—(Advt.)  “There will be a regular main of cocks fought between the
gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Norfolk, to show 21 mains for
ten guineas the battle, and 50 the odd.  The three turn outs for ten
guineas a battle; to fight on the 23rd and 24th days of May at Mrs.
Back’s, at the Bowling Green, Chapel Field.  A pair of cocks to be pitted
at six o’clock precisely.  Feeders, Lamb for Norwich; Cox for Norfolk.”

7.—Col. Patteson’s Battalion of Volunteers (with the Riffle Corps
attached), commanded by Capt. Cole; and the City of Norwich Regiment of
Volunteer Infantry were brigaded under the command of Lieut.-Col. Harvey,
and, with the Royal Artillery under Capt. Fyers, were manœuvred at
Hellesdon.

13.—Died, aged 76, the Rev. John Bruckner.  He was invited to Norwich in
1750 as minister of the Walloon congregation, and during many years gave
public and private lessons in French.

—The 10th Battalion Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched into Lynn for ten
days’ permanent duty.

14.—The birthday of the Right Hon. Wm Windham was celebrated by a
numerous party of his friends at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

—The 1st Battalion of Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched to Yarmouth for
14 days’ permanent duty.

21.—The 3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry marched into Norwich for
five days’ drill, and on the 24th were inspected by Major-General Milner
at Hellesdon.

22.—The Blickling and Gunton Riflemen, commanded by the Hon. Lieut.-Col.
Harbord, marched into Norwich, and next day proceeded to Yarmouth for 14
days’ permanent duty.

24.—A tight rope performer, named Richer, appeared at Norwich Theatre,
where his performances were “the theme of general admiration.”

25.—A general fast was observed.  At Yarmouth, the Shropshire Militia and
Volunteers on permanent duty, to the number of nearly 2,500, attended
Divine service.

26.—The Helena war sloop, of 20 guns, Capt. Losack, was launched from Mr.
John Preston’s dockyard at Yarmouth.

—The North Walsham Light Infantry marched into Yarmouth for 14 days’
permanent duty.

—The 7th Battalion of the Army of Reserve, to which 500 Norfolk and
Suffolk men belonged, volunteered to extend their services and become a
regiment of the line.


JUNE.


1.—The City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry, under the command
of Lieut.-Col. Harvey, began one month’s permanent duty in Norwich.  The
battalion mustered 500, exclusive of officers.

4.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich.  The detachment of
Royal Artillery, the 24th Regiment of Foot, and the Norwich and Catton
Volunteers, to the total number of 1,700, paraded on the Castle Hill, and
fired a _feu de joie_.  At Cromer, the Sea Fencibles, under Capt.
Tremlett, R.N., three companies of the 4th Battalion Norfolk Volunteers,
commanded by Lieut.-Col. George Windham, and the Volunteers of the Cromer
battery had a sham fight at that place.  Other Volunteer corps in the
county held ceremonial parades.

7.—The water mills of Mr. Wm. Partridge, of North Walsham, were destroyed
by fire.

11.—A sham fight, in which all the regular and auxiliary troops stationed
in Norwich were engaged, took place at Bramerton.  A pontoon bridge,
formed of wherries, was made use of in the course of the operations.

18.—The Corporation of Norwich granted the Blackfriars’ site in St.
Andrew’s to the Court of Guardians for 200 years, the latter body having
considered plans for improving the workhouse there for the accommodation
of 800 persons.

—A motion by the Common Council of Norwich, to confer the freedom of the
city upon Mr. R. Fellowes, M.P., and Mr. W. Smith, M.P., was, on a
division, rejected by the aldermen by ten votes to eight.

—A motion was made in the Common Council to augment the sum of £100,
allowed to the Mayor towards defraying the expenses of the Guild-day
festival, but, as the revenue of Norwich did not justify the increase, it
was not acceded to by the aldermen.  The allowance of £100 was fixed 80
years previously.

25.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  “Mr. Coke won the sweepstakes,
having estimated with more exactness than any of his competitors the
weight both of wool and of carcase of the Southdown ewe slain on the
occasion.”  A drill for “scattering at the same time turnip seed and the
dust of pounded oil cakes, believed to be the best adapted manure,” was
exhibited.

30.—Several “battles” were fought on Yarmouth Denes by the soldiers of
the Shropshire Regiment.  In an encounter between a private and an
officer’s servant, the former received injuries from which he died three
hours after, and at the inquest a verdict of manslaughter was returned
against his assailant.

Major-General Money was appointed to the staff of the Eastern District.
The command consisted of 32,000 fully equipped and efficient men.

Under Mr. Pitt’s Defence Bill the quota for Norfolk was 1,813 men.


JULY.


1.—The City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry terminated its
permanent duty of 30 days.  All ranks received the highest commendation
of Major-General Milner and Lieut.-Col. Metzner.

3.—The malt kiln, with a granary and dwelling-house, at the new brewery
of Messrs. Prentice and Co., King Street, Norwich, was destroyed by fire.
The loss amounted to nearly £1,000.

5.—The East Harling magistrates fined a farmer 20s., for refusing to send
his waggon to assist in taking the baggage of the East Suffolk Militia
from Thetford to Downham, after having been summoned for that purpose.

6.—Mrs. Bennett, wife of an actor in the Norwich company, gave birth to
triplets.

—A foot race was run by Lord Frederick Bentinck and the Hon. Edward
Harbord for the sum of 100 guineas, between the second and third
milestone on the Edgeware Road, London.  Mr. Harbord won easily.

12.—Died, aged 82, at Walsingham Abbey, Mr. Henry Lee Warner, “in whom
the gentleman and scholar were happily blended.”  His fine estate at
Walsingham was devastated by lawless persons, whom, from mistaken
leniency, he would not molest.  He rose late in the evening, breakfasted
at midnight, and dined at four or five o’clock in the morning.  He wore a
gold-laced hat, and waistcoat, with deep slashworked sleeves and
richly-embossed buttons, a deep chitterling of rich yellow lace, and
curved-toed shoes, with oblong buckles.  Mr. Lee Warner served the office
of High Sheriff in 1782, and was lineally descended from John Warner,
Bishop of Rochester, whose estates he possessed, as well as those of Sir
James Howe, Bart., of Berwick, Wilts., and of Mr. Henry Lee, in Kent.

14.—Messrs. Fisher and Scragg’s Company of Comedians concluded a
theatrical season at East Dereham.  Fisher ultimately assumed the sole
management of the company, which for many years performed in its own
theatres on the Norfolk and Suffolk Circuit.

—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty, Mr. Edward Manning, citizen and
brazier, was elected Sheriff, but was discharged from office on paying
the statutory fine of £80.  The letter was afterwards sent to Mr. James
Pastons, citizen and grocer, and to Mr. John Howard, citizen and baker,
who were also excused from serving on both paying the same fine.  The
letter was then sent to Mr. James Watts, citizen and butcher, who
received his discharge on payment of the fine.  It was next sent to Mr.
Cotton Wright, citizen and coomber, who verbally replied that “he had
neither ate nor drank at the expense of the Corporation, and he should
neither pay the fine nor serve the office.”  Mr. Wright paid the fine,
but denied that he had sent the message above quoted.  Eventually Mr.
John Wright, citizen and linen draper, accepted office.

16.—The Yarmouth Volunteer Infantry terminated a fortnight’s garrison
duty there.

21.*—“The Norwich and Yarmouth water frolics last week offered the utmost
gratification to lovers of aquatic exercises.  Nearly twenty boats
proceeded from Sandling’s Ferry to Postwick Grove and the Wood’s End,
and, if the day proved unfavourable, mirth and good humour prevailed.”
The Mayor of Yarmouth and several members of the Corporation proceeded in
a wherry, “purposely fitted up and plentifully stored,” over Breydon.
Several boats started for a silver cup, which was won by Mr. Lovell’s
craft.

—A “farewell dejeune” was given at Cromer by Brigadier-General
Sherbrooke, on his removal from the Holt district.  Breakfast was served
at the New Inn, and was attended, amongst others, by Col. and Mrs.
Macdonald, Sir Jacob and Lady Astley, and Sir Edward and Lady Berry.
Then the company adjourned to a barn, where dancing was kept up till five
o’clock in the afternoon.

23.—A silver vase, which cost upwards of £700, was presented by Mr.
Dusgate, in the name of the farmers of Norfolk, to Mr. T. W. Coke, “as a
token of their esteem, for the liberality of his conduct as a landlord,
and of their gratitude for the benefit of his example as a practical
farmer and most valuable member of society.”

24.—The Mayor and magistrates of Norwich resolved to present a petition
against the Corn Regulation Bill, which, however, was passed and received
the Royal assent.  The Act was framed to govern the export and import of
England and Scotland by one general average of each country, taking the
aggregate average of the twelve maritime districts of England and four of
Scotland as the rule.  Exportation was prohibited when wheat was above
54s. and barley 31s. per quarter.  When wheat was at or under 48s. a five
shilling bounty was to be given per quarter on exportation, and when
barley was at or under 28s., a bounty of 2s. 6d. a quarter.  A duty of
from 6d. to 2s. 6d. was to be imposed on foreign corn imported if the
price was as high as 66s. or 63s.

25.—The East and West Regiments of Norfolk Militia marched from
Colchester Barracks to Coxheath Camp, in Kent, which was reached on the
27th.

28.—A general meeting of Lieutenancy was held at the Shirehall, Norwich,
to carry into execution an Act “for establishing and maintaining a
permanent additional force for the defence of the realm, and to provide
for augmenting his Majesty’s regular forces, and for the gradual
reduction of the Militia of England.”

30.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Lord Chief Justice
Mansfield, a prisoner, named John Heath, was charged with an offence
committed at Great Melton, “but it being proved that the prisoner was
both deaf and dumb by the visitation of God, the prosecution was stopped,
but he was ordered to remain till the next Assizes.”  (There is no
further record of the case.)

Col. Bulwer, of Heydon, was this month appointed Brigadier-General in the
Eastern District.  On August 8th, he fixed his headquarters in Norwich,
and reviewed the several corps of Volunteers in the city, and on
September 1st it was announced that the general had been ordered to
Liverpool, to take command of the Volunteers in that district.


AUGUST.


3.—A violent thunderstorm occurred.  Several horses were killed by
lightning in different parts of the county; mills and barns were damaged,
and trees torn up by the roots.

4.—At the Norfolk and Norwich Assizes, the action, Palmer _v._ James and
William Bloomfield, was tried.  It was an action for trespass, and the
plaintiff, a miller at Elsing, claimed £2,000 damages because the
defendants, occupiers of land at Bylaugh, had cut away a large part of
the bank of the river Wensum, whereby a great quantity of water escaped
from the stream into an old river or drain, and he was deprived of its
service for the working of his mill.  The hearing lasted ten hours, and
Lord Chief Justice Mansfield, who left the court at eleven p.m., received
the jury at his lodgings, when they returned a verdict for the
defendants.  In the Court of Common Pleas, on November 12th, rule _nisi_
was taken for a new trial, but there is no further record of the case.

9.—Died, aged 83, the Rev. Robert Potter, M.A., Prebendary of Norwich
Cathedral, vicar of Lowestoft, and a translator of Æschylus and other
writers of Greek tragedy.

13.—The troops in the Eastern district received orders to hold themselves
in readiness to take the field at the shortest notice.

18.—The death was recorded, at Bungay, of Mr. Thomas Miller, who was born
at Norwich on August 14th, 1731.  He was an extensive collector of books
and antiquities, and in 1795 issued the “Miller half-penny,” of which
only twenty-three pieces were struck off.

22.—A threshing machine on an entirely new principle, invented by a
Devonshire engineer, named Ball, was tested at Norwich.  At Hethersett,
on December 6th, in competition with another machine, built by John
Brown, a Norwich mechanic, it thrashed in 50 minutes 40 seconds about 29½
coombs of barley, Brown’s machine breaking down.  Mutual recriminations
and threats of legal proceedings followed, but without result.

Night signals were established along the coast, and special constables
sworn in at Yarmouth, Lynn, and elsewhere.

At the suggestion of Major-General Money, two companies of Sharpshooters
were raised, and, with a company of Cavalry Pioneers, were attached to
the East Norfolk Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—What was considered to be a big bag of partridges was killed at
Stiffkey by Lord James Townshend and Major Loftus, namely, 43 brace.  At
Cromer, Major Windham killed 25 brace.

4.—The Musquito brig, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. John Preston’s
yard at Yarmouth.

6.—The Cygnet sloop of war, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. Nathaniel
Palmer’s yard at Yarmouth.

13.—Excessive heat prevailed.  On this day 80 degrees Fahr. was recorded.

15.*—“The Ipswich Mail now goes every day from the King’s Head Inn,
Market Place, Norwich, to the Swan with two Necks, Lad Lane; and the
Newmarket Mail to the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, daily.  The mails
arrive in London every morning at seven o’clock.”

24.—The East Norfolk Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry, with Capt. C. Brown’s
Company of Cavalry Pioneers, and Capt. Pillan’s Company of Sharpshooters,
encamped on Hellesdon Field, under the command of Major-General Money.  A
sham fight, in which were engaged the Norwich Volunteer Infantry, under
Col. Harvey, the Norwich Rifles, and the Artillery detachment, under
Capt. Fyers, followed.

Major-General Milner was appointed to the charge of the Volunteer
Infantry of Norfolk, which were inspected by him during the month.


OCTOBER.


6.—Died, aged 60, Sir Wm. Kemp, Bart., of Briston.  “He was riding on a
hobby, from which he fell and expired immediately.”

13.—A report was published by Messrs. Kent and Crease, suggesting
improvements to Wells harbour at the estimated cost of £30,000.

17.—Died, in St. Augustine’s, Norwich, Mr. John Thompson, aged 70.  “He
established himself the heir-at-law of the late John Tilyard, whose
property had long been the subject of litigation, by obtaining a verdict
in his favour at the summer Assizes for this county in 1792, whereby he
became entitled to a valuable estate at Oby.”

20.—A musical farce, entitled “Dash, or who but he?” written by Mr. F.
Lathom, of Norwich, was produced at Drury Lane.  It was first performed
at Norwich Theatre under the title of “Holiday Time, or the School Boy’s
Frolic.”

26.—Died, aged 83, the Rev. John Peele, 38 years Upper Minister of St.
Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He was succeeded by the Rev. C J. Chapman.

—Races were held at Blickling Park.  Events: A subscription purse for
horses bred in Norfolk, the best of three one mile, heats; a subscription
purse of £50, for the best of three two mile heats.  Silver cup for the
best of three two mile heats.  A purse of five guineas for ponies, for
the best of three two mile heats.

27.*—(Advt.)  “The public are respectfully informed that the first number
of a new weekly newspaper, entitled the ‘Yarmouth Herald, or Norfolk,
Suffolk, and Essex Advertiser,’ will be published on Saturday, November
10th, 1804, and sold by James Black, bookseller, Great Yarmouth.”

—*“Mrs. Tuthill, wife of Mr. John Tuthill, of Heigham, is the fortunate
holder of a 16th of the £10,000 prize.”

28.—Died, at Ipswich, Lord Viscount Chedworth.  His estate was valued at
£500,000, of which sum he bequeathed £180,000 in legacies to various
persons, some of whom were unknown to him personally.  Mr. Thomas
Penrice, of Yarmouth, received £20,000 legacy, and was also residuary
legatee, by which he came into a property of at least £300,000.  His
lordship left £40,000 to his solicitor, and large amounts to actors and
actresses in Norwich and London.  A caveat was entered by the next of
kin, and on July 5th, 1805, an action to contest the validity of the will
was tried before Lord Ellenborough in the Court of King’s Bench.  The
jury confirmed the will, and gave a verdict accordingly.  An application
for a new trial was refused.

31.—At a public meeting at Cromer it was resolved to establish a
lifeboat, and upwards of £500 was subscribed for the purpose.


NOVEMBER.


10.—A one hundred yards race took place in Gunton Park between the Hon.
Edward Harbord and a well-known runner, named Wade, of Aylsham.  Mr.
Harbord won by about four yards.

11.*—“In pulling down the old workhouse in the Lower Close, Norwich, to
improve the entrance to the Deanery, some very curious remains of an
ancient Saxon Gothic building were discovered.  The arches and capitals
had been richly gilt and ornamented.  The style of architecture appeared
to be that in use about the reign of King Stephen.”

14.—Died, at Norton, near Lincoln, aged 74, the Right Hon. George, Earl
of Buckinghamshire, Baron Hobart, of Blickling, in Norfolk.  He was
succeeded in his title and estates by the Right Hon. Lord Hobart,
formerly his Majesty’s Principal Secretary of State for the Department of
War and the Colonies.

16.—The Rev. J. Bowman was elected Under Minister at St. Peter Mancroft,
Norwich, in succession to the Rev. C. J. Chapman.

22.—The Romney, of 50 guns, which sailed from Yarmouth Roads on the 18th,
with bullocks and vegetables for the blockading fleet off the Texel, was
lost in a gale on the South Haak Sand.  All the officers and crew saved
themselves on rafts, but were made prisoners by the Dutch.  The officers
were liberated on their parole by the Dutch Admiral Kikkert.

24.—The night coach from Norwich to Yarmouth was left near the King’s
Arms, Burgh, in charge of a lad, when the horses broke away and galloped
in the direction of Yarmouth.  A Norwich tradesman, who was an inside
passenger, climbed upon the box, succeeded in reaching the reins, which
had become entangled upon the splinter bar, and stopped the animals.

26.—Ninety-eight French prisoners, the crew of a large French privateer,
of 18 guns, commanded by the noted Blackman, and captured by Capt.
Hancock, of the Cruiser sloop, marched into Norwich, and next morning
proceeded, under a guard of Fifeshire Militia, for Norman Cross Barracks.
The Corporation of Yarmouth and the merchants of the port voted their
thanks to Capt. Hancock and his officers for their exertions in capturing
Blackman, who had committed great depredations.  Blackman himself was
shipped to Chatham in the Monmouth.  His vessel, La Contre-Amiral Magon,
had sustained but trifling damage, and while she was lying at Mr.
Palmer’s dock at Yarmouth, £2,500 was offered for her for privateering
purposes.

27.—David Graham was convicted, before the Rev. J. Oldershaw, for driving
cattle on Sunday at Harleston, and under the Act of Charles I. paid a
penalty of 20s.

30.—It was reported at the annual meeting of the Society of Universal
Good Will, at Norwich, that the number of persons relieved by it since
its establishment was 1,940.  An appeal was made for public support.


DECEMBER.


3.*—“The inhabitants of Loddon have entered into a subscription for the
purpose of defraying the expense of lighting the town.”

4.—Signor Belzoni from Sadler’s Wells, by permission of the Mayor, gave a
performance in the assembly room at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich.  It was
described as “a grand hydraulic exhibition, called Fire and Water, along
with his phantasmagoria and wonderful feats of strength performed by the
Patagonian Samson, who will carry on his head, arms, and body from five
to ten men with the greatest ease.”  This was the famous Belzoni, the
traveller and discoverer of Egyptian antiquities, whose book entitled,
“Narrative of the Operations and recent Discoveries in the Pyramids,
Temples, Tombs, and Cities of Egypt and Nubia,” obtained a wide
circulation.

10.—Thetford coursing meeting commenced.  It lasted four days.



1805.


JANUARY.


10.—The Supervisor and officers of Excise belonging to the East Dereham
district seized at Melton a horse and cart, with 80 gallons of Geneva and
four gallons of brandy.

11.—A murderous poaching affray occurred in Thorpe Wood, near Aylsham,
when several game watchers, in the service of Lord Suffield, were
severely wounded.  At the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford, in March, six of
the poachers, indicted under the Black Act, were found guilty and
sentenced to death.  Lord Suffield and the Hon. Edward Harbord pleaded
that their lives might be spared, and the sentence was ultimately
commuted to transportation.  When the gang were being conveyed by the
Expedition night mail coach from Norwich, on their way to Portsmouth, the
convicts got free from the chain and made a desperate attempt to escape,
but were too heavily ironed.  They attacked the coachman, and one of the
guards presented a pistol, which missed fire; Johnson, the gaoler, rushed
amongst them with a cutlass, and subdued them.  One prisoner escaped, and
the others were lodged in the Surrey New Gaol on the following morning.

17.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved
to establish a Hospital and School for the Indigent Blind in Norfolk and
Norwich; towards the foundation of which Mr. Thomas Tawell contributed a
house and 3½ acres of land in Magdalen Street, valued at £1,050.  Mr.
Tawell, who was himself blind, made an eloquent and successful appeal,
and the institution was opened on October 14th.

28.—The pantomime, “Don Juan,” was produced at Norwich Theatre “in a
style which, for the display of beautiful scenery and of appropriate
decorations and costumes, is very rarely to be witnessed on provincial
boards.”

29.—Died, aged 57, Mr. Thomas Wodehouse, of Sennowe Lodge.  He was one of
the gentlemen of his Majesty’s Privy Chamber, in which office he was
succeeded by Mr. J. W. Thomlinson, of Cley.


FEBRUARY.


2.—Bishop Manners Sutton, of Norwich, was nominated by the King and
chosen, February 12th, Archbishop of Canterbury.  On the 13th, his Grace
arrived at the Palace, Norwich, from London; and on the 15th, the Mayor
and Court of Aldermen proceeded in state from the Guildhall to the
Palace, where the Recorder (Mr. Harvey) read an address of congratulation
to the Archbishop.  The clergy of Norwich, on the 16th, waited on his
Grace, when the Rev. Prebendary Pretyman addressed the Archbishop in an
appropriate speech.  On the 17th, his Grace preached his farewell sermon
at the Cathedral, and on the 18th departed for Lambeth.

9.—A woman, who had eloped from her home in Kent with a horse dealer, was
found by her husband in a house in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  She
refused to return to him.  The dealer offered to buy the woman for £5,
and her husband, agreeing, placed a halter round her neck, and
surrendered all right and title to her for the sum named.

19.—Died, at his house, the Town Close, Norwich, Mr. Jeremiah Ives,
senior alderman of Norwich.  He was 78 years of age, and had served the
office of Mayor in 1769-1795.

20.—A solemn fast was observed at Norwich.

21.—Mr. Robert Herring, of Bracondale, elected an alderman, in place of
Mr. Jeremiah Ives, deceased.

23.—Experiments were made at Norwich to test the practicability of firing
a field-piece from a common waggon without injury to the vehicle.  The
idea, which originated with Major-General Money, “succeeded perfectly,
and the horses stood steady during the discharge of the field-piece.”

24.—The clergy of Norwich, having intimated that it was their intention
to apply to Parliament for an increase of their incomes by assessment,
considerable feeling was manifested in opposition.  The Corporation at a
quarterly assembly resolved to oppose the application.  Vestry meetings
were held throughout the city, and the inhabitants unanimously expressed
an opinion adverse to the clergy’s proposal.

—The freedom of the city was conferred on Mr. John Frere, the former, and
Mr. Robert Fellowes and Mr. William Smith, the then Parliamentary
representatives of Norwich.

—A lease of the Dutch Church was granted to the Corporation for 200
years, for the use of the poor in the workhouse; the Dutch congregation
reserving the right to bury their dead in the church, and to hold Divine
service therein every forenoon of the first Sunday in the month.


MARCH.


4.—Died, aged 60, Elizabeth Clayton, of Wells-next-the-Sea.  “This woman,
from an early propensity for masculine employments, had worked as a
ship’s carpenter at the dockyard of the above port upwards of 40 years,
and always in man’s apparel.  She used to drink, chew tobacco, and keep
company only with workmen, yet would never enter into the matrimonial
state.  She was a strong robust woman, and never permitted anyone to
insult her with impunity.”

18.—The Rev. Henry Bathurst, D.D., “elected Bishop of this Diocese by the
Dean and Chapter.”  His lordship was installed on May 10th.

23.—At a meeting at the Guildhall, Norwich, resolutions were agreed to
“condemning the proposed alterations of the course of the mail coach from
London to Norwich by way of Bury, from the consequent later delivery of
the letters to the post-office here, and from the earlier despatch from
thence, to the great inconvenience of the mercantile and trading houses
of the city.”  Representations to this effect were made to the
Postmaster-General, but without result.  The coach started from the
King’s Head, Norwich, at four o’clock, and passed through Thetford, Bury,
and Newmarket.  It ran every day and stopped at the Golden Cross, Charing
Cross, London.  Another coach, by Ipswich and Colchester, set up at the
Swan with two Necks, Lad Lane.

28.—Miss Aickin, “an actress of superior talents and personal
attractions,” made her first appearance at Norwich Theatre in the
character of Widow Cheerly in the comedy of “The Soldier’s Daughter,” and
as Aura in the farce of “The Farm House.”  She played the part of Hamlet
on May 4th.

30.*—“The Rev. William L. Gebbart has been elected minister of the Dutch
congregation, and also appointed minister of the French church in
Norwich.”

—*“It is in contemplation to establish telegraphic communication between
Norwich and Yarmouth for mercantile purposes.”  In October the Norwich
Corporation agreed to pay £10 annually for its support.

—*“An earthen pot, containing 500 pieces of antient English silver coin,
was ploughed up in a field near Aylsham.  The pieces consisted chiefly of
groats of Henry VII. and pennies of the Edwards.  There were two gold
angels of Henry VI.”


APRIL.


6.*—“A person in the country has lately been convicted, before Mr. Crowe,
Mr. Astley and Mr. Norris, in the legal penalty for working and digging
in his garden and openly profaning the Sabbath.  It is to be hoped that
his example will operate towards the discontinuance of the practice,
which, perhaps, is nowhere so prevalent as in this county.”

—Leeds Mays, for horse stealing, was executed on the “new drop” on the
Castle Hill, Norwich.

—Charles Pegg was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place, for
purchasing soldiers’ necessaries.

13.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought on Easter Tuesday and
Wednesday, 21 in the main for ten guineas the battle, and 30 guineas the
odd; and likewise two turn outs for £20 the battle, and also two byes.
April 16th and 17th, at Hindringham Duke of York.  The first pair of
cocks to be pitted at eleven o’clock in the forenoon.  Accommodation for
man and horse.  Feeders, Fox for Walsingham; Whisker for Wighton.”

22.—At Swaffham, a man, named Angel, undertook for a trifling wager to
run 20 miles in three hours.  He ran it with ease in 2 hours 50 minutes.

27.—Two gun brigs, of 14 guns each, were launched from Mr. John Preston’s
dockyard at Yarmouth.

28.—The oil mill at Hellesdon, belonging to Mr. Wm. Parkinson, was
destroyed by fire.  The loss amounted to between £2,000 and £3,000.


MAY.


2.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, when
resolutions, expressive of obligations to Earl St. Vincent, for promoting
an enquiry into naval abuses, with thanks to Mr. Whitbread for
introducing the tenth report of the Commissioners of Naval Enquiry to the
notice of the House of Commons; and thanks to Mr. Robert Fellowes, M.P.,
and Mr. W. Smith, M.P., for supporting Mr. Whitbread’s motion, were
unanimously agreed to.

3.—The Common Council of Norwich proposed a vote of thanks to Earl St.
Vincent, to the Commissioners of Naval Enquiry, to Mr. Whitbread, and to
the members of Parliament for the city.  This was negatived by the
aldermen by 12 votes to 4.

6.—An impressment took place at Yarmouth.  “Ships’ parties stopped every
person they met without discrimination or respect for appearances.  No
less than 300 persons were impressed.  Some were confined in the
rendezvous of the town gang, others were marched to the barracks or
conveyed to the boats lying in readiness at the jetty, and the whole body
were carried during the night on to the Monmouth.  Next morning a
regulation took place, and 50 only were detained.”

14.—At a county meeting, held at the Norwich Shirehall, several
resolutions, thanking Earl St. Vincent and the Commissioners of Naval
Enquiry, and Mr. Whitbread, Sir J. H. Astley, and Mr. T. W. Coke for
their patriotic and independent conduct in Parliament, were unanimously
agreed to.

18.—An officer of the Shropshire Militia decided in his favour a wager of
ten guineas, “to pick up 100 stones laid in Chapel Field, Norwich, at a
distance of a yard from each other, and to deposit them in two baskets
placed at the extremities of the line, in the space of one hour.”
Another person, a few weeks afterwards, performed the same feat in 44
minutes.

25.—Married, by special licence by the Bishop of Norwich, at his
lordship’s house in Manchester-square, London, Mr. Benjamin Bathurst,
secretary of legation to the Court of Stockholm, to Miss Call, daughter
of Sir John Call, Bart.  (In November, 1809, when travelling to England
with important despatches as envoy to the Court of Vienna, Bathurst
mysteriously disappeared in the town of Perleberg, and was never more
seen or heard of.)

—*“A street, 26 feet wide, is about to be opened, forming an entrance,
which has long been most desirable, from Chapel Field directly into
Bethel Street, Norwich.”

The several battalions of Volunteer Infantry in the county performed a
month’s garrison duty in Yarmouth.  The Norwich Volunteers were on duty
in the city.


JUNE.


1.—Lord Frederick Beauclerk and the Hon. Edward Harbord ran a hundred
yards race on Lord’s Cricket Ground, London.  Mr. Harbord was beaten by
two yards.  He afterwards ran the same distance against Mr. Lambert, and
won easily.

4.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich by the garrison and
Volunteers, who paraded to the number of 1,800 and fired a _feu de joie_
on the Castle Meadow.  The weather was very cold, and at nine o’clock at
night the thermometer registered 36 degrees, only four degrees above
freezing point.

8.—William Carter, a private in the City of Norwich Battalion of Infantry
Volunteers, convicted, before a regimental court martial, of absenting
himself from parade on four successive days, was publicly disgraced and
dismissed the battalion.

22.*—“Gabriel Swallow, aged 13, son of a gamekeeper to the Hon. Col.
Harbord at Hunworth, shot 21 bullets at a target 80 yards distant for a
bet of two guineas.  With the exception of three shots, they were all
placed within 5½ inches of the centre; three bullets were one inch from
the centre; five ditto, two inches; six ditto, three inches; one ditto,
four inches; two ditto, five inches; one ditto, 5½ inches.”

24.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Mr. Ball’s threshing machine was
shown at work.  An ingenious model of a dibbling machine, made by a young
man in the neighbourhood; a mowing machine, invented by Mr. Burrell, of
Thetford; a scuffler, by Mr. Clarke; the model of a threshing machine, by
Mr. Cook, of Aylsham; and an improved drill, by Messrs. Wilson and
Standish, of Lynn, were also exhibited.  The sweepstake, to estimate the
weight of Mr. Coke’s three-shear Leicester wether, was won by Lord
Winchilsea, who guessed within half a pound of the actual weight.


JULY.


6.—Mr. Edward Rigby, Mayor of Norwich, in a letter to the NORFOLK
CHRONICLE, advocated vaccine inoculation.  He wrote: “I inoculated my
twin children when they were eight months old with smallpox ichor, and
they resisted the infection.  Since then I have exposed them to patients
under smallpox and at that period of the disease when most likely to
communicate infection, which, as before, they were insusceptible to.”

9.—Mdlle. Eloise Adelaide de Bourbon, daughter of the Prince of Condé,
took the veil at Bodney Hall, the retreat of the nuns of Montargis.

—A “bugle man” of the Norwich Rifle Corps, named Hardingham, was killed
by the accidental discharge of a rifle at target practice.  His remains
were interred, with military honours, in St. Giles’ churchyard on the
11th.

16.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, presided over by the Mayor of
Norwich, resolutions were adopted for taking the best means of stopping
the progress of the contagion of smallpox, and of extending vaccine
inoculation.  A committee afterwards presented a memorial in favour of
vaccination.  On September 14th it was announced that nearly 400 of the
poor had been vaccinated.

24.—A gift of silver plate was presented to Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart., at
Hethel, by the Chairman and Committees of Chief Constables in Humbleyard
and adjacent Hundreds, as “a testimonial of esteem and respect and
approbation of the able and upright manner in which he had discharged the
duties of a magistrate for more than half a century.”

27.*—“At Diss, a number of labourers in husbandry refused to work for the
customary wages, and being out of employment applied to the magistrates,
who advised the parish officers to put them to work, which they
accordingly did.  Their business was to carry bricks in a hod from
Palgrave to Diss, a distance of two miles.  This medicine had the desired
effect, for after two days they returned to their former employment.”


AUGUST.


3.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Sun Inn, Wells, on
Tuesday, August 13th, between the gentlemen of Foulsham and the gentlemen
of Wells, five guineas the battle and twenty guineas the odd.  There will
be two pits.  Feeders, Whisker for Foulsham; Souther for Wells.”

6.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened an exhibition of paintings and
drawings in their room in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.

8.—In consequence of official intelligence of preparations along the
enemy’s coast, Major-General Money addressed a letter to the commandants
of Yeomanry and Volunteer Cavalry in Norfolk and Suffolk, requesting them
to have their corps ready for inspection, and in marching order.  A
similar letter was sent by Major-General Milner to the commandants of
Norfolk Volunteer Infantry, adding that the requisite number of waggons
was ordered for their conveyance in case of necessity.

12.—A cricket match was played at Reepham between the gentlemen of
Foulsham and the gentlemen of Reepham, Hackford, Whitwell, and Corpusty
“for a considerable sum.”  It was won by the former, “with eight notches
to spare.”  The return match, on October 21st, was also won by Foulsham.

26.—A cricket match was played in Blickling Park between elevens of the
Blickling and Norwich clubs, and was won by the former.  It was followed
by a single wicket match between the same teams, when Blickling again
won, with nine wickets to go down.


SEPTEMBER.


3.—The committee of the Court of Guardians, appointed to examine the
poor-rates of the city and hamlets of Norwich, and to obtain a more equal
assessment, reported that an increase of £16,000 stock and £1,800 rent,
calculating on the half-rental only, might be made; and recommended a
general survey and new valuation to be taken, in consequence of the great
alteration which had taken place in property, and in the value of land in
particular since 1786, when the last survey was made.

7.—A remarkable whirlwind occurred at Rockland St. Mary.  A rowing boat,
lying on the bank of the broad, was lifted into the air and blown a
distance of 70 yards; and another large boat was raised out of the water
and hurled a considerable distance.  A young man was lifted three or four
yards in the air and blown several yards.  Much damage was done to the
roofs of cottages and to wheat sheafs in the fields.

13.—Mr. Incledon, the famous vocalist, appeared at Norwich Theatre in his
entertainment, “The Wandering Melodist.”

21.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation the committee appointed to
take into consideration the propriety of applying to Parliament for an
Act for the better lighting, watching, and paving of the city, reported
in favour of the proposal, and a gentleman present offered to subscribe
£500 towards the undertaking.  On October 26th, it was reported that the
aldermen had adopted the recommendation, but the Commons threw it out by
20 votes against 16.  At a meeting held on October 30th, at which the
Bishop, the Mayor, and many of the principal owners and occupiers of
estates were present, the petition was unanimously agreed to and signed.

28.*—“A finely preserved Saxon font has been discovered in the church of
Great Hautbois, near Coltishall, by Mr. J. A. Repton.  Many curious
remains of antient sculpture are obscured by repeated coats of dirt and
whitewash in our churches.”

—*“Died, lately, Sir James Tylney Longe, Bart., in the eleventh year of
his age.  By his death the Tylney property, amounting to £25,000 per
annum and nearly £300,000 in the Funds, devolves on the distant branches
of the Longe family.”

During this month Mr. James Neild, of Chelsea, a well-known
philanthropist, visited the county gaol, the city gaol and bridewell, the
Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and the Duke’s Palace Workhouse.  In his
report on the Hospital he wrote: “It does honour to the county, and is
one of the best I have seen.”


OCTOBER.


7.—A mysterious outrage was committed at Fakenham.  A man entered the
bed-room of two maiden ladies, named Bale, brutally thrashed one, and
attempted to cut the throat of the other, after which he decamped.  The
Home Office offered his Majesty’s pardon to any accomplice who gave
evidence that would lead to a conviction, and Mr. Edward Bale, of
Toftrees, offered a reward of £100 for the discovery of the guilty
person.  No clue was forthcoming.

12.*—“A few days since the Russian Countess Mengdon arrived at her
newly-purchased seat, called New Place, Thetford, late the residence of
Mr. James Mingay.”

18.—One of a pair of eagles was shot at Cantley.  The extended wings
measured 7 feet 4½ inches, and the bird was 2½ feet in height.

22.—A two days’ race meeting commenced in Blickling Park.  A ball and
supper were given by Lord Suffield.

—The Norwich Battalion of Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Patteson,
and the City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry (Lieut.-Col.
Harvey) were inspected by Major-General Milner.  “A portion of the latter
corps proceeded from the Castle ditches to Mile End in waggons, fitted up
with seats, and provided throughout the county pursuant to general
orders.”

Under the Additional Force Act, Norfolk raised this month 248 men to
supply vacancies occasioned by those who had enlisted out of the Militia
into the regular Army.


NOVEMBER.


2.*—“The Sheriff of Norwich, Mr. J. H. Yallop, is the fortunate holder of
a sixteenth share of the ticket drawn for a prize of £3,000.  In the
lottery of 1803, Mr. Yallop also shared a prize of £2,000, and in 1804,
part of the £20,000 prize.”

7.—Intelligence was received of the battle of Trafalgar, which was fought
on October 21st, and of the death of Nelson.  “The bells were rung and
fired throughout the day, but all the joy that would have arisen from the
victory was wholly absorbed in sorrow and regret for the death of the
Hero of the Nile and Trafalgar.”  Great rejoicings afterwards took place,
and addresses of congratulation to his Majesty were unanimously voted by
the Corporations of Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, &c.

30.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, when an address
to his Majesty on the victory of Trafalgar was agreed to.  It was also
resolved to open a subscription for erecting a memorial to perpetuate the
memory of Lord Nelson’s victories.


DECEMBER.


3.—The Duke of Norfolk arrived at Norwich, and visited the Cathedral, St.
Andrew’s Hall, and other public buildings.

—Thanksgiving day.  Collections were made in the churches for the relief
of the families of those who fell, and for those who were wounded.  At
Aylsham, there was a “grand naval procession,” barrels of beer were drunk
in the Market Place, and a display of fireworks took place at night.

17.—A grand _fête_ was held at the Norwich Assembly Rooms, in honour of
Nelson’s victory.  Upwards of 450 ladies and gentlemen of the county and
city were present at the ball and supper, and the rooms were decorated
with transparencies and brilliantly illuminated.  The arrangements were
carried out by the Norfolk Society, established in 1770.

Among the Acts of Parliament passed this year was one to enable Mr.
Daniel Henry Woodward, his sons, and their descendants to use the surname
and family arms of Mr. Henry Lee Warner, late of Walsingham.



1806.


JANUARY.


4.*—(Advt.)  “To be sold, a Proprietor’s Share in the Norwich Theatre,
with or without transferable ticket, which will admit the holder to the
Yarmouth, Ipswich, and Colchester Theatres.”

—*“A man of the name of Baxter, formerly a respectable farmer at
Buckenham, who took a rash resolution of refusing any kind of sustenance
but water, which he continued to do for 38 days at the White Horse at
Kenninghall, was induced to give up the same on Monday last by the offer
of a noble lady to settle an allowance upon him.  He some time ago
persisted in the same mode of existence for 19 days.”

9.—The church bells in city and county were tolled from twelve o’clock to
two o’clock, on the occasion of the funeral of Lord Nelson at St. Paul’s
Cathedral.

12.—A subscription was made for the relief of the poor in Germany, who
were suffering under the combined miseries of war and famine.  About £300
was collected.

14.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall for the purpose of opposing the
Norwich Paving Bill, and a petition against the measure was signed by
1,600 owners and occupiers.  On February 8th, the Mayor (Mr. Rigby)
announced that “the respectability of the signatures to the petition in
favour of the Bill, and the large sum raised to defray the expenses of
the application to Parliament, could not but determine its supporters to
persevere firmly in promoting it.”  On February 24th, the aldermen, by
ten votes to eight, ordered the city seal to be affixed to the Bill.
Leave was given on March 7th for the insertion of fresh notices in the
Bill, in order that it might be carried before Parliament that Session.
The Bill was read a first time on April 21st, and was in due course
transmitted to a committee of the House of Commons.  The taking of
evidence for and against the Bill concluded on May 21st, and on June 13th
it passed both Houses of Parliament and received the Royal assent.  The
first election of Commissioners under the Norwich Paving Act took place
in July, and the first meeting of Commissioners was held on July 15th,
when the Deputy-Mayor (Mr. Rigby) was appointed chairman; Mr. Elisha De
Hague, clerk; Messrs. Harvey and Hudson, treasurers; and Mr. John Roots,
surveyor.

15.—The vane and spindle of the “antient and beautiful spire” of St.
Gregory’s Church, Norwich, were blown off during a severe gale.


FEBRUARY.


3.—On opening a vault at the church of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, a
live bat was found therein, of a greyish colour, where it had probably
lain in a torpid state more than 32 years, the distance of time since the
vault was before opened.”

8.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought on Wednesday, February 19th,
at the Red Lion Inn, Fakenham, between the gentlemen of Fakenham and the
gentlemen of Foulsham.  Eleven mains, two byes, and one turn out for five
guineas the battle, and ten guineas the odd.  Feeders, George Syder for
Fakenham; David Lamb for Foulsham.”

9.—James Coleman, bricklayer, of Swardeston, was tolling the bell at the
parish church, “when the crown and cannons broke from the bell, and she
came down through both floors, killing him on the spot.”

13.—Married, at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, Henry Robert Bowles,
acting-manager at the Theatre Royal, to Miss Aickin, of the same theatre.

16.—Died, at St. George Colegate, Norwich, Thomas Troughton, aged 88.
“He was a member of the corps of Artillery raised for the internal
defence during the Revolution of 1745, and is believed to be the last
survivor of that loyal corps.”

22.*—“The interior of the Cathedral is about to undergo a thorough
cleaning and repair.  It is sixty years since a similar repair was done.”
It was re-opened November 22nd.

24.—At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address was
ordered to be presented to his Majesty, “expressive of their gratitude
for the paternal affection he has shown to his subjects by waiving every
consideration for the public good in the appointment of men of the first
abilities in the country to the high offices of State.”  A county meeting
was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, on March 28th, when a similar
resolution was adopted, congratulating his Majesty on the appointment of
an administration “in whom the nation feels a well-grounded confidence.”
Like addresses were presented by the Corporations of Yarmouth and King’s
Lynn.

27.—Landed at Yarmouth, on their return from the Continent, the 4th,
23rd, and 28th Regiments of Foot, and 300 riflemen, comprising the
brigade commanded by General Paget.


MARCH.


1.*—“Lately, died, at the age of 113, Mrs. Roope, of Tharston, near Long
Stratton.  She lived to see her fifth generation.”

5.—A troop of the King’s German Legion (heavy cavalry) arrived at Norwich
from Yarmouth, and on the following day proceeded on their march to
Scotland.

7.—A public concert was given at Chapel Field House, Norwich.  Vocalists:
Mr. Vaughan and Mrs. Vaughan (formerly Miss Tennant); leader of the band,
Mr. Parnell; at the pianoforte, Mr. Beckwith.

11.—The Board of Agriculture voted their gold medal to Mr. Thomas William
Coke, “for his extensive and successful mode of irrigation, by which he
has converted a track of unprofitable boggy land in Norfolk into sound
and excellent water meadows.”

—The Marquis Townshend’s 85th birthday was celebrated by a dinner at the
Crown Inn, and by a ball and supper at the Red Lion Inn, Fakenham.

15.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose,
was tried the case, the King _v._ Anthony.  This was an information filed
against the defendant by the Attorney-General for assaulting John
Stevenson, an officer of Excise, while in the execution of his duty.
Stevenson called at the White Horse Inn, Edgefield, on December 2nd,
1805, and found smuggled liquor in panniers belonging to the defendant,
whose ostensible trade was that of a vendor of oysters.  The officer
seized the panniers, but defendant, in regaining them, committed an
assault.  He was found guilty, and the case was remitted to the King’s
Bench for judgment.  (No further record appears.)

—*(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn,
Norwich, on Tuesday, the 25th inst., and two following days between the
gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Yarmouth.  To show 31 mains,
and ten bye-cocks, to fight for ten guineas a battle, and 50 guineas the
odd battle.  There will be five pits.  Feeders, David Lamb for Norwich;
Thomas Cox for Yarmouth.”

16.—Died, at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, John Manning, M.D.,
upwards of 30 years physician at the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

17.—Died, at Snettisham Lodge, Mr. Thomas Daniell, Attorney-General of
Dominica.

24.—Intelligence was received at Norwich of Vice-Admiral Duckworth’s
victory over the French squadron in St. Domingo Bay.  Col. Patteson’s
Volunteers fired a _feu de joie_ in the Market Place, and the bells of
St. Peter Mancroft rang until midnight.

27.—Mr. Heath caught in Panxworth Broad a pike weighing 31 lbs., and
measuring 45 inches in length, and 25 inches in girth.

28.—Died, at Bodney Hall, aged 49, Madame Elizabeth de Mirepoix.
“Descended from one of the most distinguished families in France, she
forsook the allurements of the Court for the retirement and austerity of
monastic life.  From the storms of the French Revolution the Benedictine
Monastery (of which she had been a member 31 years and superior 22 years)
sought shelter in England, and found an asylum in this county, where for
the last 15 years the nuns have been occupied in the education of
Catholic young ladies.”

This month upwards of £800 was subscribed to defray the cost of the
erection in Norwich of a monument to the memory of Lord Nelson.  Mr.
Browne and Mr. Percy submitted designs and models to the committee, but
insufficient support was given to the movement.


APRIL.


5.*—“The King has granted the dignity of Earl to the Right Hon. Horatio
Baron Walpole, to be known as the Earl of Orford.”  Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke
was offered, but declined a peerage.

12.—At a meeting of farmers and others at Thetford, it was decided to
hold a sheep and lamb fair in that town annually on September 1st.

19.—The Boreas frigate, 28 guns, was launched from the dockyard of
Messrs. Stone and Custance, at Yarmouth.  On the same day the Ariel
sloop, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. N. Palmer’s yard.

27.—General Milner inspected the Norwich Rifle Corps this day (Sunday);
the Norwich Volunteer Regiment on the 28th; and Col. Patteson’s Battalion
on the 29th.


MAY.


6.—Died, in his 82nd year, the Rev. George Thomas, vicar of East Dereham
and brother of Dr. Thomas, Bishop of Rochester.  He was succeeded by the
Rev. Charles Hyde Wollaston.

14.—The annual meeting of the Dissenters Benevolent Society, presided
over by Mr. Geo. Watson, was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

16.—A hundred yards foot race took place on Lord’s Cricket Ground between
Lord E. Somerset and the Hon. Edward Harbord.  “Lord Edward had the start
of Mr. Harbord, and maintained the lead about 60 yards, when Mr. Harbord
gained upon and crossed him.  There was a foul, and Lord Edward fell.
Lord Frederick Beauclerk, who was umpire, gave his decision as
follows:—That on account of the accident the race was deemed void, but
Mr. Harbord is allowed the power of calling upon Lord Edward to run the
race over again any time within the next six months upon giving his
lordship six weeks’ notice.”

17.—The sword of the Spanish Admiral, Don Xavier Francisco Winthuysen,
who died of his wounds at the battle off Cape St. Vincent, February 14th,
1797, presented to the city of Norwich by Lord Nelson, was placed in the
mural monument at the Guildhall.

29.—General Milner, in a letter addressed to the commanding officers of
Volunteers in Norwich and Norfolk, expressed “the high sense he
entertained of the merit of the Volunteer corps in coming forward in such
force, when the country, and this district in particular, was threatened
with invasion by a powerful enemy.”

30.—Died, at Calabar, East Indies, in his 32nd year, Capt. Smyth, 56th
Regiment, son of Mr. James Smyth, attorney-at-law, of Norwich.  He served
in all the campaigns in Flanders and Holland under General Coote, in
Ireland at the battle of Vinegar Hill, at Gibraltar during the mutiny,
and under Sir Ralph Abercromby in Egypt.


JUNE.


9.—Vice-Admiral Russell, accompanied by several officers of the North Sea
Fleet, stationed at Yarmouth, visited Norwich.

10.—A rowing match took place between the Lion and the Dove.  The course,
five miles, was between Carrow and Whitlingham, and the Lion won by 100
yards in 34 minutes.

18.—Wrestling matches were contested on Panxworth Green in the presence
of a large number of spectators.  “Green, of Beighton, was champion of
the green, and came off victorious from all his engagements.”  He was
eighteen years old.

19.—Norwich Guild day.  In consequence of the Cathedral undergoing
reparation, the Mayor and Corporation attended service at the church of
St. Peter Mancroft.  The Mayor, Mr. Thomas Allday Kerrison, entertained
500 guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall; the ball was held at Chapel
Field House.

23.—At Holkham Sheep Shearing, Mr. John Herring, jun., of Norwich,
exhibited three shawls, manufactured by Messrs. John Herring and Sons
entirely from the fleece of Mr. Coke’s Southdowns.

24.—Lord Waldegrave, in command of a detachment of the 7th Light
Dragoons, stationed at Norwich, commenced a series of three cricket
matches, “with a select number of the men under his command against a
party of gentlemen of this city and neighbourhood.”  The soldiers won two
out of the three games.  In the following month Lord Waldegrave came of
age, and succeeded to a property amounting to £30,000 a year.

28.—Mr. Incledon appeared at Norwich Theatre in his entertainment,
consisting of songs and recitations, “Hospitality, or the Harvest Home.”
He reappeared on the 30th.


JULY.


5.—Died, at his house in George Street, Portman Square, London, Arthur
Richard Dillon, Archbishop and Duke of Narbonne, Primate of the Gauls,
President of the States of Languedoc, and Commander of the Order of the
Holy Ghost.  “This venerable prelate was uncle to Lady Jerningham, of
Costessey.”

—The Primary Visitation of the Bishop of Norwich (which commenced at
Thetford on May 22nd) terminated at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “Six
hundred and ninety-nine young persons from the adjacent parishes, and on
the following day nearly 600 persons from the several parishes and
hamlets of the city were confirmed.  The total number of persons who had
been confirmed throughout the diocese in the course of this visitation is
computed at nearly 17,000.”

10.—This day “the thermometer stood at 82, exposed to the north.”  On the
19th of the previous month the heat was so great that many post horses
died.

12.—The Royal assent was given to an Act to enable his Majesty “to grant
the Castle of Norwich, with the county gaol, Castle Hill, and certain
land adjacent thereto, in Norfolk, and for vesting the same in the
justices of the peace for the said county, with the use thereof.”

13.—A remarkable suicide took place at Yarmouth.  “Two servant women tied
themselves together with ribbon, walked into the sea, and were drowned.”
They were the wives of privates in the Shropshire Militia.  “Their
husbands had come to see them the previous day, and, refusing to permit
them to return with them, they committed the rash act.”

14.—A large concourse assembled to witness a camping match on Crostwick
Common between the Hundreds of Taverham and of Blofield.
Conditions:—“Play 40 minutes; candidates to be young men under 25 and
unmarried.  Prize, a hat of the value of 10s. 6d. for each of the
successful combatants.”  The affair ended in a walk over, owing to the
absence of the Blofield men.  “It is now 20 years since a regular camp
was played at Crostwick, and that one was patronised by one of his
Majesty’s present ministers, who is not more celebrated for his political
talents, and the accomplishments of a liberal and enlightened mind, than
for his attachment to the ancient sports and amusements of his country.”
(Reference is here made to William Windham.)

17.—The annual water frolic and aquatic procession took place at Norwich,
“led by Admiral Clarke in full uniform in the Apollo.”

21.—The Corporation of Norwich again granted the use of St. Andrew’s Hall
to the corn merchants, as a place of exchange, at the annual rent of 50
guineas.  “A letter from Mr. Opie was read, in which that celebrated
artist stated that, if due care was taken to prevent persons from
touching the paintings in the hall, they would sustain no injury if the
hall was opened ten times a week.”

26.—Arrived, at Yarmouth, the Blanche frigate, Capt. Lavie, with La
Guerriere, French frigate of 50 guns, Capt. Hubert, captured on the 18th,
after a desperate action of 45 minutes.  La Guerriere had taken eight
Greenlandmen and one Yarmouth vessel, all of which she had destroyed.

28.—The Volunteer corps agreed to continue their services under new
regulations and at reduced pay.  The regulations were made in accordance
with a new Act of Parliament, which provided for the military training of
the population by the calling out of 200,000 men in each year.

31.—The Duke’s Palace estate in Norwich, belonging to the Duke of
Norfolk, was sold in lots for £5,055, exclusive of the Public Library and
house adjoining.


AUGUST.


9.*—(Advt.)  “To be seen alive (from Mr. Kendrick’s menagerie, 42,
Piccadilly), in a commodious room at Mr. Peck’s, the Church Stile, in the
Market Place, Norwich, a most surprising crocodile from the Nile ever
seen in this kingdom.  He is so remarkably tame that any lady or
gentleman may touch him with safety.”

13.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened an exhibition in their room in
Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  The exhibitors included A. Brown, W.
Browne, and Stone, architectural subjects; Crome, Dixon, Gordon, C.
Hodgson, Ladbrooke, Leeds, and Thirtle, landscapes; Cooper, horses and
cattle; Mrs. Coppin, Freeman, and Thirtle, portraits; and Sillett,
flowers and still life.  “The exhibition is such as to authorise our
predicting that the seeds of genius, which have evidently taken deep root
in some of the artists, will secure them most respectable places in the
roll of fame.”

14.—The anniversary sermon for the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital was
preached by the Bishop of Norwich at St. Peter Mancroft.  The sum
collected was £185 16s. 6d., and the proceeds of the dinner at the Swan
Inn amounted to £41 9s. 6d.

28.—The Comus frigate, 22 guns, was launched from the dockyard of Messrs.
Custance and Co., at Yarmouth.

30.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners advertised that they were “ready to
contract with any person or persons for watch boxes, to be made of good
and well-seasoned yellow deal, and painted on the outsides of a lead
colour three times in oil.  Also to receive proposals for and contract
with any person or persons for 36 strong and well-made watchmen’s coats
of a dark drab coloured cloth, large double collar, with belt of the same
sewed to the coat, and white and strong metal buttons.”


SEPTEMBER.


11.—Died, at the age of 100 years, Mrs. Crisp, of Loddon.

12.—Died, at Brighton, aged 76, the Right Hon. Edward Lord Thurlow, Lord
Chancellor 1778 to 1793, except for a few months during the Coalition
Administration in 1783, when the seals were put in Commission.  He was
the son of the Rev. Mr. Thurlow, rector of Ashfield, Suffolk, and was
born at Braconash, Norfolk, December 9th, 1730.  He was succeeded in his
title and estates by his nephew, only son of the Bishop of Durham.

—Died, at Breccles, near Watton, aged 107 years and 8 months, John
Stubings, husbandman.  “He never occupied more than five acres of land
nor received any parochial relief.”

13.*—(Advt.)  “Docking Snettisham, Lynn, and Norwich Telegraph, from
Docking to Lynn and Lynn to Norwich.  Leaves Docking at seven o’clock on
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, through Snettisham and Castle Rising,
to Star Inn, Lynn.  Leaves Lynn at eleven o’clock, to the Woolpack, St.
Giles, Norwich, through Gayton, Litcham, Mileham, Brisley, Elmham,
Bawdeswell, Lenwade Bridge, Attlebridge, and Drayton, and returns the
following morning at seven o’clock.”

25.—A shark, measuring nine feet in length and weighing three cwts., was
caught off Yarmouth.


OCTOBER.


3.—The bells of several parish churches in Norwich were tolled at noon,
the hour appointed for the interment, in Westminster Abbey, of the
remains of the Right Hon. Charles James Fox, who died September 13th.

4.*—(Advt.)  “The Norwich and Yarmouth Machine runs every day from the
Black Horse, Tombland, and White Hart, near the Wrestlers, Yarmouth.”

15.—Died suddenly, aged 58, Henry Bowles, the elder, formerly of the
Theatre Royal, Norwich.

21.—Blickling races commenced, and afforded “the greatest sport ever
known at this place.”  The principal event, a sweepstake for 50 guineas
for horses bred in Norfolk, was won by Col. Harbord’s bay filly Czarina.

—Launched from the dockyard of Mr. J. S. Douglas, Yarmouth, the Lord
Nelson packet, 91 tons, intended for the Harwich station.

29.—A trotting match for 50 guineas took place on the turnpike road from
Norwich to Watton, between Mr. King’s chestnut hone Doubtful and Mr.
Jeary’s brown mare Velocity.  “The horse won by about two lengths.  Owing
to a dispute respecting the horse galloping within the last hundred yards
the match still remains undetermined.  Fifteen and a half miles were
covered in one hour.”

Capt. Sir Edward Berry, R.N., was this month created a baronet, in
consideration of his eminent services to the country.


NOVEMBER.


3.—A Parliamentary election took place at Norwich, resulting in the
return of Mr. John Patteson, 1,733 votes, and Mr. Robert Fellowes, 1,370
votes.  Mr. Wm. Smith, who polled 1,333 votes, was the unsuccessful
candidate.  On the 10th “the Norwich Battalion of Volunteers received
Col. Patteson, M.P., with a general salute, and fired three vollies and
gave three cheers in token of their satisfaction at his being elected one
of the representatives of the city.”

—King’s Lynn election.  Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes returned
unopposed.

4.—Thetford election.  Lord William Fitzroy, 28 votes; Mr. James Mingay,
17 votes.  Mr. Thomas Creevey, the unsuccessful candidate, polled 14
votes.

—Yarmouth election.  The Hon. Edward Harbord and Mr. S. Lushington
returned unopposed.  A petition was lodged against the return, but the
committee of the House of Commons declared it to be frivolous and
vexatious, and the members retained their seats.

6.—Miss Elizabeth Bidwell, niece of Mr. Bidwell, of Thetford, arrived at
Harwich from Berlin.  “She was tutoress to the King of Prussia’s
children, and had a narrow escape of falling into the hands of the
French, and when she landed was destitute of money and change of
raiment.”  Miss Bidwell afterwards had an audience of the Queen at
Windsor, to whom she related the details of her escape.

12.—The Sapphire sloop of war, 18 guns, launched from Messrs. Brindley’s
yard at King’s Lynn.

13.—County election.  The poll was open for six days.  Mr. T. W. Coke,
4,118 votes; the Right Hon. William Windham, 3,722 votes.  The
unsuccessful candidate, the Hon. John Wodehouse, received 3,365 votes.
“On the chairing day, as well as every day during the election, there
were excellent dinners provided at the White Swan and Angel, where Mr.
Coke and Mr. Windham met large parties of their friends, whose convivial
enjoyments were much heightened by the eloquent orations of Mr. Plumptre
and the exertions of Mr. Mingay, whose good-humoured sallies and
witticisms never failed to set the tables in a roar.”  A petition against
the return of the members was presented by Mr. T. T. Berney and others,
and on February 12th, 1807, the committee of the House of Commons
declared the election void.  On February 26th, Mr. Coke was returned
unopposed for Derby, in place of his brother, Mr. E. Coke, who had
accepted the Chiltern Hundreds.  On March 5th, Mr. E. Coke and Sir Jacob
Astley, Bart., were returned unopposed for Norfolk, and Mr. Windham took
his seat, without opposition, as member for New Romney.

24.—Died, in St. Lawrence’, Norwich, Mrs. Galey, aged 101.

30.—At the meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will, at Norwich, it
was reported that 187 persons, besides weekly pensioners, had been
relieved during the year, making in all 2,218 since the establishment of
the institution.


DECEMBER.


4.—Mr. J. W. Robberds was elected an alderman for the Ward beyond the
Water, Norwich, in place of Mr. J. G. Baseley, who died December 1st.

6.—Died, in the 63rd year of his age, Thomas Osborn, bell founder,
Downham Market.

13.*—“Died, lately, in the parish of St. Mary, Norwich, Sarah Pickwood,
aged 49 years.  This was one of the most enormous cases of dropsy on
record.  In the course of about 50 months she was tapped 38 times, and
discharged 350 gallons of the fluid, weighing 4,656 lbs. troy.  The
greatest quantity discharged at one operation measured 11½ gallons, and
weighed 153½ lbs.”

18.—In the course of alterations at Ketteringham Hall, a fire occurred,
which destroyed the centre of the building, with all the new work.

20.*—“Whenever a fire occurs in the neighbourhood the large travelling
engine, belonging to the Norwich Fire Office, may be obtained by sending
a man and two horses and applying to the sexton of St. Peter Mancroft
Church, _in which place the engine is deposited_.”

The following Acts were passed this year:—

An Act to enable his Majesty to grant an annuity to Lady Viscountess
Nelson, in consideration of the eminent services performed by the late
Vice-Admiral Lord Nelson to his Majesty and the public.

An Act for settling and securing a certain annuity on Earl Nelson and the
heirs male of his body and such persons to whom the title of Earl Nelson
may descend, and for granting the sum of £100,000 to purchase an estate
to accompany the said title; and for granting £10,000 to each of the
sisters of the late Lord Nelson (Mrs. Matchem and Mrs. Bolton), in
consideration of the eminent and signal services performed by the said
Lord Nelson to his Majesty and the public.

An Act for amending, altering, and enlarging the powers of an Act, passed
in the 42nd year of his Majesty, for paving and otherwise improving the
borough of King’s Lynn.

An Act for repairing the parish Church of Great Yarmouth and rebuilding
the tower thereof.



1807.


JANUARY.


10.—J. S. Cotman advertised that he had taken a house in Wymer Street,
St. Andrew’s, Norwich, “for the accommodation of those ladies and
gentlemen who may favour him by becoming pupils.”  Terms: In the Academy,
£2 2s. quarterly.  Four private lessons, £1 1s.

16.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, William Chapman, a coal hawker, appealed
against his conviction, under the Hawkers and Pedlars Act, 29th Geo.
III. c. 26, for “carrying coals about the streets of Norwich to sell by
retail.”  Mr. Steward Firth ordered the conviction to be quashed, with
costs.  This case was considered of great importance to the citizens, and
especially to the poor.

17.*—“Orders have been received in Norwich from the East India Company
for 16,000 pieces of fine camblets.”

18.—A length of about 40 yards of the city wall at Norwich fell in Ber
Street with a tremendous crash.  At the Quarter Sessions on the 16th, the
Grand Jury made a presentment, in which attention was called to the
dangerous state of the wall.

26.—Died, at Lakenham, Mr. James Crowe, alderman of Norwich, aged 58.  He
twice served the office of Mayor, in 1774 and 1797.  Mr. John Steward was
elected in his place.

Little Dunham Lodge, near Swaffham, was this month purchased by Mr. St.
George Knudson, for £20,000.


FEBRUARY.


7.*—“A sixteenth share of No. 23,815, which has drawn a prize of £10,000,
was sold to J. Turner, servant to Mr. M. F. Rishton, of Lynn.”

—*“The Paving Commissioners have decided to lay the first stone according
to the new system of paving in Norwich, in St. Stephen’s Street.”

10.—At Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich, was exhibited a moving panorama,
representing the funeral of Lord Nelson.

11.—A heavy fall of snow rendered the roads impassable.  The Ipswich mail
arrived at Norwich two hours after its usual time; and the Bury coach
reached the city at about the same time, after having been once
overturned.  The Newmarket mail and the Expedition coach were unable to
get through.  The guard of the mail procured horses, rode across country
with the mail bags, and on reaching Bury took a post chaise, arriving in
Norwich at four o’clock on the 12th.  The Expedition coach reached the
city about eight o’clock the same night, drawn by eight horses.  The
Newmarket mail arrived on the 13th at 1.30 p.m.

11.—Several ships were wrecked during a severe gale on the Norfolk coast.
His Majesty’s gun brig Snipe came ashore on the South Ham, with 30 French
prisoners on board, many of whom, with part of the crew and some women,
perished.  In all 60 lives were lost in this ship.  Twelve vessels were
wrecked between Cromer and Yarmouth.

14.*—“The number of men liable to serve for this county under the
Training Act is 18,152.”  On April 6th, 607 persons, between the ages of
18 and 45, were drawn by ballot at Norwich to be trained and exercised
for 24 days.  Among those drawn were “several magistrates and other
distinguished personages.”

17.—Died, at Windsor, in his 67th year, the Rev. Dr. Lancaster Adkin,
rector of Belaugh and minister of St. Andrew, Norwich.  “He was the first
founder in Norwich of Sunday Schools, which he constantly attended and
instructed for more than 21 years.”

—Orders were given for the enlargement of the courts in the Norwich
Shire-house, for the repair of the bridge leading to the Castle, for
providing a palisade, and for bringing a supply of river water from the
main pipes in Golden Ball Lane to the county gaol.


MARCH.


7.—Sergt. John Parker, 3rd Dragoons, stationed at Norwich on recruiting
service, was apprehended on suspicion of having committed a murder at
Brighton in 1796.  The extraordinary statement upon which the accused was
apprehended was concocted by a man named William Cobb, of St.
Martin-at-Oak, who informed the Mayor that Parker, when a private in the
Somerset Fencible Cavalry, met him (Cobb), then a private in Col.
Villier’s Fencible Light Dragoons, while halting at Dorking, and told him
that he had murdered a woman at Brighton and had thrown her body into a
well.  An affidavit sent from Collumpton, in Devonshire, to the effect
that Parker was there ill at the time of the alleged murder, was
sufficient to procure him his discharge from custody.

9.—Died, in his 85th year, Henry Keymer, of East Dereham, “many years a
respectable auctioneer and land surveyor, and late sole proprietor of
Herring’s valuable antidote for the cure of the bite of a mad dog.”

11.—A bull, the property of Edward Kett, butcher, of Norwich, was baited
near “Bishop Gates.”  The baiting “offered very great sport; the bull was
a game one, and the dogs equally so.”

24.—Died, in the Close, Norwich, aged 90, the Rev. George Sandby, D.D.,
39 years Chancellor of the Diocese.  He was Vice-Chancellor of Merton
College, Oxford, in 1760.

28.*—“His Majesty has been pleased to appoint Wm. Firth, Esq., Steward of
Norwich, to be attorney-general in the province of Upper Canada.”  On his
resignation of the Stewardship on May 3rd, Mr. Firth received the thanks
of the Corporation, and Mr. Robert Alderson was appointed in his place.
At about this date, Mr. Thomas Amyot was appointed secretary and
registrar of Lower Canada.


APRIL.


4.—William Carter, aged 35, was executed on the “new drop,” Castle Hill,
Norwich, for horse stealing.

5.—The Norwich Court of Guardians resolved to petition the House of
Commons against Mr. Whitbread’s Bill for amending the Poor Laws.

9.—Died, at his house in Berners Street, London, in his 46th year, John
Opie, R.A.  His remains were interred in St. Paul’s Cathedral on April
20th.

13.—The Rev. James Brown was elected minister of St. Andrew, Norwich, in
place of the Rev. Dr. Adkin, deceased.  There were three other
candidates.  None but resident parishioners were allowed to vote.

16.—Died, at his house in King Street, Norwich, aged 60, Mr. James
Hudson, banker.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1788, was elected
alderman for the Mancroft Ward in 1791, and was Mayor in 1794.  Mr.
Starling Day, jun., was elected alderman in his place.


MAY.


4.—An election took place at Norwich on the dissolution of Parliament.
Mr. J. Patteson, who polled 1,474 votes, and Mr. W. Smith, 1,156 votes,
were returned.  The unsuccessful candidate, Mr. Robert Fellowes, polled
546 votes.

—Lynn election: Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes returned unopposed.

8.—Thetford election: Lord Wm. Fitzroy and Mr. T. Creevey returned
unopposed.

—Yarmouth election: Mr. S. Lushington, 604 votes; Mr. W. Jacob, 341; Mr.
A. Upcher (unsuccessful), 21.

12.—County election: Mr. T. W. Coke and Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., elected
unopposed.

—At a county meeting a committee was appointed for the purpose of forming
a club for the independent freeholders of Norfolk.  It was a revival of
the Norfolk Club, and met three times a year in Norwich, namely, in the
Summer Assize week, in the Michaelmas Sessions week, and in the Easter
Sessions week.  The first meeting was held at the Angel Inn, on October
6th, when Sir John Lombe, Bart., presided.

14.—The birthday of the Right Hon. Wm. Windham was celebrated by a dinner
at the Angel Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Wm. Smith, M.P.

25.—A rowing match took place, from Carrow Abbey to Whitlingham, between
the Victory, four oars, and the Britannia, six oars.  The course was 4½
miles, and the time of the winning boat, the Britannia, 33 mins. 50 secs.


JUNE.


1.—Died, at Worstead, Mrs. Ann Miller, formerly of Yarmouth, aged 102
years.

4.—His Majesty the King entered upon the 70th year of his age.  There
were great rejoicings in Norwich.  The Mayor and Corporation attended
service at the Cathedral, the troops—Regular, Militia, and
Volunteer—paraded in the Market Place, fired a _feu de joie_, and marched
past.  The Mayor gave a dinner, and the several corps dined at their
respective inns.

16.—Mr. Robert Herring was sworn into office as Mayor of Norwich, and
gave a dinner to 150 guests at Chapel Field House.  “The Mayor’s wine
being of the first flavour and quality, the festivity of the day was kept
up till past one o’clock the next morning.”

22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The implements exhibited included
an improved Norfolk plough, invented by Mr. Balls, of Saxlingham.  Mr.
Herring, jun., of Norwich, produced goods of his manufacture, and stated
that 117 shawls had that year been made by his firm from 224 lbs. of Mr.
Coke’s Southdown wool.  Mr. Paul, of Norwich, showed some beautiful
specimens of shawls manufactured by himself, “including a flowered shawl,
a very close imitation of India, made wholly of Mr. Coke’s marino wool.”
The best implement shown this year was an ingenious device by Mr. Paul,
of Starston, for catching turnip fly.

29.—Mr. Bannister appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in “Bannister’s
Budget, or an Actor’s Ways and Means.”  The entertainment was repeated on
July 4th.


JULY.


3.—Died, at Ferney Hill, Gloucester, Mrs. Cooper, widow of the Rev. Dr.
Cooper, of Yarmouth, and daughter of Mr. James Bransby, of Shotesham.
She was the author of several well-known works, namely, “Fanny Meadows,”
“The Daughter,” “The School for Wives,” and “The Exemplary Mother.”

7.—Died, at Heydon House, aged 53, William Earle Bulwer, Colonel in the
Army and Brigadier-General of Volunteers.

9.—An action for _crim. con._ was heard in the Court of King’s Bench, in
which Sir G. B. Brograve, of Worstead Hall, Lieut.-Col. of the East
Norfolk Militia, was plaintiff, and Capt. Elwin, of the same regiment,
defendant.  The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff, damages,
£2,000.  At Doctor’s Commons, on November 21st, 1808, the court granted a
divorce _a mansâ et thoro_, prayed for on the part of Sir Geo. Brograve
against Lady Brograve.

8.—Capt. Manby, barrack-master at Yarmouth, made several experiments with
his life-saving apparatus in the presence of Admiral Douglas and other
officers of the Navy, who expressed satisfaction with the invention.

—A single wicket cricket match was played at Thetford between two
gentlemen of that town and two of Newmarket.  The former won, with 37
runs to spare.

11.—Died, at Lady Fenn’s, East Dereham, aged 67, Mr. John Frere, of
Roydon, Norfolk, and of Finningham, Suffolk.  He was member for Norwich
from 1799 to 1802.

15.—Mr. Paul, of Starston, exhibited a machine for removing lice from
peas.  Two men, in four hours, caught 24 pecks of lice, and in the
afternoon took 16 pecks in 2½ hours.

16.—Died, aged 81, Mr. Peter Finch, who for many years held the office of
Clerk of the Peace for the county.

23.—A fleet of 24 sail of the line assembled in Yarmouth Roads, under the
command of Admiral Gambier, who, with Vice-Admiral Stanhope, sailed on
the 26th with 16 sail of the line, 10 frigates, 10 sloops, 9 gun brigs,
&c., for the Baltic.  Sir Sidney Smith sailed in the Prince of Wales, of
98 guns, Admiral Gambier’s flagship.  A strict embargo commenced on the
24th.  The remainder of the fleet afterwards sailed.  An expedition,
under Lieut.-General Sir David Baird, sailed from Harwich about the same
time.  On September 16th, intelligence was received of the surrender on
the 7th of Copenhagen, with the arsenal and the whole of the Danish Navy,
to the British forces, under the command of Lieut.-General Lord Cathcart
and Admiral Gambier.  The British fleet, which sailed from Yarmouth,
sustained but comparatively trifling loss.

27.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Grose,
Martha Alden was tried for the murder of her husband, Samuel Alden, at
Attleborough, on July 18th.  While the man was asleep in bed his wife,
with a bill-hook, inflicted terrible wounds on his head, face, and
throat.  With the assistance of a girl, named Mary Orvice, the prisoner
on the 19th deposited the body in a dry ditch in the garden; on the 20th,
they carried it in a corn sack to the common and “shot” it into a pond,
where it was subsequently discovered.  His lordship, in summing up, said
that Orvice might have been charged with being accessory to an attempted
concealment of murder.  The jury found the prisoner guilty, and the judge
“doomed her to death, to be drawn on a hurdle to the place of execution,
there to be hanged by the neck, and her body to be dissected.”  The
execution took place at Norwich on July 31st.  The populace at
Attleborough showed their detestation of the crime by destroying the
former dwelling-house of the prisoner.  It was reported that the ghost of
Alden “walked” on the Castle Hill, and in the month of December a party
of drunken men, who went there to “lay” the spirit, were seized by the
jailer and detained in prison for two days, pending an inquiry into their
conduct.

—At the same Assizes, before Lord Ellenborough, an action was tried, in
which Lord Albemarle claimed for the recovery of penalties, amounting to
£700, under the game laws.  The defendant, one Brooke, a poulterer and
wholesale dealer in game, at Thetford, was connected with the poachers
and gamekeepers in Norfolk, and with the dealers in Leadenhall market.
“The interruption of his commerce,” said counsel, “had created as much
alarm in Leadenhall market as the stagnation of trade between this
country and the North of Germany had occasioned amongst the merchants at
the Royal Exchange.”  A verdict was given for the plaintiff, damages £40,
“at the rate of £5 for each head of game which had fallen out of a basket
sent by the defendant to the London waggon office at Thetford for transit
to the metropolis.”

29.—At the public breakfasting at Harper’s Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich,
nearly 1,100 persons assembled, and 3,500 were present at the evening
performance.

30.—The sum of £180 3s. was collected at the anniversary service held at
the Cathedral on behalf of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and £50 16s.
resulted from the dinner at the White Swan.


AUGUST.


5.—In the House of Commons a petition was presented on behalf of Messrs.
Blackburne and Bonner, brewers, of Lynn, and of the inhabitants of the
town, who complained of the undue influence and the arbitrary proceedings
of the magistrates of that borough in withholding publicans’ licences.

8.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners advertised for tenders for lighting
the city.  The number of lamps, it was stated, would not be fewer than
1,200 nor more than 1,400.

10.—Mr. Edmund Reader, of Sisland, near Loddon, undertook, for a bet of
five guineas, to cut and tie one acre of wheat in 16 hours in a field
belonging to Mr. Burton, at Barford.  In 14 hours he had cut one acre
seven roods, and had tied 430 sheaves.

31.—A match at bowls was played at Cley, between three gentlemen of that
parish and three of Holt, for 50 guineas a side.  The latter won five
games out of seven.


SEPTEMBER.


7.—The City of Norwich Regiment of Volunteers assembled on Tombland at
five am., and marched to Yarmouth for garrison duty.  There were on
parade 26 officers, 30 sergeants, 25 corporals, and 500 rank and file.

12.—Mr. Philipsthal’s Phantasmagoria was exhibited at the Theatre Royal,
Norwich.

14.—Died, at Rainham, in his 84th year, George Marquis Townshend, a Field
Marshal, Colonel of the 2nd Regiment of Dragoon Guards, and Lord
Lieutenant of Norfolk.  His lordship represented Norfolk from 1747 to
1764, and from 1768 to 1772 was Viceroy of Ireland.  He acted as
Brigadier-General, and gained much honour at the taking of Quebec in
1759, when the command of the troops devolved upon him, in consequence of
the death of General Wolfe and of the wounding of General Monkton, second
in command.  His Majesty granted a pension of £1,000 a year out of the
privy purse to the Marchioness Townshend.

19.*—“One day last week a child, playing in the churchyard of St.
Michael-at-Plea, Norwich, found concealed behind a gravestone, covered
with a tile, a parcel, containing more than £90 in forged Bank of England
notes and £14 in counterfeit shillings.”

21.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation the city gates
still remaining were ordered to be taken down.


OCTOBER.


13.—The Duke of Clarence, accompanied by the Earl and Countess
Cholmondeley, visited Lynn.  The Corporation presented an address to his
Royal Highness, who was afterwards admitted a free burgess.

19.—Blickling races were this year supplemented by wrestling matches.

22.—Died, aged 40, at Brickhill, Buckinghamshire, on his way from
Liverpool, where he had arrived from America, Robert Murray, merchant, of
New York, fifth son of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.  He had been absent
more than 16 years, and had revisited England, in the hope of alleviating
the symptoms of a pulmonary complaint.

24.—Died, in Dublin, aged 72, Mr. James Bradfield, of Stoke Ferry, who by
his will endowed a school in that village for 25 poor children.

28.—Lord Cathcart, Commander-in-Chief of the Army employed against
Copenhagen, arrived in Norwich from Yarmouth, and next day proceeded to
London.

29.—Louis XVIII., travelling as Count de Lille, arrived off Yarmouth in a
Swedish frigate, and landed on November 2nd.  He was accompanied by the
Duke D’Angoulême, the Duke de Berri, and by other representatives of the
French nobility.

—A severe storm occurred off the Norfolk coast, and several transports
were lost at Yarmouth, where Admiral Gambier arrived with 32 sail of the
line, several Dutch prizes, and a great number of frigates.

31.*—“The Militia ballot has commenced.  The quota for Norfolk and
Norwich is 907.”

—At the Old Bailey, J. Hopgrave was indicted for an assault, with intent
to murder his Majesty’s officers of Excise in a smuggling affray at
Cawston.  The ringleader, one Jeremiah Abel, was convicted at the Old
Bailey some months previously.  Hopgrave succeeded in proving an _alibi_,
and was acquitted.  On December 8th, Richard Wiseman, of the Three Pigs,
at Edgefield, was charged at the Old Bailey with obstructing the Excise
officers at the same time.  He also was acquitted on proving an _alibi_.

At the end of this month a shooting party at Holkham killed in three days
1,457 head of game.  The party included Mr. Coke, the Marquis of
Tavistock, Lords Albemarle, Spencer, Althorpe, Anson, and Bradford,
Generals Walpole and Keppel, Sir J. Shelly, Col. Keppel, Messrs. W.
Smith, Churchill, Collet, Wilbraham, W. Fitzroy, and Smith.  Mr. Coke
killed 60 the first day, 66 the second, and 70 the third.


NOVEMBER.


4.—A large barn full of barley in the straw, and a stack of barley, the
property of General Money, of Trowse, were destroyed by fire, caused by
an incendiary, named Thomas Sutton.  At the Assizes, held at Thetford, on
March 21st, 1808, before Mr. Justice Grose, he was found guilty and
sentenced to death.  He had eight years previously been sentenced to
seven years’ transportation for stealing a pony belonging to the general,
and his father had suffered death for horse stealing.  “At the trial he
behaved in a most audacious manner to the judge, and when sentenced
requested the Sheriff to let him be taken to Norwich that he might be
hanged amongst his friends.”  He was executed on the Castle Hill,
Norwich, April 9th, 1808.

—An entertainment was given by Lord and Lady Cholmondeley to upwards of
300 persons at Houghton Hall.  The great hall was converted into a
theatre for the performance of an opera written by Mr. Panton.  The
performers included the author, Miss Wood, Lord Malpas, and the Messrs.
Lanyas.  Between the acts Lady Charlotte Cholmondeley and Miss
Cholmondeley played a pianoforte duet.  The opera was preceded by an
address, spoken by Lord Malpas, and was followed by a dance and supper.

7.*—“Nathaniel Easthaugh, bellman in Norwich, in gratitude for having had
possession of the city bell for 27 years (one year only excepted), has
liberally subscribed the sum of ten guineas towards the new pavement, he
being at times unable, through infirmity, to walk over the old one.”

10.—Died, aged 52, the Rev. John Walker, one of the minor canons of
Norwich Cathedral.  His widow afterwards published a volume of his poems.

11.—Seven fishermen were drowned within 50 yards of the shore at
Sheringham, through the upsetting of their boats in a sudden gale.

14.—The privateer La Décidé was brought into Yarmouth by L’Amiable
frigate, Capt. G. Stuart.  The privateer had long evaded the cruisers and
committed great depredations upon commerce.  She was supposed to have
captured 30 prizes within three years.

27.—Died, aged 77, John Clarke Snell, of Norwich.  “He was formerly of
Bury St. Edmund’s, and remarkable for his eccentricities and for his
study of astrology, which rendered him a well-known character.”

28.—John Gulley and Tom Cribb, the famous pugilists, gave an exhibition
of sparring in the great room at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Upwards
of 200 persons were present, including the Right Hon. William Windham and
the Hon. Edward Harbord.

30.—At the annual meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will at
Norwich, it was reported that 2,420 persons had been relieved since its
establishment.


DECEMBER.


12.—Married, at his lordship’s house, Charles Street, Berkeley Square,
London, the Right Hon. the Earl of Craven to Miss Louisa Brunton, of
Covent Garden Theatre, and daughter of John Brunton, Esq., formerly of
Norwich, who gave the bride away.  “The Earl is in his 37th and the fair
bride in her 25th year.”  Mr. Brunton was for many years manager of the
Norwich Theatre, and Miss Louisa Brunton was a favourite performer there.

13.—Died, in St. Simon’s, Norwich, aged 86, Mrs.  Mary Mack.  “She lived
several years in the service of the late Mr. W. Tilyard, of Poringland,
during which time she constantly travelled the number of 2,920 miles
annually, which in ten years amounted to 29,220, the house being fully
four miles from Norwich, and her master, who was a very eccentric
character, never failed sending her every day (Sunday not excepted) for
such things as his whimsical and capricious fancy suggested he stood in
need of.”

—Died, at Claxton, Mrs. Eliza Norton, in her 101st year.

19.*—“A telegraph or signal station is on the point of being erected upon
the hills leading from Norwich to Thorpe.  It is to be commanded by a
naval officer, and the object of it is to open and maintain a prompt
communication with Yarmouth on the one side, and with the telegraphs
between Norwich and London on the other.”  Messages were afterwards sent
from the Admiralty to Yarmouth in 17 minutes.  The chain of communication
was by Strumpshaw, Thorpe Hills, Honingham, Carlton, and Harling, and
thence by way of Thetford and Bury St. Edmund’s, across Newmarket Heath,
to London.

21.—Experiments were made at Norwich, with the view of testing the
practicability of General Money’s proposal to Government for mounting
cannon on waggons for the protection of vessels on the coast.  The
Artillery officers at Woolwich gave General Money credit for his
invention, and many ship owners and masters of vessels approved the plan.

An Act was passed this year for enabling Rear-Admiral Bentinck, tenant
for life under the will of his late father, Mr. John Albert Bentinck, to
charge his estates in the county of Norfolk with the sums therein
mentioned, for embanking, improving, and increasing the same estates by
the means therein mentioned.



1808.


JANUARY.


9.*—“Capt. Manby’s invention for rescuing persons from vessels stranded
on a lee shore has received the approbation of the Lords of the
Admiralty.”  On February 12th the apparatus was successfully employed in
saving the crew of a vessel named the Elizabeth of Plymouth.  In May, the
Society of Arts awarded their gold medal to Capt. Manby for his
invention; and Parliament at different times rewarded him with grants
amounting to £6,000, and adopted his apparatus at various stations on
dangerous parts of the coast.

10.—Lord Hutchinson and Lord L. Gower arrived at Norwich from Yarmouth,
where they had landed from the Belette sloop of war, on their return from
St. Petersburgh.

14.—During a heavy gale several vessels were stranded between Blakeney
and Sheringham.  Much damage was done by an inundation at
Cley-next-the-Sea.

17.—Died, of typhus fever, in his 20th year, Viscount Trafalgar, only son
of Earl Nelson.

23.*—“In consequence of the anniversary of King Charles’s martyrdom, the
nights of performance at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, next week, will be
Monday, the 25th, Wednesday, the 27th, Thursday, 28th, and Friday, 29th.”


FEBRUARY.


11.—A great snow storm.  The coaches which should have arrived on Friday
did not reach Norwich until the following Tuesday and Wednesday.  “The
mail guards were obliged to traverse the country with the bags on their
shoulders, sometimes on foot, up to their breasts in snow, and sometimes
on horseback, across the open fields and heaths.  From the Friday till
the following Tuesday the bags for London by Newmarket were dispatched
hence in post chaises.  Labourers were employed in clearing the highways,
and in some places they cut three miles through the snow.”  So complete
an obstruction to communication had not occurred since 1797, when the
coaches were four days performing the journey from London.

14.—Died, in London, in his 60th year, “that eccentric and truly worthy
character,” the Rev. Joshua Larwood, rector of Swanton Morley, and many
years chaplain on board the Britannia.  He was the author of “Erratics,”
and of several other works.

15.—The constables of Norwich destroyed many dogs which had been found
without muzzles in the public streets.  Several cases of rabies and of
deaths from hydrophobia were reported at this date.

17.—Died, at the age of 83, at Norwich, Mr. Francis Columbine.  He served
the office of Sheriff in 1769, and of Mayor in 1776.

Meetings were held in Norwich and throughout Norfolk this month, at which
Mr. Joseph Lancaster lectured on his improved method of education.
Lancasterian schools were established in Norwich, Lynn, and Downham in
May, 1809.


MARCH.


2.—The Hon. William Asheton Harbord appointed Lord Lieutenant and Custos
Rotulorum of the county of Norfolk, in place of the Marquis Townshend,
deceased.  The Corporation of Norwich, on May 3rd, conferred upon Mr.
Harbord the honorary freedom of the city.

5.*—“The Dean of Norwich has appointed Dr. Beckwith to be organist of the
Cathedral, in the room of Mr. T. Garland, resigned.”  (Mr. Garland died
on February 21st, aged 77, having been organist 59 years.)

8.—Died, at Norwich, aged 77, William Love, musician.  “He was formerly
leader of the band at the Theatre, a person of great genius in his
profession, of great suavity of manners, and of great improvidence in
conduct.”

11.—At a meeting held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which Mr. T. W. Coke
presided, Mr. Nathaniel Kent, of Ripon Hall, was presented by the
agriculturists of the county with a massive silver goblet, in recognition
of “his integrity and impartiality between landlord and tenant, in his
profession as a surveyor of land, and for his liberal and upright
attachment to the interests of agriculture.”

30.—The Racoon sloop of war, 20 guns, was launched from Mr. J. Preston’s
dockyard at Yarmouth.

31.—Died, at Wells-next-the-Sea, aged 82, Mr. Charles Boyles, brother of
Mrs. Murray, widow of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

—Died, at Melton House, aged 18, Miss Astley, eldest daughter of Sir
Jacob Astley, Bart.  She was in the act of placing coals upon the fire,
when her dress became ignited, and she succumbed to her injuries within
twenty-four hours.


APRIL.


2.*—“We understand that, in consequence of many burdens lately brought on
the city by the birth of illegitimate children, the Corporation of the
Guardians have offered a reward of 2s. 6d. to any person who shall give
information of the pregnancy or delivery of any unmarried woman in
Norwich.”

4.—The week commencing this date, during which the ward elections were
held at Norwich, was for the first time referred to as “cleansing week.”
“Many voters, who had been cooped up at farm houses in the country at
great expense, were brought in post chaises to the polling places.  For
the last four days we have had as much ringing and firing of bells as if
we had received a confirmation of the reports of the naval victory in the
Mediterranean.”

9.—The performance for the benefit of Mr. Hindes, manager of the Theatre
Royal, Norwich, produced the largest receipt ever known at the house on a
like occasion, namely, £163.

16.—John Chapman, 34, and William Fuller, 26, for shooting at and
wounding a gamekeeper in the service of Lord Cholmondeley, were executed
on Castle Hill, Norwich.

28.—A county meeting was held at the Shire-house, Norwich, to take into
consideration the measure pending in Parliament for prohibiting the use
of grain in distilleries, and for the substitution of sugar.  It was
resolved to petition against such prohibition as likely to prove
injurious to the owners and occupiers of land in Norfolk.  (Parliament
determined, however, in favour of using Colonial produce instead of
English barley.)

30.*—(Advt.)  “There will be a match of cocks fought between the
gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Norfolk, to show 25 mains and 8
byes, to fight for two guineas a battle, and 20 guineas the odd.  One
turn out for ten guineas; to be fought on the 2nd and 3rd day of May, at
the King’s Head, in Magdalen Street, Norwich.  A pair of cocks to be
pitted at twelve o’clock precisely.  Feeders, Lamb for Norwich; Carter
for Norfolk.”

Died, this month, aged 100, Mr. John Myhill, of Catfield.


MAY.


2.—A new peal of ten bells was opened at St. Nicholas, Great Yarmouth.

3.—Mr. Robert Alderson was elected Governor of the Norwich Court of
Guardians, in the place of Mr. Robert Partridge, resigned.

6.—Mrs. and Miss Robertson, of the Close, Norwich, and the Misses Doune
were returning to the city from Hockering, when they were stopped by a
highwayman near Cossey Wood.  He was armed with pistols, and, after
taking all their valuable articles of jewellery, rode off.

10.—An Expedition, consisting of 150 transports, sailed from Yarmouth for
the Baltic, for the protection of Sweden.  The Mars, Admiral Keats, the
Audacious, Capt. Lukin, and other warships formed the convoy; and Sir
John Moore, with Major-Generals Paget and Murray, had command of the
troops.

21.—The coach house, brew house, and offices at Blickling Hall, with 180
stand of arms, were destroyed by fire.


JUNE.


4.—The Society for the Encouragement of Arts and Manufactures awarded
their silver medal to Mrs. Coppin, of St. Stephen’s Street, Norwich, for
her oil painting, “The Gamesters.”

—An annual ploughing match was inaugurated at Ellingham by the Rev. Wm.
Johnson, to encourage the use of oxen in husbandry.

6.—The Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, Col. Harvey, 500 strong,
proceeded to Yarmouth for garrison duly, and returned to Norwich on the
18th.

13.—A cricket match, for 50 guineas a side, was played at Swaffham,
between the gentlemen of Swaffham and the gentlemen of Shipdham, and was
won by the latter.

16.—Died, at Norwich, in this 68th year, Sir Roger Kerrison, banker, and
for many years Receiver-General for Norfolk.  He was an alderman of the
Mancroft Ward, served the office of High Sheriff in 1800, and was twice
Mayor of Norwich, 1778-1802.

20.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The sweepstakes of 28 subscribers,
at 10s. 6d. each, for naming the weight of Mr. Coke’s three-shear
half-bred merino wether, was won by Mr. Thomas More, of Watham, who
guessed the exact weight, 132 lbs.  A patent dibbling iron, which
deposited the seed at the time the holes were struck, exhibited by the
Rev. Mr. Barker, of Woodbridge, was the winning implement.  Mr. F. Smith,
of Norwich, exhibited specimens of ladies’ merino dresses, scarves,
shawls, stockings, coating, and cassimers, most of which were made from
the wool of Mr. Coke’s sheep.  “A pair of worstead stockings were of so
delicate a fabric that the two stockings passed at the same time through
a lady’s ring.  A manufacturer had ordered a dozen pair at 18 guineas.”

21.—The Guild feast given at St. Andrew’s Hall by the Mayor of Norwich,
Mr. Starling Day, jun., was attended by 580 guests.


JULY.


12.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions, the Norwich Flour Company appealed
against the assessment of their premises in St. Andrew’s.  The company
was described as an unprofitable concern.  The assessment was reduced.

—A member of the Swaffham Cricket Club played and beat, with great ease
in one innings, “six players of professional celebrity in that town.”

13.—The thermometer registered 97 degrees in the shade at Catton.  Many
horses died from the excessive heat.

14.—Sergt.-Major Marshall, of the Thetford Volunteer Corps, and his son
were killed by an accidental explosion while sorting damaged cartridges.

18.—A prize fight, for £40 a side, took place on Kirstead Green, between
Wm. Underwood, of Seething, and John Chase, of Brooke.  Eighty-five
rounds were fought in two hours.  Underwood won.

21.—Thorpe Water Frolic took place.  “The Admiral of the flotilla was
placed in a small boat and carried round Thorpe Gardens several times,
with guns firing, flags flying, and music playing.  The company sang ‘God
Save the King’ and ‘Rule Britannia.’  A young gentleman favoured the
company with an excellent hornpipe on the top of the Apollo barge.”

23.—The bankruptcy of Sir R. Kerrison and Sons created much sensation in
Norwich.  “The crowd was so great in the King’s Head Inn yard of persons
who came to prove their debts that many had to return without proving
them.”  The amount proved was considerably over £580,000.  On January
16th, 1809, the creditors agreed to pay the sum of £5,500 to Lady
Kerrison, in lieu of dower and of other claims and demands she might have
on the estate.  On May 13th, a dividend of 6s. 8d. in the pound was
ordered to be paid on the 17th to the 3,600 creditors who had proved
their debts.  Dividends amounting to 16s. 4d. in the pound were
afterwards paid.

29.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation, an address to his
Majesty was unanimously agreed to, “on the subject of the noble struggle
of the patriots of Spain and Portugal against the Ruler of France, and of
the generous aid given to their endeavours by our Government.”


AUGUST.


1.—Mr. Stephen Springall, farmer, of Wroxham Hall, and his nephew, aged
12, were drowned at Wroxham Water Frolic, through the capsizing of their
boat.

8.—A remarkable storm occurred at Norwich.  Streets were inundated and
cellars flooded.  “The roaring of the waters in falling from the roof to
the lower leads of the Cathedral was so tremendous as literally to drown
the noise of the thunder that accompanied it.”

15.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened their fourth exhibition.

20.*—“At the Hospital anniversary at Norwich, the sum collected at the
Cathedral was £161 1s., and at the dinner, £53 7s.  Of the church
collection, £1 6s. 6d. was base coin.”

—*“Among the many performers who have contributed in the course of the
Assize week to the entertainment of the city, may be reckoned the
wonderful John Howes, from Eyke, near Woodbridge.  Though bereft of sight
and moving in a humble sphere of life, his arrival in Norwich was
announced by the ringing of bells, for he carries a complete peal of
twelve about with him, which, when he performs, he suspends upon a pole
placed horizontally across the backs of two chairs.  A variety of peals,
as well as song tunes, country dances, &c., he plays with a degree of
accuracy and precision that charm all those who witness his performance.”

28.—Braconash Church was reopened for service by the Bishop of Norwich,
after its complete restoration.  Mr. T. T. Berney, of Bracon Hall,
entertained many of the neighbouring clergy at dinner.

30.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Mary Moneyment, of St. Faith’s.

Many of the Volunteers transferred their services to the Local Militia,
established this month under the Act passed in July.


SEPTEMBER.


2.—Died, in his 49th year, Dr. Richard Lubbock, of Norwich.  He was
educated at the Grammar School, under the Rev. G. W. Lemon, author of the
“English Derivative Dictionary,” was a pupil of Mr. Rigby, and studied
for several years at Edinburgh University.

5.—A cricket match was played at Thetford, between the Thetford and
Newmarket clubs.  The former won by 50 “notches.”

17.*—“At the late meeting of the county magistrates, it was agreed that
the passage way from the top of the Castle Hill, Norwich, to the
north-east side should be filled up, and the iron railing continued from
the bridge quite round.  The descent from that part of the hill towards
Gurney’s bank will be by a flight of stone steps.”

19.—Great festivities took place at Rainham Hall to celebrate the arrival
of the Marquis Townshend.  “A bullock was roasted and four sheep boiled,
and a large quantity of that old beverage made from malt and hops
contributed to make all heads and hearts glow with gratitude to the noble
donor.”

21.—At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation, the Commons
proposed that the representatives of the city be instructed to oppose the
Bill for erecting a bridge over the river at Carrow Abbey.  The motion
was not agreed to by the aldermen.  On December 15th, a numerous meeting
was held at the Guildhall to oppose the erection of the bridge, on the
ground that it was unnecessary.  On February 20th, 1809, Mr. Patteson
presented a petition to the House of Commons, praying for leave to bring
in a Bill for carrying out the proposal.  On April 21st, Mr. Patteson
moved the second reading of the Carrow Bridge Bill, which was opposed by
Mr. W. Smith.  Fourteen voted for the motion, and nine against.  These
numbers not constituting a House, the further consideration of the Bill
was deferred to a future sitting, when the second reading was carried by
48 votes to 26.  Ultimately, the Bill received the Royal assent.  On July
26th, the Commissioners selected Mr. A. Brown’s plan for an iron bridge,
and on July 31st, contracts were entered into with Mr. J. G. Aggs for
casting the ironwork; with Messrs. Athow and De Carle for the stonework;
and with Mr. N. Wyeth for the brickwork and abutments.  On December 18th,
a proposition was submitted to the Commissioners in favour of abandoning
the Carrow Bridge scheme, in view of the projected erection, near the
Foundry, of a bridge over the Wensum.  It was decided, however, to push
on with the work as speedily as possible; and the first stone was laid on
April 26th, 1810, by the Mayor, Mr. Thomas Back.

25.—Died, the celebrated Greek scholar, Richard Porson.  He was a native
of Ruston, in Norfolk.  He left a sister, the wife of Mr. S. Hawes, of
Coltishall.  His brother Thomas, who kept a boarding school at Fakenham,
died in 1792.

27.—A rowing match, for ten guineas a side, took place at Norwich,
between the six-oared boats, the Britannia and the Crown Point.  The
latter won.  Distance, 4½ miles; time, 30 minutes 30 seconds.


OCTOBER.


5.—Mr. Shelford Bidwell was elected Mayor of Thetford.  “The usual
entertainment was given to the Corporation.  The source from whence it
was, as usual, derived is worthy of record.  The roast beef is provided
by the Town Clerk; the boiled beef by the tenant of the tolls of the
navigation; the geese by the tenant of the bridge tolls; the game and
wine by the Mayor-Elect; and the keeper of the tavern adjacent to the
Guildhall finds the plumb puddings.  Is this immemorial custom in the
above very ancient borough not the origin of the present fashionable _Pic
Nics_?”

10.—About two-thirds of Col. Patteson’s Volunteer Infantry were enrolled
as Local Militia.

15.—The Norwich corn merchants demanded of the farmers a month’s credit,
instead of paying ready money for their corn as hitherto, but it was
resisted by the growers, and ultimately abandoned by the merchants.  In
the Court of King’s Bench, on November 25th, Lord Ellenborough, who was
applied to for a rule, held that individuals might buy and sell upon
terms agreed to, but combining to impose terms upon the growers was
calculated to enhance the price of grain in the market, and to lessen the
supply in the market, which was another cause for an increased price.

16.—Fundenhall Church was opened, after extensive repair.  The chancel
was almost rebuilt by Mr. T. T. Berney, the impropriator.

18.—A rowing match, for five guineas a side, took place between the
Revenge, six oars, and the Lion, four oars.  The course was from Carrow
to Whitlingham and back.  The Revenge won.

25.—At Blickling Races a silver cup was for the first time offered for
competition by horses ridden in a regiment or troop of Norfolk Yeomanry
Cavalry.

28.—The organ erected at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, was opened by Dr.
Beckwith.  A grand selection from the works of Handel was played upon the
instrument, and upwards of £120 was collected.

31.—At Holkham, from October 31st to November 17th, Mr. Coke and seven
other guns killed 1,131 hares, 214 pheasants, 366 partridges, 983
rabbits, 30 woodcock, 12 wood pigeons, and 5 snipe.


NOVEMBER.


9.—A woman, named Mary Hudson, aged 35, escaped from Norwich City Gaol
under extraordinary circumstances.  She made a hole through the wall of
the room in which she was confined, and crept through it into the street,
taking her six months old infant with her.  The wall was two feet in
thickness, and she must have been employed some nights in making the
aperture.  The bricks were concealed beneath her bed, and the loose
rubbish put into the pillowcase.  Another bed served to conceal the hole
in the wall.  In the hue and cry advertisement, offering a reward of ten
guineas for her recapture, it was stated that a Yarmouth hawker and
pedlar, named Thomas Cocks, “who frequently feeds cocks for fighting in
Norfolk and Suffolk,” was suspected of having assisted the woman to
escape.  There is no record of her recapture.

15.—Swaffham Coursing Meeting took place.  It was described as “the most
successful meeting since the renewal of coursing here.”  Two hundred
persons attended the ball.

24.—The Wymondham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry presented a valuable sword to
the commanding officer, Capt. John Darell.


DECEMBER.


10.*—“The lay clerks of Norwich Cathedral have lately had their salaries
augmented £12 each, being only the second advance since the time of Henry
VIII.”

17.—From Saturday, the 17th, to Saturday, the 24th, the Newmarket mail
coach, owing to the heavy fall of snow, did not arrive in Norwich with
the letters until after the departure of the coaches for London.  Great
inconvenience was occasioned thereby in commercial circles.

21.—Died, aged 18, Miss Fisher, only daughter of Mr. Fisher, of the
Newmarket Theatre, and formerly of Norwich.

24.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn,
Norwich, on Tuesday and Wednesday, the 3rd and 4th of January, 1809; to
show 31 mains, to fight for ten guineas a battle, and 100 the odd battle.
Likewise to show ten bye cocks for five guineas a battle, and two turn
outs.  Feeders, Lamb, Norfolk; Cock, Norwich.”

31.—John Gulley, Tom Crib, and Tom Belcher gave a boxing exhibition at
Norwich before an audience of 800 persons.

Col. Robert Harvey, not being joined by a sufficient number of the
Volunteers under his command to permit of its becoming a battalion of
Local Militia, he resigned his commission, and was succeeded by
Lieut.-Col. De Hague.



1809.


JANUARY.


14.*—“The orders lately come down to Norwich, besides affording constant
employment to most of the manufacturing poor for nearly twelve months,
will in the different branches of labour diffuse upwards of £40,000 in
earnings, exclusive of the amount circulated for combing and spinning.”

15.—The Norwich Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Lieut.-Col. De Hague,
was formed into a battalion of five companies of 60 men each.

25.—A “grand operatical romance,” entitled “The Forty Thieves,” was
produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre, with scenery specially
painted by Dixon.

28.*—(Advt.)  “A card.  Mr. Lambert, from Leicester, respectfully informs
the ladies and gentlemen of Norwich and its vicinity that he arrived on
Sunday at Mr. Leeche’s, at the King’s Head, where he will see company
from 11 to 2, from 3 till 6, and from 7 till 9 each day.  Admission one
shilling each.”  Lambert died on Wednesday, June 21st, 1809, at Stamford.
He was in his 40th year, and weighed 52 stones 11 lbs.

28.—In consequence of a rapid thaw, the low lying parts of Norwich were
flooded.  “Some of the houses were six or seven feet under water,” and
boats were rowed in the street at St. Martin-at-Oak.  The marshes below
Norwich were so inundated that the course of the river could not be
traced, and the barge proceeding to Yarmouth had to return, in
consequence of the men being unable to find the channel.

30.—During a violent gale a stack of chimneys fell on the roof of an old
house in Cockey Lane, Norwich.  Mr. and Mrs. Graham were buried in the
ruins and killed.  On the same night a large tree in Sprowston Park was
blown down.  It was planted the day King Charles was beheaded, January
30th, 1649.


FEBRUARY.


3.—Mr. S. Mitchell (as nominee for the Wymer Ward, Norwich) obtained
judgment in the Court of King’s Bench, by which it was ruled that
Militiamen out on duty, but having dwellings in the city in which their
families lived, had a right to vote at ward elections.

7.—A stage coach, owned by Mr. Wm. Funnell, and known as the Lynn and
Norwich Telegraph, commenced running.  It left the Star Inn, Lynn, on
Tuesdays and Fridays at eight a.m., and arrived at the Woolpack Inn,
Norwich, at eight p.m.  It ran by way of Grimston, Great Massingham,
Rougham, Litcham, Mileham, Stanfield, Brisley, Elmham, Billingford,
Bawdeswell, Lenwade Bridge, Attlebridge, and Drayton.  The return journey
was on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

24.—Died, at his house in Bruton Street, London, aged 85, the Right Hon.
the Earl of Orford.  His lordship was the nephew of the famous Sir Robert
Walpole, afterwards Earl of Orford.  For many years he sat in the House
of Lords as Baron Walpole of Wolterton.  On the death of Horace, Earl of
Orford, he succeeded to the Barony of Houghton, the Earldom becoming
extinct, but he was afterwards created Earl of Orford.  He was succeeded
by his eldest son, Lord Walpole, who was for many years member for Lynn.
General Walpole, who concluded the treaty with the Maroons in Jamaica,
who seconded Mr. Tierney in his duel with Mr. Pitt, and who was one of
Mr. Fox’s secretaries, was a younger son of the deceased Earl.  The
remains were brought from London for interment in the family vault at
Wolterton.  The funeral procession passed through Norwich on March 10th
in the following order:—“Four horsemen preceding the Earl’s coronet,
borne on a cushion of crimson velvet by a person on horseback, bare
headed; then the body in a hearse, surmounted with plumes and drawn by
six horses, followed by a mourning coach and six; his lordship’s coach
and six, with blinds up, and servants on horseback closed the
procession.”  The great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, and the bells of
other churches tolled as the procession passed through the city.

28.—The Norwich Squadron of Light Horse Volunteers had just concluded
their drill on Mulbarton Common, when Capt. Darell’s hounds drove a stag
across the parade ground.  The Volunteers at once joined in the chase,
“to which it will readily be conceived their numbers and appearance gave
a great _éclat_.”  The stag was taken alive in a shed at Mangreen, after
a run of 3 hours 10 minutes.

Died, this month, Mr. John Wagstaffe, of Bawburgh.  He was the author of
a poem, entitled “Stonehenge,” dedicated to his friend and neighbour, Mr.
Edward Jerningham.


APRIL.


3.—A trotting match took place between Young Adonis, a colt belonging to
Mr. James Neeve, of Terrington St. Clement, and an eight year old horse,
Hue and Cry, owned by Mr. James Mathew, of the same place.  The stakes
were £20 a side, and the distance five miles.  The colt, which carried 13
stones, covered the distance in 19 minutes, and won.

10.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which
resolutions were passed, thanking Col. Wardle and his supporters for
their conduct in Parliament, respecting the charges preferred against the
Duke of York.

21.—A new peal of bells was opened at Wiveton.  The tenor, weighing
upwards of 11 cwts., was cast and hung by Mr. Wm. Dobson, of Downham
Market.

22.—The postmasters announced that “from the wonderfully high prices of
horses, hay, corn, &c.,” they were “under the disagreeable necessity of
charging eighteen pence per mile from this date.”

27.—Died, aged 32, in Arras prison, John Rising, sixth son of Mr. Robert
Rising, of Somerton Hall.  He commanded the Vanguard letter of marque,
which was captured, on her return from Trinidad, off Beachy Head, by the
Ambuscade, after a desperate resistance.  The remains of the deceased
were followed to the grave by upwards of 200 Englishmen.


MAY.


9.—The six regiments of Norfolk Local Militia assembled for 28 days’
training at Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, and Swaffham.

11.—Notice was issued of an intended application to Parliament for an Act
for erecting a bridge over the river Wensum, at or near the Foundry, in
the parish of St. Peter per Mountergate, Norwich, for making roads for
connecting the bridge with the Thorpe turnpike road and the Castle Hill,
and for raising money to carry the Act into execution.  A petition for
leave to bring in a Bill was presented in the House of Commons in
February, 1810, and on March 13th the Bill was read a second time, and
committed.  It was announced on April 14th that the measure had passed
the House of Commons, and been read a first time in the House of Lords.
On April 18th, the Bill received the Royal assent.  The first stone of
the bridge was laid on August 6th by Alderman Jonathan Davey, the
projector of the undertaking.  The contractor was Mr. Mendham, of Holt.

12.—On this day the thermometer stood at 80 degrees in Norwich.

13.—The Rev. Charles Millard appointed Chancellor of the Diocese of
Norwich, on the resignation of the Rev. Henry Bathurst.

19.—The officers of the Lynn Freebridge Legion presented a sword to their
commanding officer, Lieut.-Col. Taylor.


JUNE.


3.—Died, aged 49, John Christmas Beckwith, Mus. Doc., organist of Norwich
Cathedral and St. Peter Mancroft.  On the 7th, “the remains of this
eminent musician were interred in St. Peter’s Church under the organ,
agreeable to his own desire.”  His son, Mr. John Beckwith, succeeded him
in both appointments.

7.—Died, in his 68th year, at his house in St. Saviour, Norwich, Mr.
Thomas Watson, who served the office of Sheriff in 1789, and of Mayor in
1790.

17.—Mr. Bannister appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in his
entertainment, “Bannister’s Second Budget for 1809.”

18.—Miss Booth, a well-known Norwich musician, elected organist at the
Octagon Chapel, in the place of Mr. John Beckwith.

19.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  An improved turnip drill, made by
Mr. Coke’s blacksmith (Mann), was exhibited.  “By this drill the oilcake
dust and turnip seed are kept separate till they come into the funnels,
from which they combine and fall into the drills.”  A manure drill cart,
invented by Blyth, of Norwich, was also shown.  “This implement first
ploughs the soil, deposits the manure, and sows the seed after it, and
both are instantly buried up.”  It was worked by two horses and three
men.  Mr. Lester, of Paddington, exhibited a working model of a
newly-invented machine for separating the corn and seeds from the straw
and chaff.

20.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. Thomas Back was sworn in as Mayor, and
entertained 640 guests at the Guild feast in St. Andrew’s Hall.  At the
ball at Chapel Field House the dancing was opened by the Mayor and Mrs.
William Jerningham.  The prisoners in the city gaol thanked the Mayor
“for one guinea on the Guild Day, and for a plentiful basket of meat from
the hall, which was equally divided amongst them.”

26.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed 800 persons at the Cathedral.

27.—Swaffham Races re-established with great success.  Four plates were
run for on this and the next day, and several of the horses were from
Newmarket.  “Public ordinaries were provided at the different inns; that
at the Crown was attended by a select party of 68 ladies and gentlemen.
At seven the former retired to their toilettes, and at about nine o’clock
proceeded to the assembly-room, where the company numbered 200 persons.
The ball was opened by Mr. P. Hamond and Miss Upcher.”

Brooke House (with 170 acres of land), formerly the residence of Sir
Roger Kerrison, was this month purchased by Mr. Thomas Kett, of Seething,
for £16,010.


JULY.


5.—Arrived, at Yarmouth, part of the 40 sail of transports, for the
purpose of receiving on board the 2nd Battalions of the 11th and 59th
Regiments of Foot, the 1st Battalion of the 79th, and other regiments for
the Expedition.

11.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, George Hubbard was indicted for stealing
a pair of velveteen breeches.  “The offence being for a grand larceny the
prisoner was allowed to plead the benefit of clergy.”  He was sentenced
to six months’ solitary confinement and to be publicly whipped.

12.—A curious case was tried at the Norfolk Quarter Sessions.  In the
course of the inquiry into the conduct of the Duke of York in September,
1808, it was stated that a Mrs. Sinclair Sutherland had written to his
Royal Highness to induce him, “for certain reasons,” not to permit Major
Turner, 3rd Dragoon Guards, to sell out in favour of Lieut. Sitwell until
the following March.  In consequence of this communication, Major
Turner’s resignation was not accepted until some months after it had been
sent in.  Major Turner went to reside at Buckenham, in this county.
Owing to the annoyance to which he was subjected by Mrs. Sutherland, who,
it was alleged, had been under his protection, he appeared in court and
moved to exhibit articles of the peace against her.  The court ordered
the defendant to enter into her own recognisances of £100 and to keep the
peace for one year.  At the Quarter Sessions on October 4th, Major Turner
exhibited fresh articles against Mrs. Sutherland, and stated that seven
days after entering into her recognisances she again appeared at his
house and committed a breach of the peace.  The court thereupon ordered
Mrs. Sutherland to find two sureties of £100 each, and to keep the peace
for twelve months.  Not being prepared with her bond, she was committed
to Norwich Castle, but was afterwards released upon two Norwich gentlemen
agreeing to be bound for her.

15.—Mr. Incledon appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in his
entertainment, in three parts, entitled, “A Voyage to India.”  A
recitation was given by Mr. Powell, formerly of Norwich Theatre, and of
Drury Lane Theatre.

22.—A duel was fought, “in a grove near Norwich, between Mr. B . . . n
and Mr. L . . b . . t, both of Norwich, in consequence, we understand, of
their paying their addresses to the same young lady.  The parties fired,
but neither received any injury, after which a reconciliation took place,
and Mr. L. resigned his pretensions to the fair lady.”

24.—A letter was received by the Commandant of the Norwich Volunteer
Infantry, from the Lord Lieutenant of the County, “signifying his
Majesty’s intention not to make any further allowance for clothing to
Volunteer corps, and desiring to know whether the Norwich Volunteers
would consider themselves a corps, or transfer their services to the
Local Militia?”  The Colonel replied “that they would continue their
services as long as his Majesty would be pleased to accept them and their
present clothing held out.”

29.—It was announced that Mr. Henry Aston Barker, “who painted the
pictures of London, Paris, Constantinople, Edinburgh, Dublin, Cairo,
&c.,” exhibited in Leicester Square, London, had drawn “a panoramic view
of Norwich and the surrounding country, as seen from the Castle Hill,
accompanied by a perspective view of the Castle, engraved in stroke by
Mr. Williams.”

31.—The annual exhibition of the Norwich Society of Artists was opened in
Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, the case of the King _v._
Larke, Mileham, and others was tried.  This was a prosecution for rioting
in a Dissenting meeting-house at Aylsham, and for an assault upon a
preacher, named Joseph King, on Sunday evening, March 13th, 1808.  The
defendants behaved in a very disorderly manner in the chapel, and carried
off the minister by force to the Dog Inn.  The case was settled by the
defendants apologising to the prosecutor in open court, and by paying the
costs of the prosecution.

—At the same Assizes, Lord Chief Justice Mansfield had before him the
action, Leathes, clerk, _v._ Baker.  It was brought by the Rector of
Reedham, under a statute of Edward VI., to recover treble the value of
the tithes of corn grown on the defendant’s farm there, in 1808, and
involved in dispute a sum of between £300 and £400.  The two main points
which the plaintiff endeavoured to substantiate were, first, that the
tenant had not set out the tithes according to law; and, secondly, if set
out, it was done fraudulently and unfairly.  It was proved that in one
field defendant cut the whole crop, tithed and carried a part on one day,
and the remainder on the following day.  The Judge ruled that this mode
of tithing was contrary to law, and said he was sorry to be obliged to
direct the special jury to find for the plaintiff.  The jury, after
requesting his lordship to inform them what was the lowest sum they could
award, so as not to subject the defendant to costs, assessed the amount
at £8.  A similar action was brought by the same plaintiff at the Lent
Assizes at Thetford, on March 19th, 1810, against a farmer, named
Maddison, when the jury found for the defendant.  At the Norfolk Assizes,
held at Norwich, on August 13th, 1810, before the Lord Chief Justice,
Baker brought an action against Mr. Leathes, to recover damages for
inconvenience and loss sustained by him in 1808, by reason of the
defendant allowing his tithes to remain and rot on the plaintiff’s land.
A verdict was given for Baker, damages, £150.  At the same Assizes, Mr.
Leathes brought an action against a farmer, named Long, for not setting
out his tithes according to law.  Verdict for the plaintiff, damages,
£12.

31.—The Grand Jury for the County held a meeting, at which renewed
efforts were commenced to procure the removal of the Lent Assizes from
Thetford to Norwich.  It was decided to petition Parliament with that
object.  At Norwich Quarter Sessions, on October 3rd, the Grand Jury made
a presentment, asking the city magistrates to co-operate with the county
justices.  On October 11th, the Norwich Corporation resolved to aid the
county in the application to Parliament, and in February, 1810, a
petition in favour of the removal was presented in the House of Commons
by Mr. Patteson.


AUGUST.


6.—A wedding “of an unusual kind was celebrated at Swaffham.  The bride
and bridegroom, young persons, were both quite blind.”

10.—Races took place at Mattishall.  A purse, “given by the town,” was
won by a horse, named Lord Paget, owned by Mr. Carter, a well-known
leader of sport in the district.

14.—Died, at his seat at Costessey, aged 74, Sir William Jerningham,
Bart., (“subject to the decision now pending in the House of Lords”)
Baron Stafford, of Stafford Castle.  He was succeeded in his title and
estate by his eldest son, Mr. George Jerningham, Haughley Park.

15.—News was received at Norwich of the victory of the British Army in
Spain, under Sir Arthur Wellesley.

16.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia marched into Norwich
from Colchester, under the command of Lieut.-Col. Nelthorpe.  The second
division, commanded by Capt. Barnham, arrived next day.  The regiment,
which had not been stationed in Norwich for nearly 30 years, had the Earl
of Orford as its colonel-in-chief.


SEPTEMBER.


4.—One hundred prisoners of war, from Flushing, arrived at the Cavalry
Barracks, Norwich, from Yarmouth, and next day proceeded on their route
to Norman Cross.  Among them were several officers, and their wives and
families, who were sent to Northampton and Chesterford.  They expressed
their gratitude to the Mayor, magistrates, and citizens, for the humane
treatment they had received in Norwich.

13.—Overstrand Hall was purchased by Lord Suffield for £16,510.

16.*—“Mr. Laverock Love, a young officer of the Aboukir, only 18 years of
age (son of Mr. Love, surgeon, of East Dereham, in this county), had the
command of a launch at the bombardment of Flushing, and was the first who
fired a shot.  Letters have been received from several of his brother
officers, speaking in the highest terms of his intrepid gallantry.”

21.—A plan for the regulation of the Cattle Market was adopted by the
Corporation of Norwich.


OCTOBER.


3.—H.R.H. the Duke of York left Buckenham Lodge, the seat of General Sir
J. Pulteney, to whom he had been on a visit for the shooting.

7.*—(Advt.)  “This day the ‘Norwich and Yarmouth Courier’ will be
published and ready for delivery on the arrival of the mail, at the
‘Courier’ Office, late Post Office, Market Place, Norwich, containing the
same news as the London papers delivered on Saturday in Norwich, and, of
course, such as cannot appear in any country paper till the following
week.  A newspaper, gratis, sent post free to every advertiser.”

11.—The Corporation of Norwich voted a loyal address of congratulation to
his Majesty, on his entering, on October 25th, upon the 50th year of his
reign.  It was decided by nine votes to eight not to celebrate the
Jubilee “by roasting a bullock in the Market Place and giving away 10
barrels of beer”; and the aldermen negatived a proposal to appropriate a
sum out of the Corporation revenues to secure the discharge of certain
debtors, as a means of commemorating the event.

17.—Three newly-erected paper mills at Elsing “were set to work on an
entirely new principle.”

19.—Died, in an obscure apartment in the White Hart Yard, St. Peter
Mancroft, Norwich, Mr. Robert Fenn.  “In the early part of his life his
company was sought after and welcomed by persons of high rank in the
sporting line.  He possessed great skill as a marksman, and had the best
method of training dogs.  As a tavern companion he was jocular,
facetious, and replete with anecdote, entertaining the company, and
inspiring mirth with his oddities and eccentricities.”  He was in his
75th year.

20.—The worsted and silk and worsted manufacturers of Norwich granted the
weavers an increase of wages, involving an additional expenditure of
£5,000 per annum.

22.—A new altar-piece, of Gothic design, the work of Mr. Copping, of St.
Stephen’s, Norwich, was erected in Braconash Church.

25.—Celebration of the Jubilee of George III.  The Mayor (Mr. Thos. Back)
and the Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral.  At the
conclusion of the service the civic procession returned to the Guildhall,
and the garrison and Volunteers fired a _feu de joie_ on the Castle
Ditches.  The Mayor entertained 340 guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s
Hall.  A baron of beef, weighing 172 lbs., surmounted by the Union flag,
was brought in by four grenadiers, who bore it twice round the hall to
the air of “The Roast Beef of Old England,” and then placed it upon the
head table.  Before the company separated it was resolved “that, as a
testimony of respect for the Mayor and particularly for his conduct on
this day, he be requested to have his portrait painted.”  Numerous
benevolent movements were instituted in celebration of the Jubilee.  One
was the relief of about thirty poor citizens, with large families, who
were liable to have their persons and effects seized under an execution
of the Court of Requests, for various small debts, ranging from 5s. to
40s., and the whole amounting to between £26 and £27.  The day was
celebrated at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the county.

28.*—“A lover of improvements requests us to hint that what has been
improperly termed Cockey Lane (Norwich) for a long time, should, in
consequence of the recent alterations, assume a new appellation, by
terming it Market Street or some other appropriate name.”  (The
thoroughfare here referred to is now known as London Street.)

—*“The harriers belonging to Mr. T. Thompson, of Bergh Apton, had last
week one of the severest and longest chases they have yet experienced.
Mr. Dyke’s famous horse died in the field long before the death of the
hare, and three other capital horses were very badly knocked up at the
same time.  Only a few of the most dashing sportsmen could keep within
sight of the hounds.”

29.—Died, at Earlham Hall, in his 60th year, Mr. John Gurney.  His
remains were interred on November 3rd at the Gildencroft burial ground,
Norwich, in the presence of an immense concourse of citizens.


NOVEMBER.


2.—After the interval of seven years, a Musical Festival was held at
Norwich.  The opening performance on Thursday, 2nd, consisted of the
production of the “Messiah” at the church of St. Peter Mancroft; and in
the evening a grand miscellaneous concert was given at the Theatre.  On
Friday, 3rd, “Sampson” was performed at the church, where also in the
evening were rendered selections from various oratorios.  The Festival
concluded on Saturday evening, the 4th, with a miscellaneous concert at
the Theatre.  The principal vocal performers were Mr. and Mrs. Vaughan,
Miss Booth, Mr. Gross, and Mr. Elliott.  Professor Hague, of Cambridge,
led the band, and Mr. Beckwith was conductor.  The admission to the
church was:—Middle aisle, 5s.; side aisles, 3s. 6d., but no money was
taken at the door.

11.*—“The pleasant town of Diss has lately undergone so much improvement
as is scarcely to be conceived, the streets having been entirely new
paved, the roads much improved, and all obstructions by the projection of
houses and shops removed.  It will also be shortly lighted in such a
manner as to render it as complete a town as any in the county.”

18.*—“Died, lately, at Warham, in his 73rd year, Capt. Isaac Eglis
Warren.  He was a volunteer in the siege of Quebec, and it was his solemn
task to support on the rock and witness the last moments of the immortal
Wolfe.”

20.—Died, Sir Philip Stephens, Bart., of Horsford, in his 80th year.  He
was 52 years secretary to the Admiralty Office, and was afterwards one of
the Lords of the Admiralty.  He possessed large estates in Norfolk,
Suffolk, Essex, and Middlesex.

25.*—“Some idea of the extent of Norfolk farms may be formed when it is
known that one occupier in the western district last year expended more
than £1,100 for only one sort of manure (brought many miles),
notwithstanding the immense quantity made at home, and the great number
of sheep annually folded on the grounds.  On another farm, 25 acres are
consumed in roads crossing the lands.”


DECEMBER.


2.—At the King’s Head Inn, Norwich, an estate near Harleston, consisting
of 120 acres of moderate land, was sold by auction for 5,990 guineas.
The purchaser had also to pay a considerable sum for timber growing upon
the estate.  A short time previously 22 acres of “unmixed and widely
lying land” near Aylsham, and by no means of the best quality, fetched
nearly 2,000 guineas; the timber was taken by valuation.

12.—Died, in his 80th year, Mr. John Dalrymple, formerly a merchant in
Norwich.  “He was a native of Scotland, and descended of an honourable
family, set immediately at Thornhill, in Dumfries.  His manly body was
inhabited by a noble soul, for he was a model of probity, constancy,
fortitude, and disinterestedness.  To his fellow-citizens he presented,
during a long and difficult career, an example of zealous and unshaken
adherence to the cause of liberality.”  Mr. Dalrymple was a steward of
the Scots Society, founded in Norwich by Dr. John Murray.

19.—Mr. Saunder’s Equestrian Company opened their season’s engagement at
the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, “with a stud of horses, all
cream coloured, late the property of his Majesty.”

23.—Accounts were received at Yarmouth of the evacuation of the island of
Walcheren by the British troops, 5,000 of whom died of fever after the
capture of Flushing.

—Intelligence was received of the successful attack on the enemy’s forts
at Cortelasso, between Venice and Trieste, by Capt. Hoste, of the Amphion
frigate, who on August 24th captured ten Venetian gun boats and other
prizes.

—News reached Norwich of the loss of the Glory, outward bound East
Indiaman, Capt. Horatio Beevor, with all the officers, crew, and
passengers.

30.*—“The quantity of turkies sent up to town from Norwich within the
last ten days amounted to no less than 30 tons weight, which, averaging
each bird at 12 lbs., the number would amount to 6,000.”



1810.


JANUARY.


6.—The estate of Sir R. Kerrison, deceased, at Thorpe, was sold for
£38,219.  Carrow Abbey House, with 32½ acres of land, was purchased by
Mr. P. M. Martineau for £2,020.

8.—A prize fight took place at Thorpe, between Chapman and Pegg, “noted
bruisers.”  It ended in the defeat of Pegg, who sustained a broken jaw.

9.—His Majesty’s ship Nemesis struck on Happisburgh Sand.  On the
following day her guns were thrown overboard, and she was floated off.

18.—Died, in his 76th year, Mr. John Mitchell, of New Houghton.  “His
favourite mule, over 34 years old, at the request of the deceased, went
in procession to the grave, and was to have been shot immediately after
his return, but through the humane intercession of his granddaughter,
Miss Young, the life of this excellent animal was saved, with the promise
never to suffer it to be again used.”  By a singular coincidence, Mr.
Reynolds, surgeon, of Massingham, while in the act of attending on Mr.
Mitchell, died suddenly of the same complaint to which the patient
succumbed.

20.—A reconciliation dinner was held by the corn growers and buyers at
the King’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Mr. Crisp Brown presided.  Among the
toasts were “May the Buyers and Sellers in future meet together in
friendship,” and “May the enemies of reconciliation keep a cold water
club by themselves.”  A second dinner was held at the King’s Head on
March 3rd, under the presidency of Mr. Fellowes.

—*(Advt.)  “To be seen at the Angel Inn, Market Place, Norwich, where he
will arrive this day, that most wonderful and surprising Yorkshire youth,
17 years of age, 7 ft. 6 ins. high, and who weighs upwards of 24 stones,
who has had the honour to be introduced to their Majesties and the Royal
Family at Windsor, where he was most graciously received and
entertained.”

25.—At a meeting of corn and coal merchants, held at the King’s Head Inn,
Norwich, it was resolved, in consequence of the numerous depreciations
committed on the river between Norwich and Yarmouth, not to employ any
vessel after March 1st, the hatches of which were not secured by locks
and iron bars.  It was further resolved that every lock be sealed by the
merchant before the vessel started upon its voyage.


FEBRUARY.


1.—Died, the eccentric John Fransham, of Norwich.  He was well versed in
Latin, Greek, and mathematics, of which for many years he was a teacher.

—Died, in her 59th year, Mrs. Martineau, wife of Mr. Philip Meadows
Martineau.  (Mr. Martineau was re-married on February 18th, 1811, at St.
Peter Permountergate Church, Norwich, by the Rev. C. Elwin, to Mrs.
Somers Clarke, of Tasburgh.)

3.—Bagshaw’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

4.—Died, at Gunton, in his 77th year, the Right Hon. Lord Suffield, who
represented Norwich from 1756 to 1786.

10.—Mr. and Mrs. Bowles terminated their theatrical career at Norwich
Theatre, and took their farewell benefit.  There was a crowded audience,
and the receipt of the house amounted to £160 15s. 6d.  “Equally
respectable in private as in public life,” said the newspaper notice,
“their success in the scholastic line will, we trust, be as flattering
and substantial as that of the drama.”  On March 10th, Mr. Bowles
advertised the academy conducted by himself in Queen Street, Great
Yarmouth.  On July 27th, 1811, it was announced: “Mr. Bowles, of Yarmouth
and late of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, qualified as a dissenting
minister at the last Quarter Sessions.”

14.—The East Dereham Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry presented to Capt. John
Crisp a silver cup, “as a mark of respect for his conduct during the
twelve years he had commanded them.”

20.—At a general meeting of the Norfolk Agricultural Society, it was
resolved to petition Parliament against the Bill for prohibiting
distillation from grain.

22.—Died, at his house on Castle Meadow, Norwich, aged 74, Mr. William
Foster, attorney.  “He was a promoter of most of the public charities in
the city, and the founder of many of them.”

24.*—“A farm near Norwich, belonging to the Corporation, and containing
not more than 77 acres of profitable land, was lately hired at the
astonishing sum of £263 per annum; and the tithes, being all arable land,
have long been 7s. 6d. per acre.”

28.—This day was observed as one of solemn fast and humiliation.  At
Norwich, “nearly all the shops were shut up, and Divine service performed
at all the churches.  The market was held on Tuesday, instead of
Wednesday.”


MARCH.


3.*—“There is now living at Oxburgh, in this county, William Durrant, a
gardener, who yearly eats 1,095 red herrings, chews 18 lbs. of tobacco,
and, to give his nose pleasure, takes 365 ozs. of snuff.  The total sum
of tobacco, snuff, and red herrings is £13 18s. 10d.”

—*(Advt.)  “A main will be fought at the Fleece Inn, Wells, on Monday and
Tuesday, the 19th and 20th inst., between the gentlemen of Norfolk and
Wells.  To show 31 cocks and 10 byes, and to fight for 10 gs. the battle
and 100 the odd; to make four in goes.  Feeders: Fisher for Norfolk, Lamb
for Wells.”

10.*—“During the last eleven months, the period of Miss Harriett Howell’s
visits to this city, three schools have been established in Norwich, in
which no fewer than 294 children are now educated on the plan advocated
by Mr. J. Lancaster.”

—*“A drover, near Norwich, has attended the market at Smithfield for 25
years, in which time he has ridden on those journeys alone 126,000
miles.”

—A court martial was held on his Majesty’s ship Utile on a seaman
belonging to the Désirée, “at his own request,” for striking an officer
and using mutinous language.  He was sentenced to death.

19.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, Thomas William Middleton,
for embezzling money the property of Messrs. Gurney and Co., by whom he
was employed as clerk, at Fakenham, was sentenced to 14 years’
transportation.

—The panorama, by Serries, of the town and port of Boulogne “with the
flotilla, designed to invade this country, at anchor in the outer road,”
was exhibited at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich.

22.—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 57, Nathaniel Eastaugh, the
common crier, and one of the Mayor’s beadles, “who except one year held
the bell from 1780 up to the time of his death.”  He was succeeded by
Anthony Bailey.

23.—Mr. Joseph Lancaster visited Norwich, and at the Theatre gave
lectures on his system of education.  At a meeting at the Guildhall on
April 17, a free school for boys, on Mr. Lancaster’s plan, was
established by public subscription.

—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 72, David Kinnebrook, for 40
years master of one of the charity schools, “who never till his last
illness absented himself from the school for a single day.”

24.—A large meeting of landowners, occupiers, and Scottish drovers was
held at the Rampant Horse Inn, to discuss the right of the Corporation of
Norwich to levy tolls upon cattle sold or exhibited for sale at the
weekly mart on the Castle Hill.  A deputation waited upon the Mayor and
the Market Committee, and on April 11th a further meeting, presided over
by Sir James Beevor, was held for the purpose of defending any action
that might be brought by the Corporation to recover tolls.


APRIL.


3.—For the benefit of the Norwich Theatrical Fund, a performance of “The
English Fleet in the year 1342,” and of “the grand seriocomic pantomime,
called ‘Don Juan, or the Libertine destroyed,’” was given at the Theatre
Royal.

12.—Died, aged 60, Mr. Thomas Barber, attorney, 27 years secretary of the
Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

19.—Tombland Fair took place.  It was stated to be customary on the
occasion of this annual event for military bands to play in the Upper
Close, which was used as a fashionable promenade.  The bands of the 5th
Dragoon Guards and the Wiltshire Militia were present on this occasion.

23.—The Norwich, Aylsham, and Cromer coach commenced running from 21,
Lobster Lane, Norwich, to the Red Lion Inn, Cromer.  It left Norwich on
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, and returned on Tuesdays, Thursdays,
and Saturdays.  The proprietor was Mr. W. Spanton.

28.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.  A main will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn,
Norwich, on the 14th and 15th days of May next, between the gentlemen of
Norfolk and the gentlemen of Ipswich, to show 27 mains for six guineas a
battle and 100 guineas the odd; likewise six byes and two turn-outs for
five guineas a battle, to make four in goes.  A pair of cocks in the pit
precisely at 12 o’clock.  Feeders: Lamb for Norfolk, Smith for Ipswich.”

30.—A rare fish called the Opah or King-fish (Chætodes of Linnæus) was
found on Mundesley beach.

—Mr. Patteson presented in the House of Commons a petition from the
Mayor, Alderman, and Justices of Norwich, against the Bill to alter,
explain, and amend the laws in force respecting bread, and for better
regulating the mode of setting the price thereof out of London.  The
petition stated that the proposed Bill would add 4s. to the then
allowance of 12s. for every quarter of wheat, and the baker for his
labour, salt, &c., which would tend to raise the price of bread.  The
magistrates had consulted the master and wardens of the Norwich Bakers’
Company, who declared that the bakers were perfectly satisfied with the
mode of regulating the assize and with the allowance of 12s. per quarter.


MAY.


2.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, a man named Stebbing, of Wymondham,
was indicted for using seditious language in the presence of several
persons, some of whom were Militia men.  The prisoner was alleged to have
asserted that “if Buonaparte would come he would be the first man to join
him” and that “Buonaparte was a better man to his country than King
George was to this.”  The jury, “to the surprise of the whole court,”
returned a verdict of not guilty, “and several gentlemen on the bench
expressed their strongest reprobation.”  Sergt. Money, of the Militia,
one of the principal witnesses for the prosecution, was afterwards
appointed to an ensigncy in the 4th Garrison Battalion.

10.—The Victory, 100 guns, Vice-Admiral Sir J. Saumarez, and seven other
sail of the line, sailed from Yarmouth for the Baltic.

16.—The First Eastern Regiment of the Local Militia, commanded by Lord
Suffield, assembled at Aylsham and marched thence to Yarmouth for 20
days’ training.  The dates and places of assembly of the other regiments
were as follow:—2nd Eastern Regiment, Col. Patteson, Norwich, May 22nd;
1st Western Regiment, Col. Petre, Norwich, May 17th; 2nd Western
Regiment, Col. Edmund Wodehouse, Lynn, May 21st; 3rd Western Regiment,
Col. Chad, Swaffham, May 10th, whence they marched to Norwich.  In
consequence of insufficiency of accommodation at Norwich, three companies
of the 3rd Western Regiment marched to Dereham, where the course of
training was completed.

19.*—“One day last week, a young woman, of Dereham, being strongly
attached to a soldier in the 24th Regiment of Foot, resolved to follow
him to the wars, and habiting herself in man’s attire enlisted by mistake
into the 54th Regiment of Foot recruiting in Norwich.  Her sex was
discovered and her intentions frustrated.”

20.—Died in London, aged 81, the Right Hon. Charles Lord Bayning, of
Honingham Hall, a Privy Councillor, and High Steward of Great Yarmouth.
He was succeeded by his son, the Hon. Charles Frederick Pawlett
Townshend.

28.—The birthday of William Pitt was celebrated by the members of the
Castle Corporation, Norwich, and other gentlemen to the number of 130, in
Mr. Bailey’s great room.


JUNE.


2.*—(Advt. )  “A stage waggon sets out from the warehouse, Tombland,
Norwich, every Friday evening, and arrives at Bury every Saturday,
returning from Bury every Wednesday, and arrives at Norwich early on
Friday morning.  The London waggons through Cambridge every Tuesday and
Friday.  The Yorkshire waggons come regularly twice a week.”  (Messrs.
Marsh were the proprietors of the Norwich waggons.  A similar service of
waggons was also run at about this date by Mack, of Norwich. )

4.—The King’s birthday was observed as usual.  “The prisoners of the city
gaol return thanks to the Mayor and Corporation for the excellent dinner
of roast beef and plum puddings, with plenty of strong ale.  Likewise to
numerous unknown passengers for their gifts to the box which is carried
about every Saturday afternoon by a man appointed by the court to attend
on them.  And they humbly request the charitably disposed to put their
contributions into the box themselves, which is locked up by the
governor, and its contents equally distributed by him.  They have also
another box outside the gaol which is opened every quarter.”

—Died at his house in Pall Mall, aged 60, the Right Hon. William Windham,
of Felbrigg.  Three days before the event he predicted that he would
expire on the King’s birthday.  He represented Norwich in three
successive Parliaments—from 1784 to 1802.  The remains of the deceased
statesman arrived in Norwich on their way to Felbrigg on the 10th.  The
body lay in state at the Maid’s Head Inn until the morning of the 11th,
when the journey to Felbrigg was resumed, and the funeral took place
there in the afternoon.  In the funeral procession at the church was “a
man bearing a false coffin.”

5.—A cricket match was played between the Norwich Club and the officers
of the Wiltshire Regiment, on the Town Close ground, Norwich.  Norwich,
134; Wiltshire Regiment, 49-43.  The return match was played on the same
ground on the 14th.  Norwich, 71-150; Wiltshire Regiment, 57-53.

10.—At the burial of a woman, named Bumpstead, at Thurlton, “it was not a
little singular that the husband and an ass walked to church next the
corpse, and also back again to the house, as chief mourners.”

11.—A prize fight took place at Limpenhoe between John Green, of
Beighton, and David William Rushmer, of Thurlton.  “In the first seven
rounds the latter received seven knock-down blows; but in the eighth he
gave the other such a violent blow that he knocked him out of time and
won.”

16.*—“Mr. Alderman Yallop, of Norwich, is the fortunate holder of an
eighth of the ticket, 1,537, which drew a prize of £1,000 on Friday last.
This is the fourth capital prize Mr. Yallop has had a share of in the
different lotteries.”

19.—Guild-day at Norwich.  The Mayor, Mr. John Steward, entertained 750
guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, and 400 attended the ball at
Chapel Field House, where dancing was kept up until two o’clock next
morning.  “Several friends of conviviality kept the jovial spirit alive
at the hall till after that late or rather early hour.”

25.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  One of the implements exhibited
was “a fumigating machine on two wheels which, in turning, worked a pair
of bellows that blew into an iron cylinder filled with burning sulphur,
and shavings or sawdust, and perforated at the bottom, which, when pushed
over the land, suffocated the turnip flies, cankers, &c., or caught them
on a tarred cover fixed over the head of the cylinder.”  This remarkable
contrivance was exhibited by a Mr. Plenty, of London.


JULY.


16.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground, Norwich, between
eight of the Norwich Club and thirteen of the Wiltshire Regiment.
Wiltshire Regiment, 72-78; Norwich, 32-69.

20.—A cricket match, for 50 guineas a side, was played at Swaffham,
between the Norwich and Swaffham clubs.  Norwich, 42-26; Swaffham, 67.
The return match took place on the Town Close ground, Norwich, on August
20th.  Norwich, 35-51; Swaffham, 55-30.

25.—Mr. Alderson, the City Steward, entertained the Common Council of
Norwich at dinner at his house in St. Helen’s.  The Commons returned the
compliment by entertaining the Steward at the Maid’s Head Inn the
following week.

26.—Died, aged 70, the Rev. William Sheepshanks, rector of Ovington, and
Prebendary of Carlisle.  He had been tutor to Lord Ellenborough, Sir S.
Lawrence, the Bishop of Lincoln, &c., and was the intimate friend of Dr.
Paley.

29.—Died in his 73rd year, Mr. John Crisp, of East Dereham, attorney,
clerk to the magistrates, the commissioners, the deputy lieutenants, &c.
He was captain of the Dereham Yeomanry Cavalry, and his remains were
interred with military honours, at Shipdham, his native place.


AUGUST.


2.—Earl Moira and the Countess of Loudon arrived at Cromer for the
bathing season, and on the following day witnessed a demonstration of the
capabilities of Capt. Manby’s life-saving apparatus.

3.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was resolved “that,
having taken into consideration a paper called ‘Roope’s Weekly Letters,’
No. 9, and being of opinion that it contains gross libellous matter
against Thomas Back, Esq., late Chief Magistrate, this assembly direct a
prosecution.”  On August 18th a meeting of freemen was held to take such
measures “as will best ensure the election of Mr. Roope as Sheriff for
the ensuing year.”  It was announced on August 25th that Mr. Mills, of
Thetford, had been “persuaded” to discontinue printing the “Weekly
Letters.”  At the election of Sheriff on August 28th, Roope was put in
nomination in opposition to Mr. Troughton.  The latter was returned with
625 votes to the former’s 313.  Roope afterwards challenged the City
Steward, Mr. Alderson, to fight a duel, in consequence of his having
called him a rascal as he was leaving the court after the election.  An
information was laid against Roope for endeavouring to incite Alderson to
commit a breach of the peace; and at the Quarter Sessions on October 2nd,
application was made that his recognisances of £100 in respect of the
libel case be estreated on the ground of his having committed a fresh
breach of the peace by public comments on Mr. Alderson’s conduct.  He was
ordered to enter into fresh recognisances, himself in £200 and to find
two sureties of £100 each, and to keep the peace towards Mr. Alderson and
the public generally.  At the Quarter Sessions on January 15th, 1811, the
defendant, for inciting Mr. Alderson to fight a duel, was fined 40s. and
sentenced to one month’s imprisonment.  On June 29th Roope appeared
before the Court of King’s Bench for the libel on Mr. Back, and was
committed to the custody of the Marshal for three months, and ordered to
find sureties for his good behaviour.  Roope died, in his 37th year, on
July 4th, 1812.  “He sustained a lingering illness of nearly four months
with a resignation and fortitude highly exemplary, and met the approach
of his last moments with the utmost composure, leaving a widow and five
young children.”

—A trotting match took place between the celebrated horse Shales, the
property of Mr. John Chamberlain, of Magdalene, and Driver, owned by Mr.
Reuben West, of Gaywood.  They started from the South Gates, Lynn, at six
o’clock, and trotted to the ninth milestone on the Swaffham road and
back.  At the expiration of an hour Shales had trotted 17 miles, beating
the other by about 1½ miles, “with the greatest of ease, notwithstanding
that he was the smaller horse and carried two stone more weight than the
other.”  The stakes amounted to £200.

6.—At Wroxham Water Frolic about one hundred sail of boats were present.

22.—Mr. Chalmers, a comedian of considerable merit, and formerly a member
of the Norwich Company, was found speechless upon the doorstep of a house
in Worcester.  He was removed to the infirmary, where he died.

27.—A cricket match was played on Hardingham Common between the gentlemen
of Norwich and Swaffham.  Norwich, 32-72; Swaffham, 143.

29.—Died at Lynn, aged 85, Mrs. Middleton, “who resided 83 years in the
house in which she died.”

30.—The Norwich Cricket Club played a match against the Wiltshire
Regiment.  Norwich, 88-93; Wiltshire Regiment, 73-92.


SEPTEMBER.


7.—Died at Cambridge, Mr. James Bunn, miniature painter, formerly of the
Pantheon and Gardens, Norwich, and for many years a performer in the
Norwich Company of Comedians.

15.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.—To be fought on Thursday and Friday, the 20th and
21st inst., a main of cocks, Yarmouth against Beccles.  Feeders: Danes
for Yarmouth, Caisey for Beccles.  Seven battles each night; five guineas
a battle and ten guineas the odd.  All cocks to be pitted at seven
o’clock precisely each night at Cooper’s bowling-green, North Quay,
Yarmouth.”

21.—Died, at Earsham Park, aged 71, Mr. Joseph Windham, distinguished as
a scholar and antiquary.

23.—Died, aged 71, Mr. John Herring, of Norwich.  He served the office of
Sheriff in 1786, was elected alderman October 20, 1798, and Mayor in the
following year.  He introduced a scheme for the employment of workhouse
children in spinning wool, by which many hundreds of pounds were annually
raised by them.  It was during Mr. Herring’s mayoralty that the British
troops returned from the disastrous expedition to Holland, and for his
humane treatment of them he received the thanks of Government.

29.—Mr. Francis Morse and Mr. Thomas Troughton were sworn into office as
Sheriffs of Norwich.  “Mr. Morse appeared in his shooting dress, namely a
short coat, leather breeches, &c., and on the Steward proceeding, as
usual, to invest him with the gold chain he refused to put on what he
termed ‘a bauble’; nor would he wear the gown, he said, unless it was
absolutely necessary.  Mr. Steward Alderson observed that his refusal
seemed to convey some little disrespect to the court.  Mr. Morse
disavowed any individual disrespect, and said he would perform his office
irrespective of outward forms.  He denied having assumed the office.  It
was forced upon him in the expectation of obtaining a fine of £80, as he
was convinced there was not a gentleman on the Bench who believed when
the precept was sent to him that he would serve the office.”


OCTOBER.


5.—Grand musical performances were given at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich,
on this and the following day.  The principal vocal performers were Mr.
Phillips, of the Lyceum, Mr. Clouting, and Miss Booth.  Mr. Fish was
leader of the band, and Mr. Beckwith was at the organ.  The first part of
the programme consisted of selections from “Judas Maccabeus,” part two of
the “Messiah,” and part three of a miscellaneous selection.  On Saturday
evening, the 6th, a miscellaneous concert was given at the Theatre.

11.—Died at Fulham, aged 73, Mr. Nathaniel Kent, land agent, and compiler
of “The Agricultural Report of Norfolk.”

17.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia, commanded by Capt.
Barnham, and on the following day the second division, commanded by Major
Custance, passed through Norwich on their route to Yarmouth after nearly
seven months’ duty over the French prisoners at Norman Cross.

18.—Died at Southbergh, near Hingham, Mrs. Ann Smyth, “one of the
nominees in the Irish Tontine established by Act of Parliament in 1773.”

25.—The 51st anniversary of his Majesty’s accession was celebrated in
Norwich by the ringing of bells and by a military demonstration.


NOVEMBER.


2.—During a severe gale many vessels were lost on the Norfolk coast.
“The beach from Wells to Yarmouth, covered with wrecks and strewed with
the bodies of unfortunates washed ashore, presented a scene of calamity
not easy to describe.”  Another gale and high tide occurred on the 10th.
Capt. Manby’s life-saving apparatus was instrumental in rescuing 18
seamen.

12.—Gustavus Adolphus, ex-King of Sweden, travelling under the title of
Count Gottorp, arrived at Yarmouth from the Baltic on board the Tartarus
sloop, Capt. Mainwaring.  He landed under a Royal salute, and at once set
out for London with Capt. Mainwaring.  The ex-King sailed from Yarmouth
on his return to the Continent on March 28, 1811.

13.—The bells of the Norwich churches were tolled from seven p.m. to nine
p.m. on the occasion of the burial of the Princess Amelia at Windsor.

17.*—“In the parish of Pulham Market are now living five men whose united
ages amount to 436 years, and what is extraordinary is the five men now
go to daily labour.”

—Died, aged 58, Edward Castleton.  “He was the lineal descendant of Sir
William Castleton, of Hingham, created a baronet in 1641.  He died a
bachelor and never assumed the title.  For many years he followed the
very humble employment of breeches maker in Lynn, and latterly lived on a
small patrimonial allowance.”

21.—A cause of divorce and separation promoted by Mrs. Beevor against her
husband, came on for further hearing in the Court of Arches, Doctors’
Commons, when, Mrs. Beevor having declared that she should proceed no
further, the court dismissed the suit.


DECEMBER.


8.—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty the Rev. Edward Valpy, B.D., second
master of Reading School, and rector of Stanford Dingley, in Berkshire,
was elected by the casting vote of the Mayor, headmaster of the Free
Grammar School, Norwich.  The other candidate was the Rev. John Clarke,
M.A., Ingham.

15.—Died, aged 79, at Mortlake, Mrs. Coke, of Hanover Square, London,
mother of Mr. T. W. Coke, of Holkham.

22.—Norwich Market was “glutted” with turkeys.  “The same fowls for which
in the morning 14d. per pound was asked, in the afternoon when the last
coaches were going away 9d. per pound would have gladly been taken.  At
one coach office 800 hampers were received.  Twelve carriages were laden
with poultry and game, and each carriage was drawn by six horses, and
having 10 stages 60 horses were employed by every coach, which will
amount to the astonishing number of 720 horses to draw poultry, sausages,
and game sent within three days from this city to the Metropolis.”

25.—The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the
Cathedral on “the feast of the Nativity, commonly called Christmas Day.”
In the afternoon “most of the churches and chapels were lighted up and
decorated with holly and evergreens, according to antient custom.”

This year was passed an Act for the better paving, lighting, cleansing,
and watching of Great Yarmouth, for removing nuisances and annoyances
therein, and for making other improvements in the town.



1811.


JANUARY.


19.*—“Greatly to the credit of the numerous population of Norwich the
Bridewell doors were thrown open several days during the present week,
there not being a single person confined for any misdemeanour, a
circumstance that has not before happened for a great number of years.”

A piece of plate, value 100 guineas, was this month presented by the
principal inhabitants of East and West Flegg Hundreds to the Rev. B. U.
Salmon, for his public services as a magistrate, and as a mark of their
individual esteem.


FEBRUARY.


2.—A county meeting, presided over by the High Sheriff, was held at the
Shirehouse, Norwich, when resolutions, stating the injury that would be
sustained by a continuation of the prohibition of the use of grain in the
distilleries, were agreed to.  A committee of landowners and corn growers
was appointed to adopt measures for the protection of the interests of
agriculture.  (The Distillery Bill was thrown out by the House of Lords.)

7.—Died, at Norton Place, near Lincoln, in his 78th year, Mr. John
Harrison, twice member of Parliament for Thetford.

10.—Died, at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, in his 79th year, the Rev.
Neville Maskelyne, Astronomer Royal, and rector of North Runcton.

12.—Died, the Rev. Philip Wodehouse, brother of Lord Wodehouse, and a
Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral, aged 66.  In digging the grave for the
interment of the deceased, beneath the organ loft at the Cathedral, the
workmen found, two feet beneath the surface, a stone coffin enclosing a
wooden shell containing the body of Dean Croft, who died in 1670.  “His
remains were found apparently in a perfect state, excepting the tip of
the nose, and the shroud was a little discoloured.”

16.—Robert Waller and John Kerrison, who were in the permanent employment
of Mr. Lindley, of Catton, were committed to Aylsham Bridewell for one
month’s hard labour, for “illegally combining to alter and lessen the
usual time of his labourers going and being at work.”

17.—Died, aged 62, John Thompson, lamp lighter of Norwich.  “His lamp of
life being out, and all his oil consumed, he was by his own request
buried at St. Martin-at-Palace at night, all his brethren of the ladder
and torch attending in the funeral procession with their flambeaux to
light him to his long home, in the presence of thousands assembled on the
plain.”


MARCH.


14.—Died, at his seat at Euston, in his 76th year, the Duke of Grafton.
His Grace had been Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, and
Recorder of Thetford and Coventry.

16.—A complaint was published that the posting masters in Norfolk charged
at the rate of 1s. 9d. per mile, when nowhere else was the charge more
than 1s. 6d.

17.—A disastrous fire occurred at the warehouse of Messrs. R. and S.
Culley, grocers, the Upper Market, Norwich.  The fire engines were
inefficient, and the appliances out of repair.  Notwithstanding the
exertions of a detachment of the Royal Artillery, under Capt. Cockburn
and Lieut. Day, the fire communicated with the adjoining premises of Mr.
Freeman, and the two upper storeys of his house were destroyed.  “The
Pope’s Head had a wonderful escape, almost surrounded as it was by fire.”
The damage was estimated at upwards of £5,000.

20.—A general fast was observed.  Business was suspended in Norwich,
where the churches and chapels were numerously attended, and collections
made for the relief of British prisoners in France.

23.—The county magistrates examined plans for the erection of a lunatic
asylum, and accepted those of Mr. William Brown, architect, of Ipswich.

25.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford, before Mr.
Justice Grose, William Charles Fortescue, Lord Viscount Clermont, was
charged with an assault on Sarah Lumley, a widow, residing at Saham
Toney.  His lordship was ordered to pay a fine of 50 marks to the King.

—At the same Assizes the tithe case, Royle, clerk, _v._ Parsley, was
heard.  The plaintiff, who was rector of Hilgay and proprietor of the
tithes, sought to recover treble the value of the tithes on eight acres
of wheat grown on the defendant’s farm.  The defendant was the only
occupier in the parish who paid the tithes in kind, and it was alleged
that he had not fairly set them out.  The jury returned a verdict for the
defendant.

28.—Died, aged 43, Lady Elizabeth, wife of Lieut.-General Loftus, and
daughter of the Marquis Townshend.

30.*—“This week a main of 41 battles (of which 31 came in fray) was
fought at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich (Norwich against Cambridgeshire)
for 10 guineas the battle, and 100 the odd.  Neither, however, were
winners, each having won 15 battles, and the odd battle being a draw.”


APRIL.


2.—Miss Greenfield, an actress, made her first appearance at the Theatre
Royal, Norwich.

2.—A Lancasterian free school was opened in College Court, St.
Martin-at-Palace, Norwich, for 420 boys.

6.—The receipts at Norwich Theatre on the occasion of the benefit of the
manager, Mr. Hindes, amounted to £177 15s.

9.—Mr. J. Moreton, formerly of the Norwich Theatre, died at Woolwich, in
his 62nd year.

11.—Miss Biffin, born deficient of arms and legs, was exhibited in a
booth at Tombland Fair, Norwich.  She had previously displayed her powers
in miniature painting and needlework at the Angel Inn.

15.—Died in St. Simon’s, Norwich, aged 86, James Fuller, who was for 51
years clerk of that parish.  His funeral was attended by all the parish
clerks in the city.

21.—Interred at St. Saviour’s Church, Norwich, the remains of William
Andrews, aged 85, many years sexton of the parish.  The funeral was
attended by 22 sextons of the city.

26.—Died, at Buckenham, General Sir James Pulteney, Bart., from the
effects of an accidental explosion of a flask of gunpowder six days
previously.  He was colonel of the 18th Regiment of Foot, and had
distinguished himself in the American War.  He served on the Continent
under the Duke of York, and was Commander-in-Chief of the unsuccessful
expedition against Ferrol.  He was afterwards appointed Secretary of War.
The interest of the money left him by his wife, the Countess of Bath,
amounting to £50,000 per annum, devolved at his death upon the four
children of Mrs. Monkham, who had been divorced from her husband, a son
of the Archbishop of York.

30.—Died in St. Peter Permountergate, Norwich, aged 63, William Harwin,
nearly 40 years superintendent of the Unitarian Free Schools.  “He had
published a remarkably concise system of Stenography.”


MAY.


4.*—“Lieut. Richard Brunton, of the 43rd Regiment, son of J. Brunton,
Esq., late manager of our Theatre, is appointed Captain in the 6th
Regiment of Portuguese Cacadores.”

21.—Intelligence received of a brilliant achievement in the Adriatic by
Capt. William Hoste in the Amphion, who with two frigates and a sloop
defeated the combined French and Italian squadrons of five frigates, a
corvette, &c.  He captured and destroyed four of the enemy’s frigates.
The action took place on March 13th.

25.—A Royal license was granted to Elizabeth Barber Bulwer, widow of
Brigadier-General Bulwer, of Wood Dalling and Heydon, and only child of
Richard Warburton Lytton, late of Knebworth Place, Herts., to take and
use the surname and arms of Lytton in addition to and with those of
Bulwer.

—*“This week the churchwardens and officers, and many of the inhabitants
of St. John Maddermarket, St. Stephen’s, St. Augustine’s, and St. John
Timberhill, went the bounds of their respective parishes, when the usual
ceremonies of bumping and ducking (inside and out) took place amid the
ringing of bells, &c.”

A census was taken in Norwich during this month.  The population was
returned as 37,256, an increase since 1801 of 424.


JUNE.


8.—A thunderstorm of great severity occurred in Norwich.

15.*—“General Money has made an offer to the Commander-in-Chief to raise
400 rough hussars mounted on Welsh horses, by men below the army
standard, to be embarked in four months.  The object of this corps is to
relieve the fine regiments of Cavalry in the Peninsula from all the
harassing duties of the camp.”

18.—A new Methodist Chapel was opened in Calvert Street, St. George’s
Colegate, Norwich, by the Rev. T. Cooke, LL.D., successor to the Rev.
John Wesley.

—Guild Day at Norwich.  “St. Giles’ Broad Street was decorated with
streamers, garlands, and evergreens, whilst old Snap displayed his
glittering wings and gilt tail, and cleared the way for the civic
procession to the Cathedral.”  After the service Robert Burrage, senior
pupil at the Free Grammar School, and a “plebeian,” delivered the
customary Latin oration at the school porch, and Mr. John Hamond Cole,
having been sworn in at the Guildhall as Mayor of the city, entertained a
company of 650 at the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.

20.—Died, at Athlone, Ireland, aged 38, James Wheeler, formerly of the
Norwich Company of Comedians.

24.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.

29.—A cricket match was played on Mulbarton Common between the
Ashwelthorpe and Mulbarton teams, “for 22 bottles of cyder and 22 lbs. of
cherries.”  The Ashwelthorpe players won.

The East Norfolk Militia, commanded by Col. Wodehouse, volunteered to
serve in Ireland.  The Government accepted their services, and the
regiment arrived in Cork in the following November.


JULY.


15.—Died, in his 69th year, at his house at Keswick, Mr. Richard Gurney.
The interment took place at the Gildencroft burial-ground, Norwich.

18.—A cricket match was played on Swaffham race-course between the
gentlemen of Swaffham and the gentlemen of Terrington for 50 guineas a
aids.  The match lasted two days.  Swaffham, 122-110; Terrington, 100-69.
The return match was played at Terrington on July 22nd.  Swaffham, 44;
Terrington, 22-20.  “Even betting on the match.”

22.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground, Norwich, between
the 2nd and 3rd Norwich clubs.  3rd club, 47; 2nd club, 19-42.

—An inquest was held in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, on the body of Ann
Hammont, aged 28.  “She destroyed herself in a manner very uncommon.  She
wound a piece of tape three times tight round her neck, and, finding it
insufficient to effect her purpose, she resolutely put her head into a
tub of water and so completed her suffocation.”

26.—The anniversary meeting of the Norfolk Agricultural Society was held
at East Dereham.  In consequence of the increase of the members (nearly
200) new regulations were made for conducting the society.

27.—Died at Richmond, Surrey, the Marquis Townshend, Earl of Leicester,
&c., of Rainham.  He was President of the Society of Antiquaries.


AUGUST.


3.—Polito’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

6.—The portrait of Mr. Thomas Back, ex-Mayor of Norwich, was placed in
St. Andrew’s Hall.  It was painted by Clover, a native of the city.

8.—After the lapse of half a century Heigham Water Frolic was revived in
Norwich.

10.—A prize fight took place at Fakenham between “the noted” Christopher
Cox, of Sculthorpe, and J. Withers, “the blind boy,” servant to Mr. E.
Holman, of the former place.  “After two rounds in which Cox was
confronted by his adversary, the conceit was pretty well taken out of
him.  Some little sparring then took place, when Cox was knocked down by
a right hand facer, and after several other rounds, which were all in
favour of Withers, Cox was completely beat off his legs.”

12.—Between six a.m. and five p.m. two persons caught by angling near
Buckenham Ferry 132 lbs. of perch, bream, and roach.

13.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Mr. Justice Heath, William Charles
Walker, aged 26, was sentenced to death for a burglary at the shop of
Messrs. Dunham and Yallop, silversmiths, the Market Place.

19.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground between the
Norwich club and “the two new ones united.”  Norwich club, 128; united
clubs, 84-65.

Molineux, Richmond, and Belcher, “the noted pugilists,” visited Norwich
this month, and “gave lessons in the science of self-defence.”


SEPTEMBER.


3.—Married at North Elmham, Mr. Frost to Miss Copsey.  “The marriage
ceremony suffered a delay of two hours in consequence of the bride not
having fully made up her mind, which occasioned a large assembly of the
inhabitants at the church, before whom at last the knot was tied.”

5.—A comet appeared and remained visible until October 24th.

11th.—The Norfolk and Norwich Auxiliary Bible Society was instituted at a
numerous meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  The Mayor (Mr. J.
H. Cole) presided.  The Bishop of Norwich was appointed president of the
Society.

16.—At a meeting held, under the presidency of Lord Suffield, at the
King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, it was resolved that the county members
be requested to petition Parliament for a Bill for making a canal from
Wayford Bridge to Lingate Common, North Walsham.

23.—Yarmouth Races commenced, and were attended by 20,000 people.


OCTOBER.


8.—A grand Musical Festival commenced in Norwich, when a miscellaneous
concert was given at St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the 9th a selection of sacred
music was performed in the church of St. Peter Mancroft.  The “Messiah”
was produced on the 10th, selections were given from various composers on
the 11th, and on both evenings concerts took place in St. Andrew’s Hall.
The principal vocalists were Madame Catalani, Miss Booth, Mrs. Branchi,
Mr. Braham, Mr. Goss, and Mr. Bellamy.  The prices of admission were:
Single tickets for the church from the orchestra to the altar, 10s. 6d.;
side aisles, 7s.  Single tickets for the hall, for the division west of
the orchestra, 10s. 6d.; other parts, 7s.  The receipts amounted to
£1,800.

Died, this month, Mr. Thomas Cooke, of Pentonville, a native of Norfolk.
He bequeathed £6,600 three per cent. Consols to Doughty’s Hospital,
Norwich, expressly to augment the weekly allowance to the inmates; £1,750
to Cook’s Hospital; £1,000 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital; and a
like sum to the Blind School.  He also gave £2,100 three per cents. to
Framlingham Hospital; £700 to Valinger’s Hospital; and £2,300 to St.
James’s Hospital at Lynn, where the testator resided some years
previously.  Mr. Cooke was an eccentric character, and was known as the
“Pentonville Miser.”


NOVEMBER.


9.*—“Died, lately, at Scarborough, Mr. Bramwell, formerly of the Theatre
Royal, Norwich.”

16.*—“The Master of the Rolls has appointed Mr. Charles Knight Murray,
eldest son of Mr. Charles Murray, and grandson of Dr. John Murray, of
Norwich, to be second secretary to his Honour.”

18.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich it was resolved,
in consequence of the increased prices of grain, to petition the Prince
Regent to cause the distillation of spirits from corn to be suspended
until the sense of Parliament could be taken thereon.  Wheat at that time
was quoted at 45s. to 63s.; barley at 20s. to 26s.; oats, 13s. to 17s.
per coomb; malt, 44s. per coomb; and flour, 95s. per sack.  Prices
declined soon afterwards.

27.—In the Court of King’s Bench, before Lord Ellenborough, a rule
against Mr. Thomas Hoseason, a magistrate for the county of Norfolk, for
having acted in his own cause in committing to the house of correction
his servant, General Batterby, there to be kept to hard labour, and
publicly whipped, was discharged on payment of costs.

30.*—“Mr. Angerstein has completely wound up his extensive mercantile
concerns, and retired from business with an immense fortune, most
honourably acquired.  One of the last purchases which he made was a
Government annuity of £3,000 on his own life.  Weeting Hall, formerly
Lord Montrath’s, was also a recent purchase.”

H.R.H. the Duke of Gloucester this month visited Holkham, as the guest of
Mr. T. W. Coke.


DECEMBER.


10.—At a meeting of the Trafalgar Lodge of Oddfellows, held at the Three
Tuns, St. Andrew’s, Norwich, the floor of the upper room gave way and
precipitated the members into a lower apartment.  “One of the members on
finding himself sinking laid hold of the bars of the fire grate, but he
soon relinquished his hold and dropped on his companions.”  No one was
injured.  The meeting, at the time of the accident, had under discussion
the question of the desirability of removing the lodge to other quarters.

28.—An equestrian troupe, under the management of Mr. Moritz, opened for
the season at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich.

—Bullock’s Museum of Natural History and productions of the fine arts was
exhibited in the large room at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

Prices were very high this month.  Wheat was quoted at 100s. to 110s.;
rye, 46s. to 48s.; barley, 36s. to 47s.; and oats, 28s. to 32s. per
quarter.  The average price of wheat was 53s. 4d. per coomb, and the
average price of flour £4 11s. 6d. per sack.  Coals were 46s. 4d. per
chaldron.



1812.


JANUARY.


2.—A silver vase, of the value of 200 guineas, was presented to Sir
Edmund Bacon, premier baronet, of Raveningham, at the Swan Inn, Loddon,
by the inhabitants of the Loddon and Clavering Hundred, as a token of
their respect for him as a magistrate, and in recognition of his valuable
services in the improvement of the roads in the district.

11.*—“The East India Company, on a representation from the manufacturers
of camblets in Norwich, have raised their order from 16,000 to 22,000
pieces this season, and the manufacturers have lately advanced the wages
of the journeyman weavers.”

20.—A two days’ cocking match commenced between the gentlemen of Yarmouth
and the gentlemen of Blofield, for £5 a battle, £20 the odd, and two byes
for £10 each.  On the first day Blofield won four battles, and Yarmouth
three battles and a bye.  On the second day Yarmouth won four battles,
and Blofield three battles and a bye.  “The pit was filled each night,
and there was much betting between the parties.”

30.—A deputation of the citizens waited upon the Lighting and Watching
Committee of the Norwich Corporation to complain of the inadequate
provisions for the public safety.  The committee gave an assurance that
the watchmen should be periodically inspected and an inquiry made whether
the funds of the committee would enable them to give an increased
allowance to watchmen whereby more able men might be appointed, and the
time of watching extended to a later hour.


FEBRUARY.


4.—Died, at the age of 104, John Brown, carpenter, of Wymondham.  “He
retained his faculties to the last, and till within a week or two of his
death frequently walked twenty miles a day.”

5.—A general fast was observed in Norwich.

13.—A Lancastrian school was established on the Denes at Yarmouth.

27.—Died at Worstead, Mr. Thomas Deeker, “and on the same day in Pall
Mall, London, his brother, who in 1785 twice ascended in his balloon from
Norwich.”


MARCH.


28.*—“The partnership between Messrs. Fisher and Scraggs having expired
the theatre at Thetford was opened for the season commencing with the
Assize week, under the direction of Mr. Fisher only, with that success
which diligence and long-established integrity merit.”

This month the public lighting of Thetford by voluntary subscription was
inaugurated.


APRIL.


6.—The first annual meeting of the Norwich Association against Felonies
was held at the Guildhall.

7.—Died from the effects of a wound received in the storming of Badajoz,
in his 25th year, Lieut. W. S. Unthank, of the 44th Regiment, eldest son
of Mr. William Unthank, of Norwich.

15.—Died at Scoulton, Lieut.-General James Hethersett, in his 77th year.
“He was the last surviving officer who fought by the side of the immortal
Wolfe on the day that he fell.”  General Hethersett possessed property of
the value of £80,000.

18.*—“A few days since at Corpusty, aged 102, Samuel Mog, one of the last
survivors of that British Army which fought under the celebrated General
Wolfe at the battle of Quebec.”


MAY.


1.—Election of Mayor at Norwich.  Mr. Starling Day was nominated for the
office, but asked to be relieved on account of his advanced age (78).  A
poll resulted, and on the 2nd the numbers were declared as follow:—Mr.
Day, 761; Mr. R. Harvey, jun., 757; Mr. Alderman Davey, 566; Mr. Alderman
Leman, 507.  “Mr. Day sent a message to St. Peter’s ringers ordering them
to cease their triumphant peal, on the ground that he had declared his
intention not to serve.”  Guild Day was fixed for June 16, and the usual
quarterly assembly of the Corporation on the day preceding it had to be
abandoned because the attendance was insufficient to form a quorum.  Mr.
Day was sworn into office on the 16th, but “there was no church, no
dinner.”  Mr. Alderman Davey invited the freemen of the Blue and White
interest to dine with him beneath the trees at Eaton Hall.  The guests,
500 in number, “were refreshed on their dusty march by Mr. Alderman
Yallop, at his cottage, with a pint of beer each, 600 of which were
swallowed in twenty minutes.”

11.—Died, Mr. Johnson, the venerable parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft,
Norwich, after about 35 years’ service.  He was succeeded by James
Twiddy, a hairdresser, who possessed considerable literary ability, and
was the author of many poetical productions and pamphlets on various
subjects.


JUNE.


22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Mr. Mann, of Thornage, was awarded
the prize for the best implement of husbandry, namely, an improved
drilling machine.

27.—In the Court of Exchequer, before the Lord Chief Baron, a prosecution
was instituted by the Board of Taxes against Daniel Morling, of Yarmouth,
for having obstructed Mr. Hunter, the inspector for that district, when
surveying the windows of his house.  A penalty of £50 was asked for, and
a verdict was given for the Crown for that amount.


JULY.


2.—A wrestling match took place at Blofield Globe between William
Benstead, of that parish, and Charles Layton, “the famed wrestler, who,
for his invincible skill in that science, had been declared the ‘Reedham
Game Chicken’ at the late wrestling match at Lingwood, and who has since
challenged all England.”  Benstead succeeded in beating the champion.

9.—Died, at Ashfield, Suffolk, Mr. James Mingay, for many years eminently
distinguished as a King’s Counsel, Recorder of Aldborough, and one of the
capital burgesses of the borough of Thetford.

14.—Died, aged 71, Simon Watling, “many years master of the Eight Ringers
public-house, St. Michael-at-Coslany, Norwich, and one of St. Peter’s
ringers.  He was one of the company that rang at St. Peter’s in York in
1772.”

17.—At a meeting held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, at which Lord Viscount
Primrose presided, the Norfolk and Norwich Society for the Education of
the Poor in the Principles of the Church of England was established.
Upwards of £3,000 was subscribed; and the Bishop of Norwich became
Patron, and Lord Suffield, President.

20.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Jane Fair, of St. Mary’s, Norwich.

23.—Died, Mrs. Coppin, wife of Mr. Daniel Coppin, of St. Stephen’s,
Norwich.  “She possessed a refined taste for the polite arts, and great
skill in imitating the works of the old masters.”

25.—Mr. Scraggs and his company of comedians concluded a theatrical
season at Holt.  “There is ground to hope that the patronage which was so
liberally conferred by the county on the late Mr. Scraggs, will be
continued to his son and family.”  The company was advertised as “The
Original Norfolk and Suffolk Company.”

27.—General Viscount Cathcart, Ambassador Extraordinary to the Court of
Russia, passed through Norwich and embarked on board the Aquilon frigate
at Yarmouth.  Lord Walpole, one of the Lords of the Admiralty, sailed in
the Calypso, on his appointment as Secretary of Legation to Lord
Cathcart, who proceeded to the headquarters of the Russian Army.


AUGUST.


15.—It was reported that small-pox had broken out in Norwich.  Many
children were vaccinated, and by the end of the year the operation had
been performed on 1,400 persons.

17.—The mail coaches arrived at Norwich, with colours flying, bringing
intelligence of Lord Wellington’s brilliant victory near Salamanca.

19.—William Flaxman, of Gorleston, was placed in a pillory erected in
Yarmouth Market Place, and after standing the usual time was removed to
the gaol to complete a term of three months’ imprisonment.

20.—The old custom of a country excursion was revived by the foreman of
the Headborough Inquest at Yarmouth.  “A wherry was fitted out for the
purpose, and several officers of the Royal South Lincoln Regiment, with
other gentlemen, were invited to accompany the inquest.  The wherry was
attended by several boats, and went as far as the Beccles river, where a
convivial meeting was held, and the party returned at nine o’clock at
night.”


SEPTEMBER.


5.*—(Advt.)  “Windham Petty Sessions will be held at the King’s Head Inn
on Monday, 28th September, 1812, for hiring and retaining servants.
There will be another Sessions, as usual, on Monday, October 12th.  John
Syder, John Cullyer, chief constables.”

6.—Intelligence received of the capture of Madrid by the Marquis
Wellington.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were rung all day,
and at East Dereham on the 22nd a ball was held in celebration of the
event.

—Died, at Upper Fitzroy Street, London, aged 68, Major-General Robert
Bowles, an officer on the Bombay Establishment.  He served in the East
India Company 35 years, and was a native of Norwich.

14.—The first stone of the new chapel in the Black Boys Yard, St.
Clement, Norwich, laid by the Rev. Mr. Wilkes and Mr. Alderman Davey.
The chapel was opened for public worship on May 5th, 1814.

21.—Yarmouth Races commenced.  There was an attendance of about 18,000.
Most of the county families were present at the assembly, where the
dancing was opened by Sir George Jerningham and Lady Hoste.

22.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 73, Mr. Robert Warmington.  He served the
office of Mayor in 1790 and 1808, and was Prussian, Swedish, Danish,
Hamburgh, and American Vice-Consul, and Naval Store Keeper at that port.

25.—At the Norwich Court of Trials a motion was made by Mr. Cooper that
the attornies, who then held briefs on behalf of clients, be not allowed
the privilege of pleading.  It was urged that the actual right of
pleading existed in favour of barristers to the exclusion of attornies.
The City Steward (Mr. Alderson) thought that the exclusive right of
counsel rested more upon courtesy than upon any positive right, and as no
authority had been cited he declined to give any decision upon the point.


OCTOBER.


3.—A correspondent in a letter to the NORFOLK CHRONICLE expressed the
hope “that now Parliament is dissolving, the ancient custom of nominating
the members in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, previously to the day of
election, may be revived.  This used to be done formerly in order to give
the old members an opportunity of explaining and justifying their past
conduct as representatives, and of each candidate stating his pretensions
to popular support.”  The Mayor refused to grant the use of the hall for
the purpose.

6.—Yarmouth Election: Capt. Lacon, 607; General Loftus, 387; Mr. Giffen
Willson, 329.  The two first-named were returned.

7.—Norwich Election commenced on this date and concluded on the 8th: Mr.
W. Smith, 1,544; Mr. Charles Harvey, 1,349; Mr. John Patteson, 1,221.

—Thetford Election: Lord John Fitzroy and Mr. Creevey returned unopposed.

14.—Norfolk Election: Sir J. H. Astley and Mr. T. W. Coke were re-elected
unopposed.

17.—St. Faith’s Fair commenced.  “John Dunn, the clerk of St. John
Maddermarket, Norwich, and who for the last 46 years acted as the leader
of the men who chaired the Whig members at their election, attended St.
Faith’s Fair for the 76th time, without intermission, having been carried
to St. Faith’s when he was two years old.”  Dunn died January 20, 1813.

24.*—(Advt.)  “Norwich and Ipswich New Post Coach through Scole, Eye,
Debenham, and Helmingham, by W. Norbrook, sets off from the Greyhound, in
Norwich, on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday mornings at eight o’clock,
arrives at the Old White Hart Inn, Ipswich, the same evening, whence it
sets off every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock,
and arrives at Norwich the same evening.”

29.—A branch of the Norfolk and Norwich Auxiliary Bible Society was
formed at Yarmouth; branches were established at about this date at
Wymondham, Downham Market, and other towns.

31.*—“A few days since the Norwich Expedition Coach was robbed of bank
notes to the amount of £500.”  A man, named Silvester, who presented £140
worth of the notes at a London bank, was arrested on suspicion.


NOVEMBER.


1.—James Parsons, a farrier, in the employment of Mr. Richard Watson,
veterinary surgeon, Norwich, was buried with “veterinary and masonic”
ceremonies at St. Gregory’s Church, in the presence of 2,000 persons.
The procession was headed by two farriers with white aprons, and their
implements bound with white ribbons and reversed.  “The corpse was
carried by six brethren of a lodge called the Stags Lodge, in their
regalia, the sword, middle apron, and collar laid on the pall.  His
favourite horse which he rode for many years, covered with black velvet,
the boots and spurs across, was led behind.  The head stall and bridle
were adorned with white roses and facings, he dying a bachelor.”  At the
conclusion of the service “a solemn dirge was sung which much gratified
many hundreds of persons.”

5.—Died, Thomas Gill, aged 86, fifty-two years sexton of St. Margaret’s,
Norwich.  “He had been five times married, never had any children, and
buried all his wives.”

13.—Whilst the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were ringing on the
occasion of the receipt of the intelligence of the defeat of the French
by the Russians, and of the recapture of Moscow, the Prince Regent passed
through the city from Houghton on his way to Saxmundham.  His Royal
Highness changed horses at the Angel Inn, but did not alight.  On the
14th the Duke of Clarence, accompanied by the Earl of Yarmouth, arrived
at Norwich, and after dining at the Angel Inn, proceeded to join the
Prince Regent at Saxmundham.

15.—The Duke of Cambridge passed through Fakenham, from Houghton, on his
way to join a shooting party at Blickling, the seat of Lord Suffield.

17.—Died, at Green Street, Grosvenor Square, London, in his 75th year,
Mr. Edward Jerningham.  “Although all his family were of the Roman
Catholic religion he very early conformed to the Protestant faith, and
remained in it till his death, having received the sacrament according to
the rites of the Church of England.  He was a good scholar and an elegant
poet.”

21.—A fully-rigged vessel, built for Mr. John Bloom, was launched from
the ship-yard of Mr. Parker at Wells-next-the-Sea.  “Seven ships in the
harbour belonging to Mr. Bloom, dressed in their colours, fired a royal
salute as the ship went off.”

23.—Died at his house, Tombland, Norwich, Mr. Edward Colman, one of the
surgeons of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.  He served the office of
Sheriff in 1795.  “Having been for twenty-four years a member of the
Friars’ Society the brethren held a special conclave, when appropriate
compositions in prose and verse were delivered, and his obituary medal
was deposited in the sepulchral urn.”

28.—Died at Cheltenham, in his 74th year, the Rev. George William Lukin,
LL.D., Dean of Wells, forty-nine years rector of Felbrigg and Aylmerton,
and half-brother to the Right Hon. William Windham.

—Equestrian entertainments commenced at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich, under
the management of Mr. R. Key.


DECEMBER.


3.—Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the defeat of the French Army in
Russia.  On the arrival at Norwich of the coaches conveying the news, the
bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung.

17.—Further celebrations took place at Norwich on the receipt of the
intelligence of the victories obtained by the Russians over the two
divisions of the French Army, commanded by Marshals Daoust and Ney.

20.—Died, aged 101, Thomas Armstrong, of West Dereham, upwards of 40
years clerk of the parish.

25.—On Christmas Day “the Corporation of Thetford assembled, according to
custom, at the house of the Mayor (Mr. L. S. Bidwell), and after
partaking of an elegant cold collation, attended divine service at St.
Peter’s Church.”

26.*—“In the Court of King’s Bench last week an action was brought by Mr.
Bignold, banker of Norwich, against Mr. Waterhouse, one of the coach
proprietors, at Lad Lane, for the loss of a parcel containing bills and
notes to a considerable amount.  The Solicitor-General, for the
defendant, produced a notice in which he stated that he would not hold
himself responsible for parcels above the value of £5.  The judge held
this to be a good defence, and non-suited the plaintiff.”

In the course of this year upwards of 1,400 persons were vaccinated in
Norwich.



1813.


JANUARY.


2.—Polito’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

—*“A smuggling cutter, with 600 casks of Geneva on board, was last week
captured off Salthouse by the Sheringham Revenue boat.  The vessel was
taken to Blakeney harbour, and her cargo deposited in the King’s
warehouse, at Cley.”

13.—A Methodist Chapel, erected in Tower Street, King’s Lynn, and
estimated to hold 3,000 persons, was opened.

17.—Upwards of 1,000 persons attended evening service at St. Andrew’s
Church, Norwich, when the sermon was preached by the Rev. Robert Walpole.
This was one of a series of services arranged under a scheme of “evening
lectures” by clergymen who had “volunteered to officiate alternately at
the churches of St. Stephen, St. Andrew, and St. Lawrence.”  The churches
were “excellently lighted with lamps,” and the “accommodation of
strangers particularly attended to by parish officers and other
gentlemen.”

19.—Mr. Steward Alderson, at the Norwich Quarter Sessions, called
attention to “a species of nuisance existing in various parts of the town
which not only endangered the public peace but also the public health and
morals.  He referred to the species of houses commonly called gin shops.
If the magistrates had signed the licenses of such houses, it was wholly
through ignorance of the sort of houses to which they were giving their
sanction.”

—At the Duke’s Head Inn, Lynn, a committee of barley growers of the
county presented to Mr. Wm. Becher, of Docking, a valuable piece of plate
in recognition of his exertions in promoting the success of agriculture,
and in opposing injurious restrictions on the corn trade.

25.—Died, aged 45, Mr. William Money Hill, of Waterden, an agriculturist
of great repute in the breeding and selection of stock, and the winner of
many prizes at the Holkham Sheep Shearings.

—The third great main of cocks between the gentlemen of Norwich and the
gentlemen of Cambridge commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, and was
continued on the 26th and 27th.  The conditions were: to show 41 mains
for 10 guineas a battle, and 100 guineas the odd, and ten byes for five
guineas a battle.  The feeders were Dean for Norwich, Flemon for
Cambridgeshire.  Cambridge won by five battles.

30.*—“A small farmer, who a few years since resided in the neighbourhood
of Norwich, has written from Botany Bay to his former landlord, stating
that Cabel, who about 25 years since was sent from Norwich Castle, is now
become a very great merchant and the owner of twenty-five ships.”  (In
the year 1786 Cabel and a female prisoner were in Norwich Castle under
sentence of transportation.  During the two years that elapsed between
the trial and the departure of the first batch of convicts, the woman
gave birth to a child.  Cabel, the father, was passionately fond of the
infant, and appealed to the authorities to allow him to marry the mother.
This was refused.  The female and her infant were sent with the first
contingent of convicts, and after a wearisome journey by coach in the
depth of winter arrived at Plymouth in charge of Simpson, the turnkey of
the prison.  When Simpson handed over his prisoners to the captain of the
transport that officer refused to take the child on board, alleging that
he had no authority to do so.  The mother was distracted by the
separation.  Simpson acted with great humanity.  Taking with him the six
weeks old child he proceeded to London by coach, and with much difficulty
obtained an interview with the Secretary of State, to whom he related the
story.  The result was that not only was an order issued for the
restoration of the child to its mother, but Cabel was permitted to sail
by the same transport to the land of their exile.)


FEBRUARY.


2.—Mr. Charles Harvey presented to the House of Commons a petition
against the claims of the Roman Catholics, which was extensively signed
by the clergy of the archdeaconries of Norwich and Norfolk.

—Mr. James Webb, known as the “Benevolent Stranger,” distributed
considerable sums of money among the public institutions and the
necessitous poor of Norwich.  “For three days the Angel Inn yard was
thronged with applicants who seemed unwilling to quit the spot even till
some time after the philanthropist had taken his departure.”  Mr. Webb
made similar distributions at Yarmouth, Bungay, and other places.

—Died, Major John Bland, aged 77, many years in the 46th Regiment.  “He
had been in 42 engagements, among which was the memorable battle of
Quebec.”  He gave various bequests to the Norwich charities.

6.—It was reported that small-pox had appeared in St. Stephen’s, Norwich.
Six unvaccinated children died from the effects of the disease.  The
Court of Guardians offered a reward of 2s. 6d. to parents for each child
vaccinated.  During the month unvaccinated children continued to suffer.
On March 27th it was stated that Letton, Cranworth, West and East
Bradenham, and Shipdham, were among the parishes of the county “who had
set a most laudable example in vaccination.”

20.*—“The second cousins of Mr. Henry Kett, late of Norwich, have
generously presented the sum of £500 towards the establishment of a
Lancasterian school at Dickleburgh, the native place of the deceased.”

26.—A trotting match took place between a mare, the property of Mr.
Crisp, of Stow, Downham Market, and a mare belonging to Mr. Brett, of
Fordham, on the turnpike road from the Chequers at Downham Market to the
toll-bar at Fincham.  The stakes, £20 a side, “were won by the former by
a furlong, the latter having broke eleven times during the journey.”  The
winner was ridden by Mr. Abraham Spinks, of Magdalen.

27.—“Died, few days since in his 105th year, Mr. Ling, of Woodbastwick.”


MARCH.


4.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved to open a
subscription for the relief of the inhabitants of the Russian provinces
suffering from the invasion of their country by the French.

5.—Died in London, William Noble, formerly a member of the Norwich
Company.

6.*—“We hear the Society of the Antient Order of Stagorians is now
reviving in this city, and is likely to become a very respectable one.”

7.—Downham Church was re-opened for service after being closed some
months for restoration.

10.—A general fast observed at Norwich.  The shops were closed, and
services held at the churches and chapels, at which collections were made
for the relief of the poor.

12.—Died, aged 69, Mr. Edward Sharpe, for upwards of 22 years keeper of
the Norwich city gaol.

24.—In consequence of the establishment of the Local Militia, the
Volunteer corps of Infantry in Norwich and Norfolk were disbanded and
deposited their arms.  Each corps received the thanks of the Prince
Regent for their patriotic services.

27.*—“The Amelia frigate, the Hon. Captain F. P. Irby, has arrived at
Portsmouth after a night action with L’Arethuse, French frigate, one of
the most desperate that has been fought during the present war.  This
excellent officer, who has been severely wounded, has been so actively
employed during the last five years that he has not been resident at his
seat, Boyland Hall, more than five days during that period.”

31.—Died at Weasenham, aged 74, Mr. Thomas Sanctuary.  “For many years he
was an extensive and opulent farmer.  He left his property among his
relatives, with a legacy of £2,000 to Miss Coke out of respect and
gratitude to his worthy landlord, Mr. T. W. Coke, under whom he acquired
his handsome fortune.”


APRIL.


5.—The West Norfolk Militia marched in three divisions from
Berwick-upon-Tweed to Edinburgh Castle, where they entered permanent
quarters.

10.—Charles Harper, 26, and Edmond Impeon, 21, were executed on Castle
Hill, Norwich, for a burglary at the dwelling-house of Mr. John Butler,
of Barney.  “After hanging the usual time their bodies were delivered to
their afflicted relatives, and by them conveyed home for interment.”

17.—Mary Turrell, apprehended on suspicion of being the mother of a
newly-born child, whose dead body was found in Vipond’s pond at
Harleston, committed suicide by poisoning.  The coroner’s jury returned a
verdict of _felo de se_, “and on the same evening about seven o’clock she
was buried in the high road with a stake driven through her body in the
presence of a vast concourse of people.”

25.—Died, in his 67th year, Mr. James Bullard, many years master of the
Bethel Hospital, Norwich.  His death resulted from a wound in the
stomach, inflicted with a scythe by a patient named Jonathan Morley, who
was engaged in mowing the lawn in the inner court.  The coroner’s jury
returned a verdict of wilful murder, and Morley was committed for trial
at the Assizes, when he was ordered to be kept in custody, “being insane
at the time he committed the act.”  In December, 1816, an order was
received from the Secretary of State for the Home Department for the
removal of the prisoner from Norwich gaol to the new Criminal Lunatic
Asylum in St. George’s Fields, London.

27.—The “light machine” commenced running between Wells and Norwich.  It
set out from Wells on Tuesdays and Fridays at nine o’clock in the
morning, and travelled through Fakenham and Bawdeswell to the Bell Inn,
Orford Hill, Norwich.  The coach returned by the same road on Wednesdays
and Saturdays.  Mr. J. Sizeland was the proprietor.

29.—The Duke of Cumberland arrived at Yarmouth, and embarked on board the
Nymphen frigate for the Continent.


MAY.


1.*—“The commanding officers of the Norfolk Regiments of Local Militia
and the Norfolk and Norwich Volunteers have received orders to send the
accoutrements of their respective regiments to the nearest ports for the
use of the German levies against the common enemy.  The arms have this
week been sent to Yarmouth.”

1.—A contested election took place for the mayoralty of Norwich.  The
candidates were Alderman R. Harvey, jun., Alderman J. Harvey, and
Alderman Davey.  The freemen demanded a poll for Mr. R. Harvey, sen., and
Mr. J. Ives Harvey.  Mr. Harvey, the elder, strongly opposed his
nomination in consequence of his infirm state of health.  The polling
commenced at once, and continued till six p.m.  The contest was resumed
on the 2nd (Sunday) at ten o’clock, and at the close the voting was
declared as follows:—Davey, 764; J. Harvey, 730; R. Harvey, jun., 717; R.
Harvey sen., 9.  The two first-named were returned to the Court of
Aldermen.  At a Court of Mayoralty held on the 3rd, Mr. John Harvey was
objected to on the ground that he was not an inhabitant of the city as
required by the Charter.  This objection was upheld by Mr. Serjeant Lens,
to whom the case was submitted, and on May 20 it was resolved at a
Special Assembly to apply to the Court of King’s Bench for a mandamus to
elect a Mayor.  A writ was granted, and the election took place on June
7, when the candidates were Mr. Davey, who polled 801 votes; Mr. Barnabas
Leman, 797; and Mr. J. Harvey, 749.  The two first-named were returned to
the Court of Aldermen, who elected Mr. Leman, and he was sworn into
office on June 22.

6.—A rowing match took place between four 4-oared boats from Carrow
Bridge to Whitlingham and back, for a silver cup.  The Zephyr (Mr.
Yarrington) won.  Distance, four miles; time, 36 minutes.

15.—A historical drama, entitled “The Siege of Sarragossa, or Spanish
Patriots of 1808,” by Mr. Bennett, a member of the company, was produced
at Norwich Theatre.

17.—The birthday of the Princess of Wales was observed in Norwich for the
first time by the ringing of the church bells.

23.—Died at Bangalore, in his 26th year, Capt. Robert Beauchamp, of the
Hon. East India Company’s Horse Artillery, Madras Establishment, third
son of Sir Thomas Beauchamp Proctor, Bart., Langley Park.

24.—The Bishop of Norwich commenced his ordinary visitation of the
diocese, at Thetford, and on the following day at St. Peter’s Church,
confirmed upwards of 700 persons.  At St. James’s Church, Bury St.
Edmund’s, his lordship confirmed 2,700 young persons; at Ipswich, 1,300;
Woodbridge, 600; Framlingham, 700; Downham Market, 1,000; St. Nicholas’
Chapel, Lynn, 1,000; Redenhall, 662; at Norwich Cathedral, 800; and in
the city and hamlets, 1,000.  The Bishop expressed the opinion “that the
number confirmed in the diocese, which was much increased since the last
confirmation, was decisive of the laudable exertions of the clergy.”

—The bounds of the parish of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were
perambulated, “the officiating individuals being saluted at every part of
the parochial confines by sprinklings as memorials of the occasion.  The
water ordeal being gone through, the gentleman repaired to a good dinner
and the cheerful glass.”  On the 26th “the bounds of St. Andrew’s were in
like manner ascertained.”

30.—Three African youths taken out of a Portuguese slave ship by Capt.
the Hon. P. F. Irby, of the Amelia frigate, and sent by him to Norwich
for education, were baptised at St. Peter Mancroft Church.


JUNE.


4.*—“At Gretna Green, Mr. Thomas Bunn, corn merchant, to Miss Sarah Cobb,
second daughter of Mr. John Cobb, of Yarmouth.”  The parties were
re-married at Gorleston by the Rev. Mr. Forster, on June 4.

7.—Mr. J. Youngs, of St. Peter Hungate, Norwich, was carried in a sedan
chair to record his vote at the Mayor’s election.  On his return home he
immediately expired.  He was 85 years old.

8.—Died, at the Grotto, Thetford, Mr. John Ellis, “long known as an
industrious collector of antiquities, fossils, foreign birds, &c., of
which he had a large and very curious cabinet.”

17.—The first recorded “speech day” at Norwich Grammar School.  It was
described as “the first speech day of the kind ever held at Norwich or at
this school,” and its inception was due to the fact that “the Latin
oration which in former times used to be delivered at the school porch on
Guild Day,” had been “for the last two years superseded by the
non-observance of that annual festival.”

19.*—“Died, last week in St. Clement’s, the Widow Herring, in her 106th
year.”

—The officers of the Norwich Court Leet seized the defective measures of
Edward Phillipps, a retail corn dealer, in King Street.  The offender was
fined by the court, who ordered the forfeiture of two of the measures.

20.—Mr. Bowles, “formerly a respectable performer in the Norwich Company
of Comedians,” preached at the Octagon Chapel to a numerous congregation.

21.—Opening day of Holkham Sheep Shearing.  It was stated in the course
of the proceedings, that “a very large quantity of bones is collected in
Norfolk and exported from Yarmouth to distant counties, where, after
being ground or crushed, they are used as manure by farmers.”  “Why,” it
was asked, “should not Norfolk and Suffolk farmers lay their bones in
their own counties?”


JULY.


1.—A rowing match for pair-oared boats took place at Whitlingham.
Distance, one and a half miles; the best two heats out of three.  The
winner of the silver cup was the Achilles, owned by Mr. Homer.

4.—The Expedition coach entered Norwich, with colours flying, and with
the intelligence of the great victory of the Allied Army at Vittoria
under Lord Wellington on June 21.  “Mr. Coldwell, the proprietor of the
coach, himself brought down from London a copy of the ‘Gazette
Extraordinary,’ and read its glorious contents from the coach box to his
fellow citizens assembled in the Market Place.”

7.—The Mayor of Lynn (Mr. John Hemington) laid the foundation stone of
the new Theatre in that town.

10.*—“Among the officers promoted to be lieutenant-colonels in the army
in consequence of the victory at Vittoria is Major Robert John Harvey,
assistant Quarter-Master-General of the Portuguese Army, son of Mr. John
Harvey, Thorpe Lodge, Norwich.  This gallant young officer had two horses
severely wounded under him in the battle.”

13.—Died, in this 70th year, Mr. Edward Barrow, of St. Saviour, Norwich.
“A native of Manchester, and a yarn factor, Mr. Barrow was the first
person who undertook the manufacture of cotton in this city; but what in
a peculiar manner consecrates his memory is the merit of his having also
been the first manufacturer of the shawl in this city, or perhaps in the
kingdom.  This brought in a new history in the era of the loom.”

14.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions the Rev. Augustus Beevor appeared to
try his traverse for an assault on Daniel Turner on June 4th, 1812.  The
Rev. James Carlos had, in consequence of the absence of the rector (the
defendant), gone to officiate at Berghapton, by virtue of the license of
the Bishop of Norwich.  Mr. Carlos also farmed the glebe lands, and
Turner was one of his tenants.  Turner received a message from the
defendant that he was about to clear the premises of stock belonging to
Mr. Carlos, and on his going to the parsonage he was met by Mr. Beevor,
who “scientifically fibbed him” about the head and face that plaintiff
shrieked aloud for assistance, and two men rescued him from the clutches
of his assailant.  The defence was that it was “a square stand-up fight.”
The jury returned a verdict of guilty, upon which an arrangement was made
between the parties before the court pronounced judgment.  Defendant was
then fined one shilling, and discharged.

17.*—“We are happy to hear that the good effects of the victory of
Vittoria were immediately felt in Norwich, as several manufacturers
received large orders for broad bombazines which are made for the Spanish
market, and which were ordered upon the idea of the whole of the
Peninsula being now open to our trade.”

—*“Died, lately, in his 59th year, that ingenious artist, Mr. Henry
Neale.  He was the inventor of a model of machinery to represent a cotton
manufactory.”

19.—A trotting match, attended with much cruelty, took place between two
ponies belonging to Mr. Howlett, of Fakenham, and Mr. Burgess, of the
same town.  They were matched to trot twice to and from Norwich, a
distance of 100 miles, in the least time.  “They both performed the first
50 miles in five and a quarter hours.  Howlett’s pony, however, became
quite exhausted when it reached the sixth mile-stone coming to Norwich on
the second time and gave in.  Burgess pursued his journey to Norwich, and
returned as far as Morton, where the poor beast died almost immediately.
Howlett’s reached Fakenham much injured.”

21.—The annual meeting of the Unitarian Society was held at Norwich.  The
Rev. Robert Aspland, of Hackney, preached at the Octagon Chapel, and the
members dined at the Swan Inn, under the presidency of Mr. John Taylor.

24.*—“Mr. Powell, of Weeting (familiarly called ‘Pogey Powell’), who shot
the late Lord Falkland in a duel, was killed a few days ago by a fall
from his horse, near Worwell, Hampshire.”

27.—Died at her house in Pall Mall, in her 79th year, the Hon. Mrs.
Keppel, widow of the late Hon. Dr. Keppel, Bishop of Exeter, aunt of his
Royal Highness the Duke of Gloucester, and mother of Mr. Frederick
Keppel, of Lexham Hall.

31.*—“Died, lately, Susanna, the wife of Thomas Bolton, of Bradenham,
eldest daughter of the late Rev. Edmund Nelson, of Burnham Thorpe, and
sister of our immortal Nelson, still more happy in her virtues than in
her lineage.”


AUGUST.


2.—This day was played “a grand cricket match in a field opposite the
Prussia Gardens, Norwich, for 100 guineas, between eleven gentlemen of
Norwich and eleven gentlemen of Bungay.”  Norwich, 37-46; Bungay, 74-10,
and eight wickets to go down.  “Bungay refused to allow Messrs. Bredwell,
Clabburn, and Pooley, three expert cricketers, to play in this match.”
The return match took place, at Bungay on August 23.  Norwich, 36-30;
Bungay, 116.

4.—A piece of plate was presented by the officers of the late City of
Norwich Regiment of Volunteers to Mr. Elisha De Hague, their former
Lieutenant-Colonel Commandant.

5.—A six-oared rowing match took place from Carrow Bridge to Whitlingham
Point and back, distance upwards of four miles, between the Sylph (Mr. J.
Harvey, jun.), and the Aurora (Mr. Lowe).  The Sylph won by 50 yards in
34 minutes 8 seconds.

7.—At this date was published the statement “Norfolk grows the finest
barley, and makes the worst ale of any county in the kingdom.”

—An official notice was published announcing that it was in contemplation
to demolish “the public-house called St. Andrew’s Steps, and the
tenements adjoining in London Lane, Norwich, to lay a small part of the
site into the street for the better convenience of the public, and to
erect new houses thereon.”

9.—A steam packet, intended for traffic between Yarmouth and Norwich, had
her trial trip to Breydon.  On her return “the boat went through the
bridge amidst the acclamations of thousands of spectators.”  This vessel,
which was built near Leeds, plied regularly upon the Yare, leaving
Turner’s bowling-green, Yarmouth, at seven o’clock in the morning, and
returning from Norwich at three in the afternoon.

17.—News was received at Norwich of the defeat of Marshal Soult by the
Marquis of Wellington.

—The High Sheriff, Mr. Thomas Trench Berney, arrived at Norwich from
Bracon Hall, “preceded by a numerous cavalcade, his carriage drawn by
four beautiful bays richly caparisoned, the attendant pages, one on each
side, mounted on grey ponies and decorated with silk scarves and favours
in the ancient style.  The High Sheriff, in full court dress, proceeded
to the Rampant Horse Inn, where he entertained a large company at
dinner.”

18.—At the Norfolk Assizes at Norwich, before Lord Chief Justice
Mansfield and a special jury, an indictment was preferred against the
keeper of the county gaol for suffering a prisoner to escape.  The
indictment had been moved by _certiorari_ from the Court of King’s Bench,
and was tried at _nisi prius_.  The main question was whether or not the
magistrates of the borough of Castle Rising had legally the power of
commitment to the county gaol.  They had in this case exercised such
power, and the gaoler had accepted the delinquent into his custody and
given a receipt for him, but afterwards, on the advice of one of the
visiting justices, had suffered him to go at large.  The Lord Chief
Justice thought it a question for decision in Westminster Hall rather
than for an Assize of _oyer_ and _terminer_.  Prosecuting counsel
disclaimed all intention of enforcing the punishment of the gaoler, and
the facts were all admitted on the part of the county, whereupon the
special jury, _pro forma_, found the defendant guilty.

Lord Wodehouse, this month, presented to the parish church of Hingham a
stained glass window, in which were represented the subjects of the
Crucifixion, the Descent from the Cross, the Resurrection, and the
Ascension.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—Killed at the siege of San Sebastian, in his 21st year, whilst
gallantly fighting with his regiment, Lieut. George Norris, of the 47th
Regiment, eldest son of the Rev. George Norris, of Foulsham.

2.—Died, at the house of her nephew, Mr. C. P. Herbert, at Setch Bridge,
near Lynn, in her 85th year, Mrs. Stevens, “widow of Mr. George Alex.
Stevens, of facetious memory, well known as the author and performer of
the celebrated ‘Lectures upon Heads,’ and other pieces.”

3.—At Yarmouth General Sessions and gaol delivery, before the Mayor and
Sub-Steward (Mr. W. Adair), John Boult Hannah, aged 70, was indicted for
the wilful murder of his wife by strangling her on April 14th.  “After
the murder he washed the woman’s face, laid the corpse out, and was found
sitting by the fire smoking his pipe with the body near.”  He was hanged
at Yarmouth on the Monday following the trial.

18.*—“The Earl of Kingston one day this week, at Heydon, bagged 56 brace
of birds for a wager with the Earl of Yarmouth for a large sum.”

28.—Died, aged 80, Edward Whetstone, 44 years clerk of the parish of
Trowse Newton.  He was originally a journeyman weaver, and had acquired
some property.  He purchased and presented an organ which was placed in
the church in 1803, and his remains were interred beneath the instrument.

29.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, for the purpose of
forming an association in aid of the Church Missionary Society.  The Rev.
H. J. Hare, of Docking, presided, and it was resolved that such
association be formed, and “that it be known as the Norfolk and Norwich
Church Missionary Society for Africa and the East.”  Upwards of £800 was
subscribed.


OCTOBER.


2.—Died at Yarmouth, Mrs. Martha Biggs, widow, aged 103.

—Bannister’s Equestrian Company, from Astley’s Royal Amphitheatre,
commenced a season at the Pantheon, Norwich.

5.—A grand Musical Festival commenced at Norwich, under the direction of
Mr. Pettet, with a miscellaneous concert in St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the
morning of the 6th, 7th, and 8th, the “Messiah,” the “Creation,” and the
“Redemption,” were rendered in St. Peter Mancroft Church, and concerts
were given in St. Andrew’s Hall on the evenings of the 7th and 8th.  The
principal performers were Mrs. Dickons, Mrs. Bianchi Lacy, Miss Booth,
Master Hobbes, Mr. Braham, Mr. Goes, Mr. Hawes, and Mr. Bellamy; leader
of the band, Professor Hague; organ and pianoforte, Mr. Pettet.

11.—Seventy of the supporters of Mr. William Smith dined at the Swan Inn,
Norwich, to celebrate his return as member for the city.

16.*—“Mrs. Faucit and Mr. Vining, both late of the Norwich Company, have
made their appearance on the boards of Covent Garden Theatre, and have
been very favourably received.”

17.—The Duke of York, accompanied by the Earl of Yarmouth, passed through
Dereham on his way from Heydon, where has Royal Highness had been
shooting with the Earl of Kingston.

23.*—“In consequence of the numerous robberies which have lately been
committed in the vicinity of Norwich, it is in contemplation to establish
a horse patrol to act in various directions for the protection of
property and persons.”

25.—The festival of St. Crispin and Crispianus was revived by the
journeymen shoemakers of Norwich, “who paraded the streets with music,
and celebrated the day, through the liberality of their masters, at
various houses.”

28.—Died, aged 65, Mr. Edward Billingsley, of Hockwold-cum-Wilton.  He
served the office of High Sheriff in 1787.

31.—Died at New Buckenham, in her 101st year, Mrs. Mary Gibbs.  “She was
born the 5th day of May, 1713, being the day peace was proclaimed with
France in the reign of Queen Anne.”


NOVEMBER.


1.—Died, at East Dereham, Dame Eleanor Fenn, widow of Sir John Fenn,
knight.  “Under the names of Mrs. Teachwell and Mrs. Lovechild, she wrote
several books for the benefit of the rising generation.”  Her remains
were interred at Finningham, Suffolk.

4.—News was received at Norwich of the defeat of Buonaparte near Leipsic.
St. Peter Mancroft bells were rung, and a bonfire lighted in the Market
Place.  There were further celebrations on the 10th on receipt of the
news of the successes in Germany, and of the surrender of the fortress of
Pamplona.

14.—A new organ was opened at Holt Church.

15.—This day was fixed for the celebration of the victories gained over
France in Spain and Germany.  At Norwich a bullock was roasted whole in
the Market Place.  The roasting commenced at nine o’clock the previous
evening (Sunday, 14th).  At noon a grand procession started from the
Castle Meadow, and, passing through the principal streets, entered the
Market Place.  “At one o’clock Mr. Lowden, the butcher, commenced to
carve the bullock, but the crowd broke over the barriers, and there was a
disgusting waste of good provision.”  Six hundred 2d. loaves and ten
barrels of stout were given away.  A public dinner took place at the
Angel Inn, and in the evening a huge bonfire was lighted in the Market
Place.  Great depredations were committed in obtaining materials for the
fire, and several offenders were committed to Bridewell.  There was also
a procession of stage coaches, and an effigy of Buonaparte was burned.  A
general illumination followed.  Celebrations also took place in nearly
every town and village in the county.

16.—Died at Worlingworth, Suffolk, aged 81, Lewis Johnson, 35 years
parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He resigned the office in
1812.

23.—Intelligence received in Norwich of a counter Revolution in Holland.

29.—Capt. Cockburn, commanding Royal Artillery in Norwich, sent to
Yarmouth 500,000 ball cartridges for the use of the Orange Patriots in
Holland.

30.—A wrestling match took place at Barford between “the noted Game
Chicken” and “the East Tuddenham champion.  There was a vast concourse of
spectators, and the odds were seven to one on the Game Chicken, who won
with the greatest ease, and was offered to be backed for 100 guineas
against any 11 stone man in England.”


DECEMBER.


4.*—“Among the officers severely wounded in the late action in Bayonne
were Lieut. James Day, of the Royal Horse Artillery, son of Mr. M. S.
Day, jun., of Norwich, and Lieut. Charles Eaton, second battalion, 95th
Regiment, son of the Rev. Eaton Browne, of Elsing.”

18.—Eight French officers, taken prisoners at Cuxhaven, arrived at
Norwich by steam barge from Yarmouth, on parole, and on the 20th left for
Chesterfield.  In a letter to the Mayor they acknowledged, in warm terms,
the kindness they had received from the citizens of Norwich.

19.—The Expedition coach arrived at Norwich with the intelligence of the
defeat of Marshal Soult by the Marquis Wellington.



1814.


JANUARY.


1.—A remarkable funeral took place at Shelfanger.  The body of Mr. Smith,
a farmer, was conveyed from Fersfield in a waggon drawn by his own team.
The coffin was covered with a waggon tilt, and sacks of straw served as
seats for his children and grandchildren.  Behind the waggon walked his
riding horse as chief mourner, and the singers of the congregation
chanted a funeral dirge.  “He was a person who in habits, manners, and
opinions exhibited a singularity that was not easily paralleled.”

4.—Died at St. Gregory’s, Norwich, aged 61, Mrs. Chesnutt, wife of Mr.
John Chesnutt.  For many years she was a favourite dancer on the Norwich
stage.

—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich, it was decided to
present to the Prince Regent an address, congratulating him upon “the
late glorious victories with which the Almighty had been pleased to crown
the arms of his Majesty and his Allies.”

5.—Died, of wounds received at Bayonne, Ensign Hardy, 31st Regiment of
Foot, son of Mr. James Hardy, of Hethersettt.

6.—Died, at his house at Catton, Mr. Jeremiah Ives Harvey, Alderman of
Conisford Ward, Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1779, and
was Mayor in 1783.  He was in his 69th year.

7.—A curious incident occurred at the funeral of Benjamin Edwards, for 20
years coachman to Lord Suffield at Blickling.  “The corpse was conveyed
from the house to the church for interment, followed by thirty servants
in their liveries.  After the Rev. Mr. Churchill had retired from the
grave an old acquaintance came forward and performed a promise which had
been made by each party, which was done as follows:—He enquired his age,
and was informed it was 64.  He then took a bottle of rum from his pocket
and threw it upon the head of the coffin.  From the fall the bottle broke
and the rum was distributed upon the lid of the coffin.  He said ‘God
bless him.  I have performed my promise as I am sure he would have done
had I gone first.’”

8.*—“A few days since the harriers of Mr. J. Gooch unexpectedly found an
outlying deer in Hempnall Wood, which they immediately drove from covert,
and it afforded a most capital chase without a break for an hour and
forty minutes, through sixteen parishes and a hard run of 28 miles.”

—*“Lieut. Robert Blake, of the 3rd Regiment of Foot, was so severely
wounded in the action near Bayonne that he had his leg amputated.”

9.—Very severe weather was experienced this month.  On the 9th at nine
p.m. the thermometer fell 20 degrees below freezing point, and the
severity of the frost rendered the river impassable between Norwich and
Yarmouth.  On the 19th occurred a heavy fall of snow, which blocked the
roads and prevented traffic.  The mail bags were brought to Norwich on
horseback; the London waggons which should have arrived on the 19th came
in on the evening of the 20th, drawn by teams of twelve or fourteen
horses.  Carriers who had arrived in the city were unable to return; the
Yarmouth coach was preceded by an empty waggon which, drawn by six
horses, made a road for it.  A second sharp frost occurred on February
15th, and continued to the 25th, when the thermometer registered 17
degrees below freezing point.

10.—Mr. Crisp Brown was elected an Alderman for Coslany Ward, Norwich, in
place of Mr. Jeremiah Ives Harvey, deceased.

13.—A general thanksgiving took place for the late victories.  The Mayor
and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, and at the
various churches and chapels in the city collections were made for the
poor.

—The portrait of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., painted by Sir Thomas Lawrence,
was presented to the county magistrates by the subscribers, and placed in
the Grand Jury chamber at the Shirehouse, Norwich.

26.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by Mr.
Steward Alderson, it was decided to establish a similar society to the
Norwich Benevolent Society, but upon a more extensive and permanent plan.
Visitors were appointed for each parish, and £2,400 was raised.

—News was received at Norwich of the conclusion of Peace between this
country and Denmark, and St. Peter Mancroft bells were rung in
celebration.

29.—A main of cocks was fought at the Swan Inn, Norwich, between the
gentlemen of Cambridgeshire and the gentlemen of Norwich, for 10 guineas
a battle and 100 guineas the odd.  Cambridgeshire won with five battles
to the good.


FEBRUARY.


5.—Died at Scratby Hall, the Countess Dowager Home, aged 68.

—*“At the last General Quarter Sessions of the peace for the borough of
Lynn, before Mr. Robert Bevill, Recorder, Mrs. Ann Clarke received the
awful sentence of death for wilfully and maliciously attempting to stab
her husband, Mr. W. Clarke, a ship master, with intention to murder him.”
The prisoner was afterwards reprieved, and the sentence commuted to
transportation for life.

—Arrived at Yarmouth, Capt. Spencer, of that port, who had escaped from
France, where he had for four years been a prisoner of war in the
fortress of Bitche.

18.—Died, at Hethel Hall, in his 89th year, Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart.  An
active magistrate for more than half a century, he was created baronet
during the Whig administration of the Duke of Portland in 1783.

—Died, at Walsham, Suffolk, aged 69, the Very Rev. Coombe Miller, Dean of
Chichester and rector of Winfarthing and Snetterton.  He was buried at
Eccles, near Attleborough.

22.—The Corporation of Norwich subscribed £100 to the fund for relieving
the distresses of the unfortunate sufferers in Germany.

26.—In the Arches Court, Doctors’ Commons, was heard a cause for the
restitution of conjugal rights promoted by Mr. (afterwards Sir) Thomas
Beevor, of Mangreen Hall, against Ann Beevor.  The parties were married
at the parish church, Hargham, on August 24th, 1795, and cohabited
together until June 30th, 1802, when Mrs. Beevor left her husband’s
house, and some time after promoted a suit of divorce or separation by
reason of his cruelty.  In that suit Mr. Beevor was dismissed from the
cause.  In this case the court admonished Mrs. Beevor to return again to
the society of her husband.

28.—Died at Cardiff, Lieut. W. H. Clifford, husband of Mrs. Clifford, of
the Norwich Theatre.


MARCH.


1.—On the information of Joseph Stannard, a Norwich printer, named
Stewardson, was fined “for omitting to affix his name to a song printed
by him.”  (See July 12th, 1814.)

11.—Died, at his house in Welbeck Street, London, Mr. Henry Jodrell, of
Bayfield Hall, who was for many years Recorder and Member of Parliament
for Yarmouth, and one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

12.*—“Died, last week, at Woodbridge, Mrs. Fisher, wife of Mr. Fisher,
manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Theatrical Company.”

15.—Died, at Bath, aged 34, Mr. R. Harley Cushing, comedian, a native of
Norwich.

18.—The Newmarket mail arrived at Norwich, with the horses decorated with
laurel, bringing confirmation of the intelligence in the “Hague Gazette,”
of Marshal Blucher’s victory over the French on March 9th.  The bells of
St. Peter Mancroft were rung.

21.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Heath,
the action Mann _v._ Carroll and others was tried.  The plaintiff was
master of the Red Lion Inn, Thetford, and the defendants executors of the
late Mr. James Mingay, Member of Parliament for the borough.  The claim
was for £338 15s. 5d., the amount of certain expenses incurred at
plaintiff’s house at the General Election of 1806, including a dinner on
the polling day, and a ball and supper on the following evening.  Mr.
Mingay and Lord William Fitzroy were returned, but the former had been
unseated, and several questions arose as to his personal liability:
first, whether or not any assumpsit could be fixed upon him at all;
second, whether or not he was liable for the whole; third, whether he was
or not jointly liable with his colleague; and fourth, whether or not upon
the event of his death such liability vested in the survivor, absolving
the personal representatives of the deceased.  The defendants endeavoured
to show that the expense of the entertainments was incurred by the
Corporation of Thetford, and that Mr. Mingay took part as a guest and not
as lord of the feast.  The Judge held that Mr. Mingay “was personally
liable from having partaken of the entertainments, it having been decided
in many cases that in all public feasts the individuals present were
jointly and severally liable for the whole expense incurred.”  A verdict
was given for the plaintiff for the full amount, subject to a reference
as to the items of the bill.

—At the same Assizes Robert Trundle and Rosetta Trundle were criminally
indicted for forging a writing purporting to be the will of Mary Inalls,
of Great Dunham, and for suborning witnesses to prove the due execution
of such writing to affect the disposition of the property of the deceased
with intent thereby to defraud the next of kin.  The document had been
proved as a will in the Archdeaconry Court of Norwich on July 17th, 1812,
and was drawn in favour of the prisoners.  The Judge thought there was
not sufficient evidence of forgery, and under his direction the jury
acquitted the accused.

24.—The Dutch Regiment, about 600 strong, which had been formed at
Yarmouth, embarked in three transports from that port for Holland.

25.—Died, at Barnbougle Castle, his lordship’s seat in Linlithgow, in his
86th year, the Right Hon. Neil Earl of Rosebery, K.T.  He married first,
in 1764, Susan, only sister and heiress of Sir Randal Ward, Bart., of
Bixley, who died in 1771, without issue, and secondly, in 1775, Mary,
daughter of Sir Francis Vincent, Bart., by whom he had two sons and three
daughters.

26.*—“Lieut.-Col. Harvey, acting Quarter-Master-General of the column of
Lord Wellington’s army which fought in the battle of St. Boes, and had
the brunt of the late actions, escaped unhurt.  Lieut.-Col. Kerrison, of
the 7th Hussars, greatly distinguished himself in the late actions.  He
seized the opportunity of charging the French infantry in disorder and
flight, taking a great many of them.  This regiment took about 600
prisoners.  The whole army was witness of this affair with whom it is a
subject of admiration.”


APRIL.


2.*—“Mr. William George Daniel, of Folly House, Kent, and of Foulden
Hall, in this county, a captain in the Army, and lord of the manor of
Hackney, in the county of Middlesex, takes the surname and arms of
Tyssen.”

6.—With colours flying and the passengers decorated with the white
cockade, the Newmarket mail brought to Norwich news of the entry of the
Allied Army into Paris on March 31st.  The church bells were rung, and a
bonfire lighted in the Market Place.  The rejoicings were renewed on the
9th, 10th, and 11th, upon the receipt of the intelligence of the counter
Revolution, Buonaparte’s abdication, and the restoration of the Bourbons.
On the last mentioned day the horses were removed from the mail coach,
and the people dragged it thrice round the Market Place.  The Chevalier
De Bardelin, a French emigrant gentleman, formerly in the service of the
King of France, left Norwich, where he had resided 15 years, to accompany
Louis XVIII. to Paris.

9.—The Rev. T. C. Munnings, of Gorgate Hall, East Dereham, exhibited at
Norwich Market specimens of his “preserved turnips.”  He introduced the
plan of earthing up the roots in November and December for consumption in
March and April.

11.—Miss Binfield, of the Norwich Theatre, was elected organist of St.
Mary-le-Tower Church, Ipswich.

16.*—“Mr. G. G. Lowne, a native of Norwich, who was taken prisoner on
board his Majesty’s ship Shannon, when that frigate was wrecked on the
rocks of La Hogue in December, 1803, lately arrived here, having made his
escape from close confinement at Cambay on the approach of the Allies to
that part of the French frontiers.”

19.—A grand _fête_ was held at Yarmouth in honour of the victories.  It
commenced with a pageant called “The Triumph of Neptune.”  The “sea god”
landed upon the beach and headed a procession round the town.  In the
procession was an effigy of Buonaparte in fetters.  “Afterwards 58 tables
were laid on the Quay from north to south, each accommodating from 120 to
150 persons, to whom roast beef and plum pudding were served.”  After
dinner there was a naval procession to the Denes, where donkey races and
other sports took place; a bonfire concluded the day’s rejoicings.  The
public subscription to defray the cost of the celebration exceeded
£1,000.

23.*—“The Earl of Home takes the surname of Ramey in addition to that of
Home, in compliance with a condition contained in the will of his
maternal grandfather, Mr. John Ramey, of Yarmouth.”

—*“Died last week, aged 83, Mr. William Cutting, formerly a manufacturer,
of Norwich, who served the office of Sheriff in 1790.”

—*“Died last week, at Oakingham, Berks., aged 63, John Waddy, late of
Covent Garden, and formerly of Norwich Theatre.”

29.—An organ erected in St. Stephen’s Church, Norwich, by Mr. England,
was opened by Mr. Pettet.  Mrs. Solomon and Mr. C. Smith were the
vocalists, who also took part in a concert held in the evening at
Noverre’s Room, St. Michael-at-Plea.


MAY.


1.—This day (Sunday), being May Day, “came on agreeably to charter,” the
election of Mayor of Norwich.  The polling continued throughout Sunday
and Monday.  At seven o’clock on Sunday evening the votes recorded were:
Alderman Robberds, 762; Alderman Davey, 616; Alderman Back, 508; Alderman
Patteson, 170.  “The majority for Alderman Davey over Alderman Back being
108, the friends of the latter demanded that the books should be opened
again next morning.”  The second day’s poll was closed by agreement at 12
o’clock, when the result was declared as follows: Davey, 757; Robberds,
919; Patteson, 180; Back, 763.  A scrutiny was demanded on behalf of Mr.
Davey.  It commenced on the 12th and continued till the 19th, when Mr.
Davey withdrew.  Mr. Robberds and Mr. Back were then returned to the
Court of Aldermen, by whom the former was elected to the office of Mayor.

5.—Mr. Fitzgerald, a favourite actor in the Norwich Company, appeared as
Shylock, and delivered a farewell address, on leaving the circuit for the
Theatre Royal at Hull and York, of which he was appointed patentee.

7.*—(Advt.)  “Stoke Mills near Norwich.  Jeremiah Colman having taken the
stock and trade lately carried on by Mr. Edward Ames, respectfully
informs his customers and the public in general that he will continue the
manufacturing of mustard, and he takes leave to assure those who may be
pleased to favour him with their orders that they shall be supplied in
such a manner as cannot fail to secure their approbation.”

17.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich it was resolved
to petition Parliament against the proposed alteration in the Corn Laws.

18.—Thorpe Asylum was opened for the reception of forty male pauper
lunatics.

19.—The minister, churchwardens, and principal inhabitants of St. Giles’,
Norwich, went the bounds of the parish, and afterwards dined at the
Woolpack Inn.  “Ale, buns, and bumps were distributed among the
attendants, one of whom swam across the basin in Chapel Field to observe
the line of demarkation between St. Peter’s parish for which he received
half a crown.”

21.*—“The long depending wrestling match between Lock and the Game
Chicken was lately decided in favour of the former after a severe contest
of a quarter of an hour.”

24.—A _fête_ in celebration of the victories commenced at Thetford.  A
procession escorting an effigy of Buonaparte “loaded with irons” went
round the town, and a ball took place in the evening.  On the 26th 1,500
persons were entertained at dinner in a paddock.  The Mayor presided, and
the Bishop of Norwich witnessed the proceedings.  Sports were held, and
at night a bonfire was lighted, and the effigy of Buonaparte consumed in
the flames.

The death took place at Oulton, this month, of Mrs. Margaret Dent, at the
age of 100.


JUNE.


1.—Died in London, aged 53, Mr. Robert Herring, of Bracondale, Norwich.
He was alderman for South Conisford Ward, served the office of Sheriff in
1791, and was Mayor in 1807.  Mr. Thomas Thurtell, of Lakenham, was
elected to the vacant aldermanship on June 6th.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, when resolutions
were moved by Mr. E. Taylor in opposition to the Corn Bill.  The
resolutions, which were unanimously adopted, represented that the
citizens had for twenty years suffered great privations and hardships
from the advance in price of all necessaries of life, and particularly of
“bread corn,” that they viewed with alarm the measure introduced in
Parliament as calculated to raise the price of grain; and that the
proposed alterations in the Corn Laws were ill-timed, unwise, and
oppressive.—The “Bill for Regulating the Importation Duties” was defeated
in the House of Commons by a majority of ten on June 6th, and on the
arrival of the intelligence by the Newmarket mail on the 8th, the horses
were removed from the coach, which was drawn for three hours through the
streets.  Persons with large loaves of bread on their heads were on the
box seat, bells were rung, and pistols fired, and at midnight a bonfire
was lighted in the Market Place, and many depredations were committed by
those who obtained the materials with which to feed the flames.

3.—The Expedition coach arrived at Norwich with news of the definite
Treaty of Peace, which was signed in Paris on the 30th ult.  Amid great
rejoicings the people dragged the coach four times round the Market
Place, and through the principal streets.  On the 15th 500 freemen of the
Long Ward were entertained by Mr. S. Mitchell to a dinner of roast beef
at Harper’s Gardens; on the 16th the Mayor entertained the parochial
poor, and there was a grand illumination in the evening.  Peace was
formally proclaimed on the 27th by the Mayor and Corporation walking in
procession to various parts of the city.  Before being admitted to the
Close the Mayor knocked thrice at the gate, and informed Mr. J. Kitson,
the Bishop’s registrar, that admittance was asked by virtue of his
Majesty’s writ.  The proclamation was then made in the Cathedral
precincts, and on returning to the Guildhall the Corporation partook of
refreshments.  Mr. Sheriff Higgins entertained the company to dinner at
his house in Pitt Street, and also feasted the poor.  Thanksgiving
services were held on July 7th, and 723 charity children were entertained
in St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the 20th at a quarterly assembly of the
Corporation an address was voted to the Prince Regent congratulating him
on “the highly honourable and auspicious Peace concluded with France.”

20.—Mr. Robert Partridge, alderman, presented to the Corporation of
Norwich “an elegant tripod in the Grecian style, to support a silver
candelabrum of three lights, surmounted with the figures of St. George
and the Dragon,” given by him in 1786.

21.—Guild Day was held in the “old style” at Norwich by Mr. J. W.
Robberds on his being sworn in as Mayor.  The feast at St. Andrew’s Hall
was attended by upwards of 500 guests, and a ball took place in the
evening at Chapel Field House.

22.—A Musical Festival, “in celebration of the Peace,” commenced at the
church of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, with a performance of “Judas
Maccabaeus.”  The “Messiah” was given on the 23rd, and a selection of
sacred music on the 24th.  On each evening a miscellaneous concert took
place in St. Andrew’s Hall.  The principal performers were Madame
Catalani, Miss Stephens, Miss Booth, Mr. Braham, Mr. Garbett, Mr. Turner,
and Mr. Welsh; leader of the band, Dr. Hague; organ and pianoforte, Mr.
Beckwith.


JULY.


1.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at St. Andrew’s Hall,
Norwich, when resolutions were passed in favour of the abolition of the
African slave trade, and it was decided to petition the House of Commons
to the same effect.  The opponents of the resolutions moved, as an
amendment, that the Prince Regent was the only person to be addressed
pending the negociations with France upon the subject.  The resolutions
were adopted by large majorities.

2.*—“Capt. Matthias, of Stanhoe Hall, has returned to his family in
perfect health after being a prisoner in France ten and a half years.”

4.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced on this date, a fortnight later than
usual owing to the Peace celebrations in Norwich and the county.  “None
of the implements possessed sufficient merit to entitle the inventor to
the handsome premium offered by Mr. Coke.”

6.—Peace was proclaimed at Yarmouth by the Mayor and Corporation going in
procession through the town.  At night there was a general illumination.

7.—Peace was proclaimed at King’s Lynn.

12.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions the case of the King _v._ Griggs was
tried.  This was a prosecution at the suit of Mr. Joseph Stannard, a pork
butcher, against the defendant, a dealer, for the publication of a libel
in the form of a song, entitled “Soup Meagre Joe.”  The song reflected on
the quality of the soup made by Mr. Stannard, at the request of a Mr.
Mitchell, for distribution among the poor of the city during the severe
weather in February, 1814.  It was stated that the prosecutor neither
received nor expected remuneration.  His beneficence was rewarded by
gross insults from the mob, by assaults, by placards in the streets, by
anonymous letters, and by songs which were sung by “Blind Peter” and
another ballad singer.  One of these songs was printed by Mr. Stewardson
from MS. furnished by the defendant.  The jury, after four hours’
deliberation, returned a verdict of guilty, and the defendant was fined
£10.

13.—The first division of West Norfolk Militia, under the command of Col.
Nelthorpe, marched into Norwich, from Yarmouth, where they had landed the
previous morning from the Tickler cutter, and four Berwick traders from
Leith.  St. Peter’s bells were rung, and the men received the hearty
congratulations of the citizens.  The second division arrived on the
16th, commanded by Major Barnham.  On the 18th the Earl of Orford,
colonel of the regiment, entertained the officers and their friends at
the Maid’s Head Inn.  The regiment on the 19th received the thanks of the
House of Commons for their services.

19.—Died at Long Stratton, aged 60, the Rev. William D’Oyly, for more
than 20 years curate of Stratton St. Michael and Flordon with Hapton.  He
raised a fund of nearly £500 by small subscriptions for widening and
improving Briggs’ Lane, Norwich.

23.—Capt. William Hoste, R.N., was created a Baronet.

28.—Dr. James Edward Smith, of Norwich, founder and President of the
Linnean Society, presented to the Prince Regent a set of the Transactions
of the Society, and received, on the recommendation of Lord Sidmouth, the
honour of knighthood.

30.*—“The four sons of Mr. C. E. Bagge, M.P., late of Quebec House,
Dereham, are authorised to take the name and arms of Lee Warner instead
of Bagge.”


AUGUST.


8.—The Mayor and Court of Aldermen visited the annual exhibition of the
Norwich Society of Artists.

11.—The Hon. John Wodehouse, as foreman of the Grand Jury at the Norfolk
Assizes, proposed, and Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., seconded, resolutions
recommending that a subscription be opened for the erection of a monument
to the memory of Lord Nelson.  At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation on
October 22nd it was resolved that the city subscribe £200, and the
Speaker was requested to attend the county meeting, and urge that the
monument be erected on the Castle Hill “or some other commanding
situation in or near the city.”  At the county meeting, held the same
week, it was announced that the subscriptions amounted to £5,138.  At a
meeting held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, on January 14th, 1815, it was
resolved that the monument be erected at Yarmouth.  The committee, at a
meeting held during the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford on March 29th, 1815,
after inspecting 44 plans and designs, “selected an Athenian Doric column
sent by Mr. William Wilkins, architect, of London, a native of Norwich,
and author of ‘Magna Græcia.’”  Nearly £7,000 was subscribed.

14.—Died, in Parliament Place, London, aged 85, Mr. E. H. Delaval, of
Seaton Delaval, Northumberland, and of Hoddington, Lincolnshire.  “By his
death the mansion house of Seaton Delaval, and the family estate of the
late Lord Delaval, has devolved upon Sir Jacob Henry Astley, Bart., M.P.,
for Norfolk, whose mother was his lordship’s eldest sister.”

20.*—“The officers of the 7th Hussars have presented Col. Kerrison with a
piece of plate, of the value of 200 guineas, in testimony of their
admiration of his gallantry at the battle of Orthes.”

22.—Races were held at Cromer, which at the time was very full of
company, and the “new subscription room” and dances a great attraction to
many distinguished visitors.  “From the course being in the immediate
neighbourhood of Gunton and Blickling,” it was expected that Cromer races
would “soon vie with those of Yarmouth, &c.”

30.—Mr. William Burt and Mr. R. Hawkes were candidates for the office of
freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.  The former was returned with 810 votes as
against 726 polled by his opponent.  It was stated that “so severe a
contest at the election of Sheriff had not taken place since 1781.”


SEPTEMBER.


11.—Died, at Hoveton House, aged 85, Mr. Anthony Aufrere, for fifty years
an active magistrate in the county.

13.—The portrait of Mr. William Smith, M.P. (painted by Thompson), was
placed in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

17.—Capt. Robert D. Patteson, 6th Regiment of Foot, second son of Mr.
John Patteson, of Norwich, was killed during the sortie made by the
American troops from Fort Erie.

—*“Last week a single wicket match was played at Downham Market for a
considerable sum between Mr. William Griggs, of Stow Bardolph, and Mr.
James Hall, of Downham.  Griggs, 8-37; Hall, 11-9.”

26.—Died at Hadleigh, aged 34, Henry Reeve, M.D., one of the physicians
of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and of the Bethel Hospital, Norwich.

28.—A peal of six bells, purchased by public subscription in celebration
of the Peace, was opened at New Buckenham.  The bells were cast by
Dobson, of Downham Market, and the tenor weighed 12 cwt.  “A prize of six
hats, value 10s. each, was given to the company who gave proof of their
skill in ringing the best peal.”  The Hopton company were declared
winners, a distinction which was warmly contested by the Norwich men.

29.—Died, in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 85, the Rev. Thomas Howes, rector
of Morningthorpe, and of Thorndon, Suffolk.  “He was a profound scholar,
and a formidable antagonist with Bishop Horsley of Dr. Priestley in the
Tractarian controversy in 1781.  He was also the author of several
theological works.”


OCTOBER.


17.—Mr. Thomas Coldwell, coach proprietor of Norwich, was presented by
the Corporation with the freedom of the city in recognition of his
services in forwarding the mails to and from Norwich during the severe
weather of the previous winter.

19.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, “the justices having regard of the
present high price of hay and oats,” ordered the following additional
rates of allowance to be made in the county to persons who provided
carriages for the conveyance of his Majesty’s forces in their marches, or
for their arms, clothing, or accoutrements: 1s. for every mile any waggon
with four or more horses, or any wain with six oxen, or with four oxen
and two horses and their driver; 9d. for every mile any cart with four
horses, or carrying not less than 15 cwt.; and 6d. for every mile any
cart or carriage with less than four horses, and not carrying 15 cwt.

20.—Mr. Samuel Wesley, the eminent organist, gave a recital at the church
of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

21.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated its jubilee.  The first
meeting was held at the Bell Inn, Orford Hill, in 1764, under the name of
the Bell Corporation, and “was governed by a Mayor, Sheriffs, and
Aldermen, and the usual officers attached to a Corporation.”  In 1793 the
members were “much divided on the politics of the day, and particularly
upon the French Revolution.”  The society then separated into two
political parties, “when those who viewed with horror the proceedings of
the French Convention, and the attempts made by the correspondents to
bring about a revolution in this country,” removed to the Castle Inn,
assumed the name of the Castle Corporation, and espoused the principles
of Pitt.  At this dinner Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., presented to and
invested the “Mayor” (Mr. Crisp Brown) with a medallion containing a
cameo likeness of Pitt.

22.—Four troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards marched into Norwich and
occupied the Cavalry Barracks, whence the detachment of Royal Artillery
was removed to the Infantry Barracks in St. Michael at Coslany.

29.—For an attempted felony, Charles Pegg stood in the city pillory in
Norwich Market Place for one hour.  “The hoary-headed culprit was taken
back to the City Gaol.”


NOVEMBER.


20.—Died, aged 74, James Church, sexton of St. Peter Permountergate,
Norwich.  “He had held the situation near fifty years, and buried upwards
of 3,000 persons.”

22.—Died, at Eaton Hall, in his 55th year, Mr. Jonathan Davey, alderman
of Norwich.  Mr. Nathaniel Bolingbroke was elected in his place alderman
of Colegate Ward.

23.—Died, at Costessey (at the seat of his nephew, Sir George
Jerningham), General Jerningham, who was born in 1742, entered the
service of France, and became colonel commandant of several of the Irish
regiments.  At the Revolution he returned home, where he remained until
the Peace of Amiens in 1802, when he again proceeded to France.  Unable
to recover his property there, he was, on the renewal of hostilities in
1803, by order of Bonaparte, detained a prisoner with the rest of his
countrymen, and it was only on the King’s restoration that he was
released.

26.*—“Tower half-pence being refused to be taken in exchange, Mr. Smith,
M.P., has written to the Mint, who have agreed to accept them under
certain conditions.”

28.—Four troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards marched from Norwich for
Ipswich.  A troop of the Duke of Brunswick’s Oels marched in on December
2.


DECEMBER.


9.—A riot was occasioned at King’s Lynn by sailors who, with a number of
other persons, forcibly took a portion of the crew from a vessel about to
sail, and demanded a general rise of wages.  The Brunswick Hussars from
Norwich and the Freebridge and Lynn Legion speedily put an end to the
tumult, and three of the rioters were taken to Norwich Castle under
cavalry escort.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich in July, 1815,
the offenders were sentenced to two months’ imprisonment.

12.—The Duke of Gloucester left Holkham Hall after a week’s visit to Mr.
T. W. Coke, M.P.

13.—The new tenor bell for St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, was
deposited in the tower preparatory to its being hung in place of the old
one, which had been taken down and broken up.  The new bell was
inscribed, “To the King, Queen, and Royal Family, this harmonious peal of
12 bells is dedicated.  Thomas Mears, London, fecit, 1814.”  The weight
was 42 cwt., 2 qrs., or about 28 lbs. heavier than its predecessor.

21.—Gas light was introduced at the shop of Mr. Harrison, the Market
Place, Norwich.  “Sixteen brilliant lights were kept burning for five
hours at the trifling expense of 9d. in coals.  The gas is conveyed from
a small fireplace in the kitchen through tubes into branches.”

31.*—“The Prince Regent has been pleased to grant the dignity of a
baronet to Mr. Thomas Preston, of Beeston St. Lawrence.”



1815.


JANUARY.


6.—At Brighton Pavilion the Prince Regent conferred the honour of
knighthood on Colonel Kerrison, 7th Hussars.

12.—Mr. Crisp Brown, as “Mayor” of the Castle Corporation, Norwich,
presented to Mr. Thomas Back a silver vase in recognition of his “zealous
and liberal support of the loyal and constitutional principles of the
society.”

13.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by
the Mayor, it was unanimously resolved to petition Parliament against the
continuance of the Property Tax under any modification whatever.  Both
Members for the city supported the resolutions.  A meeting of the owners
of estates, and other contributors to the Property Tax, in Norfolk, took
place at the Shirehouse under the presidency of the High Sheriff.
Similar resolutions were adopted on the ground that the tax was “unjust,
unequal, and inquisitorial.”  At Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the
county like protests were made.

14.—Equestrian performances were given at Norwich Theatre for a short
season, commencing on this date.  The “beautiful and surprising troop of
horses” appeared in the dramatic spectacles of “Timour, the Tartar,”
“Blue Beard,” “The Tiger Horde,” and “Lodorska.”

—*“All those who have witnessed the performance of Mons. du Pain, at the
Angel Inn, Norwich, particularly his emersing his hands and feet in
boiling lead, express their astonishment at his feats, and the room is
crowded every day.”

—*“Died, lately at Lynn, aged 70, Mr. William Munsen, who pursued the
employment of a shoeblack.  He was reported to be the illegitimate son of
a nobleman, and would never accept offers of pecuniary assistance which
were secretly made to him by his unknown parents.  He supported himself
for 50 years by his humble employment, and was generally known as “Billy
Boots.”  (A detailed account of this individual was compiled by Hone from
the notice in the NORFOLK CHRONICLE.)

16.—The fifth great main of cocks between the gentlemen of Norwich and
the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich,
and after a sharp contest, which lasted the two following days, was won
by the home representatives by a single battle.  Betting was in favour of
Cambridgeshire.

21.*—“The game bull which has been frequently baited near Carrow Abbey is
a very gentle animal, but no dog has yet been found that can pin him
down.”

24.—A prize fight took place between Pegg, “the noted bruiser,” and Fox,
a horse dealer, of Costessey.  “It lasted an hour, when the former
received such a ‘pegging’ that he was carried off in a state of
insensibility.”

—A sea eagle, measuring seven feet six inches from tip to tip of its
expanded wings, and three feet from the crown of its head to the end of
its tail, was killed at Rollesby.


FEBRUARY.


4.*—“Messrs. Mackie, of Norwich, in a very handsome and public-spirited
manner, have presented the trustees of Carrow Bridge with nearly 500
plants of the Cœrulean willow, and have also been at the whole expense of
planting them on each side of the road leading towards Thorpe.”

7.—The new Theatre at Lynn was opened under the management of Mr. John
Brunton with “Lovers’ Vows” and “Raising the Wind.”  In addition to the
manager, the company included Mr. Foote, of the Theatre Royal, Dublin;
Mr. and Mrs. Hall, from the Theatre Royal, York; Mr. Tokeby, Mr. Renaud,
Mr. Gomery, and Mrs. Grove, of the Theatre Royal, Haymarket.  On the 9th
Mr. C. Kemble appeared as Macbeth; on the 11th, Miss Eliza Brunton made
“her first appearance on any stage” as Desdemona to Mr. Kemble’s Othello;
and on March 25th Mrs. Jordan appeared as Widow Cheerley in “The
Soldier’s Daughter,” and on succeeding evenings as Miss Hoyden in “The
Trip to Scarborough,” as Widow Belmour, and as Nell in “The Devil to
Pay.”  A brilliant season terminated on April 18th.  It was said that “in
beauty, simplicity, and correctness of style” this house could “hold
competition with any theatre out of the Metropolis.”

9.—Fifty thousand persons assembled to witness a balloon ascent by a Mr.
Steward from the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  The balloon rose a short
distance and fell in Messrs. Mackie’s nursery grounds, went up again and
descended in a garden.  The mob rushed in, tore the balloon to pieces,
and would have roughly handled the aeronaut but for General Money taking
him into his carriage and conveying him to a place of safety.  A public
subscription had been opened for some weeks previously to defray the cost
of the ascent; and another list was started to recoup Mr. Steward his
loss.

27.—A cocking match took place at the Lobster Inn, St. John Maddermarket,
Norwich, between North Walsham and Norwich.  Feeders: Lamb, for North
Walsham; Stafford, for Norwich.


MARCH.


1.—The poor freemen of Great Wymer Ward, Norwich, presented a silver cup,
of the value of 50 guineas, to Mr. Samuel Mitchell, one of the nominees
of the ward.

—A match was decided at Blickling Park between three horses belonging
respectively to Mr. Sheppard and Mr. Roper, of Coleby, and Mr. Wright, of
Aylsham.  The best of three one mile heats was won by Mr. Sheppard’s
horse.  A second race between two horses, the property of Mr. Gay, of
Oulton, and Mr. Smith, of Aylsham, was won by the former.

4.—Died, at Drayton, Sarah Codenham, aged 105.  “This poor woman had been
so long in poverty and affliction that, according to the overseer’s
calculation, she had cost them £500.”

8.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, and presided over by the Mayor, it
was resolved to petition the House of Lords against the Corn Bill, which
had been passed by the House of Commons by a majority of 119.  (The Bill
was passed by the Lords and received the Royal Assent on the 23rd.)

15.—The Expedition coach arrived in Norwich “with the gratifying account
displayed in large letters on its panels” of the ratification of the
Treaty of Peace with America.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung,
and a bonfire was lighted in the Market Place.

17.—Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Lord Albemarle, and other gentlemen, while
attending a cattle show held on the Castle Ditches, Norwich, by the
Norfolk Agricultural Association, were attacked by a mob in consequence
of their supposed support of the Corn Bill before the House of Commons.
The mob drove them into the Angel yard, and it was not until the
Brunswick Hussars had been called out, and the Riot Act read, that the
disturbance was quelled.  By strategy Mr. Coke and his friends escaped
through the back gate of the Angel Inn and drove to Quidenham Hall.  Some
of the rioters were apprehended, and one of the Brunswickers was wounded
by a stone.  The Mayor and magistrates of Norwich received the
commendations of Government for their activity and exertions in
suppressing the disturbance.  The Grand Jury at the Norfolk Assizes, held
at Thetford on March 29th, resolved “to enter into a subscription to
bring to justice the instigators of the late premeditated attack on Mr.
Coke and other gentlemen.”  On May 2nd the Corporation of Norwich
accorded their thanks to Col. Von Tempsky and the officers and privates
of the Brunswick Hussars for their prompt assistance in quelling the
riot.

—A curious race took place in Chapel Field, Norwich.  The competitors
were Thomas Jenner and William Palmer, “two men with two wooden legs
each.”  The wager of £1 was won by the former.

25.—In the official year, ending this date, Norfolk (including Norwich)
raised the sum of £219,238 10s. 1d. for the poor, church rate, highway
rates, &c.

27.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford on this date,
before Mr. Justice Heath, a curious case, the King _v._ Garratt, was
heard.  This was a criminal indictment which had been moved by
_certiorari_ into the Court of King’s Bench, and was tried at _nisi
prius_.  “It was for a nuisance complained of by the exposition of a
stallion in the public market of East Dereham.”  The Judge was of opinion
that the mere fact of leading a stallion to market was not an offence
indictable at law, and the defendant was acquitted.

A number of human bones and upwards of 20 urns, containing bones in a
calcined state, were this month dug up at a farm at Markshall, adjoining
the Roman camp at Caister, near Norwich.


APRIL.


6.—A new farce (“written by an eminent artist resident in the city”),
founded upon the story of “John Gilpin,” and interspersed with music, was
produced at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.  On the 17th another new
production was staged, “an historical operatic drama in two acts, called
‘The Rebellion, or Norwich in 1549,’” by Mr. George P. Bromley, a member
of the Norwich Company.

22.—Died, at his son’s house in Weymouth Street, London, aged 67, Mr.
William Wilkins, of Newnham, near Cambridge, patentee of the Norwich
Theatre Royal.

—The staff of the West Norfolk Militia, stationed in Norwich, received
orders to raise men by beat of drum instead of by ballot.  Recruiting
parties were sent out for that purpose.  It was announced on May 13th
that these parties, under the direction of Capt. Borrow, had been very
successful in obtaining men.

24.—A smuggling lugger was captured off Hunstanton by the Tiger revenue
cutter with 840 tubs of Geneva on board.

26.—Died, at Norwich, aged 89, Dr. John Beevor, an eminent physician.


MAY.


2.—The Norwich Court of Guardians having employed surveyors at a great
expense to make new assessments of property in the several parishes
within the walls of the city for the purpose of equalising the
poor-rates, St. Saviour’s Vestry meeting passed a resolution protesting
against it on the ground that it would have the effect of increasing both
general and local taxes.  The vestries of other parishes passed similar
resolutions.  At this time the Norwich Guardians raised about £20,000
annually for the relief of the poor.

11.—Early in the morning a boat’s crew from his Majesty’s ship Cadmus, at
Yarmouth, when passing down the river to the harbour’s mouth with
impressed seamen, were attacked by a mob on both banks, and several of
the sailors were severely wounded with stones.  The mob seized the gig
belonging to the Cadmus and destroyed her.  The Admiralty offered a
reward of £20 for the conviction of the offenders.  At the Norfolk
Assizes held at Norwich on August 14th, 1816, before Lord Chief Justice
Gibbs, seven persons were indicted for riotously assembling and rescuing
from the press gang, legally authorised, a person who had been impressed.
The defendants, with one exception, were found guilty.  In the following
December they were sentenced in the Court of King’s Bench to nine months’
imprisonment each.

13.—Died, in St. Giles’ Street, Norwich, aged 20, Mr. H. Fisher, son of
Mr. David Fisher, manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of
Comedians.

18.—At this date a series of disturbances occurred at Norwich Theatre.
Mr. F. A. Vining, a member of the company, in a letter dated May 18th,
and addressed to the patrons of the Theatre, referred to the “injustice
and cruelty which had been heaped upon him within its walls.”  He had
left Norwich to accept an engagement at Covent Garden Theatre and
appeared there with success for 90 or 100 nights.  At the end of the
London season he accepted a further engagement at Norwich, when, it was
alleged, that Mr. Vining, “being found unworthy of a situation in another
theatre,” Mr. Jones, a member of the Norwich Company, was “discharged to
make room for him.”  Mr. Vining denied any personal knowledge of the
matter.  On May 29th several friends of Mr. Jones were committed for
trial at the Quarter Sessions for creating disturbances at the Theatre.
At the Quarter Sessions on July 11th the recognisances of the sureties
who had been bound over for the accused were discharged, “it being the
intention of the prosecution to prefer an indictment at the ensuing
Assizes.”  At the Assizes held on July 25th the Grand Jury found true
bills against the defendants, when the indictments were traversed and the
accused discharged till the next Assizes.  On that occasion the
defendants entered into recognisances to appear at the next ensuing
Assizes, and no further record is given.

20.*—“The diversion of hawking, a sport antiently much used, has been
revived in this country on a considerable scale by Lord Rivers, Major
Wilson, of Didlington, and Mr. Downes, of Gunton.  Their subscription
hawks, under the management of German falconers, have afforded much
amusement to numerous spectators.  Last week they were exhibited at
Newmarket after the races, and flown off at some rooks in the Flat, which
they speedily brought down.”

25.—A Methodist Missionary Society for the Norwich District was formed at
a meeting held at Calvert Street, Norwich.

29.—The prisoners in the City Gaol, Norwich, returned thanks to the Mayor
and Corporation “for 10s. worth of beer given them on the anniversary of
King Charles Restoration.”


JUNE.


4.—King George III. attained his 78th year on this day (Sunday).  The
Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, the Brunswick
Hussars fired a _feu de joie_ in the barrack square, and the Light Horse
Volunteers, commanded by Major J. Harvey, marched into the Market Place,
and after thrice discharging their pistols gave three cheers for the
King.  “The children belonging to the Sunday School of the Independent
Chapel at Lynn, about 800 in number, were regaled with cake and wine.”
On the 5th a society at Norwich, known as “The Loyal Heroes,” celebrated
the Royal birthday by dining at the Pigeons, Charing Cross.

6.—Married at St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, Lieut.-Col. Robert John
Harvey to Charlotte Mary, only daughter of Mr. Robert Harvey, of Watton.
After the service “the wedding party returned to their carriages, a
wedding peal was rung, and the Norwich Light Horse, forming a guard of
honour, acted as escort to the bride and bridegroom, and fired a _feu de
joie_ in front of their house.”

12.—A grand camping match took place at Ranworth.  “They played 24 a
side, but neither party goaled the ball, and it was decided by a bye.”
Between 2,000 and 3,000 persons were present.

—A wrestling match for a subscription purse of £5 took place at the
Bird-in-Hand, Kirby.  The prize was won by a Reedham man.  “A grand
milling afterwards took place between Chapman and Ellis, the Newmarket
Lad.  It was strength and ferocity against science and steady courage,
and was won by the latter, who blinded his opponant in 25 minutes.”

17.—The Brunswick Hussars, commanded by Col. von Tempsky, left Norwich on
their route to Harwich to embark for the Continent.

23.—News was received at Norwich of the battle of Waterloo, fought on
June 18th.  Cannon were fired, and bells rung in celebration of the
victory.  The rejoicings were renewed on the 27th, when the Expedition
and other coaches brought intelligence of the second abdication of
Buonaparte.  The Expedition coach, decorated with laurel and flags, was
dragged through the streets to the singing of “God save the King” and
“Rule Britannia,” and a bonfire, fed with the stalls from the
fish-market, and with other stolen material, was lighted at night.

24.*—“That long and justly complained-of nuisance, St. Stephen’s pit, is
about to be removed.  The Corporation of Norwich have ordered a lease of
it to be granted to Mr. Edward Bacon, builder, and four houses are to be
erected on its scite agreeable to a plan delivered by him for that
purpose.”


JULY.


3.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Among the implements exhibited was
a machine for spreading hay.  “It was drawn by one horse, and by means of
strong iron rakes affixed to an axle or centre completely spread a number
of swathes (three or four according to the length of the rakes) as fast
as the horse could walk.”

6.—A “long and scientific battle” took place between Chapman and Ellis on
a meadow on the Suffolk side of the Waveney, near St. Olaves Bridge.
“From the first to the 17th round the superior size and strength of
Chapman carried him through, and betting was two and three to one in his
favour; but, in the 18th, Ellis went in and gave his opponent three
desperate facers, which brought the betting even till the 31st round,
when Chapman beginning to show evident marks of severe punishment, had
his right eye closed; betting, two to one on Ellis.  In the 54th round
the left eye was closed, and his head became truly terrific, and had from
its swollen state a giant-like appearance.”  Ellis was the winner after a
contest of one hour, 12 minutes, for a subscription purse of £7!

8.—Died at Swaffham, aged 88, Thomas Chesney, gardener.  “What is very
remarkable he never was more than four miles from Swaffham.”

—The following names were published as those of local officers present at
the battle of Waterloo:—Lieut.-Col. Charles West, 3rd Regiment of Guards;
Lieut. the Hon. Horace G. Townshend, 1st Regiment of Guards; Lieut.
Sigismund Trafford, 1st Royal Dragoons, eldest son of Mr. S. Trafford
Southwell; Ensign Alfred Cooper, 14th Regiment, youngest son of Mr. C.
Cooper, Norwich; Col. Sir Edward Kerrison, 7th Dragoons (? Hussars);
Lieut.-Col. Archibald Money, 11th Light Dragoons; and Major Sir George
Hoste, Royal Engineers.

11.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, John Watson was indicted for conspiring
with two other persons unknown to fraudulently obtain a bank note for £10
from Thomas Starling.  The prisoner and two persons, apparently
strangers, were boasting at a public-house how much money they possessed,
when the accused taking prosecutor aside told him that if he could lend
him a £10 note it would enable him to win a wager.  The prosecutor went
out, borrowed the money, and placed it in the hands of the prisoner, who
with the other conspirators went away, taking the money with them.  The
prisoner was sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

13.—Arrived at Yarmouth two transports from Ostend with 300 sick and
wounded soldiers of the Duke of Wellington’s army.  They were removed in
keels from the ships to the hospital on the Denes.

15.*—“The Postmasters-General have established a penny post six days a
week to Stalham, with open letter boxes for the receiving of letters at
that place, Neatishead, and Hoveton, near Wroxham Bridge.”

28.—The High Sheriff, in compliance with a requisition signed by the
county justices in Quarter Sessions, convened a meeting at the Shirehall,
Norwich, when, on the motion of Mr. Robert Fellowes, seconded by the Hon.
Col. Wodehouse, a subscription was opened for the relief of the wounded
survivors, and the widows and children of the soldiers who fell at
Waterloo.  This subscription amounted to £7,000.  Collections were also
made in the city and county churches.

29.—A balloon ascent was made from the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, by Mr.
Sadler.  “All night long hundreds continued to flock into town, and at
daybreak the roads were literally thronged with people.  Some hours
before noon the principal avenues to the Market Place were blocked up
with vehicles for which accommodation could not be found in the inn
yards, and horses were picketed in the streets.  Lodging and
accommodation at the inns were very difficult to obtain, and in many
instances a guinea was given for a bed.”  Miss Bathurst, daughter of the
Bishop of Norwich, presented the aeronaut with a banner previous to the
ascent.  The balloon rose at 3.35 and descended at 4.30 p.m., in a field
near Sprowston Hall.  “Among the company present in the Ranelagh Gardens
was General Money, who 30 years previously, namely on Saturday, July
23rd, 1785, made a similar ascent, and was blown out to sea, where he was
rescued by the Argus Revenue cutter.”

31.—A baker was fined before the Mayor of Norwich for “exposing bread to
sell on the Lord’s day before the hour of ten o’clock in the morning.”
Shortly afterwards 15 persons were summoned for like offences, and the
Master and Wardens of the Bakers’ Company applied that the fines might be
strictly enforced.


AUGUST.


1.—A cricket match was played on Hempton Green between the united
parishes of Litcham, Dunham, and Brisley, and of Walsingham and Fakenham.
“The latter team, although unparalleled in the annals of cricketeering,
did not get a single notch.”

5.*—“Mr. Bellamy, the favourite comedian of the Norwich Company, is
engaged by the managers of Covent Garden Theatre at a liberal salary.”
The London Press criticised his “provincial twang,” and described his
performance of the part of Polonius as “somewhat outlandish.”

8.—Died, at Downham Market, Mr. Zachary Clark, “one of the people called
Quakers.”  He founded a Lancasterian school in the town, and in 1811
published an account of the different charities belonging to the poor in
Norfolk.

13.—A serious fire occurred near the church of St. Lawrence, Norwich.
Six houses were destroyed.  The fire originated at the house of a cabinet
maker named Hubbard.

15.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia marched from Norwich
for Ipswich under command of Major Barnham; the second division, under
Lieut.-Col. Nelthorpe, marched on the 16th, and the remainder on the
17th.  The strength of the regiment was upwards of 500 rank and file,
chiefly raised in three months by beat of drum.  The corps embarked at
Harwich, and sailed for Ireland on August 28th.

—A division of the King’s German Legion, under command of Capt. Meyer,
marched into Norwich from Harwich, where they had landed from Cuxhaven.

19.*—“Last week a well-contested battle was fought at Cley between John
Bell and the noted Matthew Randall, well known for his skill in gymnastic
exercises.  Betting was two and three to one in favour of Randall.  After
20 minutes’ hard fighting Bell won.  The known bottom of Bell and the
tried science of Randall drew a considerable concourse of people, among
whom were noticed many distinguished characters of the neighbourhood.  A
handsome subscription was made for the conqueror, who was taken from the
ground in a gentleman’s carriage.”

—The Norfolk, Suffolk, and London Accommodation Coach, owned by John
Noller, was advertised to leave the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, every Monday,
Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock, and to travel through
Scole, Eye, and Debenham.  Fares: Insides, 18s.; outsides, 12s.

19.*—“Died, last week, aged 94, John Minns, worstead weaver, of St.
Paul’s, Norwich.  He had anticipated the event 16 years ago, and had then
his coffin made, which he had ever since kept in an adjoining room, and
actually used as a cupboard.”

22.—The Corporation of Yarmouth elected Mr. Robert Alderson, Steward of
Norwich, Recorder of that borough.


SEPTEMBER.


3.—A lad, named Henry Thirkettle, when nutting in Hempnall Wood, touched
the wire of a spring gun, and the charge entering his body inflicted
terrible injuries.  William Ebbage, in the service of Mr. Henry Usborne,
of Heydon Hall, was on October 28th similarly injured.  Mr. Gurney,
barrister, was consulted as to the legality of the use of spring guns.
His opinion was that their use was not lawful, and that in case of death
a verdict of murder might be returned against the master who authorised
the use of, and the servant who set a spring gun.  A contrary opinion was
expressed by another barrister.

6.—Died at Ber Street, Norwich, aged 68, Martin Drummee, a noted bird
fancier, “by which business he had accumulated considerable property.”

9.*—“According to the Charter of the borough of Yarmouth, the Aldermen
and Common Councilmen are annually to assemble and choose _before they
separate_ ‘the most discrete’ alderman to be Mayor.  The election of Mr.
Cory did not take place until after a strong trial of patience and
abstinence on both sides.  The electors assembled on the _Tuesday_ noon,
and remained shut up (with only such provisions as they carried in their
pockets) until ten o’clock on the _Thursday_ night, when the six whose
supplies were first exhausted found themselves obliged to agree with the
other six who were better provided, and to surrender their votes to avoid
starvation, and a third night’s confinement in the Church Hall.”

16.—Equestrian performances commenced at the Pantheon, Harper’s Gardens,
Norwich, under the management of R. Usher, “late clown at Astley’s Royal
Amphitheatre, and J. Clarke, the celebrated equestrian of the Royal
Circus, London.”

19.—At the Yarmouth Race Assembly on this date “it was the general remark
that there was too much display in the ball-room, attributed by some to
the ladies in the hurry of setting off having left, what ought to be
considered a necessary article of dress, behind them.”

25.—Married, Mr. D. Fisher, manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of
Comedians, to Miss F. B. Bane, niece to Mr. Aldrich, of Pulham.

—Died at Burnham Westgate, Sir Mordaunt Martin, Bart., aged 75.  He
passed the last 50 years of his life in retirement at Burnham Thorpe,
devoting his time principally to the study and practice of agriculture.

26.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 50, Mrs. Holland.  “Her death was occasioned
by her being frightened by the stories of a Mrs. Spaul, who pretended to
tell fortunes.”  Mrs. Spaul was committed to gaol by the Mayor.

29.—Mr. Thomas Thurtell, alderman, and Mr. William Foster were sworn into
office as Sheriffs of Norwich, and entertained a large company to dinner
at Chapel Field House.


OCTOBER.


1.—Died at his house on Tombland, Norwich, Robert Dixon, aged 35.  He
studied at the Royal Academy, settled in Norwich as an artist in 1800,
and gave lessons in drawing.  “As a scene painter Mr. Dixon stood proudly
pre-eminent, and Norwich Theatre may boast of monuments of his
greatness.”  A public exhibition of his works was held in the room of the
Norwich Society of Artists, and on January 22nd, 1816, a performance was
given at the Theatre, for the benefit of his widow and children.

17.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions the Grand Jury made a presentment on
the defective state of the pavements, and expressed the opinion that, the
streets were inadequately cleansed and lighted.

19.—A grand musical performance was given at St. Stephen’s Church,
Norwich, in aid of the Blind School.  The principal performers were Miss
King, Mr. Barrow, and Mr. French; leader of the band, Mr. Fish; at the
organ, Mr. Pettet.

21.—The Norwich, Ipswich, Colchester, and London Post Coach was
advertised to start from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, at eight o’clock
every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning.


NOVEMBER.


4.*—“Died lately, aged 101, Mrs. Stockings, of East Harling.”

11.—The Day Norwich and London New Post Coach was advertised to perform
the journey between Norwich and the Metropolis in 14 hours.  It started
from the Rampant Horse Inn every morning at six o’clock, and arrived the
same evening at the Black Bull Inn and Spread Eagle Inn, Gracechurch
Street.  It left London at six o’clock on the following morning.  The
proprietors were Richard Gurney, Ann Nelson and Sons, T. and J. Boyce,
Samuel Bright, and William Jones.

14.—The Duke of York arrived at Quidenham Hall on a visit to the Earl of
Albemarle for a week’s pheasant shooting.

16.—In the Court of King’s Bench, Benjamin Branford, Joshua Forby, James
Jessup, and William Quant, convicted at the Norfolk Assizes of conspiring
to falsely accuse Mr. Henry Goggs, of Whissonsett, of a serious offence,
were sentenced, Branford to twelve months’, Forby to six months’, and
Jessup and Quant to three months’ imprisonment in Norwich Castle.

24.—Died, at Thursford, Sir George Chad, Bart., aged 84.

27.—The Marquis Cornwallis, Earl and Lady Chatham, and other
notabilities, passed through Norwich on their way from Blickling Hall to
Henham Park.

30.—The Duke of Gloucester, the Lord Bishop of Norwich, and the Earl and
Countess of Albemarle, visited Mr. T. W. Coke at Holkham.


DECEMBER.


1.—Lord Sydney visited Yarmouth and was presented with the patent of the
office of High Steward of the borough.  His lordship invited the
Corporation to dinner at the Nelson Hotel, and General Loftus, M.P., by
whom he was accompanied, gave a ball at the Town Hall.

7.—A sixteenth share of the lottery prize of £50,000 three per cent.
consols was drawn by Mr. C. Davy, farmer, Great Plumstead.

16.—Died at his house in St. James’s Square, London, in his 70th year,
Charles Howard, Duke of Norfolk, Earl Marshal and Hereditary Marshal of
England.  He was succeeded in his titles, hereditary honours, and
principal estates, by Mr. Barnard Edward Howard, of Fornham, near Bury
St. Edmund’s.

18.—Colombier’s French Company of Equestrians commenced an engagement at
the Pantheon, Norwich.

24.—Died, Mrs. Mary Dye, of Elsing, aged 101.

—Lord and Lady Castlereagh arrived in Norwich, and after dining at the
Norfolk Hotel, proceeded on a visit to Lord Suffield, at Blickling Park.

30.*—“A fire engine completed by Mr. Jordan, an ingenious mechanic, of
this city (Norwich), and requiring only 18 men to work it, was tried
against one of Hadley and Co.’s patent engines in the Market Place
yesterday, and proved equal, if not superior, to it in power.  Messrs.
Hartley’s engine cost £180 and Mr. Jordan’s only £80.”



1816.


JANUARY.


5.—At a Provincial Grand Lodge of Freemasons held at Norwich, Sir Jacob
Henry Astley, M.P., was elected Grand Master.

6.—Mr. Thomas Coldwell was appointed postmaster at Norwich, in place of
G. Litchfield.

—*“One day this week a salmon trout measuring one yard four inches, and
weighing twenty-one pounds, was caught in Trowse River, near Norwich.”

18.—Thanksgiving day for the restoration of Peace.  The Mayor and
Corporation of Norwich attended the Cathedral in state, and services were
held at most of the city churches.

20.—Died, aged 83, Mr. James Clabburn, many years keeper of the Close
Jail, at Norwich.

—*“An order has been received at Norwich for upwards of 10,000 pieces of
broad whites from the East India Company, and distributed among the
different manufacturers much in the same proportions as last year.”

—*“There is now living in Forncett St. Mary a Mrs. Knights, who is 106
years old.”

24.—Mr. Betty, originally known as the Young Roscius, commenced an
engagement at Norwich Theatre.  He appeared as Douglas, Sir Edward
Mortimer (“The Iron Chest”), and Rolla (“Pizarro”).

25.—At the 51st anniversary meeting of the Castle Corporation, at
Norwich, Mr. Thomas Back presented to the society two medals to be worn
respectively by the “Recorder” and “Steward.”  They were intended to
commemorate the battle of Waterloo.

25.—A memorial was sent to the Postmaster-General by the inhabitants of
Norwich, setting forth the great inconvenience occasioned by the late
delivery of letters by the mail.  Afterwards the coach arrived at twelve
o’clock instead of at one o’clock.

27.*—“Died, at Exeter, aged 63, Mr. John Bennett, formerly of the Norwich
Theatre.”

29.—Died, in his 87th year, Mr. Robert Harvey, of Norwich.  He twice
served the office of Mayor (1770 and 1800), and at his death was “Father
of the City.”  “He enjoyed the gratification of seeing his three
surviving sons holding high municipal positions, one of whom received the
additional honour of being its representative in Parliament.”


FEBRUARY.


3.—Mr. Dowton commenced an engagement of four nights at Norwich Theatre.
He appeared as Sir Anthony Absolute, Abednego (“The Jew and the Doctor”),
Sir Francis Gripe (“The Busybody”), Scout (“The Village Lawyer”), and Old
Dorley (“Who’s the Dupe?”).

4.—Died at Hamilton Place, London, Robert, Earl of Buckinghamshire, Baron
Hobart, President of the India Board.  He was half brother to John, Earl
of Buckinghamshire, who resided at Blickling, and who was father of Lady
Suffield and Lady Castlereagh.

5.—Died in St. Stephen’s, Norwich, aged 69, Sir John Odingsells Leake,
Bart., formerly of Quebec House, East Dereham.

12.—Mr. Elliston appeared at Lynn Theatre as Duke Aranza (“The
Honeymoon”) and Rover (“Wild Oats”).

16.—A high tide at Yarmouth.  The Denes and the west side of the haven
were inundated.  A similar occurrence had not been recorded since 1791.
A flood also took place at Lynn.

17.—Mrs. Davison, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Letitia
Hardy (“Belle’s Stratagem”), and on succeeding evenings as Maria (“Of Age
To-morrow”), Peggy (“The Country Girl”), &c.

20.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, when resolutions
against the continuance of the Property Tax, and a petition to the House
of Commons, were adopted.  On the 9th a county meeting was held at the
Shirehouse, Norwich, at which a petition to both Houses of Parliament for
repealing some of the taxes affecting agriculture, was unanimously agreed
to.  The meeting was held in consequence of a requisition signed by
farmers only who confined their objection to the clause in the Property
Tax which related to the tenants’ duty, and to the Agricultural Horse
Tax.  On the 23rd a second county meeting was held, when resolutions
congratulating the county on the rejection of the Property Tax and the
relinquishment of the War Duty on malt were passed.  A petition to
Parliament was also unanimously agreed to, recommending a reduction of
the military establishment, and the adoption of such a system of economy
as might render a further continuance of War Taxes unnecessary.

25.—Died at Ranworth, William Browne, in his 104th year.

26.—Mrs. Bartley, of Drury Lane, appeared as Isabella (“The Fatal
Marriage”), at Norwich Theatre.


MARCH.


4.—Mr. Incledon, accompanied by Mr. Collyer and Master Taylor, commenced
a four nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre.  He appeared as Capt.
Macheath (“Beggars’ Opera”), Hawthorne, Tom Tug, and Steady (“The
Quaker”).

9.*—“One day this week some men were opening in St. Peter Mancroft
Church, Norwich, a vault which had been closed nine years, when they
found three bats entirely covered with mould and dust.  They were in a
state of complete torpidity, but one of them immediately took flight.”

13.—A severe thunderstorm, accompanied by rain and hail, occurred at
Yarmouth and other places in the neighbourhood.

18.—Miss L. Kelly, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Juliet.
She was joined on the 21st by her sister, Miss F. Kelly.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Baron Wood, Robert
Lord, _alias_ Davies, and William Hardy were indicted for having forged
notes in their possession.  A curious circumstance led to the detection
of the first-named prisoner.  A parcel was sent from London by the
Fakenham coach addressed to “Isaac Davies, Tivetshall Ram, Norfolk.”  The
address was so badly written as to be mistaken for “Swetshall Ram,” and,
as no such place could be found, the proprietor of the coach opened the
parcel and discovered the forged notes.  Lord was found guilty, and
sentenced to 14 years’ transportation.  Hardy was acquitted.

19.—Died, Nehemiah Haylett, of Kenninghall, aged 101.

21.—Died, at Lynn, Mr. Thomas Day, in his 87th year.  He was the oldest
burgess in that town, and the last of the officers of the West Norfolk
Militia, who, in 1759, volunteered their services to the Government.  In
1779, when the Lynn Volunteers were formed, Mr. Day was selected Colonel
Commandant.

23.*—“Died lately at Dunham, in his 85th year, Thomas Grounds, and about
an hour after, Jane, his wife, in her 83rd year.  They were both buried
in one coffin.”

29.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved
on the motion of Mr. Robert Fellowes, seconded by the Rev. J. Ives, to
establish a Savings Bank.  The bank was opened, with offices in St.
Andrew’s Hall, on April 29th, and on the first day £86 3s. 6d. was
received from depositors in sums of 1s. and upwards.

30.*—(Advt.)  “By desire of Thomas Thurtell, Esq., and William Foster,
Esq., Sheriffs of the City of Norwich, at the Theatre Royal, on Saturday,
April 6th, the Comedy of ‘The Road to Ruin,’ the Farce called ‘The Lyar,’
and the Burlesque Opera ‘Bombastes Furioso.’”

31.—Died very suddenly at an advanced age, in the pulpit of Hales Church,
the Rev. Valentine Lumley Barnard, rector of Stockton, Norfolk.


APRIL.


3.—A meeting of merchants, manufacturers, &c., was held at the Guildhall,
Norwich, when resolutions were passed to instruct the members of
Parliament for the city to watch and oppose the intended measure for
allowing the exportation of wool free of all restrictions.  The measure
was for the time relinquished.

4.—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which it was
unanimously resolved to petition Parliament for the repeal of the
Insolvent Debtors Act, as being in its operation injurious to trade and
commerce.

6.*—“A troop of the 1st Royal Dragoons arrived at Norwich from Ipswich
last week.  The officers and soldiers were wearing their Waterloo
medals.”

—Edward Lea was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for uttering forged
Bank of England notes.

15.—Sir Simon le Blanc, one of the judges of the Court of King’s Bench,
and many years leading counsel on the Norfolk Circuit, died in London, in
his 68th year.

—Mr. and Mrs. Bartley, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced playing a round
of characters at Norwich Theatre.

16.—The Rev. St. John Priest was instituted to the rectory of
Billingford, on the presentation of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., who
“acknowledged, in a very handsome manner, the obligation he felt to that
gentleman for his exertions in the cause of agriculture, and particularly
as secretary to the Norfolk Agricultural Association, which office he had
held for 13 years without emolument.”

19.—A main of cocks of 21 battles was fought at the Feathers Inn,
Yarmouth, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Suffolk,
at five guineas the battle and ten guineas the odd.  Feeders: Layton for
Norfolk, Kersey for Suffolk.  The match was continued on the 20th.

23.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions John William Smith was charged with
stealing a silver spoon from the Waggon and Horses public-house, the
property of William Smith, and a coat, the property of Michael Callow,
from the Crown Inn, St. Stephen’s.  The prisoner, a farmer, had occupied
300 acres of land, and resided on his own estate at Great Ellingham.  He
was sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

24.—By the alteration introduced by Government in the Local Militia
establishment the pay of the permanent staff ceased, the accoutrements
were sent into store, and the non-commissioned officers and drummers
discharged.  The only officer retained was the adjutant, who was placed
on the reduced pay of 4s. per diem.

27.—Died, aged 85, Mr. Henry Thompson, one of the chief burgesses of
Thetford.  He had been a member of the Corporation more than half a
century, five times served the office of chief magistrate, and in 1806
was appointed one of the assistant justices of the borough.


MAY.


3.—At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was ordered that
the Hospital and City Committees be empowered to recommend to the next
assembly to make such abatements in the rents of the Corporation farms as
they might think necessary in consequence of the reduced price of grain,
wheat being from 36s. to 37s.; barley, 11s. 6d. to 13s.; and oats, 9s.
6d. to 10s. 6d. per coomb.

11.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia, under command of Col.
Nelthorpe, marched into Norwich on their return from Ireland; the second
division, under Major Barnham, arrived on the 13th.  The regiment was
disembodied on June 17th.

—*“Died in September last at Allahabad, in his 32nd year, Richard Turner,
jun., Judge of the Provisional Court at Agra, and eldest son of the Rev.
Richard Turner, Great Yarmouth.”

16.—A serious riot occurred at Norwich.  A crowd assembled in the Market
Place, threw fire balls and broke the windows at the Guildhall.  They
then broke into the New Mills, threw a quantity of flour into the river,
and carried some away in sacks.  On their return from the Mills they
smashed many windows in St. Andrew’s, Bank Street, Tombland, Magdalen
Street, and other localities.  Dr. Alderson came out of his house to
remonstrate with them and was knocked down.  The Mayor and magistrates
assembled at the Guildhall, special constables were sworn in, and the mob
dispersed.  A picket of the West Norfolk Militia was stationed all night
at the Guildhall, and a party of the 1st Royal Dragoons patrolled the
streets.  The disturbances were renewed on the 18th, when the Riot Act
was read, and the mob dispersed by the military.

18.—The proprietors of the Norwich Expedition coach to London by Thetford
and Newmarket announced a reduction of fares to £1 15s. for inside, and
£1 for outside passengers.  From this date the Expedition started at
three o’clock in the afternoon and reached London at nine o’clock next
morning.

20.—A riot took place at Downham Market.  The magistrates assembled at
the Crown Inn were publicly insulted, and so much disorder ensued that
the Upwell Yeomanry Cavalry were called out, and the Riot Act read, after
which the crowd gradually dispersed.  A demand had been made for wages of
2s. per day to be paid every Monday and Thursday.  In consequence of the
farmers having refused to comply, another disturbance took place on the
24th, when two women and several men were apprehended and committed to
Norwich Castle.  The prisoners were charged at the Norfolk Assizes, held
at Norwich in August, before Lord Chief Justice Gibbs, when sixteen were
found guilty and sentenced to death, but only two, Daniel Harwood and
Thomas Thody, were left for execution, which took place on the Castle
Hill on August 31st.  “The recollection of his wife and children and the
horror of immediate death overcame Thody’s fortitude.  He was nearly
sinking down under the agony of grief and terror, which he expressed by
convulsive shrieks, and was obliged to be supported by several men.”

22.—At a meeting of owners and occupiers of land, at Diss, a series of
resolutions was proposed by the Rev. Mr. Manning, rector, in favour of
the commutation of the tithes.  It was decided to petition the House of
Commons on the subject.  Similar meetings were held in other parishes in
the district.

27.—Mrs. Mardyn, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at
Norwich Theatre as Albina Mandeville in the comedy of “The Will.”  On
succeeding evenings she appeared as Amelia Wildenham (“Lovers’ Vows”),
Widow Brady (“The Irish Widow”), Miss Peggy (“The Country Girl”), and
Miranda (“The Busybody”).

28.—At a “grand wrestling,” which took place at Kirby, twenty-four
“professors” entered the ring, and “a finer display of science was never
exhibited.”  A man named Starling was the winner.  “A smart milling took
place between Broughton and Ives, the former a regular descendant of the
great pugilist of that name.  Ives proved entirely destitute of science
and was badly beaten.”

31.—Under the sanction of the Norwich magistrates and the Court of
Guardians the defective silver of the labouring poor of the city was
exchanged for current coin.


JUNE.


8.*—“Died last week at Reedham, in his 104th year, John Andrews, a
labouring brickmaker.  He married in the early part of his life, and had
six children, who are now old people.  He was left a widower at 55, and
at 64 married his present widow, who was but 22.  Notwithstanding the
disparity of years she proved the greatest blessing to him in his old
age, for she treated him with the greatest kindness and attention.”

10.—A new theatre was opened at East Dereham by the Norfolk and Suffolk
Company of Comedians.  “It is fitted up in a style of neatness and
elegance scarcely to be met with in any country town.  The painting and
decorations of the interior were executed by Mr. D. Fisher, to whose
known taste they do ample credit.  Mr. Fisher has brought with him a most
respectable company.”

15.—Died, Mrs. Cross, of Swaffham, aged 100.

17.—At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich a
congratulatory address was ordered to be presented to the Prince Regent
on the marriage of the Princess Charlotte of Wales and Prince Leopold of
Saxe-Coburg.  A similar address was voted by the Court of Mayoralty on
July 10th.

—A three days cocking match between the gentlemen of Norwich and the
gentlemen of Norfolk commenced at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft,
Norwich, for 10 guineas a battle and 100 guineas the odd.  Norwich won by
six battles.

17.—The old people in the Great Hospital, St. Helen’s, Norwich, having
been deprived of the dinner of roast goose on Michaelmas Day in
consequence of the death of the benefactor who provided it, Mr. Robert
Partridge on this date “signified to the Norwich Corporation his
intention to give £100 as a benefaction that the Michaelmas dinner of
goose may be revived and continued in future.”

18.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor (Mr. W. Hankes) entertained the
members of the Corporation at luncheon at the Guildhall; and on the 19th
“gave plenty of beer and plumb cake” to the poor of his own and of other
parishes.

—The first anniversary of the battle of Waterloo was celebrated at the
Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, by a dinner to the non-commissioned officers
and privates of the 1st Royal Dragoons, to other soldiers quartered in
Norwich, and to pensioners.  The wives and children of the soldiers were
also entertained.  The cost was defrayed by public subscription, of which
£10 was given by the Corporation.

29.*—“At Whaplode Drove feast last week Mr. John Goodger, aged 104 years,
danced a hornpipe, sang a song, and played at four-corners, the latter
being his favourite amusement, to the great gratification of the company
present.”


JULY.


1.—At Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, improved
horse hoes were shown by Mr. Blaikie, Mr. Coke’s farm manager.

10.—George Wilson, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 50 miles in 12 hours
at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  He commenced at eight o’clock and
finished the first mile in 11 minutes 35 seconds.  His pace was
afterwards a mile in from 12½ to 13 minutes.  He completed the distance
at 7.45 p.m. with 15 minutes to spare.  On the 22nd a man named Skipper,
an ostler at the Barley Mow public-house, Norwich, backed himself to walk
over the same course in the same time, and completed his task in 11 hours
10 minutes.  On August 27th Wilson commenced a walk of 50 miles per day
of 13 hours for five successive days on the bowling-green of the Crown
public-house at South Lynn, and accomplished the task.  “What is very
remarkable he never perspired.  On the third day he lost his great toe
nail off the left foot, which he pulled out by the roots in the presence
of numerous spectators.”

17.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions four labourers were indicted for
having riotously assembled with 100 other persons at Hockham, on May
19th, and destroyed a thrashing machine, the property of Mr. William
Burlingham.  Two of the prisoners were sentenced to twelve months’, and
two to three months’ imprisonment, and all were required to find sureties
for their future behaviour.  (This was the first machine breaking case
recorded in the county.)

18.—After a week’s continuous rain, which greatly impeded the hay
harvest, a severe thunderstorm occurred.  On the 31st the crops were
beaten down by heavy rains, acres of turnips were washed away, and in
several villages the lanes were full of water.  On August 12th there was
another heavy rain, and on August 31st a hurricane blew, wrecking many
colliers between Blakeney and Mundesley.  The rains continued to the
month of October, when, in consequence of the low lying lands being under
water, all hopes were abandoned for the favourable termination of the
harvest.  Such wet weather had not been experienced since 1799, in which
year there were only 166 fair days.

20.—A public announcement on this date stated that the following coaches
started from the Angel Inn, Norwich:—The London Royal Mail, by way of
Newmarket, every afternoon at 3.45; the London Royal Mail, _viâ_ Ipswich
and Colchester, ditto; the Wells Prince of Orange Post coach (William
Sizeland and T. S. Coldwell), Wednesday and Friday at 12.45 p.m., Sunday
at 8.15 a.m.; Holt Duke of Wellington Post coach (T. Coldwell and J.
Love), _viâ_ Aylsham, every afternoon at 3.45.  From the Rampant Horse
Inn: The London Day coach (in 14 hours) every morning at six.  From the
Norfolk Hotel: The Telegraph London coach (in 13 hours) every morning at
seven o’clock, _viâ_ Newmarket.  The last two were opposition coaches.
The proprietors of the Day coach announced that, although the Telegraph
had been started in opposition, they would “not risk the lives of their
passengers by racing against time,” but would continue to perform the
journey “with steadiness and regularity.”

29.—One of the new steam packets plying between Norwich and Yarmouth got
aground on Breydon.  Mrs. Clifford and other members of the Norwich
Company of Comedians were on board.  “By their detention the performance
at the theatre could not take place, and the expectant audience had their
money returned.”

30.—A two days cocking match commenced at Yarmouth, “in the large room
adjoining the Feathers Inn,” between the gentlemen of Norwich and the
gentlemen of Yarmouth.


AUGUST.


10.—The annual exhibition of “The Norfolk and Norwich Society of Artists”
was advertised to open on this date at the “New Room,” Theatre Plain,
Norwich.  It was announced that “this Society consists of the principal
part of the original artists.”  On the same day was advertised “The 12th
annual exhibition of the Norwich Original Society of Artists, established
1803.”  The exhibition was to take place during the Assize week, “in
their great room, Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court, Cockey Lane.”  The
NORFOLK CHRONICLE makes this comment:—“The schism which has taken place
among the exhibiting artists appears to have been productive of increased
exertions on the part of the respective members of both societies.  Our
sincere wish to promote their fame and prosperity, and to heal rather
than to ferment their differences, induces us earnestly to recommend
their performances to the attention and patronage of the public which
they highly deserve.”

12.—Mr. Kemble appeared in the part of Cato at Norwich Theatre.  On
succeeding evenings he took the characters of Penruddock (“Wheel of
Fortune”), King Lear, Shylock, Sir Giles Overreach (“A New Way to Pay Old
Debts”), and Macbeth.

18.—The Judges of Assize on leaving Norwich passed through Attleborough,
and attended service at the parish church.  The Lord Chief Justice, Sir
Vicary Gibbs, in walking through the nave, discovered a stone on which
were his own crest and arms; the inscription thereon was to the memory of
Capt. John Gibbs, who died October 22, 1695.  “Mr. Le Neve,” says
Blomfield, “calls him the famous Capt Gibbs.  He was a celebrated man on
the turf in King Charles the Second’s time.  He laid a wager of 500
guineas that he drove his light chaise and four horses up and down the
deepest place of the Devil’s Ditch on Newmarket Heath, which he performed
by making a very light chaise with a jointed perch, and without any pole,
to the surprise of the spectators.”

24.*—“Her Royal Highness Princess Charlotte has graciously expressed her
determination not only to wear but to introduce and recommend the
coloured bombazins, manufactured in Norwich.”  Mr. William Williment was
appointed manufacturer to her Royal Highness.

25.—A woman named Fox, 100 years old, walked from Norwich to Plumstead, a
distance of nearly five miles.  “She commenced her journey at eight
o’clock in the morning, rested three hours at her friend’s house, and
walking home arrived at Norwich at seven o’clock in the evening.”

31.*—“The stupendous undertaking of the tunnel of Tavistock canal,
communicating the Tavy and the Tamar, was engineered by Mr. John Taylor,
jun., of Norwich.”

—Thomas Moy was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for sheep stealing.
“He was 33 years of age, farmed 100 acres of land at Binham, and has left
a wife and seven young children.”


SEPTEMBER.


7.—Cromer Theatre was described as a place of entertainment “fashionably
attended.”  “The house, or rather, barn, which is neatly fitted up, is
under the management of Mr. Eldred.”

11.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “the situation of
children employed in sweeping chimnies” was discussed, “and the means of
superseding the necessity for such employment by mechanical means” were
taken into consideration.  A committee was appointed to promote the use
of the sweeping apparatus, which, however, was but partially adopted.

16.—Intelligence was received at Norwich of the successful attack on
Algiers by the British fleet, under the command of Admiral Lord Exmouth,
on August 27th.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung in celebration
of the event.

23.—A silver cup and two drinking horns were rowed for by four-oared
boats, the best two heats out of three, from Carrow Bridge to Thorpe and
back, distance two and a quarter miles.  Five boats competed.  The cup
was won by the Cytherea (Mr. Joseph Stannard), and the horns by the
Friends (Mr. Garland).


OCTOBER.


4.—The third or “grand victory match” was played on Hempton Green,
Fakenham, between the Holt and Aylsham cricket clubs.  Aylsham won with
seven wickets to spare.

14.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which it
was agreed to petition the Legislature to effect a retrenchment of the
public expenditure, and a reform of the House of Commons.

17.—The new Concert Room in St. George’s Bridge Street, Norwich,
purchased of the proprietors of the Steam Flour Mill, and fitted up by
the members of the Hall Concert (a musical society which had existed 30
years) was opened.  The room was capable of seating 300 persons.

23.—A pigeon shooting match took place on a field near the Town Close,
Norwich, between Mr. Nicholas Bacon, and the Rev. Mr. Pitman, of Oulton.
“They fired 21 shots each, but it proved a drawn bet, for they each
killed 14 birds.  Mr. Pitman brought down his 15th bird, but as it fell
two inches beyond the distance allowed, 100 yards, it could not be
reckoned.  There were many bets depending, which, of course, remained
undecided.”  (This is the first recorded pigeon match in Norfolk.)

24.—Wheat was standing uncut in several parts of Norfolk, on the same
farm where corn was sown for next year’s crop.

28.—A salmon trout, 57 inches in length and weighing 16½ pounds, was
caught at the New Mills, Norwich.  On the 31st another of 26 pounds
weight was taken at the same place.

29.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation an address was
ordered to be presented to the Prince Regent, praying for “the utmost
retrenchment of the public expenditure consistent with the welfare of the
State.”


NOVEMBER.


2.—Died at Narford Hall, the seat of Mr. Andrew Fountaine, his
son-in-law, Mr. Thomas Penrice, of Great Yarmouth, to whom the eccentric
Lord Chedworth left the bulk of his large property.

9.*—“The wealth of Mr. Watson Taylor, the purchaser of Houghton Hall, is
immense.  For that mansion, and a large track of land around, he gave the
Marquis Cholmondeley £350,000.  Mr. Taylor, by the will of an ancestor,
is bound to spend £700,000 in landed estates, and besides the income
which may arise from them he has £95,000 a year.”

10.—Buxoo, a Bengalese, a native of Calcutta, was publicly baptised at
Burnham Market church by the Rev. John Glasse, by the names of John Henry
Martin.  He was brought over to this country in a ship commanded by Capt.
Glasse.

14.—The Courier steam packet made its passage from Foundry Bridge,
Norwich, to Yarmouth in three hours twenty-five minutes.

28.—The Duke of Gloucester made his annual visit to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.,
at Holkham Hall.  During the week’s shooting Mr. Coke killed at Warham a
female _Falco Lagopus_, or rough legged falcon, measuring nearly five
feet across the wings, and two feet one inch in length.  The male bird
was afterwards caught in a trap at Wighton.  Two of these birds were
taken the following week at Wighton.

Died this month, Mrs. Tabitha Starling, of Brooke, aged 103.


DECEMBER.


7.—The Duke of Gloucester concluded his visit to Holkham.  On the last
day his Royal Highness proposed the toast, “Prosperity to those Whig
principles which placed the House of Hanover on the Throne of Britain.”

14.*—“Died lately, regretted by all who knew him, in the 65th year of his
age, Charles Boyles, Esq., Vice-Admiral of the Blue, and a few years
since Colonel of the Royal Marines.  This distinguished officer commanded
the Windsor Castle man-of-war in the action off Ferrol, between the
English fleet, under Sir Richard Calder, and the combined fleets of
France and Spain.  During this engagement it fell to the lot of but few
ships to be advantageously opposed to the enemy.  The return to
Portsmouth of the crippled Windsor Castle with two Spanish 74’s was a
triumph exultingly spoken of by Nelson as being principally the
achievement of a Norfolk man.  Admiral Boyles was a native of Wells in
this county, and eldest son of Charles Boyles, Esq., many years collector
of the customs at that port.  He commenced his naval career with Lord
Nelson in the Raisonnable, when commanded by Capt. Suckling.”

21.—Wombwell’s “Royal Menagerie of foreign beasts and birds” was
exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

31.—A prize fight took place at Wickhampton between Samuel Smith and
James Rushmer.  One hundred and eleven rounds were fought in two hours
five minutes, when the ring was broken into, and owing to the confusion
it was impossible to renew the fight, which was declared drawn.



1817.


JANUARY.


1.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, a subscription was
opened for the relief of the labouring and manufacturing poor.  Upwards
of £3,050 was contributed, and several works were commenced for the
improvement of the city.  At Yarmouth over £1,000 was subscribed, and 460
men were employed in forming roads to the bath-house, jetty, &c.

4.—Several coach advertisements were published this month.  On the 4th it
was announced that the Norwich, Ipswich, Colchester, Chelmsford, and
London Accommodation coach (J. Noller and Co.) set out every Monday,
Wednesday, and Saturday from the Coach and Horses, Bethel Street,
Norwich.  The proprietors of the Expedition coach announced that a
“single body coach upon a now construction” would start from the White
Swan, St. Peter’s, Norwich, every afternoon at three o’clock, and travel
by Thetford and Newmarket, to London, where it arrived on the following
morning at eight o’clock.  “For the better accommodation of outside
passengers the coach has a car attached to it with an awning and sliding
curtain.”

4.*—“Died lately, at an advanced age, Mr. Christopher Jarvis, many years
a miller at Wendling, and was wounded at the memorable battle of Minden.”

20.—Mr. Mathews, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as
Goldfinch (“The Road to Ruin”), Somno (“The Sleep Walker”), and in his
sketch entitled “The Humours of the Playhouse.”

—On the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were rung 5,016 changes of
Norwich Court Bob Maximus in four hours two minutes, the first length of
that intricate peal ever rung in England on twelve bells.  It was
conducted by Mr. R. Chesnut.

25.*—“Messrs. Squire, Son, and Hills, of St. Faith’s Lane, Norwich, in
addition to the rectifying and vinegar departments have erected extensive
works for the purpose of making flour of mustard.”

26.—Died at Grosvenor Place, London, Caroline, Dowager Countess of
Buckinghamshire, widow of John, Earl of Buckingham, of Blickling, and
mother of Viscountess Castlereagh.  “She requested in her will that none
of her family should wear mourning for her.”  The funeral was at
Blickling.

—The church of St. Michael Coslany, Norwich, was opened for Sunday
evening lectures, in addition to those of St. Andrew and St. Stephen.

27.—Miss Kelly appeared at Norwich Theatre as Peggy (“The Country Girl”),
and Annette (“The Maid and the Magpie”).


FEBRUARY.


1.*—“Died lately, aged 87 years, John Hoy, of Hackford, near Reepham.  He
was a soldier in the 48th Regiment of Foot under General Wolfe, and saw
him fall on the plains of Abram, in North America.  When on saying his
noble commander was slain he was knocked down by a Lieut. Clarke with the
butt end of a musket.  Hoy was a soldier 18 years, 17 of which he passed
without once reposing on a bed.”

4.—A loyal address was voted by the Corporation of Great Yarmouth
congratulating the Prince Regent upon his escape from the attack made
upon him on his return from the opening of Parliament on January 28th.
The Corporation of Norwich adopted a similar address on the 24th.

6.—The complete peal of 5,040 changes of Grandsire Triples was rung by
the ringers of Wells-next-the-Sea on eight bells in three hours seven
minutes.

13.—The new silver coinage of crowns, half-crowns, shillings, and
sixpences was exchanged for the old at the Guildhall, Norwich, and at the
Town Hall, Yarmouth.  The bankers to whom the new coins were sent
were:—Gurneys and Co., Norwich, Halesworth, Fakenham, Holt, Harleston,
Lynn, Wells, and Yarmouth; Bagge and Bacon, Lynn; Day and Co., Swaffham;
Willett and Son, Thetford; Payne, Tuffnell, and Co., Wells; Kett and
Back, Norwich; Harvey and Co., Norwich; and Day and Sons, Norwich.

14.—Died, aged 70, at his house in the Close, Norwich, Mr. Robert
Partridge, alderman for the Conisford Ward.  He was Sheriff in 1780 and
Mayor in 1781.

15.—Mrs. C. Kemble appeared at King’s Lynn Theatre in the character of
Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”).  The proceeds of the performance were
in aid of a fund for the relief of the poor.

—*“On the secession of Mr. Hindes at the close of the Norwich theatrical
season, he will be succeeded by Mr. Smith, and the acting management will
devolve upon Mr. Bellamy.”

—Great distress still prevailing among the poor of Norwich, the Relief
Committee granted the further sum of £200 to be expended in labour.  It
was decided to cut a road through Butter Hills to Carrow Bridge.

—*(Advt.)  “The public are respectfully informed that _on February the
18th only_ Irish, French, and plain silver will be taken at the Theatre
Royal, Norwich.”

21.—The Right Hon. George Horatio Cholmondeley, Earl of Rocksavage
(eldest son of the Marquis Cholmondeley), was elected Member of
Parliament for Castle Rising, in place of the Hon. Cavendish Bradshaw.

22.*—“A Yarmouth correspondent is anxious to know (1) by what authority
the communication between the body and aisles of St. George’s Chapel has
been cut off; and (2) why the Mayor or Lord Bishop is not applied to to
remove the nuisance to the congregation?”

25.—An inquest was held at Norwich on the body of Elizabeth Pope, aged
83, “who on Sunday evening, being alone in her apartment _over the
portico of St. Lawrence’s church_, accidentally set herself on fire, and
was burnt in a terrible manner.”

26.—Died, aged 75, at Swaffham, Mr. Francis Blomfield, “the last male
branch of the family of Blomfield, the county historian.”

27.—Mrs. C. Kemble appeared at Norwich Theatre as Mrs. Oakley (“The
Jealous Wife”).  On subsequent evenings she took the parts of Letitia
Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”), Caroline (“The Prize”), Lady Teazle, and
Myrtelle (“The Broken Sword”).

The Prince Regent this month conferred the honour of knighthood on
Lieut.-Col. Robert John Harvey, K.T.S., in recognition of his
distinguished services in the Peninsular War.


MARCH.


3.—A single wicket cricket match was played in Chapel Field, Norwich,
between “a noted player from Sussex,” named Michan, an ex-officer, and a
Hertford man, named Pratt.  The latter won by six wickets, and decided
“considerable bets.”

8.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.  A match for cocks will be fought at Holkham New
Inn on the 10th and 11th of March, between the gentlemen of Wells and the
gentlemen of Holt.  To fight for £10 a battle and £50 the odd; and two
turn outs for £20 a battle.  To fight in silver spurs.  Feeders: Lamb for
Wells, Nash for Holt.”

10.—Miss Davison, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at
Norwich Theatre, during which she appeared as Rosalind, Juliana (“The
Honeymoon”), Margaretta (“No Song, no Supper”), Lady Townley (“The
Provoked Husband”), Miss Tomboy (“The Romp”).

14.—A charge of blasphemy was exhibited before the magistrates at East
Dereham against one Henry Balls, for publishing a handbill entitled “The
Great Assize.”  (There is no further record of the case.)

19.—The Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. Sayers, of Yarmouth, captured a
large lugger with an armed crew of 36 men.  In the action the Ranger lost
three killed and seven wounded.  The cargo consisted of 507 ankers and
945 halves of spirits, 27 bales of tobacco, and 47 bales of Bandannas,
the whole worth £8,000.

24.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford on this date
before Sir Robert Graham, one of the Barons of the Exchequer, the _crim.
con._ action, Laton _v._ Beauchamp, clerk, was tried.  The special jury,
without leaving the box, gave a verdict for the defendant.

—Mr. Bartley appeared at Norwich Theatre as Dr. Cantwell (“The
Hypocrite”) and the Mock Doctor.  Mrs. Bartley on the 29th played Lady
Constance to Mr. Bartley’s King John.  On subsequent evenings he
impersonated Capt. Allclack (“The Invisible Girl”), and Sir Adam Contest
(“The Wedding Day”).

—Mr. Blanchard, at Lynn Theatre, appeared as Ollapod (“The Poor
Gentleman”), and Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”).

26.—Died at Trowse Old Hall, aged 77, General John Money, Colonel of the
3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.  He entered the Army as a
volunteer in Elliott’s Light Horse in the Seven Years’ German War, and
was with them at the battle of Tillinghausen.  He was afterwards a
captain in the 9th (or Norfolk) Regiment of Foot, and in the American War
was Deputy-Assistant Quarter-Master General to the army commanded by
General Burgoyne.  He was the author of several pamphlets on military and
other subjects.  About 40 years before his death he built the mansion
known as Crown Point, where for more than 30 years he gave an annual
ball.


APRIL.


3.—A grand performance of sacred music was given at St. Andrew’s Church,
Norwich.  Mrs. Card, a native of the city, was the principal vocalist,
and the choruses were sustained by local amateurs.

—Norwich Infantry Barracks (disused) were sold by auction, without
reserve, by Mr. R. Cana, auctioneer.

4.—A terrible explosion occurred on Wright’s Norwich and Yarmouth steam
packet at Foundry Bridge, Norwich.  Of the 22 persons on board, five men,
three women, and a child were killed; six women with fractured legs and
arms were conveyed to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, where one died;
and the remaining seven escaped without sustaining material injury.  The
sum of £350 was raised for the relief of the sufferers.  A boat worked by
horse power was subsequently placed upon the river.  “The four horses
walked as in a thrashing machine or mill.  Each in his path which was 18
feet in diameter.  The horses by walking a distance of two miles
propelled the vessel six or seven miles.”

5.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, pursuant to
requisition and presided over by the High Sheriff (Mr. H. N. Burroughes),
“for the purpose of congratulating the Prince Regent on his escape from
the late atrocious attack upon his person, and of praying his Royal
Highness to dismiss from his presence and councils those advisers who, by
their conduct, had proved themselves to be alike enemies to the Throne
and the people.”  The resolutions were moved by the Earl of Albemarle,
seconded by Mr. S. T. Southwell, and supported by Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.,
and the Rev. George Glover.  They were opposed by the Hon. Col.
Wodehouse, Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, Mr. Serjeant Firth, and Mr. J. Harvey.
The High Sheriff declared the resolutions to be carried “by a most
decided majority.”  An address founded on the resolutions was also
adopted, and was presented to the Prince Regent by Mr. Coke at the Levée
on April 21st.—In consequence of these proceedings a document, known as
the “Norfolk Declaration,” was signed by upwards of 900 noblemen,
gentlemen, clergy, and freeholders of the county, who considered the
Ministers “eminently entitled to the gratitude of their Sovereign and the
country.”  The Declaration was presented to the Prince Regent at the
Levée at Carlton House on July 1st, by the Lord Lieutenant of the county,
accompanied by the Earl of Orford, the Earl of Ancram, Lord C. Townshend,
the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, the Hon. Edward Harbord, Mr. Edmund Bacon, Mr.
Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., &c.

7.—Mr. Incledon commenced a five nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre
previous to his departure to America.  He appeared as Hawthorn (“Love in
a Village”), and Harry Blunt (“The Turnpike Gate”).

14.—A “three double days’ play of cocks” commenced at the White Swan Inn,
Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of
Cambridgeshire, for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd.
Feeders: Fisher for Norwich, Thompson for Cambridgeshire.  The match was
won by Cambridgeshire.

—A peal of eight bells, including a new tenor cast by Mears, of London,
was opened at North Elmham by the St. Peter Mancroft company of ringers,
who rang 5,040 changes of Norwich Court Bob in three hours nineteen
minutes.

16.—A new tragedy, entitled “Edwin, Heir of Cressingham,” founded on Mrs.
Porter’s historical romance, “The Scottish Chiefs,” and written by Mr.
Edward Ball, of Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the first
time, and received with much applause.

21.—Mr. A. T. Fayerman, “surgeon professor” to the “Royal Medical
Institution,” Red Lion Street, Norwich, presented to the Prince Regent,
at the Levée at Carlton House, the first annual report of the proceedings
of the institution, with an address from “the Brunswick Knights of
Norwich, and the two lodges of the Ancient and Royal Order of
Stagorians,” congratulating his Royal Highness on his “escape from the
late attack.”  The Knights and Stagorians, with a band of music and
colours, set out from the Rampant Horse Inn to meet their President on
his return to Norwich on the 22nd, “but the harmony and conviviality of
the meeting were completely outraged by the assembled mob, who broke the
windows of Mr. Simmon’s house at Prussia Gardens, tore up the shrubs,
threw vollies of stones at the processionists who were on horseback, and
broke the windows of Mr. Fayerman’s house in Red Lion Street.”  (The
Stagorians were a society founded in 1728.)

28.—Died, at his house in Berners Street, London, aged 61, Sir Jacob
Henry Astley, Bart., M.P.  He was succeeded in his title by his eldest
son.

—Died in St. Giles’, Norwich, Mrs. E. Layton, aged 100 years.


MAY.


1.—Mr. Crisp Brown and Mr. Thomas Thurtell, the two senior aldermen below
the chair, were returned to the Norwich Court of Aldermen without
opposition, and on the 3rd Mr. Brown was unanimously elected Mayor.

5.—Mr. A. Guggle, of Wells-next-the-Sea, introduced an “improved double
bathing machine, so constructed as to render it perfectly safe at all
times, and regulated in a few seconds to any depth of water preferred by
the bather.”

8.—The Norwich Court of Guardians ordered a new valuation of property in
the city and hamlets.

19.—The election to fill the vacancy caused in the representation of the
county by the death of Sir H. J. Astley, commenced at Norwich.  The
candidates were Mr. E. R. Pratt, of Ryston, and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, of
Sennowe Lodge.  The polling continued for five days and closed on the
23rd, when the result was declared as follows:—Wodehouse, 3,896; Pratt,
3,321.

27.—Died at his seat, Great Melton Hall, aged 86, Sir John Lombe, Bart.
He was succeeded in his title by his great nephew, Mr. Richard Paul
Jodrell.  The deceased baronet bequeathed his large estates to Mr. Edward
Beevor, of the Middle Temple, barrister-at-law, who by special Act of
Parliament, which received the Royal Assent on July 7th, was authorised
to assume the surname and bear the arms of Lombe instead of those of
Beevor, in compliance with a condition in the will of the deceased.

28.—The birthday of Mr. Pitt was celebrated by a dinner at the Assembly
Rooms, Norwich, at which Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., presided.

—Died at St. George’s Tombland, Norwich, Mrs. Phœbe Crow, aged 77, “who
in 40 years’ practice as a midwife brought into the world 9,730
children.”

31.—Mr. Betty appeared as Hamlet at Norwich Theatre on the closing night
of the season, when Mr. Smith, the new manager, delivered an address at
the conclusion of the performance.

—The Brampton Indianman was launched from Mr. Bottomley’s yard, and the
Wodehouse brig from Messrs. Lauker and Spong’s yard, King’s Lynn.


JUNE.


4.—King George III. entered upon his 80th year.  The event was celebrated
in Norwich by the ringing of bells and by a parade of the Light Horse
Volunteers and Yeomanry Cavalry.

9.—Two thousand spectators were present at “the 10th annual grand
wrestling match for prizes given by a society of amateurs for the
encouragement of gymnastic exercises,” held at Kirby Cane.  There were 24
competitors, and the winner was Martin Hingle.

17.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. Crisp Brown, the Mayor elect, observed all
the ancient customs, and entertained 300 guests at the guild feast.

18.—A meeting of resident gentry, clergy, yeomanry, and principal
householders of North Greenhoe and Brothercross Hundreds, was held at
Wells-next-the-Sea, under the presidency of Sir William Bolton, when
resolutions were passed expressive of their deep concern at the insults
offered to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., at a meeting held at Norwich on the
previous Saturday and during the county election, and an address was
ordered to be presented in accordance with the terms of the resolutions.

19.—Mr. Mathews gave his entertainment, “Mail Coach Adventures,” at
Norwich Theatre.

22.—Moses Levi, aged 62, “of the Jewish persuasion,” was baptised by the
Rev. George Baldero at the parish church of Rainham St. Martin.

25.—A severe hailstorm occurred in West Norfolk.  Some of the hailstones
measured six inches in circumference.  Much damage was done.  Many rooks
were afterwards found dead.


JULY.


5.—Haddock’s exhibition of automata was opened in the Great Room, Davey
Place, Norwich.

7.—At the Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, the
address voted at Wells-next-the-Sea on June 18th was presented to Mr. T.
W. Coke, M.P., who, in reply, said he did not attribute blame to the
poorer classes who had been deluded into the belief that he was their
enemy, but he did blame the Mayor of Norwich, who, in his official
capacity, should have prevented what had taken place.  These remarks led
to a very long and acrimonious newspaper correspondence.

9.—The Rev. Charles Nourse Wodehouse was installed a prebendary of
Norwich Cathedral, in place of the Rev. John Pretyman, D.D., who died at
Lincoln on June 5th.

15.—The salt marshes near Wells-next-the-Sea were inundated by a high
tide during a northerly gale, and nearly 300 sheep, the property of
Messrs. Tuthill, Moore, and John Blomfield, of Warham, were drowned.

—A meeting of the gentry, clergy, and yeomen of the Hundreds of
Guiltcross and Shropham was held at East Harling, under the presidency of
the Earl of Albemarle, when an address was voted to Mr. Coke, M.P., and
presented to him at Thetford Wool Fair on July 26th.

19.—Thomas Carter was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for
stealing a cow.

—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty, the Mayor stated that complaints had
been made to him of offences committed in the city by bakers, foggers,
and others, exercising their trades on Sunday.  The Court gave notice
that it was not lawful “to make or bake any bread, rolls, or cakes of any
sort or kind on the Lord’s Day, commonly called Sunday,” nor to deliver
them “at any time after half past one of the clock in the afternoon of
that day.”

24.—Skipper, the pedestrian, undertook for a wager of 25 guineas to walk
from Norwich to Thetford and back, a distance of 55 miles, in 12 hours.
“He walked 54 miles, but having only four minutes to perform the last
mile, gave in.”


AUGUST.


6.—Died at his house in the Lower Close, Norwich, aged 55, Mr. Frank
Sayers, M.D., author of “Poems, including Sketches of the Northern
Mythology,” and “Disquisitions, Metaphysical and Literary, Antiquarian
and Historical.”  A monument, with a Latin inscription by the Rev. F.
Howes, was erected in the Cathedral to the memory of the deceased.

7.—Died at Hoveton St. John, Mr. Thomas Blofeld, D.L., for many years one
of the chairmen of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

11.—Sports were held at Reedham under the patronage of Mr. Layton, of
Reedham Hall.  The principal event was a wrestling match, taken part in
“by twenty-four as fine athletic young fellows as England can produce.”

12.—A cocking match, “fought in silver,” between the gentlemen of Norwich
and the gentlemen of Yarmouth, commenced at the Feathers Inn, Yarmouth,
and concluded on the 14th.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Nash for Yarmouth.

15.—The first stone of the Nelson Monument on the South Denes, Yarmouth,
was laid by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse (chairman of the sub-committee), in
the presence of the Mayors and Corporations of Yarmouth and Norwich.  A
civic dinner was given, and in the evening a ball, attended by 350
persons, took place at the Town Hall.

—Mrs. Rigby, wife of Dr. Rigby, gave birth, at Framingham, to three boys
and a girl.  One lived 18 days, and the other three from eight to ten
weeks.  At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation on September
12th, the Court of Aldermen resolved that a piece of plate be presented
to Alderman and Mrs. Rigby in commemoration of the birth, to which the
Commons “cordially acquiesced on the understanding that if the same event
should happen in their own body they should put in a claim for a similar
complimentary memento.”  A violent personal dispute ensued between two
members of the Common Council, “which so alarmed eight of the members for
the Ward beyond the Water that they left the room without leave of the
Speaker, the consequence being that the whole proceedings proved
abortive.”  Another meeting was held on the 27th, when the presentation
was amicably agreed to, and on December 24th Dr. and Mrs. Rigby were
given a silver bread basket, “with the names of the children and the arms
of the family richly emblazoned thereon.”

16.—The thirteenth annual exhibition of the Norwich Society of Artists
was opened in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  Mr. W. M. Sharp was
president, Mr. J. Freeman vice-president, and Mr. P. Barnes, secretary.
The Norfolk and Norwich Original Society of Artists advertised their
thirteenth exhibition to be held at the New Room, Theatre Plain—Mr. R.
Ladbrook, president; Mr. J. Sillett, vice-president; Mr. J. Thirtle,
secretary.  Both exhibitions were honoured by the presence of the Mayor
and Corporation.

—Died at his house, Chapel Field, Norwich, Mr. John Ninham, aged 63,
artist and engraver.

23.—Mr. Keen performed at Norwich Theatre in the character of Richard
III.  On succeeding nights he appeared as Othello, Bertram, Sir Giles
Overreach, Sir Edward Mortimer, Selim (“Barbarossa”), Shylock, Octavian
(“The Mountaineers”), and Paul (“Paul and Virginia”).  He afterwards
fulfilled an engagement at Yarmouth Theatre.

26.—A contested election took place at Norwich for the office of
freemens’ Sheriff.  Mr. John Lovick was returned with 807 votes as
against 718 polled by his opponent, Mr. George Harvey.


SEPTEMBER.


6.*—“Last week two troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards, under the command of
Major Irwin, marched into Norwich Barracks, and relieved the two troops
of the Royal Dragoons, ordered to Scotland.”

10.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed 800 persons of both sexes at a
special service held at Norwich Cathedral.

13.*—“Died lately, at Madrid, at the house of her sister, Lady
Whitlingham, Barbara, wife of Mr. Bartholomew Frere, his Majesty’s
secretary to the Embassy at the Ottoman Porte.  The marriage had been
solemnized by proxy according to the usual forms, but Mr. Frere having
been detained at Constantinople, neither had the happiness of seeing each
other since their union.”

26.—Skipper, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 60 miles in 12 successive
hours on the bowling-green at the King’s Head Inn, East Dereham.  “He was
so exhausted in the last two miles that he could not accomplish his
task.”

—A meeting was held in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, when an auxiliary
association to the London Society for Promoting Christianity among the
Jews was established, with the Lord Bishop as president.

27.—Died at Kirby Cane parsonage, from injuries received by the
accidental discharge of a gun, the Hon. C. J. Keppel, fifth son of the
Earl of Albemarle.

—A party of Indian jugglers gave a performance at Mr. Noverre’s
ball-room, “near Messrs. Gurney’s bank,” Norwich.


OCTOBER.


1.*—(Advt.)  “Christopher Woods has been a prisoner in Norwich Castle
during four and a half years, and there must remain for life, unless
assisted with £20 to enable him to put in an answer to a bill in
Chancery.  The attention of the truly Charitable is earnestly requested
in behalf of this unhappy man, his distressed wife, and four children.”

11.—Mr. Robert Baker, glover and breeches maker, of Wells-next-the-Sea,
was found murdered in Market Lane, about 200 yards from the town.  His
skull was beaten in and his throat cut.  The county magistrates,
assembled for other business at the Shirehall, Norwich, ordered the
printing of 3,000 handbills giving notice of the murder.  These were
taken by the constables to every coach, fish cart, and other conveyance
leaving Norwich.  A man named James Johnson, 29 years of age, was
apprehended on suspicion at the King’s Head Inn, Hethersett, on October
15th.  The prisoner was tried at the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford on
March 19, 1818, when, after a trial lasting seven and a half hours, the
jury returned a verdict of guilty, and he was sentenced to death by Mr.
Justice Dallas, “his body to be delivered to the surgeons to be
anatomised” on the Saturday following.  On the prisoner asking for “a
longer period than two days in which to prepare for eternity,” the judge
ordered death to be postponed until the following Monday, on which day
the execution took place on the Castle Hill, Norwich, in the presence of
5,000 spectators.  “Mr. Wilson, a gentleman from London, and Mr. Austen,
a pupil of Mr. Dalrymple’s, performed the dissection and prepared the
subject for the lectures which have been daily delivered by Mr. Crosse.”
At the trial an indictment was preferred against an accomplice of the
prisoner, one William Hardiment, not in custody.  A third man, Benjamin
Neal, was in custody charged with being an accessory before the fact, but
the bill was thrown out by the Grand Jury.  (See March 28th, 1822.)

14.—Under the direction of Messrs. Beckwith and Pettet a grand Musical
Festival began at Norwich, and was continued until October 19th.
Miscellaneous concerts were given in St. Andrew’s Hall, and selections
from oratorios in St. Peter’s church.  The principal performers were Mrs.
Salmon, Miss Frith, Mr. Vaughan, Mr. Hawes, and Mr. Bellamy.

22.—A single wicket match was played at Holt by Frost, a member of the
Holt Cricket Club, and Pilch, of the Litcham Club, for £10 a side.  Pilch
was the winner.

28.—Mr. W. Finch announced that he had acquired Harper’s Gardens, “near
St. Stephen’s Gates, Norwich.”  Mr. Harper, the former proprietor,
removed to the Falcon Inn, Ditchingham.

30.—Died, in his 85th year, James Vines, for upwards of 60 years a member
of the St. Peter Mancroft company of ringers, at Norwich.


NOVEMBER.


5.—A salmon trout, measuring 40 inches in length and weighing 21 pounds,
was killed at the New Mills, Norwich.

7.—An express arrived at Norwich bearing tidings of the death of Princess
Charlotte.  “Three post chaises and four followed a few hours after with
gentlemen from some of the first London houses, to buy up all the black
bombazines that the manufacturers had on hand, some of whom, however, had
earlier intelligence of the melancholy event by letter brought by the
express messenger, who arrived here on horseback.”  It was subsequently
stated: “Notwithstanding the immediate and necessary exertions of all
persons employed in the manufacture of bombazines and other articles of
sable hue, they have not yet been able to satisfy the demand for goods of
this description, whilst the dressmakers, &c., have found it difficult to
execute all the orders they have received.  During the last week all the
coaches have departed heavily laden with manufactured goods.”  On
November 19th, the day of the funeral, black was worn generally, St.
Peter’s bell was tolled, and the Mayor and Corporation attended service
at the Cathedral.  “The Mayor substituted for the official cloak of
justice one of black crape, and he also wore weepers.”

10.—Messrs. Adams’ troupe of equestrians commenced a season at the
Pantheon, Norwich.

14.—Died, whilst on a visit to Holkham Hall, Elizabeth, Countess of
Albemarle.

15.*—“There have recently been cast at the bell foundry at Downham five
clock bells for the new General Post Office, Dublin.  A large bell is now
preparing at the same place for erection in the Wabash, Indiana State,
North America, by a religious society of Germans who have settled there.”

20.—Several persons “who had long resisted the threats and entreaties of
the inhabitants of Old Buckenham” were convicted before a magistrate at
Larlingford, and fined for playing cricket on Sunday, October 2nd, on Old
Buckenham green.


DECEMBER.


5.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich addresses of
condolence were voted to the Prince Regent and to Prince Leopold of
Saxe-Coburg, expressive of the deep grief felt by the citizens on the
death of the Princess Charlotte.  Similar addresses were presented by the
Corporations of Yarmouth, Lynn, and Thetford.

—Died in St. Stephen’s, Norwich, in his 74th year, Mr. James Hardy, of
Hethersett.  He served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1800.

6.—Messrs. Caldwell, Waterhouses, and Co., advertised the establishment
of a service of “new light caravans upon springs.”  The conveyances left
Norwich every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock, and
arrived at the Swan-with-two-Necks, Lad Lane, London, on the following
morning at six o’clock.  They were despatched from London every Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday evening at five o’clock, and arrived in Norwich
the next afternoon at three o’clock.  The rate of carriage from London to
Norwich was 9s. per cwt., and from Norwich to London 11s. per cwt.

15.—A three days’ cocking match commenced at the White Swan, St. Peter
Mancroft, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of
Suffolk.  A main of 31 cocks was won by Norfolk six battles ahead, and a
match of 11 chickens by Norfolk one battle ahead.  The byes, of which 14
were fought, were even.  Stakes: £10 a battle and £200 the odd; chickens,
£5 a battle and £50 the odd; byes £10 per battle.  Feeders: Lamb for
Norfolk, Nash for Suffolk.

16.—A prize fight took place on Bungay Common between Sutton, the Black,
and Ned Painter, who was accompanied from Norwich by a large number of
his supporters.  Fifteen rounds were fought in one hour forty-two minutes
for a purse of £100, £80 for the winner and £20 for the loser.  Painter,
“the best man of the day with Norfolk training,” won.  “Several
well-dressed women were present at the fight.”

20.—The Fakenham and London post coach, the Patriot, was advertised to
run from Fakenham on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  The proprietors were
Robert Leamon, Fakenham; T. W. Woer, Swaffham; Thos. Golding, Newmarket;
George Barton, Cambridge; and John Eames, London.

—Joseph Penny, of Yarmouth, who impersonated Neptune at the Peace
festival at Yarmouth on April 21, 1814, was drowned with his son whilst
sailing a small boat in stormy weather.

27.*—“The commissions executed and presents sent from this land of
turkies greatly exceeded any former year.  It is calculated that upwards
of 4,000 have been despatched by different conveyances from Norwich
during the past week, which, averaged at nine pounds each, at 10d. per
pound, amounted to £1,500.”



1818.


JANUARY.


3.—Shore’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

5.—The Norwich Court of Guardians determined to proceed with the
valuation of property in the city and hamlets.  Messrs. Rooks, Athow, and
Stannard were appointed to make the valuation at the remuneration of
£850.

6.—Twelfth Day was observed in Norwich, “when the confectioners made a
grand display of their frosted and ornamented cakes.  Mr. Turner, of the
Gentleman’s Walk, had one weighing 220 pounds and measuring three yards
in circumference.  It was sawn to pieces next day.”  Mr. and Mrs.
Patteson gave a Twelfth Night ball and supper at their residence in
Surrey Street, at which 140 guests were present.

8.—At a meeting, presided over by Mr. T. O. Springfield, at the Swan Inn,
Norwich, resolutions were moved by Mr. Edward Taylor, and a subscription
raised to testify “the estimation in which they hold the extraordinary
and intrepid exertions of Mr. Hone, in defence of the liberty of the
Press, and to assist to defray the expenses of his repeated
prosecutions.”

—Died, aged 100 years, Ashton Goodyer, formerly keeper of the workhouse
at Tilney.

13.—At a county meeting held at the Shirehall, under the presidency of
the High Sheriff (Mr. H. N. Burroughes), addresses of condolence with the
Prince Regent and Prince Leopold on the death of the Princess Charlotte,
were moved by Lord Walpole and seconded by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse.  The
Ven. Archdeacon Bathurst opposed the addresses on account of the omission
of the name of the Princess of Wales, and moved as an amendment “That any
addresses to the Prince Regent and Prince Leopold, unaccompanied by an
address to the Princess of Wales, would operate as an insulting neglect
to one of the first characters in the Royal Family, and as a disrespect
to the memory of her who was the pride and hope of the British people.”
The amendment was seconded by Mr. N. Palmer, of Yarmouth.  The High
Sheriff objected to put the amendment, as the name of the Princess of
Wales had not been included in the requisition.  The addresses were then
adopted.  Archdeacon Bathurst alone dissenting.

15.—Lord and Lady Castlereagh and Prince Esterhazy, the Austrian
ambassador, passed through Norwich on their return to London after a
visit to Lord Suffield at Blickling.

16.—Died at Old Windsor, aged 71, the Right Hon. Lord Walsingham, of
Merton Hall.  He was the only son of Sir William de Grey, several years
Lord Chief Justice of Common Pleas.  In 1787 he was appointed joint
Postmaster-General, and to within two years of his death had been
chairman of the Committees of Privileges, &c., in the House of Lords.

19.—At a meeting of the inhabitants of Yarmouth, held at the New Hall,
upwards of £6,000 was subscribed for aiding a plan to extend the
navigation of the river Waveney from Bungay to Diss.  The sum of £5,000
was raised in the latter town.  At a meeting held at Bungay on February
5th the scheme was opposed by the landowners through whose property the
projected canal was to pass.  On February 13th the inhabitants of
Thetford met to oppose the undertaking, as it was likely to be injurious
to the tolls of the Lesser Ouse.  It was announced on February 28th that
£20,000 had been subscribed, and that the expense of carrying the scheme
into execution would be £36,931.  A meeting was held at Yarmouth on March
10th, at which it was decided “out of respect to Mr. Adair and the rest
of the proprietors to defer application to Parliament until the ensuing
Session.”  Ultimately the scheme was abandoned.  In the course of the
discussions on the project, “it was thrown out in a highly respectable
quarter that the end in view might be answered and all objections
obviated by the substitution of an iron railway for a canal.”  (This is
the first instance in which a “railway” is mentioned in the NORFOLK
CHRONICLE.)

—Mr. Sinclair, from Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at the Theatre Royal,
Norwich, as Orlando (“The Cabinet”), Apollo (in the burletta of “Midas”),
and Henry Bertram (“Guy Mannering”).

26.—The stacks of Mr. John Balls, farmer, Lessingham, were destroyed by
fire, his calves suspended by their necks from a beam in an outhouse, and
other outrages committed.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford in
the month of March, James Thompson was indicted for firing the stacks,
and, after a trial lasting five hours, was acquitted.

31.—Miss Davison, of Drury Lane, commenced an engagement at Norwich
Theatre, during which she appeared as Lady Teazle, Priscilla Tomboy (“The
Romp”), Lady Bell (“Know your own Mind”), Roxalana (“The Sultan”), and
Lady Racket (“Three Weeks after Marriage”).


FEBRUARY.


4.—Died, at Hethersett, aged 70, Mr. John Buckle, one of the aldermen of
the Great Ward of Mancroft, Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in
1787, and of Mayor in 1793.

16.—Mr. Emery, of Covent Garden, made his first appearance at Norwich
Theatre, as Tyke (“The School of Reform”).  His other characters included
Robin Roughead (“Fortune’s Frolic”), Zekiel Homespun (“Heir at Law”), and
Sheepface (“The Village Lawyer”).

21.—Died, aged 88, Mr. William Utten, of the Lower Close, Norwich,
formerly chapter clerk to the Dean and Chapter, and secretary to the Lord
Bishop of Norwich.

28.*—“Mr. D. Fisher, whose performance of the arduous characters of
Hamlet, Macbeth, and Richard III. at Drury Lane were so excellent as to
induce the managers to engage him at a liberal salary from the
commencement of next season, has been engaged to perform those characters
at Norwich, and will make his first appearance this evening in the part
of Hamlet.”  Mr. Fisher was a son of the manager of the Norfolk and
Suffolk Company of Comedians.


MARCH.


2.—The Carrow Bridge toll bar, at Norwich, was let for three years at the
annual rent of £224.

4.—During a severe gale from the south-east great damage was done to
shipping on the Norfolk coast, and several vessels were driven ashore.
At the church of Pulham St. Mary the Virgin the chancel window, 20 feet
by 11 feet, was almost demolished, and another window on the south side
was entirely blown out with the stone work.  Four large sheets of lead
were blown off the roof of East Bilney Church.

—It having been represented to the Norwich Court of Mayoralty that “the
annual Fair on Tombland hath for several years past been continued to an
unreasonable time of the night, not only to the disturbance and
inconvenience of the inhabitants, but so as to prevent the decent
observance of next day, being Good Friday,” it was ordered “that the
ensuing Fair on Maunday Thursday shall end at eleven o’clock in the
evening of that day, when all persons resorting to the same are to repair
to their respective houses, and all those who shall have goods, stalls,
and shows are directed to cease their several trades and occupations at
the said hour of eleven, and immediately to remove and carry their goods
and effects from the said fairstead.”  The Fair was held on March 19,
when “there were few exhibitions on Tombland, the show caravans, which
were more numerous than usual, being judiciously arranged on the Castle
Meadow.”

9.—The election of Common Councilmen for the four wards of Norwich,
commenced on this date.  “The ascendency of the Purple and Orange or of
the Blue and White party in the Corporation is supposed to have some
influence at a General Election, and as that event is considered to be at
no great distance, neither money nor exertions were spared to obtain a
majority in the Long Ward.”  The expenses were estimated at some
thousands of pounds, from £15 to £40 was paid for votes, and the freemen
were brought in carriages from the country to vote as at a Parliamentary
Election.

10.—Married at Benacre, by the Rev. Richard Gooch, Capt. G. W. Manby,
barrack master, Yarmouth, to Sophia, daughter of Sir Thomas Gooch, Bart.,
of Benacre Hall, and sister of Mr. Sherlock Gooch, M.P., for Suffolk.

16.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, the _crim. con._ action,
Muskett _v._ Gurney, in which the damages were laid at £10,000, was tried
before a special jury.  Verdict for the defendant.

19.—The first Norwich Sick Poor Repository was held at Mr. Noverre’s
room, St. Michael-at-Plea, on Tombland Fair day.  “The room was crowded
by the beauty and fashion of our town and its vicinity, and the counters
were completely cleared at three o’clock, when the receipts amounted to
£115.”

24.—Died at Hare Street, Romford, Mr. Humphrey Repton, the celebrated
landscape gardener.  He was buried at Aylsham.

26.—The organ at Swaffham church was opened by Mr. Beckwith, of Norwich.
Selections of sacred music were rendered at the church, and in the
evening a miscellaneous concert was given in the Assembly-room.  The
principal vocalists were Mrs. Card, Miss Williams, Mr. C. Fisher (tenor),
and the choristers from Norwich Cathedral.

31.—Married, at Redenhall Church, by the Ven. Archdeacon Oldershaw, Mr.
Gurney Barclay, of Tavistock Square, London, to Miss Freshfield, of
Harleston.  “On the bride’s return the horses were taken from her
carriage, and, amid the cheering of the delighted people, she was drawn,
attended by a band of music, through the town.”


APRIL.


5.—The London mail by way of Bury and Newmarket was discontinued, and two
light four-inside coaches, called the Mercury, substituted, starting from
the Angel Inn, Norwich, at 4.45 p.m., and from the Golden Cross, Charing
Cross, London, at six p.m., Sundays excepted.  The proprietors of the
Expedition post coach substituted two light post coaches which ran from
the Swan Inn, Norwich, every afternoon at four o’clock, and from the
White Horse, Fetter Lane, London, at 4.30.  The mail by Bury and
Newmarket had been established 33 years, and was discontinued from lack
of public support.  The Norwich and London mail by Ipswich and Colchester
continued to run as before.

8.—The Eau Brink Drainage Bill was read a third time in the House of
Commons, and the Act was subsequently passed for increasing the fund for
carrying into execution the several previous Acts for improving the
drainage of the fens, and the navigation of the several Norfolk rivers
communicating with the river Ouse.

11.—Six prisoners escaped from the Norwich City Gaol by breaking through
an 18-inch brick wall, whence they entered the snuff manufactory of
Messrs. Waite and Cozens, and with their irons on made their way to the
Market Place.  With one exception they were speedily recaptured.

—*“According to the returns of the Tax Office to March 25, 1817, the
Norfolk Land-tax amounted to £63,471 10s. 7d.; redeemed, £18,526 16s.
2d.”

14.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners, in consequence of complaints
regarding the imperfect lighting and watching of the streets, appointed a
committee of fourteen of their members, and co-opted other persons, to
superintend the placing of the watchmen.  The committee were requested to
“occasionally perambulate the city, and to observe the state of the lamps
and the conduct of the watchmen.”

18.*—(Advt.)  “To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on Monday,
April 20th, 1818, and two following days, three double days play of cocks
for 10 guineas a battle, and 200 guineas the odd, between the gentlemen
of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridge.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich,
Thompson for Cambridge.”

—*(Advt.)  “The London and Norwich mail coach by Colchester and Ipswich.
The Postmaster-General having thought proper to discontinue the mail
coach by Newmarket, which had been established 33 years, from the public
not having latterly given it that support which its usefulness demanded,
the contractors for the remaining mail by Ipswich and Colchester, which
will in future be the conveyance of the Norwich letters, hope that so
useful a carriage in this commercial city and county will have such
success as to promote its future encouragement and continuance.”

23.—St. George’s Day was observed in Norwich as the festival of the
tutelar saint of England and as the appointed date for the celebration of
the birthday of the Prince Regent.  St. Peter’s bells were rung, and at
night a ball was given at Chapel Field House.

24.—A meeting, presided over by Mr. J. J. Gurney, was held at the
Lancasterian School, Norwich, to encourage the establishment of Sunday
schools.

26.—Died at Norwich, aged 47, the Rev. Augustus Beevor, M.A.  “He was
educated at Bennet College, Cambridge, where he early distinguished
himself, and as a reward of his literary merits, received many college
prizes.  He was rector of Berghapton, Norfolk, and of Otley, Suffolk.”

27.—After the interval of 15 years the boundaries of the county of the
city of Norwich were perambulated by the Mayor (Mr. Crisp Brown),
attended by the Sheriffs, several of the aldermen, city officers, and
others on horseback, and by a great number of persons on foot.  Much beer
was drunk _en route_, and at Earlham the chief personages were
entertained by Mr. J. J. Gurney, and 400 men and boys received each a
pint of beer and a piece of cake.  A man swam the river at Earlham,
another crossed it at Hellesdon.  “When proceeding in the direction of
Sprowston they were met on the road, leading from Norwich to Crostwick,
by Mr. James Cozens, who formally declared his intention to protest
against the establishment of the line of boundary which they were taking,
and pointed out a boundary mark nearer Norwich, which on inspection
proved to be that of St. Clement’s parish.”


MAY.


1.—A two days’ poll commenced for the election of Mayor at Norwich.  The
poll was declared on the 2nd as follows:—Ald. Marsh, 821; Ald. Leman,
820; Ald. Thurtell, 474; Ald. Back, 412.  Mr. Leman was on the 3rd
elected, by the Court of Aldermen, Mayor for the second time.

3.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was agreed to present
congratulatory addresses to the Prince Regent and to the Princess
Elizabeth on her marriage with the Hereditary Prince of Hesse Homburgh.
On a ballot in the common council-room there were 24 for and 24 against
the addresses.  The Speaker (Mr. Samuel Stone) gave his casting vote in
favour of the addresses, which accordingly became acts of assembly.

6.—The birthday of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., was celebrated at Harleston,
Wells, Wymondham, and other places by public dinners.

12.—A prize fight took place on a field near Thorpe Asylum between
William Cox, blacksmith, and John Camplin, a Norwich weaver.  “Among the
spectators were a great number of females.”  Camplin was seconded by Ned
Painter, and Cox by Wharton.  Twenty-nine rounds were fought in 42
minutes for £5 a side.  Cox won.  Another fight between Pegg and Short,
“who milled each other for more than an hour,” resulted in the victory of
the latter.

13.—A new gallery erected in North Walsham church was opened with a grand
selection of sacred music from the works of Handel, under the direction
of Messrs. Fish and Card, of Norwich.  The principal vocal performers
were Mrs. Card, Mr. Frewer, and Mr. Barron, and the choruses were
supported by performers from the Norwich concerts, and by the Cathedral
choristers.

16.—Died at Lynn, Ann Crawforth, aged 104, supposed to be the oldest
member of the Methodist Society.

18.—Miss Brunton, granddaughter of Mr. John Brunton, the former manager,
appeared at Norwich Theatre as Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”).
Her other characters during the engagement were Miss Hardcastle,
Rosalind, and Lady Elizabeth (“The Day after the Wedding”).

19.—A new peal of six bells, cast and hung by William Dobson, of Downham
Market, was opened at Northwold.  Prizes of ten guineas and five guineas
were offered to competing companies who performed the best and next best
peals of 720 complete changes.  The New Buckenham and Hopton ringers were
adjudged equal.

—At the Norwich Consistory Court, sentence of suspension for two years
was passed by the Rev. William Young, Chancellor, on the Rev. Edward
Leathes, rector of Reedham with Freethorpe, for neglecting to perform his
ministerial duties in those churches for about eight months in the course
of the years 1816 and 1817.

20.—Bull-baiting took place on Carrow Hills, Norwich.  “The game old bull
resisted every effort of the well-seasoned dogs, and remained master of
the ring.  A young bull was afterwards brought in, who is to be trained
up to exercise the rising generation of the canine species, and for the
amusement of the lovers of this fine art.”

—A rowing match between two four-oared boats, the Swift and the Adriadne,
took place from Carrow to Whitlingham.  The Swift, “rowed by four
brothers of the name of Lanham, well known on the stream,” won.  “The
match was for each other’s boat, valued complete at £14 or £15.”  (This
is the first instance in which the names of the rowers are given.)

28.—The annual dinner in commemoration of Pitt’s birthday was held at the
Assembly Rooms, Norwich, under the presidency of the Hon. Col. Wodehouse.

—Tenders were invited for taking down the existing and building the new
bridge, at Hellesdon, either of timber or iron.  The Corporation on June
30 accepted the tender of Mr. Frost to build an iron bridge for £1,140.

30.—Miss Byrne began a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which
she appeared in favourite comic operas and musical entertainments.  Her
impersonations included Adela (“The Haunted Tower”) and Rosina.

—*(Advt.)  “A match of cocks will be fought at the Angel Inn, St.
Stephen’s, Norwich, on June 15th and 16th, between the gentlemen of
Norfolk and the gentlemen of Norwich, to show fifteen mains and five
byes.  To fight for £5 a battle and £20 the odd.  Feeders: Stafford for
Norfolk, Lamb for Norwich.”

31.—Died at Wakefield, Mr. Fitzgerald, manager of the Leeds, Lincoln,
Sheffield, and Hull Theatres, and many years a favourite performer in the
Norwich Company.


JUNE.


1.—Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., issued an address to the electors of
Norwich, in which he announced his intention of declining to offer
himself for re-election.

2.—Died at Coltishall, Mr. William Warrant, aged 100 years.

4.—The 81st birthday of George III. was celebrated in Norwich.  The Mayor
and Corporation, preceded by a band of music, went in state to the
Cathedral.

8.—A camping match, Norfolk against Suffolk, took place at Kirby Cane for
£10 a side, and, after a spirited contest, Norfolk won.  “This is the
first _thorough boxing camping match_ which has taken place for these
last 35 years, and considering that not five out of the twenty
individuals who played had ever before been engaged in any pugilistic
contest, it was astonishing to observe the spirit of gallantry which
animated both parties.  The spectators amounted to some thousands, among
whom were many gentlemen of rank and fortune.”

9.—Parliament having been dissolved and the writ for the election
received, Mr. W. Smith and Mr. R. H. Gurney, the “Blue and White”
candidates, made their public entry into Norwich.  The Hon. Edward
Harbord, the “Orange and Purple” candidate, was met at Mile End on the
11th.  His barouche was drawn into the city by the crowd, and a large
cavalcade of freeholders and freemen was in attendance.  Thence until the
day of election there was an active canvass in the city, and party
feeling ran high.

15.—Seaman’s Museum of Natural History was exhibited on Orford Hill,
Norwich.

16.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Many members of the freemen’s clubs, with blue
and white favours in their hats, and with party flags flying, marched
into the Market Place in order to attend the new Mayor to the Cathedral.
Alderman Herring protested against such a display of party feeling on
this day.  Mr. Smith, the Parliamentary candidate, addressed the people
from a window in the Market Place, saying that anything like party
appeared to be indecorous on such an occasion, and he for one should put
his colours into his pocket.  His example, however, was not generally
followed.  After service at the Cathedral Mr. Barnabas Leman was sworn in
as Mayor, and the guild feast, given in St. Andrew’s Hall, was attended
by 300 guests.

17.—Norwich Election began on this day, and the poll closed on the day
following at 1.30 p.m., with the following result:—W. Smith, 2,089; R. H.
Gurney, 2,032; the Hon. Edward Harbord, 1,475.  The two first-named were
returned.

—Thetford Election: Lord C. Fitzroy and Mr. N. R. Colbourne were returned
without a contest, on the withdrawal of Mr. Webster.

—Castle Rising Election: Lord Rocksavage and the Hon. F. Greville Howard
were returned unopposed.

18.—Lynn Election: Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes were returned
unopposed.

19.—Yarmouth Election: The Hon. George Anson, 780; C. E. Rumbold, 760; E.
K. Lacon, 651; General Loftus, 612.  The two first-named were elected.

23.—Norfolk Election: Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. E. Wodehouse were returned
unopposed.  Mr. Philip Hamond, of Westacre, opened a canvass in
opposition to Mr. Wodehouse, but relinquished it on the eve of the
election.  After the chairing Mr. Coke and his friends dined at the Swan
Inn, Norwich, and Mr. Wodehouse and his supporters at the Angel Inn.  At
night the members attended the ball at Chapel Field House, where the
dancing was opened by Mr. Coke and Mrs. Micklethwaite and by Mr.
Wodehouse and Mrs. N. Bacon.

Dr. C. Brown, of Margaretta Farm, and Mr. T. B. Plestow, of Watlington
Hall, received, this month, the honour of knighthood.


JULY.


4.—Spring, Scroggins, Purcell, and other celebrated pugilists, gave a
boxing display at the Swan Inn, Norwich.

6.—Died, aged 78, Mr. Richard Beatniffe, many years a well-known
bookseller in Norwich.

—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The only new implements exhibited
were a manure drill, by Mr. Frost, of Saham, and a self-sowing dibbling
machine, by Mr. Woodward, of Norwich.

12.—A severe drought of nine weeks’ duration was ended on this day by a
“joyful rain.”

—A new light post coach, called “The Day,” carrying four insides and ten
outsides, commenced running from the Angel Inn, Market Place, Norwich, to
the Crown and Anchor Tavern, the Quay, Yarmouth.  The journey occupied
three hours each way, and the coach was owned by T. S. Coldwell and Co.

13.—Races for hackneys, hunters, and ponies, took place at
Wells-next-the-Sea, upon “a fine level width of firm beach sand.”  An
immense concourse of spectators attended.

15.—Died at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 72, Capt. James Murray,
adjutant of the 2nd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, and formerly
captain in the 9th Regiment of Foot.  He served with distinction during
the whole of the American War.

16.—The first stone of a new bridge at Letheringsett was laid by Mrs.
Best, of Bayfield Hall.  The company, after being entertained to
breakfast by Mr. William Hardy, proceeded through his gardens to a deep
excavation in the bed of the river, where the stone was placed in
position amid the cheers of the spectators and the firing of guns.

20.—The performances of Mr. David Fisher’s company in “the elegant little
theatre” at East Dereham, terminated on this date, “when the performers
assembled on the stage and drank a parting glass and bade farewell of the
crowded audience amid shouts of applause.”

22.—A grand cricket match played on Newmarket Heath for 330 guineas a
side, between the Holt and Newmarket clubs.  It concluded on the 23rd,
when the score was as follows:—Newmarket, 84-101; Holt, 114-74.

23.—A silver cup was rowed for by three boats at Norwich, and won by the
Apollo (Bacon).  Distance, five miles; time, 38½ minutes.

—A troop of the 15th Light Dragoons (King’s Hussars), commanded by Major
Cochrane, marched into Norwich to relieve the 5th Dragoon Guards, who the
same day set out for York.

25.*—“Mr. Case, a respectable farmer, at Stratton Strawless, lately
sustained a loss of 30 young turkies and 11 goslings, all which a
voracious fat sow devoured after a hearty breakfast.”

27.—Mr. Blanchard, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre
as General Heartall (“The Soldier’s Daughter”).  Among the other
characters impersonated by him during his engagement were Crack (“The
Turnpike Gate”), Lazarillo (“Two Strings to your Bow”), Abednego (“Jew
and Doctor”), Caleb Quotem (“The Wags of Windsor”), and Dr. Ollapod (“The
Poor Gentleman”).

—At a meeting of the merchants of the city, held at the Angel Inn,
Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Crisp Brown, it was agreed to open
up a trade from Gainsborough to Yarmouth, and to employ four vessels to
sail alternately from both places.

31.—Died at his house in St. James’s Square, London, Viscount Anson.  He
married in 1794 Ann Margaret, second daughter of Mr. T. W. Coke, of
Holkham, and was succeeded in his title and estates by the Hon. Thomas
William Anson, M.P. for Yarmouth.


AUGUST.


12.—Two gentlemen “angling on that beautiful river at Buckenham,
belonging to Sir Thomas Beauchamp Proctor,” caught 210 pounds of fish,
the greater part of which were bream.  This was described as “a
circumstance unprecedented in this or any other part of the country.”

15.—The whaler Enterprize from Greenland, Capt. Sanderson, arrived at her
berth at South Lynn, with eleven “fish” on board, “which it is supposed
will produce about 160 tons of oil, estimated to be worth £6,000,
exclusive of whalebone, &c.”

28.—A cricket match was played at Bungay between the Holt and Bungay
clubs, for stakes amounting to £132.  Scores: Holt, 89-130; Bungay,
54-28.  The return match was fixed for September 7th, but Bungay paid
forfeit.  In the first match, owing to men being objected to on both
sides, “it was played with only ten batsmen, but with the usual numbers
in the field.”


SEPTEMBER.


1.—Robert Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, began a walk of 1,000 miles in
20 successive days.  He started from St. Stephen’s Gates at five o’clock
a.m. and returned from the twenty-fifth milestone on the Thetford road at
nine p.m.  He relinquished the task on the ninth day in consequence of
lameness.

8.—Miss O’Neil commenced a five nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre.
She appeared in the characters of Belvidera (“Venice Preserved”), Juliet,
Mrs. Haller (“The Stranger”), Mrs. Beverley (“The Gamester”), and Mrs.
Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”).  “The box office was literally besieged
every morning, and the spirit of politeness and gallantry maintained only
a very feeble influence over the conduct of the assembled multitude.  No
law prevailed but that of the strongest; nothing was to be heard but
shrieks, reproaches, and lamentations—nothing to be seen but bonnets
cramped up, hats squeezed flat, torn gowns and coat flaps, and a motley
mob in the highest state of exasperation, fermentation, and desperation.
On the nights of the performance the house was crowded in every part.
Families of the highest respectability, both of the town and from the
country, were to be seen contenting themselves, many of them with
inconvenient situations.  Even the orchestra was occupied by the
audience.”  The receipts averaged £200 a night, and Miss O’Neil,
including her benefit, received £700.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which it was
decided to apply to Parliament for leave to bring in a Bill for widening
and deepening the Norwich river so as to render it navigable by vessels
of burden from Norwich to the sea.  The Mayor presided, and the project,
which afterwards gave rise to the famous agitation “Norwich, a Port,” was
introduced by Mr. Crisp Brown.

—Buonaparte’s military coach was exhibited by Mr. Bullock, of the London
Museum, at Mr. Smith’s coach manufactory, Swan Yard, St. Peter Mancroft,
Norwich.

26.—The Phenomena day coach was advertised to run from the Angel Inn,
Norwich, and the One Bull Inn, Bury, to the Bull Inn, Aldgate, London, in
fourteen hours.  It set out from Norwich at a quarter to six.  The
proprietors, William Pawson, T. Bridgeman, George Archer, and Ann Nelson,
Son, and Co., prohibited racing on the part of their coachman.  The rival
coach, the Norwich and London Original day coach, started from the
Norfolk Hotel every morning at a quarter to seven and ran to the Spread
Eagle, Gracechurch Street, and the Swan with Two Necks, Lad Lane, through
Bury, Sudbury, Chelmsford, and Romford.  Racing was prohibited by the
proprietors, namely, R. Gurney, T. Boyce, Chapman, S. Bright, J. Boldero,
J. Tomlinson, Elizabeth Boyce and Son, and W. Waterhouse.

28.—Died, the Rev. St. John Priest, A.M., master of Scarning Free School,
rector of Reepham with Kerdiston and of Billingford, and vicar of Parham
with Hacheston, Suffolk.  He was secretary of the Norfolk Agricultural
Society from its institution in 1800.


OCTOBER.


1.—Married, at York, Upper Canada, Mr. Samuel Peters Jarvis, barrister,
and son of the late secretary of that province, to Mary Boyles, youngest
daughter of the Hon. W. D. Powell, Chief Justice of Upper Canada, and
granddaughter of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

3.—Sir Edmund Lacon, Kt., of Great Yarmouth, Mr. Thomas Hare, of Stow
Hall, and Mr. Edward Stracey, of Rackheath Hall, were created baronets.

12.—Died at St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, aged 50, Mr. Thomas Allday
Kerrison, who was Sheriff in 1798, Alderman in 1803, and Mayor in 1806.

13.—A sailing match, which took place at Thorpe for a silver cup, was won
by the Dreadnought (Stone), which beat the Albion (Ganning), and the Argo
(Harvey).

—A trial took place at midnight of a gasometer with complete apparatus
erected by Messrs. John and Philip Taylor, of London, at the factory of
Messrs. Joseph Oxley and Sons, of Norwich.  They were the first to
introduce gaslight into a Norwich factory.

21.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Mark Woodcock appealed against a
conviction for taking toll at a turnpike gate off soldiers when on duty.
The 15th Light Dragoons, stationed at Lynn, were being “taken out for an
airing” and on passing through Gaywood gate the appellant demanded toll
of them, to the amount of 4s. 4½d.  He alleged that the soldiers were not
on duty, and that they passed through the gate wantonly and
unnecessarily, and in order to give him trouble.  The court confirmed the
conviction.

24.—Messrs. T. S. Coldwell and William Horne, proprietors of the Mercury
coach, from the Maid’s Head, Norwich, through Wymondham, Attleborough,
and Thetford, to the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, London, advertised
“reduced fares at what you please.”  The coach ran every Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday.

—Adams’ Equestrian Troupe commenced a season at the Ranelagh Gardens,
Norwich, where a stage was provided for the production of pantomime and
burletta.

25.—The premises and stock of Mr. Griffiths, plane and tool maker, near
St. Gregory’s Church, Norwich, were destroyed by fire.

31.—Died of apoplexy, at Holt, Mr. William Stokes, Clerk of the Peace for
Norfolk.  He was 66 years of age, and had held the office 19 years.  His
eldest son died at Fakenham on the following day.  Mr. Robert Copeman, of
Aylsham, was appointed to the vacant clerkship.

—Four boys were whipped in Norwich Market Place, pursuant to sentence
passed upon them at the Quarter Sessions.


NOVEMBER.


1.—The Expedition coach from Norwich to London, carrying only four
insides, with car added to carry six insides, started running on this
date from the White Swan, Norwich.  Fares, four insides, 18s. each; the
car, six insides, 14s. each; outsides, 10s. 6d. each.  The proprietors
were Thomas Bryant and John Eames and Co.

2.—Thiodon’s “mechanical and picturesque theatre of arts” (automata) was
opened at Norwich Theatre.

4.—Married at Gissing, W. Newby, of Burston, to Susanna Fleet, of the
former place, widow.  “Their united ages amounted to upwards of 140
years.  Nearly 40 years ago she married John Fleet, her first husband,
who, after living with her several years, set out on his travels and
visited the most distant parts of the world.  The only report that ever
reached her was the news of his death, when, having given what she
considered a decent time to his memory and his loss, she again entered
into the state of matrimony.  After living several years with her second
husband the first returned and claimed her, and his death which lately
happened gave her the second opportunity of being legally united to the
man of her heart, which actually took place, and she was a second time
married to the same person.”

5.—At a meeting of the Navigation Committee, held at the Guildhall,
Norwich, a letter was received from the Mayor of Yarmouth, in which he
expressed the fear that the projected scheme for widening and deepening
the Norwich river would prove injurious to Yarmouth harbour.  It was
pointed out that there was an alternative plan of making a cut about a
mile lone: across Thurlton marshes to join the Waveney about a mile below
St. Olave’s Bridge, and thence proceeding to Oulton and Lothing Broads
and entering the sea at Lowestoft.  The meeting considered the
alternative scheme the more eligible one, and Mr. Cubitt, engineer, was
ordered to make a survey and prepare an estimate of the expense.

9.—At Holkham eight guns killed 516 head of game in one day, namely,
eight partridges, 40 pheasants, 237 hares, 216 rabbits, 14 woodcock, and
one snipe.  In seven days 2,574 head were killed.

18.—On the official account being received of the death of the Queen at
Kew Palace, the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, and the bells
of the other churches in the city were tolled for two hours.  On Sunday,
the 22nd, the pulpits in the churches were draped with black, and on
December 2nd, the day of interment, the shops were closed, and the bells
tolled from six to eight o’clock in the evening.  The Corporation
attended service at the Cathedral.  At Yarmouth and Lynn the day was
observed in a similar manner.  Addresses of condolence were afterwards
passed by each Corporation.

20.—Mr. William Bell, of Norwich, while shooting with a party at
Sprowston, “killed at one shot five and a half brace of that rare bird
called the golden plover, a shot not to be paralleled in the annals of
sporting notoriety.”


DECEMBER.


3.—Mr. Edward K. Lacon, who had canvassed Yarmouth as a candidate for the
Parliamentary election consequent upon the elevation to the peerage of
the Hon. T. W. Anson, announced in an address to the electors his
intention to retire from the candidature on the ground that “the
prejudices so unjustly excited against him were not yet fully allayed.”
The Hon. George Anson was returned without opposition on February 11th,
1819.

5.—Landed at Cromer from the Earl of Leicester packet, from Holland, Mr.
Horsley, of Islington, and his little son.  The boy had been kidnapped by
Charles Rennett, a cousin of Mrs. Horsley, who had entered into
litigation respecting some property to which the child was entitled.
Rennett carried him to France, whence he was traced to Braker, near
Bremen.  The boy was recovered unharmed and handed over to his father,
and Rennett, on his arrest, was tried in London on May 28th, 1819, and
sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

12.—Wombwell’s Menagerie was exhibited on Castle Hill, Norwich.

24.—A tradesman at Beeston next Mileham made a wager that he would carry
twelve stone of flour a distance of ten miles in six hours, “which
Herculean task he performed in five hours and a quarter.  The odds at the
start were three to one against him.”

26.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, to consider the
propriety of presenting an address of condolence to the Prince Regent on
the death of the Queen.  Col. Wodehouse was about to move an address,
when Mr. Nathaniel Palmer, jun., of Yarmouth, anticipated him by moving
one of his own framing, the last paragraph of which contained an allusion
to the criminal code.  It was seconded by Mr. Clarke, of Berghapton, and
supported by Archdeacon Bathurst.  Col. Wodehouse then moved his address,
which was seconded by Mr. T. Cubitt, and supported by Mr. M. Elwin and
Mr. C. Harvey.  Much altercation and confusion ensued, and the High
Sheriff (Mr. Edward Lombe), who presided, adjourned the meeting _sine
die_.  Those who approved the address proposed by Col. Wodehouse
adjourned to the grand jury room and signed it.  It was subsequently
presented to the Prince Regent.

—Died in Little Charlotte Street, London, aged 29, Mrs. Fisher, wife of
Mr. David Fisher, of Drury Lane Theatre.  She left a family of three
children.

Remarkably mild weather was experienced during this month.  The cuckoo
was heard at the beginning, and vegetation advanced till the middle of
the month.



1819.


JANUARY.


12.—A new peal of six bells hung in St. Gregory’s Church by Mr. Hurry, of
Norwich, was opened by the St. Peter Mancroft ringers, and a dinner in
commemoration of the event took place at the Old Goat, Goat Lane.

13.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions was tried the appeal Burrows _v._ J.
Stracey.  The appellant was the keeper of the Norfolk and Norwich Arms
public-house at Sprowston, and was convicted by the respondent under 26th
George III., for selling beer without a licence, when in reality he then
had a licence authorising him to do so from the Supervisor of Excise for
Norwich under certificate from the magistrates of that city.  He appealed
against the conviction on the ground that the county magistrates had not
the power to grant him such licence, his house being situated in the
county of the city of Norwich, and not within the county of Norfolk as
contended by the respondent.  Counsel for the appellant produced the
Charter made in the reign of Philip and Mary, whereby various lands lying
in the county were granted to the Corporation of Norwich, amongst which
was that part of Sprowston where the appellant’s house stood.  The Town
Clerk of Norwich was called for the respondent, and said he never
remembered the magistrates of the city having exercised acts of
jurisdiction over the locality in question, nor had it ever paid rates to
the city.  The court confirmed the conviction.

14.—Died at his apartments in Drury Lane, London, Mr. E. H. Seymour,
formerly of Norwich Theatre.  He was author of a work dedicated to
Sheridan—“Remarks Critical, Conjectural, and Explanatory on the Works of
Shakespeare.”

23.—Madame Tussaud’s collection of “composition figures representing
ninety public characters” was exhibited at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

25.—The Fox birthday dinner, held at the Norwich Assembly Rooms, was
presided over by the Earl of Albemarle, who was supported by Mr. T. W.
Coke, M.P., Viscount Bury, the High Sheriff, and Mr. W. Smith, M.P.

29.—The Rev. Levi Walton was elected headmaster of the Free School,
Scarning, in place of the Rev. St. John Priest, whose predecessor was the
Rev. Robert Potter, Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral.

It was announced this month that Mr. Thomas Clabburn, of All Saints,
Norwich, had left the following bequests: To the parishes of St. John
Timberhill, St. Michael-at-Thorn, St. Michael-at-Coslany, and St. John
Sepulchre, £200 each; and to All Saints’ and St. Paul’s, £400 each; the
interest to be given in bread and coals the first Monday in February each
year.  To the parish of Tasburgh, £400; and to Tharston, Flordon, and
Newton Flotman, £200 each; the interest to be applied in like manner.  To
the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, £800; to the Treasurer of Cook’s
Hospital, £800; and the like sum to the Hospital, on trust, “that the
poor women therein might receive one shilling each every Monday for
ever”; to the Bethel, £200; and a like sum to seven of the benevolent
institutions in Norwich.


FEBRUARY.


2.—The petition of the Norwich Grand Jury at the last Summer Assizes,
praying for two general gaol deliveries in the year, was presented to the
House of Commons by Mr. W. Smith.  Mr. Colborne, member for Thetford,
presented another petition from the Mayor and Corporation of that
borough, praying that there should be no change in the existing
arrangements.  On the 24th the Corporation of Norwich petitioned
Parliament in favour of Assizes being held twice a year in the city.

—At a general Court of Guardians held at Norwich, Dr. Rigby reported that
small-pox had made its appearance in several parishes in the city, and an
order was made that the city surgeons vaccinate all poor persons desirous
of availing themselves of their assistance.

3.—Mr. J. W. H. Payne, a native of Norwich, where he was formerly a
printer and bookseller, “being reduced in circumstances was allowed to
appear at the Theatre in the character of Hamlet.  He succeeded in
exciting the risibility of the other performers, and the loud laughter of
the audience.”

               IMPROMPTU ON MR. PAYNE’S PERFORMANCE AS HAMLET.

    “Let mortal man his grief and care give o’er,
       Nor crave the aid of potion or of pill;
    For Payne now makes our sides with laughter sore,
       And, tho’ he threatens, yet—neglects to kill.”

8.—Mr. Mathews appeared at Norwich Theatre as Solomon Gundy (“Who Wants a
Guinea?”).  His impersonations on succeeding evenings included Scrub
(“The Beaux’ Stratagem”) and Goldfinch (“The Road to Ruin”).  He also
gave his entertainments, “A Trip to Paris,” “At Home,” and “The Actor of
All Work.”

9.—At a general meeting of the Norwich Paving Act Commissioners a plan
submitted by Mr. Gostling, of Birmingham, for lighting the city with gas
was taken into consideration, and on the motion of Mr. P. M. Martineau it
was agreed, by 26 votes to 17, that “it is expedient to light such parts
of the city with gas on the plan suggested and that the necessary steps
be taken to carry the plan into effect.”  A committee was also appointed
to further the project.  On September 30th a meeting was held at the
Guildhall for the purpose of receiving information relative to the
proposed introduction of oil gas.  The meeting was adjourned until the
25th, when the Mayor was invited to call a public meeting.  The Paving
Commissioners met on October 12th, when permission was given to break up
the streets to lay down pipes, provided that such breaches were repaired
to the satisfaction of the City Surveyor at the expense of the promoters.
A public meeting was held on October 26th, at which it was recommended
that a company be formed for the purpose of lighting the city with oil
gas, and that not less than £2,500 be raised in shares of £25 each for
carrying the resolution into effect.  Two separate bodies appear to have
come into existence, the one known as the Oil Gas Company, and the other
as the Oil Gas Community.  These bodies adjusted their differences, and
on December 1st Mr. Charles Harvey obtained leave in the House of Commons
to bring in a Bill for lighting with gas the city and county of the city
of Norwich.  The Bill was read a second time on December 21st, and in due
course became law.  On January 31st, 1820, the first of the iron gas
pipes were laid in the Market Place; and on May 10th, 1820, the street
lamps and burners in several shops were lighted with gas for the first
time.  “In the Market Place it produced a strong and steady light as far
as it extended, and before Messrs. Bignold’s house and office in Surrey
Street, where there were three lamps, the effect was brilliant.”

12.—A salmon measuring 48 inches in length, 23 inches in girth, and
weighing 33 lbs., was caught at the New Mills, Norwich.  “These fish,
which are frequently taken in the same place, are mistaken by some for
trouts or salmon trouts.”

15.—Miss Booth, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as
Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”).  Her other impersonations
included Little Pickle (“The Spoiled Child”), Helen Worret (“Man and
Wife”), Priscilla Tomboy (“The Romp”), Angela (“The Castle Spectre”),
Amanthus (“Child of Nature”), and Mary (“The Innkeeper’s Daughter”).

16.—Miss Fanny Brunton made her _début_ at Lynn Theatre as Una (“The Wood
Demon”).  Mr. Brunton spoke an introductory address.  At the close of the
Lynn season, Mr. Brunton and his company proceeded to Birmingham, where
he had engaged the Theatre on his own account.

18.—Died in London, Sir Thomas Berners Plestow, Kt., of Watlington Hall,
aged 70.

20.—Elizabeth Wells, wife of Robert Wells, of Gressenhall, gave birth to
four living children—three boys and a girl.

24.—The honorary freedom of the city was conferred upon Mr. R. H. Gurney,
M.P., for Norwich.

—The portrait, by Clover, of Mr. B. Leman, Alderman of Norwich, was
ordered to be placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.

—The Corporation of Norwich petitioned Parliament praying that the
punishment of death for the crime of forgery be commuted for one less
severe, and for a general revision of the penal laws.

27.—One John Larkin was apprehended at Norwich “on a strong suspicion of
being the person who stole a bag containing £4,739 in notes belonging to
the Fakenham bank, on August 13th, 1817, from the messenger’s gig, which
was conveying it from Messrs. Gurney’s bank in Norwich.”  (There is no
further reference to this case.)

Died, this month, aged 100, Thomas Goodings, carpenter, of Lammas.


MARCH.


7.—Died, in her 89th year, Mrs. Mary Murray, widow of Dr. John Murray, of
Norwich.  “Possessing a disposition congenial with that of her late
excellent husband, her long life was distinguished by the practice of
benevolence and of every Christian virtue.”

8.—A new tragedy, entitled “Bertha,” written by Mr. Edward Ball, of
Norwich, was produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which a
subscription was raised for the relief of the distressed inhabitants of
the Scilly Islands.  It amounted to £315.

9.—The Hon. Edward Harbord, the unsuccessful candidate for Norwich at the
previous General Election, arrived in the city and dined with the King
and Constitution Club at the Maid’s Head Inn.  He was elected a member of
the club.

—At a meeting of merchants, manufacturers, and tradesmen, held at the
Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved to petition Parliament to amend and
alter the Acts for the Relief of Insolvent Debtors in England.

15.—Capt. Manby exhibited before the Mayor and Corporation of Yarmouth “a
light fire cart, provided with the necessary apparatus ready on the alarm
of fire, to be applied by one man.”

—Mrs. Faucett, formerly a permanent member of the Norwich Company, and
afterwards of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Widow
Cheerly (“The Soldier’s Daughter”).  During her engagement she also
impersonated Clara (“Matrimony”), Florinda (“The Apostate”), Mrs. Haller
(“The Stranger”), Lady Contest (“The Wedding Day”), and Ellen Rosenberg.

16.—The foundation stone of Prince’s Street Chapel, Norwich, was laid by
the Rev. John Alexander.  A brass plate was placed in the stone with the
following inscription:—“This plate was deposited on the 16th day of
March, 1819, and in the 59th year of the reign of George III., in the
foundation stone of the Protestant Dissenting Chapel, erected on a piece
of freehold ground in the city of Norwich, and in the parishes of St.
Michael-at-Plea and St. Peter Hungate, by the congregation attending the
ministry of the Rev. John Alexander.”  The building was opened for
service as the Independent Chapel on December 1st, 1819, when sermons
were preached by the Rev. Thomas Raffles, A.M., Liverpool, and the Rev.
John Leifchild, of Kensington.

20.*—“We understand that the cooping of freemen preparatory to election
of nominees for the Long Ward, Norwich, on the 31st inst., commenced more
than a fortnight ago.  This practice has hitherto been treated with much
indifference, but as it is likely to be annually resorted to, every
sincere friend of the purity of election and of the real interests of the
poor men who are thereby taken from their families and from their
ordinary occupations, must view it in a very serious light.”  The
election of common councilmen commenced in the week beginning March 28th.
“The consequence of this year’s struggle has been to continue the
ascendancy of the ‘Blue and White’ interest in the Common Council.  Both
parties succeeded in creating a superabundance of noise and confusion and
in putting themselves to a vast deal of trouble, vexation, and expense.
In length of purse the ‘Blues and Whites’ appear to possess a decided
advantage over their ‘Purple and Orange’ opponents, and cooping, bribing,
and corrupting were freely and openly practised.”

29.—Mr. Richard Mingay, a well-known member of the orchestra at Norwich
Theatre, appeared upon the stage as Crack in the farce of “The Turnpike
Gate.”


APRIL.


1.—A prize fight for a subscription purse of £50, given by the amateurs
of Norwich, took place on Rumburgh Green, near Bungay, between Purcell
and Warkley, of Norwich, a pupil of Oliver.  The former was seconded by
Ned Painter and Fuller, and the latter by Oliver and Scroggins.
Forty-five rounds were fought in two hours three minutes, and the battle
ended in favour of Purcell.

3.—A grand boxing entertainment took place at the White Swan, St. Peter
Mancroft, Norwich, at which Oliver, Fuller, Turner, and Scroggins
appeared.

5.—Died at St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, aged 67, Mr. John Aldis, who
served the office of Sheriff in 1813.

10.—Died, aged 101, Charles Grimmer, of Norwich.

—Died, Mr. George Cobb, of Diss, aged 100.

—James Belcham was executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for committing a
burglary in an outhouse at Castleacre.  He was 34 years old, and “left an
aged mother, a wife in her last stage of pregnancy, and two children.”
The execution was witnessed by many well-dressed women.  The culprit was
buried in Castleacre churchyard, and on the Sunday following the
execution “a funeral sermon was preached by the Rev. Mr. Gibbs to a
congregation amounting to 1,000 persons.”

15.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which it
was decided to petition Parliament against the duty of 6s. 6d. per
chaldron on coals.

17.*—“We are informed that three cargoes of _foreign barley_ have arrived
this week at Yarmouth, which were purchased in London, and that the
greater part is already brought to this city (Norwich), where it will be
malted.  It is a novel circumstance to have barley in the London markets
at such low prices as to induce the Norfolk maltsters to bring it into
this great barley county to be manufactured into malt.”

—*“Several of those machines denominated Pedestrian Hobby Horses have
been exhibited here this week.  The principle of this invention is taken
from the art of skating, and consists in the simple idea of a seat upon
two wheels propelled by the feet acting upon the ground.  The riding seat
or saddle is fixed on a perch upon two double shod wheels, running after
each other, so that they can go upon the footways.  To preserve a balance
a small board covered and stuffed is placed before on which the arms are
laid, and in front of which is a little guiding pole, which is held in
the hand to direct the route.  The swiftness with which a person can
travel is almost beyond belief—eight, nine, or even ten miles an hour may
be done on good level ground.”

18.—In response to a circular letter issued by the Bishop of Norwich to
the clergy of the diocese, sermons were preached at the Cathedral, and at
most of the churches in the city and county in aid of the funds of the
Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts.  The effort
was made chiefly with the view of assisting the Bishop of Calcutta (the
Right Rev. Dr. Middleton, formerly of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich), in
his benevolent plans to establish Christianity in the East Indies.  The
collections, subscriptions, and benefactions exceeded £1,800.

19.—A three “double day play of cocks” commenced at the White Swan Inn,
Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridge,
for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd.  Norwich won by a single
battle.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Thompson for Cambridge.

24.—Master Sewell, the Lincolnshire gigantic youth, 13 years of age, and
weighing 18 stone, and Miss Elenor Fitzjohn, Queen of the Dwarfs, 19
years old, 30 inches high, and weighing 27 lbs., were exhibited at the
Two-Necked Swan, Market Place, Norwich.

—Died at St. Stephen’s, Norwich, aged 60, Mr. James Wade, butcher.  He
served the office of Sheriff in 1810.

26.—James Bigmore, aged 20, left Sudbury at 12.30 noon with the
Phenomenon coach by the side of which he ran the whole way thence to
Norwich, where he arrived at five minutes to seven o’clock.  “To keep up
with the coach he was obliged to run eleven miles in the first hour.  On
arriving at places where the coach stopped he did not take refreshment or
repose, but assisted in putting the horses to at every change.  He was
not at all distressed on reaching Norwich.”


MAY.


1.—At a meeting held at the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, it was determined
to call a general meeting of the farmers to consider the propriety of
establishing an agricultural association to co-operate with the London
General Association for the Protection of the Rights and Interests of
Agriculture.  At the meeting which took place on the 15th the Norfolk
Association of Agriculturists was duly formed, and on the 29th Mr.
Utting, of Ashwellthorpe, was appointed president.

3.—George Bidder, only 12½ years of age, demonstrated in the Old Library
Room, St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, his extraordinary powers of mental
calculation.  He made a return visit in August.

6.—The Grand Jury at the City Sessions made a presentment to the effect
that the Norwich gaol was not capable of being converted into an
efficient prison for the purpose of the classification of prisoners.

13.—Died, aged 100, Mrs. Hannah Scott, of Holt.

21.—A meeting was held at the Assembly Room, East Dereham, to take into
consideration the best means of obtaining navigation between that town
and Norwich.  A subscription was opened.

22.—Thomas Jennings, pedestrian, ran 18 miles on the turnpike road
between Downham Market and Denver in two hours three minutes.

24.—The 24th Regiment of Light Dragoons, commanded by General Loftus, and
chiefly composed of Norfolk men enlisted in Norwich, was disbanded at
Chatham.  The regiment left England in 1796, and was actively employed in
India, under Lord Lake, during the Marhatta campaigns, for which service,
among other distinctions, it received an honorary standard.  In general
orders issued on the departure of the regiment from India on October 8th,
1818, its services were very highly spoken of.

26.—A silver candelabrum, valued 200 guineas, was presented to Mr. John
Patteson, at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, by members of the Norwich Fire
and Life Societies, in recognition of the services rendered by him to the
institutions.  Mr. Patteson’s collection of pictures by English, Italian,
and Flemish artists was this month sold by auction by Mr. Christie, and
realised the sum of £2,349.

28.—Pitt’s birthday was celebrated by a dinner at the Assembly Rooms,
Norwich.  Mr. J. Patteson presided.


JUNE.


1.—Died suddenly at Yarmouth, Mr. Thomas Sutton, aged 66.  He was
surveyor to the Corporation of that borough, and was also surveyor of the
works in connection with the erection of the Nelson monument.  Mr. Sutton
was on the summit of the pillar when he complained of dizziness, and
instantly expired.

—Mr. John Watson, of Chapel Field, Norwich, proprietor of the Royal
Ipswich Mail coach, issued the following notice:—“As I have been
unexpectedly _turned out_ of my coach office in the Angel yard, and have
been the proprietor of the Ipswich mail 35 years, I trust you will
continue to give that long established _City_ Coach your accustomed
protection, and I hope my residence amongst you for seventy-four years
will plead so much in my favour, that you will be induced to desire your
parcels for the city to be sent to the Maid’s Head, St. Simon’s, or to
Mr. J. M. Murry’s, No. 9½, Davey Place.”

4.—The birthday of George III. was celebrated for the last time in
Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, East Dereham, and other towns in the county.

5.—“Flying Actæons” were exhibited at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich, by
Messrs. Brously and Stratford.  “The machine consists of a chair fixed on
to a four-wheeled carriage, in which the rider sits and guides the fore
wheels, turning corners in a similar manner to the velocipedes.  One hand
only, however, is necessary, the other being at liberty to hold an
umbrella.  The hind wheels, which force the machine along, are put in
motion with the feet of the rider by means of two foot-boards moved up
and down alternately.  With the assistance of the hand bars in going up
steep hills this carriage will travel at the rate of eight miles an hour,
and may easily be made for two persons to sit abreast.  It is equally
convenient for both males and females.”

9.—Mr. Kean commenced a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which
he appeared as Brutus, Sir Giles Overreach, Rolla, and Hamlet.

13.—Died at Cheltenham, aged 63, Thomas Holl, formerly of Norwich, and
many years proprietor of the “Worcester Herald.”

17.—A grave was opened under peculiar circumstances in St. Julian’s
churchyard, Norwich.  A woman had died of small-pox, and was buried
within 48 hours of her death.  It was suspected that she had been buried
alive, and the rumour was circulated that groans had been heard
proceeding from the grave.  On the body being exhumed a medical man
pronounced life to be extinct.

18.—Died at his house on Castle Meadow, Norwich, aged 53, Mr. William
Stevenson, veterinary surgeon.  “He was an excellent operator, and stood
alone and unrivalled in comparative anatomy and pathology.”

—A piece of plate, valued at 100 guineas, was presented at the Half Moon
Tavern, Yarmouth, to Mr. N. B. Palmer, in recognition of his services in
securing the return to Parliament of the Hon. George Anson and Mr.
Rumbold.

19.—The Norwich and London caravans were advertised to perform the
journey in 24 hours.  They set out from the Angel Inn at six a.m. on
Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and from the Swan-with-Two-Necks, Lad
Lane, London, on Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday evening.  Goods were
conveyed from London to Norwich at 7s. per cwt., and from Norwich to
London at 9s. per cwt.

22.—Mr. Nathaniel Bolingbroke was sworn into office as Mayor of Norwich.
There was no guild feast, but 80 of the Mayor’s friends dined at the
Assembly Rooms in honour of the day.


JULY.


4.—A severe thunderstorm occurred, accompanied by a tremendous hailstorm
and a heavy rain.  Hundreds of acres of turnips were washed away in
various parts of the county.  Upwards of £600 worth of damage was done to
the wheat and barley crops of Mr. William Ungless, of Whitwell, near
Reepham.

5.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  In a speech at the dinner Sir John
Sinclair confessed that he came to Holkham prejudiced in favour of the
broad-cast system of agriculture, but after what he had seen and heard
during his visit he was now convinced that the drill system was superior.

8.—Many deaths having occurred from small-pox in Norwich the Mayor, in
accordance with a requisition, called a public meeting at the Guildhall,
and resolutions were passed in favour of general vaccination.  From
January 6th to the September ensuing 519 deaths were recorded.  “There
has not been a single death from small-pox in those parishes where
vaccination has most prevailed.”

9.—Work was completed at the Nelson Monument, Yarmouth, and the
scaffolding on the top removed.

12.—The Duke of Gloucester and Princess Mary, with other distinguished
personages, paid a visit to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., at Holkham.

14.—Died at his house in Union Place, Norwich, aged 39, Mr. William
Saint, “whose extraordinary mathematical talents advanced him to the
honourable situation of professor of that science in the Royal
Institution at Woolwich.”  In the latter part of his life he was employed
in teaching mathematics in Norwich.  His widow was appointed matron of
the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

20.—A cricket match for £500 was played at Newmarket, between the Holt
and Cambridge clubs.  Holt, 93-56; Cambridge, 65-34.

27.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at the Guildhall,
Norwich, for the purpose of “taking into consideration the state of
mendicity in the city.”  The meeting was adjourned until October 22nd,
when, on the motion of the Hon. Edward Harbord, it was unanimously
resolved to establish a Society for the Suppression of Mendicity in
Norwich.  At the first annual meeting, held on October 9th, 1820, it was
reported that 437 vagrants had been dealt with by the society, and had
been relieved with food and lodgings at small expense, and others had
been handled over to the magistrates as notorious impostors.

28.—The first anniversary of the King and Constitution Club was
celebrated by a dinner at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Mr. Thomas
Starling Day was president, and Mr. Skipper, vice-president.


AUGUST.


1.—Mr. Thomas Amyot, formerly private secretary to the Right Hon. William
Windham, deceased, and a resident in Norwich, was appointed Registrar
under the Act for establishing a Registry of Colonial Slaves in Great
Britain.

3.—Two troops of the 9th Lancers, commanded by Capt. Daly, arrived in
Norwich to replace the 15th Light Dragoons ordered to Manchester.

4.—A prize fight took place in Kirby Park between Cox, the Norwich
blacksmith, and Christopher Barlee, the Berghapton Groom.  Seventy-two
rounds were fought, and Cox won.  Upwards of 5,000 persona were present.

10.—At the reception of his Majesty’s Judges of Assize at Norwich the
coach of the High Sheriff of Norfolk (Sir W. W. Dalling) was drawn by a
team of six piebald horses, “preceded by a full retinue”; and the City
Sheriffs rode in a coach drawn by four greys, and attended by their
servants.

—Married, at Quidenham Church, by the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, Mr.
James Macdonald, M.P., only son of Sir Archibald Macdonald, Lord Chief
Baron of the Exchequer, to the Right Hon. Lady Sophia Keppel, eldest
daughter of the Earl of Albemarle.  A grand entertainment was given to
the gentry, yeomanry, and poor of the neighbourhood in tents erected in
the park; sports were held, and among the banners displayed were those
taken at the Havanna by the late earl.

11.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Norwich on this date, John
Pycraft, of Westwick, was charged before Mr. Justice Burrough, with
administering arsenic to his infant child, in consequence of which it
died.  The prisoner, who made no defence, was, after a trial of six
hours, found guilty and sentenced to death, “his body to be delivered to
the surgeons to be anatomised.”  The execution took place on the Castle
Hill on the 16th.  “The culprit had a diminutive form and decrepid
figure; when the platform fell his chest expanded at intervals during the
space of seven or eight minutes, although every precaution was taken to
shorten his sufferings by the addition of some heavy appendages.  After
dissection had been performed the body was exposed to public view at the
Shirehouse for one hour.”

12.—Married at Holkham, by the Rev. Charles Anson, Archdeacon of
Carlisle, the Earl of Rosebery to the Hon. Anne Margaret Anson, eldest
daughter of Viscount Anson, deceased.

14.—Messrs. R. Goose, Goldings, and Co., advertised that the “Real
Telegraph” coach which ran from the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, at seven
in the morning and arrived in London at eight in the evening, had “no
concern whatever with the coach starting from the Angel, and called ‘The
Telegraph.’”  The fares were:—Inside, £1 4s.; outside, 14s.

—The Norwich Society of Artists announced its 15th annual exhibition of
pictures at its room in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  This year there
was no rival exhibition.

23.—The Duke of Sussex, as Grand Master of England, installed Mr. T. W.
Coke, M.P., as Provincial Grand Master at a Masonic gathering which took
place in Norwich.

—The proprietors of the Expedition coach commenced running the Defence
day coach, from the White Swan Yard, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, to the
Angel Inn at the back of St. Clement’s Church, Strand.  The up journey
was performed on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and the down on Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday.  Fares.—inside, 21s.; outside, 12s.  The
Expedition night coach ran as usual.

28.—Edward Fisher, convicted at the previous Norfolk Assizes of stabbing
William Harrison, was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich.  “After
receiving the sacrament he long held the cup and bread with the wildest
expression of agony in his eyes and features.  He left a wife and seven
children to lament the unhappy end of a husband and father.  He was of a
reserved, sullen, and gloomy temper, in his religious profession a
Methodist, and to a certain degree of unsound mind.”


SEPTEMBER.


2.—A cricket match between Holt and Bungay was played on Bungay Common.
“The Bungay players, although allowed Fennex, had smuggled into their
side two more professed Marylebone players.”  Much wrangling took place
on the 3rd, when Bungay refused to go on with the game, and the match was
claimed by Holt.  The return match was played at Holt on the 13th; Bungay
had Fennex, Sparks, and Razell on their side.  Scores: Holt, 120-73;
Bungay, 73-104.  “Mr. Pilch, of the Holt club, made 57.”  The following
notice was appended to the report of the match:—“The Holt club take this
opportunity of publicly declaring their determination to decline any
further contest or connection whatever with the Bungay club.”

11.—Mr. Young, who had previously appeared at Yarmouth, commenced an
engagement at Norwich Theatre.  His characters included Hamlet, Macbeth,
Penruddock (“The Wheel of Fortune”), King Lear, and Zanga (“The
Revenge”).

13.—The corner-stone of the new pump-room and baths at the Thetford
chalybeate spring was laid with appropriate ceremony by the Duke of
Grafton.  His Grace and the Duchess drank of the water of the spring,
dinner was served at the Guildhall, and a ball took place in the evening.

15.—A prize fight took place on Tasburgh Common, between Barlee, the
Berghapton Groom, and Belasco.  Between 8,000 and 10,000 persons were
present.  Hundreds of women attended, “some of very dashing and many more
of respectable appearance to be spectatresses of bloody noses and cross
buttocks.”  Forty-one rounds were fought, and the contest ended in favour
of Belasco.

16.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, “in order to
take into consideration the late disastrous transactions at Manchester on
August 16th.  The Mayor presided, and resolutions were passed asserting
the right of the subject to petition the King.  The legality of the
Manchester meeting was affirmed, the conduct of the magistrates and
Yeomanry Cavalry censured, and a subscription was opened for the relief
of the sufferers.  An address was also proposed for presentation to the
Prince Regent, in which his Royal Highness was asked to remove certain
ministers from his presence and councils.  The address was afterwards
presented to the Prince at Carleton House by the members for the city.  A
counter declaration was also circulated in Norwich, and received 1,608
signatures.  In due course it was presented to the Prince Regent.

20.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at the Guildhall,
Norwich, to take into consideration the best means to be adopted to carry
into effect a plan for making a new street, and for erecting a bridge
over the river Wensum at Duke’s Palace.  The meeting was adjourned till
October 18th, when a resolution in favour of the plan was rejected by a
considerable majority.  A meeting of the supporters of the undertaking
was held on November 29th, under the presidency of Mr. George Morse, when
it was reported that £7,000 of the £9,000 proposed to be raised by shares
of £25 each had been subscribed.  A Bill was afterwards introduced into
Parliament, and was read a second time on December 17th.  On February
26th it was announced that the Bill had not been passed in Committee of
the House of Commons owing to the interference of the petitioners, and
that the promoters would have to commence fresh proceedings in the new
Parliament.  On July 8th, 1820, it was stated that the Bill had passed
both Houses.  The foundation-stone of the bridge was laid on August 28th,
1821, by Mr. Alderman T. S. Day.

24.—The Mayor and Corporation of Yarmouth voted a loyal address to the
Prince Regent, expressive of their “detestation of the wicked and
atrocious attempts of seditious and disaffected subjects in various parts
of the kingdom, now openly and avowedly meditating the subversion of the
laws and Government, the annihilation at once of all distinctions of
rank, and the sacred rights of property.”


OCTOBER.


1.—A squadron of the 14th Light Dragoons, under the command of Capt.
Anderson, arrived at Norwich to replace the 9th Lancers.  Detachments
were sent to Yarmouth and Holt.

5.—Died, aged 32, Mr. John Charles Beckwith, organist of the Cathedral
and of St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich.  His remains were interred on
the 11th in a grave beside that of his late father beneath the organ loft
of St. Peter’s church.  Mr. Z. A. Buck was, on the 9th, appointed
Cathedral organist and master of the choristers, and on the 13th Mr.
Alfred Pettet was elected organist by the parishioners of St. Peter
Mancroft.

16.—The East Dereham and London Telegraph coach was advertised by John
Leverett and Co.  It started from the Cherry Tree Inn every Sunday,
Tuesday, and Thursday at 6.30 a.m., and travelled by Shipdham and Watton
to the King’s Head, Thetford, to meet the Norwich Telegraph.  The Dereham
Telegraph then proceeded to the Woolpack Inn and the Angel Inn at Bury
St. Edmund’s, whence it returned to Thetford on the following day and met
the Norwich Telegraph on its return from London, and arrived at Dereham
the same evening at nine o’clock.  On Saturday the Dereham Telegraph ran
to Norwich and back.

25.—The Duke of Wellington passed through Norwich on his way to Blickling
Hall.  On changing horses at the Angel Inn he was warmly cheered by the
crowd.

29.—Pursuant to requisition a county meeting was held at St. Andrew’s
Hall, Norwich, on adjournment from the Shirehouse in consequence of the
excessive crowd, to “take into consideration the transactions which
unfortunately took place at Manchester on August 16th.”  The High Sheriff
(Sir William Windham Dalling) presided, and resolutions were passed
asserting the right of Englishmen to meet for the purpose of petitioning,
and demanding a Parliamentary inquiry into the transactions.  It was also
decided to present an address to the Prince Regent.  A declaration,
previously published, was signed by the Lord Lieutenant and upwards of
1,000 other noblemen, gentlemen, clergy, and freeholders, expressing
their reasons for dissenting from the meeting as tending to prejudice the
public mind against the magistrates and military.


NOVEMBER.


1.—A peal of five bells, cast at the Whitechapel foundry, and hung by
Hurry, of Norwich, was opened at Wroxham church.  Five hats were offered
as a prize to the company who rang the best of three peals.  The South
Walsham ringers won.

—Sir Edward James Smith, of Norwich, President of the Linnæan Society,
was elected Honorary Professor of Botany at the Royal Institution,
London.

6.—The Norwich and Yarmouth Telegraph post coach was announced to run
daily from the Angel Inn, Norwich, to the King’s Head Inn, Yarmouth, in
two and a half hours.  Fares: Inside, 5s.; outside, 3s.

13.*—“Capt. Borrow has retired from the adjutancy of the First or West
Norfolk Regiment of Militia after 42 years’ service.”

24.—A meeting of the inhabitants interested in the woollen manufactures
of Norwich was held at the Guildhall, for the purpose of taking into
consideration the propriety of applying to Parliament for a repeal of the
duty imposed upon the importation of foreign wool.


DECEMBER.


7.—Died at St. Giles’, Norwich, at a very advanced age, Mrs. Mary Fisher,
mother of Mr. David Fisher, comedian.



1820.


JANUARY.


1.*—(Advt.)  “Ned Painter begs to inform his friends and the public that
he has taken the Sun and Anchor Tavern, Lobster Lane, Norwich, where he
will have for their accommodation the best ales, London porter, spirits,
wine, &c., and he hopes by strict attention to merit patronage and
support.  N. P. begs to inform the Amateurs of Norwich and Norfolk that
he intends to give private lessons in sparring in the most scientific
style and at reasonable terms at all hours of the day.”

13.—Died at Catton, aged 68, Mr. Robert Harvey, an Alderman of Norwich,
and a magistrate for the county.  He served the office of Sheriff in
1784, and of Mayor in 1787.

15.—Very severe weather set in.  The thermometer fell to seven degrees.
A rapid thaw took place on the 18th, and a flood ensued.

17.—Lord and Lady Castlereagh, accompanied by the Marquis of Ancram,
arrived in Norwich on their way to visit Lord Suffield at Gunton.  Whilst
the horses were being changed at the Angel, a mob hooted and hissed the
visitors, and one of the ringleaders was seized by Mr. Crisp Brown.

18.—Died in London, aged 92, Mrs. Linley, widow of Mr. Linley, formerly
proprietor of Drury Lane Theatre, who was father of the first Mrs.
Sheridan, and of the Rev. O. T. Linley, of Norwich.

20.—The Duke of Wellington passed through Norwich on his way to Gunton.
His grace returned to the city on the 27th on his journey back to town.

21.—Died, John Nash, of Hempnall.  He was clerk of the parish 56 years,
keeper of the Swan Inn 35 years, and at the age of 40 weighed 24 stone.

23.—Died at Ludham, aged 79, Thomas Smith, shoemaker.  “By his particular
request he was carried to the grave by six men of his own trade, each
with his leather apron tied round him, and stirrups with hand leathers
attached slung across their shoulders.”

24.—Fox’s birthday was commemorated by a dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall,
Norwich, at which 460 noblemen and gentlemen were present.  The company
included H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Norfolk, the Earl of
Albemarle (who presided), Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., &c.

25.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of H.R.H. the Duke
of Kent.

27.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated their 55th anniversary.

29.—Mr. Harley, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at Norwich
Theatre.  The performances were interrupted by the intelligence of the
death of George III., and were resumed on February 17th.  His characters
included Marplot (“The Busybody”), Tristran Fickle (“The Weathercock”),
Popolino (“The Sleeping Draught”), Risk (“Love Laughs at Locksmiths”),
Caleb Quotem (“The Wags of Windsor”), Peter Fidget (“The Boarding
House”), Phantom (“Frightened to Death”), and Somno (“The Sleep Walker”).

30.—A messenger from London brought to Lord and Lady Castlereagh, who
were staying at Gunton Hall, intelligence of the death of George III.,
which was announced in Norwich on the morning of the 31st.  Most of the
shops were immediately closed, and the bells of the parish churches were
tolled for three hours.


FEBRUARY.


2.—The accession of George IV. was proclaimed on the Castle Hill,
Norwich, by Sir William Windham Dalling, Bart., High Sheriff of the
county of Norfolk, who was accompanied by Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., and
other gentlemen, who gave three cheers for his Majesty.  In accordance
with a writ addressed to the Mayor and Sheriffs of Norwich on the 1st
inst., the proclamation was made in the city with due formality on the
2nd.  The Corporation assembled at the Guildhall, and the 14th Light
Dragoons paraded in the Market Place.  From the leads of the Guildhall,
after a flourish of trumpets, the Town Clerk (Mr. Elisha de Hague) read
the proclamation amid loud cheers.  A procession was afterwards formed
and passed through the city, the proclamation being read at various
points.  “At the upper gate of the Close the Under Chamberlain advanced
and demanded the gates to be opened in pursuance of the King’s writ.  Mr.
J. Kitson, the Chapter clerk, then answered from within, ‘In obedience to
his Majesty’s commands the gates shall be opened.’”  After the
proclamation had been made in the Close the procession returned to the
Guildhall, where refreshments were served.  The proclamation was made in
similar form at Yarmouth, Lynn, and Thetford.

16.—This being the day of the funeral of the late King, all the shops in
Norwich were closed, and almost every person appeared in deep mourning.
The Mayor, members, and officials of the Corporation, wearing black
scarfs over their robes, went in solemn procession to the Cathedral,
where a sermon was preached by the Rev. Prebendary Thurlow.  At the
different churches and chapels throughout the city proper Psalms and
lessons were read, and in the evening muffled peals were rung.

21.—Died in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall, Norwich, Mr. Thomas
Back, aged 52.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1802, was elected
alderman of the Great Ward of Mancroft in 1808, and Mayor in 1809; and
shortly before his death was appointed a deputy lieutenant for the county
of Norfolk.

24.—Mr. Young appeared at Norwich Theatre as Othello.  On subsequent
evenings he sustained the characters of Brutus, The Stranger, Sir Edward
Mortimer (“The Iron Chest”), King John, Petruchio, and Coriolanus.


MARCH.


1.—A severe storm and high flood occurred in the Lynn district.  A large
number of vessels were stranded on the Norfolk coast.

2.—Died at Norwich, aged 85, Mr. Starling Day, who served the office of
Sheriff in 1775, was elected alderman in 1777, and Mayor in 1782-1812.

6.—Miss Brunton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Rosalind.  She also played
the parts of Lady Contest (“The Wedding Day”), and Lady Teazle (to the
Charles Surface of Mr. Brunton).  In a piece, entitled “An Actress of all
Work,” she sustained seven different characters.

7.—Parliament having been dissolved by proclamation on February 28th,
consequent upon the death of the late King, the Norwich election was
fixed for this date.  The sitting representatives, Mr. William Smith and
Mr. R. H. Gurney, were returned without opposition.  The circumstance of
a Norwich election passing off without a contest had not occurred since
1774, when Sir Harbord Harbord, Bart., and Mr. Edward Bacon were elected.

10.—Yarmouth election, which began on the 7th, concluded on this date.
The result was declared as follows:—The Hon. George Anson, 753; Mr. E. E.
Rumbold, 750; Lieut.-General Michel, 612; Mr. Josias H. Stracey, 612.
The two first-named were elected.

13.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse were re-elected without
opposition to represent Norfolk.  Among the other local elections which
took place were the following:—Thetford, Lord C. Fitzroy and Mr. N. W. R.
Colbourne, returned unopposed; Castle Rising, the Earl of Rocksavage and
Col. F. G. Howard, unopposed.

15.—Died in St. Andrew’s, Norwich, aged 64, Mr. John Lovick, common
councilman for the Great Ward of Wymer.  He served the office of Sheriff
in 1817.

16.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address of
condolence on the death of his late Majesty and of the Duke of Kent was
unanimously passed, and afterwards presented to the King by the members
for the city.

20.—At the Lent Assizes held at Thetford, the Grand Jury made a
presentment to the effect that Norwich Castle was inefficient, as then
constructed, for the purposes of a county prison.

24.—Died at Catton, aged 66, Mr. Jeremiah Ives, an acting magistrate for
the county, and alderman for the Great Wymer Ward.  He was Sheriff in
1782, and Mayor in 1786-1801.

25.*—“Cleansing week, at Norwich, has resulted in the restoration of the
ascendancy of the ‘Purple and Orange’ party in the Corporation of the
city.”


APRIL.


3.—A prize fight took place in a field at West Burlingham between
Rushmore, a blacksmith, of Limpenhoe, and Layden, the Cantley carpenter.
The match was for £100, subscribed by the fathers of the combatants.
Rushmore was attended by Ned Painter, and Layden by Potter, of Yarmouth.
“There were 44 rounds of hard milling without science or skill, and
Rushmore won.”

—Mr. Kean appeared at Lynn Theatre for a short season as King Richard
III., Othello, Shylock, &c.

6.—A prize fight took place at St. Faith’s between Cox, the blacksmith,
of Norwich, and Teasdale, “the noted prize fighter from London, who had
been brought to Norwich and passed off as a countryman under the feigned
name of Johnson.”  More than 5,000 persons were present.  Ned Painter and
Purcell attended on Teasdale, and Warkley and Hurry on Cox.  The battle
lasted one hour thirteen minutes, and 65 desperate rounds were fought.
“Cox faced his man and fought with great resolution, and drove his
adversary over the ropes eleven times.  In the end, however, superior
science prevailed, and in the 65th round Cox received several violent
blows on the left eye, which had been cut on one of the stakes in a fall
in the second round, and victory was declared in favour of Teasdale.
After the battle the imposition was discovered, and a hand bill
circulated, declaring all bets void.  The friends of Teasdale denied any
deception, and said his name was really Johnson.”—Another battle took
place for a subscription purse of £5 on the same ground, between Dan, a
stonemason, of Norwich, and Sparks, a blacksmith, of Norton.  Dan won
after 25 rounds had been fought.

13.—Mr. Edward Ball’s new melodrama, “Giraldi” (founded on Mrs. Opie’s
popular tale, “The Russian Boy”), was performed for the first time at
Norwich Theatre, and received with great applause.

15.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, the High
Sheriff (Mr. G. S. Kett) presiding, at which an address of condolence on
the death of the late King was adopted, and afterwards presented to his
Majesty by the High Sheriff.

24.—This day was appointed for the celebration of his Majesty’s birthday.
At Norwich the Union flag was hoisted on the steeple of St. Peter
Mancroft, and the bells were rung.  The 14th Light Dragoons fired a _feu
de joie_ in the barrack square, and the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers a
salute on the Castle Meadow.  The several troops of Norfolk Yeomanry
Cavalry paraded in review order.

28.—A grand _fête_ was given in Heydon Park in celebration of the
majority of Mr. William Earle Lytton Bulwer.  The inhabitants of Heydon
and of the neighbouring villages went in procession to the park, where
dinner was served at 155 tables.  A performance was given by a troupe of
equestrians, and “28 barrels of strong ale were placed in different
positions in the park.”


MAY.


1.—A contested election for the office of Mayor of Norwich commenced this
day and ended on the 2nd, when the result was declared as
follows:—Alderman Burt, 1,173; Alderman Marsh, 1,077; Alderman Thurtell,
1,018.  Mr. Burt was afterwards chosen Mayor by the aldermen.

2.—Died, in his 89th year, Mr. William Calthorpe, the oldest inhabitant
of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “He generally commenced his morning walk
about four o’clock during the summer season, and gradually later as the
days became shorter.  He almost constantly attended daily prayers at St.
Peter’s Church.”

3.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation, Mr. A. A. H.
Beckwith was elected Speaker of the Common Council.

5.—Four prisoners made their escape from the city gaol at Norwich.  Each
prisoner was wearing his leg irons, and their escape was observed.  One
was apprehended immediately, another was captured at Wymondham, a third
at St. Augustine’s gates, and the fourth surrendered.

10.—Died at Cheltenham, aged 57, Major-General Sir Haylett Framingham,
K.C.B., colonel of the Royal Horse Artillery and commanding officer of
Royal Artillery in Ireland.  He was the eldest son of Mr. C. Framingham,
of Swaffham, and served under Wellington in the Peninsula.

14.—The Bishop of Norwich commenced his Ordinary Visitation at Thetford,
where he confirmed 1,500 persons.  The numbers confirmed in other centres
in the diocese were:—At Newmarket, 2,900; Sudbury, 2,400; Bury St.
Edmund’s, 4,320; Stowmarket, 2,200; Ipswich, 2,300; Woodbridge, 1,400;
Framlingham, 1,900; Halesworth, 1,300; Lowestoft, 600; Beccles, 700;
North Walsham, 1,370; Holt, 1,200; Fakenham, 2,000; Lynn, 2,000; Downham,
1,300; Swaffham, 1,600; and Dereham, 1,230.  The Visitation concluded on
July 1st, and was said to have “redounded highly to the honour of the
clergy of this extensive diocese, as the number of persons confirmed
greatly exceeded all former visitations.”

—Died at King Street, Norwich, in her 104th year, Mrs. Laney, widow of
the Rev. Benjamin Laney, formerly rector of Mulbarton.

20.*—“The depredations on the river Yare during the last five years have
amounted to £25,000.”

24.—At a meeting of the clergy of the county of Norfolk and of the
diocese of Norwich, held at the Swan Inn, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich,
under the presidency of Archdeacon Bathurst, it was decided to petition
Parliament against the claims of “the Roman Catholic persuasion.”

29.—Pitt’s birthday was celebrated by a public dinner at St. Andrew’s
Hall, Norwich, at which 350 noblemen and gentlemen were present.  Lord
Bayning presided.


JUNE.


1.—A detachment of the 10th Light Dragoons, commanded by Major Stapleton,
arrived at Norwich to relieve the 14th Light Dragoons, who on the same
day left on their route to Canterbury.

4.—Died at his house in the Close, Norwich, Mr. Thomas Tawell, aged 57,
“who, having been deprived of his sight for some years, founded the
Hospital and School for the Indigent Blind in Norwich, in 1806.”

13.—Died, aged 84, at her house in Surrey Street, Norwich, Mrs. Holland,
“formerly and for many years a respectable actress in the Norwich
company.”

14.—Died at the Great Hospital, Bishopgate Street, Norwich, aged 70, John
Dale, “who for many years travelled the circuit with the Norwich company
as dresser to the actresses, and whose skill and ingenuity in that
capacity stood unrivalled, for the taste and excellence which he
manifested in his profession.  By his industry he was enabled to support
his father and mother in their extreme old age.”

19.—Mr. Booth appeared on the Norwich stage as Richard III.  His other
characters were King Lear, Octavian, Sir Giles Overreach, and Jerry Sneak
(“The Mayor of Garrat”).

20.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Corporation attended service at the
Cathedral, and Mr. William Burt was sworn in as Mayor at the Guildhall.
He afterwards entertained 600 guests at the guild feast at St. Andrew’s
Hall, and in the evening gave a ball at Chapel Field House.

22.—A fire engine, constructed by Mr. Jordan for the Norwich Union Fire
Office, “was tried on the society’s house in Surrey Street.  It
discharged three barrels of water a minute, and its price is £78—cheaper
by £50 than the more cumbrous engines.”

26.—The First or West Norfolk Militia, commanded by the Earl of Orford,
assembled on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for 28 days’ training.  “The next
morning the men paraded in their new scarlet coats and blue pantaloons.”
The regiment was paid off on July 23rd, when “the Earl of Orford made
each of the non-commissioned officers a handsome present for their
exertions.”

28.—A dinner was given at the Feathers Hotel, Holt, in honour of Mr. W.
E. L. Bulwer, on his accession to the Heydon estate.  Mr. R. Brereton
presided over 320 guests.

30.—A meeting of the owners and occupiers of lands and tenements in the
hamlets of the city was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the
presidency of Mr. J. Harvey, when resolutions were moved against the new
and increased assessment of the hamlets to the poor rates, according to
the valuation of property made by order of the Court of Guardians, and a
subscription was started for defraying the expenses of appealing against
the mulct and of any other legal proceedings.


JULY.


3.—Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, was attended by
a very large company.  “Perhaps we cannot give our readers a better idea
of the utility of the system of agriculture practised at Holkham, than to
inform them that it and the adjoining country for many miles around were
fifty years ago a barren waste where scarcely a rabbit could find
subsistence, and that it is now the garden of England, covered with most
luxuriant crops of every description.”  H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, and
the Russian Princes Potemkin and Trabetzkoy, were present this year.  Mr.
Morton, of Leith, showed a small cast-iron plough, performing five
different operations; a revolving harrow, and a weed extirpator.

3.—A prize fight took place on Tharston Common between Dan, the
stonemason, and Gales, the butcher.  The stakes amounted to £20, and 120
rounds were fought in one hour twenty-one minutes.  Gales was the winner.

8.*—“We congratulate the county on the election of a Norfolk man, Dr.
Hyde Wollaston, to the president’s chair of the Royal Society.  It is a
curious circumstance that the presidents of three very distinguished and
scientific bodies, and two of the principal officers of two others are
natives of this county, namely, Dr. Wollaston, president of the Royal
Society; Sir James Edward Smith, president of the Linnæan Society; Dr.
Astley Cooper, president of the Medical Chirurgical Society; Mr. Richard
Taylor, secretary of the Linnæan Society; and Mr. John Taylor, treasurer
of the Geological Society.”

17.—The great prize fight between Painter and Oliver, commemorated by
Borrow in “Lavengro,” took place near North Walsham.  The stakes were
£100 a side, and the amateurs of Norwich gave £20 towards the training
expenses of Oliver, on condition that he fought within reasonable
distance of Norwich.  The battle was contested upon a platform.  A
staging about 100 yards in length was erected for the accommodation of
spectators, for whom, also, sixty waggons were formed in a circle round
the outer ring; £50 was collected at the gate, and the sums charged for
admission to the seats on the staging produced £80.  The greatest order
prevailed among the 20,000 persons present, the ring being kept by
Shelton, Randall, Turner, Scroggins, Eales, Josh Hudson, Harmer, Purcell,
and other noted pugilists.  Oliver was seconded by Cribb and Belcher, and
Painter by Spring (his former opponent) and Paul.  The odds were five and
a half to four on Painter.  Twelve rounds were fought, and Painter won.
His colours (yellow) were hoisted upon a waggon, and he was everywhere
greeted with loud cheering.  Many of the London contingent lost heavily
over the fight.—A second battle took place between Sampson, the
Birmingham youth, and Martin, the baker (the Master of the Rolls).  The
former was seconded by Turner and Paul, and the latter by Cribb and
Spring.  The odds were six to four on Martin, who won after 29 rounds,
fought in 38 minutes.  It was during this fight that the thunderstorm, so
vividly described by Borrow, occurred.  At a dinner given at North
Walsham the same evening Painter announced that this was his last
appearance in the prize ring.  Other “festivities” took place the same
week.  On the 19th there was a “turn up” between Josh Hudson and Belasco
on Gurney’s bowling-green, Norwich, the former of whom was seconded by
Spring and a Norwich amateur, and his opponent by Martin.  Thirty-three
rounds were fought, in the course of which Hudson dislocated his shoulder
and lost.  The sum of £10 was collected round the ring.  On Saturday,
22nd, a benefit was given for Painter in the large room at the Swan Inn,
at which most of the above-named pugilists appeared.  “The amateurs could
not separate without giving a chance to West Country Dick, who was
matched against George Redgrave.”  The fight was decided in the room.
Dick won after a contest of eleven rounds occupying sixteen minutes.

—The great main of cocks annually fought between the gentlemen of Norwich
and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire this year fell through.  A match was
accordingly arranged with the gentlemen of London.  It commenced on this
date at the Swan Inn, Norwich, for £10 a battle and £100 the odd, and
ended on the 19th, when the local sportsmen won by four battles.
Feeders: Nash, sen., for London, Lamb for Norwich.

19.—Married at St. Luke’s Chapel, Norwich Cathedral, by the Lord Bishop,
the Rev. Heaton C. de Crespigny, second son of Sir W. de Crespigny,
Bart., M.P., to Miss Caroline Bathurst, third daughter of his lordship.


AUGUST.


1.—Died in St. John Maddermarket, Norwich, the Rev. Edward Beaumont, “who
for 62 years had exercised the functions of a Catholic priest in this
city.”  He took up his residence in Norwich on August 1st, 1758.  His
remains were interred on August 8th in St. Giles’ church after the
funeral service had been performed in his own chapel according to the
rites of the Roman Catholic Church.

2.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, for the purpose of
passing resolutions expressive of sympathy with her Majesty Queen
Caroline.  The Mayor (Mr. W. Burt) declined to preside and left the Hall,
and Mr. Alderman Leman then took the chair.  The resolutions were
adopted.  The only person who expressed disapproval was Mr. Kerrison
Harvey, who narrowly escaped rough handling.  An address of
congratulation was also adopted, and was presented to the Queen by Mr. N.
Bolingbroke and Mr. Edward Taylor.

11.—Died in St. Margaret’s, Norwich, aged 46, Capt. Robert Tinkler, R.N.
“He signalised himself by his intrepid bravery in several engagements, in
which he had received twenty-one wounds.  Capt. Tinkler was cabin boy on
board his Majesty’s ship Bounty (Capt. Blyth) at the time the crew of
that ship mutinied in the South Seas in 1789, and was one of the twelve
persons who with the captain were turned adrift in a boat by the
mutineers.  Capt. Blyth and his companions, after a voyage of 1,200
leagues, during which the only sustenance they had was one ounce of bread
and a quarter of a pint of water each per day, had the good fortune to
arrive at the Dutch settlement of Cupan, in the island of Timor.”

14.—Jennings, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 100 miles in twenty-two
hours at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  He covered 90 miles in twenty
hours eight minutes, “and would have finished with ease, but a
misunderstanding having taken place between the timekeepers he thought
proper to give up.”

19.—A detachment of the 9th Lancers marched into Norwich from Nottingham,
under the command of Capt. D’Este.

—The Norfolk Society celebrated the 50th year of its establishment by a
dinner at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich.  Mr. T. Cubitt, Father of the
Society, presided, and Major Payne was vice-chairman.  (This was a
non-political society.)

—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, when resolutions
protesting against the mood of proceeding by Bill of Pains and Penalties
against her Majesty, Queen Caroline, were adopted.  A petition for
presentation to the House of Commons against the Bill was also agreed to.
The resolutions were moved by the Hon. George Walpole, seconded by the
Ven. Archdeacon Bathurst, and supported by Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.  The High
Sheriff (Mr. S. Kett) declined to preside, and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse,
M.P., dissented from the proceedings as impolitic and unnecessary.

29.—This being the anniversary of the Decollation of St. John an assembly
was held at the Church Hall, Yarmouth, at which the Mayor and Corporation
were present, for the purpose of electing a Mayor, chamberlain,
churchwardens, and other officers of the borough for the year ensuing.
“The inquest was balloted for and locked up on Tuesday afternoon, and
kept without fire, candle, meat, or drink till ten o’clock on Thursday
morning, when they returned the following gentlemen as being elected to
fill the respective offices:—Mr. John Goat Fisher, Mayor; Mr. William
Barth, chamberlain; Mr. T. Bateman and Mr. John Preston, churchwardens.”

—A contest for freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich.  Mr. E. T. Booth
was elected with 929 votes, against 478 recorded for Mr. Peter Finch.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—Mr. Robert Hamond, shooting in West Norfolk, killed to one brace of
pointers, and “without cleaning his gun,” 53 brace of partridges, a hare,
and a landrail.  He missed eight shots, lost only one brace of birds, and
had only one double shot.  The gun was by Scarlett, of Swaffham.

5.—A prize fight took place on Ashby Common, near Thurton, between Cox,
the Norwich blacksmith, and Barlee, the Berghapton Groom, for a purse of
£25.  Walkley and Payne seconded Cox, and Ned Painter and Teasdale waited
upon Barlee.  “The odds were greatly in favour of Cox till the 30th
round, when Barlee planted some severe blows, and in the 47th round
floored his opponent.  In the 53rd round Cox made a desperate effort and
beat, or rather ran down, his opponent in every round till the 80th.  The
betting was now seven to four in favour of Cox.  Barlee again exerted
himself, and in the next six rounds planted several desperate hits on his
adversary’s face, and in the 88th round brought Cox to the ground by a
tremendous blow under the jaw, and won the fight in one hour twenty-three
minutes.  Cox’s head and face presented a frightful spectacle, and not a
feature of his countenance could be distinguished.”

—Died at the house of Mr. Robert Marsham, at Stratton, Sir Edmund Bacon,
premier baronet, of Raveningham.  He was in his 71st year, and his death
was occasioned by a fall from his carriage on August 30th.  “Sir Edmund
was director of the Loddon and Clavering Incorporation, and chairman of
the committee of the Norfolk Lunatic Asylum.  He had made unremitting
exertions to improve the public roads.  It was one of his fixed opinions
that the roads might be kept in a good state of repair by the fair
performance of the Statute duty without the imposition of tolls, and he
practically evinced the truth of the opinion which he had formed.  In the
attainment of this important object he had to encounter the prejudices of
the ignorant and the complaints of the interested, but he steadily
pursued his course regardless of the unpopularity which he thus caused,
and at length had the gratification of making converts of his most
decided opponents.”

12.—Miss Macauley, from the King’s Concert Room, London, gave her
literary and musical entertainment, _La Petit Souper_, at Norwich
Theatre.  On the 14th she gave a dramatic reading at the New Concert
Room, St. George’s.

18.—A fire broke out on the premises of Mr. Neale, coach maker, St.
Giles’ Gates.  The whole range of workshops was consumed, and damage done
to the amount of £2,000.

24.—Died at his seat at Nackington, Kent, Mr. Richard Milles, of North
Elmham, aged 85.

25.—Cossey bells, rehung by Messrs. T. and J. Hurry, of Norwich, were
re-opened.  “Five good hats” were offered for competition.

29.—Mr. Henry Francis and Mr. E. T. Booth, Sheriffs of Norwich, gave a
dinner to 130 guests at Chapel Field House.  “A turtle, weighing 130
lbs., was dressed by Mr. Snow, and so highly relished that not a fragment
remained.”

Rear-Admiral Philip Wilkinson assumed this month the surname and the arms
of Stephens, in compliance with the request contained in the will of his
maternal great uncle, Sir Philip Stephens, Bart., for many years
Secretary to the Admiralty.


OCTOBER.


1.—Died, aged 47, at Dunkirk, Mr. Charles William Jerningham, second son
of Sir William Jerningham, of Costessey.  “Mr. Jerningham had served
eight camps in the Austrian Army with distinguished valour, being engaged
in the great battles of Jemappe and Fleurus, and was several times
wounded.”  His remains were interred at Costessey on October 23rd.

7.*—“It is with mingled feelings of shame and disgust that we state no
less than four pugilistic battles were fought on Sunday morning last on
Mousehold Heath, near Norwich, and that many hundreds of persons were
present to witness the unchristianlike scene.”

16.—At a dinner held at the King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, under the
presidency of Capt. Simpson, Capt. Cooper was presented with a piece of
plate by the inhabitants of the town and neighbourhood as a testimony of
their high esteem for his public conduct and private worth.

19.—At the opening concert of the Harmonic Society, Mr. and Miss Mori
made their first appearance in Norwich.  Mr. Mori is stated to have been
“well known as one of the first violin performers of the present day.”

21.—The Rev. Edward Bankes, LL.B., was installed a Prebendary of Norwich
Cathedral, in place of the Rev. George Anguish, A.M., resigned.

—*“Died at her father’s house in Gun Lane, in this city, aged 19, Miss
Smith, daughter of Mr. Smith, of Norwich Theatre.”


NOVEMBER.


3.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 70, Sir Edmund Lacon, Bart., senior alderman of
the borough.  He four times served the office of Mayor.  He was succeeded
by Mr. Edmund Knowles Lacon, of Ormsby.

11.—Soon after the arrival at Norwich of the coaches with the
intelligence of the abandonment of the Bill of Pains and Penalties after
its third reading in the House of Lords, the bells of “one or two of the
minor parishes” were rung, a few houses illuminated, and parties paraded
the streets with flambeaux, crying “Light up for the Queen.”  An attempt
to make a bonfire on the Castle ditches was prevented by the magistrates,
many of the torches were put out, and eight of the torch bearers taken to
the watch-house.  In view of a disturbance 1,000 special constables were
sworn in on the 13th, on which evening a procession was formed on
Tombland.  In passing through the city the mob groaned outside houses
which were not illuminated, and an iron ball was hurled through the
window of Dr. Reeve’s house in St. Giles’.  On the 23rd a public meeting
was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, presided over by the Mayor, when
congratulatory resolutions and an address to the Queen were adopted.
(The address was subsequently presented to her Majesty at Bradenburgh
House by Mr. N. Bolingbroke, who was accompanied by Mr. W. Smith, M.P.,
and Mr. Edward Taylor.)  After the meeting a bonfire was lighted in the
Market Place.  “We understand that an impression of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE
(surely not dishonoured by being obnoxious to such a crew) was committed
to the flames.”  Demonstrations took place at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other
towns.

13.—The Olympic Circus was opened by Mr. T. Cooke at the Pantheon,
Norwich.

19.—Died in St. Andrew’s, Norwich, aged 81, an eccentric person named
Charles Archer.  “It was his constant practice to be at his post every
morning at four o’clock with his kettle of hot cocoa and saloop.  His
station was near the Two-Necked-Swan, and he was allowed half a pint of
porter each morning for calling up the landlord at six, which custom
continuing 14 years he drank at that house 2,556 half pints, or something
more than 319 gallons.  He had formerly been in the 12th Regiment of
Foot, and lost a leg in the memorable siege of Gibraltar, for which he
was granted a pension which he received 39 years.  But what most affected
his mind next to the misfortune of having his leg shot away was to see a
hog, a circumstance related by himself, snatch it up in his mouth and run
away with it without his being able to prevent it.”

28.—Died, in his 82nd year, at the Great Hospital, Bishopgate Street,
Norwich, Robert Davey, “who for several years was leader of the nocturnal
band of musicians vulgarly called ‘mumpers,’ though their performances
justly entitled them to a more respectable appellation.  He personated
Orpheus in the grand procession which took place in Norwich in honour of
Bishop Blaize on March 24th, 1783.”

29.—H.R.H. the Duke of York passed through Norwich on his way to Gunton
Hall, the seat of Lord Suffield.  On the duke’s approach to St. Stephen’s
Gates the horses were taken from his carriage, and it was dragged through
St. Stephen’s Street and Rampant Horse Street to the Market Place.  After
changing horses at the Angel Inn, his Royal Highness proceeded on his
journey.  On the following day the Duke of Wellington passed through the
city on his way to Gunton.

30.—Died, aged 102, Mr. John Walden, of Wells-next-the-Sea.


DECEMBER.


1.—A special assembly of the Norwich Corporation was held at which a
loyal address to his Majesty was adopted.  Similar addresses were passed
by the Corporations of Yarmouth and Lynn.

2.—At a special assembly of the Corporation it was resolved to grant the
honorary freedom of Norwich to the Duke of York and the Duke of
Wellington.  These illustrious personages arrived unexpectedly in the
city on their return from Gunton on the following day (Sunday, 3rd).
After attending service at the Cathedral they proceeded to the Angel Inn,
where the Mayor (Mr. William Burt), the Sheriffs, and other civic
officials waited upon them.  The Steward (Mr. Robert Alderson) read the
address passed on the previous day, and the admission to the freedom of
the city was completed in due form.  His Royal Highness and the Duke of
Wellington returned thanks, and afterwards invited the company to
luncheon.  On their departure from Norwich the same afternoon they were
enthusiastically cheered.

9.—The Duke of Gloucester visited Col. Dixon at Rainham, and afterwards
proceeded to Holkham as the guest of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.

10.—Died at Hethel, aged 68, Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart., D.L., one of the
chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

13.—A meeting of the owners, occupiers, and inhabitants of the hamlets
was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, to take into consideration the
expediency of establishing an effective police for the district.
Resolutions were passed asking the assistance of the city magistrates.
In consequence of the numerous highway robberies and burglaries, and
other depredations committed in city and county, public meetings were
held and resolutions passed granting a reward of £5 to watchmen who
apprehended offenders.  It was stated that more burglaries had been
committed within the three preceding months than in the former twenty
years.

25.—The Hon. George John Watson, of North Elmham, second son of the Right
Hon. Baron Sondes, deceased, assumed the surname and arms of Milles, in
compliance with the will of his maternal grandfather, Mr. Richard Milles,
of North Elmham, and of Nackington, Kent.

27.—A meeting, presided over by Mr. John Morse, Father of the City, was
held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which resolutions expressive of
attachment to his Majesty’s person and Government, and to the established
constitution in Church and State were passed, and a loyal address to the
King adopted.  The address, which received 1,634 signatures, was
presented to his Majesty in the following January by Mr. Charles Harvey,
M.P., Mr. John Harvey, alderman, and Sir Robert John Harvey.  Similar
addresses were adopted by the Corporations of Yarmouth and Lynn.



1821.


JANUARY.


2.—A meeting of the dyers, dressers, and manufacturers was held at the
Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. John Harvey, chairman of
the manufacturing interest, to consider “the most effectual means of
checking the violation of the Sabbath, which has of late arisen to a most
shameful height, in consequence of the recent increase in the trade of
the city”; and the notice “on the part of the dyers and dressers of
bombazines announcing to the manufacturers the conditions on which alone
they had agreed to conduct their business, namely that of holding goods
which they may have in hand at the time of any bankruptcy or failure as a
lien for any balance due to them on their accounts.”  The meeting was
adjourned _sine die_.

6.*—“The Rev. Alfred Inigo Fox, of Woodton Hall, has assumed the surname
of Suckling only, with the arms of Suckling, quarterly, with his own,
pursuant to the will of the late Robert Suckling, of Woodton Hall.”

9.—Mr. Mathews appeared at Norwich Theatre in his entertainments, “At
Home,” “A Trip to Paris,” and “Country Cousins.”

—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, Sarah Powell, keeper of a boarding school,
was sentenced to three months’ imprisonment for cruelly ill-treating and
wounding Mary Ann Phillips, aged 6½ years.

13.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the case of the King on the
prosecution of Robert Leamon, the younger, against Edmund Heagren Gibbs
for assault, was tried.  The defendant, an opulent farmer living at
Quarles, pleaded guilty to the charge.  The offence was committed in
Fakenham Market Place, and it was alleged that the defendant several
times struck the plaintiff with a jockey whip.  He was fined £300.

22.—Mr. Dowton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Sir Peter Teazle and
Restive (“Turn Out”).  On succeeding evenings he took the parts of Job
Thornberry, Sir Anthony Absolute, Barnaby Brittle, Old Drugget (“Three
Weeks after Marriage”), Sheva (“The Jew”), &c.

27.*—(Advt.)  “£100 Reward.  Whereas at about nine o’clock on the evening
of the 22nd inst., Mr. John Thurtell was attacked in Chapel Field,
Norwich, by three men, knocked down, and robbed of a pocket book
containing £1,508 in notes, thirteen of which were of the Bank of
England, value £100 each, and the name of John Thurtell is endorsed on
them.  Notice is hereby given that whoever will give information which
might lead to the apprehension and conviction of the persons concerned in
this robbery, shall be paid the above reward on applying to Mr. Thurtell;
and any person concerned in the robbery who will give information of his
accomplices will receive the reward and a free pardon.  Norwich, January
23rd, 1821.”  (In the following week it was announced that a commission
of bankruptcy had issued against John Thurtell and John Giddens,
bombazine manufacturers, dealers, and chapmen.  Soon afterwards Thurtell
absconded.)

29.—The first anniversary of the King’s Accession to the Throne was
celebrated in Norwich by peals on the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, and of
several of the minor parishes of the city.  At Methwold a lad named T.
Coates, aged 11, rang second in a peal of single bob major, and “the
company challenged England for his equal.”


FEBRUARY.


3.—At a meeting held at the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, the Norfolk
Agricultural Association adopted a form of petition to be presented to
the House of Commons upon “the present deplorable condition of
Agriculture.”

10.*—“The remains of two bodies (no doubt those of Roman soldiers) were
lately dug up in a field opposite the west front of the Roman camp at
Caister, near Norwich.  Nothing was entire of them except several teeth
and a metal brooch in excellent preservation, although they cannot have
been interred less than 1,400 years.  Eleven or twelve human skeletons,
supposed to have been buried after some battle, were also discovered on a
farm at Longham, near Mileham, close at the foot of an antient ditch,
which Parkin supposes gives name to the Hundred of Launditch.  Eight or
ten years ago, in removing a tumulus in the same parish, some urns were
discovered.”

10.—Bloggs’ London caravan was advertised to run from the Rampant Horse
coach office, Norwich, to London in 24 hours.  It started on Monday,
Wednesday, and Friday mornings at four o’clock, and returned on Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday.  The Norwich and London Fly vans ran from the
Star Inn, Norwich, to the Bull Inn, Aldgate.

—Dr. Lewis Evans was elected physician to the Norfolk and Norwich
Hospital on the resignation of Dr. Alderson, to whom a vote of thanks was
accorded by the governors for his professional services of 50 years.

12.—Miss Macaulay commenced at Norwich Theatre an engagement of four
nights, during which she appeared as Lady Randolph (“Douglas”), Violante
(“The Wonder”), Jane Shore, Rosabello (“Rugantino”), Lady Townley (“The
Provoked Husband”), and Phœbe (“Rosina”).

15.—By the careless driving of the coachman the Morning Star, Yarmouth
coach, was overturned at Scole Inn, and of the three inside and nine
outside passengers, one, Mr. Butterfield, of Leeds, was seriously
injured, and died on April 14th.  At the Norfolk Assizes in March, 1822,
an action was brought by Butterfield’s employers against the owners of
the coach for the recovery of damages sustained by them by the loss of
their servant.  The jury found for the plaintiffs, damages, £100;
expenses, £258; and costs, 40s.

17.—The perfectly new house of Mr. John Cator, at Woodbastwick, was
destroyed by fire.  “The interior of the building was consumed, the walls
alone left standing.”

24.—Mr. J. M. Murry, of Davey Place, Norwich, advertised himself as “sole
agent for the sale of Bridgman’s patent iron coffins as security to the
deceased persons.”

26.—Mrs. Davison appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in the character
of Letitia Hardy.  On subsequent evenings she performed Priscilla Tomboy,
Hypolita (“She Wou’d and She Wou’d Not”), and Kathleen (“The Poor
Soldier”).

28.—An unusually large supply of white herring was received from Yarmouth
at Norwich.  The fish were sold at a penny a dozen at Fye Bridge staith,
and afforded great relief to the poor.


MARCH.


3.*—“Died lately at Reepham Moor, St. John Hunt, who was buried by his
desire in his best suit of clothes, great coat, hat, &c.  A tobacco box,
short pipe, and walking stick were also deposited by his side in the
coffin.”

—Mr. Richard Taylor, of Norwich, published his well-known work, the
“Index Monasticus.”

—Died at his house in Queen Street, Norwich, Mr. William Foster, an
alderman of the Wymer Ward.

5.—Died, at Versailles, in her 70th year, Miss Hannah Brand, formerly of
Norwich.

7.—Three prisoners confined in the city gaol, Norwich, and charged with
capital offences, effected their escape by making a hole through the wall
of their cell.  They were recaptured.

—Mr. Edward Temple Booth, Sheriff of Norwich, was elected an alderman of
the Great Ward of Wymer, in place of Mr. Foster, deceased.  The other
candidate was Mr. Richard Shaw, who served the office in 1818.

8.—A new tragedy, entitled “Antigone,” written by Mr. Edward Ball, of
Duke’s Palace House, Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the
first time.

13.—Mr. E. Wodehouse presented to the House of Commons petitions from the
owners and occupiers of land in the vicinity of Norwich, Yarmouth, and
North Walsham, on the depressed state of agriculture, praying for a
repeal of the last duty on malt, and for the substitution of a modified
tax on property.  At this date wheat was making 25s. to 31s.; barley, 9s.
to 12s. 6d.; oats, 9s. to 10s.; and malt, 34s. per coomb.

22.—A performance took place for the benefit of the Theatrical Fund,
established for the relief of aged and decayed actors of the Norwich
company.  The Freemasons gave their patronage, and, in full regalia,
attended the Theatre, where the pieces produced were the comedy “Secrets
worth Knowing,” and the musical farce “The Padlock.”  The proceeds
amounted to £117 2s. 6d.

26.—Mrs. Bartley commenced at Norwich Theatre an engagement, during which
she appeared in the characters of Bianca (“Fazio”), Jane Shaw, Madame
Chermont (“Adrian and Orrila”), Mary Stuart, and Catherine (“The Taming
of the Shrew”).

31.—The freedom of the city of Norwich was presented to Capt. William
Edward Parry, R.N., prior to his departure for the Arctic Seas to
ascertain the existence of a north-west passage.  He was a nephew of Dr.
Rigby, of Norwich.  The parchment was presented in an oak box, made of a
piece of the wood of the Hecla, the ship commanded by him in his voyage
of discovery towards the North Pole in 1819–20.


APRIL.


2.—A new peal of bells, hung by Messrs. Hurry, of Norwich, was opened at
Ditchingham.

3.—Died, aged 92, Thomas Burton, “father of the St. Peter’s company of
ringers, Norwich.”

—Died in St. George Colegate, Norwich, aged 88, Mrs. Goulty, widow of Mr.
John Goulty, and aunt to Admiral Lord Nelson.

—Mr. R. Morlege, many years confidential clerk to Messrs. W. and S.
Bircham, of Reepham, “left that place with his family, a wife, and seven
children, one an infant, in a covered van for Liverpool, there to embark
for Baltimore, and from thence to proceed in his van, which he takes on
board with him, about 400 miles up the country, and to settle on the
banks of the Ohio.”

5.—Died in St. Swithin’s, Norwich, aged 84, the Rev. James Lane, for 32
years Roman Catholic priest in the city.

7.—A “new and elegant” light post coach, “The Times,” was announced to
set out from the Angel Inn, Norwich, to the Swan-with-Two-Necks, Lad
Lane, London, on Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at six o’clock, by
way of Scole, Bury, Sudbury, and Halstead.  It returned on Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday.  The proprietors, W. Start, J. Thorogood and Co.,
regretted “the circumstance which rendered the dissolution of partnership
between them and Mrs. Nelson indispensable, in consequence of which they
had no connection with the Phenomena coach.”  Thorogood himself drove the
coach both to and from London.

9.—Mr. J. Brunton, the former manager, and his daughter, Miss Fanny
Brunton, performed at Norwich Theatre.  They appeared respectively as
Othello and Desdemona on the opening night, and on subsequent evenings as
Horatius and Horatia (“The Roman Father”), and Wildlove and Zephyrina
(“The Lady and the Devil”).  “Miss Brunton, though not 19 years of age,
has made great progress towards histrionic excellence.”

10.—At a public meeting held at the Town Hall, Yarmouth, under the
presidency of the Mayor (Mr. Fisher), a committee was appointed and a
subscription opened for the formation of a fund from which to reward
boatmen for rescuing persons from shipwreck.

14.—The Wellington coach ran from Norwich on Tuesday, Thursday, and
Saturday to Stamford, where it effected a connection with coaches to the
Midlands and the North.

15.—Wombwell’s Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Meadow, Norwich.

17.—The erection of a new jetty was commenced at Cromer.  It was finished
in the summer of 1822.  “Erected on massy iron frames by Mr. Hase, of
Saxthorpe, it exhibits a magnificent proof of the skill of the engineer,
and of his honourable attention to his contract.”

22.—Died in St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, after a few days’ illness,
John Crome, the elder.  He was president of the Norwich Society of
Artists, and an artist of considerable repute.  His remains were interred
on the 27th in a vault in St. George’s church.

23.—St. George’s Day being the day appointed for the celebration of his
Majesty’s birthday, the Corporation of Norwich attended service at the
Cathedral, and the 9th Lancers and the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers
fired three volleys with their pistols in the Market Place.  The Mayor
gave a dinner at his house, Major Harvey and the officers and men of the
Light Horse dined at the White Lion Inn, St. Benedict’s, and several
members of the Common Council met for dinner at the Castle Inn.  The
Loyal Heroes or Sons of Pitt, and several other societies dined at their
respective club houses.

—Miss Rosalie Corri appeared at Norwich Theatre as Polly (“The Beggars’
Opera”).  Her other characters included Louison (“Henri Quatre”), Zerlina
(“The Libertine”), &c.

25.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the promotion of
vaccination amongst the poor, it was stated that in 1819, when about 500
persons died of small-pox, “the figures of persons liable to take the
disease was on an average of five years not less than 1,000 annually.”
Since that year vaccination had again languished, and in 1820 not 100 of
the poor were vaccinated.  The meeting directed that a census be
immediately taken for the purpose of ascertaining how many persons
remained unvaccinated, and what would be the extent of the danger
attending the introduction of small-pox.

26.—A smuggling boat was captured at Yarmouth between the Nelson monument
and the old jetty, by boats of the Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. Sayer.
The smuggler had on board about 400 tubs of Geneva, and a quantity of dry
goods, and her crew escaped by jumping overboard and swimming ashore.

28.*—“Died last week at Swaffham, the widow Turner, aged 96, formerly a
midwife.  Mrs. Turner had a perfect remembrance of the girl who was burnt
at Lynn on April 1st, 1731, for aiding and assisting in the murder of her
mistress, and was taken by her friends to visit her in prison a few days
before the execution of that dreadful sentence.”

—Gurney’s Original day coach was advertised to leave the Norfolk Hotel,
Norwich, for the Spread Eagle, Gracechurch Street, and the Black Bear,
Piccadilly.  The proprietor referred to the liberal patronage he had
received “amidst the powerful ruinous competition among other parties
concerned in the Norwich and London coaches.”

30.—At the White Swan Inn, Norwich, commenced a three double days’ play
of cocks, for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd, between the
gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire.  Feeders: Lamb
for Norwich, Burn for Cambridge.  Norwich won by seven battles ahead in
the mains, and two in the byes.


MAY.


1.—There was a contest this year for the Mayoralty of Norwich.  At the
close of the poll the numbers were declared as follow:—Alderman Rackham,
986; Alderman Hawkes, 950; Alderman Marsh, 630; Alderman Yallop, 631.
The two first-named were returned to the Court of Aldermen, who elected
Mr. Rackham to serve the office.

2.—Died at his ancestral seat at Great Ormesby, aged 68, Mr. James
Symonds, who was descended from one of the oldest families in Norfolk.

8.—At a meeting of the merchants, manufacturers, dyers, &c., held at the
Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by Mr. John Harvey, it was resolved to
petition Parliament for a repeal of the tax on imported foreign wool.

12.—A foot race of 30 miles was run at New Buckenham, between two men
named Tuttle and Beales.  The former won easily in five hours nine
minutes.

13.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, aged 72, Mr. William
Stevenson, upwards of 35 years proprietor of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE.  He
served the office of Sheriff in 1799.

—Died at Lyng, Christopher Allcock, aged 91.  “He served in the first
draft of the Norfolk Militia when called out in the glorious year, 1759,
and such was his attachment to the military service that he made a
reserve of his coat that it might serve him for a shroud.”

18.—Died at Norwich, aged 53, Robert Chesnut, leader of the St. Peter’s
ringers.

19.—The “safety” coach from the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, commenced
running to London on Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday evenings by way of
Thetford, Bury, and Newmarket.

23.—At a special court of the Norwich Guardians it was agreed to petition
the House of Commons against the Bill introduced into Parliament by Mr.
Scarlett, for amending the laws relating to the relief of the poor in
England.

28.—The principal inhabitants, with many other parishioners, perambulated
the parish of St. Clement’s, Norwich, and afterwards dined at the Bull
Inn, Magdalen Street.

30.—A glass bottle was thrown from the gallery on to the stage of Norwich
Theatre by a youth named Wheeler, son of a former member of the Norwich
company.  He was apprehended by Mr. Smith, the manager, taken before the
Mayor, and sentenced to one month’s imprisonment in the Bridewell.


JUNE.


12.—Costessey Guild was held, and the “Mayor” sworn in with great
formality.  Several “splendid equipages” appeared in the subsequent
procession.

—The festivities connected with Necton Guild were carried out on a scale
of much splendour in a field adjoining the residence of Major Mason, of
Necton Hall, the patron of this annual gathering.

—The Census was completed on this day at Norwich.  The city, with its
hamlets and the Close, contained 10,833 houses and 50,173 souls, namely,
22,732 males and 27,441 females.  In comparison with the returns at the
previous Census these figures showed an increase of 2,300 houses and of
12,917 persons.

18.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. William Rackham was sworn in Mayor, and
entertained 650 guests at the guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.

—Died, aged 52, Charles Hague, Mus. Doc., professor of music at the
University of Cambridge.

—At an assembly of the Norwich Corporation, the Tonnage Committee was
ordered to obtain plans and estimates for the improvement of the south
side of St. Andrew’s Hall, and of the plain and gardens.  The proposed
work included the taking down of the old Library Room and the Court of
Conscience, which formed part of the entrance to the Hall, and completely
obscured and disgraced the structure; the erection of a Gothic porch on
part of their site to correspond with the architecture of the original
building, and the laying open of the whole south side of the Hall, “by
taking down the present garden walls, so as to form a square in front of
the hall.”  It was also proposed that the building be no longer used as a
corn exchange.

—About twenty of the Waterloo men resident in Norwich were entertained to
dinner at the Coach and Horses, Red Lion Lane, in celebration of the
anniversary of the battle.

23.*—“The curious antique pump in St. Lawrence, in this city (Norwich),
erected by Robert Gybson in 1576, has been lately put into repair, and
the singular inscription and ornaments thereon repainted by the present
proprietor, Quarter-Master Betts, of the West Norfolk Regiment.”

28.—The Marshland free bridge, built by Messrs. Jolliffe and Bank, under
the direction of the engineer, Mr. Rennie, and forming a direct means of
communication between the eastern and northern districts, was opened on
this date.  A procession of carriages, preceded by a band of music and
banners, with 7,000 pedestrians, passed over the bridge at one o’clock.
The carriage of Mr. Thomas Hoseason led the van.  Among the vehicles was
the Lynn and London coach, drawn by four bays decorated with ribbands and
flowers.


JULY.


2.—Twelve smacks were despatched from Wells to a newly discovered oyster
bed at Happisburgh, whence they returned on the following day with from
100 to 121 tubs each.

—*“Notwithstanding the clouds which lower on the landed interest, the sun
of Holkham’s prosperity has shone forth with undiminished splendour,” was
the comment which prefaced this year’s report of the Holkham Sheep
Shearing.  The business of the meeting commenced with an inspection in
front of the hall “of the various processes in the manufacture (by the
labourers’ children and the parish poor) of part of the crop of flax and
hemp grown upon Holkham Park Farm in the last year.  The several
operations of breaking, heckling, and spinning were gone through by
females of various ages with ease and facility.”  Some of the sacks and
sheeting manufactured from the materials were also shown.  The gathering
was attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Bedford, the Earl
of Albemarle, Lord Erskine, Lord Crewe, Sir F. Burdett, Mr. Hume, &c.
“The magnificent hospitality of these meetings congregated men from all
parts of the civilized world.  None but agricultural subjects were
discussed.  On these the most conflicting opinions were freely given and
as freely canvassed, but anything political was excluded.  And thus,
although the political opinions of Mr. Coke and most of his personal
friends were not only very decided, but for a great period, and that the
most brilliant era of the Holkham meetings, unpopular with the great
majority of those connected with the landed interest, yet men of every
shade of political opinion were heartily welcome . . . and although they
might hear some favourite theory of farming ridiculed they never would
find anything hurtful to their political feelings advanced.  The Sheep
Shearing of 1821, indeed, was an exception.  Political topics were then
introduced.  It was a bad omen.  This Sheep Shearing was the
last.”—“Journal of the Royal Agricultural Society,” Vol. XIV., part 1.

7.—Miss Biffin paid a return visit to Norwich, and was exhibited at St.
Peter’s Steps, the Market Place.

19.—Norwich, in common with the cities and towns of the kingdom
generally, celebrated the Coronation day of King George IV.  The Mayor
and Corporation went in procession to the Cathedral, preceded by a troop
of the 9th Lancers, commanded by Capt. Campbell, sixty-four Waterloo men
wearing their medals, and by the loyal and constitutional clubs with
their flags.  The procession was closed in by the Norwich Light Horse
Volunteers.  After service a roasted bullock, weighing 60 stones, was
distributed in the Market Place, with 2,880 penny loaves, and several
barrels of beer.  There was a similar distribution in Ber Street.  A
dinner took place at St. Andrew’s Hall, under the presidency of the
Mayor, and at night a display of fireworks was given on a staging erected
on the south side of the Market Place.  A very elaborate triumphal arch,
erected near the Guildhall, was brilliantly illuminated.  There were like
demonstrations at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the county.

29.—Died at St. John Timberhill, Norwich, John Smith, schoolmaster, aged
54, “the author of several scholastic works and an English grammar.”

30.—A grand cricket match between the Holt and Nottingham clubs commenced
at Holt, and was continued on the two following days.  It terminated in
favour of Nottingham, with ten wickets to spare—Nottingham, 150-154;
Holt, 80-73.  The Holt team included R. J. Brereton, Garwood, N. Pilch,
William Pilch, F. Pilch, W. Englebright, R. Englebright, Frost, Brunton,
Carmichael, and Goggs.

31.—The new river or Cut from King’s Lynn to Eau Brink was opened.  At
8.30 a steam barge passed beneath the new bridge into the Cut, followed
by a great number of boats.  After the commissioners had viewed the work
the steamboat returned to Lynn, where dinner was served at the Town Hall,
under the presidency of Lord William Bentinck.


AUGUST.


1.—Died at his house in Charles Street, Berkeley Square, the Right Hon.
Lord Suffield, his Majesty’s Lieutenant of Norfolk.  His lordship, who
was in his 54th year, dying without issue, he was succeeded in his title
and estates by his brother, the Hon. Edward Harbord, M.P. for
Shaftesbury.  The remains of his lordship arrived at Aylsham, and lay in
state at the Black Boys Inn on August 12th, and the funeral took place at
Gunton on the 13th.

4.*—“In the recent creation of baronets are Major-General Sir Edward
Kerrison and Mr. Astley Paston Cooper, surgeon to his Majesty’s person.”

6.—The Norwich Assurance Company and the Norwich Union Society combined
their establishments under the style of the Norwich Union Fire Insurance
Society, with a capital of £550,000.

9.—Official intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of Queen
Caroline.  Her Majesty died at Bradenburgh House, Hammersmith, on the
7th.

10.—The organ in Loddon church, the gift of Mr. Thomas Reynolds, of
Chedgrave, was opened with a performance of sacred music by Messrs.
Pettet and Woolman.  The principal vocalists were Miss Gaskill, of
Norwich Theatre, Mrs. Card, and Mr. French; and the instrumental band was
composed of Norwich and Yarmouth amateurs.  “Tickets: middle aisle, 3s.;
side aisle, 2s.”

11.*—“A troop of the 4th Dragoons arrived here last week to replace the
troop of 9th Lancers, who have gone to Canterbury.”

—*“Died, last week, at Surlingham, Mrs. Elizabeth Utting, in her 104th
year.”

14.—Mr. Justice Richardson, in charging the Grand Jury at the Norwich
Summer Assizes, made reference to the large number of street robberies
and burglaries that had taken place in the city.  “Several persons had
their pockets picked in court; one man was detected in the act, and was
committed to Bridewell.”

17.—Among the civil actions tried at the Norwich Assizes, before Sir
Robert Dallas, Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, was that of
Crawcour _v._ Smith.  It was for the recovery of the cost of a suit of
clothes, &c., bought by the plaintiff in consequence of having received
from the defendant a fictitious card of invitation to dine at the Guild
feast in 1820.  The defendant, who admitted the sending of the card, was
heard to remark that “he would rather undergo transportation than not see
the plaintiff (a Jew dentist) at the door of the Guildhall in his pomps
and opera hat.”  Counsel for the defendant endeavoured to show that the
order for the apparel was given subsequent to the plaintiff receiving
notice of the fictitiousness of the card; and he argued that even if he
had gone to the feast he could not have partaken of it without incurring
the censure of the higher orders of his religion.  Mr. Sergeant Blossett,
for the plaintiff, replied that “of the 600 covers placed on the tables
on Guild Day there were several of which Mr. Crawcour might partake
without injury either of his soul or his stomach.”  The jury found for
the plaintiff—damages 1s.  (Mr. Crawcour on September 23rd met with a
terrible accident on Tombland.  The horse, which he was driving, ran
away, and he was thrown from the vehicle.  His leg was fractured in so
shocking a manner that immediate amputation was rendered necessary.)

18.—Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, M.P., was appointed his Majesty’s
Lieutenant, Vice-Admiral of the county, and Custos Rotulorum, in place of
the late Lord Suffield.

20.—A fire took place on the premises of Mr. Cross, Lower Earlham, by
which his barns and outhouses, hay, corn, and straw stacks were
destroyed.  The damage was estimated at £1,000.

21.—Belzoni, the celebrated traveller and discoverer of Egyptian
antiquities, visited Norwich, and stayed with Mr. Jeremiah Ives, at his
residence, St. Catherine’s Hill, where several gentlemen of the city were
invited to meet him.

22.—Died, aged 72, Mrs. Mary Mountain, of Norwich.  “On the first
establishment of the Institution for the Indigent Blind in this city she
tendered her gratuitous services as matron, and for 16 years filled that
situation.”

28.—A contest for freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich.  Mr. Joseph
Gibson, 680; Mr. T. O. Springfield, 442.  A scrutiny was afterwards
demanded and granted, but was abandoned.


SEPTEMBER.


1.*—“The Easton Lodge estate, the property of the late Mr. W. Foster, has
been purchased by Mr. Thomas Trench Berney, of Morton Hall, for 30,000
guineas.”

—*“The tower of the antient church of St. John of Maddermarket, Norwich,
which has long been in a state of dilapidation, is now taking down to be
reduced by 14 feet, so as just to leave room for the bells.”

—A panorama of Waterloo was exhibited at Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.

6.—The freemen of the “Blue and White” interest presented to Mr. Alderman
James Marsh a silver vase, weighing upwards of 100 ozs.  The presentation
was made at the Angel Inn, Norwich, by Mr. Edward Taylor.

—Workmen digging at the bottom of Bethel Street, Norwich, discovered a
human skeleton “laid exactly in the crossway of the roads; it was thought
to be the body of a criminal who died in prison and was buried there.”

8.*—“That highly esteemed performer, Mr. Vining, has formed a very
advantageous engagement with the proprietor of the Bath Theatre, and will
leave the Norwich company at the termination of Bury Fair.”  (He was
succeeded by his brother, Mr. J. Vining, who ultimately became a great
favourite on the Norwich stage.)

10.—Miss Dance, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre in
the character of Belvedera (“Venice Preserved”).  Her other
impersonations included Lady Teazle, Juliet, Widow Cheerly (“The
Soldier’s Daughter”), Mrs. Haller, Maria (“The Citizen”), &c.

16.—Died at Downham Market, at a very advanced age, William Howlett.  “He
was for many years employed as a labourer on the premises of Mr. E. R.
Pratt, at Ryston.  About 30 years ago he sold his wife, and delivered her
to the fortunate purchaser in a halter in the Market Place at Downham,
with whom she has ever since lived, and it is supposed they will now
marry.”

21.—At a quarterly meeting of the Corporation of Norwich, a committee was
appointed to take into consideration Mr. Cubitt’s plan for connecting the
city with the sea by way of Lowestoft.

26.—The foundation-stone of the Unitarian Chapel in Park Field, Diss, was
laid by Mr. Meadows Taylor and Mr. Thomas Dyson.

28.—Experiments with a life-saving rocket on Tregrouse’s principle were
made on Yarmouth beach by Rear-Admiral Spranger.  The rocket carried a
line from the ship to the shore, and running rigging was then brought
into use.


OCTOBER.


4.—Died in London, aged 64, the celebrated engineer, Mr. John Rennie, who
a few weeks previously had attended the opening of the Eau Brink cut.

6.*—(Advt.)  “Distressing case of long imprisonment.  Christopher Wood,
formerly of Lynn, bricklayer, committed in 1813 to Norwich Castle for
contempt of the Court of Chancery, incurred by his inability through
poverty to put in an answer to a bill filed against him to foreclose a
mortgage on an estate of which, unfortunately for him, he became owner.
He has been in prison eight years, and has hitherto been supported by his
labour beyond the prison allowance of bread, but having lately nearly
lost his sight he must in future depend entirely on the latter.  The
expense of putting in his answer will amount to £18, and being totally
unable to raise that sum must end his days in prison unless the
benevolent shall extend their bounty towards him by putting in his answer
to obtain his discharge, the Act for the Relief of Insolvent Debtors not
extending to persons in custody for contempts.”

10.—Robert Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, commenced the task of walking
1,000 miles in twenty successive days at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.
He had completed 100 miles on the evening of the 11th, and at the 390th
mile was compelled to give up in consequence of magisterial interference.

27.*—“Lady Beevor, widow of the late Sir Thomas Beevor, has taken the
surname of Hare out of respect to the memory of her late father.”

—Died, aged 74, Mr. Edward Rigby, M.D., of Norwich.  He received his
medical education under Mr. Martineau, and first began practice in 1769,
when he distinguished himself as an accoucheur, and was the author of a
treatise on subjects connected with that branch of his profession.  In
1814 he took his degree in physic.  Dr. Rigby in 1786 established the
Benevolent Medical Society for the relief of the widows and orphans of
medical men; and in 1789 became a member of the Corporation of Surgeons
and of the Medical Society in London.  He was assistant surgeon of the
Norfolk and Norwich Hospital on its establishment in 1771, surgeon in
1790, and physician in 1814.  For many years he kept a private lunatic
asylum; and made constant and unremitted exertions in the cause of
vaccination.  He wrote several treatises on agricultural subjects, and
was in 1820 elected an hon. member of the Philadelphia Society for
Promoting Agriculture.  He was also a member of the Linnæan Society.  Dr.
Rigby was elected an alderman in 1802, Sheriff in 1803, and Mayor in
1805.  His remains were interred at Framingham, near Norwich, on November
5th.

28.—The county magistrates adopted a plan prepared by Mr. Wilkins for the
erection of a new county gaol on the Castle Hill, Norwich, “so far as the
sum of £26,000 would carry it into effect.”  This plan included the
removal of the then Shirehouse and inconvenient courts of justice.  In
order that the whole of the expense of the work should not fall upon
occupiers it was arranged that half only be paid by them, and the other
half by the owners of estates.—On December 1st a meeting of the county
magistrates was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, to remonstrate
against the selection of the Castle Hill as the site for the new gaol.
At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions in January, 1822, the subject was
reconsidered, and it was finally decided by 30 to 24 votes to adhere to
the Castle Hill site.—On July 29th the workmen began to prepare the
ground for the foundations of the Shirehall, and on September 9th the
foundation-stone was laid with “Masonic ceremony.”  Current coins were
deposited in the cavity, and upon the stone was a Latin inscription
composed by the Rev. F. Howes.—The demolition of the old debtors’ court
commenced on May 7th, 1823, previous to which the prisoners committed on
criminal charges were removed to the different bridewells and houses of
correction in the county, the debtors only remaining in the Castle
keep.—On July 11th some workmen employed on the building were raising a
large stone, which fell and injured four of them, and one, Nicholas Mase,
died next day in hospital.  The new Shirehall was completed in time to
admit of the Quarter Sessions being held therein on October 15th, 1823,
which was the first occasion on which the building was used.  “As to the
prison buildings the ancient Saxon castle with Bigod’s tower is left
entire in its pristine state.  The hill is now surrounded with a
castellated wall of Aberdeen granite 20 feet high, leaving, however, in
general a space of nearly 20 feet for a public promenade on the summit of
the hill.”  The Castle ditches and meadow had previously been improved at
considerable expense by the city.  These works completed the first part
of the extensive scheme undertaken by the county.

—Lord Suffield was elected one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter
Sessions, in the room of the late Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart.

31.—There were two candidates for the vacancy occasioned upon the Norwich
aldermanic bench by the death of Dr. Rigby—namely, Mr. Jeremiah Ives and
Mr. Thomas Osborne Springfield.  Both political parties paraded the
streets with bands of music, flags, &c.  The poll was declared as
follows:—Springfield, 430; Ives, 268.  “The major part of the electors of
the Great Northern Ward received a couple of guineas each for their free
and independent votes.”


NOVEMBER.


3.—An accelerated mail service was introduced between London and Norwich
by the Postmaster-General.  By this arrangement the Norwich and Ipswich
mail coach performed the journey in one hour less time than previously.
On December 8th, however, it was announced that in consequence of the
Ipswich mail not having kept to the prescribed rate of travelling the
Post Office authorities had been obliged to return to the former times of
departure and arrival in respect to the London mail.  On the 17th a new
contract was entered into, by which the London mail to Norwich was
conveyed _viâ_ Newmarket.  The coach reached the city at ten o’clock am.
and departed at five p.m.

4.—A great gale occurred on the Norfolk coast, many vessels were driven
ashore between Yarmouth and Wells, and several foundered at sea.

10.*—“Mr. Charles Thurtell, son of Mr. Thomas Thurtell, of Lakenham, has
obtained a lieutenancy on board the Rochefort, now in the Mediterranean.”

13.—Died at Biddeford, Devonshire, aged 63, Major Charles Berkeley Money,
Royal Marines.  “He had retired from the service some years on account of
a severe wound received when captain on board the Royal Sovereign on the
glorious 1st of June.  He was a native and freeman of Norwich.”

16.—A severe storm took place.  The roads were in many parts of the
county rendered impassable by the heavy rains, and the marshes and low
grounds were flooded.

18.—Died at the house of his son-in-law, Mr. William Mason, of Necton,
the Rev. Paul Colombine, D.D., rector of Little Plumstead with Witton and
Brundall, perpetual curate of Hardley, and rector of Chilton, Suffolk.
He was presented to the living of Thurlton by the Mayor and Corporation
of Norwich in 1757.  He was in his 92nd year.

23.—Died, aged 62, Mr. William Burrows, alderman of the Great Northern
Ward, and Sheriff of Norwich in 1817.

24.—Dr. Yelloly was elected physician to the Norfolk and Norwich
Hospital, in place of Dr. Rigby, deceased.

26.—Mr. Peter Finch was elected an alderman of the Great Northern Ward,
Norwich, in place of Mr. William Burrows, deceased.


DECEMBER.


1.—A troop of the 4th Light Dragoons, under the command of Capt. Pratt,
left Norwich for Romford.

3.—A coursing party at Horsford “started a fine stout fox which was
instantly pursued by a brace of fleet greyhounds.  He kept before them
for more than half a mile when the dogs turned him.  After beating them
off for more than an hour he was taken alive.  Soon after Sir George
Brograve’s huntsman and hounds came up, when the coursing party, who had
joined in the chase, offered to unbag the fox for another run, but he was
found too exhausted and injured for the purpose, and it became necessary
to give him the _coup de grace_, and his head and brush were carried off
in triumph.”

7.—Mr. R. Hamond turned off a deer at Swaffham which led the field a
chase of nearly 30 miles.  “It crossed the river twice, and what is most
extraordinary Mr. A. Hamond, who is in his 81st year, partook of the
whole chase, and was at the spot when the deer was taken near Lynn.”

8.*—“Died last week at Ramsgate, at an advanced age, the Rev. Samuel
Vince, M.A., F.R.S., Plumian Professor of Astronomy in the University of
Cambridge, and Archdeacon of Bedford.  He was also rector of Kirby Bedon
and vicar of South Creake.”

11.—Died at his house in Mansfield Street, Sir Martin Browne ffolkes,
Bart, of Hillington Hall, M.P., F.R.S.  He was created baronet in 1774,
served the office of High Sheriff in 1783, and in 1790 was elected member
of Parliament for King’s Lynn, and continued to represent the borough
without intermission until the time of his death.

—An inquest was held at Lynn by Mr. Samuel Hadley, one of the coroners of
the borough, on the body of Robert Roberson, who was shot by Mr. Henry
Pond, a linen draper in High Street, whilst in the act of breaking into
his shop.  The jury returned a verdict of justifiable homicide.

15.*—“Robberies and depredations upon the public having been made to an
extent hitherto unknown, it is the determination of the justices in
certain Hundreds to form an establishment that will give vigour and
effect to the exertions of the magistrates in preventing robberies,
burglaries, larcenies, poaching, and felonies of various descriptions.”

17.—Cooke’s Company of Equestrians commenced a season’s engagement at the
Norwich Pantheon.

18.—A deputation waited upon Mr. Alderman Crisp Brown, of Norwich, to
acquaint him that 300 citizens had subscribed for his full-length
portrait, as a mark of “the respect and esteem entertained towards him
for his manly and loyal conduct upon all occasions, and for the strenuous
exertions which he made during his mayoralty to promote the better
observance of the Lord’s day.”  The portrait, by Clover, was hung in St.
Andrew’s Hall in October, 1822.

22.*—“Mr. Alexander Baring has purchased the mansion and domains of the
Hon. Mr. Petre in Norfolk, it is said for £300,000.  The estate is
situate near Thetford, and there are 26,000 acres of land.”

—*“An experiment has been tried for the bettering of the condition of the
labourers in agriculture, and for reducing the poor rates in the parish
of Terrington by the apportionment of parcels of land from one to five
roods, which has been found, after three years’ trial, to be productive
of the happiest effects.”

23.—During a violent gale from the N.N.W. a new East Indiaman, the
Indian, of 400 tons, from Hull to London, was wrecked off Yarmouth.  The
crew of 20 hands and a small part of her stores were saved.  The value of
the ship and cargo was estimated at £10,000.

25.—Service was held at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, when “the lighting
of the church was strikingly beautiful, and had a very imposing effect by
the admission of some additional lamps, which were very judiciously
arranged, giving to the altar and the communion plate upon the table a
very brilliant and splendid appearance.”

28.—A prize fight took place at Testerton Park, the residence of Major
Case, between Barlee, the Berghapton Groom, and Gales, the Norwich
butcher.  The former was attended by Ned Painter and Hervey, and the
latter by Josh Hudson and Cullington.  Seventy-eight rounds were fought
in one hour three minutes, and the battle was won by Barlee.  “Barlee, on
being declared victor, immediately planted an oak in the ring in the
presence of about 5,000 spectators in front of Testerton Hall.  The two
young pugilists were, by order of Major Case, taken under his hospitable
roof and put to bed, where everything needful was generously offered
them.  A large party of the Fancy had the honour of dining with the
major.”



1822.


JANUARY.


2.—A party of thieves, known as the “Cossey gang,” committed great
depredations in the neighbourhood of Norwich.  On the night of the 2nd
they broke into the Half Moon public-house, Stone Hills, and stole
sixteen gallons of spirits and other property.  “Tired of committing
depredations on foot, about ten o’clock at night, as soon as they find
those who keep horses are gone to bed, they resort to the stables and
take out what horses they want, ride to the spot of depredation, whether
for game, poultry, sheep, &c., and when done return the horses almost
jaded and harassed to death.”  (See August 2nd, 1822.)

9.—The Marquis of Titchfield was elected without opposition as member of
Parliament for King’s Lynn, in place of Sir Martin Browne ffolkes,
deceased.

12.—The poor of Norwich and its neighbourhood were informed by
advertisement that medical and surgical advice was given free at the
Infirmary for Diseases of the Eye, St Benedict’s, Norwich (late Messrs.
Day’s bank), by Mr. L. Evans, M.D., physician, and Messrs. Robert Hull
and T. Martineau, jun., surgeons.  At a public meeting held on July 11th,
under the presidency of Sir Robert J. Harvey, it was resolved that “the
Norfolk and Norwich Infirmary for Diseases of the Eye, instituted and
supported by Dr. Evans, Mr. Hull, and Mr. T. Martineau, has already been
productive of great advantage, and is deserving of public support.”

—A meeting of the proprietors and occupiers of land was held at the
Shirehouse, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the
present most truly alarming state of agriculture.”  The High Sheriff (Sir
Jacob Astley) presided.  Resolutions were adopted urging the diminution
of taxation by means of rigid economy, the repeal of one half of the Malt
Tax, and the removal of the heavy imposts upon candles, salt, leather,
&c.  A petition embodying these views was ordered to be presented to the
House of Commons.  After this date many similar meetings were held in the
principal towns and villages in the Hundreds of the county, ostensibly
for the purpose of suggesting remedies for agricultural distress and of
promoting Parliamentary reform.  It was alleged that many of these
gatherings were of a party character, and on May 18th, the NORFOLK
CHRONICLE observed: “The discussion of agricultural distress was last
week suspended, and the mask of Parliamentary Reform entirely thrown off
by those who for the last four months have displayed so much violence
against the Government in pursuing the one, and casting so much obloquy
upon Parliament in assuming the other.”

24.—The annual dinner held at Norwich in celebration of the birthday of
Fox was attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Norfolk, the
Earl of Albemarle (who presided), Mr. T. W. Coke, and many other
representatives of the Whig nobility and gentry of the county.

28.—Two Corsican stags, presented by Lord Maynard to Mr. Robert Hamond,
gave the Westacre Hunt good sport this season.  “The first was turned off
at Rougham on the 28th, and gave them a severe chase of nearly three
hours, from the effects of which two horses died.  They are very superior
to the red deer of this country from their capability to endure extreme
fatigue and to take the most extraordinary leaps.”

31.—Norwich Theatre was opened for the season with the grand spectacle of
“The Coronation.”


FEBRUARY.


1.—Lord Henry Cholmondeley was elected Member of Parliament for the
borough of Castle Rising, in the room of the Earl of Rocksavage, created
a peer by the title of Baron Newburgh.

11.—The Papyruseum, an exhibition of models formed of paper by Mrs.
Aberdein, was opened at the White Swan Inn, Norwich.

14.—A smuggling boat landed 80 tubs of gin and brandy on Snettisham
beach.  The crew of the preventive boat seized the cargo, a portion of
which with their boat was rescued by the smugglers, who had the
assistance of about 100 persons, some of whom were armed with bludgeons
and fowling pieces.  Twenty or thirty horses and carts were in waiting to
remove the contraband goods.  Two of the smugglers were wounded in the
affray.

18.—Lynn Theatre was opened under the management of Mr. T. Marsters.

19.—Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, walked 50 miles in a few minutes
under eleven hours at Lynn.

23.*—“We understand that the manufactory of bombazines and crapes in
Norwich is likely to be affected from the circumstance of those articles
being now made in considerable quantities in various parts of Lancashire
at a much lower rate of wages for the weaving than that which is paid
here.”

26.—Married, by special licence, at the house of the Earl of Albemarle,
St. James’s Square, London, by the Lord Bishop of Norwich, Mr. Thomas
William Coke, M.P., of Holkham, to Lady Anne Keppel, second daughter of
the earl.

27.—The machine breaking riots commenced in Norfolk.  Upwards of a
hundred labourers assembled at Kenninghall, and seized the threshing
machine of Mr. Bailey, a farmer.  The Rev. J. Surtees, of Banham, a
county justice, at once proceeded to a neighbouring farm where an auction
was being held, and, in the King’s name, requested the auctioneer and the
farmers present to assist him in quelling the disturbance.  The whole
party rode over to Kenninghall, and after the Riot Act had been read the
mob dispersed.  On March 4th there were further riotous assemblies at
Attleborough, Shropham, Buckenham, Banham, &c.  The Eye troop of Yeomanry
Cavalry were called out, and of the 30 rioters secured eight who were
regarded as ringleaders, and they were sent to Norwich Castle under
cavalry escort.  The Yeomanry after lodging the prisoners in gaol were
assailed by a Norwich mob, who stoned them in the streets, and attacked
the Trowel and Hammer public-house, St. Stephen’s, where they had halted
to bait their horses.  The troopers returned to headquarters at East
Harling after a march of eighty miles in twenty hours.  Many prisoners
were also committed to the Castle from other districts, and several cases
of incendiarism were reported.  At the adjourned Quarter Sessions for the
county, held at Norwich on the 6th, the rioters were tried and sentenced
to various terms of imprisonment in the Bridewells and houses of
correction in the county.  A guard of the West Norfolk Militia was
stationed at the Castle, and a squadron of the Norwich Light Horse
Volunteers did duty at the Cavalry Barracks until relieved by the 16th
Lancers.  The Lancers and Light Horse afterwards acted as escorts to the
vans by which the prisoners were conveyed to the different prisons.  On
the march the military were repeatedly stoned by the mobs.  Detachments
of the 7th Dragoon Guards were stationed at Hingham and Attleborough, and
remained at those places until the lawless disposition manifested by the
rural population had subsided.


MARCH.


9.—Wombwell exhibited his menagerie on the Castle Meadow, Norwich.

16.—Mr. Blanchard appeared at Norwich Theatre as Toby Allspice (“The Way
to Get Married”) and Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”).  Among the other
characters impersonated during his engagement were Dr. Ollapod, Sir Abel
Handy, Mungo, Job Thornberry (“John Bull”), Capt. Meadows (“The Deaf
Lover”), &c.

28.—At the Norfolk Assizes held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Richards,
William Hardiment and Benjamin Neal, who were concerned with James
Johnson in the murder of Mr. Baker at Wells-next-the-Sea on October 11th,
1817, were put upon their trial.  Hardiment had evaded apprehension, and
at the Spring Assizes in 1818 the bill charging Neal as an accessory was
thrown out by the Grand Jury.  Several witnesses now deposed to having
seen Johnson and Hardiment in company at about the time of the murder,
and two persons confined in Aylsham bridewell at the same time that
Hardiment and Neal were prisoners there gave evidence as to hearing
conversations between the two when planning the murder.  One of these
witnesses (Thomas Robinson), on December 24th, 1821, met Hardiment at
Beverley, in Yorkshire, and gave information which led to his arrest.
The jury found Hardiment guilty, and acquitted Neal.  Hardiment was
executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, at noon on April 1st in the
presence of an immense crowd of spectators.  “Not more than three yards
from the gallows a boy was knocked down by a gentleman who detected him
picking his pockets.”

—At the same Assizes, before Mr. Justice Richards, the cause Lock, D.D.,
_v._ the Bishop of Norwich was tried.  In consequence of simony alleged
to have been committed by the Rev. Dr. Lock, the patron of the advowson
of Hilgay, the Crown had seized the living and presented the Rev. Dr.
Hewlett thereto on April 6th, 1819.  This action of _quare impedit_ was
instituted by the plaintiff to try the right of the Crown to such
presentation.  The defendant raised three pleas: (1) that the Rev. John
Royle being seized of the living of Hilgay it was corruptly agreed that
Lock should resign the living of Compton Martin, in Somersetshire, and
cause him (Royle) to be presented to it, and also that Lock should pay
Royle the sum of £12,900 for the advowson of Hilgay, and that in
consideration of the promises Royle should resign the living and cause
Lock to be presented to it.  (2) That Lock being seized of the living of
Hilgay did corruptly agree with one James Craddock, that in consideration
of the said Craddock paying to him the sum of £25,000 he (Lock) should
convey to Craddock the advowson of Hilgay, and also resign the living and
cause him (Craddock) to be presented to it.  (3) That Lock, being seized
of Hilgay, having presented Craddock, did corruptly agree that, in
consideration of Lock abandoning certain proceedings in an action for
debt against Craddock, he should forego proceedings upon a bill of
indictment for perjury preferred by Lock against Craddock, but Lock
corruptly prevailed upon Craddock to resign the living in order that he
(Lock) might present himself to it.  The jury gave a verdict for the
Crown generally upon all pleas.  The Judge: A very proper verdict.  It is
very disgraceful dealing, gentlemen.

30.*—(Advt.)  “To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on Monday,
April 15th, 1822, and two following days, three double-days’ play of
cocks for ten guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd, between the
gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Northampton.  Feeders: Stafford
for Norwich, Nash for Northampton.”


APRIL.


6.*—“A fish of the whale species was killed in shallow water on Cromer
beach last week.  Its dimensions were 57 feet long, breadth of tail, 13
feet; pectoral fin, six feet; from the eye to the end of the jaw, 13
feet; length of jaw bones, 14 feet; length of tongue, nine feet; breadth,
four feet.  It answers the description of the under-jawed whale.”

13.—Noah Peak and George Fortis were executed on the Castle Hill,
Norwich, for setting fire to three stacks on February 25th.  Both men had
been soldiers.  Peak was present at Busaco, Albuera, and Waterloo; and
Fortis was also in the last-named battle.  “It is not three years since
Peak came to Norwich and conveyed home for burial the body of Edward
Fisher, his fellow parishioner, who was executed on the Hill in August,
1819, for stabbing William Harrison.”

20.—Among the passengers who perished in the ship Albion, wrecked upon
the coast of Ireland, was Miss Powell, eldest daughter of the Hon. W. D.
Powell, Chief Justice of Upper Canada, and granddaughter of Dr. John
Murray, of Norwich.


MAY.


1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, and the
poll was declared as follows:—Alderman Hawkes, 957; Alderman Patteson,
908; Alderman Thurtell, 364; Alderman Yallop, 318.  The Court of Aldermen
unanimously returned Mr. Robert Hawkes as Mayor.

4.*—“Last week two gentlemen on searching the burial ground belonging to
the Roman camp at Caister discovered the remains of a kiln with several
urns upon it as they were placed for burning.  Antiquaries having doubted
whether urns found at Caister were burnt in a fire or only dried in the
sun, the discovery of this kiln may be decisive of the question.”

11.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, “for the
purpose of taking into consideration the propriety of presenting a
petition to Parliament for a reform in the representation of the people.”
There was a crowded gathering, and much confusion prevailed until the
High Sheriff (Sir R. P. Jodrell) adjourned the meeting to the Castle
Hill, where the speeches were delivered from waggons.  Sir Thomas Beevor
moved a series of resolutions, the sixth of which stated “that a petition
be presented to the House of Commons praying that the House will
forthwith give to the people a real representation in place of that
corrupt and defective one which now exists.”  Mr. S. T. Southwell
seconded the resolutions, which were put _seriatim_ and carried _nem.
con._  Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., spoke from
their respective waggons, and each surrounded by his partisans, left the
Hill amid much cheering.

20.—A meeting was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, to decide upon the
rules of a society for enabling traders to oppose the discharge of
fraudulent debtors under the Insolvent Acts.

25.—An immense number of persons assembled at the Eau Brink Cut at Lynn
to witness the performance of “Zachariah Witmore, of Philadelphia” upon a
“water velocipede.”  It was a hoax.

30.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, the Mayor (Mr. W.
Rackham) presiding, at which a fund was inaugurated for the relief of the
distress in Ireland.  Sermons were also preached in the churches and
chapels in city and county in aid of the same object.  The amount raised
in Norwich and Norfolk was upwards of £3,000.


JUNE.


3.—The Leicester and Yarmouth Royal Mail coach commenced running.  It
started from Yarmouth at 1.45 p.m. and travelled by way of Norwich,
Dereham, Swaffham, Lynn, Wisbech, Peterborough, Stamford, and Melton
Mowbray.  At Stamford and Leicester it was in connection with coaches to
the north and west.

5.—Died at his house in Bolton Row, London, Mr. Edward Jerningham,
youngest son of Sir William Jerningham, Bart.  The remains were removed
from London to Costessey, where they were interred beneath the altar in
the private chapel.  Mrs. Edward Jerningham died on June 24th.

10.—A camping match took place at Ranworth between ten men of that
parish, and a like number from neighbouring parishes.  “After half an
hour’s excellent sport, which produced some good set-tos and a few bloody
noses, victory was declared in favour of Ranworth.”

14.—Died at his house in Cavendish Square, London, the Right Hon. Horatio
Walpole, Earl of Orford, Baron Walpole of Wolverton, and Baron Walpole of
Walpole, High Steward of the Borough of King’s Lynn, and colonel of the
West Norfolk Regiment of Militia.  The deceased nobleman, who was in his
70th year and was buried on the 25th at Wickmere, was succeeded in his
title and estates by the Right Hon. Horatio Lord Walpole, Member of
Parliament for Lynn.

18.—The Guild Day festivities at Norwich were carried out with great
splendour by the Mayor-elect, Mr. Robert Hawkes.  After returning from
service at the Cathedral, the Corporation listened to the Latin oration
delivered at the Free School porch by the head boy, Peter Hansell, and
after the customary ceremonies at the Guildhall, 700 guests assembled at
the feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.  In Bethel Street, where the Mayor
resided, were two triumphal arches, and on the summit of one a band
played selections of music.

23.—The tower of Happisburgh church was considerably damaged by lightning
during a severe thunderstorm, which occasioned much loss throughout the
county.

27.—The election to fill the vacancy in the representation of Lynn caused
by the elevation to the peerage of Lord Walpole commenced.  The
candidates were Col. the Hon. John Walpole, brother of the late member,
and Sir William Browne ffolkes.  Considerable disturbance prevailed
throughout the contest.  About 40 voters had polled for each candidate,
when the mob demolished Col. Walpole’s polling booth, set fire to the
materials, and stoned the poll clerks.  They then proceeded to the Duke’s
Head Inn, smashed the windows, tore the Corporation flag to pieces, and
committed other acts of violence.  The polling was adjourned until the
28th, when the disturbances were renewed, and a further postponement was
rendered necessary, the numbers then standing: Walpole, 137; ffolkes, 72.
About three o’clock in the afternoon a detachment of the 7th Dragoon
Guards arrived from Norwich, under the command of Lieut. Everard.  One of
the ringleaders of the mob was captured and sent under escort to Swaffham
Bridewell.  The polling was resumed on the 29th, and at noon, when every
vote appeared to have been recorded, the Town Clerk announced the numbers
as follow: Walpole, 156; ffolkes, 92.  The former was then declared duly
elected.  At the Norfolk Assizes held at Norwich on July 31st, before Mr.
Justice Best, William Chandler was indicted for taking part in the riot
at Lynn, and was ordered to enter into his recognisances to come up for
judgment when called upon.  Thomas Johnson and other persons were at the
Lent Assizes at Thetford in March, 1823, sentenced by Mr. Justice Garrow
to various terms of imprisonment for participating in the disturbances.


JULY.


4.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Aldborough, of Trowse.

5.—A meeting of the manufacturers was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “to
consider the present prices paid for weaving.”  It was agreed to adopt a
reduced scale of payment.  Meetings of the men were called, and the
employers were requested to reconsider the question.  Another meeting was
accordingly held on the 9th, when Mr. Beloe urged that the proposals of
the employers were ill-advised.  On the other hand it was stated that
goods were being manufactured in Yorkshire in large quantities at much
lower rates than in Norwich.  It was contended by the weavers that
greatly increased demands had been made upon them for house rent and
coals, and that it was impossible for them to live on reduced wages.  A
further statement was made to the effect that the lowering of prices
would tend to inferior workmanship.  A mob assembled outside the
Guildhall and cheered or hooted the different manufacturers whom they
deemed friendly or adverse to their claims.  One gentleman, Mr. William
Bosley, was very roughly handled, and his hat, coat, and shoes were taken
from him and torn to pieces.  It was considered necessary to summon the
assistance of the 7th Dragoon Guards, but the mob dispersed after the
announcement had been made from the leads of the Guildhall that the
manufacturers had consented to return to the old prices.  The weavers
spent the 10th in festivity and rejoicing.

6.—Died, William Coward, aged 85, for 54 years parish clerk at St.
Margaret’s, Lynn.  “He was borne to the grave by six grave-diggers, and
the pall was supported by six parish clerks.”

8.—Died at Calcutta, the Right Rev. Thomas Fanshaw Middleton, D.D.,
Bishop of Calcutta, and formerly vicar of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

—A camping match took place at Ranworth, in the presence of 6,000
spectators, between men of the Blofield and of the Tunstead and Happing
Hundreds.  “So closely were the men (ten a side) matched for strength,
courage, skill, and activity that the ball was nearly in the centre of
the ground when time was called and play stopped.  At the conclusion of
the camp, Turner, of Witton, and Riches, of Upton, had a pugilistic trial
of manhood.  A well-fought battle of thirty-two rounds of hard milling,
with little or no science, ended in favour of Riches.”

19.—Mr. T. Filby, of Elsing, fell down dead in the Sessions Court at the
Shirehouse, Norwich, when in the act of entering the jury box.

20.—Puxley and Nelson’s “New Fly Vans” were advertised to run between the
Star Inn, Norwich, and the Bull Inn, Aldgate, every day.  The journey was
accomplished in twenty-four hours.

—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Giuliano Mantova, an Italian boy, who
travelled the country with pictures for one Dominico Crostea, of Norwich,
was indicted for maliciously and fraudulently taking by force from
William Hill, employed by Messrs. Copeman and Petworth, solicitors,
Aylsham, a child named Susan Hoffrath.  The prisoner denied that he had
enticed the child away, and his master gave him a good character; but the
jury found him guilty, and he was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment in
Norwich Castle.

21.—Died at his house, Tombland, Norwich, aged 76, Mr. Charles Kitson,
one of the Chapter Registrars of the diocese of Norwich.

29.—Norwich Theatre was opened for the Assize week.  “Since the period of
its leaving Norwich the company has been subject to almost an entire
change, and it is now equal to any provincial establishment of the
histrionic kind in the kingdom.”  The new members included Miss Wensley,
Mrs. Dowton, Mr. Osbaldiston, and Mr. Ford White.  Mrs. Dowton was a
favourite actress in the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, under
the management of Mr. Fisher, and afterwards married Mr. Sloman, the low
comedian of the Norwich Company.


AUGUST.


2.—At Norwich Theatre a new tragedy, entitled “The Persian Heroine,”
written by Mr. Richard Paul Jodrell, was performed under the patronage of
the High Sheriff and Lady Jodrell.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Best, James
Smith was indicted for breaking into the house of William Balls, the Half
Moon, Stone Hills, near Norwich, and stealing on January 2nd 16 gallons
of liquors in bottles, a purse containing £8 in notes and cash, a
quantity of copper coin, &c.  He was found guilty and sentenced to death.
(Although it was not stated at the trial, the prisoner was evidently one
of the “Cossey gang” referred to under date January 2nd, 1822.)  At the
Norwich Assizes, Henry Carter was sentenced to death for entering the
dwelling-house of John Clarke, of St. Paul’s, and stealing therein
several articles.  The execution of these men was carried out under
revolting circumstances on August 24th.  From an early hour in the
morning they were incessantly appealed to by the chaplain of the gaol and
a Wesleyan minister to acknowledge the justice of their sentence.  The
procession from the gaol in St Giles’ Street to the scaffold was headed
by the Under Sheriffs on horseback; the Sheriffs accompanied by the
chaplain and the minister came next in a mourning coach, “followed by a
cart covered with black cloth on which sat the two malefactors each with
arms pinioned, neck bare, and head uncovered, each sitting on the coffin
destined to receive his lifeless body.”  Smith was well behaved, but
Carter acted with great levity during the progress of the procession
through the Market Place to the scaffold erected near the weighing
machine on the Castle Meadow, and on the very drop itself “he seemed to
evince perfect indifference to the fate which awaited him.”  After
hanging for an hour “the bodies were carried by twelve bearers to the
house of Carter’s parents in St. Margaret’s, and were buried on the 26th
in the churchyard of that parish.”

3.*—“Mr. Yarrington, of this city, plumber and glazier, has presented the
Dean and Chapter of Norwich with a valuable piece of stained glass, a
portrait of the Virgin, which has been placed in the west window of the
Cathedral.”

6.—A great cocking match lasting two days commenced at Yarmouth, between
the gentlemen of that town and of Norwich.  Yarmouth won eleven mains and
five byes, and Norwich nine mains and seven byes.  “The feeder for
Norwich (Nash) proved the excellence of his management.  On Wednesday
evening the Norwich cock was pounded and taken by Nash, and from the
superiority of his condition afterwards won the battle.  In the second
pit the same evening one of the Norwich cocks had his thigh broken in the
first part of the battle, and afterwards fought two hours, and at one
time brought the odds from ten to one against him to the same odds in his
favour.  He, however, eventually lost.  This battle would have been
withdrawn, but as the money depended upon it they were induced to
continue it.”

7.—Mr. Heber, “the very eminent book collector and M.P. for the
University of Oxford,” dined with the Bishop of Norwich at the Palace,
and on the following morning proceeded to Blickling to inspect the
library at the hall.

8.—A cricket match between eleven members of the Holt club and the first
eleven of the Nottingham club, commenced at Nottingham, and owing to
unfavourable weather was protracted to the 11th.  Scores: Nottingham,
109-91; Holt, 52-43.  “Bets to the amount of several thousand pounds were
dependent upon the match.”

11.—His Majesty the King passed off Yarmouth on his voyage to Scotland.
“About half past five o’clock two steam tugs were seen with the Royal
yacht in tow, and thousands of persons crowded to the jetty and beach.”
The vessels steered a course outside the Roads; but the Perseverance yawl
put off with thirty persons on board, “and had the good fortune to fall
in with the yacht as it was weathering the Newarp floating light.  The
company in the boat gave four cheers for the King, who came on board and
returned the salutation.”  On his return voyage on Saturday, August 31st,
his Majesty passed through the Roads, and the yacht came close in shore.
“His Majesty was greatly disappointed in not receiving a supply of fresh
provisions which had been previously ordered to be ready for him on his
arrival off the town.  The letter arrived two hours after the King had
passed.”

12.—Marshland free bridge and causeway were opened for the use of the
public.  A procession, led by the carriage of Mr. Thomas Hoseason, and
followed by those of Sir Thomas Hare, Mr. Anthony Hamond, and others
started from the South Gates, Lynn, preceded by a band of music.  On the
arrival of the procession at the foot of the bridge the horses were taken
out of Mr. Hoseason’s carriage and men who had been employed on the works
dragged it over the bridge and causeway.  After a congratulatory speech
by Mr. Hoseason, luncheon was provided for 200 guests at the expense of
the directors.  In the evening a dinner was given at the Freemasons’
Tavern, and on the marshes belonging to Mr. W. Goddard, at West Lynn, a
fair for stock was held for the first time, a sheep roasted, and several
barrels of beer given away.

17.*—“Thorogood, one of the proprietors of the Times coach from Norwich
to London, has actually driven the whole distance, 116 miles, and been in
both those cities _every day_ for more than a twelvemonth, an instance of
laborious perseverance altogether unparalleled.”

19.—Lee Sugg, the ventriloquist, who had been before the public for half
a century as a performer, gave his entertainment at the Prussia Gardens,
Norwich.

29.—This being the anniversary of the Decollation of St. John the usual
formalities were observed at the election of the Mayor, chamberlain, and
churchwardens of Yarmouth.  The inquest was locked up at twelve noon, and
did not come to a decision until next morning at 7.30, when the following
officers were returned: Mayor, Mr. Isaac Preston; churchwardens, Messrs.
Robert Cory and Danby Palmer; chamberlain, Mr. James Lawes.


SEPTEMBER.


9.—At Thorpe Water Frolic a match was sailed by nine boats for a silver
cup, gave by Mr. Harvey.  Rowing matches followed, and “the banks of the
Yare were thronged beyond all precedency with genteel company.”

12.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of
furthering the scheme for making Norwich a port, in accordance with the
plans prepared by Mr. William Cubitt, C.E.  On the motion of Mr. Crisp
Brown, seconded by Mr. Joseph Geldart, it was agreed to open a
subscription for carrying the plans into effect, and formal notice was
given of the introduction of the Bill into Parliament.  (See December
21st, 1822.)

14.*—“Died last week in Norwich, well stricken in years, Mr. James
Paston, a comedian of considerable talent, many years a performer in the
Norfolk and Suffolk Company, and was much admired in that circuit as an
actor.”

25.—A camping match took place at Worstead between ten men of the
Blofield Hundred and ten of the Tunstead and Happing Hundred.  It
terminated in favour of the former.  “A poor old man, who had repaired
thither to see the sport, fell down and expired on the spot.”

27.—A deputation of journeyman weavers presented Mr. John Harvey with a
silver vase, subscribed for by 2,300 persons, “in testimony of the high
esteem in which they regarded him as a liberal patron and spirited
promoter of the manufactures of his native city of Norwich, and as a
small tribute of gratitude for the many acts of kindness he had
manifested towards them on various occasions.”

30.—Mr. David Fisher’s season terminated at Swaffham Theatre.  “With the
close of the season has ended the use of the present Theatre, which is to
be pulled down and a new one on a more extended and improved scale
erected.”

—A dinner was given at the Town Hall, Lynn, by the Mayor-elect, Mr.
Edward Everard.  The company present included, among others, Mr. T. W.
Coke, M.P., the Marquis of Tichfield, M.P., Col. Walpole, M.P., &c.
“Some pointed remarks fell from both parties, and Mr. Coke made some
remarks which called forth some observations from Mr. Wodehouse.”
Alderman Blencowe proposed “the health of Lady Anne,” and Mr. Coke, in
reply, said “it was extremely natural that he should wish for a son and
heir to the Holkham estate, but declared that rather than his son should
prove a Tory he should wish not to have a son at all.”

—A serious accident occurred at Yarmouth on the occasion of the dinner
given by the Mayor-elect.  As the company were entering the Town Hall a
salute was fired from some “swivels” laid on the Quay, one of which burst
and severely wounded seven or eight lads.  From the effects of the
terrible injuries he received, one of the lads died next day.


OCTOBER.


1.—H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex arrived at Lynn on his way to Holkham Hall.
A meeting of the Corporation was held, at which his Royal Highness was
enrolled a free burgess of the borough.  Luncheon was served at the Town
Hall, and “the Mayor presented that exquisite relic of antiquity, King
John’s cup, filled with wine, of which his Royal Highness partook.”

1.—Died, in his 81st year, at Westacre High House, Mr. Anthony Hamond.
“He lived a life of extraordinary activity, and rode the foremost in the
coursing as well as in the hunting field on the most spirited horses,
even to a few weeks of his death.  He was born at South Woodton, near
Lynn, and succeeded his uncle, Mr. Richard Hamond, in possession of his
extensive landed property.  By the female line he was related to the Duke
and Princess Sophia of Gloucester, the late Earl of Orford, and the
present Marquis Cholmondeley, his grandmother being sister of Sir Robert
Walpole.  He was the only surviving original member of the Swaffham
Coursing Society, established in 1779.  He served the office of Sheriff
of Norfolk in 1792, and leaves surviving three sons and two daughters.”

2.—M. Chalon, the famous French conjurer, performed at the Norwich
Theatre.

8.—The Norfolk and Norwich Literary Institution was founded at a meeting
held at the Guildhall.  The rooms of the institution were at a house in
the Haymarket.

12.*—“A short time since as two gentlemen of Norwich were fishing at
Halvergate, they caught a pike which weighed twenty-two ounces and
measured twenty-three inches in length; in the body of which they found a
weasel in a perfect state, which weighed six ounces and measured twelve
inches in length.”

13.—During a terrible gale the Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. John Sayers,
was lost off Happisburgh with 30 of her crew.  Capt. Sayer was appointed
to the command of the Lapwing cutter in 1807, and of the Ranger in 1809.
The latter vessel was wrecked within 50 yards of the spot where another
Revenue cutter, the Hunter, was lost some years previously.  Allegations,
the truth of which was denied, were made that the inhabitants of
Happisburgh shamefully neglected the signals of distress made by the
Ranger.  “The shrieks of the crew,” it was said, “were heard distinctly
on the shore, yet no attempt was made to rescue.”

15.—A “grand music meeting” commenced in Norwich, and concluded on the
18th.  Evening concerts were given at the Theatre, and morning
performances in the Hall Concert Room, St. George’s.  The managers were
Messrs. A. and E. Pettet, and the principal vocal performers M. Sapio,
Mr. Beale, and Madame Camporese.

18.—Died, aged 51, Daniel Coppin, of St. Catherine’s Plain, Norwich.  He
was a member of the Norwich Society of Artists, and was principally known
for his highly creditable studies from Opie.

28.—Two men named Grint, a dyer, and Purdy, a weaver, “neither of whom
had any pretensions to pugilistic science,” fought for an hour near
Bishop Bridge, Norwich, until Purdy became insensible, and three days
afterwards died.  Grint was committed for trial, and at the Norwich
Summer Assizes, in 1823, was found guilty, and sentenced by Mr. Justice
Blossett to three months’ imprisonment.

31.—The chandling office of Messrs. Staff and Chamberlin, St.
Martin-at-Palace, Norwich, was destroyed by fire.  “Several hogsheads of
tallow and a large quantity of candles were melted and ran down the
streets in a stream into the river, from the surface of which more than
ten cwt. was skimmed off by persons in boats.”


NOVEMBER.


4.—Mr. Harvey was presented by the Corporation with a massive silver
candelabrum in recognition of his impartial and honourable conduct as
Steward and Recorder of Norwich during the period of 40 years, and of his
zeal on all occasions for the interests of the city.

5.—Mutton of the best quality was sold in Lynn Market at 3d. per pound.
On the 6th Mr. Martin, butcher, sold mutton at 2½d. per pound.

9.*—“Lately was launched from Mr. Bottomley’s yard in South Lynn a ship
of 600 tons burden with figure-head and quarter galleries, built for the
Jamaica trade.  She was called the Marlborough.”

—The Phœnix new night coach from the Star Inn, Market Place, Norwich,
left on Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday, at four o’clock and arrived at the
Bull Inn, Aldgate, at eight in the morning.  It was advertised on this
date as the property of Ann Nelson and Sons and Thomas Ridley and Co.

—Died at Coltishall, aged 77, Mr. William Palgrave, an alderman of
Yarmouth, who served the office of Mayor of that borough in 1782 and
1805.

26.—A grand moving panorama of the battle of Genappe, St. Helena, &c.,
was opened in Mr. Noverre’s room, St. Michael-at-Plea, Norwich.

28.—Died at Doughty’s Hospital, in his 63rd year, John Swan, for many
years an inhabitant of St. Peter Mancroft.  “In the former part of his
life he acted as watchman and parish constable.  Being of athletic make,
of a stern countenance, and possessing a sonorous, rough voice he excited
terror and commanded obedience to his authority.  He was several years
one of the appointed trumpeters for sounding before the judges in the
Assize week, and also for attending at Thetford on the same occasion.”

29.—An inquest was held at Loddon by Mr. Pilgrim, coroner, on the body of
James Dale, who was killed the preceding day by a patient in the private
lunatic asylum kept by Mr. Jollye, surgeon.  The deceased, a keeper,
incautiously laid down the carving knife which he was using at the dinner
table, when the patient snatched it up and stabbed him in the left
breast, killing him instantly.

30.—Lloyd’s Equestrian Troupe commenced a season’s engagement at the
Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.


DECEMBER.


1.—H.R.H. the Duke of York passed through Norwich on returning from a
visit to Houghton Hall.

—Died at Downham Market, Mrs. Pidgeon.  “This venerable person was 89
years of age, and what is remarkable she never had any other place of
residence than the one she died in, and expired upon the same bed on
which she was born.”

6.—Sir Jacob Astley’s hounds drew at Ringstead and chased a fox to within
a mile of Fakenham, a distance of 16 miles, when the hounds became at
fault.  “Reynard was spied upon the tiles of a cottage, when a general
cry was raised to spare him.  The huntsman dismounted and caught him as
he slipped off the tiles by the cottage door, and drove him in, when he
was secured and saved and taken home in a sack for another day’s sport.”

7.—A panorama illustrating Lord Exmouth’s victory over the Algerines was
exhibited in a wooden building specially erected on the Castle ditches,
Norwich.  It was described as “the peristrephic or moving panorama,” and
was invented by the exhibitors, Messrs. Marshall.

12.—Died at Hampstead Park, Berkshire, the seat of the Earl of Craven,
Mr. John Brunton, aged 82.  “He was father of the late Mrs. Merry, of the
present Lady Craven, and of Mr. John Brunton, manager of the West London
Theatre.  He was a native of Norwich, and for many years patentee and
manager of the Norwich Theatre, in which situation he was highly esteemed
for his judicious and liberal conduct.  He was a superior actor, and in
the characters of Lear, Iago, Evander, and The Stranger but few excelled
him.”

21.*—“We understand that Mr. Telford, successor to the late Mr. Rennie,
has delivered a report on the proposed plan for making Norwich a port, in
which he bears ample testimony to the satisfactory nature of Mr. Cubitt’s
professional investigations and remarks.”  Mr. John Harvey, chairman of
the committee for carrying the project into execution, forwarded to the
Mayor of Yarmouth a copy of Mr. Telford’s report, and received in reply
an assurance that the Corporation of Yarmouth would do everything in its
power to oppose an undertaking “which was pregnant with the most ruinous
consequences to the navigation of that port and to the trading interests
of the town and neighbourhood.”  (See January 21st, 1823.)

26.—Lady Anne Coke gave birth to a son and heir at Holkham.  The infant
was christened at the town house of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Hanover Square,
on June 21st, 1823, when their Royal Highnesses the Dukes of Sussex and
Gloucester stood sponsors, and Lady Andover godmother.  The ceremony was
performed by the Lord Bishop of Norwich.



1823.


JANUARY.


1.—At the Norwich Adjourned Quarter Sessions, the magistrates decided to
build a new gaol on a piece of ground outside St. Giles’ Gates.  On
February 23rd the Corporation granted to the justices a lease of the
site, five acres in extent, for 500 years, at the annual rent of £50.  At
a full assembly of the magistrates on August 26th the tenders of Messrs.
Mears and Blyth for building the new gaol in accordance with plans
prepared by Mr. Barnes, for the sum of £17,395, were accepted.

2.—The coming of age of Mr. Henry Jerningham, eldest son of Sir George
and Lady Jerningham, was celebrated at Costessey Park with great
rejoicings.

3.—Pursuant to requisition signed by 540 occupiers of land, &c., in the
county the High Sheriff of Norfolk (Sir R. P. Jodrell), convened a
meeting at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into
consideration the severe and unprecedented distresses of agriculture and
the best means of relieving them.”  The High Sheriff presided, supported
by the county members, Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse.  Mr.
Cobbett was in the body of the Hall, and great confusion prevailed at
intervals.  Mr. Alderman Thurtell moved a string of resolutions in favour
of the reduction of taxation and the abolition of needless and,
therefore, useless places, pensions, and sinecures, such a reduction of
the National Debt as was required; and the total repeal of the Malt and
Beer taxes, which would relieve heavy burdens and encourage the growth of
barley.  Mr. George Watson seconded the resolutions.  Mr. Cobbett, amid
great uproar, then moved, as an amendment to Mr. Thurtell’s resolutions,
that a petition be presented to Parliament containing among other
suggestions the following: the appropriation of part of the public
property, commonly called Church property, to be applied to the
liquidation of the National Debt; the abolition of the standing army; the
total abolition of sinecure pensions, grants, and emoluments; the sale of
numerous public estates commonly called Crown lands, and the application
of the money towards the liquidation of the public debt; to suspend by
law for one year all distraints for rents; to suspend all processes for
tithes for the same period, and all processes arising out of mortgages
effected on houses or land; and to repeal the taxes on malt, hops,
leather, soap, and candles.  Not three-fourths of the audience were able
to hear the reading of the petition, but it was adopted, and the
resolutions moved by Mr. Thurtell negatived by at least twenty to one.
Mr. Cobbett, at the close of the meeting, stood forward and said this was
the greatest triumph he had ever had; it was their triumph also—the
triumph of truth and sound principles.  Subsequently meetings were held
in the various Hundreds of the county “to disavow the Norwich proceedings
of the 3rd,” and “to express abhorrence and detestation of the
revolutionary doctrines promulgated, and the measures of fraud and
spoliation recommended for legislative adoption.”  On March 8th the
NORFOLK CHRONICLE published the following paragraph: “Norfolk Petition.
Serious loss.  We understand the county has been so unfortunate as to be
deprived of its Petition by some daring depredator who had the audacity
to steal it from the coach by which it was sent to London about a
fortnight ago.  The most diligent search has been made for this important
document, but without success.”

4.*—“We have been called upon by several gentlemen who were witnesses of
the circumstance to notice the very reprehensible conduct of the persons
who drove the Day and Times coaches into this city on Tuesday evening.
These coaches had been racing on the road, and proceeded at such a rapid
rate that they reached Norwich at a quarter before five o’clock, having
performed the journey from London, 112 miles, in less than eleven hours.”

11.—Master Hubbard, “the scissor artist,” exhibited his proficiency in
cutting out profiles in paper at Norwich.

11.—At a fire which occurred at Blackthorn Farm, Diss, in the occupation
of Mr. John Elsey, a chimney fell and killed John Gardiner and William
Tipple.  Two other persons were severely injured.

16.—Married at Lakenham church, by the Rev. George Carter, Mr. George
Thurtell, son of Mr. Alderman Thurtell, to Miss Edwards.

—Married at North Walsham, by the Rev. W. F. Wilkinson, Mr. George
Fisher, of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, to Miss Marianne
Nickless, niece of Mrs. Saul, of that place.

20.—A coach commenced running from the Crown Tavern, Lynn, every Monday,
Wednesday, and Friday morning by Swaffham and Dereham to Norwich.  It
returned from Norwich _viâ_ Hingham, Watton, and Swaffham.  Another coach
set out from the White Swan, Norwich, every Tuesday, Thursday, and
Saturday morning at eleven o’clock, and travelled by Dereham and Swaffham
to meet the Stamford coach at Lynn.  It returned after the arrival of the
Stamford coach, by Swaffham, Watton, and Hingham.

21.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by
the Mayor (Mr. Robert Hawkes), it was resolved, on the motion of Mr. John
Harvey seconded by Mr. Crisp Brown, and unanimously agreed, that direct
and improved communication with the sea was an object of the first
importance to the future prosperity of the city; that the plan for an
open harbour at Lowestoft be approved; that application be made to
Parliament for carrying the undertaking into execution; and that a
subscription for the purpose based on shares of £100 each be immediately
opened.  On February 8th a letter from the fishing masters, boatmen, and
pilots to Mr. Harvey, expressing the hope that the proposed plan would be
of the greatest benefit to the city of Norwich as well as to the town of
Lowestoft, was published.

24.—Capt. Hayes, “the Father of the British Army,” was entertained at the
Star Inn, Norwich, on the anniversary of his entrance into the service.
He had served 62 years.

25.—It was announced that Messrs. W. and M. Stark, manufacturers, of
Norwich, had completed an establishment for carrying into operation the
patent of Mr. J. F. Smith, of Dunston Hall, Chesterfield, in the method
of finishing bombazines and other silk and worstead goods.


FEBRUARY.


1.—Died, Mrs. Browne, formerly of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, and mother
of Mrs. J. Brunton.

—A new drama, entitled “The Fortunes of Nigel, or King James the First
and his Times,” founded upon Mr. Scott’s novel, and written by Mr. Edward
Ball, formerly of Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the first
time.

—An action “of an entirely novel description to Norfolk” was tried in the
Sheriffs’ court at Norwich, “Jonathan Wrench _v._ the men inhabiting the
Hundred of Holt in Norfolk.”  It was brought for the purpose of
ascertaining the amount of damage the plaintiff had sustained by having a
stack of corn destroyed by fire through the act of an incendiary.  It was
enacted by 9th George I. c 22, that the owner of property so injured was
entitled to recover an amount not exceeding £200 from the inhabitants of
the Hundred in which the property was situate on complying with the
requirements of the Act, namely by giving notice within two days after
the commission of the offence “to some of the inhabitants near unto the
place where any such act shall be committed, and within four days after
such notice that statement be made before a justice of the peace.”  It
was admitted that the requirements of the Act had been complied with, and
a verdict was given for the plaintiff—damages £143 15s.

2.—A congregation of about 120 persons, “of the sect commonly called
Ranters,” were assembled for worship in a room adjoining the City of
Norwich public-house, St. Stephen’s, Norwich, when the floor gave way and
the whole were precipitated into a cellar nine feet deep.  Twenty-five
received material injury and were conveyed to the Norfolk and Norwich
Hospital.  Four were suffering from fractured limbs, and one person had
his leg amputated.

10.—A trotting match took place between a brown mare, the property of Mr.
William Day, of St. Stephen’s, and a mare owned by Mr. J. Harper,
auctioneer,—stakes £10, distance two miles.  Ned Painter rode Mr.
Harper’s mare and the brown had her owner up.  “They started from Earlham
toll-gate, and within a short distance of the starting post Mr. Day’s
mare broke into a gallop, and she had to turn back.  By this circumstance
she was dead beat.”

15.—Owing to the frequency with which a number of trunks, measuring 28
inches long, 13 inches wide, and 12 inches deep, had been sent from the
Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, by the Telegraph coach to London, suspicion
was aroused at the coach office, and directions were given that the
porter bringing the next be detained and the parcel examined.  This was
done on the 15th, when it was found that the package contained the dead
and naked body of an old man.  The Rev. George Carter, vicar of Lakenham,
identified the body as that of a man named Brundall whom he had buried a
few days previously.  Brundall’s grave was examined and it was found that
only the coffin and the shroud remained.  From information given by the
porter, two men named Collins and Crowe were apprehended and committed
for trial at the Quarter Sessions.  On July 15th they were tried, found
guilty, and sentenced to three months’ imprisonment, and to pay a fine of
£50.


MARCH.


8.—Messrs. Marshall’s panorama of the battle of Trafalgar and the death
of Nelson was exhibited at Norwich.

31.—“A serio-comic Mill-Dramatic Farcical, Moral Burletta, called ‘The
Tread Mill, or Tom and Jerry at Brixton,’” was produced at Norwich
Theatre.  “An exact representation of a tread mill with culprits at work
made a goodly show in the lower circle, crowded the gallery, and filled
the pit to the excess of squeezing.”


APRIL.


2.*—(Advt.)  “It having been represented that there are well-founded
grounds of apprehension that some mad dogs have made their appearance in
different parts of the city and neighbourhood of Norwich by whom several
other dogs have been bitten, the Mayor hereby recommends all of the
inhabitants who have dogs immediately to cause them to be tied up or
otherwise confined, as in case of their continuing to suffer them to be
in the streets, an order will be issued for their being killed” (_sic_).

5.—The Rev. Chancellor Yonge, as one of the Visiting Justices of Swaffham
Bridewell, reported to the Home Secretary, in reply to inquiries made
respecting the use of the tread-wheel, “it has been in use here about
four months, and during that time no injurious effects whatever have been
experienced to the health of the prisoners.  There have been in general a
large number of prisoners and they have been very healthy, which may in
some measure be owing to the regular exercise on the tread-wheel.  The
exercise of the tread-wheel is very salutary.”

—*(Advt.)  “The annual great main of cocks between the gentlemen of
Norwich and Northamptonshire for £5 a battle and £200 the odd, will be
fought at the White Swan Inn, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, on Tuesday,
April 22nd, and two following days.  A silver tankard will be fought for
by 16 subscribers.  No cock to exceed four pounds ten ounces.  The above
to be fought in fair silver spurs, and to commence fighting each day at
twelve o’clock.  Feeders: Nash for Northampton, Skipper for Norwich.”

—At noon William Bray, aged 20, was executed at the foot of the bridge,
Castle Hill, Norwich, for a burglary at Shouldham.  “Almost continually
night and day he was crying out to God for mercy in so lamentable a
manner as to leave little room for religious impressions.  His parents
were too poor to send for his remains, which were interred the same day
in St. Michael-at-Thorn churchyard.”

11.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the county justices appointed a
committee to consider the best means of procuring the holding of the Lent
Assizes at Norwich instead of at Thetford.  On April 14th the Norwich
Corporation petitioned his Majesty in favour of two gaol deliveries each
year.  (The NORFOLK CHRONICLE contained the following editorial note:
“The holding of the Lent Assizes for Norfolk at Thetford has been long
and justly complained of as a serious grievance.  It is high time to put
an end to the disgraceful scene annually exhibited of a body of criminals
being exposed in open waggons from Norwich to Thetford, and there
congregated for a week without regard to age or crime.”)

16.—Died at Great Malvern, Mrs. Bathurst, wife of the Lord Bishop of
Norwich.

23.—On the occasion of the celebration of the King’s birthday, the
members of the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers presented to Lieut.-Col.
Harvey “a valuable scymetar, in recognition of his services during the 26
years that he had commanded the corps.”

25.—Pursuant to requisition a meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich,
presided over by the Mayor, “to take into consideration the state of the
British West Indian Colonies with the view to the gradual and complete
abolition of slavery.”  Resolutions were passed in favour of the
movement.

30.—A man who sold sand about the streets of Norwich drove his cart and
pair of horses up the flight of ten steps, leading from Davey Place to
the Castle ditches.  “The horses did it with much ease and without
receiving any injury, to the astonishment of the spectators.”

—A singular case came before the Mayor of Norwich.  A man named Stebbings
had sold his wife to a person named Turner for £6 10s., who, having paid
down £4 on account, took home his “bargain” and brutally turned his
lawful wife out of doors.  On Mrs. Turner applying to the court for
relief, the parties were summoned before the Mayor, who obliged Turner to
relinquish his bargain and Stebbings to support his own wife.


MAY.


1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, and the
polling resulted as follows: Alderman Patteson, 835; Alderman Francis,
774; Alderman Leman, 101; Alderman Yallop, 94.  Mr. Patteson was returned
by the Court of Aldermen on May 3rd.

3.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation, it was resolved
that a former order for taking toll for cattle standing for sale on the
Castle Meadow be rescinded.

5.—A great main of cocks was fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on
this and the three following days between the gentlemen of Norfolk and
the gentlemen of Herefordshire.  The stakes were five guineas a battle
and 200 guineas the odd battle.  The feeders were Burn for Herefordshire,
Lamb for Norfolk.  Herefordshire won by ten in the main and three in the
byes.

12.—Messrs. Stannard, Athow, De Carle, Wright, and Coleman, of Norwich,
became the purchasers of Wanstead House, Essex, which was sold by auction
on this date.  The amount given was £10,000, and one of the conditions of
sale was that the purchaser or purchasers should clear everything away
even to the foundation by Lady Day, 1825.  The purchasers “absolutely
sold a pair of marble chimney pieces for 300 guineas before they left the
room.  Thus is sacrificed on the shrine of extravagance and gambling, a
mansion which cost in its erection more than £360,000, and which has no
equal in the county of Essex.”

13.—The first annual dinner of the Norfolk Society in London was held at
the City of London Tavern.  The objects of the society were: to afford
means of social intercourse between persons connected with the county
residing in London; to promote by mutual co-operation the general
interests of its members; and to form a fund for the relief, education,
or apprenticeship of such objects of charity as the society considered
suitable.

22.—Died, aged 55, Mr. Thomas Coldwell, postmaster of Norwich, and a
common councilman of the Great Mancroft Ward.

23.—A cricket match was played at Hockwold-cum-Wilton between 11 married
and 11 single females for eleven pairs of gloves.  The match terminated
in favour of the former.  “The parties were dressed in jackets and
trousers tastefully decorated with blue ribbands.”

27.—Married at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, by the Rev. John Bowman, Mr.
James Vining, of Norwich Theatre, to Miss Caroline Holmes, daughter of
Mr. George Holmes, of Burstall Hall, Suffolk.

29.—In celebration of the Restoration of Charles II. the Mayor and
Corporation of Yarmouth attended service at St Nicholas’ Church, the
ships in the harbour were “dressed,” and a salute was fired from the fort
at noon.


JUNE.


2.—A curious incident occurred at the Fighting Cocks Inn, Winfarthing.
“A large cock, of the true fighting breed, attacked a beautiful child, of
a year and a half old, belonging to the family of the landlord, and
wounded him in several places in the head and face, and if timely
assistance had not been at hand there is little doubt that he would have
repeated his attacks till he had deprived him of his sight, if not his
life.  The cock was killed immediately.”

4.—A new melo-drama, entitled “Eugenio, or the Secrets of the Abbey,”
written by Mr. J. Bambridge, a native of the city, was performed at
Norwich Theatre for the first time.

5.—Mr. Marker Graze was appointed Postmaster of Norwich, in place of Mr.
Thomas Coldwell, deceased.

11.—The theatrical season ended at Norwich.  The benefit receipts were as
follow: Mr. Smith (manager), £146; Mr. Thorne, £54; Mr. Vining, £118; Mr.
Clifford, £87; Mr. G. Smith, £72; Mrs. Jones, £105; Messrs. Wharton and
Hamerton, £35; Miss Brunton, £70; Miss Wensley, £72; Mr. Beacham, £79;
Mr. and Mrs. Sloman, £130; Mr. Harrison, £62; Mr. Henderson, £53; Mr.
Bennett, £111; Miss Glover, £45; Mr. Benson £56; Mr. and Mrs.
Osbaldiston, £134; Mr. Hunt, £86; Miss Tubby, £111; Messrs. Wharton and
Hamerton (second benefit in consequence of wet weather on the previous
occasion), £75; Mr. Simpson and Miss Adcock, £35.  Total, £1,738;
average, £82 15s.

16.—A prize fight took place near Wymondham for £5 a side between Gales
and Dann.  “After a hard milling contest of more than an hour, during
which 70 rounds were fought without the least display of skill or
science, Dann was obliged to give in.”

17.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Recorder, Aldermen, and Sheriffs went in
their carriages to the mansion of the Mayor-elect (Mr. J. S. Patteson) in
Magdalen Street, and partook of “an elegant dejeune”; they next proceeded
to the house of the Mayor (Mr. R. Hawkes), “with whom they took some
refreshment,” and then to the Cathedral, where the Mayor’s Chaplain, the
Rev. William Frederick Patteson, preached.  George Steward, second son of
Mr. Alderman Steward, delivered the Latin oration at the Free School
porch.  After the ceremony at the Guildhall Mr. Patteson entertained 650
guests at the Guild feast, and 500 at the ball at Chapel Field House.

20.—The House of Commons in Committee of Supply granted £2,000 to Capt.
Manby for his services in saving the lives of shipwrecked seamen.

24.—Died at Thetford, aged 70, Mr. Shelford Bidwell, who had served many
times as Mayor of the borough, and was a great benefactor of the poor.

29.—Died at Acle, aged 59, Samuel Morris.  “He was generally known as
‘Old Sam.’  For many years he delivered letters from the post office
there, and he must have travelled some thousands of miles on foot.  On
various occasions when he might have made the delivery on horseback he
invariably walked, and being furnished with a red guard’s coat he was
frequently dignified with the appellation of the ‘Scarlet Runner.’”

30.—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 60, Matthew Joy.  “This
poor man was known by the appellation of ‘The Walking Baker,’ and for the
last eleven years of his life used to carry a large basket of bread,
about eight stones weight, upon his shoulders to several villages,
walking no less than 20 miles per day.  He walked in all about 68,440
miles.”


JULY.


1.—At a meeting held at the Swan Inn, Norwich, at which Mr. Dalrymple
presided, resolutions were passed condemning the French invasion of
Spain.  A subscription was opened “in aid of the suffering and heroic
people of that country.”

11.—Died at Stiffkey, Col. Henry Loftus, of the Coldstream Guards, eldest
son of General Loftus.  His remains were interred in the chancel of
Rainham Church.

12.*—“The antient pastime of heron hawking is still carried on in this
county.  Ten cast of hawks and four falconers, natives of Germany, to
which country they repair annually in the autumn to catch a supply of
hawks for the ensuing season, are kept at Didlington Hall, the seat of
Major Wilson, near to which place is an extensive heronry.”

16.—Died at North Walsham, where he had some time resided for the benefit
of his health, the Rev. Marmaduke Revell, aged 56.  “He was 23 years
minister in the Methodist connexion, among whom he was a useful and
zealous preacher of the Gospel, which he adorned by strict conformity to
its precepts.”

19.—Mr. John Cross was elected assistant surgeon of the Norfolk and
Norwich Hospital.

22.—The Norfolk Rangers, under the command of Major Lord James Townshend,
were inspected at Fakenham by Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, his Majesty’s
Lieutenant for the county.

24.—A troop of the 15th Hussars arrived at Norwich to relieve the troop
of the 1st Royal Dragoons, who marched for York.

26.—A machine exemplifying perpetual motion was advertised to be
exhibited at Mrs. Chesnut’s, St. Giles’, Norwich.  “This grand machine,”
it was stated, “has been going ever since it was invented, now upwards of
seven years, and will continue to go without any assistance whatever by
power of its own balance and pivots, or, in other words, if the materials
it is made of would last for ever.”  The Mayor made inquiries which
proved the exhibition to be a deception, and prohibited its further stay
in the city.

28.—Died, at the age of 110, Mr. John Lock, of Larling.  “He left behind
him 130 children and grandchildren.”


AUGUST.


1.—The Norwich weavers held a demonstration in celebration of the success
of their Spitalfields brethren in obtaining the decision of both Houses
of Parliament upon the Spitalfields Act.  The clubs met in Chapel Field,
and afterwards went in procession through the streets.

2.*—“Mr. Mueller, from the Haymarket Theatre, has succeeded Mr. Phillips
as leader of the orchestra at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.”

—Died at Winchester, the Right Hon. Charles Frederick Powlett Townshend,
Lord Bayning, of Honingham, aged 38.  His remains were conveyed to the
King’s Head Inn, Wymondham, on the 12th, and were interred at Honingham
on the 13th.  His lordship was succeeded by his only brother, the Hon.
and Rev. Henry Townshend, Baron Bayning.

6.—Married, by special licence, by the Lord Bishop of Norwich, at the
parish church, Costessey, Thomas Alexander Fraser, of Lovat and Strichen,
to Charlotte Georgina, eldest daughter of Sir George Jerningham, Bart.,
Costessey Hall.  The marriage ceremony was previously performed in the
chapel at the Hall, according to the rites of the Roman Catholic Church,
by the Rev. Frederick Husenbeth, domestic chaplain to Sir George.  Soon
after the service the bride and bridegroom left Costessey in their
travelling barouche and four for Beaufort Castle, Inverness.

—In the presence of Lord Suffield, Col. Wodehouse, Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.,
Mr. Wodehouse, M.P., and other gentlemen, experiments were made on
Mundesley beach with a new life-saving apparatus invented by Capt. Manby.
It consisted of “an airtight tin case encompassing the body beneath the
armpits.”

12.—Mr. R. C. Harvey, an eminent agriculturist at Alburgh, near
Harleston, held his first annual show and sale of stock.  Mr. Spelman, of
Norwich, was the auctioneer, and the company, numbering 2,000, included
the Marquis of Blandford, Lord Huntingfield, and some of the most
distinguished agriculturists of the county.

—The Corporation of Norwich conferred the honorary freedom of the city on
Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, Lieutenant of the county.

16.*—“Died, lately, at Sheerness, Mr. Edward Quin, many years connected
with the public press of the Metropolis, and formerly a member of the
Common Council.  He was previously a respectable performer in the Norwich
Company, under the theatrical name of Stanley.  He was the author of a
tragedy called “Elmira,” which he published at Norwich, with some other
works.  He was a native of Ireland.  The cause of his death was a stroke
of apoplexy.  His body was found resting upon the wall from Sheerness to
Queensborough long after he had ceased to breathe.”

23.—Mons. Alexandre appeared at Norwich Theatre in his ventriloquial
entertainment, “The Rogueries of Nicholas.”

—*“Died, last week in London, Mr. Robert Mildenhall, comedian and freeman
of Norwich, formerly of the Norwich Theatre.  He pursued his profession
nearly to the end of his life, was happy in a great variety of
characters, and a strictly honest man.”

25.—Thorpe Water Frolic, “instituted two years ago by Lieut.-Col.
Harvey,” took place.  Ten thousand persons were present.

—Died at Hardingham, Mr. Hamond Alpe, aged 80.  He was Lieutenant-Colonel
of the 2nd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.


SEPTEMBER.


10.—The Yarmouth Court of Gaol Delivery was proclaimed to be held for the
trial of two persons charged with robbery from a vessel upon the high
seas within the Admiralty jurisdiction of that borough.  On such
occasions the Mayor, Recorder, and Steward of Norwich were associated
with the borough magistrates in forming the court.  The Mayor of Norwich
and the Mayor of Yarmouth, with Mr. Robert Alderson, who was both
Recorder of Yarmouth and Steward of Norwich, “in full legal dress,” with
the magistrates and members of the Corporation, attended service, and
afterwards proceeded to the Toll House, where the trial was conducted in
due form.  “A similar instance of holding an Admiralty court for the
trial of pirates and robbers has not occurred here since the reign of
Charles I.”

13.*—“The Norwich Company of Comedians is about to lose one of its oldest
and most efficient members.  Mr. Bennett quits the theatrical profession.
Having become proprietor of the Star Inn, Yarmouth, this able performer
and respectable individual will doubtless on the stage of real life
exercise that happy zeal, and we hope with equal success that happy art
of pleasing which rendered him in the mimic scene so truly and deservedly
a public favourite.”

20.—A mineral spring was reported to have been discovered on the estate
of Mr. F. Wheatley at Mundesley.  The spring was situate about 600 yards
from the edge of the cliff.

23.—A prize fight took place on Yarmouth Denes between two young men
named Tennant and Pile.  The contest lasted about 45 minutes, when Pile
received a blow which rendered him unconscious, and from the effects of
which he died two days after.  At the Quarter Sessions in April, 1824,
Tennant was sentenced to five months’, and the seconds, Christopher
Parker and Bennet Paul, to one month’s imprisonment.

29.—The foundation-stone of the Rehobeth chapel, Union Place, Norwich,
was laid by the Rev. R. G. Lemare.  The chapel was opened for divine
service on December 25th.


OCTOBER.


4.—A shooting match between Mr. William Coke and Lord Kennedy for 200
sovereigns a side, play or pay, “who shoots and bags the greatest number
of partridges in two days’ sport on September 26th and October 4th,” was
decided.  Mr. Coke shot over his uncle’s manors in Norfolk, and Lord
Kennedy over Sir William Maxwell’s lands at Monteith.  Mr. Coke on the
first day bagged 80½ brace, and on the second day 90 brace.  Lord Kennedy
on the first day killed 50 brace, and on the second day 82 brace.

11.—William Burton Peeling, a prisoner in Swaffham gaol, was endeavouring
to hold a conversation with another prisoner in the adjoining division of
the tread-mill, when he accidentally placed his head in the wheel, which
drew him in and crushed him to death.

17.—The 8th King’s Royal Irish Hussars, commanded by Lieut.-Col.
Westenra, were inspected at Norwich by Lord Edward Somerset,
Inspector-General of Cavalry.

18.*—“Mr. Bellamy, well known as a favourite actor on the Norwich boards
and late manager of the Theatre, is about to resume his professional
career at Bath after a short retirement from the stage.”

22.—The first annual meeting of the Norfolk and Norwich Literary
Institution was held in the society’s rooms in the Haymarket, Norwich,
Lieut.-Col. Harvey, the president, in the chair.

25.*—“In consequence of directions given at the end of last year by the
Hon. Fulke Greville Howard, one of the members for the most antient
borough of Castle Rising, and who is also lord of the manor, the rubbish
which had accumulated for ages in the great hall, where the court leet is
held in the inward part of the castle or keep, having been cleared away,
the bases of two pillars, which apparently supported an arch, were
discovered, and likewise a well between these columns, 63 feet deep, in a
very perfect state.  Many hundred cart loads of the ruins which had
fallen in from above were removed before these interesting remains were
laid open to view.”

26.—Died, Dr. W. B. Carter, assistant surgeon in the 8th King’s Royal
Irish Hussars, whose remains were buried with military honours at St.
Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, on the 30th.  The grave was dug at the
lower extremity of the middle aisle, and the customary volleys were fired
by a party of hussars stationed in the roadway between the great west
door of the church and the entrance to the Swan Inn.

27.—The Norwich Pantheon was opened under the management of Mr. Kinloch,
with his company from the Royal Amphitheatre, London.  “A real fox chase,
with dogs, horses, fox, and hounds,” was the principal attraction.

31.—By virtue of a writ of mandamus granted by the Court of King’s Bench,
the Norwich Court of Quarter Sessions was compelled to hear the appeal
“the Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor of the Hamlet of Lakenham,
appellants, _v._ the Governor, Deputy-Governor, and others of the Court
of Guardians of the City of Norwich, respondents.”  The appellants
contended that the assessment made upon stock was not in accordance with
the Act of Parliament, by virtue whereof the rate for the maintenance of
the poor of Norwich was raised, and was unfair and inequitable.  It was
stated in the course of the trial that the real estate of the city was
valued at £54,041, that of the hamlets at £15,028; the personal property
in the former was estimated at £99,800, and in the latter at £5,700.  The
court confirmed the certificate, and dismissed the appeal.

—One of the most violent storms ever remembered occurred on this date,
and resulted in many disasters on sea and land.  The whole of the coast
of Norfolk was strewn with wrecks, many lives were lost, and much misery
prevailed.  At Cromer the brig, Duchess of Cumberland, came ashore near
the lighthouse, and notwithstanding the brave exertions of Mr. Buxton,
Mr. Samuel Hoare, Mr. William Lukin, Mr. Windham, and other gentlemen, to
effect their rescue the crew of sixteen perished.  Among the most
remarkable of the incidents on land was the subsidence of a cottage at
Corpusty.  The occupier, Robert Faircloth, and two women felt the house
in motion, rushed out, and a few seconds afterwards “saw it sink out of
sight into the bowels of the earth, leaving a vacuum of several feet deep
above it which presently filled with water.”


NOVEMBER.


1.*—“Died very recently in London, aged 62, Mr. William Perowne, formerly
an actor in the Phœnix Company.  He was a truly honest and industrious
man.”

8.—Died at Yarmouth, Mr. Luke Waller, in the 105th year of his age.

22.—A meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, under the presidency of
the Hon. John Wodehouse, Vice-Admiral of the county, at which it was
decided to form a society for saving the lives of shipwrecked mariners on
the coast of Norfolk.  At an adjourned meeting on December 13th it was
agreed to place lifeboats immediately at Yarmouth, Winterton, Blakeney,
&c.

30.—Married, at Walcot church, Bath, Mr. Frederick Henry Yates, of
Charlotte Street, London, to Miss Brunton, daughter of Mr. John Brunton,
of Norwich.


DECEMBER.


1.—The “extravaganzic burletta” entitled “Tom and Jerry” was produced at
the Pantheon, Norwich.  It was described as “an animated picture deprived
through the filtering stone of the proprietor’s character and career, of
all that might offend even the most fastidious imagination.”

6.—Messrs. J. and W. Wiggens advertised their Phenomena coach to run from
the Angel Inn, Norwich, every morning at a quarter to six and to arrive
at the Bull Inn, Aldgate, at seven o’clock the same evening.

9.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by the
Mayor (Mr. J. S. Patteson), it was resolved to petition the House of
Commons for the repeal of the duty on coals carried coastwise.

20.*—“The portrait of Mr. William Hankes, Mayor of Norwich in 1817,
painted by Mr. Clint, has lately been placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.”

—Drake, a showman, advertised the exhibition “in a commodious theatre
upon the Castle ditches, Norwich,” of a performing elephant, a boa
constrictor, and a sea serpent alive, “which was discovered when they
were in search of the great one, and is supposed by the most moderate
calculation to measure more than 300 feet in length.  It is asserted by
the Linnean Society that this is of the same breed as the large one.”

30.—Some remarkable vaults—the disused workings of ancient chalk
pits—were discovered on the property of Mr. Sendall, near St. Giles’
Gates, Norwich.  They were 35 feet beneath the surface, and extended in
various directions.  The vaults were thrown open for public inspection
and illuminated with coloured lamps.



1824.


JANUARY.


1.—At a public meeting, held at Calvert Street chapel, it was decided to
erect a second Wesleyan Methodist chapel in Norwich.  A subscription was
opened, and £600 contributed.  The foundation-stone of the new (Lady
Lane) chapel was laid on April 14th by the Rev. William Gilpin,
superintendent of the Norwich circuit; and the building was opened for
worship on October 21st by the Rev. R. Newton, president of the Methodist
Conference, the Rev. John Anderson, of London, and the Rev. Mr. Farrar,
of Leeds.

2.—Persistent efforts were made this year to obtain the removal of the
Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  At a meeting of the county
magistrates on January 2nd, it was decided to present an address to the
Lord Chancellor and Mr. Secretary Peel, representing the inconvenience
and ill consequences resulting from the then existing arrangement.  At a
quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich on February 24th, a
committee was appointed to co-operate with the county justices, and a
petition to the House of Commons and a memorial to the Lord Chancellor
were prepared.  On June 5th the city petition received the seal of the
Mayor, and on June 11th Lord Suffield, in the House of Lords, presented
the petition from the Norfolk magistrates.  It stated that the prisoners
were carried in open carts through the towns and villages, guarded by
soldiers, and “it was not long since that they were exhibited as sights,
one shilling being charged to see convicts of the second and third
degree, and two shillings or more for condemned felons.”  There was a
dungeon at Thetford, thirteen feet below the surface of the ground,
measuring eighteen feet by nine feet, and eight and a half feet in
height, and in this cell upon one occasion no less than seventeen persons
were placed to sleep.  The Lord Chancellor intimated that the subject was
under consideration, and the petition was ordered to be printed.  On
August 7th the announcement was made that the Lieutenant of the county
had received a letter from the Lord Chancellor, stating that the twelve
Judges had unanimously decided against the removal of the Lent Assizes
from Thetford.  At the Summer Assizes on August 11th, the Grand Jury for
the county presented an address to the Judges expressing regret at their
decision, and pointing out that the chief benefits contemplated by the
recent Act of Parliament for the regulation of gaols must be in a great
degree frustrated by a continuance of the then state of things in
Norfolk.  “The late city calendar,” said the NORFOLK CHRONICLE,
“furnishes no less than three cases of exceptional long confinement
before trial; namely, one person for more than twelve months, who has
been acquitted, and two others in custody upwards of eleven months
against whom no true bills were found.”

16.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions at Norwich, the magistrates agreed
that the whole of Mr. Wilkin’s plan for erecting a new gaol at Norwich
Castle be carried into execution.  It was understood that the entire cost
of the Shirehall and prison would not exceed £46,000.

24.—Great sensation was caused in Norwich by the trial and execution at
Hertford of John Thurtell for the murder of Mr. Wear on October 24th,
1823.  The execution took place on January 9th, and on the 24th was
published in the NORFOLK CHRONICLE a letter received by Mr. Alderman
Thomas Thurtell, of Norwich, the father of the culprit, from Mr. Robert
Sutton, High Sheriff of Hertfordshire, in which the writer commiserated
with him in his great affliction.  In the same paper was another letter
addressed by Mr. N. Bolingbroke, of Norwich, to the High Sheriff of
Hertfordshire, in which he wrote: “It may appear to some that he (the
father) has not acted with sufficient kindness of feeling towards his
unhappy son; but you may be assured, Sir, that there was no part of his
conduct which could not be satisfactorily explained.  He has generally
acted under the advice of Mr. Unthank, a respectable solicitor in this
city, my own, and others.  There are many actions in a man’s life of
which no correct opinion can be formed without a knowledge of the motives
by which such have been influenced.”

29.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of
Lieut.-Col. Harvey, supported by Mr. E. Wodehouse, M.P., and Mr. T. F.
Buxton, M.P., it was agreed to petition Parliament to carry into effect
the resolutions passed in the previous Session of the House of Commons on
the subject of colonial slavery.


FEBRUARY.


2.—A fine ship called the Colville, built for the India trade, was
launched from the shipyard of Mr. William Bottomley, at Lynn.

4.—Thirty-two half ankers of Geneva, sixteen casks of tobacco, and six
casks of tea were discovered in a vault in a plantation belonging to Lord
Suffield by the coastguard stationed at Mundesley.

7.*—“In Norfolk the number of miles of turnpike road is 271.  The income
per mile is £38; the expenditure per mile, £26; excess of income over
expenditure, £12.”

—*“The following notice appeared in a Norwich paper about 60 years ago
and affords a curious instance of the then stage coach celerity: ‘A wain
will set off on Thursday from Norwich early in the morning and be in
London on Saturday evening.’  Our coaches now perform the journey in 14
hours, and our fly waggons in 24 hours!”

19.—The eight bells of St. Margaret’s church, Lynn, hung by Messrs. T.
and J. Hurry, of Norwich, were opened.

24.—To effect improvements in Willow Lane, Norwich, and to lay open to
view the churchyard of St. Giles’, a lease was granted by the Corporation
to Mr. Edward Browne, Messrs. Fountain and Cattermoul, Mr. William De
Carle, and Mr. J. Wright, of certain premises in that lane, for a term of
99 years at the yearly rental of £42, they covenanting to lay out from
£3,000 to £4,000 on the erection of suitable buildings under the
direction of the Corporation Surveyor.

28.*—“Died, lately, in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 78, Mr. Benjamin Guyton,
who for many years followed what may justly be called the first of
occupations—a gardener and horticulturist.  His skill in the knowledge
and properties of plants and vegetables could only be equalled by his
ingenuity in delineating with his pencil the curious productions of
nature, particularly those of the insect tribe.  Some few specimens of
his art, in the various species of papilio, are in the possession of some
gentlemen in this city, who knew how to appreciate merit though found in
an obscure individual moving in a humble sphere of life.”

—Died, “greatly and justly esteemed by all his old comrades and friends,”
Capt. John Borrow, many years adjutant of the First or West Norfolk
Regiment of Militia.


MARCH.


3.—At a meeting of manufacturers and others at the Guildhall, Norwich,
under the presidency of Mr. John Harvey, resolutions were adopted
expressing satisfaction with the proposal of the Government to reduce the
duties on raw and thrown silks as well as on foreign wools; but they
viewed with surprise and alarm the proposal to allow the free exportation
of British wool, “as a consequence of supplying foreigners with the raw
material must be to throw out of employment many thousands of the
labouring poor.”

6.—Intelligence was received at Lynn of the death, which occurred on the
5th, of the Marquis of Titchfield, M.P.  A writ for the election of a new
member was moved for in the House of Commons on the 9th, and two
candidates, Lord John C. Bentinck, eldest brother of the deceased
marquis, and successor to the title, and Sir William Browne ffolkes,
Bart., immediately issued addresses.  The election took place on March
19th.  “Sir William ffolkes, after leaving the hustings, was carried in a
chair round the Market Place and down High Street, he addressed the crowd
from the window of his committee-room, and threw amongst them a large
quantity of silver coin, which was eagerly scrambled for.”  The result of
the polling was declared as follows: Marquis of Titchfield; 177; Sir
William ffolkes, 89.

11.—A meeting of the manufacturers, merchants, and others interested in
the silk trade was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency
of Mr. Alderman Roberts, to take into consideration the resolutions
passed by the House of Commons relative to alterations in the silk
duties.  A resolution was moved to the effect that the meeting viewed
with satisfaction the measures proposed for the extension of the silk
manufactory, “but the object could not fully be attained by the proposed
immediate remission of so great a proportion of the duties on raw and
thrown silks.”  It was advocated that endeavours be made to obtain
compensation for the loss sustained upon stocks of manufactured goods,
and a petition to Parliament embodying that view was adopted.  On April
5th “an unusual scene was witnessed in Norwich, that being the last day
on which manufacturers of the city warehoused their raw and foreign silk
in order to obtain the drawback according to the late decision of
Parliament.  The number of pieces of bombazines and crapes bonded was
about 40,000, which may be averaged at 7s. 6d. each, and the total amount
of the drawback will be £30,000.  Such of the goods as are for
exportation are already returned to the owners, and an order is expected
in a few days for the delivery of those intended for the home trade.  By
this arrangement, which was recommended to Government by a gentleman
deputed from Norwich, little time will be lost, and the manufacturer will
obtain the relief which, but for its adoption, would, under the late
alteration of the law, have proved highly injurious to many of our fellow
citizens.”  On June 23rd a dinner was given at the Rampant Horse Inn by
the merchants and manufacturers to Mr. John Harvey, Mr. E. T. Booth, and
Mr. T. O. Springfield, “for the zeal and ability with which they promoted
the interests of the trade, and for their successful exertions in
obtaining the drawback.”

11.—Died at his house in Chapel Field, Norwich, in his 71st year, Mr.
John Clayton Hindes, many years manager of the Norwich Theatre.  “His
loss is sincerely deplored by his relatives and friends and many others
whose necessities have been relieved by his benevolent hand.”

—Died at Uxbridge, Mrs. F. E. Horne, widow of the Right Rev. George
Horne, D.D., formerly Bishop of Norwich.

17.—The Norwich Penny Library “having after 12 months’ experience proved
its worth,” it was resolved at a general meeting of subscribers, presided
over by Mr. William Youngman, that it be placed on a permanent footing by
public subscription.  The library room was at Mr. Daines’s, St.
Michael-at-Coslany.


APRIL.


2.—At a public meeting held at Lynn, the Mayor presiding, it was resolved
that a gas company be formed.  The shares were fixed at £20 each, and Mr.
John James Coulton appointed secretary and agent.

3.—Died at the house of his son-in-law (Mr. H. Dowson, of Geldeston),
aged 65, the Rev. Pendlebury Houghton.  “He received his education at
Warrington at the time Dr. Atkin was the classical teacher there, and
after the completion of his studies continued there one year as assistant
classical tutor.  He first settled as minister at Dob Lane, near
Manchester, whence he removed to Shrewsbury, and in 1787 was chosen a
pastor, with Dr. Enfield, of the Unitarian congregation in Norwich.  On
the death of Dr. Enfield in 1797 he became sole minister.  In 1808 he
succeeded Mr. Jervis at Prince’s Street, Westminster, and in 1811
returned to Norwich.  In 1812 his was invited to become joint pastor with
Mr. Yates, of the congregation in Paradise Street, Liverpool, where he
continued till 1823, when he retired from his ministerial labours.”

7.—At a meeting held at Norwich, it was agreed “that the Rosary
burial-ground having been duly entered at the office of the Bishop of the
Diocese, and therein designated a general burial-ground for the use of
persons of all sects and denominations, shall be invested in trustees on
behalf of those who may become the holders of shares, to be limited to
500.”

8.—A performance was given at Norwich Theatre by the Stagorians.  “The
stage exhibited the appearance of the interior of a Stagorian lodge, and
presented a spectacle at once novel and striking.  In accordance with the
principles of the assembled brethren the ceremony opened with ‘God save
the King,’ and closed with the last verse of that same loyal strain.  The
whole was conducted and well supported by Mr. Hudson, treasurer of the
lodge No. 2, Independent, who sang a song in so good a style that the
audience testified their approbation by loud and repeated cheerings.”

9.—Died, suddenly, in the Fleet Prison, the Rev. John Cross Morphew,
rector of Cley and of Walpole St. Peter.

10.*—(Advt.)  “Mr. Edward Painter informs his friends and the public that
his horse, the celebrated Tam o’ Shanter, will be shown upon Norwich Hill
this day, and every Saturday during the season, at 12 o’clock.  His
trotting and other paces the proprietor leaves for the public at large to
be their own judges, as puffing is quite out of the question.  N.B.—Tam
o’ Shanter will be found at the White Hart, St. Peter’s, Norwich.”

—*“Miss Bathurst, daughter of the late Mr. Benjamin Bathurst, and
granddaughter of the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, was riding in Rome on
horseback, accompanied by Lord and Lady Aylmer and the Duc de
Montmorency, when her horse slipped down the steep bank into the Tiber,
and with its rider was washed away, and never seen again.”  The body of
Miss Bathurst was recovered on September 26th.

—The proprietors of the Expedition coach started new coaches, called the
Magnet, which ran from the Swan Inn and Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, each
afternoon at four o’clock and arrived in London at seven in the morning.
The return coach left the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, at six p.m.,
called at the White Horse, Fetter Lane, at 6.20, the Cross Keys, Wood
Street, at 6.30, “cleared” from the Flower Pot and Bull Inns at seven
o’clock, and arrived at Norwich at nine the next morning.

—The following malefactors were executed at Thetford: James Reeve for
rape; Miles Wiseman for shooting at and wounding William Everett,
gamekeeper, at Rackheath; and Robert Gibson for sheep stealing.  “The
body of Wiseman was buried at Hardingham churchyard, whence it was stolen
by resurrection men, who had been observed lurking about the chief part
of the previous day.”

15.—Wombwell’s National Menagerie was exhibited at Tombland Fair,
Norwich.  It was described as “the greatest variety of living animals
ever collected together since the days of Noah.”

16.—Died at Caister, near Norwich, Francis Neale, in the 100th year of
his age.

21.—Died at Harley Street, Cavendish Square, aged 71, Mr. John Dixon, of
Rainham Hall, Norwich, and of Gledhow, Yorkshire, Colonel of the West
York Militia.

25.—The organ at North Walsham church was opened with a recital given by
Mr. E. Pettet, of Norwich.

29.—The members of the three Church of England Societies, namely for the
Education of the Poor, for Promoting Christian Knowledge, and for the
Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, had their “first united
anniversary” dinner at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich.  The Deputy Mayor, Mr.
Robert Hawkes, presided.


MAY.


1.—Mr. Henry Francis was elected Mayor of Norwich.

5.—Died at an advanced age, Mrs. Windham, widow of the Right Hon. William
Windham, of Felbrigg.

6.—The second anniversary dinner of the Swaffham Rat Society was held at
the George Inn, in that town.  The report stated: “From the time the
ferrets re-commenced their operations in October, 1823, assisted by the
terriers, the total number of rats killed up to May 6th was 1,140, which
added to last year’s return makes 2,947 rats exterminated in the course
of twelve months.”

8.*—“The King has granted William Lukin, Esq., Rear-Admiral of the White
Squadron of his Majesty’s Fleet, to take, use, and bear the arms of
Windham, in memory of his uncle, the Right Hon. William Windham, of
Felbrigg Hall.”  (By the death of Mrs. Windham Admiral Windham came into
possession of the estates of his late uncle.)

—*“We understand that there are at this time persons stationed upon the
road between Norwich and London for the purpose of giving information
against the proprietors of coaches carrying more than the number of
passengers allowed by Act of Parliament, or any waggon or van carrying
passengers without being duly licensed.”

10.—A prize fight took place near Arminghall between Nicholls and
Thompson, of Norwich.  “The battle lasted upwards of two hours, and both
men displayed better bottom than science.”

—For the benefit of the manager of Norwich Theatre (Mr. Smith), his
younger son, Mr. J. Smith, appeared as Selico in “The Africans.”

15.*—“A gentleman from Lynn for a wager shot 20 dozen rooks with an air
gun, which he loaded himself, in the course of a day.  He commenced
shooting at half-past six in the morning, and finished his task in a
masterly manner at four o’clock in the afternoon, in the rookery
belonging to Mr. John Lloyd, of Pentney.”

—*(Advt.)  “Cocking.  To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on May
31st and two following days, three double days’ play of cocks for £5 a
battle and £100 the odd, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the
gentlemen of Yarmouth.  Feeders: Stafford for Norwich, Anson for
Yarmouth.”

—The Magnet coach from London to Norwich had just crossed the bridge at
Chesterford, Essex, when, owing to the swollen state of the river, the
arch burst with a tremendous crash.  Another coach was approaching, and
received a lantern warning from the guard of the Magnet.  The up Magnet
coach from Norwich crossed the bridge shortly before its demolition but
got off the road into a swamp.  The passengers had to climb out upon the
roof and remained there while the water flowed through the windows.  The
coach was dragged out by a strong team of cart horses.  A public
subscription was started in Norwich to reward the guard of the Magnet.

22.—Townshend, the pedestrian, commenced a walk of 64 miles per day of
sixteen hours for six successive days.  He started from Swaffham at 4.30
a.m., passed through Watton at 6.30, through Dereham at 8.30, and arrived
at Swaffham at noon, and completed the same journey in the afternoon.
(No further record.)

27.—Died, Mrs. M. Jones, of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in her 61st year,
“after long and patient suffering under one of the most tormenting of
human disorders.”  She was a daughter of the Rev. Nathaniel Gerard,
rector of Waxham and vicar of Palling, and of Whepstead Rectory, Suffolk.

28.—Six officers of the 8th Hussars rowed in Capt. Cartwright’s six-oared
boat from Norwich to Yarmouth in four hours against the tide, and
returned in four and a half hours with a strong stream against them.

29.—The Ottawa, 320 tons, intended as a passage vessel from London to
Quebec, was launched from the yard of Messrs. John and Thomas Douglas, at
Yarmouth.

31.—The Mayor of Norwich (Mr. J. S. Patteson), with the Sheriffs,
magistrates, and aldermen went in procession from the Guildhall to the
site of the new gaol outside St. Giles’ Gates, and laid the
foundation-stone.  Several gold, silver, and copper coins were deposited
in the stone, “and the whole was cemented with mortar and fastened with
lead poured in boiling hot.”  The proceedings were witnessed by hundreds
of spectators, one of whom, “a person of respectability, had his pocket
picked of a gold watch, chain, and seals.”


JUNE.


3.—Died, on his return from Madeira, aged 29, Dr. Thomas Martineau.

4.—The 3rd Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry was inspected at Sprowston at the
conclusion of permanent duty at Norwich.

7.—The Yarmouth Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by Sir E. K. Lacon, Bart.,
were inspected by Major Deare, 8th Hussars, after permanent duty.

—Townshend, the pedestrian, “undertook to pick up with his mouth, on
Monday last, from the ground in Finches’ Gardens, 300 stones placed one
yard apart and to deposit the same in a basket in eleven successive
hours, being a distance of 51 miles 540 yards.”  The feat was performed
sixteen minutes within the time.  On June 14th he undertook to walk 40
miles backwards in ten hours at the same Gardens, but failed owing to the
unfavourable state of the weather.

8.—The commissioners appointed under the Norwich Paving Act determined to
apply to Parliament for leave to bring in a Bill for amending the Act and
for raising additional funds.

—A prize fight took place at Poringland between Fenn and Camplin, of
Norwich.  Three thousand persons were present, and 76 rounds fought.  The
contest terminated in favour of Fenn.

9.—McMullon, a youth of sixteen, at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich, walked
12½ miles in two hours; and on the 14th walked forty miles in eight
hours.

16.—Died at Gissing, aged 86, Mr. J. Hunt, surgeon, and founder of the
Ebenezer Chapel in Ber Street, Norwich.  “He was a man of extraordinary
piety and extensive benevolence, who was singularly infatuated by a
diversity of religious opinions as to render his character in the highest
degree eccentric.  Having successively embraced the profession of
Presbyterian, Independent, Anabaptist, Swedenborgian, Unitarian, and
Methodist, he recently founded and endowed a chapel at Gissing to a
profession made up of a heterogeneous mixture of doctrines.  That nothing
might be wanting to complete his religious character he was a constant
attendant on the worship of the parish church, keeping his meeting closed
on those occasions, and a regular communicant with the minister of the
parish till a short time before his death, when his advanced age and
increasing infirmities precluded the possibility of his attendance.”

17.—A trotting match took place on St. Stephen’s Road, Norwich, the best
two of three one mile heats, between a pony belonging to Mr. Durrant, of
the Norfolk Hotel, and a pony the property of Mr. Davey, horse dealer.
The former won easily.

—The 8th Hussars marched from Norwich Barracks for Ipswich.

19.*—“One day last week Messrs. James Stannard, T. Turner, Samuel Poll,
and Alfred Stannard, four oars, rowed from Norwich to Yarmouth and back
in eight hours, notwithstanding wind and tide were full against them in
crossing Breydon.”

—The season’s benefits at Norwich Theatre were announced to have been as
follow: Mr. Smith, £125; Mr. Chippendale, £39; Mr. Vining, £114; Mr.
Beacham, £89; Miss Pindar, £40; Mr. G. Smith, £70; Mr. Harrison, £46; Mr.
Clifford, £67; Mr. and Mrs. Sloman, £156; Mr. Benson, £69; the Misses
Glover, £91; Mr. Crook, £63; Miss Wensley, £72; Miss Mason, £74; Mr. and
Mrs. Hamerton, £51; Mr. Brundall, £45; Mr. Wharton, £41; Mr. Mueller,
£62; Mr. Thorne, £28; Miss Tubby, £99; Mr. Hunt, £78; Mr. Chippendale
(second benefit), £57.  The total amount was £1,556; average, £70 14s.
9¾d.

22.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor-elect, Mr. Henry Francis,
entertained 806 guests at the guild feast, and the ball at Chapel Field
House was fully attended.  The streets in the parish of St. Stephen’s,
where the Mayor resided, were decorated.

29.—Great rejoicings took place at Costessey in celebration of the
elevation to the peerage of Sir George Jerningham, Bart., by the title of
Baron Stafford, of Stafford Castle, in Staffordshire, of Shiffnall in
Shropshire, and of Costessey in Norfolk.  A large cavalcade attended by a
band of music proceeded to Easton, where Lord and Lady Stafford and their
daughters were received with enthusiastic cheering and escorted to
Costessey Hall.  Sheep were roasted, 500 loaves of bread distributed, and
many barrels of beer consumed.


JULY.


7.—At a meeting, presided over by Dr. Yelloly, at the Rampant Horse Inn,
Norwich, the medical men of the city decided “to form a union between the
two previously existing societies in order to render more efficient the
circulation of medical books, and the establishment of a medical library
in Norwich.”

12.—Meetings of Loyal Orange Societies, No. 50, held at the Waggon and
Horses, Tombland, and No. 213 at the Waterloo Tavern, St. Stephen’s,
Norwich, celebrated the anniversary of the battle of the Boyne.

14.—A severe thunderstorm occurred at Norwich after a period of very
sultry weather.  “Almost immediately after the tempest a cloud of immense
magnitude and extreme density, having the appearance of a mass of snow,
passed over the city.  Drifting with a strong westerly wind it was so low
as to envelope a considerable portion of the Cathedral spire.  Its
passage was attended with a very curious phenomenon.  The current of the
river, which had previously been sluggish, suddenly became very rapid, as
if propelled by the irruption of some mighty flood.  This acceleration
lasted about ten minutes, the cloud having once passed over, the stream
gradually resumed its former rate of progression.”

15.—Died at his residence, Catton Place, aged 58, Mr. Joseph Fitch, who
served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1808.

16.—A troop of the 2nd Queen’s Dragoon Guards, commanded by Capt.
Kearney, marched into Norwich Barracks, and were followed by three other
troops.  “This fine regiment, whose uniform is free from modern finery,
and has a truly British appearance, is commanded by Lieut.-Col. Kearney.
They were the first regiment who occupied the Norwich Barracks after
their erection in the year 1793.”

22.—The new Union steamboat intended for passenger traffic between Lynn
and Cambridge made her first voyage.  “She is 72 feet long, 12 wide,
carries 100 passengers, and is propelled by two engines.  Her paddles are
in the stern; they communicate with the boiler and engine by means of
long rods through more than half the length of the vessel.”

30.—Died at her house in the Close, Norwich, aged 65, Mrs. Dickens, wife
of Mr. W. H. Dickens.  “She was the widow of the late Mr. William Crowe,
of Lakenham, who on his death bed enjoined her to marry Capt. Dickens
immediately after his (Mr. Crowe’s) decease.”

31.*—(Advt.)  “To the corn growers of the county of Norfolk.  Gentlemen,
the merchants of Norwich having honoured me by accepting the Pantheon, in
which to hold their corn market, permit me to acquaint you the same will
be held at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, during their pleasure.—W.
Finch.”  The removal of the corn market to the Pantheon was rendered
necessary by the alterations in progress at the Hall in preparation for
the first Triennial Musical Festival.  On August 14th a meeting of
millers, merchants, and corn growers was held at the Norfolk Hotel, “for
the purpose of taking into consideration the best means of erecting a
Corn Exchange.”  Mr. J. Culley presided, and resolutions were adopted in
favour of the proposal, the required amount to be raised in £100 shares.
A committee was appointed to ask the county magistrates to grant a site
“within the iron railing on the north side of the Castle Hill, in the
intermediate space between the road leading from Messrs. Gurney’s Bank on
the right to the opening from Davey Steps on the left.”  A further
meeting was held on October 23rd, at which it was reported that the
magistrates declined to accede to the request, but that the Corporation
of Norwich had agreed “that a piece of ground on the Castle Meadow, in
length 130 feet and in breadth 70 feet, be granted to the corn merchants
for a term of 99 years at the yearly rent of £10, for the purpose of
building thereon a corn exchange.”  A meeting was held on November 1st,
at which it was decided to accept the offer, and to issue shares of £50
each to the amount of £2,000.  (_See_ February 24th, 1825.)


AUGUST.


4.—In consequence of a requisition the Mayor of Norwich convened a
meeting at the Guildhall to consider the subject of establishing a
botanical garden in the neighbourhood of Norwich.  Resolutions were
adopted in favour of the scheme, which was introduced by Dr. Yelloly.

—Died at Norwich, aged 72, Mr. John Funnell Goldsmith Atkinson,
solicitor.  “He was devotedly attached to the constitution in Church and
State, and was in reality the character which has often been drawn of
Honest John Bull.”

11.—At the Norfolk Assizes at Norwich, before Sir William Alexander,
Chief Baron of the Exchequer, came on the action Howard _v._ Howes.  The
plaintiff sought to substantiate his right to the exclusive enjoyment of
a pew in the parish church of Fundenhall.  He and his father had occupied
it since 1787 until disturbed in such occupation by the defendant on
November 2nd, 1823.  Verdict for the plaintiff, damages 1s.—At the same
Assizes, a similar action, Reader _v._ Bloom, was tried, and damages
claimed for assault.  The declaration set forth that the defendant on
August 31st, 1823, at Wells, “did grievously with his hands and feet
assault the plaintiff,” a maiden lady, in the same town, to whom had been
bequeathed a house, which, it was supposed, entitled her to the use of a
certain pew in the parish church.  Defendant contested the right, locked
the pew, and nailed over the door a piece of wood to prevent entry
thereto.  When plaintiff endeavoured to effect an entrance Mr. Bloom
kicked her legs and nipped her arm.  The defence was that the plaintiff
first “clapperclawed” the defendant.  The jury returned a verdict for
plaintiff, damages 1s.

31.—An election took place at Norwich for the office of freemen’s
Sheriff.  Mr. Charles Turner was nominated in the “Purple and Orange,”
and Mr. T. O. Springfield in the “Blue and White” interest.  “About an
hour after the poll had commenced it was announced to Mr. Turner’s
committee that the ‘Blue and Whites’ were giving 5s. for each vote.  This
information caused the ‘Purple and Orange’ party also to unloose their
purse strings, and the cash was paid down on both sides to all who would
receive it.”  Result of the poll: Turner, 1,165; Springfield, 929.


SEPTEMBER.


5.—Died, aged 73, Mrs. Death, widow of Mr. Thomas Death, of the Theatre
Royal, Norwich, and of Covent Garden, London.

11.—St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, was for the first time lighted with gas
in preparation for the Musical Festival.  “The pure bright flame that
issued from the numerous gas burners communicated a lustre to every part
of the edifice more evident, perhaps, than what it receives from the
light of day.”

17.—Married at St. Martin’s-in-the-Fields, London, Mr. William Henry
Brundall to Miss Priscilla Mason, both formerly of the Theatre Royal,
Norwich.

19.—Died at Chelsea, Mr. Henry Cooper, barrister, aged 39.  The son of an
eminent Norwich barrister, he went to sea with Nelson, and as a boy was
present at the battle of the Nile.  He early quitted the naval profession
for that of the law, and was afterwards appointed Attorney-General of the
Bermudas.  On the appointment of Mr. Sergeant Blosset to the Chief
Justiceship of Bengal, Mr. Cooper, who was then rapidly rising on the
Norfolk circuit, became one of the leaders.

21.—The first Triennial Musical Festival, “for the benefit of the Norfolk
and Norwich Hospital,” commenced on this date.  On the evenings of the
21st, 22nd, and 23rd a miscellaneous concert was given at St. Andrew’s
Hall; on the mornings of the 22nd, 23rd, and 24th oratorios were
performed in the same building; and on the evening of the 24th a ball
took place.  The principal vocal performers were Mrs. Salmon, Miss
Stephens, Miss Carew, Madame Renzi De Begnes, Mr. Vaughan, M. Sapio, Mr.
Bellamy, Mr. Edward Taylor, of Norwich (in place of Mr. F. Novello,
absent through family bereavement), Mr. Terrail, Master Kempton, and
Signor De Begnes.  Sir George Smart was the conductor.  The Festival was
attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, who was the guest of the Bishop of
Norwich.  The receipts amounted to £6,695, and the amount given to the
Hospital was £2,411 4s. 2d.  At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation
on September 27th, the freedom of the city was voted to Sir George Smart,
“for the eminent services rendered by him to the city and county as
conductor of the late Musical Festival”; and the Corporation further
agreed to purchase the organ erected for the occasion in St. Andrew’s
Hall by Mr. Grey, for the sum of 280 guineas.

29.—Races were held at East Dereham, and were well attended by “beauty
and fashion.”


OCTOBER.


14.—The premises of Mr. Ling, upholsterer and cabinet maker, Bridewell
Alley, Norwich, were destroyed by fire.  The terrified prisoners were
removed from their cells in the Bridewell adjoining and conveyed to the
City Gaol, and all the property that could be saved from the burning
premises was taken into St. Andrew’s church.  The 2nd Dragoon Guards were
called out to preserve order, and the staff of the West Norfolk Militia
assembled under arms.  “Owing to the goods being stored in St. Andrew’s
church it was impossible to hold service there on Sunday.”

15.—Died, in his 88th year, Mr. Robert Priest, of St. James’ Street,
Norwich.  He was for many years treasurer to the Charity Schools, and in
1786 paid the fine on declining the office of Sheriff.

21.—Died of consumption, in his 24th year, at Little Baddow, Essex, the
Rev. Stephen Morell, “pastor of the Christian Society at the Old Meeting
House, Norwich.”

26.—Mrs. Sloman, formerly of the Norwich Company, made her first
appearance at Covent Garden as Belvedera in “Venice Preserved.”  The
“Times” described the performance as “more than respectable—in many parts
excellent”; and the “Morning Herald” stated that “it was the most
promising tragic _début_ since the days of Miss O’Neil, and the applause
at the dropping of the curtain was long, loud, and universal.”  Mrs.
Sloman was subsequently engaged by the managers of Covent Garden for
three years at a high salary.


NOVEMBER.


7.—William Brownsell, many years in the service of Mr. William Mason, of
Necton, was accidentally shot in his master’s plantation by a spring gun.
He lay in dreadful agony all night and died soon after being found next
morning.

15.—A private watch instituted and maintained by the inhabitants of St.
Stephen’s, Norwich, commenced its duties.

—A prize fight took place near Mattishall between Mike Fenn and John
Short, of Norwich.  “After 14 rounds Fenn was so dreadfully beaten that
he was carried off the ground in a state of insensibility.”  Two thousand
persons were present.

20.*—“Died at East Dereham last week a poor woman of the name of Rumble,
aged 103 years.  She retained her faculties till within a month of her
decease.”


DECEMBER.


3.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of
the Mayor, it was resolved to establish a law library in the city.

11.—The prospectus of a plan for establishing a “Museum of Natural
History, Antiquity, &c.”  in Norwich was issued in accordance with a
resolution passed at a meeting held a short time previously under the
chairmanship of Mr. John Harvey.

14.—The London, Yarmouth, and Norwich Steampacket Company announced the
completion of a new vessel, called the City of Norwich, for the London
and Yarmouth trade.  A considerable portion of the stock of this company
was raised in Norwich and Yarmouth.

15.—Married at East Dereham, by the Rev. C. H. Wollaston, Mr. Fisher,
jun., of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, to Sarah, third
daughter of Mr. William Howard.

—A meeting was held at the King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, at which it
was resolved to carry into immediate execution the Act of Parliament for
the construction of the North Walsham and Dilham Canal.

17.—Concerts were given on the 17th and 18th at Norwich Theatre under the
management of Messrs. Pettet.  The performers included Signor and Madame
Renzi De Begnes and Miss Paton.

20.—Signor Antonio, “generally called Il Diavolo Antonio,” commenced an
engagement at the Norwich Assembly Room in an entertainment consisting of
gymnastic exercises, feats of strength, juggling, and fantoccini.

—Died at his house in St. Giles’, Norwich, the Rev. Thomas Deeker, M.A.,
66 years vicar of Bawdsey, Suffolk, rector of St. Simon and Jude,
Norwich, perpetual curate of St. Margaret and St. Swithin, and chaplain
of the county gaol.

23.—Married at Norwich, by the Rev. George Carter, M.A., Mr. James
Archibald Murray, solicitor, under secretary to the Master of the Rolls,
and second son of Mr. Charles Murray, of John Street, Bedford Row,
London, to Elizabeth Powell, youngest daughter of Capt. R Browne, of the
Precincts, Norwich Cathedral.

29.—A new Masonic Hall was “dedicated” at Yarmouth by Deputy Provincial
Grand Master Ives and the officers of the Grand Lodge of the Province.



1825.


JANUARY.


1.—The “Norfolk and Suffolk Railway Company” advertised its prospectus.
It was proposed to raise a capital of one million sterling in 10,000
shares of £100 each.  The prospectus stated: “The trade from London to
Norwich in bombazeen and crape is at once extensive and permanent, yet
the conveyance of goods is dilatory, expensive, and troublesome.  The
mode of conveyance of fish is insufficient on the one hand, and
extravagant on the other.”  It was proposed to construct the railway from
London to Norwich through Chelmsford and Colchester, with a branch to
Harwich; to Ipswich with a branch to Bury St. Edmund’s; and to Norwich
with branches to Lynn and Yarmouth.  The cost of the undertaking was
estimated at £980,000, and there were to be twelve country and twelve
London directors.  Among the former were Messrs. E. T. Booth, W. Foster,
Joseph Geldart, R. Hawkes, and J. Ives, of Norwich; and Sir E. K. Lacon,
of Yarmouth.

5.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the
presidency of the Mayor, it was decided to establish a Mechanics’
Institution, “similar to those already formed in London.”  Nearly 100
members joined at the conclusion of the meeting.

12.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the justices ordered that the houses
of correction at Aylsham and Wymondham be abolished on the completion of
the county gaol.

22.—A new roadway made through the city wall at the west end of
Pottergate Street, Norwich, was completed on this date, and opened for
vehicular traffic on the 24th.  “This great improvement was effected by
Mr. Alderman T. S. Day, aided by the exertions of Mr. Blyth, who, in
company with Mrs. Blyth, was the first who rode through the new way.”

24.—Died at Lynn, aged 78, William Hall, auctioneer and bookseller.  “He
was generally known by the appellation Antiquarian Hall, having for many
years been in the habit of dealing in works of black letter lore, of
which, at one time, he had a good collection.  He was a man quite
uneducated, but of strong natural abilities, and had read a great deal on
subjects of antiquity.  Though a man of very eccentric habits, he was
universally respected for his industry and integrity.”

—The exhibition commenced at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, of a “grand
model of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem.”

25.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated its 60th anniversary.

29.*—“Died last week, at Holt, Mary Ann Edge, at the advanced age of
103.”

31.—Norwich Theatre re-opened for the season.  The new members of the
company included Mr. Balls, comedian; Mr. Baker, comedian; Mr. Warren,
“walking gentleman”; Miss Scruton, Mrs. Sheppard (formerly Miss Diddear),
Mrs. Balls, and Mrs. Watkinson.


FEBRUARY.


2.—The body of an old man, buried in Hethersett churchyard, was stolen by
resurrection men.  A similar outrage took place in Thorpe churchyard on
the same date.

5.*—“Sir Edmund Bacon (one of the three gentlemen nominated to serve the
office of Sheriff of this county) is gone to London to prefer some
antient claim of exemption from it on account of his being the premier
baronet of England.  Such claim had been successfully made on a similar
occasion by his late father.”  Exemption was granted; but on November
11th, in the Court of Exchequer, the Lord Chief Justice of the Court of
King’s Bench stated that the authorities, after duly investigating the
claim, had decided to disallow it.

—*“The governors of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital have presented a
silver waiter, of the value of 50 guineas, to Mr. Edward Taylor for his
eminent services in promoting, arranging, and assisting at the grand
Musical Festival.”

10.—An exceptionally high tide occurred at Yarmouth.  The river
overflowed and flooded cellars, stables, granaries, and other buildings
on the Quay; and the Southtown Road from the Bear Inn, near the bridge,
to Gorleston was completely under water, in places to the depth of three
feet.  At Cromer great damage was done to the cliffs.

11.—A petition for leave to bring in a Bill to amend the Norwich Paving
Act was presented in the House of Commons by Mr. William Smith.—At a
meeting held at the Duke’s Palace Inn, Norwich, on March 1st, it was
decided to oppose the Bill because the Paving Commissioners by clause 8
sought to obtain authority to levy an additional due of 8d. per ton on
all goods brought by vessels up the river higher than Thorpe Old
Hall.—The Bill was read a first time on March 4th, but in consequence of
the opposition to clause 8 Mr. Smith withdrew the measure and suffered
the second reading to pass as a dropped order.—On March 28th Mr. Smith
moved the second reading on the understanding that the objectionable
clause would be withdrawn in Committee.  The Bill was then read a second
time.—It passed its third reading on May 3rd; received the Royal Assent
in the House of Lords on May 20th; and the first meeting of the
Commissioners under the new Act was held at Norwich on June 14th.

15.—The prospectus of the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was
adopted at a meeting held at Gray’s Inn Coffee House, London, presided
over by Col. Harvey, High Sheriff of Norfolk.  The principal object for
which the company was formed was that of making Norwich a port for
seaborne vessels not exceeding ten feet draught, by opening the best and
most direct line of communication between that city and the sea.  In
addition to the old list of shares, amounting to £27,000, it was decided
to raise £120,000 in shares of £50 each, and to apply to Parliament in
the ensuing Session for leave to bring in a Bill.—The first general
meeting of the shareholders was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, on June
1st, and on July 2nd a meeting of proprietors of land adjoining the
proposed canal between the Yare and the Waveney resolved to oppose the
Bill on account of threatened danger to their property.—The proprietors
of the North Walsham and Dilham Canal, and of the Coltishall and Aylsham
Canal also decided to oppose the measure because it would divert the
traffic from Yarmouth to Lowestoft, would lead to the neglect of Breydon,
and consequently to the injury of the navigation of the Bure and Ant.

19.*—“Died last week in Bishopgate Hospital, Norwich, Mr. John Green,
aged 101.”

24.—In the House of Commons Col. Wodehouse moved that petitions from the
magistrates of Norfolk and from the Mayor and Corporation of Thetford in
reference to the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich be
referred to a Select Committee.  The motion was defeated by 72 votes
against 21.

—The Corporation of Norwich rescinded the resolution by which they had
offered the corn merchants a site for a Corn Exchange, and appointed a
committee to report on the propriety of the Corporation erecting a
building of their own for the sale of corn and other agricultural
produce.  The committee, on March 15th, reported in favour of the
proposal, the Under-Chamberlain was directed to mark out a site 150 feet
by 70 feet on the Castle Meadow, and on May 3rd it was resolved to
advertise for plans and estimates.—The corn merchants held a meeting at
the Norfolk Hotel on July 25th, and finally agreed to erect an exchange
“on part of the present site of Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.”  It was
announced “a new street is to be made to communicate with the Market
Place from St. Andrew’s Street, to enter it at the upper end of Cockey
Lane.”  A proposal was made to erect in the Exchange galleries for the
accommodation of the Norwich Society of Artists, who would be deprived of
their rooms in the Court.—At a special meeting of the Corporation on
August 10th “the further consideration of the erection of a Corn
Exchange” was indefinitely deferred.

28.—A peal of six bells, cast by William Dobson, of Downham Market, was
opened at Marham by the Aylsham company of ringers.

28.—Mr. David Fisher, “a flower of our own garden, a native of our own
county,” made his first appearance at Lynn Theatre in the character of
Richard III.  He afterwards appeared as Macbeth.


MARCH.


2.—Died at Bolton Row, London, Lady Jerningham, widow of Sir William
Jerningham.  Her ladyship was a daughter of the 11th Viscount Dillon.
Her remains were interred at Costessey on March 11th.

—Died at Holkham Hall, aged 45, the Rev. Richard Odell, B.A., Fellow of
Christ’s College, Oxford, curate of Burnham Overy and of Holkham, and
chaplain to his Royal Highness the Duke of Sussex.

3.—Died at his house in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. John
Christopher Hampp, a native of Germany, many years an eminent merchant in
the city, and a liberal benefactor of the poor.

6.—Died at Tenby, aged 43, Col. Francis Manners Sutton, second son of the
Archbishop of Canterbury.

—Died at Hatton, Warwickshire, aged 80, the Rev. Samuel Parr, LL.D.,
Prebendary of St. Paul’s, and rector of Graffham, Huntingdonshire, and
formerly head-master of Norwich Free Grammar School.

7.—Died, aged 69, Mr. John Banks, proprietor and manager of the Theatres
Royal at Liverpool and Manchester, and formerly of Norwich.

8.—Mr. Denny, of Egmere, was presented with a silver cup by the members
of the Walsingham Coursing Club, “as a mark of their esteem and gratitude
to him for the handsome, liberal, and friendly manner with which he has
at all times come forward in support of the meeting.”

25.—The contract was completed for the purchase of the works of the
Norwich Gas Company by the British Gas Light Company.  “The latter
company have bought a piece of land in the World’s End Lane, near St.
Martin-at-Palace, on which they intend to erect a building and construct
works for supplying the city with coal gas.”—The Paving Commissioners on
September 13th consented to an application being made to Parliament for a
Bill to enlarge and amend the Act for lighting with gas the city of
Norwich, “and of the extension of the capital of the British Gas Company
and of the monies appropriated to their own use provided it meet all such
capital to the extent of 12½ per cent. per annum.”

26.*—“Died lately, at Shelfanger, James Catchpole, labourer, in his 105th
year.  Within the last year of his life he was willing and able to do a
day’s work in husbandry.”

—*(Advt.)  “Miss Phillis Glover, being obliged by the early opening of
the Haymarket Theatre, where she is engaged, to leave the Norwich Company
before the close of the season, begs permission to take this, her only
opportunity, of returning thanks to the inhabitants of Norwich for the
kind indulgence afforded to her professional exertions, and of bidding
them most respectfully farewell.”  (Miss Glover, whose place in the
Norwich Company was filled by the engagement of Miss Goward, was married
on November 19th, 1827, at the church of St Clement Danes, London, to Mr.
J. C. Evans, solicitor, of Liverpool.)

29.—Mr. Dewing’s hounds met at West Bradenham, where a fine buck was
turned off, and ran through Bradenham and Saham, skirted Ashill to Holme
Hale, crossed Necton Common, ran through Necton by Fransham to Dunham,
Palgrave, and Sporle, and thence to Castleacre, where he was taken after
a severe run of 21 miles over the stiffest country in Norfolk.


APRIL.


2.—Shore’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

—*“Died at Yarmouth, Mrs. Elizabeth Campling, in her 101st year.”

3.—Died at North Walsham, Mary Cook, aged 101.

5.—One hundred “bankers” from Bedfordshire arrived at North Walsham and
commenced digging the North Walsham and Dilham Canal.  “The first spade
of earth was taken out by Mr. William Youard, the band striking up ‘God
save the King.’”

—A prize fight took place between Camplin and Murrell, of Norwich, on a
meadow near Thorpe, for £10 aside.  Murrell was the winner.

7.—The Archdeacon of Norwich convened a meeting of clergy at the Maid’s
Head Inn, Norwich, at which a petition to the House of Commons was
adopted stating that the signatories were not in agreement with their
brethren who had petitioned Parliament in opposition to Roman Catholic
claims.  Seventy signatures were appended.  The other petition against
the Bill for conceding the claims of the Roman Catholics was signed by
the Bishop of Norwich and 200 clergy.  A similar petition was adopted by
the Corporation on May 3rd by thirty-three votes against six.—The
intelligence that the Emancipation Bill had been rejected by the House of
Lords was received in Norwich on May 19th with the ringing of the bells
of St. Peter Mancroft and of the other churches in the city.

16.—Died at Ryslip, near Uxbridge, the Right Hon. Lady Wodehouse, aged
77.  She was the only surviving daughter of the Hon. Charles Berkeley, of
Bruton Abbey, Somersetshire, niece of Lord Berkeley of Stratton, and the
last of that branch of the Berkeley family.  Her ladyship’s remains were
interred at Kimberley on May 27th, when the funeral procession was headed
by fifty mounted tenants on the estate.

18.—A meeting of the citizens was held at St Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, by
requisition, at which resolutions were adopted asking the legislature “to
undertake at the earliest opportunity such a revision of the Corn Laws as
may secure cultivators of the soil from a recurrence of those ruinous
fluctuations in price which the present system has occasioned, and at the
same time complete that liberal commercial policy in which progress has
already been made.”  A petition based on the resolution was prepared and
presented to Parliament.  It received 14,385 signatures.

21.—Married at St. Giles’ Church, Norwich, by the Rev. C. J. Chapman,
Lieut. Charles Thurtell, R.N., third son of Mr. Thomas Thurtell, alderman
of Norwich, to Mrs. Dunham, of Chapel Field.

23.*—“Died at Lynn, the Widow Oldershaw, aged 107.”


MAY.


1.—Four candidates were nominated at the Mayoral Election at Norwich.  A
poll was demanded, and the result was declared on the same day (Sunday)
as follows:—Alderman Day, 679; Alderman Booth, 579; Alderman Leman, 152;
Alderman Burt, 150.  “It is somewhat singular that the father of the
Mayor-elect was also chosen on a Sunday, May Day so falling in 1808.”

9.—The Norwich Museum was opened at a house in the Upper Haymarket.

14.*—“The work of constructing the new Theatre was commenced, at Norwich,
last week.  Mr. Wilkins is the architect and patentee, and the site is
nearly adjoining to the ground on which the present Theatre stands, and
at the back of the green rooms.”

29.—At Yarmouth Quarter Sessions, before the Recorder (Mr. Robert
Alderson), Mary Neal, aged 42, Susan Neal (21), her daughter, and William
Neal (18), son, were charged with attempting to murder the family of Mr.
Hales, cordwainer, of Howard Street, Yarmouth, by poisoning them.  It was
alleged that the female prisoners persuaded William Neal, an apprentice
of the prosecutor, to place arsenic in the food of his master’s family to
avenge some fancied grievance.  Mr. and Mrs. Hales and their children
narrowly escaped death.  Sentence of death, afterwards commuted to
transportation, was recorded.

30.—The members of a newly established club, called the Norwich Loyal
Society, held their first anniversary dinner at the Wheat Sheaf Inn,
Bethel Street, in commemoration of the birthday of Pitt.


JUNE.


6.—The 2nd Dragoon Guards marched from Norwich for Hampton Court
Barracks.

15.—A cricket match was played at Litcham “with the six Alexanders, of
Hingham, and the five Cushions, of Shipdham, on the one side, against the
town of Litcham on the other.”  The stakes, 22 sovereigns a-side, were
won by the “families” by one wicket.  The families, 55-88; Litcham,
82-60.

18.—The last performances took place at the old Norwich Theatre.  The
pieces were “The Provoked Husband” and the farce “A Roland for an
Oliver.”  The concluding season had proved very productive to the
patentee and the performers.  The total amount accruing from the twenty
benefits was £1,732, an average of £86 12s. exclusive of “ticket nights.”

20.—A special meeting of the Yarmouth Corporation was held for the
purpose of promoting the erection of a new church in the town.  The sum
of £1,500 was voted in aid of the fund, and a piece of land given as an
eligible site.

21.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The aldermen, Sheriffs, and Town Clerk had
breakfast with the Mayor-elect, Mr. T. S. Day, and afterwards went to the
house of the Mayor (Mr. H. Francis), “their carriages passing through the
newly-made opening in the city wall at the end of Pottergate Street,
where an arch had been formed with boughs.”  The subsequent procession to
the Cathedral was headed by two bands of musicians and “Snap.”  The
guests at the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall numbered 450, and “the
proceedings, from the excellence of the wines, were protracted till about
eleven o’clock, when the worthy donor of the feast retired from the
chair.”

30.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, Mr. William Manning, of
Ormesby, in his 94th year.  “This gentleman was the Father of the
Magistracy of Norfolk, and had been 65 years on the commission.”


JULY.


2.—The steam packet Lowther started from Yarmouth on a pleasure excursion
to Rotterdam, and arrived at its destination at six o’clock on the
evening of the 3rd.  The vessel returned to Yarmouth on the 10th after a
passage of 27 hours.

4.—Madame Tussaud’s exhibition opened at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich.

—The company of ringers at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, presented to Mr.
Samuel Thurston “an elegant silver gilt jewel for his eminent services in
composing the peal of 5,016 of Norwich Court, 12 in, and ringing the
tenor in a superior style.”

11.—Four troops of the Scots Greys (2nd North British Dragoons) marched
into Norwich.  “Their veteran colonel, Sir Thomas Pate Hankin, rode at
the head of this very fine body of men and horses.  Their excellent
regimental band, including keyed bugles and kettledrums, played before
them from their entrance at St Stephen’s Gates to the Cavalry Barracks.”

12.—Mr. Thorogood, coachman and part proprietor, “completed his fourth
year of driving the Times coach to London and back again to Norwich the
next day without missing one single day.  The total number of miles in
four years, up and down—163,520.”

23.—Direct conveyance from Norwich to Boston by the Independence new
coach was announced.

28.—Eleven hundred persons were confirmed at Norwich Cathedral by the
Bishop of the Diocese.

—The peal of bells at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, increased from eight
to ten, and re-hung by T. Hurry, was re-opened by ten of St. Peter
Mancroft ringers.

30.*—(Advt.)  “The annual main between the gentlemen of Norwich and
Yarmouth will be fought at the Two-Necked Swan, Market Place, Yarmouth,
on the race days, for £5 a battle and £25 the odd; to show 25 mains and
six byes.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich; Steward for Yarmouth.  The first
pit will begin fighting at ten o’clock each morning before the racing.”

30.—Died at Cowes, the Right Hon. the Earl of Craven, Lord Lieutenant of
the county of Berks., Recorder of Coventry, and a lieutenant-general in
the Army.  His lordship, who was in his 55th year, married on December
12th, 1807, Miss Brunton, of Covent Garden Theatre, and formerly of the
Norwich Company, and left issue Viscount Uffington, another son, and a
daughter.


AUGUST.


1.—Lord Chief Justice Abbott and Lord Chief Baron Alexander, Judges of
Assize, were received at Harford Bridge, Norwich, by the High Sheriff of
Norfolk (Col. Harvey).  “Being a member of the Corporation, the Mayor and
his brethren determined to accompany him with the city Sheriffs, and a
procession was formed in the following order:—Two blue coats on
horseback; justices and aldermen of Norwich in their carriages; city
Sheriffs’ officers on horseback; the Under Sheriff’s ditto; the Sheriffs
in a carriage and four; two blue coats, with the castles, on horseback;
two mace bearers, ditto; the Under-Chamberlain with small mace, ditto;
the Mayor in his carriage with the Town Clerk and sword bearer; the High
Sheriff’s trumpeters on horseback; his marshalmen, ditto; 24 javelin men,
ditto, in dark blue liveries with orange cockades; the Under-Sheriff of
Norfolk; the High Sheriff in his elegant carriage drawn by six fine brown
horses, the coachman, postillions, and footmen in livery, with his
chaplain, the Rev. Edward Bellman; servants on horseback; Sir Robert John
Harvey and Mr. George Harvey, the High Sheriff’s sons, in a chariot.  It
is said that a similar procession has not taken place here for the last
100 years.”

2.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich before Lord Chief Justice
Abbott, the action Fellowes _v._ Steward, clerk, was tried, with the
object of deciding whether the plaintiff had set out his tithe in a
manner warranted by law.  The plaintiff’s men cut the tithe wheat on
seven acres of land, each man taking a strip or rig of land, and after
cutting each strip returned and put his sheaves into shocks of ten each.
The plaintiff’s bailiff set out the tithe by taking every tenth sheaf
from the shock and placing it a yard or two from the rest.  He then put a
bough on every sheaf so laid apart, and replaced it in the shock whence
he had taken it.  The next day the sheaves, except those marked as tithe,
were carted.  Mr. Alderman Steward, of Norwich, who was acting as agent
for his son, the rector of Saxlingham, stated that the corn should be
tithed in sheaves before it was shocked.  Mr. Fellowes endeavoured to
prove that the corn had been set out according to the custom of the
place.  The Judge censured the plaintiff for adopting the method of
separating the tithe corn from the other corn and mixing it with the
shock again, as it opened the door to the practice of all kinds of fraud.
The plaintiff was non-suited.

5.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Lord Chief Justice Abbott, the _qui
tam_ action Woodewis _v._ J. S. Patteson came on for trial.  It was
brought to recover a penalty of £100 under 3rd George IV., chap. 77, by
which persons trading in excisable liquors were precluded from taking
part, as magistrates, in licensing proceedings.  It was alleged that Mr.
Patteson interfered, on the application of the plaintiff, to have a house
licensed for the sale of home-brewed beer and London porter in Fishgate
Street, Norwich, nearly opposite one belonging to himself.  The answer
was that this was an attempt to fix a stigma on the character of Mr.
Patteson.  The Judge said the jury could find a verdict for the plaintiff
without impeaching the character of the defendant.  The jury returned the
following verdict: “We give the plaintiff £100 damages; at the same time
we entertain a very high opinion of the high honour and good faith of
Alderman Patteson and the other gentlemen of the Corporation.”

6.—Died at Ryde, Isle of Wight, Mr. John Lens, “his Majesty’s ancient
Sergeant at Law,” aged 69.  He was a native of Norwich, and was educated
at the Free Grammar School.

—Mr. Graham made a balloon ascent from Richmond Hill Gardens, Norwich, at
6.5 and descended at Beighton at 6.30 p.m.  He made a second ascent on
August 30th and descended at Earlham.  He was advertised to ascend on
September 6th in company with the High Sheriff, but the balloon was
inadequate in lifting power.  A second attempt was made on the 7th.  Mr.
Graham had to resign his place to Mrs. Graham, who successfully made the
ascent with Col. Harvey, and descended in safety at Bradeston, near
Brundall.

13.—The governors of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital received from his
Majesty the King a copy of Arnold’s edition of Handel’s works in 49
volumes “for the use of those engaged at the Musical Festival connected
with the charity.”

22.—At a rent audit dinner held at Woodbastwick the tenants presented to
Mr. John Cator a silver vase, of the value of £120, as “a token of regard
and respect for his liberal abatement of rent during four years of
unprecedented depreciation of agricultural produce, by which means they
were able to continue in the occupation of their farms during the wreck
and ruin of thousands, and now times are altered for the better, hope to
be enabled to pay their rents and meet their landlord as before with
money in their pockets, cheerful countenances, and grateful hearts.”

30.—Election of freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.  The candidates were—Mr.
James Brooks, jun., 865 votes; Mr. Alderman Springfield, 501; Mr. William
Scott (“nominated with the view of dividing Mr. Brooks’s interest”), 0.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—Mr. William Simpson, Chamberlain of the city of Norwich, was presented
by the Corporation with a piece of plate, of the value of 100 guineas, in
recognition of the able discharge of his official duties.

3*—“Died at Yarmouth, Mary, the wife of Mr. Clifford, of the Norwich
Theatre, in her 55th year.”

10.—The Swaffham and London new post coach was advertised to run from the
Crown Inn, Swaffham, on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at seven
o’clock, and to return from the Three Nuns Inn, Aldgate, on Tuesday,
Thursday, and Saturday mornings at the same hour.  It performed the
journey in twelve hours.

14.—A piece of plate, of the value of £120, was presented to Mr. William
Palgrave, of Yarmouth, by the manufacturers and merchants of Norwich, “to
express their sense of his official conduct in regulating the drawback
granted to them by the Government on the repeal of the duties on silk.”

23.—The Duke and Duchess of Clarence passed through Norwich.  Their Royal
Highnesses had luncheon at the Rampant Horse Inn, and afterwards
proceeded on their way to Newmarket and London.


OCTOBER.


2.—Died, Mrs. Hannah Want, of Ditchingham, aged 106.  “She was born
August 20th, 1720.  Till the day of her death she was not confined to her
bed, and on the anniversary of her 105th birthday entertained a party of
her relatives, who visited her to celebrate it.  She lived to see a
numerous progeny of the fifth generation, and at her death there were
living children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great great
grandchildren to the number of 121.”

4.—Mr. Daniel Woods, surgeon to the Gressenhall House of Industry, and to
sixteen of the surrounding parishes, was presented with a piece of plate
by the Guardians of the Mitford and Launditch Hundred in recognition of
his efficient services during the period of 36 years.

8.—The Defiance Swaffham and London day coach was advertised to run to
the Flower Pot Inn, Bishopsgate Street, every Monday, Wednesday, and
Friday in twelve hours.

11.—A shooting match for 200 sovereigns commenced at Holkham between Mr.
T. W. Coke, M.P., and Capt. Ross.  Conditions: to shoot partridges; to
toss for choice of ground on first day and exchange grounds on the second
day; to load own guns and bag own game; and to have no other beaters than
the dogs.  On the first day Mr. Coke killed 54 and Capt. Ross 40 brace.
The second day’s shooting took place on the 14th, when Capt. Ross had men
to mark, beat, and pick up game.  At the first day’s shooting, it was
alleged, Mr. Coke inadvertently broke the rules of the match.
Explanations followed, and bets were declared off.

17.—The Rev. T. D. Atkinson, St. Mary’s, Thetford, was presented with a
piece of plate by the parishioners, churchwardens, and others in
recognition of his unwearied zeal as “a most exemplary parish priest.”

20.—Messrs. Pettet’s Session Week Concerts at Norwich Theatre and the
Hall Concert Room, St. George’s, commenced on this date.  The principal
vocalists were Mr. Phillips and Madame Caradori; leader of the band, Mr.
Mori.

—Died at his house, St. Clement’s, Norwich, aged 83, Dr. James Alderson.
The funeral took place on October 27 in the Gildencroft burial-ground
belonging to the Society of Friends.

20.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, under the
presidency of the High Sheriff, at which it was decided to petition
Parliament “for the immediate mitigation of slavery throughout the
British Colonies, and for its extinction at the earliest safe and
practicable period in compliance with the resolutions of the House of
Commons in May, 1823.”—The petition, which was presented in the House of
Commons by Mr. Edmond Wodehouse on March 1st, 1826, received 17,125
signatures, and was 82 yards in length.

22.—Mr. James Vining, formerly of the Norwich Company, appeared at the
Haymarket Theatre in the character of Octavian (“The Mountaineers”), and
was favourably received.

23.—The Baron Von Bülan gave an address at the Old Meeting House,
Norwich, as agent for a Continental society “for the distribution of
Bibles and Christian instruction where Popery and infidelity prevail.”

25.—The Magnet coach from London to Norwich was accidentally overturned
in passing through the Eldon gate at Thetford, and one of the passengers,
a widow from Hargham, was crushed to death by the vehicle falling upon
her.

26.—Died at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, aged 59, Lieut.-Col. Sir
Thomas Pate Hankin, commanding the Scots Greys.  He joined the regiment
as cornet, July 21st, 1795; was promoted lieutenant, August 13th, 1796;
captain, October 18th, 1798; major, April 4th, 1808; lieutenant-colonel
in the Army, June 4th, 1814; and lieutenant-colonel commanding the
regiment, October 11th, 1821.  He was with that distinguished corps at
the battle of Waterloo, when he received a severe wound in the knee.
Previous to entering the Army he was a surgeon at Upwell in this county,
and afterwards captain of the grenadier company of the Middlesex Militia.
Sir Thomas was buried with military honours in the north transept of
Norwich Cathedral on November 2nd.


NOVEMBER.


3.—Thorogood, the driver of “The Times” coach, gave up the reins on this
date, having held them since July 14th, 1822, “during which time he drove
the coach every day to and from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, and the Swan
with Two Necks, Lad Lane, London, a distance of 116 miles without any
accident of consequence, a task which we believe was never before
performed by any man.  In the above space of time he travelled 182,352
miles, independent of the distance he regularly walked, which could not
have been less than a mile each day, as he always slept at the Blue Boar,
Aldgate, when in London, and at the Bell, Orford Hill, when in Norwich.”
Thorogood married on November 8th Miss M. Westall, of London.

4.—H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, who was staying with Admiral Windham at
Felbrigg, visited Cromer, when the inhabitants removed the horses from
his carriage and dragged it through the town.

7.—According to annual custom, a grand _battue_ took place at Holkham,
when upwards of 700 head of game were shot.  “Game has not been found so
plentiful as in former seasons.  The deficiency was in hares, of which
not more than 220 have been shot in one day.  In previous years upwards
of 500 hares have been killed in the park in one day.”

12.—The Norwich Society “for promoting the immediate mitigation and final
abolition of slavery” was established at a meeting held at St. Andrew’s
Hall, under the presidency of the Mayor (Mr. T. S. Day).

14.—Married at Minto, Roxburghshire, Mr. J. P. Boileau, jun., eldest son
of Mr. J. P. Boileau, of Mortlake, and of Tacolneston Hall, to Lady
Catherine Elliott, daughter of the Earl of Minto.

—Swaffham Coursing Meeting commenced with a very small attendance.  “We
have to regret the retirement of Lord Rivers, whose advanced age and
infirm state of health have obliged him to relinquish his favourite
pursuits.  The superior greyhounds his lordship used to bring secured him
the victory in almost every match he made—indeed, he was allowed to
possess the best breed of greyhounds in the kingdom.  The noble lord,
during has coursing career, has been the winner of fourteen cups, and is
the only member since the establishment of the Swaffham Coursing Meeting
in 1779 who has won five cups at Swaffham, and this during the last
eleven years, his lordship first entering in 1813.  His greyhounds sold
at Tattersall’s in May last for 1,029 guineas; with seven horses and two
dog carts the amount was brought up to 1,339½ guineas, which sum his
lordship generously presented to his servants.  One dog, Rex, who has
never been beaten, and also a bitch, as companion to this nonpariel, are
retained by Lord Rivers as a memento of his celebrated kennel.”

21.—A meeting of the Norwich and Norfolk Law Library was held at the
Guildhall, Norwich, at which were adopted the rules and regulations drawn
up by a committee appointed on December 3rd, 1824.  The books were
ordered to be deposited in a room in Institution Court, Upper Haymarket.

23.—The Norwich Association for Assisting in the Detection and
Prosecution of Criminal Offenders was instituted at a meeting held at the
Guildhall.

26.—A meeting was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which an association
was formed for the protection of agriculture.  It was known as the East
Norfolk Agricultural Society, and Mr. Jehosaphat Postle was elected
president.

—A corn market was re-established at Wells-next-the-Sea.

28.—The first annual meeting of subscribers to the Norfolk and Norwich
Museum was held at the Guildhall, under the presidency of Sir James E.
Smith.  Rules for the management of the institution were adopted.

30.—St. Andrew’s Day was celebrated by the Scots Greys at the Cavalry
Barracks, Norwich.  A soldier dressed as St. Andrew was escorted from the
city boundary to the barracks by a party of forty troopers in Highland
dress, who called at the house of the Mayor, in Pottergate Street, and
danced a reel.  The festival was afterwards kept in a convivial manner at
the barracks.


DECEMBER.


9.—Mr. De Hague’s portrait, painted by Sir William Beechey, was hung in
St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

12.—Died, aged 83, Mr. Burks, one of the proprietors of the “Norwich
Mercury.”

16.—Messrs. T. H. and W. Day, of the Norwich and Swaffham Bank, announced
that they were compelled to suspend their payments.  On the 17th it was
made known that a docket had been struck preparatory to a commission of
bankruptcy being issued against the firm.—Messrs. Fincham’s Bank at Diss
stopped payment at about the same date owing to the sudden death of Mr.
Benjamin Fincham on November 19th, but was re-opened on January 9th,
1826.

20.—The Rev. Robert Forby, rector of Fincham, was found drowned in his
bath.  It was supposed that he was seized with sudden faintness while
bathing.

27.—Died at Tittleshall parsonage, the Rev. Dixon Hoste, aged 76, for
many years an acting magistrate in the Hundred of Launditch.

28.—A public meeting at Lynn approved a plan for constructing a bridge
and embankment over the Cross Keys Wash, in order to establish direct
communication between the whole of Norfolk and part of Suffolk with
Lincolnshire and the north of England.

31.—Wombwell exhibited his menagerie on the Castle Hill, Norwich, and
advertised as an attraction “the two unequalled lions, Nero and Wallace,
the same who fought and conquered the dogs at Warwick.”



1826.


JANUARY.


7.—In consequence of continued applications for relief by the unemployed
weavers, &c., the Norwich Court of Guardians increased the mulct for the
ensuing quarter £3,000—an addition to the rates of 2s. in the pound.—On
January 12th a Crape Ball, at which the lady patronesses wore white
Norwich crape, other ladies scarlet geranium-coloured Norwich crapes, and
gentlemen waistcoats of plain white shawl with shawl pattern border as
part of their evening dress, was held at the Assembly Room for the
purpose of promoting a fund for the relief of the poor, and produced a
clear profit of £79.  The fund was formally inaugurated at a public
meeting held at the Guildhall on January 16th, and upwards of £5,000 was
afterwards subscribed.—The Paving Act Commissioners on January 24th
decided to macadamise Ber Street in order to afford relief work, and in
March the manufacturers, with the same object, commenced making
bombazetts and twilled stuffs, articles that were entirely new to
Norwich.  On March 10th the governors of the Bank of England granted to
the manufacturers the loan of £80,000 for four months at the rate of five
per cent. per annum; and on May 15th application was made to the
committee in London for the relief of distressed manufactures, who
granted £600 to the unemployed weavers, still numbering several
thousands.—The Court of Guardians on July 4th increased the mulct for the
ensuing quarter to £15,000; and in August offered to obtain employment
for a considerable number of distressed weavers if they would consent to
a slight reduction of wages.  The men declined the offer because the
manufacturers refused to guarantee that they would not send work into the
country.  During the remaining portion of the year employment continued
to be scarce.

14.*—“Mr. W. E. L. Bulwer, of Heydon Hall, has lately been presented by
his tenants with a piece of plate, of the value of 500 guineas, as a
testimony of their respect and esteem for his general good conduct, and
especially as a mark of gratitude for his disinterested generosity during
the late agricultural distresses.”

18.—Died at Yarmouth, John Joy, for 30 years guard of the mail coach to
London.  “He has left three sons, two of whom, since the death of Serres,
are said to be the first marine painters in the kingdom.”

26.—A great skating match at Wisbech, in which all the principal fen
skaters took part, was won by Farrow, of Nordelph.

31.—A large number of weavers caused a riot in Norwich, and destroyed a
carrier’s cart which was conveying into the country materials for
manufacturing purposes.  On February 1st the mob stopped all country
carts and seized what manufacturing articles were found upon them, broke
the windows of several factories, and became so aggressive that the Scots
Greys were called out to quell the disturbance.  The rioting was resumed
on February 13th, when many citizens were sworn in as special constables,
and after the Riot Act had been read the cavalry cleared the streets.


FEBRUARY.


4.*—“Died at a rustic and old habitation on Kettlestone Common, at the
age of 99, Robert Pamell, an honest husbandman, who, until he was 93,
never took relief from the parish.  He had frequently said he never
recollected having taken physic in his life.”

9.—The Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Bill was introduced into the
House of Commons and read a first time; it passed its second reading on
February 17th, and on February 27th petitions were presented against the
measure from the Corporation of Yarmouth and the owners of estates, and
in its favour from the inhabitants of Lowestoft and the Port Reeve and
inhabitants of Beccles.  On April 10th a Committee of the House proceeded
to take evidence, and after a sitting of 18 days 20 votes were given for
the Bill and 25 against.  The result of the Parliamentary proceedings
gave rise to great rejoicings at Yarmouth, where, on May 18th, a dinner
was held to celebrate the defeat of the Bill.—On August 8th the Haven and
Pier Commissioners received a deputation from the Norwich and Lowestoft
Navigation Committee, and a conference was held.  Further discussion was
deferred until September 5th.—On August 26th the county magistrates held
a meeting at the Norwich Shirehall, and resolved that it was desirable
that Norwich be made a port through Yarmouth, and requested the Haven and
Pier Commissioners to continue negociations with the Norwich Joint Stock
Company.—At the adjourned meeting on September 5th the negociations fell
through owing to the strong opposition manifested by the traders and
merchants of Yarmouth.  The Navigation Company, on September 29th,
decided to revive the Lowestoft scheme, to execute the work for a sum not
exceeding £100,000, and to apply for a Bill in the next Session of
Parliament.  On November 22nd a petition was presented in the House of
Commons for leave to bring in the Bill, and was referred to Committee.
At a public meeting at Yarmouth on November 28th, it was resolved to
exercise every influence to bring about the defeat of the measure.—The
Bill was read a first time in the House of Commons on November 29th.

12.—Died at his house in St. Giles’, the Rev. Charles John Chapman, B.D.,
upper minister of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He was educated at the
Norwich Free Grammar School, under the Rev. Dr. Parr, and at the
University of Cambridge, and was some time fellow of Corpus Christi
College.

13.—Capt. Parry, R.N., was presented with the freedom of Lynn “in
testimony of his meritorious and enterprising conduct in his several
voyages of discovery.”  On the 15th the Corporation gave a dinner in his
honour at the Town Hall.

14.—Died, Mrs. Mary Seaman, of Norwich, aged 100.

23.—The Scots Greys marched from Norwich for Liverpool.


MARCH.


3.—The 1st Dragoon Guards marched into Norwich.

9.—At a meeting of the county magistrates, held at the Shirehall,
Norwich, a letter from the Secretary of State was read on the subject of
the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  It was agreed
to answer the various objections it contained, and to strongly urge the
removal of the Assizes.—The Grand Jury at Norwich Assizes on July 22nd
made a presentment of the grievance from which the city suffered in the
absence of a second gaol delivery in the course of the year.

18.*—“Died lately in London, aged 62, Mr. Henry Smith, of Ellingham Hall,
who for 29 years held the situation of solicitor to the East India Dock
Company, and clerk of the Drapers’ Company.  Mr. Smith some time ago
represented the borough of Colne in Parliament.”

25.—Between 60 and 70 friends of Mr. Cobbett dined at the Bowling Green
Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Sir Thomas Beevor.  Mr. Cobbett was
present, and replied to the toast of “Our Guest,” proposed by Sir Thomas.

27.—The new Theatre at Norwich was opened with the performance of “The
School for Scandal” and of the farce “Youth, Love, and Folly.”  The
proceedings commenced with the singing of the National Anthem by the
whole of the company, after which the leading actor, Mr. Osbaldiston,
delivered an address, “written by a young lady of this city for the
occasion.”  On the previous Saturday evening (March 25th) the patentee,
Mr. Wilkins, entertained a party of 150 ladies and gentlemen in the green
room of the Theatre.  The High Sheriff (Col. Harvey) proposed “Success to
the new Theatre,” “which the guests readily pledged in glasses of
sparkling champagne,” and the evening concluded with a dance upon the
stage.


APRIL.


11.—Died at her house, Rue Neuve du Luxembourg, Paris, Madame De
Bardelin, wife of Monsieur le Chevalier Laget De Bardelin, Officier
Supérieur, Lieutenant des Gardes du Corps du Roy.  “Madame De Bardelin
was well known and highly respected by many distinguished families in
Norwich and Norfolk, where, when she was Miss Sutton, she resided for a
considerable time.”

14.—A squadron of 1st King’s Dragoon Guards left Norwich for Leeds, and
on the same day the depot of the 40th (2nd Somersetshire) Regiment of
Foot arrived in the city and occupied the Cavalry Barracks.

20.—Mr. Osbaldiston took leave of the Norwich stage in the part of
Virginius, and proceeded to the Haymarket Theatre, London.

30.—The large east window of Norwich Cathedral was exposed to view after
restoration.  “The central light formerly comprised the Transfiguration,
after Raphael, painted by the lady of the late Dean Lloyd, with varnished
colours, but these not having been burnt in were after a time entirely
dissipated.  The same subject has now been re-executed in vitrified
colours from the picture by Julio Romano, in the possession of Mr. W.
Wilkins.  To that ingenious artist, Mr. Zobel (in the employment of Mr.
Yarrington, of Norwich), we offer our congratulations on the success of
his undertaking.”


MAY.


1.—Mr. Barton, from the Bristol Theatre, who succeeded Mr. Osbaldiston as
the tragedian of the Norwich Company, made his first appearance in the
part of Hamlet.  “The thanks of the pure lovers of the stage are due to
Mr. Chippendale for not playing the grave-digger in the traditionary
number of waistcoats.”

4.—Major Jonathan Peel, son of Sir Robert Peel, and brother of the Right
Hon. Robert Peel, Secretary of State for the Home Department, issued his
address as candidate for Norwich in the “Purple and Orange” interest.

17.—Mr. William Smith issued his address as candidate for Norwich in the
“Blue and White” interest.  “I regret,” he wrote, “that practices exist
against which I have frequently and earnestly remonstrated; not only in
private, but before thousands of you assembled I have openly protested
against the right of any man to call for a reform in Parliament who
accepted any reward for his own vote.”

18.—Died at his lodging at Yarmouth, aged 86, Mr. Roger Hays, of Norwich,
formerly captain in the 11th Light Dragoons, and many years adjutant of
the 3rd or East Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.  He entered the Army in 1760,
and was on duty with the Household troops at the coronation of George
III.

19.—The several troops of the 3rd Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by
Lieut.-Col. Harvey, completed 28 days’ permanent duty at Norwich, and
were inspected at Mile End by Major Rutledge, 6th Carabineers.


JUNE.


9.—Mr. William Smith, the former member, and Major Peel were returned
unopposed for Norwich.  A Mr. Morrison had been invited to contest the
seat as a third candidate, but excused himself on the ground that he was
already nominated for Great Marlow.  It was by the extreme section of the
“Blue and White” party that Mr. Morrison’s services were sought.  Failing
in this they nominated Mr. R. H. Gurney, but it being represented to the
Sheriff that he would not consent, the nomination was withdrawn.

—Yarmouth Election: the Hon. George Anson, 645; Mr. C. E. Rumbold, 649;
Sir E. K. Lacon, 250.

10.—Lynn Election: The Hon. John Walpole, 199; Lord William Bentinck,
174; Sir W. B. ffolkes, 104.

—*“Died a few days since at Hampstead, in Berkshire, Mrs. Brunton, widow
of the late Mr. John Brunton, of Norwich.”

12.—Lord Charles Fitz Roy and Mr. William Bingham Baring were returned
unopposed for Thetford.

—Lord H. Cholmondeley and Col. the Hon. F. G. Howard were returned
unopposed for Castle Rising.

—The portrait of Mr. J. S. Patteson, by Beechey, and of Mr. William
Simpson, Chamberlain of the city and Treasurer of the county, by
Phillips, R.A., were hung in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

14.—The Wesleyan Methodists of Norwich presented to the Rev. William
Gilpin, superintendent of the Norwich circuit, a pair of silver cups as a
token of gratitude and esteem.  The inscriptions were surmounted by
engraved representations of Calvert Street and St. Peter’s Chapels, both
of which were erected under Mr. Gilpin’s superintendence, the former in
1819 and the latter in 1824.

—The first laden wherries proceeded along the North Walsham and Dilham
Canal from Wayford Bridge to Mr. Cubitt’s mill at North Walsham, with
music playing and flags flying.  “Thousands of spectators assembled to
witness this interesting scene, and the day finished with a plentiful
treat to the workmen of Mr. Sharpe’s strong ale and Barclay’s brown
stout.”

19.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse were returned unopposed for
Norfolk.  “At Mr. Walter’s house on the Gentleman’s Walk, Lady Anne Coke,
with her two lovely children, presented herself at the windows, and was
greeted with loud acclaims by Mr. Coke’s friends.  When the hon. member
himself passed the spot our venerable Lord Bishop was holding the young
heir of Holkham in his arms, and each time that his father was
triumphantly thrown up in his chair the plaudits were renewed with an
enthusiasm which must have been truly grateful to his parental feelings.”

20.—Guild Day at Norwich was observed with the customary formalities.
Mr. Ed.  Temple Booth having been sworn in as Mayor, the Right Hon.
Robert Peel, Secretary of State for the Home Department, and his brother,
Major Peel, M.P., took the oath as freemen of the city.  The Guild feast,
given at St. Andrew’s Hall, was attended by 650 guests, and the ball at
Chapel Field House by 300.

21.—Messrs. Charles and George Green ascended in their balloon from the
gasworks at Lynn in the presence of 15,000 spectators, and descended at
Southery, near Downham Market.


JULY.


4.—A meeting of the “Blue and White” freemen was held at the Ranelagh
Gardens, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. William Smith, M.P., at
which was formed the Norwich Union Independent Society.  Its object was
“to promote the purity of election.”

8.—Died at Dublin, aged 24, Lieut. Henry Francis Bell, 58th Regiment of
Foot, grandson of Mr. Henry Bell, of Wallington.  He was accidentally
shot by a recruit while at practice with ball cartridge.

10.—Great rejoicings took place at Cromer on the coming of age of the
heir of Felbrigg.  The horses were removed from Mr. Windham’s carriage,
which was dragged through the streets of the town.  “Fourteen barrels of
strong ale and porter having been placed on a pleasant eminence on the
road to Felbrigg, thirteen were broached and distributed among the
company, and the remaining barrel was given to the poor of Cromer.  A
ball was held at Felbrigg Hall in the evening.”

13.—In the Rolls Court Lord Gifford delivered judgment in the tithe case
Bayley _v._ Sewell.  The plaintiff was the lessee of the impropriate
rectory of Wymondham, and the defendant the occupier of certain farms
called the Great Park Farm and the Little Park Farm, which had been
purchased upwards of 200 years previously by Sir Henry Hobart, the then
Lord Chief Justice of Common Pleas, as tithe free, subject only to the
demand of a _modus_ of £1 6s. 8d. in respect of the Great Park and of
13s. 4d. in respect of the Little Park.  This suit was instituted for the
purpose of compelling payment of tithes in respect of both farms; and at
the Norfolk Summer Assizes in 1825 the jury found for the plaintiff.
Lord Gifford, in his judgment, established the two ancient _moduses_
which exempted the properties from the payment of tithes.

15.—The discontinuance of Magdalen Fair, Norwich, was announced in the
following official notice:—“Sprowston, July 15th, 1826.  Whereas it has
been represented to the executors and trustees of the estate of the late
Thomas Woodruffe Smith, Esq., lord of the manor of Sprowston and lord of
the fair called Mary Magdalene Fair, yearly held at Sprowston in the
Hundred of Taverham in the county of Norfolk, that divers tumults and
riotous proceedings have taken place at the above fair to the terror and
fear of the lives of the peaceable inhabitants of the said parish, and
great nuisances and depredations have been committed on their property,
notice is hereby given to all dealers and chapmen and all persons
whatever who have usually resorted thereto, that no fair will be held
this year on the 2nd day of August or any subsequent day at Sprowston
aforesaid, nor again in future, and any person or persons who may, after
this notice, be found trespassing on the lands where the fair has been
usually held, or on any other lands adjoining, or obstructing the public
roads in Sprowston aforesaid, will be dealt with according to law.  By
order of the said Trustees, Lords of the Manor of Sprowston.—Thomas
Sayer, Bailiff.”

15.—A fine vessel called the Rapid, upwards of 160 tons, was launched
from Mr. Preston’s yard at Yarmouth.

22.—A historical play entitled “Viriatus, the Lusitanian Hero,” written
by Mr. Thwaites, jun., of Norwich, a member of the Norwich Company, was
produced at the Theatre for the first time, and “was received with great
approbation.”

30.—A singular phenomenon was witnessed at Cromer.  “The lighthouse hill
and adjacent heights were literally covered with myriads of the insect
called Lady Bird of an unusually large sort.”


AUGUST.


7.—The prisoners at the old City Gaol at Norwich were removed to the new
Gaol at St. Giles’ Gates.

28.—Ten thousand persons were attracted to the neighbourhood of St.
James’s Hill, Norwich, to witness the performances of “Signor Carlo Cram
Villecrop, the celebrated Swiss Mountain Flyer from Geneva and Mont
Blanc,” who was to exhibit “with the Tyrolese pole, 50 feet long, the
most astonishing gymnastic flights never before witnessed in this
country.”  It was a hoax.

29.—The election of the freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich was attended with
great excitement.  The candidates were Mr. J. Bennett and Mr. T. O.
Springfield.  “Complimentary half-crowns were paid to the ‘friends of
independence,’” and it was mentioned as a circumstance highly creditable
to the poor freemen of the “Purple and Orange” interest, that “they
contented themselves with a fee of 5s. each from their own party.”  The
poll was declared as follows: Bennett, 1,164; Springfield, 1,079.

—The North Walsham and Dilham Canal was formally opened by a grand
procession of vessels which started from Wayford Bridge accompanied by a
band of music and filled with company, among whom were Lord Suffield and
many of the principal residents in the district.  At Antingham the
company landed, formed in procession, and marched to North Walsham, where
a dinner was held at the King’s Arms Inn, under the presidency of Col.
the Hon. John Wodehouse.


SEPTEMBER.


4.—The Ven. Archdeacon Oldershaw preached at Pulham Market church on the
occasion of the opening of the newly-erected organ, built by Mr. Bullen,
“an ingenious mechanic of that place.”

9.*—“The aged inhabitants residing in the alms-houses in St. Gregory’s,
bequeathed by Alderman Thomas Pye to the poor people belonging to St.
Giles’, were removed this week into their newly-erected and comfortable
dwellings in West Pottergate Street.”

13.—A man named Gibson, for a wager of £50, undertook to walk from
Norwich to Yarmouth in seven and a half hours carrying £4 worth of copper
coins, weighing four stones four pounds.  He started from Bishop Bridge
at five o’clock in the morning, accomplished the first twelve miles in
three hours, and arrived at Yarmouth half an hour within the stipulated
time.

18.—A prize fight, “one of those revolting scenes, which are equally an
outrage on every feeling of humanity as well as a scandal to civilised
society,” took place at Bramerton.  The combatants were prevented by a
magistrate from bringing off the affair at Surlingham; and the parish
constable at Bramerton on attempting to stop the fight was almost killed
in the execution of his duty.


OCTOBER.


5.—Joseph Wiggins, driver of the Norwich Phenomena coach, was fined at
Ixworth in the mitigated penalty of £90 for having 36 head of partridges
in his possession, contrary to the statute 5 Anne c. 14, s. 2.

11.—Died in Goat Lane, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. John Reynolds, who served
the office of Sheriff in 1796.

17.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions a committee of justices reported that the
Bridewell was “insufficient, inconvenient, and inadequate to give effect
to the rules and regulations enforced in recent legislation, and it was
necessary from the increased number of commitments to such Bridewell that
some other and more commodious building should be erected or
substituted.”

19.—A meeting was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of
Mr. Unthank, at which was passed a resolution to the effect “that by the
present mode of electing Guardians the great body of the payers of the
poor-rates are entirely unrepresented, that the extraordinary increase in
the poor-rates of the city within the last six months has caused the
greatest alarm and demands the strictest scrutiny, and that it is
desirable a Bill should be brought in to amend the present Court of
Guardians Act so far as to the choosing members of the Court.”  A
petition embodying the principle of this resolution was ordered to be
presented to the House of Commons.

21.—Died, Mr. John Ansell, plumber and glazier, St. John Maddermarket,
who served the offer of Sheriff of Norwich in 1806.

—At about this date large numbers of people assembled nightly on Orford
Hill, Norwich, to watch for a “ghost” which was said to haunt the
premises of a Mr. Hart.  Martin, a police officer, examined some
unoccupied premises adjoining, and discovered a hiding-place which had
evidently been used by the person who had annoyed Mr. Hart’s family.

—Mr. Stone, the County Surveyor, was reported to have “discovered rooms
and passages within the walls of the Keep of Norwich Castle which have
been unknown since it has become a county gaol, a period of nearly 500
years.”

22.—The Friends’ Meeting House in Goat Lane, Norwich, erected on the site
of the old Meeting House demolished in 1825, was opened for public
worship.  The architect was Mr. Patience, and the builder, Mr. John
Bensley.

28.—At the adjourned Quarter Sessions at Norwich, Mr. Alderman Crisp
Brown made serious allegations as to the way in which the contractors for
the new Gaol had done their work.  The court appointed Mr. Nicholls, of
London, to survey the work.  Vestry meetings were held in St. Giles’, St.
Peter Mancroft, St. Andrew’s, and St. Julian’s, at which resolutions were
adopted expressing approval of Mr. Brown’s action.  On May 12th, 1827, it
was announced that Mr. Nicholls had awarded the sum of £1,552 to the
contractors over and above the balance previously due to them.


NOVEMBER.


5.—A great part of the premises erected on the site of the old
alms-houses, adjoining the Friends’ Meeting House, Goat Lane, Norwich,
fell with a tremendous crash.

11.*—“Mr. W. Wilkins has received another testimony to his ability as an
architect in the preference given to his design for the London
University.”

—Died at Brundall, aged 72, Mr. Elisha De Hague, Town Clerk of Norwich,
to which office he was elected on August 8th, 1792, on the death of his
father.

18.*—“An intelligent mercantile gentleman from Russia, who landed at
Yarmouth, with whom we had some conversation on the subject of the free
admission of foreign corn into this country, gave it as his opinion that
the fears entertained here by the landed interest of excessive
importations, at least for some time to come, are quite groundless.  He
admitted, however, that in eight or ten years, from the encouragement we
shall have given to the foreign grower by our free trade system, if it
should be extended to corn, abundant supplies may be expected.  What will
_then_ be the state of the agriculture of _this_ country by no means too
flourishing _now_ may be easily imagined.”

21.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich, Mr. William
Simpson, for 34 years Chamberlain, was elected Town Clerk and Clerk of
the Peace, and steward of the several manors belonging to the
Corporation, in the room of Mr. Elisha De Hague, deceased.

25.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, for the twofold
purpose of opposing the Bill presented to Parliament for the appointment
of district surveyors of highways, and of expressing dissent from the
practice which prevailed at the Shirehall of conducting county business
with closed doors.  With regard to the first subject a resolution was
passed stating that the county-rate had increased from £7,200 to £20,400
in twenty years, and that it was undesirable to increase it by making the
proposed appointments.  It was decided to take counsel’s opinion upon the
other matter.  (_See_ January 12th, 1827.)

27.—The Rev. William Whitear, rector of Starston, met with his death
under singular circumstances.  He had gone out with a party to apprehend
poachers; the party divided themselves into two bodies, and on proceeding
to the place where it had been agreed upon to reassemble, Mr. Whitear was
mistaken for a poacher and shot in the right side by another of the
party, a young man named Thomas Pallant.  He died from the effects of the
wound on December 10th, and Pallant was committed for trial on the charge
of manslaughter.  The case was tried at the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford
before Mr. Justice Gaselee, on March 26th, 1827, when the accused was
acquitted.  “He was so seriously affected during the trial that before
its conclusion he became quite insensible, and was taken home in that
state.”


DECEMBER.


2.*—[Advt.]  “Whereas a report was very generally circulated last week,
and in a great measure obtained credit, that the body of William
Tounshend, which was buried at Lakenham, on Sunday, November 19th, had
been disinterred and taken away, we, the undersigned, have investigated
the matter and certify the following statement to be correct:—The
relatives of the deceased being much affected at such a report and
naturally anxious to ascertain the truth of it, made application to have
the grave examined.  After due deliberation upon the subject permission
was granted for that purpose.  The grave was opened on Saturday last in
the presence of them, together with us, when it was discovered that the
body reposed in its peaceful abode undisturbed.  We consider it to be our
duty to give this public contradiction to so groundless and scandalous a
report, in order thereby to satisfy the minds of the parishioners and the
public at large.—George Carter, vicar; Hunton Jackson, William Norman,
churchwardens; Lakenham Vestry, November 26th.”

6.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation, Mr. Robert Alderson was
elected Recorder in place of Mr. C. S. Onley, resigned.  “Mr. Alderson,
though only what is technically termed an ‘utter barrister,’ is now the
Recorder of three Corporations, namely, Norwich, Yarmouth, and Ipswich.
An ‘utter barrister’ (according to Bailey) is a young lawyer admitted to
plead at the Bar, or a person well schooled in the common law who is
called from contemplation to practice.”

8.—At a special court of the Corporation of Guardians, Norwich, Mr. Roger
Kerrison, solicitor, was elected clerk in the room of Mr. William
Simpson, resigned.

—Died at Holkham, aged 90, William Jones, for upwards of 50 years
huntsman and principal stable servant in the Coke family.  “On his
death-bed he was seen by Mr. Coke, who took with him the young heir of
Holkham, to shake his faithful old servant by the hand.  Lady Anne Coke,
Lady Anson, and all the family at Holkham showed every possible kindness
and attention to the venerable and much-respected old man.”

11.—A serious poaching affray took place in Heydon Woods between a band
of 25 poachers and about 20 keepers and watchers.  The Hon. George
Edwards (a son of Lord Kensington), who accompanied the keepers, was
knocked down by a stone, and shot while upon the ground.  At the Norfolk
Assizes, held at Thetford on March 26th, 1827, before Mr. Justice
Gaselee, 13 persons were indicted in connection with the affair.
Sentences of death passed upon them were commuted to terms of
transportation.

12.—Mr. Isaac Preston was elected Steward of Norwich in room of Mr.
Robert Alderson, appointed Recorder.

14.—A meeting of the Hundred of Eynsford was held at the Swan Inn,
Reepham, at which it was decided to petition Parliament against any
alteration in the Corn Laws.  Similar petitions were adopted by almost
every Hundred in the county.

17.—The depôt of the 40th Regiment of Foot marched from Norwich for
Bradford.



1827.


JANUARY.


6.—Mons. Louis, a native of Lorraine, 26 years of age, seven feet six
inches in height, was exhibited at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

7.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of H.R.H. the Duke
of York, and the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, and the bells of other
churches in the city, were tolled for two hours.  On Saturday, the 13th,
the day of the funeral, “all the shops in Norwich were kept as closely
shut as on the Sabbath”; the Mayor and Corporation attended service at
the Cathedral; and funeral sermons were preached at many of the parish
churches and city chapels.

11.—A meeting of the Norfolk Cricket Club was held at Norwich, when rules
were adopted.  It was agreed to play four matches during the year, one on
each of the four grounds to be established by the club in the
neighbourhood of Norwich, Yarmouth, Swaffham, and Gunton.  Rule 20
provided that members, clergymen excepted, should wear at the annual
meetings the uniform dress—“a dark blue coat with buttons lettered
‘N.C.C.,’ with white waistcoat, &c.”  Mr. Philip Gurdon, of Letton, was
elected treasurer.

12.—A bull driven along St. Martin’s Street, Norwich, entered the Bess of
Bedlam public-house, and rushing upstairs made its way into a room where
a musical party was held.  The animal was dislodged with great
difficulty.

—At a meeting of the county magistrates the question of the conduct of
business was discussed.  Several magistrates resisted the idea that the
public had a right to claim admission, and it was agreed that the
proceedings be read in the lower court at the close of each meeting, and
“such of them as appeared advisable be advertised in the newspapers.”

13.—Very severe weather was experienced in Norfolk.  The thermometer on
this date registered 14 degrees below freezing point.  A heavy fall of
snow on the 15th impeded coach traffic in the neighbourhood of Swaffham.
“Many hundreds of rabbits perished in the Thetford and Brandon districts
through being out in search of food and unable to find their burrows
again.”

26.—A severe storm occurred on the Norfolk coast.  Four vessels drove
from their anchors and stranded on Yarmouth beach; and a brig was wrecked
on Happisburgh sands.  The whole of her crew perished.

29.—On November 28th, 1826, three candidates were nominated for the
office of City Chamberlain at Norwich, of whom Mr. James Goodwin had the
majority in the Court of Aldermen and Mr. Beckwith in the Common Council.
The assembly broke up without electing the Chamberlain.  On January 29th
a special meeting of the Corporation was held in consequence of the Mayor
having received notice that a rule of the Court of King’s Bench would be
applied for requiring them to shew cause why a writ of _mandamus_ should
not issue commanding them to admit and swear Mr. Goodwin into the office
of Chamberlain and other offices.  It was ordered that cause be shown.
On February 10th the Court of King’s Bench discharged the rule _nisi_.
At a special meeting of the Corporation on March 9th, the Town Clerk
reported on the result of the motion, and Mr. A. A. H. Beckwith was then
unanimously elected Chamberlain, and Mr. John Skipper Speaker of the
Common Council, in place of Mr. Beckwith.  A new Council was elected in
April, and at a special assembly on May 16th, Mr. Beckwith was requested
to leave the room.  The Speaker, Mr. J. S. Parkinson (who had been
elected in place of Mr. Skipper), declined to recognise Mr. Beckwith as
Chamberlain.  Mr. Goodwin was then proposed, and elected to the office.
At a Council meeting on June 7th, Mr. Beckwith took his seat as
Chamberlain, and was asked to retire; he refused, and the beadle was
called in.  Mr. Beckwith, addressing that officer, said, “I give you
notice, if you lay your hands on me you do so at your peril.”  One of the
members remarked that if the beadle did not turn him out they would.  Mr.
Beckwith was then led out by the beadle, and the incident terminated.


FEBRUARY.


2.—A fine specimen of the sea eagle (_falco ossifragus_) was shot near
Fritton Decoy.  It measured from tip to tip of its wings seven feet nine
inches, and was presented to the Norwich Museum.

5.—Four thousand weavers met at Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, and passed
resolutions protesting against the action of certain manufacturers in
reducing the rate of wages without consulting other employers, and
requesting the Mayor to summon a meeting of the masters to shew cause why
the reduction had been made.  On the 12th a procession of 600 operatives,
headed by a man carrying a loaf of bread draped in black crape, passed
through the streets of the city.  A petition to Parliament was prepared,
in favour of an Act to regulate the price of labour.  The petition was
presented in the House of Commons on May 30th, by Mr. William Smith.

12.—The last stage of the agitation for making Norwich a port was
commenced on this date, when Major Peel presented a petition in the House
of Commons from the Mayor, Aldermen, and inhabitants of Norwich in favour
of the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Bill.  The Bill having been read
a second time, entered the Committee stage on February 21st, when Mr.
Alderson opened the case on behalf of the promoters; the examination of
their witnesses concluded on Feb. 27th.  The case for the opposition was
commenced on the same day, and the evidence concluded on March 7th.  In
the division on the question “that the preamble of this Bill is proved,”
there were 25 ayes and 5 noes.  Peals were rung on the church bells at
Norwich when intelligence was received, on March 8th, that the Bill had
passed through Committee, and Mr. Crisp Brown, on his return from London,
on the 9th, was met at St. Stephen’s Gates by a large number of citizens,
who, headed by a band of music, drew his carriage to his residence in
King Street.  On March 11th the Bill was reported to the House, and on
the 22nd it was read a third time and passed.  On the same evening it was
read a first time in the House of Lords; it passed its second reading on
March 26th, and was referred to Committee, who took evidence on May 7th,
and on the 22nd it was read a third time and carried without opposition.
The news of the final success of the measure was received in Norwich with
great rejoicing.  On the 23rd a procession was organized to meet the
promoters on their arrival from town.  The Times coach, by which they
travelled, was met at Harford Bridges, and at St. Stephen’s Gates the
horses were removed from the vehicle, which was dragged in triumph
through the city, preceded by bands of music and by men carrying models
of ships and naval emblems.  At night a bonfire was lighted in the centre
of the Market Place, and was fed with wooden spouts, palings, and
watch-boxes.  Some of the ringleaders were lodged in clink, but their
comrades rescued them and threw the clink doors upon the bonfire.  Sheep
were roasted in Ber Street and Bishop Street.  The Bill received the
Royal assent on May 28th.  The first meeting of the proprietors of the
Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was held at the Guildhall, on
July 3rd, when Col. Harvey presided.  Mr. Edmund Newton was appointed
clerk, Mr. Cubitt engineer, and Messrs. Harvey and Hudson treasurers.
The work of excavation was begun in the Lowestoft section on September
4th, when Mr. Crisp Brown dug the first spadeful of earth, and a dinner
and aquatic sports were held to celebrate the event.

17.—Died at Wymondham, aged 69, Mr. Thomas Troughton, who was Sheriff of
Norwich in 1810.

19.—Mr. William Smith, in the House of Commons, presented a petition from
the inhabitants praying leave to bring in a Bill to regulate the state of
the poor in Norwich.  The Norwich Court of Guardians Amendment Bill was
brought in and read a first time on March 1st.  On March 24th it was
stated that the promoters of the measure had effected a compromise with
the Court of Guardians as to the proportion of representation; persons
assessed £10 and upwards were to have two votes, and those above £5 one
vote; the Recorder, Steward, and Aldermen not to be Guardians; the
hamlets not to be assessed on stock, but the proportion of assessment
between them and the city to be five-sixths—_i.e._, when the city was
assessed 1s. the hamlets were to be assessed 10d.  The Bill went through
Committee of the House on the 26th, and was reported on the 28th.  It was
read a first and second time in the House of Lords in April, finally
passed on May 4th, and received the Royal assent on May 28th.  The first
election under the new Act took place on June 11th, and the first meeting
of the new Court was held on June 20th, when Mr. Anthony Hudson was
elected Governor, and Mr. Joseph Geldart Deputy-Governor.

19.—The _Crim. Con._ case, Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., _v._ Capt. Garth, was
tried in the Court of Common Pleas, when a verdict was given for the
plaintiff, damages one shilling.

20.—A cricket match was played on the ice at Diss Mere.  It commenced at
10 a.m., and was well contested until dusk, in the presence of about
1,500 spectators.

24.*—“Died last week, at Kenninghall, aged 105, Mrs. Sarah Barham.”

—“Died at Yarmouth Mr. Nathan Fenn, in his 101st year.”

—A detachment of the 12th (Prince of Wales’) Royal Lancers marched into
Norwich Barracks from Hounslow, under the command of Capt. Cunnyngham.

25.—Died at Norwich, aged 101, Thomas Greenfield, gardener.

26.—Major Peel presented in the House of Commons a petition from the
Chancellor and Prebendaries of Norwich Cathedral, and from the Archdeacon
and clergy of Norfolk, against further concessions to the claims of Roman
Catholics.


MARCH.


3.—Died at Costessey Hall, the Rev. Lawrence Strongitharm, aged 31,
formerly of the Roman Catholic church, St. John Maddermarket, Norwich.
“To great learning and a highly gifted mind, to the most elegant and
refined manners, and to the most powerful and commanding eloquence he
added a most fervent and unaffected piety and undying zeal for the
furtherance of religion.”  His remains were interred on the 9th, before
the altar in the chapel of St. John Maddermarket.

8.—“Two celebrated amateurs of fashion,” the Hon. W. Berkeley and the
other “a military man,” appeared in the parts of Othello and Roderigo at
Norwich Theatre.  They afterwards appeared as Romeo and Mercutio, and in
other characters.

9.—Died Adam Burrell, many years carrier between Flitcham and Lynn.  “The
deceased was rather an eccentric character, and often designated as ‘Adam
Slow,’ as he usually occupied six or seven hours going from Flitcham to
Lynn, a distance of about 10 miles.  He was, however, a very honest and
inoffensive man.”

10.—Particulars were published on this date of the Norfolk and Norwich
Joint Stock Banking Company, of which Mr. Samuel Bignold was managing
director.  The capital was advertised as £200,000, and the bank had
branches at Lynn, Swaffham, Dereham, Foulsham, and Harling.

17.*—[Advt.]  “Marshland Shales.  The well-known trotting stallion,
Marshland Shales, will be sold by auction on Tombland Fair-day, unless
previously disposed of by private contract.  This is the horse which on
August 3rd, 1810, trotted 17 miles in 56 minutes, carrying 12 st. 2 lb.,
and was then sold by auction for 305 gs.  For particulars apply, if by
letter post-paid, to Mr. Moneyment, veterinary surgeon, Norwich.”

19.—A large portion of the city wall at Richmond Hill Gardens, Norwich,
fell into the Bracondale Road, from the effects of a violent gale on the
17th.

—Died, aged 59, Mr. Edward Dewing, of Guist.  He was out hunting with his
hounds when he was seized with a fit of apoplexy and dropped from his
horse.  During a second attack he expired.

22.—Sixty-five prisoners for trial at the Lent Assizes at Thetford were
escorted from Norwich Castle to that place by men of the Norfolk Yeomanry
Cavalry.

31.*—“Lately died at Wicklewood, Mrs. Mary Spraggs, aged 100.”

—*“Died lately, Mrs. Catherine Mann, aged 102.”


APRIL.


1.—A newly-erected malthouse, belonging to Mr. W. Hardy, at
Letheringsett, was destroyed by fire.  The building was 150 feet by 40
feet, and contained 90 last of malt, a considerable quantity of wool,
barley, and empty casks.  “The engine from Holt did not arrive until
after the roof fell in, the people supposing the alarm of fire to be only
an April hoax.”

2.—The annual election of Common Councilmen commenced at Norwich.  “For
several years ‘cleansing week’ has passed off without any serious
contests, and the ‘Purple and Orange’ party has held uninterrupted
ascendency in three of the great wards since 1820.  All at once, however,
the ‘Blue and Whites’ have roused themselves from their inaction, and
again entering the field of party warfare, have succeeded in displacing
their opponents.  It is useless to deny that the week’s proceedings have
been marked by undisguised bribery and corruption, and that the object of
the triumphant party has mainly been achieved by superior weight of
metal—by dint of money.”

10.—Died at his residence in London, aged 78, the Marquis of
Cholmondeley, of Houghton Hall, Lord Steward of his Majesty’s Household,
&c.

13.—Died, aged 82, Mr. Daniel Clark, of Norwich.  “He was in the
commercial establishment of Messrs. Ives for nearly 70 years and was
justly esteemed in nautical and musical communities.  To the last his
song was cheerful and his convivial good humour unabated, and many a head
must lie as low as his before the name of ‘Admiral’ Clark will be
forgotten, or his memory ceased to be cherished with respect.”

14.—The Norwich Cricket Club announced that a lease had been taken of a
field at Lakenham, “without Ber Street Gates, and nearly opposite
Lakenham Terrace,” and that the ground had been “laid down with fine turf
by Mr. Bentley, of Lords.”  The secretary of the club was Mr. Henry
Hobart, solicitor, of Bethel Street.

22.—Died at Harleston, aged 66, Mr. Robert Paul, formerly of Starston,
“well known to agriculturists for several ingenious inventions and for
his inquiries into the nature, history, and habitudes of the turnip fly
and wireworm.”


MAY.


1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, namely,
Alderman Peter Finch, who received 918 votes; Alderman Yallop, 867;
Alderman J. S. Patteson, 566; and Alderman C. Brown, 565.  At the Court
of Aldermen on the 3rd Mr. Finch was elected Mayor.

3.—Newspaper reporters were for the first time admitted to the assembly
of the Norwich Corporation.

9.—Died at Margaretta Farm, Clenchwarton, aged 83, Dr. Charles Browne,
for many years physician to the King of Prussia.  On his return to
England his Majesty conferred upon him the Order of the Red Eagle as a
mark of his esteem.  Dr. Browne was a man of high literary attainments.

24.—The bounds of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were perambulated.  “It
gave rise to those scenes of vulgar mirth for which occasions of this
kind are used as an excuse for indulging in with impunity.  We never
remember the ducking system carried to such lengths.  The Rev. J. Bowman,
in the early stage of the proceedings, was on Hay Hill drenched from head
to foot.  The pail which a fellow had in his hand (and which had been
filled with water from an adjoining pump) being dropped at his feet, he
accidentally fell over, but fortunately escaped without any serious
injury.  The company afterwards met for dinner at the Angel Inn.”

29.—The Bishop of Chichester, acting on behalf of the Bishop of Norwich,
held a visitation at Lynn and confirmed 1,400 persons at St. Margaret’s
church, and 620 at St. Nicholas’ chapel.  The number confirmed at Holt
was 1,120; at Fakenham, 1,800; at East Dereham, 1,100; and at Hingham,
803.


JUNE.


4.—Mr. Bolton, formerly coach proprietor and landlord of the Norfolk
Hotel, Norwich, was driving between Melton Mowbray and Stamford when his
horse ran away and overturned the vehicle.  Mr. Bolton received severe
injuries, from which he died on the 10th.

12.—A serious riot occurred at Norwich.  A party of Wymondham weavers,
who had damaged looms and destroyed silk to the value of £1,000, at
Ashwellthorpe, had been conveyed to Norwich Castle for examination.  The
witnesses were brought to the city in hackney coaches, escorted by a
detachment of the 12th Lancers.  The Norwich weavers, who had barricaded
the Golden Ball Lane entrance to Castle Meadow with a waggon, and placed
a similar obstruction near the Castle Bridge, received the military with
a volley of stones.  The witnesses were then conveyed by way of
Timberhill to Orford Hill, and while a large body of special constables
displaced the waggon at the bridge, a second detachment of Lancers came
from the Barracks, charged the mob at full gallop, and dispersed them in
all directions.  An attempted rally was frustrated by a second charge.
The Militia staff were under arms on the Castle Hill, and the streets
were patrolled by the Norwich light Horse Volunteers.  At the Norwich
Assizes, on August 11th, several of the rioters were indicted before Mr.
Baron Garrow for assaults, and were discharged on entering into their
recognisances.  David Seeker, Henry Rix, and William Thurston were
charged with the capital offence of riotously assembling together to the
disturbance of the public peace.  Mr. Cooper, for the defence, objected
to the wording of the indictment.  The words of the King’s proclamation
read at the time of the disturbance were “chargeth and commandeth all
persons,” &c.; the indictment said “chargeth and command”; and instead of
directing the people to “depart to their lawful habitations _or_ to their
lawful homes,” the indictment said “_and_ to their lawful homes.”  The
learned Judge pronounced the objection to be valid, and expressed the
hope that the prisoners “would go home sensible of the blessings of
Providence in having shielded them that day, and saved them from an
ignominious death.”  The Ashwellthorpe rioters were bound over in the sum
of £50 each.

19.—Breakfast _à la fourchette_ with the Mayor-elect (Mr. Peter Finch)
and luncheon with the Mayor (Mr. E. T. Booth), prepared the Sheriffs,
Aldermen, &c., for the Guild Day proceedings at Norwich.  The customary
ceremonies were observed at the Guildhall, service was attended at the
Cathedral, and 600 guests dined at St Andrew’s Hall.

23.—The Surrey Gardens, Thorpe Road, Norwich, were advertised as a resort
“for the reception of respectable families and invalids,” where “pure
air, unbounded prospects of land and water, refreshing fruits and
odoriferous flowers” could be obtained.  A military band played on Sunday
evenings, from five to seven o’clock.

27.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed at North Walsham church 1,280
persons.  On one day in the previous week his lordship confirmed in
Norwich Cathedral 1,100 persons.

30.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 87, Mr. Jacob Preston, senior magistrate of
the borough.  He was Mayor in 1793, 1801, and 1813.

—Mr. Yates gave his entertainment, “Portraits and Sketches,” at Norwich
Theatre.  On subsequent evenings he was assisted by Mr. Brunton and Mrs.
Yates (formerly Miss Brunton).


JULY.


25.—A well-contested prize fight took place at Bessingham, between Rix
and Sharpens, for £5 aside.  The former beat his opponent, after fighting
78 rounds in 45 minutes.


AUGUST.


5.—A duel took place on Yarmouth Denes “between J--- B---, Esq., and W.
M---, Esq., in consequence of a dispute the previous day at the Bath
Rooms.  Both were to fire at the same time, but on the signal being given
Mr. M.’s ball did not take effect, and Mr. B.’s pistol missed fire.  The
seconds then interfered, and the affair was adjusted without much
difficulty.”

6.—Norwich Theatre was re-opened for the Assize week.  “The return of Mr.
Osbaldiston gave rise to scenes of disturbance which interrupted the
progress of the performance for several evenings.  A kind of set appears
to have been made against him, but he has been warmly applauded by the
respectable part of the audience.”

6.—The Norfolk Cricket Club played the first of a series of matches which
took place during the Norwich Assize week.  The annual dinner was held at
the Rampant Horse Inn on the 10th, under the presidency of Lord Suffield,
and in the evening a ball was given at Chapel Field Rooms.  The
patronesses were the Countess of Albemarle, Lady Anne Coke, Lady
Stafford, Lady Suffield, the Hon. Mrs. Wodehouse, Lady Lacon, and Mrs.
Gurdon.  “The waltz was introduced for the first time in the course of
the evening, but a very select few appeared inclined to join in that
rotatory movement.”

28.—The election of freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich; the
candidates were Alderman T. O. Springfield and Lieut. Fred White, R.N.
“As soon as the polling commenced, a ticket was given by the ‘Blue and
White’ party, entitling the voter who chose to accept it to half-a-crown.
Nothing was given on the side of the ‘Purple and Orange,’ Lieut. White
having merely come forward in consequence of a requisition sent to him by
the poor freemen and signed by upwards of 300 names.”  The poll was thus
declared: Springfield, 1,210; White, 474.  Lieut. White, in his
subsequent address, wrote: “I consider my failure more honourable than to
have gained the day by bribery and corruption.  The 474 votes I obtained
will at least rescue the character of a considerable portion of our
fellow-citizens from the reproach of selling themselves to the highest
bidder.”


SEPTEMBER.


5.—The first stone of the new Roman Catholic chapel in St. Giles’ parish,
Norwich, was laid by the Hon. and Rev. Edward Clifford.

8.—Died, aged 74, at his house in St. Faith’s Lane, Norwich, Mr. William
Herring, 32 years an alderman of the city.  He was the second son of the
Very Rev. William Herring, D.D., Dean of St. Asaph.

12.—The election of an alderman to fill the vacancy caused by the death
of Mr. Herring took place at Norwich.  The candidates were Mr. Angell,
“Purple and Orange,” and Mr. Marshall, “Blue and White.”  Great
excitement prevailed throughout the contest.  “The ‘Purple and Orange’
party were informed in the course of the day that some of their friends
had been carried off and were detained in a warehouse in St. Clement’s.
A magistrates’ warrant was applied for and the captives set at liberty.”
At the close of the day the voting stood as follows: Angell, 215;
Marshall, 195.  The friends of the latter demanded that the poll be
continued on the 13th, “because seven of Mr. Marshall’s friends were
detained at Ranworth against their will.”  The other side retaliated that
eleven of their voters had been forcibly carried away by the “Blue and
Whites.”  The Mayor deprecated the system that had been put in force, and
adjourned the poll till 10 o’clock the following morning.  The poll was
finally declared as follows: Angell, 218; Marshall, 196.  (_See_
September 24th.)

18.—A Musical Festival for the benefit of the Norfolk and Norwich
Hospital commenced at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, and concluded with a
ball in the same building on the 21st.  The principals engaged for the
oratorios and concerts were Madame Pasta, Miss Stephens, Miss Bacon, Miss
Farrar, Madame Caradori Allan, Mr. Braham, Mr. Vaughan, Mr. Terrail, Mr.
Edward Taylor, and Signor Zuchelli.  Sir George Smart conducted.  The
total receipts amounted to about £6,400, of which £1,672 12s. 1d. was
handed to the Hospital.

24.—An inquest was held by Mr. Bell, the Norwich Coroner, on the body of
James Bailey, one of the persons who was forcibly carried away to prevent
his voting at the Alderman’s election on the 12th.  “On the 10th he was
taken away by the ‘Blues and Whites’ to Wroxham Castle public-house, the
next morning removed to Horning Swan, afterwards taken to Smallburgh, and
on the same night removed to Ridlington Plough.  They wanted nothing for
eating and drinking, but Bailey being very ill, suffered very much from
being moved about.”  On his return to Norwich he was engaged to sell
programmes at the Musical Festival, where he was in attendance from the
18th to the 20th.  On the 22nd he broke a blood vessel and died.  “His
attendance at the Festival took the onus off his captors, and the jury
returned a verdict of ‘Died from the visitation of God.’”

28.—Mr. Samuel Stone was elected Speaker of the Common Council of
Norwich, in the room of Mr. J. S. Parkinson, deceased.

29.*—[Advt.]  “£100 Reward, and his Majesty’s Pardon.  Eight horses
belonging to Mr. William Slack, of Norwich, died between the 25th August
last and the 10th September, six soon after their return from
Attleborough (one of the depôts for horses drawing the London vans) to
Norwich, one at Attleborough, and the other at Newmarket, and upon being
opened it has been ascertained that they died by mineral poisoning,
supposed to have been administered in water or in some liquid form.  The
Government offer the above reward.”

—*“The week before last Mr. Meyer Levi, gold and silver smith, a
converted Jew, together with Mrs. Hannah Levi, a converted Jewess,
received the rite of Christian baptism at the hands of the vicar in the
parish church of St. Stephen’s, Norwich, when the Christian names of John
and Hannah were given to the above parties, and at the same time they
adopted the surname of Herbert.”


OCTOBER.


6.—A number of silver coins, some of them bearing date 1577, were dug up
by a gardener at Thorpe, who sold them for £30.

13.—The portrait of Mr. Henry Francis, Mayor of Norwich in 1824, was hung
in St. Andrew’s Hall.  The artist was Mr. Lane, of Greek Street, Soho.

18.—Died at Costessey, Mrs. Anne Maria Teresa Vere, aged 100, sister of
Mr. Charles Gosnold, formerly of Norwich.

20.—Killed at the battle of Navarino, aged 24, Lieut. George William Howe
FitzRoy, R.N., of H.M.S. Dartmouth, second son of Lieut.-General the Hon.
William FitzRoy, of Kempston Lodge.


NOVEMBER.


3.*—“At the auction mart last week Mr. Hoggart sold the well-known estate
called St. Andrew’s Hall, Old Buckenham, a fine mansion house, and 532
acres of land, at £29,300.”

10.—It was announced that Mr. Smith, manager of Norwich Theatre, had
taken of the patentee, Mr. Wilkins, a seven years’ lease of that and the
other houses in the circuit.

—Mr. Mathews commenced a three nights’ engagement at the Assembly Rooms,
Norwich.

17.*—“The expense of erecting the house of industry at Wicklewood in 1777
was defrayed by a tontine called the ‘Forehoe Tontine,’ consisting of 110
shares at £100 each, bearing an interest of £5 per cent.  Fifty years
have now elapsed, and in 1827 there are still 50 survivors out of the
original number.”

25.—Died at Prospect Place, Gorleston, aged 65, Mr. F. F. Hope, for 30
years paymaster of the East Norfolk Militia.  “Previously he was an
officer of the line, saw much service during the great American War, was
at the siege of Yorktown in Virginia in 1781, and there taken prisoner by
the combined Armies of France and America, with the whole of the British
Army under Lord Cornwallis.”


DECEMBER.


16.—The small organ in East Dereham church, mentioned by Dr. Burney in
his “History of Music” as a curiosity, which was built by the famous
Schmidt, in 1666, for the Hon. Roger North, of Rougham Hall, and
purchased for the parish in 1786 for the small sum of £30, was, after
enlargement under the direction of the Rev. R. F. Elwin, of Norwich,
opened before a congregation of 1,600 persons, by Mr. Last, of Orford.
The builder, Mr. Joseph Hart, of Redgrave, found that Schmidt’s pipes
were as sound as on the day they were finished.

—A boy of 13, named William Moore, was brutally murdered in a field at
Brisley, by John Kenney, a lunatic, aged 24.  The body was horribly
mutilated.  The prisoner was committed for trial on the Coroner’s
warrant, on the charge of wilful murder, and at the Lent Assizes, held at
Thetford on March 21st, before Mr. Baron Garrow, the jury returned a
verdict of not guilty, on the ground of the insanity of the accused.

22.*—[Advt.]  “A main of cocks will be fought at the White Hart Inn,
Swaffham, on Thursday, the 27th of December, 1827, for 50 guineas,
between Mr. J. Farrer, of Necton, and Mr. G. Gould, of Swaffham.  A very
superior day’s play is expected, as there are several other matches
besides.”

—*“Died lately, at Northrepps, Hannah Storey, in her 101st year.”

—Lieut.-Col. Harvey, commanding the 3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry
Cavalry, addressed a letter to the Marquis of Lansdowne, Secretary of
State for War, detailing the services rendered by the regiment in
quelling disturbances, &c., and expressing the hope that the Government
would not order the disbandment of the corps.  His lordship replied that
he had not lost sight of the valuable services of the Yeomanry, but that
the Barracks at Norwich were then, and were likely to continue, a station
for regular cavalry, and consequently he was unable to accede to the
request to continue the pay and allowance to the regiment.

24.—Died at Lynn, Samuel Pearson, a journeyman cabinetmaker, “who, in the
intervals of his labour, acquired a deep knowledge of mathematics, and
possessed the faculty of communicating his knowledge to others.  He
established a mathematical academy, which had every prospect of success.”

29.—Miss C. Morgan’s Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

—Great excitement was caused in Yarmouth by the discovery that upwards of
twenty recently interred bodies had been removed from the churchyard by
resurrection men.  “The churchyard was quickly crowded by the population.
Wives were searching for the remains of their deceased husbands, husbands
for those of their wives, and parents for their children.”  Three men,
Thomas Smith, _alias_ Vaughan, William Barber, and Robert Barber, were
apprehended, and committed for trial at Yarmouth Quarter Sessions,
whence, on April 1st, 1828, the indictment was removed by writ of
_certiorari_ to the Court of King’s Bench.  The case was tried at Norwich
Assizes, before Lord Chief Baron Alexander, on August 11th, 1828, when
only Vaughan (or Smith) was proceeded against.  Robert Barker turned
King’s evidence, and described the method by which the graves were
robbed, and how the bodies were sent to London by the wain.  A verdict of
guilty was returned, and on November 14th, 1828, the prisoner was brought
up for sentence in the Court of King’s Bench.  He urged that he was
driven by poverty to the commission of the offence, and was sentenced by
Mr. Justice Bayley to six months’ imprisonment in the house of correction
at Norwich.

31.—Miss Clark, a native of the city, commenced an engagement with her
equestrian company at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.



1828.


JANUARY.


4.—A grand concert, given at Wells Theatre, was attended by Earl
Rosebery, Lord and Lady Bury, Lord Dalmeney, Viscountess Andover, Admiral
Digby, Lady H. Primrose, the Hon. Misses Anson, the Hon. B. Primrose, &c.
The programme opened with Haydn’s “Surprise Sinfonia,” and the _artistes_
engaged included M. Venna, Master Sporle, Madame Baur, and Mr. Barron.
“Gentlemen amateurs” sang glees, and at the close of the concert a ball
took place, at which 200 were present.

18.—A resurrection-man was shot in Bacton churchyard by a party of grave
watchers.  He was in the act of disinterring the body of one James
Howlett, who was accidentally killed a few days previously.  The
resurrectionist, although badly wounded, effected his escape in the
darkness.

23.—Norwich Theatre opened for the season with Mr. Smith as manager and
lessee.

24.—Died, Mr. Martin Fountain, who was Sheriff of Norwich in 1812.

26.—Atkins’ Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

31.—Lord William Bentinck addressed a circular letter to his constituents
at Lynn, announcing his resignation as one of the members for the
borough, in consequence of his appointment as Governor-General of India.


FEBRUARY.


4.—Lord George Bentinck was elected without opposition a member for
King’s Lynn.  “No colours were worn, agreeable to the regulations of Lord
John Russell’s most sapient Act, and for which the ribbon-makers must
feel highly indebted to him in depriving them of a source of consumption
for an important branch of British manufacture of no inconsiderable
extent.”

5.—At a meeting of the Norwich Court of Guardians, a report was adopted
in favour of altering the mulcts of the assessable property in each of
the parishes and hamlets of the city.  In the parishes the old valuation
was £61,302; the new, £89,080; increase, £27,778—45 per cent.  In the
hamlets the old valuation was £19,722; the new, £21,487; increase,
£1,765—about 9 per cent.  At the vestry meetings in several parishes the
new assessment was rejected—(1) on the ground of increased local and
public burdens to which the citizens would be exposed by increased rent
on such valuation; and (2) because of the disproportion of the assessment
of the hamlets as compared with the assessment of the city at large.  At
a meeting of the Guardians on April 1st, a resolution was adopted
declaring the mulct to be unequal, and advising that steps be taken to
place it upon a fair and equitable basis.

8.—A “trial of speed” took place between the Westacre and Melton
Constable hounds.  “A noble stag stood before the hounds an hour and ten
minutes, but from the numerous field, amounting at least to 400, the
greater part of whom were shamefully riding the roads and heading the
stag at every point, the sport was not brilliant.  Through the greater
part of the day the Westacre hounds took the lead, carried the best head,
and did all the work; but from the jockeyship of Sir Jacob Astley’s
huntsman in continually lifting his hounds, and numerous horsemen
pressing on them in the lanes and woods, so completely frightened the
Westacre hounds, which are more timid and less accustomed to such crowds
than the Melton, that most of them were thrown out and could not again
recover their ground.”  The match took place in the neighbourhood of East
Dereham.

12.—In the Court of King’s Bench, Sir James Scarlett moved for a rule to
show cause why a _quo warranto_ information should not be filed against
Mr. Angell, of Norwich, for exercising the office of alderman without
being properly elected thereto.  “A very ancient custom,” he said,
“prevailed at Norwich on the election of aldermen, which he was sure
would not, from its antiquity, receive their lordships’ sanction.  It was
called the cooping of voters, and consisted of taking the voters by force
in a body, bribing them, giving them drink, and keeping them locked up
until they consented to vote for the party on whose side they had been
taken.”  It was alleged that several of the supporters of Mr. Angell’s
opponent (Mr. Marshall) were waylaid, carried away by force in a coach,
put on board a boat on the broads, and had persons placed over them as
guards.  If these persons had had their liberty, Mr. Marshall, it was
contended, would have been elected.  Lord Tenterden granted a rule to
show cause.  It was abandoned, however, on April 28th, and “the bells of
St. Peter rang a triumphant peal on the result being known.”

13.—A squadron of the 6th Dragoons arrived at Norwich Barracks, to
replace the depôt of the 12th Lancers.

23.—A man named Bailey did penance in the chancel of Yarmouth parish
church for applying an opprobrious epithet to a Mrs. Jenner.  “It being a
very great novelty, there was a large assemblage of persons to witness
the performance of the ceremony and to hear Bailey repeat his
recantations, which continued for some time, but he did _not_, as
generally supposed, stand in a white sheet.”


MARCH.


5.—The election of a County Coroner took place at Norwich, consequent
upon the resignation of Mr. C. Bringloe.  Mr. E. Press, of Hingham, the
successful candidate, polled 1,073 votes, as against 766 obtained by his
opponent, Mr. Henry Hobart, Norwich.

17.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, aged 68, Sir James
Edward Smith, M.D., F.R.S., President of the Linnæan Society.  He was
born in Norwich December 2nd, 1759, proceeded to Edinburgh University in
1780, and completed his medical studies in London.  In 1792 he had the
honour of instructing her Majesty the Queen and the Royal Princesses in
botany at Windsor.  He married, in 1796, a daughter of Mr. Robert Reeve,
of Lowestoft, and in 1810 received the distinction of knighthood.  He was
the author of “English Botany,” and other works.

18.—Mr. Macready appeared at Norwich Theatre in the part of Virginius.
On subsequent evenings he performed the characters of Macbeth and William
Tell.

22.*—“Died at Canton, in China, by falling overboard, Henry, son of Mr.
Alderman Thurtell, of Norwich, master-at-arms of the Atlas Indiaman.”

—*“Died at Yarmouth, Mr. David Service, aged 52, the well-known author of
the ‘Caledonian Herd-boy’ and many other poetical productions of
considerable merit.”

24.—The ward elections commenced at Norwich on this date.  “Five
shillings a man had been given on each side from the commencement; but
about eleven o’clock a placard was put out from the window of the ‘Blue
and White’ (the Reformers’) room, bearing the words, ‘The Blues pay
gold.’  This alteration in the market was followed, about an hour
afterwards, by a similar declaration from the ‘Orange and Purples.’  From
this moment stock looked up; the price for the freemen altered from five
shillings to half a sovereign, and a whole sovereign, and so on to sums
of which we are not prepared to limit the extent.  A whole club,
consisting of 20 members, calling themselves ‘the Independent Club,’ was
purchased in the lump by one of the ‘Blue and White’ candidates.  The
price first demanded was 5 guineas a man, but others allow they were
knocked down at the price of 50 gs.”


APRIL.


2.—Died, aged 106, Thomas Scrape.  “He was the father of Mrs. Lovell, of
the Lobster Inn, St. John Maddermerket, Norwich, and was born at Stalham
in 1722, in the 9th year of the reign of George I.  He had been often
heard to speak of remembering as a child the illuminations on the
occasion of the accession of George II.  At the age of 105 this
extraordinary old man presided at a large convivial party at his
residence.  His pipe was his constant companion, and he was often to be
seen smoking and enjoying it at his daughter’s house, where his latter
days were rendered comfortable.”

3.—Tombland Fair, Norwich, was ushered in by a severe snowstorm.  “The
Banisters, the Samwells, the Chipperfields, the Adamses, and a host of
other ornaments of the vagrant stage for daylight gauds and the practical
wit of buffoons displayed themselves in imposing array.”  The only
“rational” exhibition at the fair was Atkins’ Menagerie.

5.—A vessel, named the Lord William Bentinck, was launched from the
shipyard of Mr. Frederick Preston, at Yarmouth.  She was nearly 500 tons
burden, and the largest ship, with one exception, ever built at the port.

7.—Ching Lau Lauro, “the celebrated posture master and buffo from Drury
Lane,” appeared at Norwich Theatre.  On the 10th he performed in a
harlequinade, entitled, “The Man in the Moon.”  “No viler tissue of
nonsensical stuff could be foisted on the patience of an insulted
audience.  It had more revolting coarseness, and infinitely less
ingenuity than ever characterised the worst puppet shows’ clumsiest
performers.  ‘Harlequin in the Shades’ descended to the lowest vault of
the Capulets, amidst universal hisses which such execrable trash
deservedly called forth, in spite of Ching Lau Lauro swallowing his own
head.”

19.—The Norfolk County Cricket Club announced the completion of a new
cricket ground at East Dereham, described as one of the best in the
provinces.

25.—A remarkable whirlwind occurred at Gresham.  “It came suddenly as in
a moment from the south-west, accompanied by a roar like thunder, and
taking a north-easterly direction towards Cromer, spent itself at sea.
The extreme force of the whirlwind lasted scarcely three minutes, but in
that time it completely ruined one William Watts, by rending the sails
and stocks from his mill, lifting the whole fabric from off the post, and
crushing the beams and inside works to pieces, together with the roof and
walls of the round-house.”

27.—Died at his house, Vauxhall, Lambeth, Mr. Thomas H. Hull, aged 74, “a
gentleman well-known in Norwich and Norfolk for a great number of years,
and where many of his beautifully-executed pictures remain as specimens
of his superior talent in the miniature department of portrait painting.”


MAY.


1.—Mr. Angell and Mr. Patteson were nominated for the Mayoralty of
Norwich.  Mr. W. Wilde nominated Mr. Alderman Thurtell, the senior
alderman below the chair; and Mr. Alderman Yallop was also proposed.  A
poll was demanded, and the result was declared as follows: Thurtell,
1,144; Yallop, 1,148; Angell, 1,042; Patteson, 979.  Application was made
by Messrs. Angell and Patteson for the reopening of the books on the
following morning, when the voting was: Thurtell, 1,210; Yallop, 1,212;
Angell, 1,097; Patteson, 1,020.  The Court of Aldermen subsequently
elected Mr. Thurtell.

5.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, under the
presidency of the Mayor (Mr. Finch), at which resolutions were passed
affirming that it was objectionable to continue bounties on the export of
sugar and prohibitory duties on the produce of Colonial free labour, by
which slavery was supported at the expense of the British public.  It was
also decided to petition Parliament to repeal such bounties and duties,
and to take measures to ensure the immediate alleviation and the ultimate
extinction of British Colonial slavery.  The petition, which was signed
by 10,125 persons, measured 150 feet in length, and was presented in the
House of Commons by Mr. William Smith.

6.—A new theatre was opened at North Walsham by Mr. Fisher, with the
performance of the comic opera, “Sweethearts and Wives,” and the musical
farce of “The Turnpike Gate.”

8.—Died at Tittleshall, Mr. Thomas Riches, farmer, aged 69.  “In his
early life he for many years, by being pressed from Lynn, served his
country at sea, and was in many distinguished actions.  He was at
Gibraltar, at the Chesapeak with Hood, in the same ship with our present
Lord High Admiral, then a boy; and was in the Formidable (flagship) with
Sir George, afterwards Lord Rodney, in the memorable battle of 1782, when
M. De Grasse was taken.  On his discharge and his return to his native
county, he embraced farming for a livelihood, and always retained many of
the peculiarities and superstitions of a sailor’s life.”

27.—The first seaborne vessel from London to Norwich port direct, the
Thames steam packet, Capt. John Morley, arrived at Carrow Bridge.  She
was of 120 tons burden, 82 feet in length, and handsomely fitted up for
the accommodation of passengers.  The duration of her voyage was 28
hours.

—The Norwich Corporation decided to rebuild Fye Bridge of iron, in
accordance with the plans of Mr. Stone.  The foundation-stone of the new
bridge was laid by the Mayor (Mr. Thurtell) on June 2nd, 1829.


JUNE.


9.—Mr. Kean, jun., made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre in the
character of Romeo.  During his engagement he appeared also as Jaffier
(“Venice Preserved”) and Felix (“Hunter of the Alps”).  “It is difficult,
indeed, to imagine,” says the critic, “what besides an irresistible
_penchant_ for the stage and an hereditary attachment for the most
elevated dramatic work, could have induced this gentleman to choose the
profession of a tragedian.  Of a stature rather below the middle size,
and with a countenance that forms no index of the heroic mind, the
younger Kean seems studious of displaying all those peculiarities of
attitude, action, and intonation which we have been accustomed to regard
rather as defects than as excellencies in his justly celebrated father.
The genius of the elder Kean does not shine forth in his son.”

—A prize-fight took place between Warren and Cocks, light weights, for
£50 a side.  The gathering, which was at Mattishall, was attended by many
of the principal gentry in the county, and by several members of the
London ring, including Phil Sampson (conqueror of Big Brown), Dick
Curtis, Tom Oliver, Frank Redmond, Ned Stockman, and Frosty-Faced Fogo,
“the Poet Laureate of the Ring.”  The combatants met in a meadow
belonging to Mr. Petchell, but a magistrate interfered, and a move was
made to Elsing Common, where the fight was brought off.  Cocks was
attended by Ned Painter and Ben Gale, and Warren by Curtis and Redmond.
Forty-one rounds were fought in 56 minutes.  Cocks, who won, threw his
man 23 times in the first 25 rounds.

17.—Guild Day was celebrated in Norwich.  Mr. Alderman Thurtell, on being
sworn in as Mayor, stated that he stood in rotation for the office in
1818, and to his utter astonishment the late Mr. Back was put in
nomination and elected.  “I thank God,” he added, “I have had nerve
enough to break all connection with a set of men who have acted with so
much duplicity and injustice towards me.”  The Guild feast at St.
Andrew’s Hall was attended by 460 guests.

24.—Died, Captain John Murray Browne, of the 75th Regiment, aged 36, only
son of the Rev. M. Browne, Minor Canon of Norwich Cathedral, and grandson
of Dr. John Murray.  Capt. Browne, who was drowned while fishing on a
Lake near Mullingar, had been in the Army from his youth, and served
throughout the Peninsular War.  He was the author of a work entitled,
“The State of Portugal, by an eyewitness.”

26.—Died at Hingham, suddenly, Charles Alexander, aged 23, “an excellent
cricketer, and the fastest length bowler in the county.”


JULY.


4.—A severe storm occurred in the Dereham, Fakenham, and Cromer
districts.  Unsettled weather prevailed until the 13th, when the lower
parts of Norwich and the meadows and marshes above and below the city
were flooded.  Much meadow hay was swept away, and the grain crops beaten
down.

8.—Twenty-three mackerel luggers contested for a subscription purse of
£100, at Yarmouth.  The race, which took place in the Roads, was won by
the Brothers (Capt. John Ayres), owned by Messrs. R. and B. Fenn.

9.—An inter-county cricket match, Norfolk _v._ Lincolnshire, was
commenced at East Dereham.  Scores: Lincoln, 110; Norfolk, 74-30.  At the
conclusion of the first day’s play, a dinner, presided over by Lord
Suffield, and attended by eighty-six ladies and gentlemen, was given at
the Assembly Rooms; and on the 10th a grand ball took place in the
evening.

12.—The following statement was published of the number of benefits, with
the gross receipts, at Norwich Theatre during the period of 22 years,
ending 1828:—

           Number of benefits.     Gross receipts.
1807                           15                 £1090
1808                           17                  1870
1809                           18                  1540
1810                           20                  1610
1811                           21                  1890
1812                           23                  2140
1813                           23                  1970
1814                           25                  1940
1815                           23                  1890
1816                           19                  1250
1817                           15                  1050
1818                           14                  1360
1819                           14                  1320
1820                           17                  1410
1821                           20                  1670
1822                           21                  1620
1823                           22                  1720
1824                           23                  1690
1825                           22                  1900
1826                           25                  1760
1827                           21                  1450
1828                           23                  1430
                              441                £85070

16.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., gave notice
that at the ensuing October Sessions he would move “that reporters for
the newspapers be admitted into the Grand Jury Chamber when the
magistrates assemble there at Quarter Sessions for the despatch of the
business of the county.”  The motion was discussed on October 17th, when,
after three hours’ debate, the Court divided, with the following result:
For the motion, 46; against, 45.

22.—Died at Stalham, aged 103, Isabella Perowne.

25.—A Jews’ Synagogue was opened in the parish of St. George, Tombland,
Norwich.

26.—The announcement was made that the Norwich Cricket Club had
“engrafted an archery branch” on their own “excellent establishment.”
The members of the Archery Club were permitted the use of the Norwich
Cricket Ground on certain days.


AUGUST.


4.—Died at the Deanery, in his 83rd year, the Very Rev. James Turner,
D.D., F.S.A., Dean of Norwich, Master of Pembroke Hall, Cambridge, and
rector of Sudbourne and Orford, Suffolk.  He was installed Dean of
Norwich on June 24th, 1790.  His remains were interred in the Cathedral
on August 12th.  Dean Turner was succeeded by the Hon. and Rev. George
Pellew, Prebendary of Canterbury and of York, and third son of Lord
Viscount Exmouth.  Dean Pellew was installed on December 13th.

11.—A libel action, Maitland _v._ Kinnebrook, was tried at the Norwich
Assizes, before Lord Chief Baron Alexander.  The plaintiff was an
attorney living at North Walsham, and the defendant one of the
proprietors of the “Norwich Mercury.”  The libel, which the defendant
admitted, was contained in a letter published in the “Mercury.”  The
plaintiff had provoked and carried on a newspaper correspondence, and
because the defendant published the replies of adversaries of the
plaintiff’s own creation, the plaintiff sued him for damages, which the
jury assessed at one farthing.

—Exchange Street, Norwich, was first opened to the public.  There was no
communication, however, with St. Andrew’s Street, and it was not until
April, 1829, that operations were commenced for the removal of the old
buildings at the north end of the new thoroughfare.  That portion of the
street was opened to the public on May 21st, 1832; and public business
was for the first time transacted in the Post Office erected there, on
June 25th, 1832.

—The members of the Norfolk and Suffolk Institution, the new title by
which the Norwich Society of Artists established in 1805 was known,
celebrated the opening of their new gallery in Exchange Street by dining
at the Norfolk Hotel, under the presidency of Mr. J. B. Crome, with Mr.
Stark in the vice-chair.  The first exhibition in the new gallery was
opened on the 13th, and was visited in state by the Mayor, Sheriffs, and
Aldermen.

26.—Mr. George Grout was elected freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.


SEPTEMBER.


1.—Mr. William Martin, a native of Norwich, and the painter of the two
large pictures in St. Andrew’s Hall—“The death of Lady Jane Grey” and
“Queen Eleanor, Consort to Edward I.,” was lodging in indigent
circumstances at the Trowel and Hammer public-house, St. Stephen’s,
whence he issued a circular on this date, asking for subscriptions for
two engravings—“Interior of an English Cottage Home” and “Children going
to bed.”  The Corporation, on February 24th, 1829, voted him a grant of
100 guineas.

12.—Died at his seat at Terrington, near Lynn, in his 91st year, Sir
Andrew Snape Hamond, Bart., a post-captain in the Royal Navy, formerly
Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Nova Scotia, and subsequently
Commodore and Commander-in-Chief in the River Medway.  He was many years
Comptroller of the Navy, twice member of Parliament for Ipswich, and one
of the Brethren of the Trinity House.

29.—The ceremony of swearing in the Sheriffs of Norwich was performed at
the Guildhall, amid a scene of great disorder.  The windows of the lower
court had been screwed down, to prevent persons entering by that way
before the arrival of the magistrates.  The court was crowded, the heat
intolerable, and the Mayor (Mr. Thurtell) ordered the windows to be
broken.  Upon the Sheriffs-elect, Mr. Stevenson and Mr. Grout, presenting
themselves, the latter was objected to, on the ground that he was not a
freeman; and Mr. Stevenson declined to serve unless he received legal
indemnity from his colleague.  The Recorder (Mr. Alderson) disposed of
the legal difficulty in Mr. Stevenson’s case, but the uproar was so great
that an adjournment had to be made to the Aldermen’s Chamber, where the
Town Clerk administered the oath to Mr. Grout, notwithstanding a protest
by Col. Harvey.  At a meeting of the Common Council, on October 2nd, a
notice signed by eight of the “Purple and Orange” Aldermen was read,
intimating that any act done by the Council would not be valid, as one of
the Sheriffs was improperly elected.  They therefore declined to attend
the meeting.  The Mayor complained that he was being set at defiance, and
threatened to appeal to a higher power.  On November 8th a motion was
made in the Court of King’s Bench, to show cause why an information in
the nature of a _quo warranto_ should not be filed against Mr. Grout, to
show by what authority he exercised the office of Sheriff; the Court
granted a rule _nisi_.  On February 24th the Corporation unanimously
conferred on Mr. Grout the freedom of the city.  The case, after being
several times before the Court, was finally disposed of on June 28th,
1830, when Mr. Justice Bailey delivered judgment, and said that the Court
were of opinion that it was essential to the validity of election to the
office of Sheriff that the individual chosen should be a freeman.
Judgment of ouster was therefore entered.  Retaliatory proceedings were
taken in the Court of King’s Bench by the other political party against
Mr. Alderman Patteson for holding the office of Treasurer of the city,
and against Mr. Alderman T. S. Day, for acting as Corn Inspector.  A rule
_nisi_ was obtained against Mr. Patteson on May 30th, 1829, and was made
absolute on July 4th, after that gentleman had resigned the
treasurership.

29.—The 6th Inniskilling Dragoons marched from Norwich for Chesterfield
and Manchester.


OCTOBER.


6.—A troop of the 12th Lancers arrived at Norwich, from Canterbury.

7.—Died, aged 72, at New York, Mr. John B. Murray, eldest son of Dr. John
Murray.

9.—Died, aged 74, at his residence, in Carlow, Major John Beevor,
formerly of the 9th Dragoons, and for 30 years inspecting-officer of
Yeomanry Cavalry in the districts of Waterford and Wexford.  He was
second son of Sir Thomas Beevor, of Hethel.

11.—The Norwich Corn Exchange, “one of the finest edifices of its kind in
Europe,” was opened to the public.  “Mr. Riches, merchant, of Norwich,
bought of Mr. Riches, of Thorpe, the first sample of corn (barley) in the
new building, for which he gave 18s. 6d. per coomb.”  A commemorative
dinner was held in the Exchange on November 28th, at which Mr. T. W.
Coke, M.P., presided, supported by the High Sheriff (Sir W. B. ffolkes),
Lord Lyndock, Lord Neville, Lord Suffield, Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P.,
and other prominent personages.

18.*—“The proprietors of the Norwich Cloth Establishment have taken a
contract for supplying the two battalions of Portuguese troops lately
formed at Plymouth out of the refugees from that distracted country with
jackets and trousers.  These troops are intended to accompany the young
Queen of Portugal, whither she will shortly proceed to claim the Crown.”

25.*—“The portrait of Mr. Alderman Francis, painted by Lane, was hung in
St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, this week.”

—*“Died lately at Wimbotsham, near Downham Market, aged 52, Mr. William
Henry Ware, many years composer of music, and director of the orchestra
at Covent Garden Theatre, and one of the masters of the Royal Academy,
Woolwich.”

29.—Died, at his son’s house, in Southampton Street, Bloomsbury, aged 79,
Mr. Luke Hansard, many years printer of the Journals, private Bills, &c.,
of the House of Commons.  “He was born at Watton, served his
apprenticeship with Mr. White, printer, of Norwich, was afterwards an
assistant of the late Mr. John Crouse, who originally established the
NORFOLK CHRONICLE in the year 1761, and had ever since been a much
attached and valued friend of all his successors.”


NOVEMBER.


3.—The following curious incident was recorded as having taken place at
Tunstead on this date.  A Chelsea pensioner was about to be married to a
widow, and “early in the morning the parties, accompanied by three
witnesses, repaired to the cross-ways in the road a short distance from
the village, where the intended bride crossed the road _in puris
naturalibus_, and was received on the opposite side by the bridegroom,
who entertains the idea that by the due performance of this ceremony he
is discharged from all liability of paying the debts of the former
husband.”

4.—Lord Neville, rector of Berghapton, sent a letter to the NORFOLK
CHRONICLE, denying a statement made by Mr. Cobbett, at a dinner at
Maidstone, that he (Lord Neville) was “rector of a parish in Norfolk and
at the same time enjoyed half-pay as a captain of Dragoons.”  His
lordship wrote: “I admit being rector of a parish in Norfolk, but I
assure you upon my word that a considerable time before I took orders I
resigned my commission, and consequently ceased from that time to enjoy
either half or full pay.”

9.—The King’s letter, “authorising collections to be made for the
building and enlarging of churches and chapels (instead of by briefs, as
formerly),” was read in the churches in the city and county.

15.—A hamper conveyed by Messrs. Marsh and Swan’s London van from King’s
Lynn, was found to contain the dead body of a young woman, supposed to
have been taken from a grave at Lynn.

—*“Mr. Suckling’s beautiful yacht, the Marmion, has lately arrived at
Buckenham Ferry, to be laid up for the winter.  In December last she was
laid down and built upon his estate at Woodton, under his immediate plans
and directions, and in May last dragged from thence upon a sledge to the
water’s edge at Carrow Bridge, to the surprise of the natives, who
assembled in great number.  She dropped down the river and boldly cleared
out to sea, on her passage to London, which voyage, though blowing very
fresh, she performed much to the satisfaction of those on board.  She
afterwards went to Calais, made two journeys to Holland, and sailed many
times up the canals.”

29.—Mr. B. H. Norgate was elected assistant-surgeon of the Norfolk and
Norwich Hospital, in the room of Mr. Henry Carter, previously elected
surgeon, on the resignation of Mr. Martineau.

—Died at his house in St. Giles’ Street, Norwich, aged 72, Mr. John
Hammond Cole, an Alderman of the Great Ward of Mancroft.  He was Sheriff
in 1797; Mayor in 1811; Receiver of Stamp Duties, Treasurer of the Boys’
and Girls’ Hospital, and of the Norwich Dispensary, and Treasurer and
Secretary of the Norfolk and Norwich Savings Bank.


DECEMBER.


1.—Died at New York, aged 64, Mr. James Valentine Murray, third son of
Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

4.—The Norwich Brunswick Constitutional Club, “for preserving the
integrity of the Protestant Constitution, and upholding the principles
which placed the House of Brunswick upon the Throne of these realms,” was
formed at a meeting held at the Norfolk Hotel.

6.—Died, aged 48 years, Capt. Sir William Hoste, Bart, R.N., K.C.B.,
eldest son of the Rev. Dixon Hoste, of Godwick Hall.  “He was among the
many brave youths from this county on board the Admiral’s flagship, the
Vanguard, at the memorable battle of the Nile.”

8.—Master W. R. Grossmith, “the celebrated young Roscius, 9½ years old,”
gave, in the Concert Room, St. George’s, Norwich, his entertainment,
“consisting of rapid transitions of dress and characters.”

19.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 79, Mr. John Watson, Mayor of that borough in
1785.  In 1799 he was elected Town Clerk, and resigned the office in
1822.

20.*—“Died, last week, at Lakenham, aged 45, Mr. Roger Jean, an eminent
miniature painter, leaving a wife and seven children to lament his loss.
Although Mr. Jean possessed very superior abilities as a miniature
painter, owing to his long-continued illness his latter days were
embittered by most distressing privations, and his wife, a well-educated
woman, is left in very destitute circumstances.”

24.—The weather on Christmas Eve was described as “very close and warm.”
The whole month was remarkable for its unusual mildness.

26.—Mons. Batty opened his Circus at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens,
Norwich.

30.—A “grand match of cocks” was fought at the New Inn, Aylsham, between
gentlemen of that town and of North Walsham.  The sport was continued on
the 31st.  North Walsham won 9 battles out of 12.  The winning cocks were
“fed” by Stafford, of Norwich.



1829.


JANUARY.


1.—Died, aged 76, Mr. Philip Meadows Martineau, one of the surgeons of
the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital from its foundation in 1772.
“Pre-eminently successful as an operator, and most intimately acquainted
with the theory of his profession, Mr. Martineau was celebrated in every
part of England and throughout Europe.  He directed his attention to
cases of lithotomy with distinguished success.”  He was buried at Thorpe,
on January 9th.

10.—Cockey Lane, Norwich, was for the first time accorded its new
designation, “London Street.”

14.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, it was ordered that the east end of
Norwich Castle, including the south end buttress, be put into proper
repair, at an expense not exceeding the sum of £600.

17.*—“The sales at Garraway’s and the Auction Mart of landed estates in
Norfolk last year exceed £110,000.  The principal Norfolk estates sold in
London during the last 12 months were as follow:—Wellington Hall, 1,724
acres, with house, gardens, &c., £41,000; Clippesby Hall 1,100 acres,
with house, &c., £48,110; Mr. Watson’s estate at Saxlingham, 137 acres,
with house, &c., £7,000.”

21.—A meeting of the medical practitioners of the city and county was
held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “to petition the Legislature upon the
increasing difficulties of pursuing anatomical studies in the public
schools.”

31.—Mr. Alexander Thurtell, nephew of the Mayor of Norwich, was returned
fourth wrangler at Cambridge.  He was of Caius College, and was educated
by Mr. Bowles (formerly of Norwich Theatre), at the Academy, Yarmouth.

—Norwich Theatre was opened for the season.  Mons. Decour, a “strong
man,” exhibited feats of strength and juggling.

—A disastrous fire occurred on the premises of Messrs. Trivett and
Cozens, ironmongers, Exchange Street, Norwich.  The 12th Lancers rendered
efficient service in saving adjoining property.  The NORFOLK CHRONICLE
Office narrowly escaped destruction.


FEBRUARY.


7.*—“So great is the panic in Lynn in the minds of the credulous with
reference to the resurrectionists, that an individual who was consigned
to the grave had round his coffin 13 iron hoops, and in the lid 50
screws.”

9.—A brig of 100 tons burden was “raised” at Mr. T. Batley’s staith at
Carrow, Norwich.  Upon the stem of the vessel was the inscription: “This
is the first seaborne vessel that was ever built in Norwich.  Began
January, 1829, by Thomas Batley, and the first bolt was driven by C.
Brown, Esq., Alderman of this city.”  The vessel, which was named the
Spring (Capt. Brook), was launched on May 28th.  She had two masts,
brig-rigged fore and schooner-rigged aft, and was intended for the
general trade.

11.—Downham Theatre was opened by Mr. Smedley, in consequence of Mr.
Fisher declining that portion of the circuit.  “The painting of the
ceiling, together with the panelling and ornaments in front of the boxes
and gallery, have a very lively effect, and give it the appearance of a
neat and modern theatre.”

14.—Heigham House, Norwich, was opened under the management of Mr.
Jollye, formerly of Loddon, as a retreat for insane persons.

—An extraordinary marriage took place at Yarmouth.  A boy, 15 years of
age, the son of a respectable tradesman, absconded from his home and
married a Mrs. Bull, a widow, aged 43, the mother of five children.  “The
fact was ascertained by application to the Rev. Thomas Browne, D.D., at
Gorleston.”

15.—Lieut.-Col. Harvey conveyed to London a petition signed by 8,920 of
the inhabitants of Norwich against the claims of the Roman Catholics.  It
was presented in due course in the House of Commons.  On the 17th the
Mayor and Aldermen, and the members of the Common Council of Norwich,
adopted petitions in favour of the Roman Catholic claims.

21.—The “African Roscius” (known also by the name of Keene) appeared at
Norwich Theatre as Othello.  On subsequent evenings he performed the
parts of Mungo (“The Padlock”), Oroonoko, Bajazet (“Tamerlane”), Rolla
(“Pizzaro”), Alambra (“Paul and Virginia”), and Sambo (“Live when you
can”).

28.*—“In the Court of Exchequer, last week, an information was filed
against Robert Hudson, a paper manufacturer, of Norwich, for arrears of
duty on a quantity of paper removed from a mill at Lyng without bearing
the Excise mark.  A verdict was returned for the Crown—damages, £300.
The defendant is now in prison on a former conviction for penalties to
the amount of £1,000.”


MARCH.


5.—The Westacre Staghounds had a remarkable run.  The meet was at Watton,
where the stag was turned off, and led a field of between 60 and 70 to
Ovington, Shipdham, Whinbergh, over Reymerston Common, touching
Southbergh, to Carbrooke, crossing Griston Common, to Thompson Heath.
Here there was a short check, which was hit off in good style, and away
they went for Tottington, on to Wretham, leaving the decoy on the left,
thence to Kilverstone and Brettenham Heaths, to the left of Croxton, and
to the River Ouze, which was crossed between Santon Downham and Thetford.
Only nine horsemen forded the river; they dashed away across the open in
the direction of Barton Mills, where another check occurred.  They then
passed over Wangford Warren to Lakenheath Common, straight for Bramber
Hall, and the stag was killed in the plantations of Mr. Edward Bliss,
after a run of three hours and three-quarters.  (The hounds were
advertised to be sold at the first Newmarket meeting, April 22nd.)

22.—Died at Diss, aged 105 years 6 months, Mrs. Philip Bacon.

23.—A prize-fight took place at Thurton, between Garratt, the Suffolk
champion, and Mendham, the Norfolk Youth, for £10 a side.  They were also
backed for £25.  Mendham was seconded by Ned Painter, and Garratt by
Wigg.  Thirty-five rounds were fought in 1 hour 25 mins.  Garratt was the
winner.  “The crowd to view the fight was very large, and consisted of a
due mixture of the sexes.”


APRIL.


8.—Died at Shotesham, Mr. Robert Fellowes, aged 87.  He was for many
years an active magistrate of the county, and represented Norwich in
Parliament from 1802 to 1806.

13.—Two troops of the 7th Dragoon Guards, under the command of Capt.
Nugent, arrived at Norwich, to replace the 12th Lancers, ordered to York.

18.—The execution took place on Castle Hill, Norwich, of John Wood (41)
and Thomas Butler (29), for sheep stealing, and of Richard Everett (28),
for horse stealing.  “The number of women present amounted to at least
two to one man, and, what was yet more remarkable, crowds of women
brought young children with them.”

20.—Miss Foote, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at the
Theatre Royal, Norwich, where she appeared as Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s
Stratagem”), Variella (“The Weathercock”), Rosalind, Zephyrina (“The Lady
and the Devil”), Violante (“The Wonder”), Arinette (“The Little Jockey”),
Beatrice, and Maria Darlington (“A Roland for an Oliver”).

21.—A vessel of 313 tons was launched from the yard of Messrs. H. Fellows
and Co., Yarmouth.

23.—A new suspension bridge, erected over the Bure at Yarmouth, by Mr.
Robert Cory, jun., was opened with much ceremony.  The contractor was Mr.
Godfrey Goddard.  (_See_ May 2nd, 1845.)


MAY.


1.—Mr. T. O. Springfield was elected Mayor of Norwich.

3.—The freedom of Norwich was conferred upon Mr. Edward Hall Alderson,
barrister-at-law, eldest son of Mr. Robert Alderson, Recorder of the
city.

—The Norwich Corporation voted a grant of £100 to the Norfolk and Suffolk
Artists’ Society, “to assist in enabling them to enlarge their premises
and to purchase casts and models, with the view to the further promotion
of the fine arts in this part of the country.”

—An illuminated clock was ordered to be placed “on the top of the
Guildhall, next the Market Place.”

14.—The body of a woman named Gooderham was found murdered in Broome
Lane, Diss.  After an inquiry lasting six days, during which 41 witnesses
were examined, the Coroner’s jury returned a verdict of “Wilful murder
against some person or persons unknown.”

20.—Died, aged 71, Mr. John Dawson Downes, of Lowestoft (formerly of
Yarmouth), “a gentleman well known to the sporting world, and in this
county as the only constant follower of that noble diversion, hawking.”

23.*—[Advt.]  “Cocking: A double-day’s play of cocking will be fought
between the gentlemen of Swaffham and Wisbech, on Wednesday, May 27th, at
the Coffee Pot Inn, Downham, for £10 a battle and £50 the odd.  Feeders:
Leech for Swaffham; Foster for Wisbech.”

28.—The bounds were beaten at Lynn by the clergyman, churchwardens, and
officers of the parish, accompanied by 236 boys from the Free School.
“The place of rendezvous was St. Margaret’s church, where, on entering,
each boy was supplied with a long white-wand.  At ten o’clock the
procession set out for the shore of the harbour, and at the expiration of
two hours returned again to the same place, having performed the usual
evolutions of ducking, tubbing, and other ceremonies peculiar to such
occasions.  The boundaries of this place appear to terminate in some very
singular points, as the parties had to enter several houses by the door
and make their exit through the window.  At the close of the circuit, the
boys were all seated in the Crown Yard and regaled with a large plum bun
and half a pint of beer each, and the elders dined at the Crown Tavern.”

31.—At Norwich Theatre was performed, for the first time, a tragedy
written by Mr. J. Smith, entitled, “Ralph de Bigod, Earl of Norwich.”


JUNE.


3.—The old City Gaol, situate opposite the Guildhall, with a frontage of
70 feet and a depth of 156 feet, was sold by auction to Messrs. De Caux,
Son, and Pratt, for £1,570; and the old Bridewell, in St. Andrew’s, with
a frontage of 64 feet and a depth of 100 feet, was purchased on the same
date by Mr. J. Curr, for £1,140.

9.—Miss Paton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Rosetta (“Love in a
Village”).  Her other impersonations during her engagement included
Rosina (“The Barber of Seville”), Susanna (“The Marriage of Figaro”),
Mary Copp (“Charles the Second”), Roxalana (“The Sultan”).  Miss Paton
cleared £140 at her benefit performance.

15.—At an assembly of the Norwich Corporation, the retiring Mayor (Mr.
Thurtell), in replying to the customary vote of thanks, complained that
he had been repeatedly insulted during his year of office.  “I have been
attacked by a bulldog,” he said, “and the yap has been continually
barking at my heels, and language has been applied to me that would
disgrace Billingsgate itself.”

16.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. T. O. Springfield was sworn in as Mayor.
Great confusion was caused by an altercation between Mr. Thurtell and Mr.
Crisp Brown.  The Guild feast was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, and a ball
took place at the Assembly Rooms.

18.—The Rev. H. R. Bowles (formerly of Norwich Theatre), master of the
Yarmouth Academy, was entertained at luncheon at the Black Lion Tavern in
that town, and presented by his former pupils with a silver salver
weighing 84 ozs.  In his reply, he said that far different pursuits had
occupied his earlier years, but for twenty years he had never been absent
a day from his school-room for pleasure.

29.—The annual cattle fair held at Shipdham, on St. Peter’s-day, in
accordance with the terms of a charter granted by Henry III., was this
year revived.


JULY.


1.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Mr. Hammond Fisk, aged 70, Sheriff
of Norwich in 1823.

11.*—“Died lately, at Keel Hall, Staffordshire, aged 78, Mr. Walter
Sneyd, formerly M.P. for the borough of Castle Rising, and many years
Colonel of the Stafford Militia.”

—Died at Hanworth, Mr. J. Hicks, formerly of his Majesty’s Navy, and
Provost-Marshal-General of England, aged 69.

13.—A two days’ cricket match commenced on the Norwich ground, between
Norfolk and Suffolk, for £50 aside.  Fuller Pilch played for Suffolk, and
William and Nathaniel Pilch for Norfolk.  Norfolk, 53—82.  Suffolk,
59—59.  The return match commenced at Bury on July 23rd.  Suffolk,
102—16.  Norfolk, 91—26.

15.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, Mr. William Day was elected Treasurer of
the city, on the resignation of Mr. J. Patteson.

—A public dinner was given to Mr. Alderman Thurtell, by his political
friends, “in testimony of their appreciation of his honourable,
impartial, and upright conduct in the discharge of the duties of the
office of Mayor during the past year.”

18.—Madame Vestris appeared at Norwich Theatre for the first time, in the
part of Madame Germance (“Home, sweet Home”), and Justine (“The
Rencontre”).  She afterwards assumed the characters of Elizabeth
(“Sublime and Beautiful”), Victoire (“The Invincibles”), Lady Bell (“Know
your own Mind”), Apollo (burletta of “Midas”), Laura (“Sweethearts and
Wives”), Phœbe (“Paul Pry”), Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”), and
Don Giovanni.

27.—Great discontent was manifested by the Norwich weavers.  At a meeting
held at the Ranelagh Gardens on this date, the operatives petitioned the
Mayor to use his influence to prevent manufacturers giving out work at
reduced prices to persons in the country.  On September 1st the weavers
stopped the carriers’ carts and searched for country-made goods.  Men in
disguise entered houses and took work from the looms, under pretence that
it had been done below the scale prices.  At a meeting at Ranelagh
Gardens on October 5th, the manufacturers and operatives drew up a form
of agreement, in which the prices were scheduled.  At the end of the
month many unemployed weavers paraded the streets, headed by a muffled
drum and a shuttle bound in crope.  The Court of Guardians on December
1st appointed a committee to advise as to the best means of alleviating
the wants of the people.  During the week commencing December 14th there
were numerous meetings of operatives, and an attack was made on Mr.
Athow’s house.  Detachments of the 7th Dragoon Guards patrolled the
streets.  On December 17th a number of Norwich weavers visited Saxlingham
and destroyed a great quantity of silk and materials; and in the
following week several disguised men broke into the house of William
Springhall, Boatswain’s Call Yard, St. Augustine’s, cut work from his
looms, and shot at him with a pistol.  He received severe wounds in the
body, and a reward of £100 was offered by the Corporation for the
apprehension of his assailants.


AUGUST.


6.—A cricket match, between the Marylebone and the Norfolk Clubs,
commenced on the Dereham ground.  “Lord Suffield, president of the county
club, with Lady Suffield, was present, and 20 or 30 gentlemen’s carriages
were on the ground, whilst hundreds of spectators were gathered around.”
Scores: Marylebone, 64-78; Norfolk, 95-48.

10.—Miss Paton re-appeared at Norwich Theatre for one night, as Agnes
(“Der Freischutz”) and Diana Vernon (“Rob Roy”).

11.—Died, Mr. Richard Gurney, of the Bowling Green Inn, Norwich, aged 48.
(The “retired coachman, with one leg,” in “Lavengro.”)

13.—At the Norfolk Assizes, at Norwich, before Mr. Baron Garrow, Ireland
Watts and Robert Watts were charged on an information filed by the
Attorney-General, with obstructing Custom-house officers in the discharge
of their duty.  Capt. De Lafosse, the officer at Mundesley, traced
contraband goods to the house of the defendants at Antingham.  Having
obtained a writ of assistance, he proceeded to the house with Lieut. Lee,
several of the coastguard, and a peace officer.  Admittance was demanded,
and the defendants offered resistance.  The captain then drew his pistol
and threatened to fire, when Robert Watts bared his breast, exclaiming,
“Fire, and be d---d.”  Capt. De Lafosse, fearing he could not enter the
house without bloodshed, withdrew his men.  Mr. Kelly, for the defence,
submitted that the captain’s authority did not permit him to search the
house, but the special jury returned a verdict of guilty.  In the Court
of King’s Bench, in November, Mr. Kelly moved for a rule to show why
there should not be a new trial, on the ground of the invalidity of the
officer’s writ.  Lord Tenterden held that this might be a question of
great importance on public grounds, although in the individual case it
was of little consequence.  Rule granted.  (There is no further record of
this case.)

14.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Mr. Justice Parke, John Stratford (42)
was found guilty of the murder of John Burgess, an inmate of Norwich
Workhouse, by poisoning him with arsenic, on March 2nd.  The execution
took place on the roof of the new Gaol, on August 17th.  After hanging an
hour, the body was removed to the lower court at the Guildhall, where it
was publicly exposed for two hours.  Thence it was conveyed to the
Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, where Mazzotti, the modeller, took a cast
of the head; and on the 18th Mr. Crosse commenced a series of anatomical
lectures at the dissection of the body.  A public subscription was
started for the widow and family of the culprit.

25.—Mr. Charles Middleton and Mr. Samuel Shalders Beare were nominated
for the office of freemen’s Sheriff.  At the poll “the partizans of Mr.
Beare announced upon their cards that they gave one shilling, but as soon
as they found that their opponents were giving 2s. 6d., they outbid the
‘Purples’ by offering 2s. 6d. and a pot of beer.  At three o’clock the
‘Purple and Orange’ party headed their opponents by 64.  The ‘Blues’ went
to work in purse and person, and placed themselves in a majority.  The
‘Purples,’ finding they could not regain the advantage, at 5.30 informed
the Mayor they did not wish to put their opponents to any further
expense.  Beare, 1,200; Middleton, 1,023.”

—A singular wedding took place at Fakenham.  The bridegroom was Thomas
Hudson, aged 79, and the bride Martha Frary, aged 21.  They were followed
to church by an unfortunate cripple, driving his curricle of dogs.
Immediately after the hymeneal knot was tied, the bridegroom was torn
from his fainting partner, thrown into an open cart, decorated with ram’s
horns, and drawn through the principal streets of the town, amidst the
firing of guns and the shouts and ridicule of the people.

29.—The Corporation of Lynn, according to custom, assembled at the
Guildhall on St. John’s-day, and went to St. Margaret’s Church.  “Groups
of persons assembled at an early hour to witness the bearing of the
branch to the house of the Mayor-elect, Mr. William Bagge.”


SEPTEMBER.


2.—The new Roman Catholic church of All Saints, Norwich, was opened by
the Right Rev. Dr. Weld, Bishop of Amyclœ.  “The ringing of the bells of
St. Giles’ church on the occasion has been made the subject of a great
deal more exultation on the one hand, and more lamentation and
indignation on the other, than it really merits.  The truth is that the
bells were set out by the ringers upon speculation, and they were
afterwards handsomely rewarded by the Catholics for their liberalism, the
venality of which is disgusting enough.”

4.—The body of a woman, named Ann Coe, buried two days previously, in
Fincham churchyard, was disinterred and stolen.  “The churchyard is _very
near the turnpike road_.  The coffin, containing the shroud, was found in
the churchyard, superficially covered with mold.”

8.—The Corporation of Yarmouth voted £1,000 towards the building of a
church in that borough.

11.—An auxiliary of the “British Society for Promoting the Principles of
the Reformation” was formed in Norwich.  Under its auspices a great
meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, on October 21st, at which some
disturbance took place.

21.—The Rev. Edward Valpy, D.D., resigned the appointment of headmaster
of the Norwich Free Grammar School, which he had held since 1811.

23.—Mary McMullen, aged 61, walked 76 miles in 24 hours, on a measured
half-mile of the Gaywood Road near Lynn.  She performed the like feat at
the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, on October 12th, and at North Walsham on
March 8th, 1830.  At the Ranelagh Gardens, on April 26th, 1830, she
walked 100 miles in 24 successive hours.


OCTOBER.


8.—At Swaffham Races, Mr. Shearman “made a match to trot his noted bull a
mile in 4½ minutes the day before the fair, and Mr. Gould is in treaty to
purchase him to run over a short stage in the Stamford coach from
Swaffham to Narborough.  Mr. Farrer made a match with Mr. Cooke that he
will produce a pair of working oxen that will beat any pair of horses he
can produce to plough an acre of land, to take place the day before
Swaffham fair.”

11.—Died in Union Place, Norwich, aged 102, Mr. Charles Kingaby.  He left
a widow, aged 98, and a daughter in her 70th year.

14.—The election of an Alderman to fill the vacancy caused by the death
of Mr. Alderman Steward, on October 11th, resulted in the return of Mr.
Marshall, who received 246 votes, against 207 recorded for Mr. Turner.
“Both sides bought votes as fast as possible.  From 30s. to £10 and £15
was given.”

—A severe gale occurred on the Norfolk coast, and several lives were
lost.  At Brancaster the preventive service picked up 291 casks of brandy
and Geneva.

20.—A new vessel, the Indian Maid, was launched from the South Gates
Dockyard, Lynn, and christened by Miss Ayre, daughter of one of the
owners.

22.—The Norfolk and Norwich Horticultural Society was formed at a meeting
held in the old Library Room, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Edward
Lombe, of Great Melton.  Mr. Lombe was elected president, Mr. R. Crawshay
vice-president, Mr. John Kitson treasurer, and Mr. Elias Norgate
secretary.  The first show took place at the Swan Inn, on November 25th.

30.—A fire which occurred at Messrs. Squire, Hills, and Sons’ distillery,
Norwich, did damage to the amount of £2,000.

31.—Mr. Thomas Cubitt, of Honing Hall, was presented by the yeomanry of
the Tunstead and Happing Hundred with a silver vase, in recognition of
his 45 years’ active service as a magistrate.


NOVEMBER.


9.—Died at Aldborough, aged 95, Mrs. E. Dyball, a remarkable woman, “who
practised as midwife at Thurgarton near 50 years, and left 148 children,
grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and great-great-grandchildren,
besides 42 who have died” (_sic_).

17.—A 400-ton vessel, called the Duke of Cumberland, was launched from
the dockyard of Mr. F. Preston, at Yarmouth.

18.—A gang of convicts, when travelling by coach from Lynn to London,
made a desperate effort to escape.  During the greater part of the
journey the keepers stood over them with cocked pistols.  On the coach
arriving in town a London mob endeavoured to rescue the prisoners, “but
the keepers presented so formidable an appearance that they were able to
lodge the convicts in Newgate previous to their removal to the hulks.”

20.—Mr. Silvers, tide surveyor at Yarmouth, after a chase of five miles,
captured on Breydon a 39 ft. smuggling galley, manned by a crew of nine
hands.  The smugglers effected their escape, but left behind them 283
half ankers of proof brandy, and about 6,000 lbs. of tobacco.

23.—The centre and south wing of Cromer Hall, the seat of Mr. Geo.
Windham, was destroyed by fire.  The damage was estimated at £12,000.

24.—During a severe gale off Yarmouth, a vessel foundered, and eight
hands perished.

28.—The Rev. Thomas Kidd, M.A., Trinity College, Cambridge, was elected
by the Court of Aldermen head master of the Free Grammar School, Norwich.


DECEMBER.


13.—Died at East Dereham, aged 85, Mr. James Philo, who had filled the
office of parish clerk for fifty years.  (“The dignified High Church
clerk” in “Lavengro.”)

21.—The _Crim. Con._ action, Muskett _v._ Gurney, tried at the Thetford
Assizes in 1818, was re-opened in the Court of King’s Bench, when further
evidence was adduced on behalf of the plaintiff, to whom the jury awarded
£2,000 damages.  (May 17th, 1830: “Married, at St. Mary’s, Marylebone,
Richard Hanbury Gurney, to Mary, only daughter of Mr. William Jary, of
Burlingham.”)

—A meeting of 200 insurers in the Norwich Equitable Insurance Office was
held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into
consideration the conduct and management of the funds of the society, and
of dissolving the institution, with the view of the just redistribution
of the funds, the formation of a new society under a more protective
management and control.”  Mr. Skipper was elected registrar and secretary
of the new society.

26.—The pantomime, “Punch’s Festival, or Harlequin Christmas-box,” was
produced at Norwich Theatre, under the superintendence of Mr. T. Hill, of
Drury Lane Theatre.  Mr. Thorne painted “a grand moving panorama,
commencing with a view of the intended Port of Norwich (ships lying in
the basin), leading through the valley of Thorpe, embracing Col. Harvey’s
house (Thorpe Hall), Hinsby’s Gardens, and intermediate scenery to Lake
Lothing, and concluded with the grand junction lock at Lowestoft in its
present state.”  The last scene, “Norwich a Port,” concluded with “a
grand display of fireworks by Chevalier Southby, of the Royal Gardens,
Vauxhall, and the London theatres.”

28.—Died at Lynn, Mr. Benjamin Smith, aged 93.  “He was a man of rather
eccentric habits.  His gravestone had been placed in the churchyard of
St. Margaret’s nearly ten years before his death, having only a blank for
his age and day of decease.  In his personal habits he was frugal almost
to parsimony, but his benevolence was only bound by his means.  He
entirely rebuilt St. James’s almshouses for 12 widows, and an abode for
the Reader; and erected and partly endowed another almshouse (called the
Wesleyan almshouse) for six poor women.”



1830.


JANUARY.


1.—Died at Yarmouth, the Rev. H. R. Bowles, one of the ministers of the
Unitarian chapel in that town.  He was master of the Yarmouth Academy,
and formerly an actor on the Norwich stage.

5.—Died at his house in St, Stephen’s, aged 86, Mr. James Keymer, city
surgeon, and for upwards of fifty years surgeon and apothecary to the
Norwich Bethel.  He was known as “the father” of the Norfolk and Norwich
Benevolent Medical Society (established in 1786), and “in his capacity of
accoucheur introduced no less than 8,000 children into the world, and
repeatedly attended three and four generations in succession.”

5.—At the Norwich Consistory Court, the suit, Meachen _v._ Carter, was
tried.  The parties lived at East Dereham, and the dispute arose about
the use of a pew in the church.  The defendant was proceeded against for
“quarrelling, chiding, and brawling in church,” and the court, in giving
judgment, declared him excommunicate, directed him to be imprisoned for
three days, and condemned him in costs.

10.—During a severe storm from the N.N.E., the streets of
Cley-next-the-Sea were inundated in places to the depth of six or eight
feet, and several families were rescued from the upper windows of the
houses.  Many vessels were wrecked along the coast.

11.—The Relief Committee of the Norwich Court of Guardians determined to
erect two looms in the Workhouse for the employment of persons who might
apply for relief on the ground of not being able to obtain work.  From
these looms, at a subsequent date, work was deliberately cut and
destroyed.  On the 12th the riotous conduct of the weavers necessitated
the calling out of the 7th Dragoon Guards; and on the 13th Mr. John
Wright, one of the principal master manufacturers, had vitriol thrown
into his face in St. Faith’s Lane.  Mr. Wright, who was dreadfully
injured, discharged a pistol at his assailant, who escaped.  The
Corporation offered a reward for the apprehension and conviction of the
miscreant.  Richard Nockolds, who was executed for arson on April 9th,
1831, confessed to the perpetration of the outrage.  The distress
continued throughout the winter, and on February 6th a meeting was held
at the Guildhall, at which a relief fund was started, and nearly £3,000
raised.  At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, on March 10th, Lord Suffield,
in his charge to the Grand Jury, suggested means for the alleviation of
public distress.  Mr. Cobbett came down to Norwich and lectured at
Ranelagh Gardens on March 12th and 13th, on “The State of the Country.”
Half-a-crown admission was charged, and “he pocketed about £50, which,
all things considered, was about as much as he could well expect.”  A
common hall was held on March 17th, “to consider the unprecedently
distressed situation of the country,” and Parliament was petitioned on
the subject.  Mr. W. J. Utten Browne, in the course of the proceedings,
described Mr. Cobbett as “one whose name it was pollution to pronounce,
and who had crawled up from the very dregs of the people to a slimy
popularity.”  In the report of this meeting the term “Liberal,” as used
in a political sense, appeared for the first time.  On May 15th the
welcome announcement was made that some of the principal houses in
Norwich had brought gros de Naples and other silks to such a state of
perfection that they had a decided preference in the market, and that so
numerous were the orders that scarcely a loom in this important branch of
the weaving trade was unemployed.

16.—A great meeting of freeholders of the county was held at the
Shirehall, Norwich, presided over by the High Sheriff (Mr. Andrew
Fountaine), at which a petition was adopted for presentation to
Parliament, praying for the repeal of the malt duties.  (Meetings for the
same end were held in all parts of the county.)

19.—A prize-fight took place at Thurton, between T. Riches, 11 st., and
John Clarke, 15 st., for a purse of £10.  The former was seconded by Ned
Painter and Loveday, and the latter by Gale and Mike Fenn.  Seventy-two
rounds were fought in 1 hour 26 minutes.  Riches won.  “Hundreds of
persons from Norwich padded it through the snow to witness this
exhibition of science.”

19.—Mr. Marsham Elwin resigned the chairmanship of the Norfolk Quarter
Sessions, and was thanked by the magistrates for the important services
he had long rendered to the county.  At the April Sessions Mr. John
Weyland was elected in his place.

22.—A great fall of snow occurred in the Lynn district.  The London coach
ran into a drift at Tottenhill.  The snow was almost up to the
lamp-irons, and the vehicle was hauled out by teams of agricultural
horses.

25.—Miss S. Booth appeared at Norwich Theatre as Widow Cheerley (“The
Soldier’s Daughter”).  Her other impersonations included Little Pickle
(“The Spoilt Child”), Sally Scraggs (“The Englishman in India”); Mary
(“The Innkeeper’s Daughter”), Aurelia Fairlove (“The Young Widow”); Lady
Elizabeth (“The Day after the Wedding”), Priscilla Tomboy (“The Romp”),
and Carline (“The Noyades, or the Maid of Venice”).


FEBRUARY.


8.—The roads in various parts of the county were rendered impassable by
deep snow.  The Fakenham coach was three days on its journey from London.

16.—Died, Dr. Robert Gooch, of Berners Street, London, librarian to the
King.  Dr. Gooch, who was in his 45th year, was born at Yarmouth, and
married the eldest daughter of Mr. N. Bolingbroke, of Norwich.

26.—At three o’clock in the morning, John Brooks and William Brooks,
awaiting trial in Norwich Castle for a highway robbery at Middleton,
attempted to escape.  They were confined in Bigod’s Tower, from the
summit of which William Brooks endeavoured to lower himself by means of
his blanket and rug.  The improvised rope gave way, and Brooks fell a
distance of 70 feet.  His thigh, pelvis, left arm, and the whole of the
ribs on his left side were broken, and a large tumour subsequently formed
at the back of his head.  Notwithstanding his terrible injuries, Brooks
recovered, and at the Summer Assizes at Norwich was borne into court on
the back of a warder to take his trial.  It was stated that he was
permanently crippled and quite disabled, but Mr. Justice Parke sentenced
him to transportation for life.

27.*—“Private Flood, 7th Dragoon Guard’s, who was tried by court-martial
for sleeping at his post at Norwich, was sentenced to receive 300 lashes,
but his Majesty was graciously pleased, in consideration of the long
imprisonment he had undergone, to remit the infliction of the
punishment.”


MARCH.


20.*—[Advt.]  “Dr. Johnson’s Hotel and Tavern, Bolt Court, Fleet Street.
Anthony Beck, late of West Lexham, has taken the above house, and begs
leave to inform his Norfolk friends and the public in general that he has
used every exertion to render it worthy their support and patronage, and
to assure them that he has paid due attention to that grand desideratum
of Norfolk gentlemen, wines and spirits of the best quality, and good and
well-aired beds.  N.B.—Within 10 minutes’ walk of Smithfield Market and
the Theatres.”

20.*—“We are informed that it is in contemplation to establish a pack of
foxhounds in the western part of Norfolk, and that the kennel is to be at
Litcham.  In consequence thereof, the largest of the Kempstone hounds
will be disposed of, but the Kempstone pack will not be given up.  They
will return to their original standard of small beagles, which are better
adapted for elderly sportsmen, and will not hunt the same day as the
foxhounds do.”

22.—A public meeting was held at Yarmouth, to protest against the
determination of his Majesty’s Commissioners for Building Churches to
erect a church there in opposition to the desire of the inhabitants.  The
imposition already in force of 2s. in the pound on houses and grounds,
and a duty of 2s. a chaldron on coals consumed in the town, for the
support of the church and chapel, was considered oppressive.

29.—The Common Council elections, which commenced at Norwich on this
date, gave the ‘Orange and Purple’ party the ascendancy.  “The trade in
votes was unblushingly pursued on both sides, and the prices that were
given towards the close of each day’s polling were of a heavy amount.”

30.—A steeplechase took place for a silver cup valued at 30 gs., from
Fritton Church to Gorleston Church, a distance of four miles.  Horses
were run by Mr. Hector Munro, Mr. J. Fowler, Mr. S. Palmer, and Mr.
Moore.  The race was won by Mr. Munro’s entry.  In the evening “the
gentlemen of Mr. Munro’s hunt dined at the Bear Inn, and the company were
much gratified with an excellent local and appropriate song, the
production of Mr. Burton, of the Norwich Theatre Royal, and repeated by
that gentleman in the course of the evening with increased effect.”


APRIL.


3.—At a meeting held at the King’s Arms Inn, East Dereham, it was decided
to establish a pack of foxhounds in that part of the county, and to
solicit landowners to preserve foxes.

—*“Last month a number of persons left North and South Lopham in waggons,
on their way to embark at Liverpool for the United States of America.
Between 100 and 200 persons are emigrating from these parishes, a
considerable sum of money having been borrowed on security of the rates
to defray the expenses of their passage (about £6 10s. per head), and to
furnish each family with the clear sum of £5 on their landing at New
York.”—[Advt.]  “Emigrants to North America.  The Preston, A.I., Thomas
Woodthorp master, burden 300 tons, being well fitted with berths between
decks, and having excellent accommodation for cabin and steerage
passengers, will sail from Yarmouth, on the 15th inst., for Quebec.  For
passage or freight apply at the Counting-house of Isaac Preston, Esq.”

5.—At the Sheriffs’ Guildhall Court, Norwich, the only jury available
were so long engaged in considering a verdict that nine solicitors in
court volunteered to form a jury to try the next cause.  Those sworn were
Messrs. J. B. Daveney, H. Miller, G. Dye, R. Fickling, C. S. Gilman,
Colman, Lawter, and Marston.  Three laymen made up the requisite number.
“The swearing of the jury of legal gentlemen caused much laughter, and
what appeared most singular, after hearing evidence on both sides, they
could not agree to a verdict, but recommended the withdrawal of a juror,
which was done accordingly.  Such a jury was never heard of before in
Norwich.”

10.—John Simmons, aged 31, and William Lovet, 20, convicted at Thetford
Assizes of burglaries at Thorpe, were executed on the Castle Hill,
Norwich.  Calcraft was the executioner.  “After the execution the bodies
were laid out in the mill-yard, and the different classes of prisoners
were marched past.”

—*“A few weeks since a pike was caught in the North River, near St.
Benet’s Abbey, which weighed 35 lbs., the extreme length of which was 49
inches.  It measured 25 inches in girth.  This astonishing fish, the
largest ever caught in this county, was presented to his Majesty by Mr.
H. N. Burroughes, of Burlingham.”

12.—Mr. Power, of Covent Garden Theatre, commenced a short engagement at
Norwich Theatre, in the part of Dennis Brulgruddery.  His other
impersonations were Teddy the Tiler, Larry (“More Blunders than One”),
Dr. O’Toole, Alessandro Massaroni (“The Brigand”), and Teague (“Honest
Thieves”).

13.—At a meeting of the Norwich Paving Act Commissioners, a report was
received from the Lighting and Watching Committee on the proposals of the
agents of the Norwich Gas-Light Company for extending their works through
the principal streets of the city.  There were then four miles of main
and service pipes supplied with oil gas; it was proposed to extend the
pipes to twelve miles, and to supply “purified coal gas.”  It was
explained that the adoption of the proposal would result in the abolition
of 900 old oil lamps and the substitution of gas lamps, at an increased
annual charge of £500.  At an adjourned meeting on April 30th, the scheme
was adopted, and tenders were invited for carrying it into effect.  In
May the Norwich Gas Company purchased five acres of land near Bishop
Bridge, on which to erect works for supplying the whole city with coal
gas.

19.—Three troops of the 1st Royal Dragoons, under the command of Major
Martin, arrived in Norwich, to replace the 7th Dragoon Guards.  The
headquarters of the regiment marched in on May 15th, from Manchester.

21.—Mrs. W. West, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre, as Portia.
Her other parts included Edmond (“The Blind Boy”), Juliana (“The
Honeymoon”), Mrs. Beverley, Ellen Enfield (“Falls of Clyde”), and
Therese.

23.—The Norfolk Quarter Sessions petitioned the Lord Chancellor to order
the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  On May 3rd the
Corporation of Norwich adopted a similar petition.

—The birthday of King George IV. was celebrated for the last time.


MAY.


1.—Mr. John Angell was elected Mayor of Norwich.

3.—The Corporation of Norwich petitioned the House of Commons to
introduce legislation for remitting the punishment of death “in all cases
except murder, arson, burglary, highway robbery, and offences attended
with violence.”

13.—The foundation-stone of the new Market House at Lynn was laid by the
Mayor (Mr. William Bagge).

15.—William King was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for
stealing a pewter pot.

—Died at his house, in Chapel Field, Norwich, aged 48, Mr. Joseph Gibson,
jun., who served the office of Sheriff in 1821.

17.—A portion of the roof over the pit of the old Theatre Royal, Norwich,
fell in with a tremendous crash.  The workmen who had been employed there
during the day had just left the building.

22.—The Rev. William Yonge, Vicar of Swaffham and Chancellor of the
Diocese of Norwich, was presented by his parishioners with a piece of
plate, of the value of £100, in recognition of his services as their
resident minister during the period of 50 years.


JUNE.


2.—Mr. Burton, comedian at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, on the occasion of
his benefit, “delivered Liston’s celebrated address, riding on the back
of a real donkey.”

—Died, Mr. Jeremiah Lorkin, aged 77, “well known some years since to the
then antiquaries of Norwich, an excellent classical scholar, and
conversant with the science of numismatics.”

12.—A writ of mandamus was issued by the Court of King’s Bench, directing
the Mayor and Corporation of Norwich, in compliance with the Act of
Parliament, to elect twenty persons to be Guardians of the Poor.  The
Mayor (Mr. T. O. Springfield) had absented himself from the quarterly
assembly of the Corporation on May 3rd.  The transaction of public
business was, in consequence, prevented, and at a special assembly a
strong vote of censure was passed upon his worship for his conduct.

—A grey eagle was shot in Holkham Park.  It weighed 9¾ lbs., measured 2½
inches round the smallest part of the leg, 3 ft from the point of the
beak to the tip of the tail, and 7 ft. 2 in. from the tip of one wing to
the tip of the other.

22.—Guild Day was observed in Norwich.  It was stated that at the
Cathedral the civic procession “passed along the rush-strewed pavement
into the choir.”  In consequence of the serious illness of the King, it
was doubtful whether the Guild feast would be held.  Mr. Angell, the
Mayor-elect, issued 600 invitations, and until the guests actually
assembled there was every probability of the abandonment of the feast.

27.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of George IV.  The
news came six hours in advance of the mails, by an express despatched
from the “Sun” newspaper office in London to the proprietors of the
NORFOLK CHRONICLE.  The great bell of St. Peter Mancroft Church was
tolled.  On the 29th the High Sheriff (the Hon. George Milles) proceeded
on horseback from the Norfolk Hotel, accompanied by a marshal and
javelin-men, and other officials, to the Shirehall, where the accession
of King William IV. to the Crown of these realms was proclaimed, and
three cheers given.  The King was proclaimed by the city authorities on
the 30th, from the leads of the Guildhall.  The procession round the city
was headed by the band and kettledrums of the 1st Royal Dragoons, and
five troops of the regiment, under the command of Lieut.-Colonel
Somerset.  “The Colonel politely declined the Mayor’s invitation to
himself and his officers to take refreshments at the Guildhall after the
ceremony, and the offer on the part of the Corporation to present the
non-commissioned officers and men of the Royals with 10 guineas with
which to drink his Majesty’s health was also declined, on the ground that
the troops, in attending the civil authorities, had only performed a
duty.”  There were similar observances at Yarmouth and Lynn.


JULY.


5.—Mr. William Smith, M.P. for Norwich, in an address on this date,
intimated to the electors that, in consequence of advancing years, he
would not offer himself for re-election.  He had represented the city
twenty-eight years.

—A grand main of cocks (three double-days’ play) commenced at the Maid’s
Head Inn, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norfolk (Stafford, feeder)
and the gentlemen of Suffolk (Nash, feeder), for £10 a battle and £100
the odd.  Norfolk won by two battles a head on the main.

6.—A cricket match was played at Lord’s, between the Marylebone and the
Norfolk clubs.  The latter won by 24 runs.  Marylebone, 43-78; Norfolk,
87-58.  The return match was played on the Dereham ground, on August 19th
and 20th, when Norfolk won by eight wickets.  Marylebone, 62-44; Norfolk,
85-22.

15.—The funeral of the late King took place on this date.  The day was
observed in Norwich “with the complete features of the Sabbath.”  The
Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, services were held in
other places of worship, and the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft tolled
from eight o’clock till midnight.

24.—At the General Election which took place consequent upon the death of
the King, Mr. Richard Hanbury Gurney, acceding to the urgent appeals of
the “Blue and White” party in Norwich, consented to contest the city, in
conjunction with Mr. Robert Grant.  On this date he and his colleague
made their public entry.  Col. Peel, who sought re-election, and
Vice-Admiral Sir Charles Ogle, Bart., the other “Orange and Purple”
candidate, arrived on the 26th.  The nomination took place on the 29th,
and the polling commenced immediately afterwards.  Throughout the
election great excitement prevailed, and there was much rioting.  The
poll was declared on the 30th, as follows: Gurney, 2,363; Grant, 2,279;
Peel, 1,912; Ogle, 1,762.

30.—The election at Yarmouth commenced, and, after a sharp contest, the
poll was declared, on the 31st, as follows: The Hon. George Anson, 944;
Rumbold, 944; Preston, 751; Campbell, 754.

31.—Lynn election took place, and resulted in the return of Lord George
Bentinck and Col. Walpole, with 78 and 73 votes respectively.  The
unsuccessful candidate, Sir W. B. ffolkes, polled 8 votes.


AUGUST.


3.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, the outgoing members, offered
themselves for re-election by the county.  Mr. Coke issued an address on
this date, asking the electors to support Sir William ffolkes, who stood
as a third candidate.  Mr. Wodehouse withdrew his candidature rather than
involve himself and his supporters in a protracted contest, and the two
first-named gentlemen were returned unopposed on the 6th.

7.—An inquest upon the body of a man accidentally killed was held _in the
porch_ of Earlham church by Mr. William Bell, Coroner.

9.—Mr. Samuel Bignold was elected one of the Sheriffs of Norwich.

—At an inquest held at Norwich on the body of John Morse, aged 38, who,
during the city election was violently struck by a stone, and received
such injuries that he died on August 6th, a verdict of wilful murder
against some person or persons unknown, was returned, and the Court of
Mayoralty offered a reward of £50 for a conviction.

—Mr. Kean appeared at Norwich Theatre in the character of Richard III.,
previous to leaving England for America, and to his final retirement from
the stage.  His other impersonations included Shylock, Othello, Sir
Edward Mortimer, Sir Giles Overreach, and King Lear.

20.—Died at sea, on board the Lyra Government packet, in his 63rd year,
Mr. Crisp Brown, Alderman of Norwich, who served as Sheriff in 1814, and
Mayor in 1817.  He had taken a voyage across the Atlantic for the benefit
of his health, “but unhappily sank under the weight of affliction which
oppressed his mind.”

21.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich.

25.—Died at his house on Tombland, Norwich, Mr. Henry Carter, aged 40,
one of the surgeons of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

31.—The election of freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich resulted in the return
of Mr. Isaac Wiseman, with 1,124 votes, against 794 polled by Mr. Charles
Middleton.


SEPTEMBER.


13.—The foundation-stone of a new episcopal chapel at Yarmouth, erected
by voluntary subscriptions, from designs by Mr. Scoles, was laid by Mr.
Barth, acting for the Bishop of Norwich.

21.—The Norwich Musical Festival opened with a grand concert, given at
St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the morning of the 22nd, sacred selections were
given, and in the evening Mr. Mori conducted a concert.  The “Messiah”
was performed on the morning of the 23rd, and a concert took place in the
evening.  On Friday, 24th, selections of sacred music were given in the
morning, and a fancy dress ball was held in the evening.  The principal
performers at the Festival were Madame Malibran, Madame Stockhausen,
Master Phillips, Mrs. William Knyvett, Mr. Braham, Mr. Vaughn, Mr.
Terrail, Mr. E. Taylor, and Signor De Begnes.  Sir George Smart was
conductor.

24.—A dinner was held at the Corn Exchange, Norwich, to celebrate the
return of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and Sir William, ffolkes, M.P.

25.—Mr. Braham appeared at Norwich Theatre as Henry Bartram (“Guy
Mannering”).


OCTOBER.


2.—Malibran appeared at Norwich Theatre, in the character of Susanna
(“The Marriage of Figaro”).

4.—A twin packet was launched from the shipyard of Mr. John Lubbock, at
Wells-next-the-Sea.  “She may justly be called a twin steamer, having two
stems and two stern posts, with a tunnel passing through the middle
ingeniously constructed so as to make her very stiff and of an easy
draught of water.  The vessel was built for the Aire and Calder
Navigation Company.”

9.—A specimen of the _Ossifragus_, or small eagle, was shot at Barton
Turf.

11.—The new Beer Bill came into operation.  At Lynn “the day was kept as
a jubilee by all the devotees of Sir John Barleycorn.  Nearly 50 new
houses were opened for the sale of beer, and drunkenness, rioting, and
fighting were prevalent in many of the streets.”

23.—Mr. J. G. Johnson was elected assistant-surgeon at the Norfolk and
Norwich Hospital, in place of Mr. B. H. Norgate, appointed one of the
surgeons.

—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, at which it was
decided to petition Parliament for the repeal of the duty on malt.  Great
disorder was occasioned by an operative in the gallery exhibiting a
placard bearing the words, “Englishmen, remember the expensive and bloody
reign of George III.”


NOVEMBER.


2.—A common hall was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of
petitioning the Legislature for the repeal of the duty on coals.  The
requisition had been signed wholly by persons of the “Purple and Orange”
party, much opposition resulted, and the meeting dissolved in confusion.

10.—Mr. Edward Hall Alderson, son of the Recorder of Norwich, and Mr.
John Patteson, son of the Rev. Henry Patteson, of Drinkstone, Suffolk,
and nephew of Mr. Alderman Patteson, of Norwich, were appointed Judges of
the High Court.

—On this date began the machine-breaking riots and stack firing, which
gradually extended over the greater part of the county.  The first fire
occurred on the farm of Mr. J. Hill, of Briston, and a reward of £1,000
was offered by Sir Jacob Astley for the discovery of the offenders.  On
the 16th a mob destroyed the agricultural machinery belonging to Mr. John
Girling, of Paston.  The outrages became so numerous that the principal
agriculturists got rid of their threshing-machines, and Col. Wodehouse,
the Lieutenant of the County, issued a circular to the magistrates,
requesting them to swear in special constables in every parish.  At
Melton Constable, on the 22nd, it was feared that an attack would be made
upon the Hall, but the gentlemen in the neighbourhood went to the
assistance of Sir Jacob Astley, and, meeting the rioters at
Hindolvestone, seized the ringleaders and conveyed them to Walsingham
Bridewell.  Another mob assembled on the 23rd, and further arrests were
made.  The High Sheriff (the Hon. G. J. Milles), anticipating a further
attack, despatched a messenger to Elmham Park, requesting the assistance
of the gentlemen of the Norfolk Hunt, who had a meet there that day.  The
summons was immediately obeyed, and the horsemen, on arriving at Melton
Constable, dispersed the rioters and made several arrests.  The same day
detachments of the 1st Royal Dragoons were sent from Norwich to do duty
in the disturbed districts.  At Norwich, on the 29th, the mob destroyed
the sawmills of Mr. Calver, at New Catton, and the looms at Messrs.
Willett’s factory in St. Martin’s, and broke the windows of the silk
factory.  The Sheriffs and the magistrates were in daily and nightly
attendance at the Guildhall, and the Chelsea pensioners in the city, to
the number of 200, were called out to assist in preserving the peace.  On
December 4th the county of Norfolk was included in his Majesty’s
proclamation, offering a reward of £50 in respect of every person
convicted of any outrage upon property.  At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions,
held on December 18th, two Committees were appointed, one for East and
the other for West Norfolk, “to arrange and put the constabulary force on
the most efficient footing to preserve the peace and protect the persons
and property of the inhabitants of the county.”  The thanks of the Court
were given to the 1st Royals for their services, and to the Mayor and
magistrates of Norwich for their cordial co-operation with the county
authorities in the suppression of the disturbances.

20.—A whale, which had stranded upon a sandbank four miles below the
harbour, was landed on the common staith at King’s Lynn.  “It was placed
on two trucks, dragged by six horses, and measured 21 ft. 3 in. in
length, and 13 ft. 6 in. in circumference.”

25.—Mr. Robert Grant, one of the members for Norwich, having accepted the
office of Judge Advocate under the new Administration, a fresh election
was rendered necessary, and the writ was received on this date.  The
right hon. gentleman was returned unopposed on November 30th.  He was
afterwards appointed a Government Commissioner for the affairs of India.


DECEMBER.


6.—Died at his house, St. Giles’ Terrace, Norwich, Joseph Stannard,
artist.

11*.—“On Sunday, November 7th, were deposited in Lakenham churchyard the
remains of Elizabeth Watts, aged 24 years; and on the 28th of the same
month a brother of the deceased died.  He expressed the wish to be buried
in the same grave with his sister.  It was found that the grave had been
opened and the body of the sister taken away.  The shroud remained.”

11.—Died, in consequence of a fall from his horse, the Very Rev. Edward
Mellish, M.A., formerly of Trinity College, Cambridge, rector of East
Tuddenham, vicar of Honingham, and Dean of Hereford.

16.—Died at Costessey, Captain William Bolton, R.N., eldest son of the
Rev. William Bolton, “and one of the few surviving Norfolk heroes who
accompanied Nelson in his deeds of fame.”

18.—It was announced that Mr. Robert Alderson had resigned the
Recordership of Norwich.  Mr. Isaac Preston, Steward of the city, was, on
the 23rd, appointed to fill the vacancy.  Mr. Fitzroy Kelly was appointed
Steward on February 3rd, and presented with the freedom of the city on
April 29th, 1831.

—Official notification was given of the completion of the Gas Works at
Bishop Bridge, Norwich, and of the extended service of gas in the city.

24.—A frost commenced on Christmas-eve, and became so intense that in the
course of forty-eight hours the mill-streams and rivers were frozen over,
and navigation between Norwich and Yarmouth was obstructed by ice.  On
the night of the 26th the thermometer fell to zero, “a degree of cold
never before observed in this country.”  On the 27th there was a sudden
change, and on the 31st the thermometer stood at 48 degrees.

25.—Died at Lakenham Grove, aged 74, Mr. Joseph Gurney, banker, of
Norwich.  At the funeral in the Gildencroft burial-ground, “Mr. J. J.
Gurney and Mrs. Fry offered up impressive prayers.”



1831.


JANUARY.


1.—The non-commissioned officers and privates of the 1st Royal Dragoons
were entertained by public subscription at dinner at the Assembly Rooms,
East Dereham, in recognition of their services during the recent
disturbances.

5.—Died at Hilborough Hall, aged 54, Mr. Ralph Caldwell.  “He was among
the first promoters of the Norfolk Foxhunting Society.”

—The calendar of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions contained the names of 205
prisoners, of whom 108 were indicted for taking part in the
machine-breaking riots during November and December, 1830.  The trials,
which took place before Mr. Serjeant Frere, Lord Suffield, and other
magistrates, concluded on the 12th.  Sixty-seven of the rioters were
found guilty of machine-breaking, and 41 were acquitted or otherwise
discharged.  One was sentenced to 14 years’ transportation; 8 to seven
years; 1 to two years’ imprisonment; 1 to fifteen months; 4 to one year;
5 to nine months; 10 to six months; 6 to four months; 14 to three months;
8 to two months; 4 to one month, and 1 to fourteen days.  Fifty were
charged with rioting and other outrages.  Of these, 18 were discharged on
their own recognisances; 9 were acquitted, and 23 convicted.  One was
sentenced to imprisonment for two and a half years; 2 for two years; 3
for eighteen months; 4 for one year; 2 for six months; 3 for four months;
4 for three months; 2 for one month; 1 for three weeks; and 1 for one
week.  There were reserved for a higher tribunal three capital offences
of machine-breaking, and five or six cases of arson.

17.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions, an indictment was preferred against
one William Lamb, for receiving a bribe at the election of Mr. Alderman
Steward.  The Grand Jury made a presentment that the bill of indictment
should have included Mr. Charles Turner and Mr. Samuel Woodcock Mealing,
as there was conclusive evidence that they had bribed the defendant.  The
Recorder (Mr. Preston) adjourned the case until January 31st.  A further
adjournment was made till February 1st, when the Recorder, after a long
legal argument with counsel, decided that the case could not proceed.  A
rule absolute was obtained in the Court of King’s Bench against Mr.
Mealing, and the case came on for trial before Lord Lyndhurst at the
Norwich Assizes on July 29th, when the jury found the defendant guilty,
and recommended him to mercy.  In the Court of King’s Bench, on November
8th, an unsuccessful motion was made for arrest of judgment.  Finally the
defendant appeared before that Court on November 23rd, and was sentenced
by Mr. Justice Parke to pay a fine of £100.

19.—The honorary freedom of the city was conferred upon the Right Hon.
Lord Viscount Sidmouth, on the occasion of a visit to his son-in-law, the
Hon. and Very Rev. the Dean of Norwich.

—The agitation for Parliamentary Reform began at Norwich, this year, with
a meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall, when resolutions were passed in
favour of the measure.  On March 19th the Right Hon. Robert Grant, member
for Norwich, presented in the House of Commons a petition signed by 7,000
citizens in support of the Bill, and Sir William ffolkes presented
similar petitions from the inhabitants of the several Hundreds in the
county.  A great meeting took place at St Andrew’s Hall on September
29th, at which it was decided to petition the House of Lords on behalf of
the Bill, on the ground “that the tranquillity and happiness of this
kingdom depend on the complete passing of this great national measure.”
The Bill having been thrown out by the Peers, a requisition was presented
to the Mayor of Norwich for a Common Hall, which was held at St. Andrew’s
Hall on October 18th.  A procession, headed by bands of music, started
from the Castle Ditches at ten o’clock, and, after parading the streets
of the city, arrived at the Hall at noon.  About 5,000 persons were
present, and the Mayor presided.  Mr. Thomas Bignold, jun., one of the
principal speakers, moved a series of resolutions expressive of the
“ardent hope that such constitutional measures as may be completely
effectual for the attainment of this most important object will be
forthwith adopted by his Majesty, under the advice and with the
assistance of his Ministers.”  An address founded on the resolutions was
ordered to be presented to the King.  A county meeting took place at the
Shirehall on November 19th, under the presidency of Mr. Anthony Hamond,
“for the purpose of expressing confidence in his Majesty’s Ministers, and
of adopting such proceedings as may be deemed expedient to forward the
great measure of Reform.”  On the 26th was issued for signature “the
Norfolk Declaration” which expressed “alarm at the extensive innovations
proposed by the late Reform Bill,” and gratitude to the House of Lords
for “generously exercising the prerogative power vested in them for the
good of the people, and for refusing to concur in so dangerous an
experiment.”  The year’s agitation closed with the issue, on December
3rd, of another Declaration, “founded on a constitutional basis and
manifesting a conciliatory spirit.”  This movement was known as “the
Conservative Reform.”  (The word “Conservative,” in the political sense,
was, on this occasion, used locally for the first time.)

21.—At the county magistrates’ meeting, Mr. John Stracey reintroduced the
subject of the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich, and
announced that Lord Chancellor Brougham had addressed to the Lieutenant
of the County a letter, in which he promised to advise the Secretary of
State to cause the Assizes to be held in future at Norwich.  On February
1st the Corporation of Norwich petitioned the Lord Chancellor in favour
of the removal.  On March 9th the Home Office intimated that the Judges
of Assize for the Norfolk Circuit proposed to hold an adjourned Assizes
for the trial of eight prisoners at Norwich on March 24th.  The Assizes
were held accordingly on that date by adjournment from Thetford.

26.—Died at his house in Portland Place, London, aged 86, Mr. Richard
Paul Jodrell, F.R.S., F.A.S., D.C.L., formerly member of Parliament for
the borough of Seaford.  “It may be regarded as an almost unprecedented
instance, that Mr. Jodrell had lived to be in possession of his paternal
estates 80 years, his father having died at an early age in 1751.”  He
was distinguished as a scholar, and as author of “The Illustrations of
Euripides” and other literary works.  Mr. Jodrell was the last surviving
member of Dr. Johnson’s Club.


FEBRUARY.


12.—Died at St. George Colegate, Norwich, James Horth, aged 42.  “He was
a journeyman dyer, but devoted his leisure hours to the highest branches
of mathematical science; his knowledge of astronomy was profound; he was
deeply read in the modern analysis of the French, and possessed the
esteem of some of the most celebrated mathematicians of this country.”

13.—Died at Bath, Sir Edward Berry, Bart., K.C.B., Rear-Admiral of the
Red.  He was born in 1768, and was fourth son of a London merchant.  On
December 12th, 1797, he married Louisa, eldest daughter of the Rev.
Samuel Forster, D.D., then head-master of the Norwich Free Grammar
School.  At the restoration of peace, in 1814, Sir Edward returned to
Norfolk, and took up his residence at Catton, where he remained some
years.  Thence he proceeded to Bath, for the benefit of his health.  He
was buried at Walcot Church, Bath, on February 22nd.

14.—Died, aged 74, Mr. William Betts, Lieutenant and Quartermaster in the
West Norfolk Militia.  He entered the service as a private on April 29th,
1778; was appointed Corporal, July 18th, 1780; Sergeant, June 10th, 1790;
Quarter-master, April 23rd, 1803, and held the appointment till June
24th, 1829, after a total service of 51 years 57 days.

19.*—[Advt.]  “The annual grand main of cocks, between the gentlemen of
Norfolk and the gentlemen of Suffolk, will be fought at the Maid’s Head
Inn, St. Simon’s, Norwich, on Tuesday, March 8th, and two following days
(three double-days’ play), for £10 a battle and £100 the main.  To
commence fighting each day in the morning at 12 o’clock, in the evening
at seven.  Feeders: Stafford for Norfolk; Nash for Suffolk.”

23.—Died at his house, at Thorpe, Mr. Michael Stark, aged 83.  “Mr. Stark
was a native of Scotland, and descended from an ancient and honourable
family in the county of Fife.  He was apprenticed to a dyer, and, having
been engaged in London, was induced to come to Norwich.  To Mr. Stark
Norwich was indebted for the introduction of many valuable discoveries
and improvements which tended considerably to the success of its
manufactures.”

27.—Died at the Royal Military College, Bagshot, Captain Charles Stone,
paymaster at that institution, aged 84.  He was a native of Norwich, and
served in the 16th Light Dragoons, which he accompanied to America in
1775, and was personally concerned in the taking of General Lee.  On his
passage home from America, in 1781, he was captured in the British
Channel by a French privateer, and carried to France, where he was
detained a prisoner 12 months.  In 1784 he was appointed Adjutant of the
16th, and in due time attained the rank of Captain.  He was appointed
paymaster of the College in 1802, and resigned in 1827.


MARCH.


2.—The freedom of the city was presented to the Hon. and Very Rev. G.
Pellew, D.D., Dean of Norwich.

6.—Died at Dulwich College, aged 66, the Rev. Ozias Thurston Linley,
A.B., a junior fellow of that institution, and formerly a Minor Canon of
Norwich Cathedral.  He was the eldest son of Mr. Thomas Linley, patentee
of Drury Lane Theatre, and brother of Mrs. Sheridan, the first wife of
Richard Brinsley Sheridan.

21.—The elections for the Common Council commenced at Norwich.  “They
were conducted upon correct principles, the voters were left free from
the temptation of corruption, and the result was the renewed ascendancy
of the ‘Orange and Purple’ party, who won the representation of three
wards out of four.”

24.—The grave was discovered, in the south aisle of St. Stephen’s Church,
of Robert Browne, a former Mayor of Norwich.  Nothing remained but some
pieces of bones.  Upon a stone was the inscription: “Of your charitie
praye for the soule of Robert Browne, Esquire, some time Mayor of this
city, who died 1534.”

—The Norfolk Lent Assizes (adjourned from Thetford) were held at Norwich
for the first time.  Mr. Justice Alderson, an honorary freeman of the
city, was one of the judges.

25.—At the Norfolk Lent Assizes, at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Alderson,
Richard Nockolds was indicted for setting fire to stacks, the property of
William Blake, at Swanton Abbott, and Robert Hunt, Josiah Davidson, and
David Davidson were charged as accessaries.  The jury found the prisoners
not guilty.  On the 26th they were indicted for setting fire to a stack
the property of Richard Ducker, of the same place.  Nockolds was found
guilty, and sentenced to death; Josiah Davidson was convicted of being an
accessary before the fact, recommended to mercy, and afterwards respited;
Hunt and David Davidson were acquitted.  Nockolds was executed on the
Castle Hill, Norwich, on April 9th.  His body was subsequently exhibited
at his cottage opposite the Barrack gates, Pockthorpe, “and a
considerable sum of money was in this way raised for the widow.”

26.—A Bill “for the better management of the Poor in the several parishes
and hamlets of the city of Norwich,” had, it was announced on this date,
been presented in the House of Commons.  The principal object of the
measure was to abolish the right of the Corporation to elect Guardians.
It was read a first time in April, passed through its remaining stages
during the first Session of the new Parliament, and the first meeting of
the Court of Guardians elected under the new Act was held at the
Guildhall on October 4th.


APRIL.


5.—Lynn Market Cross was sold by auction for £160.  It had long been
dilapidated.  “The Market Place in its present state, covered with
vegetation sufficient to graze sheep, presents a most melancholy
appearance.”

8.—Mr. Henry Dover was elected a chairman of Norfolk Quarter Sessions, in
the room of Sir E. H. Alderson, appointed one of his Majesty’s Judges.

11.—Miss Smithson appeared at Norwich Theatre in the character of Juliet;
and on three subsequent evenings as Mrs. Simpson (“Simpson and Co.”),
Belvidera, Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”), and Theresa (“The Orphan of
Geneva”).

13.—The new road from Acle to Yarmouth, saving a distance of three miles
five furlongs, was opened for public inspection, and was shortly
afterwards used for traffic.

14.—A ballot for filling up the peace establishment of the East Norfolk
Militia was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, before Mr. Isaac Preston,
D.L.  “Substitutes were easily obtained from £2 to £3 per man.”

29.—The nomination of Parliamentary candidates for Norwich took place.
Mr. R. H. Gurney and the Right Hon. Robert Grant were proposed by the
“Blue and White” party, and Sir Charles Wetherell and Mr. Michael Thomas
Sadler by the “Purple and Orange” party.  A poll was demanded, and opened
on April 30th.  The polling-booths closed on May 3rd, when the result was
declared as follows:—Gurney, 2,158; Grant, 2,163; Wetherell, 977; Sadler,
964.

—Yarmouth election commenced on this date, and the poll closed on the
30th.  Result:—Col. Anson, 904; Mr. Rumbold, 903; Mr. Colville, 549; Mr.
Bliss, 543.

30.—Lord H. Cholmondeley and the Hon. F. G. Howard were re-elected
members of Parliament for Castle Rising.


MAY.


1.—This day (Sunday) Mr. Alderman Leman and Mr. Alderman Yallop were
elected to be returned to the Court of Aldermen for appointment to the
office of Mayor of Norwich.  Mr. Yallop was chosen Mayor on the 3rd.

2.—Lord George Bentinck and Lord William Lennox were elected without
opposition members of Parliament for King’s Lynn.

3.—The use of the ballot box at meetings of the Norwich Corporation was
discontinued, on the motion of Mr. W. J. Utten Browne, who characterised
it as “a sneaking mode of proceeding.”

4.—Died in Harley Street, London, aged 69, the Viscountess Nelson and
Duchess of Bronte, “widow of the immortal hero of Trafalgar.”  The
funeral took place at Littleham, near Exmouth.

6.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Sir W. B. ffolkes were returned unopposed members
of Parliament for the county of Norfolk.  Mr. Coke announced that he
would not again seek re-election.

28.*—“Last week a lobster was taken out alive from one of the branches of
the river Waveney, at Frenze, in this county.  The river is intersected
by several locks, and the place where it was taken is nearly 40 miles
from the sea.”


JUNE.


1.—Died at Thorpe, aged 47, Mr. Marsham Elwin, of Thurning, formerly one
of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

6.—A vessel named the Carrow, of 80 tons burden, was launched from the
timber-yard of Mr. Batley, at Carrow.

—A two days’ cricket match commenced on Lord’s ground, between Norwich
and Marylebone.  Norwich, 115-142.  Marylebone, 145-67.  Betting at the
start was 6 to 4 on Marylebone, and at the end of the first day’s play
the odds were 7 and 8 to 1 in favour of Norwich.

11.*—“The census which has just been taken shows that the inhabitants of
Norwich number 60,998, an increase in ten years of 10,700.  The
population of the county, exclusive of Norwich, but including other
boroughs, is 331,014, an increase of 36,934.”

20.—Mr. Alderman Patteson resigned his seat after fifty years’ membership
of the Norwich Corporation.  Mr. Samuel Bignold was elected to fill the
vacancy thus created in the Great Mancroft Ward.

—A meeting, presided over by Mr. J. J. Gurney, was held at the Guildhall,
Norwich, for the purpose of promoting a subscription for the relief of
sufferers from the Irish famine.

21.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. J. H. Yallop was, for the second time,
sworn in as Mayor, and afterwards entertained 800 guests at the Guild
feast.

22.—Mr. Charles Green made a balloon ascent from Richmond Hill Gardens,
Norwich, in company with Mr. Richard Crawshay, and in 1 hour 10 minutes
descended upon a marsh at Oby near Acle.  He made a second ascent from
the same gardens on July 2nd, accompanied by Mr. Alderman Marshall, and
descended at Blofield.  Mr. Crawshay accompanied the aeronaut in the
ascent at the opening of London Bridge by the King on August 1st.  Owing
to a strong wind, the ascent was made with great difficulty; the
aeronauts barely escaped with their lives, and on descending at Charlwood
were severely bruised and shaken.


JULY.


7.—The first stone of a new church at Yarmouth, dedicated to St. Peter,
and erected on a site granted by the Corporation, was laid by the Mayor
(Mr. Edmund Preston).  Mr. Scoles was the architect.  The church was
consecrated on August 16th, 1833, by the Bishop of Winchester, on behalf
of the Bishop of Norwich.

23.—The interment took place at Rainham church of the remains of General
Loftus.  He entered the Army in 1770, and in 1775 embarked with the 17th
Light Dragoons for America.  He was in the action of Bunker’s Hill, at
the battle of Bedford, at the taking of New York, at the battles of
Pelham Manor and the White Plains, and led the Hessian Grenadiers across
the river Brunx, where he was wounded.  He was wounded again in the
attack on the lines at King’s Bridge.  In 1794 he raised the 24th Light
Dragoons, largely composed of Norfolk men; in 1796 was made Major-General
and appointed to the English staff, and in 1797 was transferred to the
Irish staff, and commanded a brigade at the battle of Vinegar Hill.  He
commanded the Eastern District in 1809, and at the time of his death was
Lieutenant of the Tower and Colonel of the 2nd Dragoon Guards.  General
Loftus for several Sessions represented in Parliament the borough of
Great Yarmouth.

25.—At the Norfolk Assizes held at Norwich, before Lord Lyndhurst, an
indictment was preferred against several farmers and labourers living at
Edingthorpe, for having conspired to compel the rector, the Rev. Richard
Adams, to take less in tithe than he was entitled to by law.  The great
and small tithes together averaged 6s. per acre; under intimidation Mr.
Adams signed a document by which he agreed to accept 4s. per acre during
his life.  At the suggestion of his lordship, a settlement was arrived
at.  He intimated, however, that a clergyman had a right to his tithes,
and the parishioners had no authority to dictate to him.

26.—At the same Assizes, an action was brought against the Rev. Dean
Wood, vicar of Middleton, by Mr. Howes, a farmer in the same parish, for
a libel contained in a pamphlet published by the defendant, entitled, “A
Defence of the Clergy, founded upon facts.”  The jury returned a verdict
for the plaintiff, damages £100.

28.—Paganini performed at a concert given under the management of Mr.
Pettet, at the Corn Exchange, Norwich.  He appeared again on the 29th,
and on the 30th was engaged at the Theatre.  He was described as “the
fascinating, but by no means fair-dealing, foreigner.”


AUGUST.


1.—Mr. Wallack, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced a short engagement at
the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in the character of Rolla (“Pizarro”).  His
other impersonations included Don Felix (“The Wonder”), Sir Edward
Mortimer, Alessandro Massaroni (“The Brigand”), and Dashall (“My Aunt”).

8.—A cricket match, lasting two days, between Marylebone and Norwich,
commenced on the Norwich ground.  Marylebone, 96-109.  Norwich, 69-94.
Lillywhite and Sir St. Vincent Cotton played for the former, and Fuller
Pilch, W. Pilch, and N. Pilch for the latter club.

10.—The 1st Royal Dragoons were inspected on Mousehold Heath, Norwich, by
General Sir Charles Dalbiac.  “This fine regiment, several of whose
officers are sons of Norfolk families, has been lately augmented by the
enlistment of a large number of Norfolk men.”

18.—A two-days’ cricket match commenced on the Dereham ground, between
Marylebone and Norfolk.  Marylebone, 44-67.  Norfolk, 11-38.  “Both at
Norwich and at Dereham the Norfolk men were evidently beaten by the
system of bowling.”

30.—At the election of freemen’s Sheriff, at Norwich, the candidates were
Mr. John Cozens (1,086 votes) and Mr. W. J. Utten Browne (506 votes).

31.—A camping match took place on Norwich Cricket Ground, between Norwich
and Blofield.  The latter gave up.  “Neither the camping nor the
subsequent wrestling were either of them well contested.”


SEPTEMBER.


5.—Died at Heigham, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. J. Watson, one of the original
contractors of the Norwich mail coaches established in 1785.

8.—The Coronation of William IV. and Queen Adelaide was celebrated in
Norwich.  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, and the 1st
Royal Dragoons fired a _feu de joie_ in the Market Place.  “This day was
fixed upon to pay the freemen who voted for Messrs. Gurney and Grant
their sovereigns, which they received at different public-houses,
pursuant to notice circulated by handbills.”  A dinner, attended
principally by the “Blue and White” party, took place at St. Andrew’s
Hall; and the “Purple and Orange” freemen were entertained at the York
Gardens, Pockthorpe.  Celebrations were held in different parts of the
county.

10.—Mr. Richard Forby, a well-known farmer at Tittleshall, was gored to
death by a bull.

19.—Died, James Twiddy, parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “He
had a taste for poetry, and occasionally wrote in verse.  His prose
compositions displayed considerable talent, and his leisure hours were
chiefly employed in reading and improving his mind.”

—Three troops of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, raised in the western part of
the county, consisting of the 1st or Melton troop, Capt. Sir Jacob
Astley; the 2nd, or West Raynham troop, Capt. Lord Townshend, and the 3rd
or Elmham troop, Major the Hon. George John Milles, assembled at Lenwade
Bridge and marched to Norwich, on their way to Yarmouth for six days’
training.  The band of the 1st Royals played them into the city, where
they were billeted for the night.  The uniform of the regiment consisted
of a scarlet jacket, dark trousers, and black helmet.

27.—Died at Harold’s Cross, near Dublin, aged 85, the Rev. Philip Taylor,
upwards of 60 years minister of the Unitarian congregation in Eustace
Street in that city.  Mr. Taylor was a native of Norwich, and grandson of
Dr. John Taylor, formerly minister at the Octagon chapel.


OCTOBER.


1.—At this date there were four coaches running daily on the road between
Lynn and Norwich.

12.—The Cross Keys Bridge and embankment, opened on this date, afforded
direct communication between Norfolk and Lincolnshire and the North of
England.  By these works nearly 18,000 acres of land were recovered from
the sea.  The opening ceremony commenced with a procession of carriages
over the bridge and embankment, and concluded with a dinner in a marquee
erected near the works.  Three hundred guests were present, and Sir
William ffolkes, M.P., presided.


NOVEMBER.


12.—In accordance with regulations passed by the Court of Mayoralty, the
Aldermen of the small wards in Norwich, accompanied by the parochial
officials, perambulated their respective wards, for the purpose of
reporting upon their sanitary condition.  In view of the cholera outbreak
in other parts of the country, the medical men of Norwich divided the
city into four districts, and apportioned a certain number of their body
to each.

20.—Services were resumed in Norwich Cathedral, after extensive repairs
to the fabric.


DECEMBER.


3.—At a general meeting of the county magistrates, a committee was
appointed to receive communications from the justices in the different
divisions and Hundreds, and to give their aid and assistance for the
detection and apprehension of incendiaries.  Committees were formed in
every Hundred in the county.

24.*—“The trade for turkeys was dull this Christmas, owing, no doubt, to
the depressed state of trade, but principally to the operation of the
late Act, which, by throwing a large quantity of game into the market,
has proved a losing game to our excellent farmers’ wives, and prevented
them obtaining anything like remunerative prices.”

25.—The Mayor of Norwich (Mr. J. H. Yallop), who had sent from the city a
swan specially fattened for the Royal table, received from his Majesty,
through the Duke of Sussex, a letter thanking him for his “dutiful
attention.”



1832.


JANUARY.


6.—The Norfolk Court of Quarter Sessions made renewed efforts to procure
the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  The Norwich
Court of Mayoralty, on the 14th, addressed a memorial to the Lord
Chancellor on the same subject; and it was officially announced on March
3rd that the Assizes would be adjourned from Thetford to Norwich, as in
the previous year.  On March 8th the Corporation conferred the honorary
freedom of the city upon Mr. John Stracey, of Sprowston, “in testimony of
the sense they entertain of that gentleman’s most valuable services in
bringing under the notice of the Lord Chancellor the question of the
removal of the Lent Assizes to this city.”  In the House of Commons, on
the 15th, Mr. Grant gave notice of his intention to bring in the Norwich
Assize Bill, and on April 3rd the Bill was read a first time.  The second
reading was carried by 44 to 13 on May 23rd; and on June 4th, in the face
of strong opposition, it was read a third time and passed.  The Bill was
read a first time in the House of Lords on the 5th, a second time on the
14th, and a third time on the 18th.  The Royal assent was given to the
measure on the 22nd, and on the 23rd the intelligence was received in
Norwich with the ringing of St. Peter’s bells.  “It is worthy of remark
that the Lent Assizes for this county, jointly with those of Suffolk,
were held at Thetford so early as the reign of Henry II., and that the
first application for their removal to Norwich was made as far back as
the year 1649.  Applications have been frequently and unsuccessfully
repeated at intervals until the present year.”

17.—A Bill for extending the time for completing the works undertaken by
the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was read a second time in
the House of Commons.  It afterwards passed through all its stages in
both Houses.  On June 4th juries were empanelled for the purpose of
hearing and determining claims in the purchase of some of the land
required by the company in making the cut for connecting the rivers Yare
and Waveney.  The directors, on July 7th, accepted the tender of Mr.
Thomas Townshend, of Birmingham, to make the cut and to complete it by
December 1st.

18.—Died at the age of 102, Mrs. Twiddy, of Snailwell, near Newmarket,
mother of Mr. James Twiddy, formerly parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft,
Norwich.  She was a native of Attleborough.  Within a short time of her
death she frequently walked six miles a day.

23.—Norwich Theatre was re-opened for the season.  Mr. Power commenced a
short engagement, during which he appeared in a round of Irish
characters.

28.*—[Advt.]  “A great main of cocks will be fought at the Black Boys
Inn, Aylsham, on February 14th and 15th, between the gentlemen of Norwich
and Norfolk, for £5 a battle and £100 the odd.  On Tuesday evening a
turn-out for £10; and on Thursday a grand Welch main by 16 subscribers
for a silver tankard.  All to be fought in silver spurs.  Feeders:
Steward for Norwich; Overton for Norfolk.”

31.—Mr. Dowton, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced a four nights’
engagement at Norwich Theatre, as Sir John Falstaff.  His other
characters included Dr. Cantwell (“The Hypocrite”), Adam Brock (“Charles
the Twelfth”), Sir Anthony Absolute, and Abednego (“The Jew and the
Doctor”).  He afterwards performed at Lynn Theatre.


FEBRUARY.


4.—The Norwich Court of Mayoralty memorialised the Committee of Buying of
the East India Company not to suspend their “usual and constant order for
camlets for the China market,” as a numerous class of the manufacturing
population of the city derived their chief subsistence from this source.
On March 21st the East India Company invited tenders for the manufacture
of 5,000 pieces.

18.—Mr. Thomas Foyson, aged 53, was accidentally drowned at Norwich by
falling into a vat of vinegar which he was in the act of gauging.

22.—At a Levée held at St. James’s Palace, the King conferred the honour
of knighthood upon Mr. John Harrison Yallop, Mayor of Norwich, on his
presenting to his Majesty the address adopted at a Common Hall held in
Norwich in the previous October, on the subject of the Reform Bill.


MARCH.


2.—The funeral took place at Scole of Ann Chapman, aged 92.  “Her head
was placed contrary to the usual way, agreeably to her desire, which she
had made known to the sexton.  She was 47 years old when she married, and
her husband only 17.  She had 18 children, 13 sons and five daughters,
all of whom arrived to the age of maturity.  Five of the sons served in
the Army.  This remarkable woman seldom took more than two or three
hours’ sleep of the twenty-four.  She could see to thread the finest
needle, and she retained her faculties to the latest period of her
existence.”

6.—At a ploughing match at Roughton, John Colman, aged 92, beat all
competitors, and was awarded the prize.

13.—Married, at St. Cuthbert’s, Thetford, Mr. Bussey, schoolmaster, aged
29, to Mrs. Judith Millen, aged 78.  “A party of heroines attended the
happy couple, and performed their melodious chorus upon saucepans and
kettles, and to complete the band a watchman’s rattle was added.”

14.—Beard, the guard of the Red Rover coach, “made an attempt” to play
Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”), at Lynn Theatre.  “The best advice we can
give him is to stick to his own stage in future.  His comic singing,
however, was good.”

20.—Three troops of the 7th Hussars, commanded by Lieut.-Colonel Keane,
marched into Norwich from Birmingham.

21.—This day being appointed by Royal proclamation for fasting and
humiliation, the Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the
Cathedral, and collections were made at the doors for charitable uses.
Services were held at the parish churches, and alms were given for the
poor.  The day was similarly observed at Yarmouth.

23.—At the Lent Assizes at Thetford (held there for the last time),
before Mr. Baron Vaughan, the libel action, Hunter _v._ Platten, was
tried by a special jury.  Defendant was steward to Sir Thomas Hare, and
sent to the NORFOLK CHRONICLE and “Norwich Mercury,” for publication, a
paragraph in which he described the plaintiff as “a person who has been
for many years a notorious game buyer and a disgrace to the name of
gentleman.”  The CHRONICLE modified the expressions contained in the
paragraph; the “Mercury” published it as sent.  Witnesses for the defence
proved that they had seen 15 or 20 head of game on the plaintiff’s
premises at one time, and that he had stated “he would buy game as long
as money would purchase it, as the gentry round that part of the country
were mean humbugs.”  The jury returned a verdict for plaintiff, damages
one farthing, and costs.

24.—The 1st Royal Dragoons marched from Norwich for Canterbury.

—*“Died lately at Loddon, aged 86, Thomas Reynolds.  He presented to the
inhabitants and caused to be erected, at his sole expense, in 1821, a
finely-toned organ by which the church of Loddon is ornamented.”

26.—Mr. T. P. Cooke made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre, in the
character of Martin Heywood (“The Rent Day”).  His other impersonations
included William (“Black-eyed Susan”), Long Tom Coffin (“The Pilot”), the
Demon (“The Fate of Frankinstein”), Sir Roderick Dhu (“Lady of the
Lake”), and _poses plastique_.

30.—A jury empanelled to try a civil action at the Lent Assizes at
Thetford had a remarkable experience.  The trial commenced at four
o’clock in the afternoon of the 30th, and terminated at eight o’clock on
the evening of the 31st, when the jury retired to consider their verdict.
They were locked up all night, and did not find a verdict until 11
o’clock on the morning of April 1st.  The case came before the Court of
King’s Bench on April 19th, when application was made for a new trial, on
the ground that refreshments had been given to one of the jurors!

31.—The thanks of the Norwich Court of Mayoralty were unanimously voted
to Lieut.-Col. Somerset and officers of the 1st Royal Dragoons, “for the
highly satisfactory manner in which they had conducted themselves whale
stationed in the city, and for aiding in the suppression of riotous and
tumultuous assemblies,” and to the non-commissioned officers and privates
“for the way in which they had discharged their duty as connected with
the peace of the city.”


APRIL.


2.—A steeplechase took place from a field near Wheatacre White House to
Thurlton Church (distance between four and five miles), between a bay
mare, the property of Mr. Charles Duppa, of Kent (owner up), and a
chestnut horse belonging to Mr. John Carr, of Beales (ridden by his
whipper-in, R. Warner).  The mare won easily.  Protest entered.  On the
same day another steeplechase was ridden from Gissing Church to Thurlton
Church, between “the celebrated little grey horse,” the property of Mr.
Charles Ellis, of Shelfanger Hall, and a “grey mare of hunting
celebrity,” belonging to Mr. Williams, of Diss.  The horse won.

5.—The first outbreak of cholera in Norfolk occurred at Stow Bridge, and
in two months 33 cases were reported, of which 13 terminated fatally.
The disease made its appearance at Cawston on May 25th; and in Crown
Court, St. Peter Hungate, Norwich, on August 15th.  The Board of Health
directed the bodies of all persons who had died of cholera to be interred
within twenty-four hours, the clothes and bedding of the deceased to be
destroyed, and surviving friends to be indemnified by the Corporation of
Guardians.  The medical men of the city gratuitously superintended the
parishes allotted to each.  On September 12th several cases were reported
at the Bethel, and eight inmates died.  The last official return was made
on October 18th, when it was stated that the total number of cases in
Norwich was 320, and the deaths 128.  Thanksgiving services were held at
the Cathedral and parish churches on November 11th, on the termination of
the outbreak.

9.—A sloop of 60 tons burden, intended for the coasting trade, was
launched from Mr. Thomas Bailey’s yard, at Carrow.

12.—A new building, known as the Royal Norfolk and Norwich Bazaar, in St.
Andrew’s Street, Norwich, was opened.  It was erected for the
encouragement of “female and domestic industry.”  Counters were let at
small rents to “respectable females recommended by the lady patronesses.”

14.—Died at Earl’s Terrace, Kensington, aged 25, the Lady Henrietta Ann,
wife of Mr. Charles Knight Murray, and sister of the Earl of Rothes.

15.—Died at his house, at Southtown, Yarmouth, aged 69, the Rev. Edward
Valpy, B.D., for many years head master of the Norwich Free Grammar
School.  He was rector of Thwaite All Saints and vicar of South Walsham
St. Mary the Virgin.

16.—Married at the Hotel of the British Ambassador, Paris, by the Rev.
Thomas Sayers, Mr. Isaac Preston, Recorder of Norwich, to Frances,
daughter of the Rev. J. Jephson, Prebendary of Armagh, and brother of Sir
Richard Jephson, Bart.

23.—Mr. and Mrs. Wood (formerly Miss Paton) appeared at Norwich Theatre
as Hawthorn and Rosetta (“Love in a Village”).  On subsequent evenings
they played the parts of Tom Tug and Wilelmina (“The Waterman”), Malcolm
and Zelinda (“The Slave”), Steady and Gillian (“The Quaker”), Henry
Bertram and Julia Mannering (“Guy Mannering”), and Masaniello and
Princess Elvira (“Masaniello”).


MAY.


1.—Mr. S. W. Stevenson, one of the proprietors of the NORFOLK CHRONICLE,
was elected Mayor of Norwich.

3.—At a meeting of the Common Council at Norwich, Mr. W. J. Utten Browne
moved that a petition be presented to the House of Lords against the
Reform Bill, which he described as “a tissue of fraud, folly, and
injustice, hideous in its anomalies, and displaying more profound
ignorance of sound constitutional law than any other production he had
ever witnessed.”  The motion was adopted by 40 votes against 9.  An
address to the King was circulated in Norwich on May 12th, acknowledging
“the patriotic course adopted by his Majesty in rejecting the pernicious
and unconstitutional counsel of Ministers completely to overwhelm the
free deliberations of the House of Peers by creating a large addition to
that body pledged to carry through the measure, in opposition to the
recorded sentiments of the large majority of that right honourable
House.”  The address and signatures were inscribed in three
closely-written columns on thirteen yards of parchment.  On the 14th a
public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, “for the purpose of
adopting such measures as may be deemed expedient at the present
momentous crisis for securing to all classes of the people the benefit of
the Reform Bill brought before Parliament by Earl Grey and members of the
late Administration.”  A “Norfolk Address” to the King was circulated,
acknowledging “the recent proofs of his Majesty’s desire to maintain the
rights and privileges of the House of Lords.”  The intelligence of the
passing of the Bill by the House of Lords was received at Lynn and other
places on June 5th with great rejoicing.  The celebration at Norwich was
deferred to July 5th, when a procession of about 2,400 persons, decorated
with blue and white favours, marched from the Castle Ditches to the
Cricket Ground.  A cavalcade of 95 horsemen was headed by Mr. R. H.
Gurney, M.P., accompanied by Mr. W. W. Windham, Mr. Anthony Hudson, Mr.
W. Foster, and Mr. Peter Finch.  Dinner was served for 2,000 in a marquee
which extended the length of the field.  The greatest order and
regularity were observed throughout the day.

5.—His Majesty issued a writ, upon the report and recommendations of the
Committee of Privileges of the House of Lords, certifying that Col.
Wilson, of Didlington Hall, had made out his claim as the oldest co-heir
to the Barony of Berners.

12.—The Norwich and Newark Union Coach commenced to run daily (Sundays
excepted), from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, through Dereham, Swaffham,
Lynn, Boston, and Sleaford, to Newark, where connection was effected with
the northern coaches.

27.—One of the large buildings comprised in Messrs. Grout, Baylis, and
Co.’s factory in Barrack Yard, Yarmouth, was destroyed by fire.  The
building was five storeys high, 105 ft. long, and 55 ft. wide, and its
erection, in 1818, cost about £7,000.  Between 400 and 500 girls employed
by the firm were thrown out of work, and the loss sustained was estimated
at from £12,000 to £15,000.

28.—The Rev. Arthur Iveson, of South Lynn, was murdered by a pistol shot
fired by his son, the Rev. Thomas Iveson, a person of unsound mind.  The
deceased was rector of East Bradenham and perpetual curate of Shouldham
and Shouldham Thorpe, and Tottenhill.  At Lynn Quarter Sessions, on July
9th, Thomas Iveson was placed on his trial for the murder of his father.
The jury found that he was insane at the time the crime was committed,
and he was ordered to be detained in custody.  He remained in Lynn Gaol
until September 3rd, when he was removed to “the lunatic asylum, in St.
Lawrence,” Norwich.


JUNE.


16.—Dr. Yelloly resigned his office as a physician of the Norfolk and
Norwich.  Hospital.  Dr. Edward Lubbock was elected to fill the vacancy
on July 7th.

16.—The case of the King _v._ the Mayor and Recorder of Thetford came
before the Court of King’s Bench.  The defendants were required to show
why they should not hold a weekly Court of Pleas at the Guildhall,
according to the charter of Queen Elizabeth, which directed that the
Court should proceed according to the rules and customs of a similar
Court at Norwich.  It was objected that the affidavits did not show the
existence of the Norwich Court at the date of the Thetford charter, but
only that a certain Court of Pleas was granted to that city by a charter
of Charles II.  On the other side it was alleged that the Thetford Court
had actually been held within fifty years.  Lord Tenterden: The charter
of Charles II. may have confirmed a previous grant.  We think the
objection has been answered.  The rule must be absolute.

18.—Robert Woodrow, gamekeeper to Col. Peel, was summoned before the
magistrates at Thetford for seizing the rods of two persons fishing in
the river of that town.  It was contended that Col. Peel merely hired the
manor of Mr. A. Baring, and that he could not show a right to the
fishing, the river being navigable, and, as such, _prima facie_ public to
the inhabitants, who had immemorially enjoyed the right.  The magistrates
decided to the contrary on both points, and dismissed the complaint.

19.—Guild Day was observed at Norwich as usual.  The Mayor-elect (Mr. S.
W. Stevenson) entertained 830 guests at the Guild feast, and gave a ball
at the Assembly Rooms in the evening.

26.—An address, congratulating the King “on his happy escape from the
late atrocious attack on his Royal person at Ascot,” was presented to his
Majesty at a Levée at St. James’s Palace by the Mayor (Mr. S. W.
Stevenson), the Deputy-Mayor (Sir J. H. Yallop), and Lieut.-Col. Harvey,
on behalf of the Corporation of Norwich.

30.—The electors of the division of East Norfolk, constituted under the
provisions of the new Reform Act, met at Norwich for the purpose of
adopting candidates.  The friends of Mr. Peach, M.P., and Lord Henry
Cholmondeley, M.P., the Tory candidates, met at the Rampant Horse Inn,
and the supporters of Mr. William W. Windham and Major Keppel, the Whig
candidates, at the Angel Inn.


JULY.


7.—Intelligence was received at Norwich that the Right Hon. Robert Grant,
M.P., “at about the time his constituents were remembering him in their
flowing cups at the Reform dinner,” had issued an address to the electors
of Finsbury.  On the 13th Lord Stormont and Sir James Scarlett were
adopted Conservative candidates, and on the 14th it was announced that
Mr. R. H. Gurney would have as his colleague Mr. H. Bellenden Ker.  A
third candidate, Mr. William Eagle, entered the field, but his principles
were doubtful.  At a meeting held at the Bowling Green Inn, on August
7th, he stated that he belonged to neither party, for “he looked upon the
Tory as a highwayman and the Whig as a pickpocket.”  Mr. Eagle retired
before the nomination took place.  The Conservative candidates made their
first public appearance at a dinner held at St. Andrew’s Hall, under the
presidency of Mr. J. S. Patteson, on July 17th, and from that date
onwards prosecuted a vigorous canvass.  (_See_ December 10th.)

16.—Died at Binham, aged 98, Mrs. Elizabeth Leake, who “for upwards of
fifty years travelled as daily post from Binham to Wells, from which
employment she had retired about 14 years.”

23.—Died at Hardingham Rectory, aged 74, the Rev. Walter Whiter, M.A.,
formerly Fellow of Clare Hall, Cambridge.  He was instituted to the
rectory in 1797, and was the author of some ingenious works on literature
and criticism, and more particularly of the ‘Etymologicon Universale,’ a
work of the greatest labour and research, and replete with new and
ingenious views of the origin and affinity of languages.”

28.*—“Died in London, of cholera, last week, Mr. William Willement,
manufacturer, of Colchester.  The deceased went to London on the Saturday
previous, was taken ill on the Sunday, and died and was buried on Monday.
He served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1816.”

30.—Norwich Theatre re-opened for the Assize week.  Mr. Gill, a comic
actor, who afterwards became a great favourite on the Norwich stage, made
his first appearance here.  Mr. Braham on this date commenced a five
nights’ engagement, and appeared in a round of his principal characters.


AUGUST.


6.—George Borrow, writing to the NORFOLK CHRONICLE on this date,
suggested the derivation of the word “Tory.”  “Tory,” he wrote, “is
composed of three Irish words, and doubtless originated amongst the Irish
adherents of Charles II. at the time they were suffering under the sway
of Cromwell and were sighing for the Restoration.  The words are Tar a
Ri, and their pronunciation is the same as that of ‘Tory,’ or if there be
any difference, it consists in a scarcely distinguishable drawl.  Their
meaning is, ‘Come, O King.’”

—Died at East Dereham, aged 73, Mr. Fisher, many years manager of the
Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians.  “Mr. Fisher made his first
appearance as an amateur at Norwich Theatre, in the character of Lubin
(‘The Quaker’).  Mr. Barrett, who was then manager, was so much gratified
with the performance that he persuaded him to make the stage his
profession, and offered him a liberal engagement, which he accepted, and
remained with the company some years.  As manager of the Norfolk and
Suffolk Company, he raised it to a degree of respectability equal to any
provincial theatre in the kingdom.  As a manager he was esteemed, and by
his indefatigable industry he has been enabled to leave his sons eleven
theatres, many of which have been recently built and elegantly decorated.
As an actor he displayed much talent.  He was an affectionate parent and
warm friend, and in the strictest sense an honest, just, and upright
man.”

14.—Messrs. Bell and Deane, divers, engaged in exploring the Guernsey
Lily transport, lost off Yarmouth in the year 1799, recovered one of the
brass guns, which they fired in token of success.  The Guernsey Lily was
returning from Holland with a large and valuable freight of military
stores, when she got upon the Cross Sand and foundered in Yarmouth Roads,
as nearly as possible three miles due east of the jetty.  Many of her
stores were recovered, little the worse for an immersion of 33 years.

28.—A sharp contest took place at Norwich on the election of the
freemen’s Sheriff.  Mr. William Foster was the “Blue and White,” and Mr.
Alderman Steward the “Purple and Orange” candidate.  “Bribery to a vast
amount was resorted to, and the last few votes cost a heavy sum.”
Result: Foster, 1,282; Steward, 1,275.  A scrutiny was demanded by both
sides, and was commenced by the Mayor on September 8th.  After an enquiry
lasting twelve days, Mr. Foster was declared elected.

30.—Died at Cringleford, aged 50, Mr. John Staniforth Patteson.  He was
eldest son of Mr. John Patteson, of St. Helen’s, served the office of
Sheriff of Norwich in 1811, was elected Alderman for the Great Ward of
Mancroft in 1830, and was Mayor in 1823–4.  He was also a magistrate, and
a deputy-lieutenant for the county of Norfolk, and held the
Lieut.-Colonelcy of the East Norfolk Militia.  His remains were buried at
St. Peter Mancroft church, on September 4th.


SEPTEMBER.


1.*—“At a meeting of the inhabitants of Diss, held last week, it was
resolved that the present peal of eight bells should be recast, with an
additional weight of metal.  A subscription was opened which, in three
days, amounted to all the money needful, without any charge upon the
church rate of the parish.”  The work was done at the Downham Market
Foundry.  The bells were met on their way to Diss by a large concourse of
the inhabitants, who assembled at Roydon White Hart, and, forming in
procession with the Diss band and the handbell ringers at their head,
escorted the trucks to the town.  The treble, sixth, seventh, and tenor
were “maiden”; the others needed but slight alteration.  The tenor
weighed 23 cwt., and the total weight of the peal was 98 cwt. 2 qrs. 10
lbs.—more than 40 cwt. heavier than the former peal.  The bells were
“opened” on January 7th, 1833, by the St. Peter Mancroft Company,
Norwich, and by other companies; public dinners were held at the
different inns, in celebration of the event, and a silver-mounted
snuff-box, made out of the polished oak of the old frame, was presented
to the rector, the Rev. William Manning.

2.—Died at Norwich, aged 67, the Rev. Joseph Kinghorn, 44 years minister
of the Baptist congregation at St. Mary’s.  “His literary qualities were
unwearied diligence and deep and erudite enquiry, especially into all
subjects connected with theology and moral philosophy.”

4.—Mr. Charles Turner was elected an Alderman for the Great Ward of
Mancroft, Norwich, in place of Mr. J. S. Patteson, deceased.

11.—A curious incident was witnessed at the marriage, at Guestwick, by
the Rev. J. Blake, of Mr. Samuel Goldsmith, miller, of Corpusty, to Miss
Mary Goldsmith, of the former place.  “The ceremony being over and the
clergyman about to retire, the gentleman who gave away the bride, Mr.
George Barton, of Wood Dalling, unexpectedly took another licence from
his pocket and called out, ‘Stay, sir, and marry me.’  The ceremony was
again repeated, and Mr. Barton was united to the bridesmaid, Miss Hannah
Goldsmith, the sister of the other bride, Mr. and Mrs. Goldsmith
performing in their turn the necessary offices for this couple.  The
village bells rang gaily, and a great deal of merry-making followed these
nuptials.”


OCTOBER.


6.—Died at his house, St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 73, Mr. William Burt.  He
served the office of Sheriff in 1814, was elected Alderman of the Great
Ward of Mancroft in 1815, and was Mayor in 1820.  Mr. Edmund Newton was
elected Alderman in his place.

8.—The Norwich Eldon Club held its first anniversary dinner at the Waggon
and Horses Inn, Tombland.

11.—Died at Hindolvestone, Mr. Thomas Gardner, groom of the Great Chamber
to the King.  “He had the honour to serve in that capacity during the
whole of the late reign, and also in the reign of George III., having
held the appointment upwards of thirty-three years.”

17.—The first revision of voters’ lists, under the Act of 2 William IV.,
c. 45, commenced in the Eastern division of the county at Long Stratton;
the revising barristers for the Western division commenced their circuit
at Thetford on the 25th.  The revision of the Norwich lists commenced on
the 22nd.  It was described “as the vexatious and irritating process
introduced by the Reform Bill”; and it resulted in the removal from the
city lists of the names of between 300 and 400 persons who had hitherto
been accustomed to vote.

23.—Mr. Cozens, of London, while shooting on the estate of Mr. Hardy, at
Letheringsett, was killed by a gunshot wound accidentally inflicted by
one of the party.

—A general court-martial, of which General Sir Robert Macfarlane, K.C.B.,
G.C.H., was president, commenced an inquiry at the Cavalry Barracks,
Norwich, into charges preferred against certain privates for disobeying
the lawful commands of the Colonel of the 7th Hussars.  At a parade of
the regiment for ball practice on September 27th, Col. Keane gave the
word “Attention,” when, to his surprise, not a man obeyed the command.
Seizing one of the men, Private Philip Pitman, he marched him to the
officers’ quarters, and had him tried by court-martial for
insubordination.  He was sentenced to receive 200 lashes, which were
administered immediately, in the presence of the whole regiment.  All the
men were armed with their weapons, and carried ball cartridge.  This
action on the part of the Colonel restored discipline and obedience to
orders.  Each prisoner made a long written defence.  Their principal
complaint was that the regiment was overworked.  Colonel Keane replied
that what had been ordered was by direction of the War Office; and the
men had been kept constantly employed in consequence of the prevalence of
cholera in Norwich.  The court concluded its sittings on November 10th.
The sentences, approved by his Majesty, were as follow:—Private John
Martin, transportation for life; Thomas Almond, seven years’
transportation; Henry Bone, seven years; Charles Edwards, 12 months’
imprisonment; and John Clayson, 14 years’ transportation.  Five
non-commissioned officers were reduced to the ranks, and the regimental
sergt.-major suspended.  During the progress of the court-martial, a
troop of the 1st Dragoon Guards was stationed at Dereham, and a
detachment of the 12th Regiment of Foot at Wymondham.

31.—A mysterious individual, known as “The Wandering Piper,” made his
appearance at Norwich.  It was stated that he had been an officer in the
Army, and had served under Sir John Moore and the Duke of Wellington, and
was piping through the country to win a wager, one of the conditions of
which was that he must subsist upon unsolicited alms given by the public.
The piper gave a performance at the Bell Inn, Orford Hill, in aid of the
newly-established Lying-in Charity.  He returned to Norwich on December
1st, and gave another entertainment at the Norfolk Hotel for the same
charity.  He re-appeared in Norwich in 1838, having, in the interval,
travelled the British Isles and the United States.  It was then announced
that his name was Graham Stuart.  His death occurred in March, 1839, at
Mercers’ Hospital, Dublin, to which institution he bequeathed all his
property.


NOVEMBER.


17.—The officers of the preventive service stationed at Brancaster seized
a large tub-boat, containing 5,565 lbs. of tobacco and about 650 gallons
of brandy and Geneva, the whole of which was lodged in the Customs-house
at Wells-next-the-Sea.


DECEMBER.


2.—The body of Sarah Watling, buried in the churchyard of Swanton Abbot,
was found to have been stolen from its grave.  At the Norfolk Adjourned
Quarter Sessions, held at Norwich on March 6th, 1833, George Ives and
Nathaniel Canham were indicted for stealing the body.  The prisoners were
acquitted.

10.—The nomination of candidates at the first election in Norwich under
the Reform Act took place at the Guildhall.  The nominees of the “Purple
and Orange” party were Lord Stormont and Sir James Scarlett, and of the
“Blue and White” party Mr. Richard Hanbury Gurney, the former member, and
Mr. Charles Henry Bellenden Ker.  A poll was demanded, and the election
was immediately proceeded with.  In the afternoon a riot occurred in the
Market Place; the “Purple and Orange” booth was pulled down, and a
bonfire made of the _débris_.  The “Blue and White” band, stationed near
the fire, played their favourite tunes, and men carrying the banners of
the party danced round the pile.  Stones were thrown and bludgeons used,
and a man had his arm broken.  Many other persons sustained less serious
injuries.  The 7th Hussars, who had been removed from Norwich to
Wymondham before the election commenced, were recalled to suppress the
disturbance, and many citizens were sworn in as special constables.  An
officers’ guard of the Hussars was posted near the Guildhall throughout
the night, and another polling-booth was erected.  Voting recommenced at
eight o’clock on the morning of the 11th, and continued all day; the
books were again opened on the 13th, and at noon the poll finally closed,
when the result was declared as follows:—Stormont, 2,016; Scarlett,
1,962; Gurney, 1,810; Ker, 1,766.  The chairing of the new members took
place on the 14th; on the same day their friends and supporters dined at
the Norfolk Hotel, and in the evening the election ball was held at
Chapel Field House.

10.—Lord George Bentinck and Lord William Lennox were returned unopposed
for Lynn.

—Lord James FitzRoy and Mr. Francis Baring were returned without
opposition for the borough of Thetford.

13.—Mr. Shaw’s granaries on the Boal at King’s Lynn were destroyed by
fire.  The loss was estimated at upwards of £2,000.

15.—Sir Jacob Astley and Sir William ffolkes were nominated at Swaffham
as candidates for the representation of the Western Division of Norfolk,
and returned unopposed.  Mr. T. W. Coke formally took leave of the
electors, on his retirement from Parliamentary life.  He had represented
the county since the year 1785.

17.—The nomination of candidates for the Eastern Division of the county
took place at the Shirehall, Norwich.  Lord Henry Cholmondeley and Mr.
Peach were nominated by the “Pink and Purple,” and Mr. W. W. Windham and
Major Keppel by the “Blue and White” party.  The poll was opened on the
20th, at Norwich, Yarmouth, North Walsham, and Long Stratton, and closed
on the 21st.  The result, which was not officially declared until the
24th, was as follows:—Windham, 3,304; Keppel, 3,261; Peach, 2,960;
Cholmondeley, 2,852.  The election dinner was held at the Assembly Room,
Norwich, under the presidency of the Hon. Edward Harbord.

22.—Atkins’ Menagerie was exhibited at Norwich.  This was the first
occasion on which a “lion tamer” appeared with a travelling menagerie in
the city.  In the centre of the show was introduced a large iron cage,
into which the keeper entered and put the animals through their
performances.



1833.


JANUARY.


4.—Lord Suffield resigned his chairmanship of the Norfolk Court of
Quarter Sessions.

11.—In the Court of King’s Bench, the Sheriff of Norwich obtained a rule
_nisi_ for a criminal information against Mr. John Teasel, carpenter and
builder, a Common Councilman of Norwich, for having taken away one of the
poll-books at the last election at Norwich, and for attempting to tear
and mutilate it.  The rule was discharged on the 31st, on the defendant
undertaking to answer an indictment at the ensuing Assizes.  At the
Norwich Assizes on March 23rd, before Mr. Justice Bolland, application
was made on behalf of the defendant to have the case tried by a county
jury, upon which it was ordered to stand over till the next Assizes.  At
the Norfolk Assizes on August 10th, before Mr. Justice Littledale, the
defendant was placed upon his trial, and the jury returned a verdict of
not guilty.

16.—Died at Bracondale, Norwich, aged 80, Mrs. White, mother of Henry
Kirke White.

22.—A meeting was held at the Baptist chapel, Orford Hill, Norwich,
presided over by Mr. John Cozens, at which a report was made by a
committee appointed “to investigate the return of Lord Stormont and Sir
James Scarlett,” to the effect that sufficient evidence had been obtained
to warrant the presentation of a petition to the House of Commons on
account of the “undue election” of the members.  The Norwich Election
Petition was opened before a Committee of the House of Commons on March
20th.  The examination of witnesses commenced on March 21st, and
concluded on April 2nd.  Counsel addressed the Committee on April 3rd,
and on the same day the Chairman (Mr. Charles Shaw Lefevre) announced
that the Committee had resolved—(1) That Lord Stormont and Sir James
Scarlett were duly elected members for the city of Norwich.  (2) That the
petition of John Cozens and others was not frivolous nor vexatious.  (3)
That the opposition to such petition was not frivolous nor vexatious.


FEBRUARY.


1.—The portrait of Mr. T. W. Coke, painted by S. Lane, was hung in the
Corn Exchange, Norwich.  In celebration of the event, a dinner was held
at the Norfolk Hotel, presided over by Major Case, who said his family
had been tenants on the Holkham estate for 63 years, and his grandfather,
who owed much to Mr. Coke, died worth £150,000.

2.*—[Advt.]  “A grand main of cocks will be fought at the Black Boys Inn,
Aylsham, on February 12th, and two following days, between the gentlemen
of Norwich and Aylsham, for 5 sovereigns a battle and 50 sovereigns the
odd.  Feeders: Stafford for Norwich; Overton for Aylsham.”

5.—A barque of 220 tons burden, designed for the West India trade, was
launched from the yard of Mr. Preston, at Yarmouth.

22.—Died at Winfarthing, Sarah Jessup, aged 101 years, “the last 30 of
which, till a year and a half ago, she was employed as walking post from
the Post Office at Diss to Winfarthing, a distance of four miles, which
she constantly performed in all weathers, and is computed to have
travelled more than 13,400 miles.  She was married in the reign of George
II.  She had 16 children, who multiplied to the fourth generation, so
that her children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren at the time of
her decease amounted to 444.  Besides these, great-great-grandchildren,
some of every degree and age, to the number of 200 and upwards, followed
her to the grave, to which she was carried by her four sons.”

26.—A desperate affray took place between the coastguard, under Lieut.
George Howes, R.N., and a large party of armed smugglers, at
Cley-next-the-Sea.  The coastguard were obliged to fire several times in
self-defence.  The contraband goods seized consisted of 127 half-ankers
of brandy and between 3,000 and 4,000 pounds of manufactured tobacco.

—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency
of the Mayor, it was decided to petition the House of Commons to protect
children employed in factories from severe and injurious labour, by
limiting the hours of their employment.

26.—The Lynn and Newmarket mail was proceeding through Methwold when the
coach was upset in a deep drain, and one of the horses falling upon
Booty, the coachman, he was suffocated.


MARCH.


19.—The barque Crawford Davison (George Sandford, master), from Hamburg
to London, with 40 horses, of the value of £2,000, on board, struck upon
Happisburgh Sand and was lost.  The captain and crew were saved.  All the
horses were drowned, and their carcases sold for £12.

—At a special general meeting of the subscribers to the Norfolk and
Norwich Museum, plans and specifications prepared by Mr. J. Brown,
architect, were adopted for the erection of a building “on an eligible
site in Exchange Street, near the new Post Office,” at the cost of
£1,500, raised in shares of £50 each, to bear interest of 4 per cent.
“The front of the intended building will be similar to that of the Temple
of Jupiter Ammon.”  The first stone was laid on May 27th.

—The commissions for the holding of the first Lent Assizes at Norwich
were opened by Mr. Baron Bolland.

21.—Selections from the oratorios of “The Creation” and “Samson” were
performed at the Corn Exchange, Norwich, under the direction of Mr.
Mueller.  “The most remarkable feature of the evening’s performance was a
violin concerto by Master David Fisher.  With the exception of Paganini,
Kieswelter, and Mori, no such violin-playing has been heard within our
walls.”

22.—At the Norfolk Assizes, at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Bolland, Mary
Wright, aged 28, was found guilty of the murder of her husband and of
Richard Darby, by poisoning them at Wighton, and was sentenced to be
hanged on March 25th.  Pregnancy was pleaded, and a jury of matrons were
empanelled, who returned a verdict adverse to the prisoner.  By direction
of the Court, she was examined by Messrs. Crosse, Scott, and Johnson,
surgeons, upon whose certificate she was respited generally.  The
prisoner on July 11th gave birth to a female child, and sentence was
afterwards commuted to transportation for life.  The unfortunate woman
died in Norwich Castle on November 1st.

28.—The 7th Hussars commenced their march from Norwich to Glasgow.  The
Court of Mayoralty on the 16th passed a vote of thanks to the regiment
for the ready aid they had given to preserve the public peace, and
expressed their approbation of the conduct of the non-commissioned
officers and privates towards the inhabitants.  The Hussars were replaced
by the 3rd Light Dragoons.


APRIL.


1.—The Right Hon. Horatio, Earl of Orford, was elected High Steward of
Great Yarmouth, in place of Viscount Exmouth, deceased.

6.—A private still was discovered in a house in St. Faith’s Lane,
Norwich.  Fifteen gallons of spirits recently worked off were seized.
The owners of the still were fined £30 each, and in default of payment
were sentenced to three months’ imprisonment.

9.—A new steam carriage of 2-horse power was exhibited on Foundry Bridge
Road, Norwich.  It is said to have answered the expectations of the
inventor, Mr. Watts, of Rose Lane.

12.—Between 400 and 500 of the noblemen, gentlemen, and yeomanry of
Norfolk dined at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, in honour of Mr. Coke, upon
his retirement from the representation of the county.  H.R.H. the Duke of
Sussex presided.

18.—A trotting match for £50 took place between Mr. Brunning’s Queen of
Diamonds and Mr. Mendham’s Jack of Clubs, from Yarmouth Bridge, _via_
Beccles to Halesworth.  “The mare was driven in harness by her owner, who
weighs 16 st., and the horse was ridden by Mr. Mendham (11 st.).  Two
miles beyond Beccles the mare gave up.  The 15 miles from Yarmouth to
Beccles was done in 45 minutes, and the whole 25 miles in 1 hour 33
minutes, by Jack.”

24.—Died at his house at Greenwich, aged 76, Mr. P. J. Knights, for many
years a well-known shawl manufacturer at Norwich.  He served the office
of Sheriff in 1809.

27.—Fuller Pilch advertised himself as the proprietor of a public-house
and pleasure gardens on Bracondale Hill, Norwich, and as the lessee of
the Norwich Cricket Ground, in the management of which he was assisted by
his brother, William Pilch.

—It was announced that the county justices had hired the house of Mr.
Hawkes, Bethel Street, Norwich, as lodgings for his Majesty’s Judges of
Assize.

—Mdlle. Celeste commenced a six nights’ engagement at the Theatre Royal,
Norwich.  “For our latitude this lady exerts herself too much in the
pirouette, considering the approximation of spectators in a provincial
theatre to the stage.”


MAY.


1.—Mr. Alderman Samuel Bignold was elected Mayor of Norwich.

6.—Mr. and Mrs. Wood commenced a four nights’ engagement at Norwich
Theatre, prior to their departure to America.  They appeared in “The
Barber of Seville” and the musical farce of “The Quaker.”

7.—The horses of the Regulator coach, from Holt to London, started off at
full speed from Guist Post Office, during the temporary absence of the
coachman.  A girl had the presence of mind to close the tollgate, which
the horses attempted to leap, smashed it to atoms, and fell.  The animals
were severely injured, and the coach greatly damaged.

16.—Mr. Yates and Mrs. Waylett appeared at Norwich Theatre as Flutter and
Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”).  They afterwards acted in
“Clari” (opera), “Don Giovanni,” “The Four Sisters,” and “Midas’”
(burletta).  Mr. Yates also gave his entertainments, “Portraits and
Sketches” and “Views of Life.”


JUNE.


1.—On this date was published the first of the series of remarkable
accounts describing the ghostly visitations at Syderstone Parsonage, the
residence of the Rev. Mr. Stewart, curate, and rector of Thwaite.

3.—Died, aged 101, Richard Smith, of Swanton Morley.

18.—The Guild Day festivities at Norwich, on the occasion of the swearing
in as Mayor of Mr. Samuel Bignold, were attended by Viscount Stormont,
M.P., and Sir James Scarlett, M.P., the latter of whom took his oath as
an honorary freeman of the city.  The Mayor entertained 1,100 guests at
the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall, and upwards of 500 attended the
ball at the Assembly Rooms, where the dancing was opened by the Mayor and
Miss Wodehouse, daughter of the Lord Lieutenant.

19.—Two orange and purple banners, designed by a member of the College of
Arms, were presented by the Conservative ladies of Norwich to Viscount
Stormont, M.P., and Sir James Scarlett, M.P.  The ceremony took place at
the Guildhall, where a large company was entertained by the Mayor.

20.—Upwards of 750 electors in the “Orange and Purple” interest were
entertained at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  A second
contingent, numbering 1,000, dined there on the 21st.  Mr. W. J. Utten
Browne presided on both occasions, and Lord Stormont, M.P., was also
present.  The dinners were provided by public subscription.


JULY.


7.—During a severe thunderstorm “a fire-ball, apparently about the size
of a man’s head,” fell upon the thatched roof of the Black Tower, Butter
Hills, Norwich.  The middle and lower rooms, occupied by a person named
Brooks, and the upper storey, where a society of artisans assembled for
astronomical observations, were entirely consumed.  The society’s
valuable apparatus were destroyed.

15.—The resuscitated race meeting at Holkham was attended by 10,000
spectators.  The races were held on the sands.  “By the time the hunters’
stakes had been decided the tide was fast approaching, and the leading
people retired to a booth, where dinner was served, under the presidency
of Mr. Brown, of Pudding Norton.  The tide retiring, the company again
occupied the sands.”

17.—The Bishop of Lincoln, officiating for the Bishop of Norwich,
confirmed 2,000 persons at East Dereham church.  On the following day his
lordship administered the rite to 2,068 persons at Norwich Cathedral; and
on the 19th to 1,100 at Redenhall.

18.—A single wicket match between Fuller Pilch and T. Marsdon took place
on the Norwich Cricket Ground.  Pilch won, by 70 runs.  The return match
was played on Hyde Park Ground, Sheffield, on August 5th, when Pilch won
by 128 runs.

20.—The Norwich Court of Mayoralty elected Mr. W. J. Utten Browne to the
office of Sheriff.

—A duel was fought on the North Denes, Yarmouth.  “The combatants were
Mr. H. B--- and Mr. C. W---, the former seconded by Mr. J. B--- and the
latter by Mr. W. C---, of the medical profession in N---.  At the first
shot Mr. W.’s pistol missed, and his antagonist fired in the air; at the
second Mr. B. again fired in the air, and Mr. W. missed his aim.  Another
try took place, Mr. W. again missing and his antagonist firing as before.
At the fourth and last Mr. W.’s ball just grazed Mr. B.’s thumb, when the
parties appeared to have been satisfied, for they shortly after left the
ground.  The cause of the meeting arose at Maxim’s Marine Hotel on the
beach.”


AUGUST.


27.—Mr. Alderman Steward was elected freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.

29.—The Norwich Court of Guardians held a meeting to take into
consideration the suggestions contained in a letter received from the
Mayor (Mr. S. Bignold), for the establishment of a joint stock company
for spinning yarn on a scale calculated to give extensive employment to
the poor.  The subject was further considered at a meeting convened by
the Mayor at the Guildhall, on September 5th, when the Norwich Yarn
Company was formed, and by October 1st a capital of £26,000 had been
subscribed in shares of £100 each.  (_See_ February 27th, 1834.)

31.—A severe gale, which caused great damage to shipping, and resulted in
the loss of many lives, occurred on the Norfolk coast.  The Leith smack
Earl of Wemyss went ashore at Brancaster; a heavy sea broke into the
passengers’ cabin, and six ladies, a gentleman, and four children were
drowned.  Among the deceased were Miss Susan Roche, a young lady of great
musical ability, and sister of Mr. A. D. Roche, the composer.  (_See_
October 16th.)


SEPTEMBER.


17.—The Norfolk and Norwich Musical Festival (held on this occasion for
the benefit of the Hospital, the Blind Institution, the Eye Infirmary,
and the Dispensary) commenced at St. Andrew’s Hall.  The principal vocal
performers were Madame Malibran, Miss H. Cawse, Miss Bruce, Master Howe,
Madame De Meric, Signer Douzelli, Mr. Horncastle, Mr. Hobbs, Mr. E.
Taylor, and Mr. H. Phillips; conductor, Sir George Smart.  Selections
were given from “The Creation,” “The Last Judgment,” “The Deluge,” and
“Israel in Egypt.”  The Festival concluded on the 20th with a fancy dress
ball.  The total receipts were nearly £5,000, and the expenses about
£4,200.

20.—Died at Yaxham Rectory, the Rev. Dr. Johnson, rector of that parish,
with Welbourne annexed.  “He was the friend of Cowper, and editor of his
letters and posthumous works.”

30.—Died at Gorgate, near East Dereham, aged 77, the Rev. Thomas Crowe
Munnings, M.A., rector of Beetley-cum-East Bilney.  He was a well-known
and prominent agriculturist.

—The arrival of the City of Norwich trader and the Squire (London trader)
“rendered this date ever memorable in the history of the city by its
being the day on which Norwich became a port.”  These vessels, the first
that had entered the Norwich river direct from the sea by way of the New
Cut, were towed to the city from Surlingham Reach by a steam tug, with a
band playing and colours flying.  The river banks from Carrow “balance
bridge” to the Foundry were thronged by thousands of citizens, and at
Rudrum’s Wharf the City of Norwich was boarded by the Mayor (Mr. S.
Bignold) and several members of the Corporation.  The bells of St. Peter
Mancroft were rung, and the directors of the Norwich and Lowestoft
Navigation entertained a large company at dinner at the Rampant Horse
Inn.  The success of the day’s proceedings was marred by the drowning, in
Surlingham Reach, of a lad named Allerton, son of the master of the City
of Norwich.


OCTOBER.


4.—The first general meeting was held of the Harleston Agricultural
Society, established by the owners and occupiers of land, for the
encouragement of skill and for promoting and rewarding industry and good
conduct among cottagers, servants, and labourers.

5.—The head-mastership of Norwich Free Grammar School was rendered vacant
by the resignation of the Rev. T. Kidd.

13.—Died at Hethersett, aged 36, Mr. Elias Norgate, first secretary of
the Norfolk and Norwich Horticultural Society, the plan of which was
suggested by his father, Mr. Thomas Starling Norgate.

16.—An inquiry was opened by the magistrates at Docking, under authority
of the Secretary of State, “to ascertain for his own and the public
satisfaction whether there had been any loss of life by culpable
negligence or loss of property by dishonesty,” on the occasion of the
wreck of the Earl of Wemyss smack on Brancaster beach, on August 30th.
As a result of the inquiry, Mr. William Newman Reeve was committed for
trial on the charge of removing from the wreck certain property which he
alleged he was protecting on behalf of his father-in-law, who was lord of
the manor.  At the Norfolk Lent Assizes, held at Norwich before Mr. Baron
Vaughan on March 26th, 1834, the defendant was placed upon his trial, and
was defended by Sir James Scarlett, M.P.  His lordship, in directing an
acquittal, said the evidence had utterly failed; it was unnecessary for
Mr. Reeve to say anything in support of his character, for nothing had
been made out against him.  Amid applause in court the Judge added there
was not the slightest stain upon the accused.  Another case arising out
of the same wreck was tried at the Norfolk Summer Assizes, on July 30th,
1834, before Mr. Justice Bosanquet.  The accused, Robert Allen, Charles
Oakes, and James Ward were charged with feloniously taking certain
articles from the wreck.  The jury returned a verdict of not guilty.

21.—The West Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry commenced a week’s training at
King’s Lynn.

30.—Du Crow’s Circus Company commenced a season’s performances in a
wooden building on the Castle Meadow, Norwich.  It was known as “The
National Arena and Equestrian Studio,” and was the first of the temporary
buildings periodically erected in this locality for entertainments of the
kind.


NOVEMBER.


6.—Mr. William Dalrymple was presented with a valuable silver salver by
the Mayor, Sheriffs, citizens, and commonalty of Norwich, in
acknowledgment of the care and skill he had displayed in the performance
of his duties as surgeon to the Great Hospital and Doughty’s Hospital
during the period of 28 years.

9.—Died at St. Michael at Coslany, Norwich, Ann, widow of Leonard
Atkinson.  “She was born in this parish December 24th, 1728, and had
scarcely quitted it more than a week during the space of nearly 105
years.  Free from wrinkles and decrepitude, she possessed her faculties
unclouded till within a few months of her decease.”

13.—The 50th anniversary of the Norwich Public Library was celebrated by
a dinner at the White Swan, presided over by Dr. England, president of
the institution.

15.—A special assembly of the Norwich Corporation was held, to take into
consideration the application of Mr. George Long and Mr. John Buckle, two
of the Commissioners named in the Municipal Commission, for the
production of charters and other muniments of the Corporation.  A
resolution was passed stating that the Corporation had no wish to
withhold the information required, “but they protested against the
Commission as illegal and unconstitutional, and denied the right of the
Commissioners to make any inquiries.”  At the opening of the Commission,
on November 25th, the Sheriffs (Mr. W. J. Utten Browne and Mr. Edward
Steward) declined to attend or to allow any of their officers to give
evidence relative to the constitution of the Sheriffs Court, on the
ground that “a Commission issued by virtue of the Royal prerogative alone
was a process unknown to the law of England, and eminently hostile to
public liberty.”  The inquiry lasted twenty-two days, and concluded on
December 19th.

18.—Ducrow advertised the representation of a Spanish bull-fight at his
Norwich circus.  “To prevent any misconception on the part of visitors to
the arena, and at the same time to add to the surprising nature of the
performance, ladies and others are informed that the bull is impersonated
by one of Mr. Ducrow’s horses, tutored by him for the purpose, enveloped
in an elastic skin, and so managed as to deceive even the keenest eye.”

22.—Died at Guanajuato, Mexico, Lieutenant John Thomas Borrow, of the
West Norfolk Militia, eldest son of Captain Borrow, of Norwich.

28.—Mr. George Long, Municipal Commissioner, held an inquiry into the
affairs of the Corporation of Castle Rising.  Mr. F. Lane, of Lynn, the
Recorder, stated that he had no charter nor papers of any kind to
produce.  The Corporation consisted of a Recorder, Mayor, one alderman,
and a serjeant-at-mace.  The Mayor and alderman served in turn the office
of Chief Magistrate.  There were about 50 burgage tenants, and the
Corporation property was about £20 a year, arising from land, and with
the money the Mayor gave each year two dinners to the leet.  The
Corporation had no debts, no prison, and but one offence had been
committed in the borough for a number of years.


DECEMBER.


23.—Two leaden cases were dug up from a piece of ground at the east end
of Wymondham church.  One measured 6 ft 2 in. in length, and contained
the mummified remains of an adult female; the other, 16¼ inches in
length, a foetus of about the fourth month.  The examination of the
remains was conducted in the church on December 27th, by Mr. John
Dalrymple, of Norwich, in the presence of sixty scientific and medical
men.  “As the mummies were taken from the site of the original choir, the
female was most probably nearly allied to the founder of the abbey,
William De Abbay or Daubeny, who died in the year 1156.”

24.—An altar piece, copied from Rubens’ “Descent from the Cross,” and
about one-fourth the size of the original picture, presented to St
Peter’s church, Yarmouth, by Col. Mason, was on this day placed in
position under the personal superintendence of the donor.



1834.


JANUARY.


3.—The question of the restoration of the south and west faces of the
keep of Norwich Castle was discussed at the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, and
referred to the visiting justices, who recommended that it be undertaken;
and on May 17th the tender of Mr. Watson was accepted and the work
ordered to be proceeded with at once.  On July 28th a public meeting was
held at the Guildhall, “to take into consideration the expediency of
instituting an inquiry into the necessity for covering up the face of
such an antient relic with new building,” and a resolution moved by Mr.
Samuel Bignold, and seconded by Mr. Stevenson, expressing regret at the
“demolition,” and suggesting that an antiquary and architect be consulted
before it was further proceeded with, was unanimously adopted.  A
deputation was also appointed to wait upon the Gaol Committee.  At a
meeting of the county magistrates, on October 17th, it was decided to
employ Mr. Blore, a well-known architect and antiquary, “to survey and
report upon the present state of the Castle, and the best mode of
proceeding with the repairs.”  Mr. Blore reported on November 10th that
the masonry was in a very bad state; that the then face of the building
was not altogether original, but that the repairs and restorations it had
undergone at various periods had been closely assimilated with the
original work.  He recommended that what was needed to be done should be
judiciously incorporated with the ancient work.  It was finally decided,
on January 9th, 1835, that the visiting justices be authorised to
continue the work as originally intended, and that they be empowered to
consult Mr. Blore or any other architect they might think proper to
employ.

9.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation, a resolution was passed
protesting against any report that might be made by the Municipal
Commissioners respecting the Corporation, “based on statements so utterly
unfit to justify Parliament in legislating on so important a subject,”
and inviting the various Corporations throughout the kingdom “to make
common cause with them in endeavouring to defeat any design that might be
in contemplation for wresting from them their antient charters,
franchises, and liberties.”

12.—The organ of Norwich Cathedral was re-opened by Mr. Buck, after its
thorough reparation by Bishop, of Lisson Grove, London.  The sermon on
the occasion was preached by the Right Hon. and Rev. Lord Bayning.  The
instrument was the original work of Father Schmidt.

21.—The first of the Choral Concerts inaugurated “for the purpose of
obtaining a reserve fund for the support of the choral band at the
Musical Festival and for maintaining and keeping together the great body
of musical talent existing in the locality,” was held at St. Andrew’s
Hall, Norwich.

25.—During a performance by a company of comedians at Cley-next-the-Sea,
a pistol was fired, and the ramrod, which had been left in the barrel,
entered the side of an actor named Leary, who was badly injured.

27.—Mr. Frederick Vining, of Covent Garden and the Haymarket Theatres,
commenced a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, where he was formerly a
favourite actor.  His impersonations included Young Rapid (“A Cure for
the Heartache”), Martin Heywood (“The Rent-day”), Sidney Maynard (“The
Housekeeper”), Templeton (“Deaf as a Post”), Frank Bramble (“The Poor
Gentleman”), and Harry Villars (“Open House”).


FEBRUARY.


6.—Mr. Thomas Jefferson Hogg and Mr. John Buckle, Municipal
Commissioners, opened an inquiry at the Tolhouse Hall into the corporate
affairs of Yarmouth.  After sitting for 20 days the Commissioners
adjourned _sine die_.

14.—A _fête_ was given at Yarmouth Barracks by Captain Manby, “to mark
the close of the labours that had so long engaged his attention for
saving life.”  This was the twenty-seventh anniversary of “the saving of
the first crew by the projection of a rope from the shore by the force of
gunpowder, and thus effecting communication with a vessel on a lee shore.
By this expedient upwards of 600 British sailors have been saved.”

26.—Died at Lynn, Mr. Ezekiel Walker, aged 94.  He was for many years a
regular contributor to Nicholson and Tillock’s “Philosophical Magazine,”
and published a collection of his essays, chiefly on electrochemical
subjects.

27.—The ceremony of laying the first stone of the new Yarn Factory at
Norwich was performed by the Mayor (Mr. Bignold).  A procession, in which
were characters representing Bishop Blaize, shepherds and shepherdesses,
together with 80 wool combers, and many women and children, marched from
Lakenham to the site of the new building in St. Edmund’s.  The directors
and shareholders afterwards dined at the Norfolk Hotel.


MARCH.


11.—The lake at Scottow was drawn by Sir Henry Durrant, when five pike of
large size were captured.  The finest measured 4 ft. in length, 2 ft 3
in. in girth, and weighed 37 lbs.; the smallest was 3 ft 4 in. long, 20½
inches in girth, and weighed 18½ lbs.  They were all taken at one haul.

—Resolutions in favour of the repeal of the Malt Tax were passed at a
large meeting of the owners and occupiers of land in the Hundred of South
Erpingham, held at the Black Boys Inn, Aylsham, under the presidency of
Mr. Robert Marsham.  Similar meetings were held throughout the county,
and petitions were numerously signed in every Hundred.

22.—Miss Kelly appeared at Norwich Theatre in her entertainments,
“Dramatic Recollections,” “A Study of Character,” and “Mrs. Parthian at
Home.”


APRIL.


12.—William Thirkettle, 27; William Pye, 32; and Gilpin Reynolds, 24,
were executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, the first-named for the attempted
murder of his wife, and the others for arson.

14.—The two troops of the King’s Own Light Dragoons marched from Norwich
for Hampton Court and Kensington Barracks.

25.—The Yarmouth Port and Haven Bill was considered by the House of
Commons’ Committee, presided over by Mr. William Windham.  On the 28th
the petitioners announced the abandonment of the Bill.

30.—The Bishop of Rochester, officiating for the Bishop of Norwich (who
was then in his 90th year), confirmed 1,700 persons at North Walsham.  On
subsequent days 1,000 were confirmed at Holt, and 1,050 at Diss.

—Fifty-four convicts, sentenced at the County Assizes and Sessions to
transportation, were taken on board the Sarah (Capt. Moore), lying in
Norwich river.  “The hatchways were closed at twenty minutes after two in
the morning, and this London trader sailed immediately for Lowestoft,
which harbour was reached about eleven o’clock; in three hours the vessel
was out of sight and on her way to Portsmouth.  Their being sent off by
sea (through the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation) instead of by land
conveyance will be a very considerable saving of expense to the county of
Norfolk.”


MAY.


1.—Mr. Charles Turner and Mr. William Moore were returned to the Court of
Aldermen, who elected the former as Mayor of Norwich for the year
ensuing.

—May Day was celebrated at Lynn with the usual display of garlands and
devices emblematical of the season, by persons arrayed in fancy costumes.

5.—Two troops of the 2nd Queen’s Dragoon Guards, under the command of
Major Kearney, marched into Norwich Barracks from Nottingham, to relieve
the 3rd Dragoons, who, on the same day, marched for Ipswich.

8.—The leading postmasters of Norwich announced that they had reduced the
rate of posting to 1s. 4d. per mile.

13.—A petition to Parliament against the proposed measure for separating
religious instruction from the system of education hitherto prevailing at
the Universities was unanimously adopted at a meeting summoned by
requisition and held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of
the Mayor (Mr. Bignold).

16.—The dwelling-house, outbuildings, and corn stacks of Mr. Helsden
Larner, at North Walsham, were destroyed by fire.  A labourer named
Jeremiah Cutting was buried beneath the falling roof of the stable and
burned to death.

21.—The West Norfolk Agricultural Association held its first annual
meeting at Downham Market.  A second division of the society was formed
at Fakenham on June 19th.

26.—A new drama, entitled, “Sir Roger de Coverley, or the Old English
Gentleman,” written by Mr. G. Smith, second son of the manager, was
produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre.  It was described as “a
composition which exhibited talent of no common order.”

28.—The King’s birthday was observed in Norwich with great festivity.
The first business at the special Assembly of the Corporation was to pass
an address of congratulation to his Majesty, “praying him not to sanction
the proposed measure for admitting Dissenters to graduate in the
Universities of Oxford and Cambridge.”  The Mayor and Corporation then
went to service at the Cathedral, and at noon the Queen’s Bays fired a
_feu de joie_ in the Market Place.  The officers were entertained at the
Guildhall, the sum of £5 was distributed among the privates, and in the
evening the Mayor (Mr. Bignold) gave a dinner at Chapel Field House.

29.—Died at Hingham, aged 93, the Right Hon. Lord Wodehouse.  He was
elevated from a baronetcy to a seat in the House of Lords in 1797, after
having represented the county for many years.  His lordship was succeeded
in his title and estates by Col. Wodehouse, Lord Lieutenant of the
county.  The remains of the deceased nobleman were buried at Kimberley
with great pomp on June 9th.

31.—At the close of the Norwich theatrical season, Mr. George Smith
delivered an address, in which he lamented that “theatrical taste had of
late years declined in the city, either from commercial depression or
from the still more fatal growth of indifference.”


JUNE.


13.—Died at Southampton, aged 65, Rear-Admiral Manby, of Northwold.  He
was one of the companions of Captain Vancouver, in his voyage round the
world; was actively employed in conveying troops to Ireland at the time
of the Rebellion; and during the war with France commanded the
Bourdelais, Thalia, and Africaine frigates on various important services.
Admiral Manby was a native of Norfolk.

17.—Guild Day was observed in Norwich.  “When the civic procession
arrived at the west door of the Cathedral, the nine knocks were given
according to immemorial usage, and the Corporation passed in regular
order through the rush-strewn nave.”  The Latin oration at the porch of
the Free Grammar School was delivered by Fred Norgate, youngest son of
Mr. T. S. Norgate, of Hethersett; Mr. Charles Turner was sworn in as
Mayor at the Guildhall, and entertained 800 guests at the Guild feast
held at St. Andrew’s Hall.  The festivities concluded with a ball at the
Assembly Rooms.

18.—The great cricket match, Yorkshire _v._ Norfolk, for 100 gs. a side,
commenced on the Norwich ground, and was continued on the 19th.  Among
the players were Marsden, Dearman, and the three Pilches.  Norfolk: 1st
innings, 216 (Fuller Pilch 87); 2nd innings, 91.  Yorkshire: 1st innings,
37; 2nd innings, 97.  The return match was commenced on Hyde Park Ground,
Sheffield, on July 21st, when Yorkshire won by 123 runs.  Yorkshire: 1st
innings, 191; 2nd innings, 296.  Norfolk: 1st innings, 75; 2nd innings,
289.  Norfolk abandoned the match in consequence of the rain.  “Many
thought that with three bats to go in and Fuller Pilch still standing,
the game might have been won had there been the means of playing it out.”

21.—A severe thunderstorm occurred.  Many cattle were killed by
lightning, and the tower of Redenhall church sustained considerable
damage.

27.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 92, Mrs. Hannah Diboll, “the celebrated
twisterer, who had been accustomed from childhood to rise every morning
at four o’clock, and persevered in the practice till within two or three
years of her death.”


JULY.


12.—The public gaslamps in Norwich at this date numbered 423, and the
lighting of the city cost upwards of £2,000 per annum.

18.—Mr. Richard Hanbury Gurney, formerly one of the Parliamentary
representatives of Norwich, was presented with a massive silver
candelabrum, purchased with the subscriptions of 1,250 citizens, chiefly
of the working classes, “in testimony of their regard for his universal
benevolence and sincerity in upholding the just rights of mankind, and of
their admiration of his inflexible advocacy in the Senate to obtain for
his country a salutary reform in the House of Commons.”

19.*—“Died, a few days since, in his 62nd year, Mr. Philip Mallet Case,
of Testerton House.  On Sunday, July 13th, his remains were deposited in
the family vault at Dunton.  The procession from Testerton to the place
of interment was respectably and numerously attended, and it is computed
that there were no less than 3,000 persons present.”

26.—Died in Clarges Street, London, aged 30, Lord James Henry FitzRoy,
youngest son of the Duke of Grafton.  His lordship was a captain in the
10th Hussars, and had represented Thetford since 1831.

—*“One of the attractions at Norwich Theatre during the Assize week was
the unique and wonderful invention patented and exhibited by Mr. H.
Childe, called Dissolvent Views.”

26.*—“Died, last week, in the 105th year of her age, Mary Wratham, widow,
Downham Market.”

27.—Died at Litcham, Captain Thomas Edward Hoste, R.N., aged 40.  He was
fifth son of the Rev. Dixon Hoste, rector of Tittleshall and Godwick, and
commenced his career at the age of 13, on the Amphion, commanded by his
distinguished brother, Sir William Hoste.  In 1809 he joined the Spartan
frigate, served in the Mediterranean, Ireland, and South America, was
promoted Commander in 1825, and was for a short time employed in
coastguard service.

31.—The great doors at the west entrance to Norwich Cathedral were taken
down for restoration and repair.  “They had maintained their honourable
station upwards of 400 years, and had received nine times that number of
knocks on the Guild Day for the admission of the Corporation to Divine
service.”


AUGUST.


1.—The termination of slavery in the British possessions on this day was
celebrated by a “Negro Jubilee” _fête_, given at Sheringham by Mrs.
Upcher and her family, and by special services at the churches and
chapels in Norwich.

8.—The Earl of Euston was elected, unopposed, representative of the
borough of Thetford, in succession to Lord James FitzRoy, deceased.

—A case of great importance was tried by a special jury in the Sheriff’s
Court at Norwich.  John Burrows, a butcher, had refused to pay the
stallage charged by the Corporation for his meat stall in the Market
Place, on the ground that the patent of his freedom exempted him from
such charges.  The Corporation, in an action against him, recovered the
charges, which amounted to 16s. 4d., and defendant had suffered judgment
to go by default.  The special jury now found for the full amount
claimed.  Defendant resisted payment, and in the second week of September
was arrested by virtue of a special writ, taken to London, and by Mr.
Baron Alderson was committed to the Fleet Prison.  At a quarterly
assembly of the Corporation, on Sept. 22nd, Mr. William Wilde moved that
it be an instruction to the Market Committee not to collect stallage in
future from freemen selling provisions.  Burrows had acted on the advice
of the Municipal Commissioners in this matter, and these proceedings
would probably be his ruin.  The motion was negatived by 19 votes to 9.

9.*—“Workmen excavating at the lower part of the west side of Exchange
Street have found a number of human skulls and bones.  This was the site
of the church of St. Crowche or St. Cross, and the public-house by the
name of the Hole-in-the-Wall was built upon it.  The church was
demolished on October 14th, 1551, and the parish consolidated with St.
John Maddermarket.”

18.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which Mr. Gibbs,
C.E., explained the facilities and advantages of a projected railroad
from London to Dunmow, and thence to Norwich, with a branch to Cambridge,
and an ultimate extension to the North of England.  The length of line
from Whitechapel to Norwich would be 97 miles; the cost of construction
and compensation for land £1,000,000, and of machinery, depots, &c.,
£600,000.  On the motion of Mr. Samuel Bignold, a provisional committee
was formed for the purpose of promoting the object.  On August 30th
notice was given that application would be made in the next Session of
Parliament for the construction of “the grand Eastern Counties Railway”
from London to Norwich and Yarmouth, _via_ Romford, Chelmsford,
Colchester, Ipswich, and Eye, at the estimated cost of £1,500,000, to be
raised in 30,000 shares of £50 each.  A meeting was held at the Guildhall
on Sept. 13th, for the purpose of considering the expediency of forming a
railway from London to Norwich _via_ Bishop’s Stortford, Cambridge, and
Bury, to join the trunk of the Grand Northern Railway from London to
York, Leeds, and Hull.  Mr. William Cundy, C.E., described the plans,
stating that in less than 18 months the railway from London to Norwich
would be completed; and said that the estimated cost was £1,600,000.  A
local committee was appointed to enquire into the merits of the
respective schemes.  A public meeting of the county gentry and
representatives of the agricultural and commercial interests was held at
the Guildhall on October 16th, at which the committee reported that the
line proposed by Mr. Gibbs was best entitled to the support of the city
and county.

26.—Mr. John Marshall was elected freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich by 817
votes, as against 585 recorded for Mr. John Culley.

31.—A terrible panic took place at St. Margaret’s church, Lynn, owing to
the failure of the gas.  A rush was made for the doors, and a lad who
fell from the organ loft received dreadful injuries.


SEPTEMBER.


6.—Died, aged 85, Mrs. Bray, wife of Mr. Thomas Bray, “proprietor of the
Diss and Norwich waggons to Ipswich, which have regularly travelled from
the Star in the Market Place, Diss, to the Star in the Market Place,
Norwich, under the name of Bray, for more than a century and a half.”

10.—Died, aged 77, Mr. Edmund Reeve, of St. Augustine’s, Norwich.  He
served the office of Sheriff in 1796.

15.—On the Abbey Farm, Thetford, Sir Richard Sutton, Bart., in the
presence of a large gathering of sportsmen, killed in seven hours 222
head of partridges, in 246 shots.


OCTOBER.


6.—At the Guildhall, Norwich, John Cozens, merchant, and Joseph Colman,
solicitor, were summoned by George Arthur Dye for endeavouring, by
threatening to prosecute an action in the Court of King’s Bench, for
supposed acts of bribery alleged to have been committed by the
complainant, to extort from him a large sum of money, viz., the sum which
he (Cozens) had expended in petitioning the House of Commons against the
return of Lord Viscount Stormont and Sir James Scarlett, as members of
Parliament for Norwich.  The defendants were committed for trial, and at
the adjourned Quarter Sessions for the city, on October 28th, a true bill
was found against them.  They entered into recognisances to appear at the
Lent Assizes, which were held in March, 1835, before Mr. Baron Vaughan,
when the case was settled without proceeding to trial.

9.—The Hall Concert Room, St. George’s Bridge Street, Norwich, was sold
by auction.  It was afterwards converted into a carpenter’s workshop.
“The Hall Concert Society, after existing for upwards of half a century,
has been dissolved.  Without the assistance of this amateur musical
society, the Norwich Musical Festival, and its most prominent feature,
the chorus, would never have been called into existence.”

11.*—“Died, lately, at Swainsthorpe, aged 75, Robert Utting, commonly
called ‘Blind Bob.’  He could find any place to which he was sent in
Norwich, and was for more than 50 years postman from that city to
Swainsthorpe.”

27.—The Pilot coach was on its journey from Norwich to Lowestoft, with
eight outside and two inside passengers, when the leader of the unicorn
team became restive, on Bracondale Hill, and turning sharply into
Martineau’s Lane, overturned the vehicle.  Mr. Benson Rathbone, of
Geldeston, one of the passengers, sustained a fracture of the skull, from
which he died an hour afterwards, at the Pine Apple public-house, at
Trowse.  Several other passengers were injured.


NOVEMBER.


4.—The members of the Orange and Purple Club (president, Mr. W. J. Utten
Browne), at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, presented a piece of silver plate
to Mr. A. A. H. Beckwith, in recognition of his important services to the
Conservative cause.

19.—At the Guildhall, Norwich, Mr. Samuel Bignold was presented with a
silver candelabrum, valued at £200, “to perpetuate the remembrance of his
ability and independence as a magistrate, his munificent hospitality, and
his important public services.”

—The Hon. W. H. Beresford and Mr. W. M. Praed were adopted Conservative
candidates at Yarmouth.  Mr. Beresford afterwards withdrew in favour of
Mr. Thomas Baring.

26.—The annual meeting of the Norfolk and Norwich Museum was held for the
first time “in the new building in Exchange Street,” which was informally
opened on that occasion.

29.—The Rev. A. Sedgwick, M.A., F.R.S., Woodwardian Professor in the
University of Cambridge, was installed a Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral.


DECEMBER.


2.—A meeting of Nonconformists was held at Edwards’ Room, Orford Hill,
Norwich, in defence of their civil and religious liberty.  Alarm was
expressed at the dismissal of Lord Melbourne and his colleagues from
office, and at the management of the affairs of State “being consigned to
individuals who had proved themselves the enemies of Reform and of the
claims of Protestant Dissenters.”  The Hon. Edward Vernon Harbord was
requested to become a candidate for the representation of Norwich.

5.—Died at his house in St. Giles’, Mr. William Simpson, Town Clerk of
Norwich and Treasurer of the County.

8.—Died at Carlton Hall, Mr. Thomas Marsham.  “He commenced farming with
slender means, and notwithstanding his liberality to the labourers on his
estate, and his hospitality to his brother farmers, he accumulated a
property of near £30,000.”

13.*—“Died, last week, Mr. Richard Mingay, well known in Norwich as a
violin player.  He was a man of many and very versatile talents, which,
among other modes, have been displayed upon the stage in the character of
Crack, in ‘The Turnpike Gate,’ which he performed with great humour.”

15.—At a special assembly of the Common Council, Mr. Beckwith, City
Chamberlain, was elected Town Clerk of Norwich; Mr. Skipper, Speaker of
the Common Council, was appointed City Chamberlain; and Mr. James Winter
was elected Speaker.

17.—The Orange and Purple Club entertained 768 Conservative voters at
dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  It was announced by the Mayor that
Sir James Scarlett, M.P., had been appointed Lord Chief Baron of the
Exchequer.  Lord Stormont and Mr. Robert Campbell Scarlett, the
prospective candidates for the city, were received with great enthusiasm.
On the 18th dinner was served to 1,004 Conservative electors.  Mr. W. J.
Utten Browne presided on both occasions.

20.—Mr. Richard Hanbury Gurney and Mr. W. Windham were announced to be
the “Blue and White” candidates for East Norfolk.  The former gentleman
addressed the merchants at the Norwich Corn Exchange.  Lord Stormont and
Mr. Scarlett also spoke, and were attacked by a disorderly crowd.  Mr.
Gurney went to the assistance of his lordship.  On the 22nd Mr. Edward
Butcher was ordered by the magistrates to find sureties for having taken
part in the disturbance.  At a subsequent meeting of the Orange and
Purple Club, Lord Stormont acknowledged the “honourable conduct” of Mr.
Gurney.

24.—Died at Cork, Major-General Sir Robert Travers, elder brother of Sir
Eaton Travers, of Ditchingham Lodge, and of Major Travers, of Hedenham
Hall.  He was riding in Patrick Street, Cork, when his horse was
frightened by the band of Wombwell’s Menagerie.  The general was thrown,
and received fatal injuries.

27.—The Hon. E. V. Harbord and Mr. Frank Offley Martin were adopted
Liberal candidates for the representation of Norwich.



1835.


JANUARY.


5.—Yarmouth Election—T. Baring (C), 777; W. M. Praed (C), 768 (elected).
Hon. Col. Anson (L), 680; C. E. Rumbold (L), 675.

6.—Norwich Election—Lord Viscount Stormont and the Hon. Robert Campbell
Scarlett, Conservatives; the Hon. E. Vernon Harbord and Mr. Francis
Offley Martin, Liberals, were nominated, and polling commenced on the
same date.  The books remained open until 5.30 p.m. on the 7th, when the
result was declared as follows:—Stormont, 1,892; Scarlett, 1,878
(elected).  Harbord, 1,592; Martin, 1,585.

7.—Lynn Election—The polling commenced on this date, and concluded on the
8th.  Lord George Bentinck, 531; Sir Stratford Canning, 416 (elected);
Sir John S. Lillie, 238.

12.—The nomination of candidates for the representation of West Norfolk
took place at Swaffham.  Mr. William Bagge, the Conservative candidate,
was escorted to the town by a procession, headed by the hunting
establishment of Mr. Henry Villebois.  Sir William ffolkes and Sir Jacob
Astley were accompanied by Mr. T. W. Coke and numerous supporters.  A
dispute arose between Lord Charles Townshend and Sir Jacob Astley, who
were ordered by the justices to enter into their recognisances to keep
the peace towards each other.  The polling commenced on January 15th, at
Swaffham, Downham, Fakenham, Lynn, Thetford, and East Dereham, and closed
on the 16th.  The poll was declared on the 19th.—ffolkes, 2,299; Astley,
2,134; Bagge, 1,880.  The two first-named were elected.

17.—The nomination of candidates for the East Norfolk Division took place
at Norwich.  Lord Walpole and Mr. Wodehouse, Conservatives, entered the
city by St. Giles’ Gates, escorted by between three hundred and four
hundred horsemen; Mr. W. Windham and Mr. R. H. Gurney (Liberals) rode at
the head of 196 mounted supporters.  The polling commenced on the 20th,
at Norwich, Yarmouth, Long Stratton, and Reepham, and concluded on the
21st.  The poll was declared on the 23rd, as follows:—Walpole, 3,188;
Wodehouse, 3,474; Windham, 3,089; Gurney, 2,879.  The two first-named
were elected.

—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty, Mr. Alderman Bignold read a letter
from the Right Hon. Lord Abinger, Baron of Abinger in the county of
Surrey and of the city of Norwich, intimating his lordship’s desire that
the Mayor and Corporation would permit him to take as the supporters of
his arms the supporters of the arms of the city.  The Court unanimously
granted the request.  It was also announced that his lordship had
appointed as his chaplain the Rev. Charles Turner, son of the Mayor.

27.—The supporters of Messrs. Harbord and Martin, to the number of 900,
were entertained at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall by leading persons of the
Liberal party.  On the 28th 1,000 were similarly entertained.  Mr. W.
Foster presided on both occasions, and on the second day Mr. Martin
delivered a speech of two hours’ duration.


FEBRUARY.


7.—A “moveable panorama” of the Liverpool and Manchester Railway, painted
by Mr. Thorne, was exhibited at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.

19.—Married, Mr. J. V. Jermay, of Wroxham, to Mrs. Sarah Landimore, of
the same place.  “The above-named female has been twice married, having
entered the matrimonial state at the age of 14.  She became a widow at
15, and is now a wife again at 17.”

23.—Died, at New Lakenham, aged 66, Mr. William Cole, the author of
“Rural Months,” and other poems.

24.—The Corporation of Norwich voted the honorary freedom of the city to
the Hon. Robert Campbell Scarlett, M.P.

—A committee was appointed by the Corporation of Norwich to prepare a
memorial to the Postmaster-General, for an acceleration of the mail coach
service.  A letter was received from Lord Stormont, M.P., on March 27th,
stating that the Postmaster-General had made the following arrangements:
the Norwich and Yarmouth letters to go by the Ipswich mail instead of by
the Newmarket coach, the Ipswich mail to arrive at Norwich at 7.30 a.m.,
and to leave Norwich at 7 p.m.

28.—Died at his residence in Portman Square, London, aged 78, the Right
Hon. and Rev. Earl Nelson, Duke of Bronte, “brother of the hero of
Trafalgar.”  The title and estates descended to Mr. Thomas Bolton, jun.,
son of Susannah Nelson, sister of the first two Earls, and of Thomas
Bolton, who was born in 1786, and married, in 1821, Elizabeth, daughter
and sole heir of John Maurice.


MARCH.


14.*—“At Didlington Hall, the only place in England at which the antient
amusement of flying hawks at herons is practised, it has been customary
to turn off the birds taken alive, with a ring attached to one leg,
showing the time and place at which they were captured.  In a late
Bristol paper there is an account of a heron having been shot near
Carmarthen with a ring round one leg having the inscription: ‘Major
Wilson, Didlington Hall, Norfolk, 1822.’”


APRIL.


3.—Lord Chief Baron Abinger, one of the Judges of Assize at Norwich, was
waited upon at the Judges’ lodgings, in Bethel Street, by the Mayor and
Corporation, and presented with an address, on this his first visit to
the city in a judicial capacity.

4.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Mr. Justice Vaughan, Johnstone Wardell,
aged 23, a bank clerk, was charged with embezzling the sum of £1,431 18s.
7d. belonging to the Governor and Company of the Bank of England.  Mr.
Kelly was retained for the defence at the fee of 100 gs., and, after a
trial lasting ten hours, the jury acquitted the prisoner.  The defence
was that the accused had been knocked down and robbed of the money on the
Castle Ditches.  A few months afterwards he confessed his guilt and
refunded the full amount.

7.—Three hundred emigrants left Yarmouth Quay by the Baltic (Captain
Newson), Venus (Captain Simmons), and Wellington (Captain Gilham), for
Quebec.  The Shannon sailed from Lynn for Quebec on April 16th, with 90
emigrants.

18.—James Clarke, aged 20, was executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for
setting fire to a wheat stack at Buxton.  “The most singular feature
attending the execution was that an old man named Wyer, a person well
known for his eccentricities, declared on the Hill that he would take the
sufferer’s place for five shillings.  The man made good his word, went
home and hanged himself.”

20.—Mr. Macready commenced a four nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre
in the part of Macbeth.  His other impersonations included Hamlet,
Virginius, Werner, and Puff (“The Critic”).  On the 23rd an outrage was
committed by a person who “threw a chemical substance capable of
ignition, in different parts of the building.”  A reward of 20 gs. was
offered for the apprehension of the offender.

25.—The West Norfolk and Lynn Hospital, designed by Mr. Angel and built
by Mr. Sugars, was opened for the reception of patients.

—A troop of the 6th Inniskilling Dragoons arrived at Norwich Barracks,
and were followed by two other troops of the same regiment, from
Sheffield and Nottingham.


MAY.


1.—Mr. Moore and Mr. Steward were returned to the Norwich Court of
Aldermen for election as Mayor.  The first-named was chosen.

4.—The 2nd Dragoon Guards marched from Norwich Barracks, on their way to
Liverpool, for embarcation for Dublin.  The Mayor and Corporation
testified to the excellent conduct of the regiment, and expressed regret
at their departure.

—The Norwich Corporation agreed not to dispose of the old City Gaol
without reserving a portion of the site for the purposes of the Norwich
Public Library.  On September 21st a lease was granted of part of the
site (70 ft. by 70 ft.) to the trustees of the Library for the term of 99
years, at the annual rent of £1, “for the erection of a library room or
other building connected therewith.”  At a special meeting of the
subscribers, on October 29th, the contract of Messrs. Darkins and Blake
for the erection of the new building, at the total cost of £1,820, was
confirmed, and it was decided to raise the amount in shares of £5 each.

—The honorary freedom of the city was voted by the Corporation of Norwich
to Lord Walpole, M.P., and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P.  Both gentlemen
were sworn in on May 8th.

5.—Died of dysentery at Calcutta, aged 70, Mr. Thomas Hoseason, formerly
of Banklands, near Lynn.

6.—Died, aged 69, at Furnival’s Inn, Mr. Linley, “son of the writer of
the music in ‘The Duenna,’ and brother of the first Mrs. Sheridan and of
the Rev. O. T. Linley, formerly of Norwich Cathedral.  He was a good
composer and excellent judge of music.”

8.—A dinner, attended by 650 guests, was given at St. Andrew’s Hall,
Norwich, to celebrate the establishment at the Rampant Horse Inn of the
East Norfolk Conservative Association.  The Earl of Orford presided.
Prior to the dinner the members of the association proceeded to the
Guildhall, to witness the swearing in of Lord Walpole and Mr. Wodehouse
as hon. freemen of Norwich.

9.—Died, aged 66, Mr. William Blanchard, “the celebrated comedian,
formerly of the Norwich Company.”

11.—Mr. Butler, of Covent Garden, appeared at Norwich Theatre in the part
of Hamlet.  He performed on subsequent evenings the parts of Coriolanus
and David Duvigne (“The Hazard of the Die”).

18.—The Bill for renewing the Yarmouth Port and Haven Act, which would
otherwise have expired in 1836, went into Committee in the House of
Commons, and was finally agreed to by all parties.

25.—Died in Norwich, aged 67, Mr. George Lindley, author of the “Guide to
the Orchard and Kitchen Garden, “ &c., and father of Dr. Lindley,
Professor of Botany at the Royal Institution and the University of
London.

26.—Died at his house in Magdalen Street, Norwich, aged 91, Mr. Barnabas
Leman, who was elected Alderman in 1797, Sheriff in 1804, and twice
served the office of Mayor, 1813-1818.

27.—Captain Sir Edward Parry, R.N., the celebrated navigator, made an
official visit to Norwich, on his appointment as an Assistant
Commissioner under the new Poor Laws Amendment Act.

29.—At the Guildhall, Norwich, John Pilgrim, described as an attorney,
was charged before Mr. Samuel Bignold and Mr. E. T. Booth with embezzling
the sum of £6 13s. belonging to his employers, Messrs. Sewell, Blake,
Keith, and Blake, solicitors.  The case was adjourned till Saturday, the
30th, and the hearing lasted till midnight.  On Sunday, the 31st, the
magistrates again sat, and remanded the defendant in custody.  On June
1st it was stated that Mr. Parraman, Governor of the City Gaol, had
handed the prisoner over to the custody of the Serjeant-at-Arms of the
House of Commons, on a warrant from the Speaker.  The Bench then
adjourned the hearing _sine die_.  In order to explain these proceedings,
it is necessary to state the following facts:—A petition had been
presented against the return of Mr. Dundas and Mr. Kelly as members for
Ipswich, and the Committee of the House of Commons, in reporting the
election void, passed a series of special resolutions to the effect that
John Pilgrim and others were guilty of bribery and of absconding to avoid
the Speaker’s warrant; that Pilgrim, having at length been served, was
prevented attending the Committee by being arrested on a charge of
embezzlement, and that the conduct of the magistrates before whom he was
charged appeared to the Committee to be a breach of the privileges of the
House.  On June 29th it was moved that the committing magistrates be sent
to Newgate, but instead they were ordered to attend before the House on
July 3rd.  That order was discharged, and the inquiry was referred to the
same Select Committee that was to investigate the charges against
Pilgrim’s employers.  At the Norwich Assizes on August 8th, before Mr.
Baron Bolland, the bill in the case of embezzlement was respited to the
next court.  A meeting of the Norwich Corporation was held on September
21st, at which a vote of thanks was accorded to Mr. Bignold and Mr. Booth
“for the performance of their duty as magistrates, which led to their
being summoned before the Committee of the House of Commons on the charge
of alleged breach of privileges of the House,” and it was ordered that
their expenses in London be defrayed by the city.  (_See_ March 29th,
1836. )

31.—Died at his house in Bedford Square, London, Mr. William Smith,
formerly one of the representatives of Norwich in Parliament.  Mr. Smith
was first elected member for the city in 1802, and retired in 1830.


JUNE.


3.—Mr. Beacham, a favourite actor at Norwich Theatre, took his final
leave of the stage after a service of more than half a century.

6.—The erection of gas works at East Dereham commenced.

10.—A new drama, entitled, “The Puritan’s Sister,” written by Mr. George
Smith, was produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre.

14.—Died at Brighton, aged 72, Sir John Harrison Yallop, an alderman of
Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1805, and of Mayor in 1815
and 1831.

15.—Sir Edward Parry, R.N., attended a meeting of the Norwich Court of
Guardians, and laid before them the views and intentions of the Poor-law
Commissioners.  Sir Edward also visited other unions in the district.

16.—Guild Day was celebrated in Norwich for the last time.  The civic
procession to the Cathedral was headed by the regalia borne by the
respective officers on horseback.  “Snap,” too, made his final
appearance.  Chambers, the senior boy at the Free Grammar School, under
the Rev. Henry Banfather, delivered the Latin oration, and was presented
with five guineas’ worth of books by the Mayor-elect (Mr. Moore), who
made a similar present to Norgate, the orator on the preceding Guild Day.
In the course of the proceedings at the Guildhall, it was decided to
petition the House of Lords against the Bill to provide for the
regulation of Municipal Corporations in England and Wales.  Eight hundred
guests attended the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall, and a ball was
given at the Assembly Rooms in the evening.

19.—Mr. Richard Shaw was elected an alderman of the Northern Ward,
Norwich, in succession to Sir J. H. Yallop, deceased.  He polled 345
votes, as against 109 recorded for his opponent, Mr. J. Winter.

26.—Petitions were presented from Yarmouth, complaining that bribery had
been practised at the election of members for that borough.  They were
not election petitions; they did not complain of the return; and did not
impute bribery to the members or their agents.  But it was alleged that
two guineas had been paid to many of the voters at the house of a person
who had been an active partisan of the sitting members.  The petitions
were referred to a Committee of the House.  On July 30th the Chairman of
the Committee reported that Mr. Prentice, one of the witnesses, refused
to answer certain questions, on the ground that the answers would
incriminate himself.  He was sent to Newgate on August 6th.  On the same
day the Chairman reported that three other witnesses, Messrs. Preston,
Lacon, and Green, had refused to answer any questions at all.  Mr.
Preston was brought to the bar and informed by the Speaker that the House
had decided he was bound to submit to be examined by the Committee
without prejudice to his right to object to any questions, the answers to
which might tend to criminate himself.  Mr. Preston and Messrs. Lacon and
Green attended the Committee.  They objected to the very first question
which at all tended to bear on the matter, because, they said, the
answers might criminate them.  The Committee agreed that the answers
would have that tendency, and discharged the witnesses from further
attendance.  On August 11th Mr. Prentice was likewise discharged from
Newgate, and on his arrival at Yarmouth, on August 14th, was welcomed by
a large crowd, who escorted his carriage through the town, with a band
playing.  At the Norfolk Assizes, on March 31st, 1836, before Mr. Justice
Parke, Messrs. Preston, Green, and Lacon were charged with the alleged
acts of bribery, but each case was disposed of without one of the persons
against whom the charges were preferred being required to enter upon any
defence whatever.

29.—In consequence of the general recommendation of the Poor-law
Commissioners that the allowances to the “surplus poor” be made in kind,
instead of in money, the labourers at Great Bircham and Bircham Tofts
struck work, and caused a riot, upon the ground that labourers had been
imported from neighbouring villages.  The houses of Mr. Ketton and Mr.
Hebgin were attacked, and the Melton and Rainham troops of Yeomanry
Cavalry were called out to quell the disturbance.  The preventive men
from the coast and the 6th Inniskillings from Norwich were also summoned.
At Walsingham Quarter Sessions, on July 10th, several persons were
sentenced to terms of imprisonment for participating in the riot.


JULY.


6.—The Royal Mail coach from Yarmouth (through Norwich) to Birmingham
commenced running.  “In equipment and management this coach is not
excelled by any in the kingdom.”

—Died at Vernon House, London, from the effects of injuries received by a
fall from his horse in St. James’s Park, on June 30th, the Right Hon.
Lord Suffield, aged 54.  The intelligence arrived at North Walsham at the
time fixed for the celebration of his lordship’s birthday by a dinner at
the King’s Arms Inn.  The body of the deceased nobleman reached Norwich
on July 15th, and remained at the Rampant Horse Inn that night.  On the
following day it was conveyed to Gunton, and buried in the chapel in the
park.

14.—A handbill was circulated in Norwich announcing that “the Dutch
Hercules, Mynheer Kousewinkeler van Raachboomstadt, professor of
gymnastics and Maître des Armes to the 5th Regiment of Royal Jaagers,”
would give his “celebrated series of gymnastic exercises” in Chapel
Field.  Some thousands of persons were hoaxed.


AUGUST.


1.—Mr. Charles Kemble made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre in the
character of Julian St. Pierre (“The Wife”).  During the remaining nights
of his engagement he performed the parts of Benedict, Mercutio, Colonel
Freelove (“The Day after the Wedding”), Octavian (“The Mountaineers”),
Petruchio, and Charles Surface.  He afterwards visited Yarmouth.

6.—Evidence was given before the House of Lords in opposition to the
Municipal Reform Bill by Mr. E. T. Booth, Col. Harvey, Mr. Isaac Preston
(Recorder), and Mr. E. Newton, of Norwich.  A petition, adopted at a
meeting of the freemen on July 11th, and signed by 1,600 persons of both
parties, had already been presented, praying their lordships “to preserve
to Norwich the privileges granted by the charters of 700 years ago.”  The
Bill was passed on September 9th, and on October 3rd the NORFOLK
CHRONICLE stated: “St. Michael ‘shone no festive holiday’ either at
Norwich, Lynn, or Yarmouth.  For many centuries until this _annus
mirabilis_ of _Liberalism_ the Sheriffs of Norwich (from 1403), the
Mayors of Lynn (from 1268) and of Yarmouth (from 1684), were sworn into
office on new Michaelmas day. . . .  Under the new Act the present Mayors
and Sheriffs are to continue to hold their respective offices until
January 1st next, and their immediate successors—_one_ Sheriff until the
first, and the Mayors until the 9th of November, on which days the
elections of Sheriffs and Mayors of boroughs will in future take place.”

7.—At the Norfolk Assizes, before Mr. Justice Bolland, Frances Billing,
aged 46, and Catherine Frarey, aged 40, were found guilty of the murder
of Mary Taylor, of Burnham Westgate, by administering arsenic to her.
They were also convicted of the murder of Robert Frarey, husband of the
last-named prisoner.  The execution took place on the Castle Hill,
Norwich, on August 10th.  Frarey was dressed in deep mourning for her
husband, and wore a widow’s cap.  They held each other by the hand when
upon the scaffold.  “The silence which had hitherto pervaded the immense
concourse who stood intently gazing on this dreadful exhibition was
broken by a piercing shriek when the drop fell; then all was still
again.”  Mrs. Billing had had eleven children, eight of whom were living
at the time of the execution.  Both women had been in the habit of
consulting reputed witches at Burnham and Sall (_See_ April 1st, 1836.)

14.—Died, aged 79, Mr. William Mason, of Necton.  “He was accomplished in
literature, and was one of the favourite scholars of the late Dr. Parr.”

22.—Died, aged 78, the Hon. George Walpole, second son of Horatio, first
Earl of Orford and fourth Lord Walpole of Walpole.  He commanded the
troops employed in suppressing the rebellion of the Maroons in Jamaica.
On his retirement from the Army he went into Parliament, and was
Under-Secretary of State during the Fox Administration in 1806.

23.—Died, aged 65, Mr. Francis Stone, architect, Norwich, and for nearly
30 years Surveyor of the County of Norfolk.

25.—The last election for the office of freemen’s Sheriff took place at
Norwich.  Mr. Paul Squire was returned, with 829 votes.  Mr. Edward
Willett, his opponent, polled 437.


SEPTEMBER.


18.—At nine o’clock in the morning, Mr. Green, the aeronaut, who had
ascended in his balloon from Vauxhall Gardens, London, at six o’clock in
the evening of the 17th, descended between North Runcton and Hardwick,
about a mile from Lynn South Gates.

22.—The Duchess of Kent and Princess Victoria, on their way from Burleigh
House, Stamford, to Holkham Park, on a visit to Mr. Coke, passed through
Lynn, and were received with great enthusiasm.  The horses were removed
from the Royal carriage, which was dragged through the town to the Duke’s
Head Inn.  The relay of horses having been sent towards Gaywood, the
populace drew the carriage, amid most loyal demonstrations, to the
eastern boundary of the town, where the horses were put to and the
journey resumed.  At Holkham the preventive service formed a guard of
honour, and the whole of the tenantry were in attendance.  On the 23rd
their Royal Highnesses were presented by the inhabitants of Wells with a
loyal address, to which the Duchess of Kent graciously replied.  Their
Royal Highnesses left Holkham on the 24th for the seat of the Duke of
Grafton at Euston, and passed through Swaffham, where the race meeting
was delayed in order to give the large concourse the opportunity of
greeting their future Sovereign.


OCTOBER.


6.—The Young Company’s yawl Increase was launched from Yarmouth beach at
one p.m., with a crew of eight hands, Budds (a pilot), and a Mr. Layton.
It went to the assistance of a brig flying a signal of distress.  Layton
and one of the men remained on board the brig.  The yawl, when returning
to shore, was capsized in a squall, and seven of the crew drowned.  Two,
named Brock and Emmerson, swam for their lives.  Emmerson sank, but Brock
continued swimming until he reached Corton Bay, where he was picked up by
a vessel after he had been seven hours in the water and had swum fourteen
miles.

10.—The Revising Barristers (Mr. S. Gazelee and Mr. W. A. Collins)
commenced an inquiry at Norwich as to the settlement of the new municipal
boundaries.  On the 13th they announced that they had decided to arrange
the city in eight wards, based upon the relative proportions of property
and population.

13.—At a convivial meeting at the Three Turks public-house, Charing
Cross, Norwich, William Cork, an artisan, was singing “the well-known
song written on the death of General Wolfe,” and after repeating the
words, “And I to death must yield,” fell down and, to the consternation
of the company, instantly expired.

23.—At a meeting held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, under the presidency
of Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., M.P., it was agreed that the line of railway
most advantageous to Norfolk and Norwich was that proposed by Mr. James
Walker, engineer, from Yarmouth to Norwich and thence to Cambridge and
London.  A similar opinion was expressed at meetings held at Yarmouth on
October 30th and at Thetford on November 3rd.

28.—The libraries, works of art, curiosities, &c., of Captain Marryat,
C.B., were sold by auction at his residence, Langham, near Holt.
“Captain Marryat has broken up his establishment in Norfolk as his
devotion to literature will oblige him to reside constantly in London.”


NOVEMBER.


1.—Died at his house, Buckworth, near Romsey, the Right Hon. Earl Nelson,
aged 50.  He was born at St. Michael-at-Plea, Norwich, and married, in
1821, Frances Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Mr. John Maurice, and
was succeeded in his titles and estates by his eldest son, Horatio Bolton
Nelson, Viscount Trafalgar, aged 12 years.

9.—The schooner Harriet, on her passage from St. Petersburg to Liverpool,
was lost, with her crew of eight hands, off Hunstanton.  “The wreckage
washed ashore was immediately broken up, and part of it converted to
private purposes.  It is shocking to contemplate the lawless scrambling
of the wreckers of this coast to obtain possession of their prey, in
which they appear to be encouraged by the conduct of persons whose
especial duty it is to prevent rather than to encourage the abominable
plunder here carried on.”

14.—Extensive flour mills at Hardingham, occupied by Messrs. Taylor and
Tingay, were destroyed by fire.

27.—Mr. Charles Turner, Deputy-Mayor of Norwich, was presented with a
piece of plate by the subscribers who had placed his portrait in St.
Andrew’s Hall.  The portrait was painted by H. P. Briggs, R.A.


DECEMBER.


1.—Messrs. Collins and Gazelee, revising barristers, commenced at Norwich
the first revision of the municipal voters’ lists.

7.—A fine male specimen of the sea eagle was shot at Hunstanton Hall.
The crop and stomach contained 15 herring; the wings from tip to tip
measured 7 ft. 3 in.

9.—Professor Sedgwick commenced his course of lectures on geology at the
Norfolk and Norwich Museum.  Upwards of 200 new subscribers added their
names, in order to have the privilege of attending.

15.—Died at his uncle’s house, Lancaster Place, London, Mr. James Smith,
surgeon, son of the manager of Norwich Theatre.

22.—The first general meeting of the proprietors of the East of England
Bank was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, the Mayor (Mr. W. Moore)
presiding.

—Forty _amateurs de bonne chère_ presented Mr. William Snow, “the Ude of
Norwich,” with a silver gridiron, on the occasion of his 64th birthday.

24.—The new Octagon chapel at Diss was opened.  Sermons were preached by
the Revs.  J. Alexander and J. B. Innes, of Norwich.

26.—The first elections under the new Municipal Reform Act took place at
Norwich.  The polling commenced at eight polling-places at nine o’clock,
and closed at four o’clock, “when the Mayor went round to the different
departments and received the boxes from his deputies.”  The method of
voting was thus described: “The voters delivered to the deputies their
signed lists containing the names of the candidates for whom they gave
their suffrages.  A clerk entered the name of the voter and the
candidates in a book, and the list was then deposited in a box by the
deputy.”  The election resulted in the return of the Whig-Radicals by a
majority of eight.



1836.


JANUARY.


1.—The first quarterly meeting of the new City Council was held at the
Guildhall, Norwich.  Mr. T. O. Springfield was elected Mayor.

4.—The first act of the Yarmouth reformed Town Council was to remove from
office the Earl of Orford, Lord High Steward o